Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Potting soil comparison 2026

The best potting soils, compared.

Top pick: Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L Best value: Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L – Lowest 60 litre title price at about £9.34, with 4.6 from 2,045 reviews. Pack count 2, so check the litres. Not peat-free. Updated October 2026.

Potting soil in the UK is bagged potting compost: a growing medium for containers, not garden soil dug from a border and not homemade heap compost. On amazon.co.uk you usually buy a 50–120 litre multi-purpose sack for patio pots, or a smaller 8–10 litre houseplant mix. Titles mix potting soil, compost and multi-purpose on the same product. A suitable bag is fresh and crumbly, and the label names the job. If peat matters to you, only the words peat-free count. Organic and eco-friendly do not prove the bag is peat-free. England announced a retail peat ban for 2024. By 2026 no statute was in force, so peat bags can still be sold. Starter feed on a typical bag lasts about three to four weeks unless the label claims longer. Water peat-free mixes by finger or pot weight, not by a dry-looking surface. How to match the bag to the job is set out in the [potting soil buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/potting-soil/sub/potting-soil-buying-guide).

Potting soil in the UK is bagged potting compost: a growing medium for containers, not garden soil dug from a border and not homemade heap compost.

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Best overall

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L
9.2/10∼ £9

32 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

9 of 9: Best potting soils compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L
Houseplant Focus peat-free mix 2 x 8 L
Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L
Growmoor multi-purpose compost 2 x 60 L
DIVCHI potting soil 10 L
Miracle-Gro houseplant potting mix 10 L
Laeto multi-purpose compost 120 L
PLANT!T compressed coir 15 L
Miracle-Gro potting mix 2 x 10 L
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.6/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
∼ £9
∼ £18
∼ £14
∼ £22
∼ £8
∼ £9
∼ £25
∼ £10
∼ £12
4.6(2,045)
4.6(1,739)
4.5(7,425)
4.4(3,611)
4.4(1,702)
4.3(4,661)
4.3(1,857)
4.3(508)
4.2(274)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best potting soils in detail

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Rank 1

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Our view

Munnie’s listing is titled 60 litres at about £9.34, with 4.6 from 2,045 reviews and a listed weight of 14.9 kg. That is the cheapest patio-scale face in this set if the bag that arrives is really 60 litres. A bullet claims vermiculite, wetting agents and a reduction in peat use, plus organic materials and an eco-friendly bag, with no certifier named. The same listing sets the pack count to 2, so price per litre is not calculated and you should count what lands on the doorstep. Reviewers use it for indoor and outdoor plants, vegetables and potting, which matches the wide job list. It is the best value here on title price and stars, not a proven two-bag deal and not a peat-free mix. Skip it if you needed the words peat-free, or a pack field that already agrees with the litres.

Pros

  • About £9.34 is the lowest 60 L title price here
  • 4.6 from 2,045 reviews
  • Vermiculite and wetting agents named on the listing
  • Claims indoor, outdoor, seed and vegetable jobs

Cons

  • Pack count 2 fights the 60 L title
  • A peat reduction is not peat-free
  • Organic and eco wording names no certifier

Best for: A cheap multi-purpose fill when you will check the parcel litres before you count pots.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs peat-free in print, or a listing whose pack count and litres already agree.

Specifications

Model
Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L
Brand
Munnie
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,045)
Volume
60 L
Packs
2
Litre clash
Yes
Peat line
Peat reduced
Organic line
No certifier
Weight
14.9 kg
Job
Indoor and outdoor

Common questions

Is this listing peat-free?

No. A bullet says the mix enables a reduction in the use of peat. It does not say peat-free. Organic and eco-friendly wording has no certifier number.

How many bags do you get?

The title and the volume field say 60 litres. The listing also sets the pack count to 2. Price per litre is not calculated because of that clash.

What does the listing say it is for?

Indoor and outdoor plants, vegetables, fruit, flowers, herbs, shrubs, trees, germination and potting. Vermiculite and wetting agents are claimed.

Houseplant Focus peat-free mix 2 x 8 L

Rank 2

Houseplant Focus peat-free mix 2 x 8 L

∼£18

Our view

Houseplant Focus is a twin pack of two 8 litre peat-free bags from Growth Technology at about £17.98, about £1.12 a litre, with 4.6 from 1,739 reviews. The title and the bullets print peat-free, which is the only dedicated indoor mix in this set that does so. A bullet tells you to repot every 18–24 months, loosen the root ball, pot on and water well. The listed weight is 1.2 kg for 16 litres, and the unit-count field says 2.0 gram, which does not match the litres, so treat the weight as a listing clash. Reviewers buy it as a houseplant repotting mix. Some add perlite or orchid bark for tropical plants, which the listing does not include. It is the indoor peat-free pick here, not a 60 litre patio sack and not a cheap pence-per-litre bag.

Pros

  • Peat-free printed on the title and the bullets
  • Two 8 L bags, 16 L total, sized for indoor work
  • 4.6 from 1,739 reviews
  • A printed 18–24 month repotting interval

Cons

  • About £1.12 a litre, the dearest face here
  • Listed weight 1.2 kg does not match 16 L
  • Not a cactus or orchid mix unless you add structure

Best for: Indoor houseplants when you want peat-free in print and will store two 8 litre bags.

Less suitable: Patio volume on pence per litre, or a single cheap 10 litre bag.

Specifications

Model
Houseplant Focus peat-free mix 2 x 8 L
Brand
Focus
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,739)
Volume
16 L
Packs
2
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Peat-free
Organic line
Not stated
Weight
1.2 kg
Price per litre
112p
Job
Indoor houseplants

Common questions

Is this mix peat-free?

Yes. The title and the bullets print peat-free. It is sold as a houseplant repotting mix.

How much compost is in the pack?

The title is a pack of two 8 litre bags. The volume field is 16 litres. The unit-count field says 2.0 gram, which does not match the litres.

How often does the listing say to repot?

A bullet says to repot houseplants every 18–24 months, loosen the root ball, pot on and water well.

Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L

Rank 3

Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L

∼£14

Our view

The Growmoor 60 litre multi-purpose sack is a patio-scale compost at about £13.98 on amazon.co.uk, about 23.3p a litre, listed at 14 kg, with a United Kingdom origin line and a 4.5 rating from 7,425 reviews. The bullets name seeds, cuttings, pots, hanging baskets, beds and borders, so the listing treats one mix as a general container fill rather than a houseplant recipe. Reviewers on that large sample keep using it for patio pots and baskets, and the gardening-soils rank (12) matches a high-volume doorstep bag. The listing does not print peat-free, so assume peat may be present unless those words appear. It is a single 60 litre sack, not the twin listing that shares the brand name. It is the top pick for a 60 litre patio job whose litres and weight agree and whose review file is the largest here, not a 10 litre indoor mix and not a printed peat-free bag.

Pros

  • 60 L and 14 kg agree on a single sack
  • 4.5 from 7,425 reviews, the largest file here
  • About 23.3p a litre at about £13.98
  • Bullets cover pots, baskets, seeds and cuttings

Cons

  • No peat-free line on the listing
  • A coarse multi-purpose sack, not a houseplant mix
  • 14 kg is a doorstep lift, not a flat-hallway bag

Best for: Patio pots, hanging baskets and a 60 litre fill when you want the deepest amazon.co.uk review file in this set.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs peat-free in print, or a single indoor plant that only needs a 10 litre bag.

Specifications

Model
Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L
Brand
GROWMOOR
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.5/5(7,425)
Volume
60 L
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
Not stated
Weight
14 kg
Price per litre
23.3p
Job
Pots and baskets

Common questions

Does the listing say this 60 litre bag is peat-free?

No. The bullets describe nutrients, an open texture and water retention. They do not say peat-free.

What jobs does the listing name?

The bullets name seeds, cuttings and containers, and also beds, borders, pots and hanging baskets. Indoor plants and vegetables are questions on the listing. The listing does not answer them.

What is the price and the review line?

The amazon.co.uk listing is about £13.98, with 4.5 from 7,425 reviews. The listed weight is 14 kg.

Growmoor multi-purpose compost 2 x 60 L

Rank 4

Growmoor multi-purpose compost 2 x 60 L

∼£22

Our view

The CB Fuels listing is titled two 60 litre Growmoor bags at about £21.71, listed at 22 kg, with 4.4 from 3,611 reviews. The volume field says 60 litres against that twin title, so price per litre is not calculated. Some reviewers received Growmoor bags as titled. At least one received Bayview Blossom & Bloom bags with no litre mark on this listing. The bullets name flowering plants, potted plants, flower beds and added nutrients, with no peat-free line. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 is the frame if the brand on the bag is not the brand on the title. Skip this listing if you need the titled Growmoor bags every time. Use the single 60 litre Growmoor sack instead.

Pros

  • A twin 60 L title if both Growmoor bags arrive
  • 4.4 from 3,611 reviews
  • 22 kg listed weight for a large outdoor fill

Cons

  • Volume field of 60 L fights the 2 x 60 L title
  • Substitute-bag reports under this listing
  • No peat-free line

Best for: A large outdoor fill when you will check the brand on the bags before you empty them.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs two Growmoor bags as titled, every order, with no substitute risk.

Specifications

Model
Growmoor multi-purpose compost 2 x 60 L
Brand
GROWMOOR
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.4/5(3,611)
Volume
2 x 60 L
Packs
2
Litre clash
Yes
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
Not stated
Weight
22 kg
Job
Pots and beds

Common questions

How many litres does the listing agree on?

It does not. The title is 2 x 60 L. The volume field is 60 litres. Price per litre is not calculated.

Is the compost named as peat-free?

No. The bullets cover flowering plants, potted plants, flower beds, multi-purpose compost and added nutrients.

What do reviews say about the bags that arrive?

Some reviewers received Growmoor bags as titled. At least one received Bayview Blossom & Bloom bags with no litre mark on this listing.

DIVCHI potting soil 10 L

Rank 5

DIVCHI potting soil 10 L

Our view

DIVCHI’s 10 litre potting soil is about £7.70, about 77p a litre, with 4.4 from 1,702 reviews. The listed weight is 680 g, and the first 50 reviews describe a compressed block that expands after you add water. The title and the bullets use organic and eco-friendly wording with no certifier and no peat-free line. One bullet names vermiculite. Another says 20% sand and perlite, and another 50% garden soil, so the recipe on the page does not read as one clean indoor mix. The stated uses run from indoor plants to vegetables, trees and germination. It is the cheapest small-format face if you wanted a brick that stores flat, not a loose 10 litre bag ready to pot. Skip it if you expected a crumbly sack on arrival.

Pros

  • About £7.70 is the cheapest 10 L title here
  • 4.4 from 1,702 reviews
  • Compressed form stores in a small space
  • Vermiculite named for moisture hold

Cons

  • Arrives as a compressed block, not a loose bag
  • Organic wording has no certifier, and no peat-free line
  • Recipe bullets for sand, perlite and garden soil do not agree

Best for: A flat or shed with no room for a 60 litre sack, if you will expand the block with water first.

Less suitable: Anyone who wanted a ready loose 10 litre bag, or peat-free in print.

Specifications

Model
DIVCHI potting soil 10 L
Brand
DIVCHI
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,702)
Volume
10 L
Packs
1
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
No certifier
Weight
0.68 kg
Price per litre
77p
Job
Indoor and outdoor

Common questions

Is this a loose 10 litre bag?

The title and the volume field say 10 litres. The listed weight is 680 g, and the first 50 reviews describe a compressed block that expands after you add water.

Does the listing say it is organic or peat-free?

The title and the bullets use organic and eco-friendly wording. There is no certifier number and no peat-free line.

What additives does the listing name?

Vermiculite for moisture hold. One bullet says 20% sand and perlite. Another bullet says 50% garden soil.

Miracle-Gro houseplant potting mix 10 L

Rank 6

Miracle-Gro houseplant potting mix 10 L

Our view

The Miracle-Gro houseplant potting mix is a 10 litre indoor bag at about £8.99, about 89.9p a litre, listed at 3.34 kg, with 4.3 from 4,661 reviews. A bullet claims a feed for up to three months, which is longer than the four-week default on most bags. The uses named are seedlings, cuttings, herbs, houseplants and patio pots. The listing does not print peat-free or an NPK, and organic is an unanswered question on the page. The review theme that comes up most often after indoor repotting is fungus gnats, plus a smell and a less refined texture for some buyers. It is the high-sample indoor bag in this set, not a cactus or orchid mix and not a printed peat-free houseplant compost. Use it when you want a small dedicated indoor bag and will watch watering. Skip it if gnats after a new bag are a red line.

Pros

  • A 10 L indoor bag at 3.34 kg, easy to store in a flat
  • Claims a feed for up to 3 months
  • 4.3 from 4,661 reviews, the largest indoor sample
  • Named for houseplants, herbs, seedlings and cuttings

Cons

  • Fungus gnats after indoor repotting in the reviews
  • No peat-free line on the listing
  • Smell and a less refined texture for some buyers

Best for: One or two houseplants when you want a small indoor bag and a three-month feed claim.

Less suitable: Anyone who treats gnats as a deal-breaker, or who needs peat-free in print.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro houseplant potting mix 10 L
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.3/5(4,661)
Volume
10 L
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
Not stated
Weight
3.34 kg
Price per litre
89.9p
Job
Houseplants

Common questions

How long does the listing say the feed lasts?

A bullet says it feeds for up to 3 months. The listing does not print an NPK.

Does the listing say peat-free or organic?

No. Organic is a question on the listing and is not answered there. There is no peat-free line.

What do the reviews mention most often as a problem?

Fungus gnats after indoor repotting. Some reviews also mention smell and a less refined texture.

Laeto multi-purpose compost 120 L

Rank 7

Laeto multi-purpose compost 120 L

∼£25

Our view

Laeto’s listing is titled 120 litres of multi-purpose compost at about £24.99, about 20.8p a litre, with 4.3 from 1,857 reviews. The body calls it an organic planting mix of topsoil and soil improver for houseplants, vegetables, seedlings, pots, beds and lawn top dressing, with no certifier and no peat-free line. One review calls the compost peat-free. That is a review, not the label. At least one review describes 40 litre bags on this listing, so count what arrives. Reviewers who used it outdoors report a usable mix. The farmyard smell is the reason several would not use it indoors. It is a volume patio or allotment fill, not a houseplant bag and not a printed peat-free product.

Pros

  • A 120 L title at about 20.8p a litre
  • 4.3 from 1,857 reviews
  • Claims indoor, vegetable, seed and lawn-top-dress jobs
  • Loam-based topsoil and soil-improver wording

Cons

  • No peat-free line; a review is not the label
  • Farmyard smell in reviews, a poor fit indoors
  • At least one review describes 40 L bags against a 120 L title

Best for: Outdoor pots and a large fill when smell does not matter and you will count the bags.

Less suitable: Houseplants in a flat, or anyone who needs peat-free in print.

Specifications

Model
Laeto multi-purpose compost 120 L
Brand
Laeto
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,857)
Volume
120 L
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
No certifier
Price per litre
20.8p
Job
Pots and beds

Common questions

Does the listing say peat-free?

No. The listing body does not print peat-free. One review calls the compost peat-free. That is a review, not the label. Organic planting-mix wording has no certifier number.

What volume does the listing state?

The title and the volume field say 120 litres. At least one review describes 40 litre bags on this listing.

What jobs does the listing name?

Indoor houseplants, vegetables, herbs, flowers, seed sowing, bulbs, rose beds, citrus and lawn top dressing. It claims a loam-based mix of topsoil and soil improver.

PLANT!T compressed coir 15 L

Rank 8

PLANT!T compressed coir 15 L

∼£10

Our view

The PLANT!T block is compressed coir that the listing says expands to 15 litres after you add 6–8 litres of water, at about £9.86, about 65.7p a litre, listed at 1.12 kg, with 4.3 from 508 reviews. The listing says peat-free and natural with nothing added, so it is a substrate rather than a fed potting compost. Reviewers who expected a three-month feed then add compost or liquid feed, which matches that nothing-added line. The country-of-origin field says España, and the soils rank (601) is far weaker than the patio sacks. It is the peat-free brick in this set if you will expand it and feed it yourself, not a complete houseplant mix in a ready bag.

Pros

  • Expands to a claimed 15 L from a 1.12 kg brick
  • Peat-free and nothing added on the listing
  • About 65.7p a litre at about £9.86
  • Stores flat until you add 6–8 L of water

Cons

  • 4.3 from 508 reviews, a thinner sample than the patio sacks
  • Nothing added means you supply the feed
  • Not a complete potting compost if you wanted a ready bag

Best for: Seedlings or houseplants when you want a peat-free coir substrate and will add your own feed.

Less suitable: Anyone who expected a fed multi-purpose sack, or a printed indoor mix with a three-month feed.

Specifications

Model
PLANT!T compressed coir 15 L
Brand
PLANT!T
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.3/5(508)
Volume
15 L
Litre clash
No
Peat line
Peat-free
Organic line
Nothing added
Weight
1.12 kg
Price per litre
65.7p
Job
Seedlings

Common questions

Is this a complete potting compost?

The listing says peat-free and natural with nothing added. It is a compressed coir block. The listing tells you to add 6–8 litres of water. Reviewers who expected a fed compost then add compost or feed.

Does it contain peat?

The listing says peat-free. That question is also asked on the listing page.

How much mix do you get?

The listing says the block expands to 15 litres. The listed weight is 1.12 kg.

Miracle-Gro potting mix 2 x 10 L

Rank 9

Miracle-Gro potting mix 2 x 10 L

∼£12

Our view

The Miracle-Gro twin-pack listing is titled 2 x 10 L at about £12.30, about 61.5p a litre if 20 litres arrive, with 4.2 from 274 reviews. The volume field says 10 litres while the unit count is 20,000 ml, so treat the pack as a clash rather than a measured 20 litres. The only bullet is about root growth. There is no peat-free line and no indoor-use answer. Reviews mention sticks and twigs, a bag with blue plastic strips, and fungus gnats after indoor repotting. The sample is the thinnest Miracle-Gro file here. It is a twin indoor-scale pack only if you will check both bags, not the 10 litre houseplant mix with 4,661 reviews.

Pros

  • Title 2 x 10 L and a unit count of 20,000 ml if both bags arrive
  • A lower pence per litre than the 10 L houseplant bag if 20 L is real
  • The same brand as the dedicated houseplant mix

Cons

  • Volume field says 10 L against a 2 x 10 L title
  • Only 274 reviews at 4.2
  • Sticks, twigs, blue plastic and gnats in the reviews
  • No peat-free line

Best for: Two small bags in one order when you will open them and accept a thin review file.

Less suitable: Anyone who wanted the 4,661-review 10 litre houseplant listing, or a clean litre field.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro potting mix 2 x 10 L
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.2/5(274)
Volume
2 x 10 L
Packs
2
Litre clash
Yes
Peat line
Not stated
Organic line
Not stated
Job
General potting

Common questions

How many litres is the pack?

The title and the pack count are 2 x 10 L, and the unit count is 20,000 ml. The volume field says 10 litres. Treat that as a clash, not a measured 20 litres.

Does the listing say peat-free?

No. The only bullet is about root growth.

What problems appear in the reviews?

Sticks and twigs, a bag with blue plastic strips, and fungus gnats after indoor repotting.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the UK review notes already on file. Shelf date 21 October 2026. There is no growth trial and no fill-volume measurement. A peat-free line, an organic line or a feed length is only what the listing prints. Where the title and the pack count disagree, both stay and the clash is a deduction. The top pick is the 60 litre patio sack whose litres and listed weight agree and whose review file is the largest. The best value is the lowest 60 litre title price. It is not the top pick. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Listing clarity

35%

A named job, litres that agree with the pack count, and a peat line only when the listing prints peat-free. Organic or eco wording with no certifier does not count as peat-free. Growmoor 60 L agrees at 60 litres and 14 kg and does not print peat-free. Houseplant Focus prints peat-free, then lists 1.2 kg against 16 litres. Munnie, the Growmoor twin pack and the Miracle-Gro twin pack each carry a litre clash.

2

Amazon evidence

30%

Star rating on amazon.co.uk, then the size of that listing's review file. Growmoor 60 L is 4.5 from 7,425, the largest file. Miracle-Gro houseplant mix is 4.3 from 4,661. Munnie is 4.6 from 2,045. The Miracle-Gro 2 x 10 L listing is 4.2 from 274, the thinnest file here.

3

Review outcome

20%

Comments that describe the bag that arrived, the texture and indoor use. Fungus gnats after repotting, a farmyard smell, sticks, plastic, and a substitute brand are deductions. A review that calls a bag peat-free is not the label. One substitute-bag report is a listing risk, not a measured fill.

4

Value

15%

Shelf price in GBP against litres you can believe. Price per litre is not scored when the title and the pack count disagree. Where the litres agree, Growmoor 60 L is about 23.3p a litre and Laeto's 120 L title is about 20.8p. Houseplant Focus is about £1.12 a litre. Munnie's about £9.34 is the lowest 60 litre title price, and that is the best-value case.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Potting soil buying guide

Buy the job before you buy the star line. A patio sack, a houseplant bag and a coir brick are not one list. Prices below are amazon.co.uk shelf prices on 21 October 2026. This is not a growth trial.

What to match before you buy

Potting soil on amazon.co.uk is bagged potting compost for containers. It is not soil dug from a border, and it is not homemade heap compost. Shoppers usually want either a 50–120 litre multi-purpose sack for patio pots or a smaller 8–10 litre houseplant mix. Titles use potting soil, compost and multi-purpose for the same kind of bag. Match the job on the label before you match the price. A multi-purpose sack suits tubs, baskets and sometimes beds.

Best for

  • Patio pots and baskets that need a 60 litre sack
  • Houseplants when peat-free has to be printed on the bag
  • A flat that can store a coir brick and will add feed

Not ideal for

  • A buyer who treats organic as peat-free
  • Orchids, cacti or ericaceous plants unless the listing says so
  • Open borders, where a soil improver was the job

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading organic as peat-free

    Organic and eco-friendly are wording. They are not a certifier and they are not peat-free. If the bag does not say peat-free, assume peat may be present.

  2. 2

    Trusting a title when the pack count disagrees

    A 60 litre title with a pack count of 2, or a twin title whose volume field is half, is a clash. Count the bags that arrive. A review of a different brand is a listing risk.

  3. 3

    Watering peat-free compost by surface colour

    A peat-free mix can look dry on top while the pot is still heavy. Water by finger or by pot weight. A coir brick with nothing added still needs feed.

What to weigh up

Job, peat line and texture

High

The bag has to match the job. Multi-purpose compost is the patio default for pots and baskets, and it is often too coarse for fine seed. A houseplant mix is an 8–10 litre indoor bag. It is not a cactus or orchid mix unless the listing says so. A compressed coir brick is a substrate you expand with water. A loam or John Innes style mix is the heavier long-term container option, and it still has to say peat-free if that is what you need. Only the printed words peat-free count.

Litres, weight, feed and price

High

Stated litres only help if the pack count agrees. Price per litre is left blank where it does not. A fresh bag, in Which?'s terms, is dry, unfaded and unused within about three months. Starter feed usually lasts about three to four weeks unless the label claims longer. One houseplant listing here claims up to three months. A coir block that says nothing added does not include that feed. A 60 litre sack in this set is listed around 14 kg.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Patio pots and baskets

You want a 60 litre sack delivered and you will feed after about a month. Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L is the top pick at about £13.98, with 4.5 from 7,425 reviews. The litres and the 14 kg weight agree. The listing does not print peat-free.

Houseplants in a small bag

You need a small indoor mix and you want peat-free in print. Houseplant Focus, two 8 litre bags, is about £17.98, with 4.6 from 1,739 reviews. The title prints peat-free. The listed weight of 1.2 kg does not match 16 litres. The Miracle-Gro 10 litre bag is the larger indoor review file, and those reviews mention fungus gnats.

A flat with no room for a sack

You can store a brick, not a 60 litre sack, and you will add water and feed. PLANT!T compressed coir is about £9.86 and the listing says it expands to 15 litres, peat-free, with nothing added. It is 4.3 from 508 reviews. DIVCHI at about £7.70 is the cheaper 10 litre title, and the reviews describe a compressed block with no peat-free line.

Common questions about potting soils

Which potting soil is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L at about £13.98. The listing is one 60 litre sack at 14 kg, so the litres and the weight agree, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 7,425 reviews, the largest file in this set. The bullets name pots, baskets, seeds and cuttings. The listing does not print peat-free, so treat it as a patio sack, not a peat-free houseplant bag.
Which bag is the best value?
The best value is Munnie multi-purpose compost, titled 60 litres at about £9.34, with 4.6 from 2,045 reviews. That is the lowest 60 litre title price here. A bullet says the mix reduces peat use. It does not say peat-free, and the organic wording names no certifier. The same listing sets the pack count to 2, so check the litres on the doorstep before you count pots.
Is peat compost illegal to sell in the UK in 2026?
No. England announced a retail peat ban for 2024, and that announcement did not become a statute. The Royal Horticultural Society says no legislation was in place, and its own shops use a no-new-peat policy. A bag can still contain peat. Only the words peat-free on the listing mean peat-free. If you want that wording as the main filter, see the peat-free soil comparison.
Does organic or eco-friendly mean the bag is peat-free?
No. Organic and eco-friendly are wording. They are not a certifier number and they are not peat-free. Royal Horticultural Society advice is that if the bag does not say peat-free, it most likely is not. Responsible Sourcing Scheme grades A–E are a sourcing mark, not a growth test. PAS 100:2018 covers composted biowaste used as an ingredient or a soil improver. It is not a potting-mix award.
How long does the feed in a bag last?
A typical starter feed lasts about three to four weeks unless the label claims longer. Which? uses that four-week figure for compost. The Miracle-Gro houseplant 10 litre listing claims a feed for up to three months and does not print an NPK. The PLANT!T coir block says nothing is added, so you supply the feed after it expands. Do not expect a coir brick to include a three-month feed.
Can I use a 60 litre multi-purpose sack for houseplants?
You can, and several listings name indoor plants, but a 60 litre sack is a patio format. It is often coarser than a houseplant bag, and a 14 kg sack is awkward in a flat. Indoor reviews on some bags mention fungus gnats, and one large outdoor mix draws comments about a farmyard smell. For a small indoor bag, use a houseplant mix and water peat-free compost by pot weight, not by the colour of the surface.
What if the bag that arrives is the wrong brand or the wrong size?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 expects the litres and the brand to match the description. In this set, some titles disagree with the volume field, and some reviews describe a different bag or smaller sacks. Photograph the label and the litres before you empty it. A substitute bag is a listing risk, not a measured fill. Open dusty bags at arm's length, dampen dry compost, and wash your hands.

Our verdict

The top pick for patio pots is Growmoor multi-purpose compost 60 L at about £13.98. The listing is one sack at 14 kg, amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 7,425 reviews, and the bullets name pots, baskets, seeds and cuttings. It does not print peat-free. The best value is Munnie multi-purpose compost at about £9.34, 4.6 from 2,045 reviews, the lowest 60 litre title price. The pack count is 2, so the litres are a clash, and a peat reduction is not peat-free. Houseplant Focus is the indoor bag that prints peat-free. None of these scores is a growth trial or a measured fill.

Best overall
Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

View offer
Best value
Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L

Lowest 60 litre title price at about £9.34, with 4.6 from 2,045 reviews. Pack count 2, so check the litres. Not peat-free.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Potting soilPotting compostamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to potting soils

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the nine amazon.co.uk listings captured on 21 October 2026. Peat-free means the listing prints those words. Organic wording is not a certificate. This page did not measure fill volume or run a growth trial.

  1. RHS, peat-free choices (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. RHS, how to plant a container (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. RHS, minimising health risks in the garden (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. RHS, retail peat-free from 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Which?, best compost 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Which?, peat-free compost for patio pots (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, sale of horticultural peat (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Garden Organic, garden compost or potting compost (retrieved 21 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a growth trial.