Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Organic liquid fertiliser comparison 2026

The best organic liquid fertilisers, compared.

Top pick: Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L – Highest card score: 5.0 from 5 reviews, scaled to 100, at about £16.99 and a listed 1:200. The file is thin and names no control body. Best value: Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L – Soil Association named, 4.6 from 3,688 reviews, about £18.99 for 2.5 L. Not the highest star line, and not a declared NPK. Updated October 2026.

Organic liquid fertiliser is a liquid you dilute and apply to pots, beds, a greenhouse crop or a lawn. In the UK it is usually a brown concentrate mixed in a watering can or a sprayer, bought for containers, an allotment or turf through the growing season. A suitable bottle is the job on the label. A multi-purpose seaweed product is a biostimulant. The Royal Horticultural Society treats plain seaweed as not a true fertiliser, so it sits beside a feed and does not replace one when a fruiting crop is hungry. A tomato, pepper, chilli or aubergine bottle should name that crop. A lawn bottle should name turf and how often to apply it. If an inspected plot needs an approved input, the listing should name a UK control body. A title that only says organic is not that mark. Use the dilution on the bottle you hold, because a strong mix and a weak concentrate are different products. Pack fields should agree with the stated volume. The checks are in the [organic liquid fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/organic-liquid-fertiliser/sub/organic-liquid-fertiliser-buying-guide).

Organic liquid fertiliser is a liquid you dilute and apply to pots, beds, a greenhouse crop or a lawn.

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L

Best overall

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L
10.0/10∼ £17

33 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +22,600 readers

9 of 9: Best organic liquid fertilisers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L
Topline seaweed 2 x 1 L
Sunshine seaweed 5 L
Best value
Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L
Shropshire Seaweed 5 L
Vitax organic liquid seaweed
Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L
Maxicrop organic lawn 1 L
Sunshine seaweed plus iron 6 L
10.0/10
9.6/10
9.4/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
∼ £17
∼ £17
∼ £26
∼ £19
∼ £41
∼ £18
∼ £12
∼ £12
∼ £30
5.0(5)
4.8(56)
4.7(128)
4.6(3,688)
4.6(1,026)
4.6(541)
4.6(402)
4.4(98)
4.4(8)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best organic liquid fertilisers in detail

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L

Rank 1

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L

∼£17

Our view

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L is a seaweed concentrate at about £16.99, listed at 1:200, with a claim of up to 500 litres of made-up feed. Across 5 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 5.0, scaled to 100. That is the highest card score in this file, from a thin sample, not a laboratory ranking. Four written reviews in the file are one line each and do not describe a fault or a result. The listing does not mention iron; that sits on the 6 L Sunshine bottle. No control body is named. The top pick is that score, not proof this bottle outperforms Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L on an allotment.

Pros

  • Highest card score: 100 from a 5.0 star line
  • 2.5 L at about £16.99 with a printed 1:200
  • Made-up volume claim of up to 500 litres matches 2.5 times 200

Cons

  • Only five reviews sit behind the 5.0 line
  • Written reviews in the file are one line each
  • No control body named; iron is not on this listing

Best for: A smaller garden that wanted 2.5 L of Sunshine seaweed at 1:200 and accepted a five-review sample.

Less suitable: Anyone treating 5.0 from five reviews as a crop rank, or who needed a named certifier.

Specifications

Model
Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L
Brand
Sunshine Renewables UK
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
5.0/5(5)
Role
Seaweed concentrate
Control body
Not named
Dilution
1:200
Volume
2.5 L
Seaweed
Species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

How much feed does the listing claim?

A 1:200 dilution, and up to 500 litres from 2.5 L. That arithmetic matches 2.5 times 200. It is a listing claim, not a measured solids test.

Does this bottle add iron?

This listing does not mention iron. The 6 L Sunshine listing does.

Is 5.0 a strong rank?

The listing line is 5.0 from 5 reviews. Four written reviews in the file are one line each and do not describe a fault or a result.

Topline seaweed 2 x 1 L

Rank 2

Topline seaweed 2 x 1 L

∼£17

Our view

The Topline pack is two 1 L organic-titled seaweed bottles at about £16.99, listed at 1:10, with a United Kingdom origin field. Across 56 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.8, scaled to 96. The listing says to apply every 7-14 days from March to August on seedlings, plugs and growing plants, and it makes tomato and rose claims without printing an NPK. 1:10 is a much stronger mix than the 1:100 to 1:500 concentrates in this set, so you cannot copy a neighbour's cap onto this pack. No control body is named in the captured bullets. It is a twin-litre stimulant when you will use both bottles in one UK season, not a Soil Association mark or a tomato feed.

Pros

  • Two 1 L bottles at about £16.99
  • Score of 96 from a 4.8 star line on 56 reviews
  • Interval printed: every 7-14 days, March to August
  • United Kingdom origin named

Cons

  • Listed 1:10 is far stronger than the 1:100-1:500 bottles
  • No control body named
  • Tomato and rose claims sit on a bottle with no printed NPK

Best for: A UK season of seedlings and growing plants when you wanted two litres and a printed March-August interval.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed a named certifier, or who would copy a 1:200 cap onto this 1:10 pack.

Specifications

Model
Topline seaweed 2 x 1 L
Brand
Topline
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.8/5(56)
Role
Seaweed stimulant
Control body
Not named
Dilution
1:10
Volume
2 x 1 L
Seaweed
Species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Application
Every 7-14 days
Pack
2 bottles

Common questions

How often does the listing say to apply it?

Every 7-14 days from early spring (March) to late summer (August), for seedlings, plugs and growing plants.

Does the listing name a certifier?

The title says organic. No control body is named in the captured bullets. Country of origin is the United Kingdom.

What is the listed dilution?

The mixing-ratio field reads 1:10, which is a much stronger mix than the 1:100 to 1:500 concentrates in this set. Use the bottle label.

Sunshine seaweed 5 L

Rank 3

Sunshine seaweed 5 L

∼£26

Our view

Sunshine seaweed 5 L is a seaweed concentrate at about £25.99, listed at 1:200, with lawns and vegetables named on the role line. Across 128 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.7, scaled to 94. The manufacturer field is Sunshine Renewables UK; the brand field says Generic. The title says organic. The captured bullets do not name the Soil Association, OF&G, or another control body. How you apply it is not stated in the comparison block, so you still have to read the label in the bottle. It is a larger 5 L row when you already accept a title-only organic claim, not a named-body bottle for an inspected plot.

Pros

  • 5 L at a printed 1:200
  • Score of 94 from a 4.7 star line on 128 reviews
  • Lawns and vegetables named on the role line

Cons

  • No control body named in the captured bullets
  • Brand field says Generic
  • Application method is not stated in the comparison block

Best for: A larger garden that wanted 5 L of seaweed at 1:200 and did not need a named certifier.

Less suitable: Inspected growers, or anyone who needed Soil Association or OF&G on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Sunshine seaweed 5 L
Brand
Sunshine Renewables UK
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.7/5(128)
Role
Seaweed feed
Control body
Not named
Dilution
1:200
Volume
5 L
Seaweed
Species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

Who makes this 5 L bottle?

The manufacturer field is Sunshine Renewables UK. The brand field is Generic.

Is a control body named?

The title says organic. The captured bullets do not name the Soil Association, OF&G, or another control body.

What dilution is printed?

The mixing-ratio field and the bullet both say 1:200.

Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L

Rank 4

Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L

∼£19

Our view

Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L is a Soil Association-named seaweed stimulant at about £18.99, listed at 1:100 for flowers, shrubs, trees, fruit and vegetables. Across 3,688 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, scaled to 92. That is the deepest sample in this set, and still not a laboratory ranking. The listing does not print an NPK. SBM's support note treats Original as below 2 percent of each nutrient and not declared as a fertiliser. A maker label states 45 ml in 9 litres (1:200), so the Amazon 1:100 field and the brand rate stay side by side. Indoor use is asked on the page and not answered in the capture. It is the best value when you wanted a named body and a large UK review file at a mid-shelf price, not a tomato analysis or a 1:10 twin pack.

Pros

  • Soil Association named on the bullet
  • Deepest review file in this set: 4.6 from 3,688
  • 2.5 L at about £18.99 in the mid band
  • Listing dilution 1:100 printed

Cons

  • No NPK on the listing; it is a stimulant, not a declared feed
  • Amazon 1:100 and the maker 1:200 stay unreconciled
  • Indoor use is unanswered in the capture

Best for: Mixed pots and allotment beds when you wanted a named Soil Association stimulant and a large review file.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed a tomato analysis, a lawn-only litre, or a single reconciled dilution.

Specifications

Model
Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L
Brand
Maxicrop
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,688)
Role
Seaweed stimulant
Control body
Soil Association
Dilution
1:100
Volume
2.5 L
Seaweed
Extract; species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Application
Soil or plants
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

Which organic body does this listing name?

The bullet says it is approved and certified for organic growing by the Soil Association. The listing does not print an NPK.

What dilution is on the listing?

The mixing-ratio field reads 1:100. The maker label for Original states 45 ml in 9 litres, which is 1:200. Follow the label in the bottle.

Which plants does the listing name?

Flowers, shrubs, trees, fruit and vegetables, in the home, garden or allotment. Indoor use is asked on the page and not answered in the capture.

Shropshire Seaweed 5 L

Rank 5

Shropshire Seaweed 5 L

∼£41

Our view

Shropshire Seaweed 5 L is a cold-pressed Ascophyllum nodosum concentrate at about £40.98, listed at 1:500, with OF&G named on the bullet. Across 1,026 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, scaled to 92. The listing claims up to 2,500 litres of ready-to-use feed from 5 litres, which is 5 times 500 arithmetic, not a measured solids test from this site. Harvest is described as hand-picked from Ireland's Atlantic coast. That is a listing claim. The bullets also say it suits vegan growers and is safe around children and pets as directed. There is no NPK on the listing. It is the species-named, OF&G row when you wanted a high-dilution 5 L, not the cheapest litre on this shelf.

Pros

  • OF&G named on the bullet
  • Ascophyllum nodosum and cold-pressed process named
  • 1:500 on 5 L, with 1,026 reviews at 4.6
  • Vegan-grower wording on the listing

Cons

  • Highest capture price in this set, at about £40.98
  • The 2,500 litre claim is listing arithmetic, not a solids test
  • No NPK on the listing

Best for: Certified or vegan growers who wanted named Ascophyllum nodosum, OF&G, and a 5 L concentrate.

Less suitable: A first 1 L crop bottle, or anyone buying on shelf price alone.

Specifications

Model
Shropshire Seaweed 5 L
Brand
Shropshire Seaweed
Price
∼£41
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,026)
Role
Cold-pressed seaweed
Control body
OF&G
Dilution
1:500
Volume
5 L
Seaweed
A. nodosum, cold-pressed
Added nutrient
None stated
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

What seaweed and process does the listing name?

Ascophyllum nodosum, cold-pressed rather than high-heat alkali extraction. Harvest is described as hand-picked from Ireland's Atlantic coast. That is a listing claim.

Which certifier is named?

The bullet names OF&G in the UK and the USDA in the US. It also says the feed is suitable for vegan growers and safe around children and pets as directed.

How far does 5 L go on the listing?

Dilution is 1:500, and the bullet says the bottle makes up to 2,500 litres of ready-to-use feed. There is no NPK on the listing. The 2,500 litre line is listing arithmetic.

Vitax organic liquid seaweed

Rank 6

Vitax organic liquid seaweed

∼£18

Our view

Vitax organic liquid seaweed is priced at about £18.38, with root-drench or foliar-spray wording for flowers, fruit, vegetables, shrubs and trees. Across 541 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, scaled to 92. The title says 1 litre. Number of items is 2 and the liquid-volume field is 2 litres, so check the image and the label before you compare price per litre. The attribute block has no mixing ratio. One United Kingdom review says the rates are on the bottle and are not obvious. No control body is named. Skip it as a pack-size buy until the label in the box matches the title you clicked.

Pros

  • Root drench or foliar spray named on the listing
  • 4.6 from 541 reviews, a mid-depth sample
  • Flowers, fruit, vegetables, shrubs and trees named

Cons

  • Title says 1 litre; items and volume fields say two litres
  • No mixing ratio in the attribute block
  • No control body named

Best for: Gardeners who already know the Vitax seaweed rate from a bottle in the shed and will check the pack size on arrival.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed a printed dilution or a settled litre count before buying.

Specifications

Model
Vitax organic liquid seaweed
Brand
Vitax
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.6/5(541)
Role
Seaweed extract
Control body
Not named
Volume
Title 1 L; field 2 L
Seaweed
Species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Application
Root or foliar
Pack
2 bottles

Common questions

How do you apply it?

The listing says a liquid root drench or a foliar spray on flowers, fruit, vegetables, shrubs and trees.

What dilution should you use?

The attribute block has no mixing ratio. One United Kingdom review says the rates are on the bottle label and are not obvious. Do not copy another brand's rate onto this listing.

Is the pack one litre or two?

The title says 1 litre. Number of items is 2 and the liquid-volume field is 2 litres. Check the image and the label before you compare price per litre.

Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L

Rank 7

Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L

∼£12

Our view

Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L is a tomato, pepper, chilli and aubergine feed at about £11.99, with added seaweed extract and a high-potassium highlight. Across 402 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, scaled to 92. The mixing-ratio field reads 4:2:6, which is not a 1:x water recipe. The letters NPK are not printed next to that string, so do not treat it as a confirmed analysis. The bullet names OF&G. The highlight names the Soil Association. Both strings sit in the file without a certificate. A repeated complaint is a spout that holds brown liquid and then leaks and stains. One reviewer linked dark green growth and blossom end rot to too much nitrogen. That is one report, not a trial. It is the fruiting-crop litre when you wanted a feed-shaped bottle, not a general stimulant.

Pros

  • Lowest capture price in this set, at about £11.99
  • Tomato, pepper, chilli and aubergine named
  • 4.6 from 402 reviews

Cons

  • Repeated spout-leak and stain complaints
  • 4:2:6 in the mixing field is not a confirmed NPK analysis
  • OF&G and Soil Association strings both sit in the file without a certificate

Best for: Greenhouse cooks feeding tomatoes, peppers, chillies or aubergines who wanted a 1 L organic-titled crop bottle.

Less suitable: A general tonic for mixed pots, or anyone who needed one settled control-body name and a leak-free spout.

Specifications

Model
Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L
Brand
Maxicrop
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.6/5(402)
Role
Tomato feed
Control body
OF&G; SA on highlight
Dilution
4:2:6 field
Volume
1 L
Seaweed
Extract added
Added nutrient
High potassium
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

Is this a general seaweed stimulant?

No. It is a tomato feed with seaweed, and the highlight also names peppers, chillies and aubergines.

What does 4:2:6 mean on this capture?

That string is in the mixing-ratio field. The highlight says high potassium. The letters NPK are not printed next to 4:2:6, so do not treat it as a confirmed analysis.

What do reviewers say about the bottle?

A repeated complaint is a spout that holds brown liquid and then leaks and stains. One reviewer linked dark green growth and blossom end rot to too much nitrogen. That is one report, not a trial.

Maxicrop organic lawn 1 L

Rank 8

Maxicrop organic lawn 1 L

∼£12

Our view

Maxicrop organic lawn 1 L is a lawn-only liquid at about £12.19, not the all-plants 2.5 L stimulant in this set. Across 98 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.4, scaled to 88. The listing says every 4-6 weeks in the growing season, and the mixing-ratio field reads 1:10 or 1:20. The bullet names OF&G. The item highlight names the Soil Association. The file contains both strings and does not show a certificate. It suits homes with children and pets as directed. It does not say to walk on wet feed. Use it on turf, not as a weekly pot tonic.

Pros

  • Lawn job named, with a 4-6 week interval
  • Entry price of about £12.19 for 1 L
  • 1:10 or 1:20 printed on the listing

Cons

  • Not the all-plants Maxicrop 2.5 L row
  • OF&G and Soil Association strings both sit in the file without a certificate
  • Score of 88 from 98 reviews, thinner than the 2.5 L sibling

Best for: A UK lawn in the growing season when you wanted a 1 L organic-titled liquid on a 4-6 week interval.

Less suitable: Pots, tomatoes, or anyone who needed one settled control-body name.

Specifications

Model
Maxicrop organic lawn 1 L
Brand
Maxicrop
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.4/5(98)
Role
Lawn feed
Control body
OF&G; SA on highlight
Dilution
1:10 or 1:20
Volume
1 L
Seaweed
Extract; species not stated
Added nutrient
None stated
Application
Every 4-6 weeks
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

Is this the same as the Maxicrop all-plants seaweed?

No. The title and item type are a lawn feed. The all-plants stimulant in this set is the 2.5 L Maxicrop bottle.

Which certifier should you trust on this capture?

The bullet names OF&G. The item highlight names the Soil Association. The file contains both strings and does not show a certificate.

How often is it applied?

Every 4-6 weeks during the growing season. The mixing-ratio field reads 1:10 or 1:20. The bullet says it suits homes with children and pets. It does not say to walk on wet feed.

Sunshine seaweed plus iron 6 L

Rank 9

Sunshine seaweed plus iron 6 L

∼£30

Our view

Sunshine seaweed plus iron 6 L is seaweed plus chelated iron at about £29.99, listed at 1:400, for a watering can or sprayer. Across 8 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.4, scaled to 88. That is a thin sample, and four United Kingdom reviews sit in the file. One of those texts describes the container spilling when poured. The bullets name vegetables, flowers, lawns, shrubs, houseplants, fruit trees, seedlings and hydroponics. Iron is named. A full NPK is not. Pet safety is asked and not answered in the capture. Skip it if you needed a named control body or a review file deeper than eight ratings.

Pros

  • Chelated iron named on the bullet
  • 6 L at a printed 1:400
  • Watering can or sprayer, with hydroponics named

Cons

  • Only 8 reviews support the 4.4 line
  • One United Kingdom review describes a spill when poured
  • No control body named; pet safety unanswered

Best for: Gardeners who specifically wanted seaweed plus chelated iron in a 6 L can and accepted a thin sample.

Less suitable: Inspected plots, or anyone who needed a deep review file before buying.

Specifications

Model
Sunshine seaweed plus iron 6 L
Brand
Sunshine Renewables UK
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(8)
Role
Seaweed plus iron
Control body
Not named
Dilution
1:400
Volume
6 L
Seaweed
Species not stated
Added nutrient
Chelated iron
Application
Can or sprayer
Pack
1 bottle

Common questions

Is this plain seaweed?

No. A bullet says it is enhanced with chelated iron for chlorophyll and greener foliage, as well as seaweed extract. A full NPK is not printed.

Where can you use it, according to the listing?

Vegetables, flowers, lawns, shrubs, houseplants, fruit trees, seedlings and hydroponics, by watering can or sprayer. Pet safety is asked and not answered in the capture.

How many reviews support the 4.4 score?

The listing line is 4.4 from 8 reviews. Four United Kingdom reviews are in the file, and one describes the container spilling when poured.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings were read from the stored pages and the UK notes already on file. There is no laboratory test. The score on each card is the amazon.co.uk star rating scaled to 100. The top pick is the highest of those scores: Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L at 5.0 from 5 reviews. That file is thin, and the score is not a crop trial. The best value is a separate award in the same product file: Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L, the Soil Association-named stimulant with the deepest review file, at a mid-shelf price. It does not also hold the top score. A 5.0 from five reviews is not treated as proof of a better allotment result than 4.6 from 3,688. The weights below are the reading checklist. They sum to 100. They are not a second total that moves the badges.

1

Star line on the card

40%

The amazon.co.uk star rating scaled to 100. Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L at 5.0 is the top of this block. The scaled figure is the card score and the top-pick assignment. It is not a measured yield.

2

Role and dilution

25%

A readable job, a dilution or a stated clash, and volume fields that agree. A 1:10 bottle is not scored as if it were a 1:500 concentrate. A missing mixing ratio, or a 4:2:6 field that is not an NPK, is recorded as printed.

3

Named control body

20%

Soil Association or OF&G named on the listing. A title that only says organic scores nothing here. Two Maxicrop litres name both bodies in different fields, with no certificate in the file, so that clash stays visible.

4

Review-file depth

15%

The count behind the star line. Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L at 3,688 leads this block. Five reviews and eight reviews add little weight beside a 4.6 from hundreds or thousands. One written complaint is not a trial.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Organic liquid fertiliser buying guide

Match the job, the control body and the dilution before you match the star line. Prices below are the stored amazon.co.uk snapshot, not a live re-check. This is not a laboratory test.

What to match before you buy

Organic liquid fertiliser on amazon.co.uk, in the bottles kept for this comparison, is almost always a brown seaweed concentrate you dilute in a watering can. Six listings are multi-purpose seaweed stimulants. One adds chelated iron. One is a lawn liquid. One is a tomato liquid with a high-potassium highlight. The Royal Horticultural Society treats plain seaweed as not a true fertiliser. A biostimulant sits beside a feed and does not replace it on a hungry crop.

Best for

  • Mixed pots and allotment beds that need a seaweed stimulant beside a feed
  • An inspected plot that needs Soil Association or OF&G named on the listing
  • A greenhouse crop or a lawn when the bottle names that job

Not ideal for

  • Anyone treating 5.0 from five reviews as a rank over a file of thousands
  • A buyer who copies a 1:10 cap onto a 1:500 concentrate
  • Someone using a stimulant as the only tomato feed after fruit set

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Copying one dilution onto another bottle

    Listed ratios run from 1:10 to 1:500. Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L is 1:100 on Amazon and 1:200 on the maker label. Follow the label in the bottle you hold.

  2. 2

    Reading the title as a certificate

    Sunshine, Topline and Vitax say organic and do not name a control body in the captured bullets. Soil Association and OF&G are named only where the listing actually names them.

  3. 3

    Treating five stars as a crop trial

    Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L is 5.0 from 5 reviews. Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L is 4.6 from 3,688. The higher star line is the top-pick score. It is not evidence of a larger crop.

What to weigh up

Job, then the control body

High

Name the job first. Mixed pots and transplant shock want a seaweed stimulant. Fruiting tomatoes, peppers, chillies and aubergines want the tomato litre, which carries a high-potassium highlight and a mixing field of 4:2:6 that is not printed as NPK. A lawn wants the lawn litre every 4-6 weeks at 1:10 or 1:20. Chelated iron is named only on the 6 L bottle. If you are inspected, the listing should name a UK control body. GOV.UK says food sold as organic needs one.

Dilution, pack and the review file

High

Use the rate on the bottle you hold. Topline is listed at 1:10. Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L is 1:100 on the amazon field and 45 ml in 9 litres (1:200) on the maker label. Sunshine 5 L and Sunshine 2.5 L are 1:200. The iron bottle is 1:400. Shropshire is 1:500, and the claim of up to 2,500 litres is 5 times 500, not a solids test. Vitax has no mixing ratio in the attributes, and the title says 1 litre while the item and volume fields say 2 litres.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Pots and an allotment

You want a brown seaweed stimulant for mixed pots and beds. Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L is the best value at about £18.99, with the Soil Association named and 4.6 from 3,688 reviews. The amazon field says 1:100. The maker label for Original says 45 ml in 9 litres (1:200). It is not a declared NPK feed.

A named mark on 5 L

You need a control body an inspector can see, or vegan-grower wording, on a large concentrate. Shropshire Seaweed 5 L names OF&G and cold-pressed Ascophyllum nodosum, listed at 1:500, at about £40.98. It is 4.6 from 1,026 reviews. The 2,500 litre claim is listing arithmetic, not a solids test.

Tomatoes and greenhouse fruit

After fruit set you want a crop bottle, not only a stimulant. Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L is about £11.99, with 4.6 from 402 reviews, and the highlight names tomatoes, peppers, chillies and aubergines. The mixing field reads 4:2:6 without the letters NPK. Reviewers report a leaking spout. A lawn is a different litre.

Common questions about organic liquid fertilisers

Which organic liquid fertiliser is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L at about £16.99. The card score is the amazon.co.uk star line scaled to 100, and this listing is 5.0 from 5 reviews. Dilution is 1:200, with a claim of up to 500 litres. That matches 2.5 times 200 and is listing arithmetic, not a solids test. No control body is named. Four written reviews are one line each. Five reviews are not proof it outperforms a 2.5 L stimulant with thousands of reviews.
Which bottle is the best value?
The best value is Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L at about £18.99. The bullet names the Soil Association. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 3,688 reviews, the deepest file here, scaled to 92. The listing dilution is 1:100. A maker label for Original states 45 ml in 9 litres (1:200), so those rates stay side by side. There is no NPK. SBM's support note treats Original as below 2 percent of each nutrient and not a declared fertiliser. Choose it for mixed pots, not a tomato analysis.
Is seaweed extract a true fertiliser?
Plain seaweed extract is not a true fertiliser, according to the Royal Horticultural Society. It is a biostimulant you use beside a feed, not instead of one, once hungry crops are fruiting. In this set the tomato litre is the feed-shaped bottle, with a high-potassium highlight. The lawn litre is turf feed on a 4-6 week interval. A multi-purpose seaweed bottle does not replace either job.
Does organic on the title mean a UK control body?
No. A title that says organic is not a Soil Association or OF&G mark. GOV.UK says food sold as organic needs a UK control body. An OF&G approved input may be used in an organic system without itself being organic food. Here, one 2.5 L stimulant names the Soil Association and one 5 L concentrate names OF&G. The lawn and tomato litres name both bodies in different fields, with no certificate in the file. Other titles name no body. Check the live directory if an inspector will ask.
Why do the dilutions differ so widely?
Listed dilutions run from 1:10 to 1:500. A 1:10 mix is much stronger than a 1:500 concentrate, so you cannot pour one brand's cap into another bottle. One stimulant is 1:100 on the amazon field and 1:200 on the maker label. Follow the label in the bottle you bought. A field that reads 4:2:6 is not a 1:x water recipe, and NPK is not printed beside it. If the attributes have no mixing ratio, do not invent one.
What does 4:2:6 mean on the tomato listing?
On Maxicrop organic tomato 1 L the mixing-ratio field reads 4:2:6. The highlight says high potassium and names tomatoes, peppers, chillies and aubergines. NPK is not printed next to 4:2:6, so this comparison does not treat that string as a confirmed analysis. Reviewers often report a spout that holds brown liquid, then leaks and stains. One reviewer linked dark growth and blossom end rot to too much nitrogen. That is one report, not a trial. The bottle is about £11.99, with 4.6 from 402 reviews.
Can you use these bottles on a lawn, and when should you stop?
Only the lawn litre is sold as turf feed, every 4-6 weeks at 1:10 or 1:20. Pet-friendly lines mean as directed. They do not mean a pet may drink the concentrate, and they do not invite you to walk on wet feed. None of these bottles is a moss killer. Ask your inspector before you treat a bottle as an approved input, and contact the seller if a pack leaks. Wider lawn liquids are in the liquid lawn fertiliser comparison. This page did not run a crop trial.

Our verdict

The top pick is Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L at about £16.99. It has the highest card score because amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 5 reviews, scaled to 100, with a listed dilution of 1:200. That sample is five reviews, four of them one line, and no control body is named. The best value is Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L at about £18.99: Soil Association on the bullet, 4.6 from 3,688 reviews, and a mid-shelf 2.5 L. It is a stimulant, not a declared NPK, and the amazon 1:100 field does not match the maker's 1:200 label. Shropshire Seaweed 5 L is the OF&G, species-named concentrate. The tomato litre and the lawn litre are separate jobs. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L

Sunshine seaweed 2.5 L

Highest card score: 5.0 from 5 reviews, scaled to 100, at about £16.99 and a listed 1:200. The file is thin and names no control body.

View offer
Best value
Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L

Maxicrop seaweed 2.5 L

Soil Association named, 4.6 from 3,688 reviews, about £18.99 for 2.5 L. Not the highest star line, and not a declared NPK.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
FertilisersSoil and mulchamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to organic liquid fertilisers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and maker sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the nine stored amazon.co.uk listings. A title that says organic is not a control-body certificate. The 4:2:6 tomato field is not an analysis from this site. Shropshire's 2,500 litre line and Sunshine's 500 litre line are listing arithmetic. A 5.0 from five reviews is not a crop trial.

  1. RHS, Seaweed products (retrieved October 2026)
  2. RHS, Biostimulants (retrieved October 2026)
  3. RHS, How to feed plants (retrieved October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, Manufacturing and marketing fertilisers (retrieved October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Organic farming certification (retrieved October 2026)
  6. OF&G, Approved inputs (retrieved October 2026)
  7. SBM, Maxicrop NPK query (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Maxicrop Original label (retrieved October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.