Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Bulk bag comparison 2026

The best bulk bags, compared.

Top pick: A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm – Highest score at 86: 1,000 kg stated, four loops, and 4.7 from 1,542 reviews at about £8.79. Best value: DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10 – About £3.05 a bag at about £30.49 for ten, the lowest unit price here. Score 82. A safety factor is not printed. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A bulk bag for a UK DIY or site job is an empty: a woven square sack with an open top, a flat base and lifting loops. Shoppers also call it a dumpy bag, a tonne bag or a builders' bag. You are not buying a merchant's delivered bag of gravel, a pop-up garden bag or a small rubble sack. What matters is the printed safe working load, whether a safety factor is printed, and whether the loops are named. A 5:1 factor is the single-trip class in UK site guidance. It is not permission to refill the bag all summer. None of these six prints 6:1 or 8:1, and none shows a certificate number. The label checks are in the [bulk bag buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/bulk-bag/sub/bulk-bag-buying-guide). A pop-up garden bag, a leaf bag and a 60 by 100 cm rubble sack are different products.

A bulk bag for a UK DIY or site job is an empty: a woven square sack with an open top, a flat base and lifting loops. Shoppers also call it a dumpy bag, a tonne bag or a builders' bag.

22 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

6 of 6: Best bulk bags compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 6
Best overall
A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm
Best value
DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10
DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 5
Airtech-UK 1 tonne FIBC, titled pack of 2
A&A Supplies UK half-tonne FIBC, 70 cm
A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne FIBC, 90 cm
8.6/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
8.5/10
8.4/10
7.3/10
∼ £9
∼ £30
∼ £22
∼ £16
∼ £9
∼ £9
4.7(1,542)
4.7(954)
4.7(954)
4.6(945)
4.5(117)
4.4(182)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best bulk bags in detail

A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm

Rank 1

A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm

Our view

The A&A Supplies UK 85 cm bag is a single white polypropylene sack at a saved amazon.co.uk price of £8.79, with 4.7 from 1,542 reviews, the largest count in this set. The listing states 1,000 kg, an 85 x 85 x 85 cm body and four sturdy lifting loops, and the bag is listed at 740 g. A safety factor is not printed, so the 5:1 line on a sister A&A bag does not belong here. Reviewers often praise it for soil and garden waste. One reviewer said four bags developed holes in the bottom after one garden-waste use. Top and base are not stated in the saved attributes.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 1,542 reviews, the largest count in this set
  • 1,000 kg stated, with four lifting loops named
  • Single bag at about £8.79, polypropylene, 85 cm cube
  • Reviewers often use it for soil and garden waste

Cons

  • Safety factor is not printed
  • Top and base are not stated
  • One reviewer reported holes in the base after one garden-waste use

Best for: A single empty 1,000 kg bag when you want the deepest review sample in this set and can accept a missing safety factor.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs 5:1 printed on this listing, or a thorny load that will be dragged.

Specifications

Model
A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm
Brand
A&A SUPPLIES UK
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,542)
Safe working load
1,000 kg
Lifting loops
Four loops
Bag size
85 cm cube
Pack
1
Fabric
Polypropylene
Colour
White

Common questions

What safe working load does the listing state?

The bullets say this jumbo bag can hold up to 1 ton, and the capacity line is 1,000 kg. A safety factor is not printed.

How many lifting loops are listed?

Four sturdy lifting loops. Top and base design are not stated in the saved attributes.

What do the saved UK reviews say about damage?

Praise centres on strength for soil and garden waste. One reviewer said four bags developed holes in the bottom after one garden-waste use.

DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10

Rank 2

DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10

∼£30

Our view

The DIVCHI ten-pack is the lowest unit price in this capture, £30.49, about £3.05 a bag. The capacity line says 1 ton, and a bullet says up to 2,200 lb of dry material, which restates that claim rather than adding a second tonne. Corner loops are named without a count, the top is open, the base is flat, and the fabric is polypropylene. The bullets say 85 x 85 x 85 cm while the item-dimensions line says 85 x 80 x 85 cm, so the size lines disagree. The star line is 4.7 from 954 and matches the five-pack, including the rank line, so treat it as one printed pool. A safety factor is not on the page, and the item weight is not stated.

Pros

  • About £3.05 a bag, the lowest unit price in this set
  • Ten bags in one order
  • Open top and flat bottom printed
  • Capacity line in the one-tonne class

Cons

  • Safety factor is not printed
  • The cube and the dimension line disagree
  • The 954-review line is shared with the five-pack
  • Loop count is not printed

Best for: A clearance that will use several bags, when the lowest unit price in this capture is the point.

Less suitable: One bag with 5:1 printed, or a job that needs a single agreed cube size.

Specifications

Model
DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10
Brand
DIVCHI
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.7/5(954)
Safe working load
1 ton
Lifting loops
Corner loops
Bag size
85 cm, lines differ
Top and base
Open top, flat base
Pack
10
Fabric
Polypropylene
Colour
White

Common questions

Which size should I trust?

The bullets say 85 x 85 x 85 cm. The item-dimensions line says 85 x 80 x 85 cm. Both are in the capture. Neither is a measured fill.

Is the safety factor printed?

No. Capacity is given as 1 ton, and a bullet says up to 2,200 lb of dry material.

Are these reviews separate from the 5-pack?

The star line, rank and review themes match the 5-pack ASIN in this set. Do not add the two 954 counts together.

DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 5

Rank 3

DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 5

∼£22

Our view

The DIVCHI pack of five is £22.00 on the saved listing, about £4.40 a bag, with a stated 1,000 kg capacity and an 85 cm cube. The star line is 4.7 from 954 reviews, and that same 954 line is printed on the ten-pack, so the two counts are one pool. Corner lifting loops are named without a count, the top is open and the base is flat, and polypropylene is named. A safety factor is not printed. A bullet also says up to 2,200 lb of dry material, which is the same order as 1,000 kg, not a second tonne. UK reviews repeat side splits when bricks are lifted unless bags are doubled, dragging is linked to holes, and one later delivery was described as much thinner.

Pros

  • Five bags at about £4.40 each
  • Open top and flat bottom printed
  • 1,000 kg stated on an 85 cm cube
  • Polypropylene named on the listing

Cons

  • Safety factor is not printed
  • Loop count is not printed
  • The 954-review line is shared with the ten-pack
  • Sides can split on a brick lift, and dragging is linked to holes

Best for: Several empty bags for lighter waste when a five-pack matters more than a printed safety factor.

Less suitable: A single bag of lifted bricks, or a job that needs 5:1 on the label.

Specifications

Model
DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 5
Brand
DIVCHI
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.7/5(954)
Safe working load
1,000 kg
Lifting loops
Corner loops
Bag size
85 cm cube
Top and base
Open top, flat base
Pack
5
Fabric
Polypropylene
Colour
White

Common questions

Is a safety factor printed?

No. The listing states 1,000 kg and also up to 2,200 lb of dry material. It does not print 5:1 or 6:1.

How many bags are in the pack?

Five. Number of items and unit count both say 5. The review total matches the 10-pack listing in this set.

What failure do UK reviews repeat?

Sides can split when bricks are lifted unless bags are doubled. Dragging is linked to holes, and one later delivery was described as much thinner.

Airtech-UK 1 tonne FIBC, titled pack of 2

Rank 4

Airtech-UK 1 tonne FIBC, titled pack of 2

∼£16

Our view

AirTech-UK prints several lines the other bags leave blank: 1,000 kg, a 5:1 safety factor, four reinforced 30 cm side-seam loops, an open top, a flat bottom and an 85 cm cube. The saved price is £15.98, and the star line is 4.6 from 945 reviews. The title and the number-of-items line say two bags, while the unit-count line says 3.0, and UK reviews say the photo looks like three bags and two arrive. The capture says certified and does not include a certificate number. Recommended uses include kitchen waste and food waste, but the bullets do not describe a liner or a food-grade bag. The pack is listed at 1.46 kg.

Pros

  • 5:1 printed beside a 1,000 kg safe working load
  • Four 30 cm side-seam loops named
  • Open top and flat bottom stated
  • 4.6 from 945 reviews

Cons

  • Title says two bags and the unit count says 3.0
  • No certificate number in the capture
  • Not described as food-grade
  • A per-bag price depends on which pack count you believe

Best for: A small pack when you want 5:1 and four measured loops on the listing, and you can accept the pack-count clash.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a proved count of three bags, or a food-grade liner.

Specifications

Model
Airtech-UK 1 tonne FIBC, titled pack of 2
Brand
AirTech-UK
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.6/5(945)
Safe working load
1,000 kg
Safety factor
5:1
Lifting loops
Four 30 cm loops
Bag size
85 cm cube
Top and base
Open top, flat base
Pack
2; count 3.0
Fabric
Polypropylene
Colour
White

Common questions

How many bags are in the pack?

The title and number of items say 2. The unit-count line says 3.0. UK reviews say the photo looks like three bags and two arrive.

What safety factor is printed?

5:1, with a stated load of 1,000 kg. The capture says certified and does not include a certificate number.

Is it described as food-grade?

No. Recommended uses include kitchen waste and food waste. The bullets do not describe a liner or a food-grade bag.

A&A Supplies UK half-tonne FIBC, 70 cm

Rank 5

A&A Supplies UK half-tonne FIBC, 70 cm

Our view

This is the only 500 kg bag in the set. The saved price is £8.99, close to the one-tonne singles, for a green bag of about 70 x 70 x 70 cm with four sturdy lifting loops, an open top, a flat bottom and a printed 5:1 safety factor. The star line is 4.5 from 117 reviews, and the item weight is 550 g. One UK reviewer says the half-tonne size is manageable for a car if it is not overfilled, which is a review rather than a measured boot. The page asks whether the bag is weatherproof and the saved file does not answer, so the bag is not shown as waterproof. Fabric is not named.

Pros

  • The only 500 kg safe working load in this set, with 5:1 printed
  • Four loops, an open top and a flat bottom named
  • About 70 cm, the smallest body here
  • One reviewer found it manageable in a car if it was not overfilled

Cons

  • The shelf price is close to a 1,000 kg single
  • 117 reviews, the smallest sample here
  • Weatherproof is asked on the page and not answered
  • A full 500 kg bag is still not a one-person lift

Best for: A smaller cube for a part-filled car run, when 500 kg is enough and 5:1 is printed.

Less suitable: A stated 1,000 kg load, or anyone treating £8.99 as a saving against the one-tonne singles.

Specifications

Model
A&A Supplies UK half-tonne FIBC, 70 cm
Brand
A&A SUPPLIES UK
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.5/5(117)
Safe working load
500 kg
Safety factor
5:1
Lifting loops
Four loops
Bag size
About 70 cm
Top and base
Open top, flat base
Pack
1
Colour
Green

Common questions

How is this different from the 1,000 kg bags?

The listing states 500 kg, about 70 x 70 x 70 cm, a green bag, four loops, an open top and a flat bottom, and a 5:1 safety factor.

Will it fit in a car?

One UK reviewer says the half-tonne size is manageable for a car if it is not overfilled. That is a review, not a measured boot size.

Is it described as weatherproof?

The page asks the question. The saved saved listing does not answer it. Do not treat the bag as waterproof.

A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne FIBC, 90 cm

Rank 6

A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne FIBC, 90 cm

Our view

The A&A Supplies UK 90 cm bag is the cheapest single in the capture at £8.71, and it prints both a 1,000 kg safe working load and a 5:1 safety factor. The body is 90 x 90 x 90 cm. The star line is 4.4 from 182 reviews, a lower rating and a smaller sample than the 85 cm A&A. Loop count, top and base are not stated, and the material field says 1 Bag rather than naming a fabric. Item weight is 680 g and net content weight is 850 g, so those two lines conflict. The capture does not include a certificate number, and a question about a flat bottom is on the page without an answer in the saved listing.

Pros

  • About £8.71 for one bag, the lowest single price here
  • 1,000 kg and 5:1 both printed
  • 90 cm cube, the largest body in this set
  • One bag, with no pack-count clash

Cons

  • Loop count is not printed
  • Fabric is not named
  • 680 g and 850 g weight lines disagree
  • 4.4 from 182 reviews, a thinner sample

Best for: One empty bag when a printed 5:1 and a 90 cm body matter more than a named loop count.

Less suitable: A machine lift where you need the listing to number the loops before the bag arrives.

Specifications

Model
A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne FIBC, 90 cm
Brand
A&A SUPPLIES UK
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.4/5(182)
Safe working load
1,000 kg
Safety factor
5:1
Bag size
90 cm cube
Pack
1
Colour
White

Common questions

What load and safety factor are printed?

Safe working load 1,000 kg and safety factor 5:1. The capture does not include a certificate number.

Does the listing number the lifting loops?

No. Loop count, top and base are not stated. A question about a flat bottom is on the page and is not answered in the saved listing.

Which weights conflict?

Item weight is 680 g and net content weight is 850 g. Both lines are in the capture.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and printed lines are the amazon.co.uk captures already stored for these six listings. This is not a laboratory test. Stars, the size of the review sample, the printed specification and category fit make the score, and those four weights sum to 100 before deductions. A repeated split or a failed base, a single hole report, a pack-count clash, and puncture or drag themes are deductions. Value is not inside the score. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest unit price among the other listings.

1

Amazon stars

40%

The amazon.co.uk star rating, scaled so a full five stars is 40 points. Both DIVCHI packs share one 4.7-from-954 line, so that sample is not counted twice.

2

Review sample

20%

A larger amazon.co.uk review count scores higher, up to 20 points. The A&A 85 cm bag has 1,542 reviews. The half-tonne bag has 117.

3

Printed specification

20%

Up to 20 points for a printed safe working load, named loops, a printed safety factor, dimensions, and an open top or a flat base. A missing line is not filled in from a sister listing.

4

Category fit

20%

Each kept listing is an open-top FIBC builders' bag, which is 20 points. A pop-up garden bag, a leaf bag and a rubble sack are out of this set.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
7 sources checked

Bulk bag buying guide

Buy the empty sack, then read the label. A bulk bag here is an open-top FIBC with lifting loops, not a delivered load of stone and not a pop-up garden bag. Match the printed safe working load, look for a safety factor only where that listing prints one, and check the loops and the pack count. Stored amazon.co.uk prices run from about £8.71 to about £30.49.

What is a bulk bag?

A bulk bag in this comparison is an empty FIBC: a woven square sack with an open top, a flat base and lifting loops. Shoppers also call it a dumpy bag, a tonne bag or a builders' bag. You buy the empty sack. You do not buy a merchant's delivered bag of gravel, and an empty bag at about £9 is not the same deal as delivered stone. A pop-up garden bag, a leaf bag and a 60 by 100 cm rubble sack are different products. Only open-top, flat-base builders' bags stay on this page.

Best for

  • A part-filled garden clearance, or several spare bags for lighter waste
  • Soil or hardcore when the listing prints a safe working load and a machine does the lift

Not ideal for

  • A delivered bag of stone, a pop-up garden bag, or a rubble sack
  • Thorn cuttings, a bag you drag, or a 5:1 bag you plan to refill all summer

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a pop-up or a rubble sack

    A pop-up garden bag, a leaf bag and a 60 by 100 cm rubble sack are different products. This page keeps only open-top, flat-base builders' bags with lifting loops.

  2. 2

    Reading 5:1 as reusable

    UK plant guidance uses 5:1 as single-trip, 6:1 as limited reuse and 8:1 as heavy-duty reusable. None of these six prints 6:1 or 8:1. Do not copy 5:1 from a sister listing, and do not hang a damaged bag on a machine.

  3. 3

    Trusting a three-bag photo

    Airtech's title says two bags and the unit-count line says 3.0. UK reviews say the photo looks like three bags and two arrive. Do not price that pack from both counts at once.

What to weigh up

Safe working load and safety factor

High

Safe working load is the first line, in kilograms. In this set that is 1,000 kg, or 500 kg on the green A&A bag. Tonne in a title is the class of the empty sack, not the weight of a filled gravel order. Five listings sit in the 1,000 kg class. The DIVCHI ten-pack states that as 1 ton on the capacity line, and a bullet also says up to 2,200 lb of dry material, which restates the claim rather than adding a second tonne. The half-tonne bag states 500 kg on a body of about 70 cm.

Loops, size and pack count

High

Lifting loops are how a machine takes the bag. Use every loop. Do not gather them on one hook, do not drag, and do not lift over people. Airtech prints four reinforced 30 cm side-seam loops. The A&A 85 cm bag and the half-tonne bag print four loops. DIVCHI names corner loops and does not print a count. The A&A 90 cm bag does not number them. Top and base are open and flat on Airtech, both DIVCHI packs and the half-tonne bag. Size and pack count are the other lines on the page.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Garden clearance in a car

You want a part-filled bag that can go in a car if you do not overfill it. The A&A half-tonne bag is about £8.99, about 70 cm, with 500 kg and 5:1 printed. One UK reviewer found that size manageable in a car. A full 500 kg bag is still not a one-person lift.

Soil or hardcore with a machine

Soil and hardcore need the printed safe working load, and a machine, or the bag stays put. The A&A 85 cm bag is the top pick at about £8.79: 1,000 kg stated, four loops, and 4.7 from 1,542 reviews. A safety factor is not printed on this listing.

Several bags, lowest unit price

A clearance that will use several bags, when the unit price is the point. The DIVCHI ten-pack is best value at about £30.49, about £3.05 a bag. The capacity line is in the one-tonne class. A safety factor is not printed, and the size lines disagree.

Common questions about bulk bags

Which bulk bag is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the A&A Supplies UK 85 cm bag at about £8.79. It scores 86, the highest of the six: a stated 1,000 kg, four lifting loops, polypropylene named, and 4.7 from 1,542 amazon.co.uk reviews. A safety factor is not printed, so do not copy 5:1 from a sister A&A bag. One reviewer reported holes in the base after one garden-waste use. Top and base are not stated.
How much does a bulk bag cost on amazon.co.uk?
Stored amazon.co.uk prices run from about £8.71 for the A&A 90 cm single to about £30.49 for the DIVCHI ten-pack. The A&A 85 cm bag is about £8.79 and the half-tonne bag is about £8.99. The DIVCHI five-pack is about £22.00, about £4.40 a bag. The ten-pack works out at about £3.05 a bag, the lowest unit price here. These are saved captures, not a live check on 22 October 2026.
What should you check before you buy a bulk bag?
Read the safe working load in kilograms. Here that is 1,000 kg, or 500 kg on the green half-tonne bag. Tonne in a title is not the weight of a filled gravel order. Then look for a printed safety factor. Three listings print 5:1. The 85 cm A&A single and both DIVCHI packs do not. Check whether four loops are named, the cube size, and a pack count the page actually agrees on.
Is a 5:1 bulk bag reusable?
UK plant guidance uses 5:1 as single-trip, 6:1 as limited reuse and 8:1 as heavy-duty reusable. None of these six prints 6:1 or 8:1, and none shows a certificate number. A printed 5:1 is not permission to refill the bag all summer. Do not hang a damaged bag on a machine. Sunlight weakens polypropylene, so store empty bags indoors. None of these six is shown here as certified to BS EN ISO 21898.
Can you take a bulk bag of soil to the tip for free?
England's free household DIY waste rule, from 31 December 2023, is two 50 litre bags or one bulky item up to 2,000 mm by 750 mm by 700 mm, with four visits in four weeks. It does not cover waste from paid work. A bulk bag of soil exceeds that allowance. A carrier should be on the public register. Use a licensed carrier for waste over the council allowance or from paid work.
How do you lift a filled bulk bag?
Use all the loops. Do not gather them on one hook, do not drag the bag, and do not lift it over people. HSE treats the bag as the load. LOLER applies to a forklift, crane, sling or frame used at work. Filling without the mouth collapsing is set out on the how to fill and lift a bulk bag page. Call a competent person for a crane lift.
Is a half-tonne bag easier to move?
The only 500 kg bag here is the A&A green bag at about £8.99, about 70 cm, with four loops, an open top, a flat base and 5:1 printed. One UK reviewer says that size is manageable for a car if it is not overfilled. That is a review, not a measured boot. The shelf price is close to a 1,000 kg single. A full 500 kg bag is still not a one-person lift.
Is a sandbag the same as a bulk bag?
No. Only open-top, flat-base builders' bags stay in this comparison. A filled aggregate delivery, a pop-up garden bag, a leaf bag and a 60 by 100 cm rubble sack are different products. A sandbag is a separate comparison, covered under sandbags. Do not treat an empty bag at about £9 as the same purchase as a delivered bag of stone.

Our verdict

The top pick is the A&A Supplies UK 85 cm bag at about £8.79. It scores 86, the highest here: a stated 1,000 kg, four lifting loops, polypropylene named, and 4.7 from 1,542 reviews. A safety factor is not printed, and one reviewer reported holes in the base after one garden-waste use. Best value is the DIVCHI ten-pack at about £30.49, about £3.05 a bag. It scores 82. The five-pack scores the same 82 and costs more per bag, so it does not take the value badge. The Airtech bag scores 85 and prints 5:1, with a pack count the listing does not agree on.

Best overall
A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm

A&A Supplies UK 1 tonne builders bag, 85 cm

Highest score at 86: 1,000 kg stated, four loops, and 4.7 from 1,542 reviews at about £8.79.

View offer
Best value
DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10

DIVCHI 1 tonne builders bags, pack of 10

About £3.05 a bag at about £30.49 for ten, the lowest unit price here. Score 82. A safety factor is not printed.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsDIY suppliesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
7 sources checked

Guides to bulk bags

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, plus the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Shelf figures are saved captures, not a live check on 22 October 2026.

  1. CPA TIN 026 Issue B (30 January 2023) (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. HSE lifting equipment (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. GOV.UK, DIY waste charges scrapped (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. GOV.UK consultation outcome on DIY waste (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. BSFL Packaging, builder bag sizes (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. FIBCA UV white paper (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. The Bulk Bag Store, one-tonne FIBC (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Amazon links use the tag pcuk26-21. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.