Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Eyelet press comparison 2026

The best eyelet presses, compared.

Top pick: Dyna-Living 3-die hand press Best value: KATSU 3-die hand press – About £32.99 with 4.0 from 191 ratings, dies at 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm, and 1,500 eyelets. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An eyelet press is a manual lever of about 3–5 kg that closes a two-part metal ring into cloth, leather, canvas or a sheet. You buy one in the UK when a hammer and anvil is too slow for bags, curtains, banners or hems, and when pliers from the same search are too light for that run. The checks that matter are the die size against the hole you already have, whether the base can be fixed to a bench, and a clean hole before the setting die. Cast frames can crack if the press is left loose or the handle is shocked. A large ring count in the box is not a quality mark, because soft or rough rings turn up in buyer notes. A single torn trailer eyelet is usually a hammer-kit job. A lever is worth buying when you set rings often and can test the first few on scrap. Mounting, cutting and when to stop are in the [how to set an eyelet](/hub/diy-supplies/eyelet-press/sub/eyelet-press-how-to-set).

An eyelet press is a manual lever of about 3–5 kg that closes a two-part metal ring into cloth, leather, canvas or a sheet.

Dyna-Living 3-die hand press

Best overall

Dyna-Living 3-die hand press
5.0/10∼ £51

28 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

8 of 8: Best eyelet presses compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
Dyna-Living 3-die hand press
KATSU 4-die hand press
Keadic #0 #2 #4 hand press
DASBET 3-die hand press
BOOMSTART 3-die hand press
Best value
KATSU 3-die hand press
FreeTec 3-die hand press
LetCartMaker 3-die hand press
5.0/10
8.2/10
7.0/10
6.5/10
5.8/10
7.5/10
7.0/10
5.3/10
∼ £51
∼ £35
∼ £43
∼ £33
∼ £36
∼ £33
∼ £36
∼ £43
5.0(2)
4.3(157)
4.2(305)
4.2(13)
4.1(80)
4.0(191)
3.9(687)
3.7(20)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best eyelet presses in detail

Dyna-Living 3-die hand press

Rank 1

Dyna-Living 3-die hand press

∼£51

Our view

The Dyna-Living press, model BI0081VTUK15, is the dearest row at about £51.29, with 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm dies and 3,000 gold and silver grommets. The listing claims ductile iron, also described as nodular cast iron, which would be a less brittle frame than ordinary cast iron if the metal matches the words. Weight and overall dimensions are not stated, so you cannot compare the mass with the 4–5 kg KATSU and FreeTec frames from the page alone. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from 2 ratings, and both reviews say the instructions are basic and that a video helps before first use. Neither of those two reviews describes a breakage, which is not the same as a track record. A perfect star line on two ratings is why this score sits at the bottom of the set once sample size is counted. Spend the extra only if the ductile-iron wording is the feature you came for and you accept that almost nobody on amazon.co.uk has reported back.

Pros

  • 6, 10 and 12 mm dies with 3,000 two-colour grommets
  • Ductile iron claimed on the listing
  • Desktop or free-standing use stated
  • Neither of the two reviews describes a breakage

Cons

  • 5.0 from only 2 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • about £51.29, the highest price in this set
  • Weight and dimensions not stated
  • Instructions called basic by both reviewers

Best for: You specifically want the ductile-iron claim and you will learn the dies from a video.

Less suitable: You want review volume, a stated weight, or the 14 mm die on the cheaper KATSU four-die press.

Specifications

Model
Dyna-Living 3-die hand press
Brand
Dyna-Living
Price
∼£51
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Dies
6, 10, 12 mm
14 mm die
No
Rings
3,000
Frame
Ductile iron
Mount
Desk or free
Hole cutter
Yes
Ring colours
Gold and silver

Common questions

How many people have rated it?

The amazon.co.uk line in the stored file is 5.0 from 2 ratings. That is the whole review count, not a rounded sample.

What is the frame made of?

The listing says ductile iron, also described as nodular cast iron. Weight and overall dimensions are not stated.

Are the instructions enough?

Both reviews say the instructions are basic and that a video helps before the first use. Neither review describes a breakage.

KATSU 4-die hand press

Rank 2

KATSU 4-die hand press

∼£35

Our view

The KATSU four-die press, model 95310_V1, is the only kit in this set that lists 6 mm, 10 mm, 12 mm and 14 mm dies, at about £34.98 and 3.92 kg. Across 157 amazon.co.uk ratings it holds 4.3, the highest star line here that is backed by a three-figure count. The box includes 400 eyelets, the smallest ring count in the comparison, and buyers say refill eyelets and extra dies were hard to find from the brand. Thick fabric was fiddly, and one base rocked until a casting line was filed flat, so a first session on scrap is part of owning it. The listing claims a table mount and does not state a throat depth, so an eyelet set well in from the edge is not a documented feature. That mix of a 14 mm die the others do not list and a 4.3 from 157 is why this is the top pick for occasional leather, canvas and banner work, not because 400 rings will last a workshop. If you only set 10 mm and 12 mm and want more rings for less money, the three-die KATSU at about £32.99 is the better buy.

Pros

  • Only 14 mm die in this set, plus 6, 10 and 12 mm
  • 4.3 from 157 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • about £34.98, close to the cheapest kits
  • Iron frame at 3.92 kg with a table-mount claim

Cons

  • Only 400 eyelets, and buyers struggled to find refills
  • Thick fabric described as fiddly
  • One base rocked until a casting line was filed flat
  • No throat depth stated on the listing

Best for: You want a 14 mm option as well as 10 mm and 12 mm, and you will test on scrap after fixing the base.

Less suitable: You need thousands of rings in the box, or a press specified for all-day paid banner work.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 4-die hand press
Brand
KATSU
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.3/5(157)
Dies
6, 10, 12, 14 mm
14 mm die
Yes
Rings
400
Frame
Iron
Mount
Table mount
Weight
3.92 kg

Common questions

Which sizes can it set?

The listing includes four dies: 6 mm, 10 mm, 12 mm and 14 mm, plus 400 eyelets.

Is it only for the edge of the fabric?

The listing highlight describes a table-mount eyelet punch for leather, fabric and canvas. It does not state a throat depth.

What do the reviews complain about?

Buyers wanted refill eyelets and extra dies, which they could not find from the brand. Thick fabric was fiddly. One base rocked until a casting line was filed flat.

Keadic #0 #2 #4 hand press

Rank 3

Keadic #0 #2 #4 hand press

∼£43

Our view

The Keadic press, model K489, lists #0, #2 and #4 dies, given on the page as 1/4 in, 3/8 in and 1/2 in, plus 3,000 silver and gold grommets, at about £42.99 and a stated 5.04 kg. It holds 4.2 from 305 amazon.co.uk ratings, a large sample and a stronger star line than FreeTec’s 3.9. The listing says you punch a hole first, that the press can sit on a table or stand alone, and that it can set grommets further into the material than the edge, though no throat depth is given. One reviewer says the rings are not self-backing and that the finish splits in two places rather than curling smoothly. Another kit arrived without the three dies and without rings, one buyer twisted a part on the first pair of shoes, and one hole punch would not cut thin fabric. The weight and the two-colour rings are the reason to pay more than the KATSU four-die kit, and the missing-parts report is the reason to open the box before a batch of bags. It does not add a 14 mm die, so it is not the top pick.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 305 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • 3,000 silver and gold rings in the listing
  • Listed at 5.04 kg, the heaviest stated weight in the set
  • Listing claims rings can be set in from the edge, not only on it

Cons

  • Rings described as not self-backing, with a finish that splits
  • One kit arrived without dies and without rings
  • A hole punch would not cut thin fabric
  • about £42.99 without a 14 mm die

Best for: You set a lot of #0, #2 and #4 craft rings and want silver and gold rings in the box.

Less suitable: You need a stated 10 mm and 14 mm set for sheets, or the lowest price in this comparison.

Specifications

Model
Keadic #0 #2 #4 hand press
Brand
Keadic
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.2/5(305)
Dies
#0, #2, #4
14 mm die
No
Rings
3,000
Frame
Iron
Mount
Table or free
Hole cutter
Yes
Weight
5.04 kg
Ring colours
Silver and gold

Common questions

Are the eyelets self-backing?

One reviewer says they are not. They need the separate rings, and the finish splits in two places rather than curling smoothly.

Can it set a hole in from the edge?

The listing says it can be used on a table or stand-alone and can set grommets further into the material, not only on the edge. No throat measurement is given.

What went wrong for some buyers?

One kit arrived without the three dies and without rings. Another buyer twisted a part on the first pair of shoes. One hole punch would not cut thin fabric.

DASBET 3-die hand press

Rank 4

DASBET 3-die hand press

∼£33

Our view

The DASBET lever press, model ZTC0905-2, is a 4.03 kg green frame at about £32.99 with dies marked #0, #2 and #4, which the listing prints as 6 mm, 9.5 mm and 12 mm, plus 500 grommets of each size. Across 13 amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 4.2, a thin sample beside the three-figure KATSU rows at the same shelf price. The listing says the press can sit on a tabletop or stand alone, and one reviewer still recommends mounting it on a board before you pull the handle. A buyer reported the casting snapped on first use and returned it, and another found the supplied grommets poor and the dies hard to screw in. Those complaints matter more than the 1,500-piece count, because a soft ring will not hold a hem even when the die size is right. The #2 die is printed as 9.5 mm here, so it is not a safe stand-in for a 10 mm tarpaulin eyelet without a scrap test. Treat it as a cheap three-size kit with little review history, and look at the KATSU three-die listing if you want the same shelf price, about £32.99, with 191 ratings.

Pros

  • Dies stated as 6 mm, 9.5 mm and 12 mm, with 500 rings of each
  • about £32.99, the joint lowest price in this set
  • 4.03 kg, a compact frame for a small bench
  • Listing allows tabletop or stand-alone use

Cons

  • Only 13 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • One report of the casting snapping on first use
  • Supplied grommets called poor, and dies hard to screw in
  • #2 is printed as 9.5 mm, not a stated 10 mm

Best for: You want #0, #2 and #4 in one box and will mount the press and test the 9.5 mm die on scrap before a real hem.

Less suitable: You need a 10 mm sheet eyelet matched to a UK tarpaulin kit, or a three-figure review count at this price.

Specifications

Model
DASBET 3-die hand press
Brand
DASBET
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.2/5(13)
Dies
#0, #2, #4
14 mm die
No
Rings
1,500
Frame
Metal
Mount
Table or free
Weight
4.03 kg

Common questions

Which die sizes are in the box?

The listing states #0 at 6 mm (1/4 in), #2 at 9.5 mm (3/8 in) and #4 at 12 mm (1/2 in), with 500 grommets of each size.

Does it need fixing down?

The listing says it can sit on a tabletop or stand alone. One reviewer recommends mounting it on a board.

What failed in the reviews?

One buyer says the casting snapped on first use and was returned. Another says the supplied grommets are poor and the dies were hard to screw in. There are 13 ratings in total.

BOOMSTART 3-die hand press

Rank 5

BOOMSTART 3-die hand press

∼£36

Our view

The BOOMSTART press, model BS003, is listed at about £35.59 and 4.7 kg, with a cast-iron frame and 1,500 silver eyelets. The same listing states dies of 6 mm, 8 mm and 12 mm and eyelets of 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm, so you cannot tell which middle size will arrive. It has 4.1 from 80 amazon.co.uk ratings, a middling sample at this price. Reviewers say there were no instructions and that they used a video to tell the cutter from the setting die. They also say the press is unstable unless you hold it or anchor it, and one buyer returned a unit that bent on first use. A cutter is present, which is more than some kits document, but a bent frame on the first pull is the fault that matters. Buy this only if you will check the middle die against the rings in the box before you cut a hem, and if you will clamp the base. If the listing still disagrees with itself on the day you order, the KATSU rows state one size set.

Pros

  • 1,500 silver eyelets at about £35.59
  • 4.1 from 80 ratings, a larger file than the 13-rating DASBET
  • Cast iron claimed, listed at 4.7 kg
  • A cutter is included in the kit

Cons

  • The listing disagrees on 8 mm dies versus 10 mm eyelets
  • No instructions; buyers used a video to identify the cutter
  • Unstable unless you hold it or anchor it
  • One report of the frame bending on first use

Best for: You will measure the dies on arrival and bolt or clamp the base before any fabric.

Less suitable: You need a listing that states one die set, or a press you can use without a first-use return.

Specifications

Model
BOOMSTART 3-die hand press
Brand
BOOMSTART
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
4.1/5(80)
Dies
6/8/12 or 6/10/12
14 mm die
No
Rings
1,500 silver
Frame
Cast iron
Mount
Anchor advised
Hole cutter
Yes
Weight
4.7 kg
Ring colours
Silver

Common questions

Are the dies 8 mm or 10 mm?

The same listing says dies of 6 mm, 8 mm and 12 mm, and eyelets of 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm. The stored file does not resolve that.

Does it include instructions?

More than one reviewer says there were no instructions. They used a video to tell the cutter from the setting die.

Will it sit still on a bench?

Reviewers say it is unstable unless you hold it or anchor it. One buyer returned a unit that bent on first use.

KATSU 3-die hand press

Rank 6

KATSU 3-die hand press

∼£33

Our view

The KATSU three-die press, model 953104, weighs 4.53 kg and lists dies at 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm with 1,500 eyelets for about £32.99. It carries 4.0 from 191 amazon.co.uk ratings, which is the evidence this price band often lacks. Reviewers say the frame feels sturdy once it is fixed down, in line with the table-mount claim, and that you still punch or cut the hole yourself. More than one review says the 6 mm die arrived broken or failed on first use, and that the small eyelets split. The cutter is also criticised, including a report that it does not screw fully home. Those faults sit on the small die, so a 10 mm or 12 mm curtain or tarp job is a different test from the 6 mm one. At the same shelf price as the DASBET kit, about £32.99,, the larger review file is why this row is the best value in the set, provided you can spare a failed 6 mm die or replace it.

Pros

  • about £32.99 with 4.0 from 191 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Dies at 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm
  • 1,500 eyelets in the box
  • Iron frame described as sturdy once it is fixed down

Cons

  • 6 mm die reported broken on arrival or on first use
  • Small eyelets reported to split
  • Cutter criticised; the hole is often cut separately
  • Same manufacturer part string as the four-die kit, with different contents

Best for: You set 10 mm or 12 mm rings often enough to justify a lever, and you can fix the base to a bench.

Less suitable: You mainly need a sound 6 mm die, or you want the 14 mm size that only the four-die KATSU lists.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 3-die hand press
Brand
KATSU
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.0/5(191)
Dies
6, 10, 12 mm
14 mm die
No
Rings
1,500
Frame
Iron
Mount
Table mount
Hole cutter
Yes
Weight
4.53 kg

Common questions

How is this different from the KATSU four-die kit?

This listing is model 953104 with three dies and 1,500 eyelets at 4.53 kg. The four-die listing uses the same manufacturer part string but different contents and weight.

Do you still cut the hole yourself?

Reviewers say the hole still has to be punched or cut. One says the cutter does not screw fully home.

What do buyers report breaking?

More than one review says the 6 mm die was broken on arrival or on first use, and that the small eyelets split. The frame is described as sturdy once it is fixed down.

FreeTec 3-die hand press

Rank 7

FreeTec 3-die hand press

∼£36

Our view

The FreeTec press, part FR005, is a 4.73 kg cast-iron lever at about £35.95 with 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm dies and 1,500 silver eyelets. It has the longest review file in the set, 3.9 from 687 amazon.co.uk ratings, and that volume cuts both ways. Some buyers set tarpaulin eyelets successfully. Others report a snapped base, a wobble from a mould line, soft eyelets and an uneven curl. The listing itself says cast iron is brittle under extreme stress from misuse and that the press should sit or be fixed on a flat tabletop. The title says FreeTec while the manufacturer line says freebirdtrading, so the name on the box may not match the title you searched. A large review count here shows that people buy it. It does not show that the casting is the strongest in the set. Choose it when you want 10 mm and 12 mm dies, you will fix it down, and you treat a first-use snap as a returns matter under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.

Pros

  • 6, 10 and 12 mm dies with 1,500 silver eyelets
  • 3.9 from 687 ratings, the largest sample in this set
  • Listing says to use a flat tabletop and that cast iron can be brittle
  • Some buyers report successful tarpaulin eyelet sets

Cons

  • Snap, wobble and uneven-set reports recur in the reviews
  • Soft eyelets mentioned alongside the 1,500 count
  • Title says FreeTec; manufacturer line says freebirdtrading
  • 3.9 stars, below the KATSU rows at a similar price

Best for: You want the biggest review file on a 6/10/12 mm kit and will bolt it to a flat bench.

Less suitable: You want the highest three-figure star line, or a frame the seller does not already call brittle.

Specifications

Model
FreeTec 3-die hand press
Brand
FreeTec
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
3.9/5(687)
Dies
6, 10, 12 mm
14 mm die
No
Rings
1,500 silver
Frame
Cast iron
Mount
Flat tabletop
Hole cutter
No
Weight
4.73 kg
Ring colours
Silver

Common questions

Does the seller warn about breakage?

The listing says cast iron is brittle under extreme stress from misuse, and that the press should be placed or fixed on a flat tabletop.

What is the brand name on the listing?

The title says FreeTec. The manufacturer line says freebirdtrading. The part number is FR005.

What do the 687 ratings repeat?

Some buyers set tarp eyelets successfully. Others report a snapped base, a wobble from a mould line, soft eyelets, and an uneven set.

LetCartMaker 3-die hand press

Rank 8

LetCartMaker 3-die hand press

∼£43

Our view

The LetCartMaker press, model XERYJBLUE0312, is the lightest frame in the set at 3.15 kg, priced at about £43.49, with 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm dies. The title and bullets claim 9,000 silver and gold grommets, plus hole openers and a hammer, which would be the largest kit count here if the box matches the page. The rating is 3.7 from 20 amazon.co.uk reviews, so that claim has little buyer history behind it. A reviewer says it arrives in two pieces and the handle has to be attached, and that the base has holes for screwing it to a bench. The same review says one die would not cut fabric, so they used scissors, and that over-pressing damages the grommet. Frame material is not stated. At a higher price than the KATSU kits, and with a much smaller review file, the 9,000 figure is not a reason to prefer it. Buy it only if you have checked current photos of the ring packs and you will cut holes another way.

Pros

  • Dies stated as 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm
  • Silver and gold grommets, with a claimed count of 9,000
  • Base holes for bench screws, described by a reviewer
  • Lightest listed weight in the set, at 3.15 kg

Cons

  • 3.7 from only 20 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • One die would not cut fabric in a review
  • Over-pressing reported to damage the grommet
  • Frame material not stated, and the handle arrives separate

Best for: You want a light 6/10/12 mm press and you will confirm the ring count when the box arrives.

Less suitable: You want a three-figure review count, or a cutter you can rely on for canvas.

Specifications

Model
LetCartMaker 3-die hand press
Brand
LetCartMaker
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
3.7/5(20)
Dies
6, 10, 12 mm
14 mm die
No
Rings
9,000 claimed
Mount
Bench holes
Hole cutter
Yes
Weight
3.15 kg
Ring colours
Silver and gold

Common questions

How many grommets are listed?

The title and bullets say 9,000 silver and gold grommets, plus three die sets, hole openers and a hammer.

Does the handle come fitted?

A reviewer says it arrives in two pieces and the handle has to be attached. The base has holes for screwing it to a bench.

Did the punch cut fabric?

One reviewer could not cut fabric with the die and used scissors. They also say over-pressing damages the grommet. There are 20 ratings.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review notes are the amazon.co.uk snapshot of 21 October 2026 already stored for these eight lever presses. This is not a laboratory test. Handheld pliers are not scored. Each score uses the star line, the size of the review sample, whether the dies match one stated size set, and the shelf price, then deductions for a snapped or bent frame, a size clash, soft or missing rings, a cutter that reviews say fails, and a very small sample. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is a different listing: the lowest shelf price that still has a three-figure review file. A 5.0 from two ratings cannot lead.

1

Amazon stars

40%

Stars are scaled out of 40. They are not the amazon.co.uk rating divided by 10, and they are not the editorial score on their own.

2

Review sample

25%

A larger amazon.co.uk review count scores higher, up to a cap. A 5.0 from two ratings cannot lead.

3

Die and kit fit

20%

The only kit with a 14 mm die scores highest on this check. A clear 6, 10 and 12 mm set scores next. A listing that states two different middle sizes scores lowest.

4

Shelf price

15%

The joint lowest shelf price scores highest on this check. The dearest row scores lowest. Price does not override a tiny review sample or a size clash.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Eyelet press buying guide

Buy the die size and a base you can fix down before you buy the ring count on the title. An eyelet press in this class is a manual lever of about 3–5 kg with interchangeable dies. Pliers under about 1 kg, and a hammer kit for one torn sheet, are different tools. Match 10 mm or 12 mm for a UK tarpaulin eyelet, and do not treat a #2 mark as exactly 10 mm. Read snap and soft-ring notes before a five-star line from two ratings.

What is an eyelet press?

A lever eyelet press is a manual tool of about 3–5 kg. A long handle closes a two-part metal ring through cloth, leather, canvas, a curtain, a banner or a sheet. The dies are interchangeable. The same amazon.co.uk search also returns handheld grommet pliers under about 1 kg, and hammer, punch and anvil kits. Those are different products. Buy a lever only if you will set rings often. One torn trailer eyelet is usually a hammer kit, often about £5 to £11.

Best for

  • Home sewing and bags, when you will set rings often and test the first few on scrap
  • Occasional 10 mm or 12 mm sheet and tent repairs, once the base is fixed down

Not ideal for

  • One torn trailer eyelet, which is usually a hammer kit rather than a lever
  • All-day paid sign work, or a ring that could release a load on a trailer

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying pliers from the same search

    Handheld grommet pliers are under about 1 kg and cover one or two sizes. A lever of about 3–5 kg is a different tool. Buy the lever only if you will set rings often.

  2. 2

    Trusting the ring count

    Counts run from 400 to a claimed 9,000. Reviewers call rings soft, rough or prone to split. A high count is not a quality mark. Plan on better rings in the same size.

  3. 3

    Assuming #2 is 10 mm

    Charts disagree, and one listing prints #2 as 9.5 mm. UK sheet eyelets in the notes used here are 10 mm or 12 mm inside. A 6 mm die is not that job. Pressing until the cloth cuts spoils the ring.

What to weigh up

Die size and a clean hole

High

The first check is the hole you already have, not the ring count on the title. Kits in this class are 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm, or #0, #2 and #4. Do not treat those craft numbers as one millimetre conversion. Charts disagree, and one listing prints #2 as 9.5 mm, so test it on scrap before a sheet. UK tarpaulin and tent notes used here are 10 mm or 12 mm inside. A 6 mm die is the small craft size, and reviews often describe it as broken or paired with eyelets that split.

Base, rings and review evidence

High

A loose base is the next failure. Reviewers who do not fix the press down report wobble and an uneven curl. Table-mount claims, screw holes in the base, and a seller note to use a flat tabletop are the useful lines. Cast iron is brittle if you shock it or extend the handle, and one listing says so. A snap or a bend on first use appears in more than one review file. That is a return under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, not a reason to call the frame industrial.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home sewing and bags

You want a neater ring than a hammer setter on bags, curtains or belts, and you will watch a video if the leaflet is thin. The Keadic press lists #0, #2 and #4 dies and 3,000 silver and gold rings at about £42.99, with 4.2 from 305 ratings. It does not add a 14 mm die. One kit arrived without dies and rings, so open the box first.

Trailer sheets and tents

You need 10 mm or 12 mm, not 6 mm, and you can fix the base to a bench. The KATSU three-die press is best value at about £32.99: dies at 6, 10 and 12 mm, 1,500 eyelets, and 4.0 from 191 ratings. Reviews still report a failed 6 mm die and a cutter you may not trust. One or two holes on a trailer are often a hammer kit instead.

Occasional leather and banners

You want a 14 mm option as well as 10 mm and 12 mm for leather, canvas or a banner, and the work is occasional rather than all day. The KATSU four-die press is the top pick at about £34.98, with 4.3 from 157 ratings. The box has 400 eyelets, and buyers struggled to find refills. It is the wrong tool for all-day paid banner work.

Common questions about eyelet presses

Which eyelet press is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the KATSU four-die hand press at about £34.98. It scores 8.2 on the editorial scale. The listing includes dies at 6 mm, 10 mm, 12 mm and 14 mm, and it holds 4.3 from 157 amazon.co.uk ratings. The 14 mm die is the only one in this set. The box has 400 eyelets, and buyers found refills hard to source. Thick fabric was fiddly, and one base rocked until a casting line was filed flat.
How much does an eyelet press cost on amazon.co.uk?
The eight lever presses kept here run from about £32.99 to about £51.29, using amazon.co.uk shelf prices stored on 21 October 2026. Two kits sit at about £32.99, and the four-die kit is about £34.98. Two more sit at about £35.59 and £35.95. Two mid-price kits are about £42.99 and £43.49. The dearest is about £51.29. A hammer kit for one tarpaulin eyelet is a different product, often about £5 to £11. These are stored prices, not a live check.
What should you check before you buy an eyelet press?
Match the die to the hole you already have. Sets here are 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm, or #0, #2 and #4. A #2 mark is not automatically 10 mm, and only one kit lists 14 mm. Fix the base, or the ring curls unevenly. Keep a separate way to cut the cloth, because supplied cutters fail in several reviews. Read snap and soft-ring notes before the stars. A 5.0 from two ratings is not a track record.
Is an eyelet press the same as grommet pliers?
An eyelet press and grommet pliers are different tools. A lever in this class is about 3–5 kg with interchangeable dies, for a run of rings. Handheld pliers are under about 1 kg and cover one or two sizes. A hammer, punch and anvil suits one torn tarpaulin eyelet. Buy the lever only if you will set rings often and can fix it down.
Which die size suits a tarpaulin?
Sheet, tent and trailer eyelets in the UK notes used here are 10 mm or 12 mm inside, not 6 mm. A 6 mm die is the small craft size. Do not treat #2 as exactly 10 mm, because one listing prints #2 as 9.5 mm and size charts disagree. Patch a torn sheet before you set a ring. Which presses are even worth trying on a cover is covered under tarpaulin eyelets.
What if the casting cracks on first use?
Cast iron is brittle if you shock it, extend the handle, or leave the base loose. Reviews include a snap or a bend on first use. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 covers goods that crack at once or are not as described. Fix the press to a flat bench, test on scrap, and stop if the casting is already cracked. A long lever with thin instructions is a risk under the General Product Safety Regulations 2005.
Can one of these presses do all-day sign work?
These kits are not sold as guarded workshop presses. HSE guidance on industrial hand and foot presses is not a certificate for them. If an employee uses the tool, PUWER 1998 applies, and daily sign-shop work needs a press specified for that job. The reviews look like spare-room use. A bag or leather job that is not an eyelet sits on the leather repair kit comparison. Stop if a failed ring could release a load on a trailer.

Our verdict

The top pick is the KATSU four-die hand press at about £34.98. It scores 8.2, the highest here: dies at 6 mm, 10 mm, 12 mm and 14 mm, with 4.3 from 157 amazon.co.uk ratings. The 14 mm die is the only one in this set. The box has 400 eyelets, and buyers found refills hard to source. Best value is the KATSU three-die hand press at about £32.99, score 7.5, with 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm dies, 1,500 eyelets and 4.0 from 191 ratings. The same shelf price with only 13 ratings does not take that place. Reports of a failed 6 mm die stay in the cons. Keadic and FreeTec both score 7.0 and take no badge.

Best overall
Dyna-Living 3-die hand press

Dyna-Living 3-die hand press

View offer
Best value
KATSU 3-die hand press

KATSU 3-die hand press

About £32.99 with 4.0 from 191 ratings, dies at 6 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm, and 1,500 eyelets.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsDIY suppliesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to eyelet presses

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Provision and Use of Work Equipment Regulations 1998 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. HSE: EIS30, industrial presses (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Wonkee Donkee: replace tarpaulin eyelets (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. House of Tents: repair tent tarpaulins (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.