Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Drawer runners comparison 2026

The best drawer runners, compared.

Top pick: HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs Best value: REJS white roller runners, 350 mm – About £4.99 for a 350 mm white roller set, 4.3 from 864 reviews, for a light drawer. The end lock is not a damper. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A drawer runner is the paired slide that carries one drawer. In the UK you buy a pair when a kitchen drawer, a chest, a wardrobe or a pull-out shelf sticks or has lost its slides. You judge a suitable pair by the mount you already have, a closed length that fits the internal cabinet depth, and a stated load for the full drawer. Measure inside the carcase to the back panel. Between two stock lengths, choose the shorter runner. One that is too long stops the drawer shutting. Bottom-fix rollers suit a light drawer. A narrow groove, often 17 mm and near 10 kg, suits many chests. Side-mount ball-bearing slides, about 45 mm high, are the kitchen pattern, sold as full extension at a higher stated load. Soft close is a damper, not a stronger slide. A kilogram in the title is the seller’s pair rating, and the screws and the chipboard side still have to carry it. How to measure the internal depth and keep both sides level is set out in the [drawer runner fitting guide](/hub/diy-supplies/drawer-runners/sub/drawer-runners-how-to-fit).

A drawer runner is the paired slide that carries one drawer. In the UK you buy a pair when a kitchen drawer, a chest, a wardrobe or a pull-out shelf sticks or has lost its slides.

HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs

Best overall

HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs
4.6/10∼ £16

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

12 of 12: Best drawer runners compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs
NBYTLT undermount pair, 120 kg title
FURNIWARE BB3-35 300 mm soft close
REGUDA 111 kg locking slides
Häfele 278–452 mm metal pair
REGUDA 68 kg side-mount pair
Emuca 17 × 278 mm, 5 pairs
LouMaxx 310 mm groove runners, 2 pairs
AOLISHENG 300 mm silver pair
Best value
REJS white roller runners, 350 mm
HBL 450 mm soft-close pair
AOLISHENG 300 mm black soft close
4.6/10
4.3/10
5.8/10
4.9/10
6.4/10
7.3/10
8.2/10
7.1/10
7.0/10
6.8/10
5.4/10
7.2/10
∼ £16
∼ £45
∼ £13
∼ £46
∼ £7
∼ £18
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £8
∼ £5
∼ £16
∼ £13
5.0(2)
5.0(2)
4.7(19)
4.6(79)
4.5(735)
4.5(341)
4.4(8,107)
4.4(3,789)
4.4(1,286)
4.3(864)
4.3(496)
4.2(1,106)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best drawer runners in detail

HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs

Rank 1

HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs

∼£16

Our view

HBL sells five pairs of 278 mm runners for a 17 mm groove at £16.49, with 10 kg stated per pair. The star line is 5.0 from two reviews, and only one UK block is in the file. That buyer fitted every drawer in a chest, replacing slip joints, and reports an easy, smooth result with no fault named. The dimension row prints 10 × 10 × 10 mm, which cannot be a 278 mm runner, so the title length and the 17 mm groove line are the figures to use. Extension is not stated as full. The bullet mentions matching screws, while the included-components row names a video and does not repeat them. Two reviews, one of them a single chest, are not a sample you can generalise to every IKEA or MFI slot.

Pros

  • 278 mm and a 17 mm groove are in the title
  • 10 kg per pair is stated
  • Five pairs in one pack
  • The one UK review describes a full chest swap

Cons

  • 5.0 from only two reviews
  • Dimension row of 10 × 10 × 10 mm is not a runner size
  • Extension is not stated
  • Screws are in the bullet and missing from the components row

Best for: You need several 278 mm groove pairs and you have measured the slot.

Less suitable: You want a large review sample, a stated full extension, or a 45 kg kitchen slide.

Specifications

Model
HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs
Brand
HBL
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
17 mm groove
Stated load
10 kg
Length
278 mm
Pack
5 pairs

Common questions

Will these fit a 17 mm groove?

The title and the bullet say they are for a 17 mm drawer groove. The bullet tells you to measure the groove first.

What load is stated?

10 kg per pair, on the bullet and on the capacity row.

How many runners are in the pack?

The title says 5 pairs. The item count is 10.

NBYTLT undermount pair, 120 kg title

Rank 2

NBYTLT undermount pair, 120 kg title

∼£45

Our view

NBYTLT lists a black undermount pair at £44.99, titled 120 kg and full extension, with 5.0 from two reviews. Both UK texts were read. They mention smooth ball bearings, reaching the back of the drawer, and a sturdy feel after a correct fit, and neither states a fault. Length is not one figure: the title says 600–1450 mm, a bullet says 400–900 mm, and the dimension row is 90 cm long. Screws are not included, and the bullet asks you to supply M4 screws. It describes bottom mounting for custom drawers, cabinets, workbenches, and stair storage, and it does not name front clips or a base rebate. Two short reviews do not settle a 120 kg claim. This is not a side-mount kitchen slide and not a 17 mm groove runner.

Pros

  • 120 kg is stated for the pair
  • Both UK reviews mention full extension and a smooth run
  • Bottom mount leaves the drawer side clear of a side-fixed slide
  • Powder-coated steel is named

Cons

  • Three length figures: 600–1450 mm, 400–900 mm, and 90 cm
  • Only two reviews
  • Screws are not included
  • No front-clip or rebate system is described

Best for: You are building a custom undermount drawer and you will measure the rail that arrives.

Less suitable: You need a known closed length, screws in the pack, or a grooved chest repair.

Specifications

Model
NBYTLT undermount pair, 120 kg title
Brand
NBYTLT
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Mount
Undermount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Stated load
120 kg
Length
90 cm row
Screws
No
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Are screws included?

No. The bullet says the runners are designed for M4 screws and that screws are not included.

How long are they?

The title says 600–1450 mm, a bullet says 400–900 mm, and the dimension row says 90 cm long. The listing does not pick one figure.

Is this a clip-on kitchen undermount?

The bullets describe a bottom-mounted rail. They do not mention front clips or a recessed drawer base.

FURNIWARE BB3-35 300 mm soft close

Rank 3

FURNIWARE BB3-35 300 mm soft close

∼£13

Our view

FURNIWARE’s BB3-35 is a 300 mm side-mount pair at £12.99, titled 45 kg, with the bullet also writing 100 lb per pair. The listing is 4.7 from 19 reviews, and 12 UK texts were read. Buyers describe thick 1.4 mm steel, a smooth damper, and full extension on a filing cabinet after roller guides failed and under a kitchen bench. The pack names an installation guide, M3.5 × 14 mm screws, and release levers. No UK review in the file reports a broken damper or missing screws. One reviewer had not fitted them yet, so that soft close was untested, and a kitchen-bench fit says both sides must be level or the action suffers. A numeric side clearance is not in the captured bullets, so you still measure the old slide before you rely on 19 reviews.

Pros

  • 45 kg and 100 lb agree
  • Damper, dual springs, and release levers are stated
  • M3.5 × 14 mm screws are named
  • UK reviews name a filing cabinet and a kitchen bench

Cons

  • Only 19 reviews
  • Side clearance is not printed
  • One review had not tested the damper
  • Both sides have to be level or the action suffers

Best for: You want a 300 mm damped pair and can accept a small review sample.

Less suitable: You need a large UK sample, a printed side gap, or a 17 mm groove runner.

Specifications

Model
FURNIWARE BB3-35 300 mm soft close
Brand
FURNIWARE
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.7/5(19)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Soft close
Yes
Stated load
45 kg
Length
300 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Is this the soft-close version?

Yes. The bullets describe built-in dampers and dual springs on this 300 mm pair.

What screws are named?

The pack lists an installation guide and M3.5 × 14 mm flat-head wood screws.

What load is stated?

45 kg per pair, also written as 100 lb in the bullet. The capacity row says 45 kilograms.

REGUDA 111 kg locking slides

Rank 4

REGUDA 111 kg locking slides

∼£46

Our view

This REGUDA pair is titled 111 kg with a lock, at £45.60, and the model string also says 250 lb and a 53 mm width. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 79 reviews, but the saved listing contains one UK review. That review calls the slide well made, the travel smooth, and the lock solid, and it names no fault. The bullet says a blue handle locks at full extension and when fully closed, screws are in the included components, and the seller claims 150,000 push-pull cycles, which this file does not test. The size row is 60 cm long inside a title that lists 300–1000 mm. A side-gap millimetre is not finished in the captured bullet. One UK review is not enough to treat 111 kg as proven in a van or an under-stairs carcase.

Pros

  • 111 kg title and capacity row agree, near the 250 lb model line
  • Blue lock handle at full extension and fully closed
  • Screws included
  • The one UK review calls the lock solid

Cons

  • £45.60, and only one UK review in the file
  • Side gap is not a finished millimetre in the bullet
  • 60 cm size row inside a 300–1000 mm title
  • 150,000 cycles is a seller claim

Best for: You need a side-mount pair that locks open and shut, and you have checked the length variant.

Less suitable: You want a damped kitchen drawer, a 17 mm groove, or a rating backed by more than one UK review.

Specifications

Model
REGUDA 111 kg locking slides
Brand
REGUDA
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
4.6/5(79)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Lock
Yes
Stated load
111 kg
Length
600 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Does the slide lock?

Yes. The bullet describes a blue handle that holds the slide fully open or fully closed.

What load is printed?

The title and the capacity row both say 111 kg. The model string says 250 lb with lock.

Are screws included?

Included components say one pair of slides, including screws.

Häfele 278–452 mm metal pair

Rank 5

Häfele 278–452 mm metal pair

Our view

Häfele’s metal pair is £6.50, titled 27 mm by 278–452 mm as a replacement for MFI and IKEA, with 4.5 from 735 reviews. No kilogram is printed in the bullets or on a capacity row. Fifty UK reviews were read. People fit them to old MFI kitchen drawers, Habitat drawers, and a 25-year-old IKEA Visdalen chest when they measure first, and some holes line up well enough to reuse the old screws. Other holes are too small. One buyer opened them out to 6 mm and used short M4 screws from inside the drawer side. They can feel stiff until they bed in. A UK review of an IKEA ALEX desk cites 352–570 mm at 17 mm depth, so the 278–452 mm title is not every variant on the ASIN. Without a load figure, a pan drawer is outside what this listing rates.

Pros

  • £6.50 for a pair named for MFI and IKEA
  • 4.5 from 735 reviews
  • UK reviews cover MFI kitchens, Habitat, and an IKEA chest
  • Some buyers reuse the old screws

Cons

  • No kilogram is stated
  • Screw holes often miss the original punching
  • One buyer had to open holes to 6 mm
  • Stiff until they bed in

Best for: You are replacing a flat metal runner on an MFI or IKEA drawer and you have measured the variant.

Less suitable: You need a stated kilogram, a damper, or a hole pattern that matches without drilling.

Specifications

Model
Häfele 278–452 mm metal pair
Brand
Häfele
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.5/5(735)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Flat metal
Extension
278–452 mm
Length
278 mm
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

It does not. The page asks about maximum weight, and the bullets give no kilogram figure.

What size is printed?

27 mm by 278 mm to 452 mm, sold as a replacement for MFI and IKEA. A review mentions another length, so check the variant.

Do the holes match old MFI runners?

UK reviews often say some holes line up and others do not. Several buyers drilled or opened holes, or used different screws.

REGUDA 68 kg side-mount pair

Rank 6

REGUDA 68 kg side-mount pair

∼£18

Our view

The REGUDA pair without a lock is titled 68 kg, and the capacity row prints 150 lb, which is the same rating. It is £18.02, with 4.5 from 341 reviews, and 13 UK reviews were read. Buyers use them on slide-out shelves, on replacements for corroded runners, and on a spice drawer, and a joiner compared the stated 12.7 mm side gap with a Häfele-style spacing. Screws are listed with the pair, and the model name is Without lock, so this is not the blue-handle version. No UK review in the file repeats a broken member, missing screws, or a seized slide. One buyer still mounted them underneath, which the side-mount listing does not describe. The title lists 250–1000 mm while the size row shows 300 mm, so you confirm the variant before you treat 68 kg as the rating for a van or under-stairs carcase.

Pros

  • 68 kg title matches the 150 lb row
  • 12.7 mm side gap is stated
  • Screws included
  • UK reviews name heavy shelves and a spice drawer

Cons

  • No lock and no soft close stated
  • Title spans 250–1000 mm; the size row is 300 mm
  • 13 UK reviews is a thinner slice than the 341-review total
  • One UK fit was underneath, which the listing does not describe

Best for: You are replacing a side-mount pair on a heavy shelf and can leave about 12.7 mm each side.

Less suitable: You need a 17 mm groove runner, a damper, or a hold-open lock.

Specifications

Model
REGUDA 68 kg side-mount pair
Brand
REGUDA
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.5/5(341)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Lock
No
Stated load
68 kg
Length
300 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Does this pair include a lock?

The model name is Without lock. A separate REGUDA listing is the one with a blue lock handle.

What side gap does the listing ask for?

The installation bullet says 12.7 mm between the drawer and the cabinet wall on each side.

Are screws in the pack?

Included components say one pair of slides, including screws.

Emuca 17 × 278 mm, 5 pairs

Rank 7

Emuca 17 × 278 mm, 5 pairs

∼£10

Our view

Emuca 3009805 is five pairs of 17 × 278 mm partial ball slides at £10.41, with 10 kg stated and zinc-plated steel in the bullet. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 8,107 reviews, and 50 UK reviews were read. Buyers describe them as close to the broken runners in flat-pack and Argos chests, and they reuse the old screws because the pack does not list any. The bullet calls the travel a partial exit, so the drawer box does not come fully clear of the cabinet. One buyer was sent three runners short and had to contact the seller. You may need a second pack of five for a six-drawer chest. This is a narrow groove repair at about £2.08 a pair, not a 45 kg kitchen slide.

Pros

  • 10 kg and partial extension are both stated
  • 17 × 278 mm matches a common chest length
  • 4.4 from 8,107 reviews
  • £10.41 for five pairs
  • UK reviews describe a close match to flat-pack originals

Cons

  • Screws are not in the pack
  • One buyer was three runners short
  • Partial travel, not a full-extension kitchen slide
  • A six-drawer chest can need two packs

Best for: You are replacing partial 17 mm runners in a chest and can reuse the old screws.

Less suitable: You need full extension, a damper, or a pair rated for pans.

Specifications

Model
Emuca 17 × 278 mm, 5 pairs
Brand
Emuca
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(8,107)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
17 mm groove
Extension
Partial
Stated load
10 kg
Length
278 mm
Screws
No
Pack
5 pairs

Common questions

Are these full extension?

No. The bullets say partial exit ball slides.

What load is stated?

10 kg, stated twice in the bullets.

Do they come with screws?

Included components list five pairs of runners and do not name screws. UK reviews say to keep the old screws.

LouMaxx 310 mm groove runners, 2 pairs

Rank 8

LouMaxx 310 mm groove runners, 2 pairs

∼£10

Our view

LouMaxx sells four 310 mm runners, two pairs, for a 17 mm groove at £9.99, with 10 kg on the capacity row. The listing is 4.4 from 3,789 reviews, and 29 UK reviews were read. Several buyers call them a direct swap for Argos and other chests, including a 25-year-old wooden chest, when the holes already match. The bullet lists 16 wood screws at 3 × 16 mm and four threaded screws at 4 × 10 mm. One Argos chest was too long for 310 mm and the pair went back. Another runner arrived with the ball bearings out of the cage, and one review says the supplied screws did not match the old holes. A further buyer expected the pictured two-pair pack and says they received one basic pair. The item type is ball part extension, so this is not a full-extension kitchen slide.

Pros

  • 310 mm and a 17 mm groove are both stated
  • 10 kg on the capacity row
  • Screw sizes are named: 3 × 16 mm and 4 × 10 mm
  • 4.4 from 3,789 reviews

Cons

  • 310 mm was too short for one Argos hole pattern
  • Bearings were out of the cage on arrival in one review
  • Supplied screws did not fit old holes in one review
  • One buyer says the pack was not the pictured two pairs

Best for: You are repairing a grooved chest whose closed runner is about 310 mm.

Less suitable: You need 278 mm, full extension, or a load above 10 kg.

Specifications

Model
LouMaxx 310 mm groove runners, 2 pairs
Brand
LouMaxx
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(3,789)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
17 mm groove
Extension
Partial
Lock
Bearing stop
Stated load
10 kg
Length
310 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
2 pairs

Common questions

What groove do they need?

The title and the bullet say a 17 mm groove in a wooden drawer. IKEA and MFI are named as the replacement use.

Are screws included?

Yes. The bullet lists 16 wood screws, 3 × 16 mm, and four threaded screws, 4 × 10 mm.

What length is this pack?

310 mm. One UK review returned a set as too short for an Argos chest.

AOLISHENG 300 mm silver pair

Rank 9

AOLISHENG 300 mm silver pair

Our view

AOLISHENG’s silver pair is £8.38, titled 300 mm and 45 kg, with 4.4 from 1,286 reviews. The capacity row also says 45 kg, and a bullet writes 100 pounds, which is the same band. Fifty UK reviews were read. Buyers use them on kitchen cabinets and on a low pull-out for pots and pans, and they describe a smooth run once both sides are level. The bullet includes mounting screws and a detachable inner rail, but one UK review says no screws arrived. Another says the bearings did not run the full length, the retainer felt flimsy, and balls fell out on first use. Soft close is not stated. The dimension row that only prints 1 mm thick is not a usable width, so the 45 mm bullet is the figure to use.

Pros

  • 45 kg title, capacity row, and 100 lb bullet agree
  • 300 mm full extension stated, with a detachable rail
  • 4.4 from 1,286 reviews
  • £8.38 for a side-mount kitchen pair

Cons

  • One UK review: screws missing despite the bullet
  • Bearings left the cage on first use in one review
  • Soft close is not stated
  • A first fit without a template went wrong

Best for: You want a 300 mm 45 kg side-mount pair and do not need a damper.

Less suitable: You need soft close, a 17 mm groove, or a runner that must not shed balls on day one.

Specifications

Model
AOLISHENG 300 mm silver pair
Brand
AOLISHENG
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,286)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Stated load
45 kg
Length
300 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Is this the soft-close AOLISHENG pair?

No. This silver listing does not describe a damper. The black 300 mm listing is the one that does.

What load and length are stated?

45 kg and 300 mm. The bullet also says the pull-out length equals the closed length, and that the steel is 1 mm Q235, 45 mm wide.

Are screws included?

The bullet says mounting screws are included. One UK review says none arrived.

REJS white roller runners, 350 mm

Rank 10

REJS white roller runners, 350 mm

Our view

The REJS listing at £4.99 is a white bottom-fix roller set for a 350 mm drawer, inside a title range of 250–600 mm, with 20 kg stated on the bullet and the capacity row. It scores 4.3 from 864 reviews, and 50 UK reviews were read. Buyers use them as like-for-like replacements on light drawers and on a bed drawer whose runners had broken, especially when the old holes still line up. The bullet’s self-closing line is a sliding end lock so the drawer does not fall out, not a damper, and the wheels are plastic. Screws are not in the pack. A 300 mm example arrived bent and out of square, and reviews say wear sits on those plastic wheels. At this price it is a light-duty roller, not a 45 kg side-mount slide.

Pros

  • 20 kg on the bullet and the capacity row
  • 350 mm variant inside a 250–600 mm title range
  • £4.99 for one drawer set
  • UK reviews name light drawers and a bed drawer

Cons

  • Screws are not included
  • A 300 mm example arrived bent and out of square
  • Plastic wheels are the wear point reviewers name
  • The end lock is not a soft-close damper

Best for: You are replacing white bottom-fix rollers on a light drawer and the old holes still line up.

Less suitable: You need a 45 kg side-mount slide, a damper, or screws in the pack.

Specifications

Model
REJS white roller runners, 350 mm
Brand
REJS
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.3/5(864)
Mount
Bottom mount
Mechanism
Roller
Extension
Single
Soft close
No
Lock
End lock
Stated load
20 kg
Length
350 mm
Screws
No
Pack
1 drawer

Common questions

Is this a soft-close ball-bearing slide?

No. The bullets describe single-extension roller runners with plastic wheels and a sliding end lock.

Are screws included?

No. The bullet says screws are not included, and the components row says no components.

Which length is this page?

The title ends in 350 mm. The same title also prints a 250–600 mm range, so check the length before you order.

HBL 450 mm soft-close pair

Rank 11

HBL 450 mm soft-close pair

∼£16

Our view

HBL’s 450 mm soft-close pair is £15.99, with 4.3 from 496 reviews. The title says 50 kg and the capacity row says 200 pounds, about 90 kg, so the load is not one number. Nineteen UK reviews were read. Buyers call the steel solid, some prefer it to a push-to-open runner they tried first, and some reorder for a chest. A 400 mm silver slide in the same review set measured 366 mm of travel. Another review lost the soft close after a day, a kitchen-bin runner broke after three weeks, and one buyer was sent the wrong size twice. Instructions are called poorly translated, with a video instead of a clear printed method. Do not treat the word full extension, or either load figure, as settled until you measure the pair that arrives.

Pros

  • 496 reviews is a large sample
  • Screws and a video guide are listed
  • A hydraulic damper is stated
  • Some buyers reorder them for a chest

Cons

  • 50 kg in the title versus 200 lb on the row
  • A 400 mm variant measured 366 mm of travel
  • Soft close failed after a day in one fit
  • A kitchen-bin runner broke after three weeks

Best for: You want a 450 mm damped side-mount pair and will check travel and the load line yourself.

Less suitable: You need one agreed kilogram, or a damper with no early failure in the UK notes.

Specifications

Model
HBL 450 mm soft-close pair
Brand
HBL
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.3/5(496)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Soft close
Yes
Lock
Release
Stated load
50 kg / 200 lb
Length
450 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Which load figure is on the listing?

The title says 50 kg. The maximum-weight row says 200 pounds. The page does not reconcile them.

Does the listing say the runners are full extension?

Yes, in the title. A UK review of a 400 mm silver slide in this review set measured 366 mm of travel.

Are screws included?

Included components list screws and a step-by-step video guide.

AOLISHENG 300 mm black soft close

Rank 12

AOLISHENG 300 mm black soft close

∼£13

Our view

The black AOLISHENG pair is £12.99 and titled 300 mm with soft close and 45 kg, and the capacity row agrees at 45 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 1,106 reviews, and 50 UK reviews were read. A bullet length is 298.5 mm, with double springs, an iron buffer, and a black plastic buckle that releases the drawer. Some buyers report a solid feel, a damper that worked on an extending cupboard shelf, and a length that matched a drawer under a sit-stand desk. Others say the soft close does not catch every time, the pull to open is firm, and a fitter who installs runners often rejected the heavy-duty wording. One wardrobe drawer still sagged a little when empty. The damper is the part those UK reviews argue about, even though the stated load matches.

Pros

  • 45 kg title and capacity row agree
  • Soft close, double springs, and a release buckle are stated
  • 1,106 reviews is a large sample
  • Some UK fits name a cupboard shelf and a desk drawer

Cons

  • Soft close does not catch every time in UK reviews
  • Opening needs a firm pull against the inward tug
  • A frequent fitter called the heavy-duty claim false
  • One empty wardrobe drawer still sagged a little

Best for: You want a 300 mm damped side-mount pair and will check that both sides stay level.

Less suitable: You want a damper with a clean UK record, or a 17 mm groove runner.

Specifications

Model
AOLISHENG 300 mm black soft close
Brand
AOLISHENG
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,106)
Mount
Side mount
Mechanism
Ball bearing
Extension
Full
Soft close
Yes
Lock
Release
Stated load
45 kg
Length
300 mm
Screws
Yes
Pack
1 pair

Common questions

Does the listing say the drawer still needs a handle?

Yes. The soft-close bullet says the closed runner pulls inward and a handle is required.

What length is printed?

The title says 300 mm. The bullet says 298.5 mm and 45 mm wide.

What load is stated?

45 kg on the title and on the capacity row.

How we compared

Shelf prices are the amazon.co.uk snapshot of 19 October 2026 already stored for these twelve listings. This is not a laboratory test. The number on each row is the stored display score divided by 10, so 82 is 8.2. Each score note adds four parts: amazon.co.uk stars, the review count, a UK review note, and price and listing consistency. The top pick is the highest of those scores. Best value is the other listing that already carries that award in the display file, a light roller set, and it is not the second-highest score.

1

Amazon stars

41%

Star points in the stored notes run from 29 to 35. That is the largest part of the ceiling used for these scores.

2

Review count

23%

Count points in the stored notes run from 2, for a two-review listing, to 20, for the largest samples.

3

UK review note

19%

The notes give 4 to 16 points for the UK review text that was read. A thin UK slice scores lower even when the star line is high.

4

Price and listing consistency

17%

The notes give 0 to 15 points when the title, the capacity row and the price agree. A load line that conflicts with itself scores at the bottom of that part.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
9 sources checked

Drawer runners buying guide

Choose the family before the feature list. A drawer runner has to match the mount, the closed length and a stated load for a full drawer. Soft close is a damper, not a higher kilogram. The twelve amazon.co.uk listings stored for 19 October 2026 run from about £4.99 to about £45.60. The top pick is a 17 mm partial pack. Best value is a white roller set for a light drawer.

What is a drawer runner?

A drawer runner is the paired slide that carries one drawer. You meet it when you replace a kitchen drawer, a chest, a wardrobe or a pull-out shelf. Judge a pair by the mount you already have, a closed length that fits the internal cabinet depth, and a stated load for the drawer when it is full, not when it is empty.

Best for

  • A grooved chest whose closed runner is about 278 mm and whose old screws still fit
  • A light drawer on white rollers, or a 300 mm side-mount pair stated at 45 kg

Not ideal for

  • A 45 mm kitchen slide forced into a 17 mm groove
  • A clip-on undermount, or a carcase whose side is already split

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Ordering the outside depth

    Measure inside the carcase to the back panel. Between stock lengths, choose the shorter runner. One that is too long stops the drawer shutting.

  2. 2

    Mixing a groove and a 45 mm slide

    A 45 mm kitchen slide does not drop into a 17 mm groove. A runner stated near 10 kg is the wrong part under pans or tools.

  3. 3

    Trusting the word full, or binning the screws

    Full extension should bring the box clear, and one 400 mm slide measured 366 mm of travel. Several packs omit screws, and old holes often only nearly match.

What to weigh up

Family, length and extension

High

Family comes first. A 45 mm kitchen slide does not drop into a 17 mm groove, and a groove runner near 10 kg is the wrong part under pans. Then measure the closed length inside the carcase to the back panel. Between stock lengths, choose the shorter runner, because one that is too long stops the drawer shutting. Do not order the outside depth. Full extension should bring the box clear. The Emuca top pick states partial extension, so the drawer box does not come fully clear.

Load, gap, damper and screws

High

A kilogram in the title is the seller’s pair rating. Trade notes put groove runners near 10 kg and white rollers near 17 to 20 kg. Side-mount titles here run 45 kg, 50 kg or 68 kg, with higher titles on the locking pair and the undermount pair. The screws and the chipboard side still have to carry it. Take the side gap from the runner you are fitting. One listing asks for 12.7 mm each side, and another brand’s deductions apply only to that brand.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Grooved chest

You are replacing partial runners in a 17 mm groove and you can reuse the old screws. The Emuca pack is the top pick at about £10.41, score 8.2: five pairs, 278 mm, 10 kg stated, 4.4 from 8,107 reviews. Travel is partial, so the box does not come fully clear. A six-drawer chest can need two packs.

Light bottom-fix drawer

You are replacing white rollers and the old holes still line up. The REJS set is best value at about £4.99, score 6.8, with 20 kg stated and 4.3 from 864 reviews. Screws are not included, the wheels are plastic, and the end lock is not a damper. It is not a 45 kg side-mount slide.

45 kg kitchen drawer

You want a 300 mm side-mount pair rated 45 kg and you do not need a damper. The silver AOLISHENG pair is about £8.38, score 7.0, with 4.4 from 1,286 reviews. The title, the capacity row and the 100 lb bullet agree. One UK review says the screws were missing, and another says balls left the cage on first use.

Common questions about drawer runners

What should you measure before buying drawer runners?
Measure the mount you already have, the closed length against the internal cabinet depth, and a stated load for a full drawer. Measure inside the carcase to the back panel. Between stock lengths, choose the shorter runner. One that is too long stops the drawer shutting. A 45 mm kitchen slide does not drop into a 17 mm groove, and a runner near 10 kg is the wrong part under pans. Do not copy another brand’s side gap.
Which drawer runners are the top pick?
The top pick is the Emuca 17 × 278 mm pack, five pairs at about £10.41. It scores 8.2, the highest display score in this set, from 4.4 and 8,107 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing states 10 kg and partial extension. UK reviews describe a close match to flat-pack and Argos chests, and they reuse the old screws because none are listed. Skip it if you need full extension, a damper, or a pair rated for pans.
Which drawer runners are best value?
Best value is the REJS white roller set at about £4.99 for this 350 mm variant. The score is 6.8, from 4.3 and 864 reviews. The listing states 20 kg, single extension and plastic wheels. The self-closing line is a sliding end lock so the drawer does not fall out, not a damper. Screws are not in the pack. A 300 mm example arrived bent and out of square. It is not a 45 kg side-mount slide.
Is soft close a stronger runner?
No. Soft close is a damper added to a slide. It costs more and it can fail, and it is not a child-safety device. UK notes in this set include a damper that did not catch every time and one that failed after a day. A sliding end lock on a white roller is also not a damper. None of these listings is push-to-open. A hold-open lock, where a listing states one, is a different feature for a pull-out that must stay out.
Will a kitchen slide fit a 17 mm groove?
No. Only a listing that states a 17 mm groove belongs in that slot. A 45 mm side-mount slide will not drop into it. Groove runners in this set are partial, or the extension is not stated, and the load line is about 10 kg. Measure the groove and the closed length before you order. Keep the old screws if the new pack does not name any. Old holes often only nearly match.
Does the kilogram on the title apply to every cabinet?
No. A kilogram in the title is the seller’s pair rating. The screws and the chipboard side still have to carry it. BS EN 15338:2024 tests an extension element in a frame, and the result is only a guide to that element. None of these listings shows a level against it. A cycle count in a bullet stays a seller claim. If the panel is split, or the load is beyond the carcase you can judge, call a joiner.
When should you call a joiner?
Call a joiner if the chipboard side is split, you need a clip-on undermount, the drawer meets a pipe or an appliance, or the stated load is beyond the carcase you can judge. Fit both runners level. Do not order the outside depth, and do not throw away the old screws until the new holes match. A door uses a hinge, which is a different part, compared on cabinet hinges.
How much do drawer runners cost on amazon.co.uk?
The amazon.co.uk snapshot stored for 19 October 2026 runs from about £4.99 to about £45.60. Entry listings sit at about £5 to £11. Mid listings sit at about £12 to £20. The locking side-mount pair and the undermount pair sit at about £40 to £50. A higher price is not a higher score. The top pick is a groove pack in the entry band. Best value is the white roller set, and it is not a 45 kg kitchen slide.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Emuca 17 × 278 mm pack, five pairs at about £10.41. It scores 8.2, the highest stored display score here: 10 kg, partial extension, 4.4 from 8,107 reviews, and UK notes that describe a close match to flat-pack chests. Screws are not in the pack, and one buyer was three runners short. Best value is the REJS white roller set at about £4.99. It scores 6.8, with 20 kg stated, 4.3 from 864 reviews, and a sliding end lock rather than a damper. It is for a light drawer whose old holes still line up, not for a 45 kg kitchen slide.

Best overall
HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs

HBL 278 mm groove runners, 5 pairs

View offer
Best value
REJS white roller runners, 350 mm

REJS white roller runners, 350 mm

About £4.99 for a 350 mm white roller set, 4.3 from 864 reviews, for a light drawer. The end lock is not a damper.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsDIY suppliesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
9 sources checked

Guides to drawer runners

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Listings captured 19 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. BS EN 15338:2024 preview (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. SI 2005/1803 General Product Safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. FIRA: furniture and product safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Trading Standards: Consumer Rights Act, goods (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Eurofit: what size drawer runners (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Albert Jagger: ball bearing slides explained (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. T&S Architectural: replacement drawer runners (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  9. amazon.co.uk drawer runner listing (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.