Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Miracle-Gro autumn 4-in-1, 360 m² Best value: Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1, 360 m² – Lowest pounds per stated square metre among listings with at least 50 ratings, excluding the top score: about £0.07 at about £24.94. Updated October 2026.
A lawn fertiliser is a feed for grass in a UK garden. It supplies nitrogen, phosphorus as P2O5 and potassium as K2O, and the pack should name its season. You buy one for the growing season, for an autumn feed, or when the label also claims weeds or moss. The RHS says most lawns need no feed, and that drought, not hunger, explains many thin lawns.
Judge a pack by the months on the label, the printed analysis, the rate per square metre and a coverage figure that matches the lawn. A nitrogen-led feed belongs in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August. An autumn feed belongs in September or October. A plain feed does not kill dandelions. A weed and moss product is a pesticide: use the label dose only, and keep children and pets off until the pack allows them back. Those checks are set out in the [lawn fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/lawn-fertiliser/sub/lawn-fertiliser-buying-guide).
A lawn fertiliser is a feed for grass in a UK garden. It supplies nitrogen, phosphorus as P2O5 and potassium as K2O, and the pack should name its season.
A lawn fertiliser is a feed for grass in a UK garden. It supplies nitrogen, phosphorus as P2O5 and potassium as K2O, and the pack should name its season. You buy one for the growing season, for an autumn feed, or when the label also claims weeds or moss. The RHS says most lawns need no feed, and that drought, not hunger, explains many thin lawns.
Judge a pack by the months on the label, the printed analysis, the rate per square metre and a coverage figure that matches the lawn. A nitrogen-led feed belongs in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August. An autumn feed belongs in September or October. A plain feed does not kill dandelions. A weed and moss product is a pesticide: use the label dose only, and keep children and pets off until the pack allows them back. Those checks are set out in the [lawn fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/lawn-fertiliser/sub/lawn-fertiliser-buying-guide).
A lawn fertiliser is a feed for grass in a UK garden. It supplies nitrogen, phosphorus as P2O5 and potassium as K2O, and the pack should name its season. You buy one for the growing season, for an autumn feed, or when the label also claims weeds or moss. The RHS says most lawns need no feed, and that drought, not hunger, explains many thin lawns. Judge a pack by the months on the label, the printed analysis, the rate per square metre and a coverage figure that matches the lawn. A nitrogen-led feed belongs in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August.
Miracle-Gro's autumn 4-in-1 for a stated 360 m² is a 12.6 kg granule bag at about £24.75, about £0.07 per stated square metre, with 6-5-10 and iron sulphate for moss printed on the bullets. The season is September, October or November, and the green-up claim is about seven days. There is no selective weed list and no spreader in the included components. The listing shows 5.0 stars from two ratings, and the only saved UK review says expectations were met without naming a fault, so that score is a sample of two. This ASIN does not print a gram rate. The 80 m² sibling prints 35 g per square metre, which is not copied onto this bag. The part number matches that 2.8 kg box, and an on-page question still asks how long the 2.8 kg bag lasts, while the weight and coverage fields say 12.6 kg and 360 m². The bullets do not include a pet-return sentence.
Pros
6-5-10 and iron sulphate for moss printed, with a stated cover of up to 360 m²
Season stated as September, October or November
About £0.07 per stated square metre at about £24.75
The one saved UK review says expectations were met
Cons
Only two ratings, so 5.0 stars is a thin sample
No gram rate and no spreader on this ASIN
Part number shared with the 2.8 kg autumn box
No pet sentence and no selective weed list on the bullets
Best for: A large established lawn in September, October or November when you want 6-5-10 plus an iron moss claim and you already own a spreader.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a weedkiller, a gram rate printed on this listing, a pet line, or more than two ratings before buying.
The bullets say September, October or November. They print NPK 6-5-10, iron sulphate for moss, a green-up claim of about seven days, and coverage of up to 360 m². They do not print a gram rate on this ASIN. The 80 m² sibling states 35 g per square metre. That rate is not copied here.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
There is no selective weed list in the bullets. Iron sulphate is claimed to kill and control moss. The bullets do not say when children or pets may return. Included components describe 12.6 kg of fertiliser, not a spreader.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
The saved listing holds one UK review body, and it says expectations were met without naming a fault. The listing shows 5.0 stars from two ratings, which is too small to treat as a result. The part number matches the 2.8 kg autumn box, and a question on the page still asks how long that smaller bag lasts.
GreenCare's autumn lawn liquid, listed by Invigortex, is a concentrate for autumn and early winter at about £19.95, mixed at 5 ml per litre of water and applied with a watering can or sprayer. The bullets describe cold-pressed seaweed for roots, resilience and winter hardiness, and they say 5 litres makes up to 1,000 litres and covers up to 500 m². The unit count and liquid volume on the same listing say 10,000 ml, while the item weight says 5 kg, so there is no firm price per square metre. The Amazon bullets do not print an NPK, a weed claim, a moss claim or a pet line. The listing shows 5.0 stars from one rating, and the only saved UK review starts with the words Very good product and is then cut off, so it names neither a result nor a fault. Questions on the page about grass types, how often to apply, and new lawns are not answered in the saved text. Confirm the bottle size in the box before you trust the 500 m² figure.
Pros
Autumn and early winter liquid, with cold-pressed seaweed described on the bullets
Mixing rate printed as 5 ml per litre of water
Applied with a watering can or sprayer, so no spreader is required
Aimed at roots and winter hardiness rather than a weed claim
Cons
Title and coverage say 5 litres and up to 500 m², while the unit count says 10,000 ml
No firm price per square metre, because the pack-size fields disagree
Only one rating, and that review text is cut off
No NPK, weed claim, moss claim or pet line on the Amazon bullets
Best for: An established lawn in autumn or early winter if you want a watering-can feed and you can confirm whether the bottle is 5 litres or 10 litres.
Less suitable: Weed or moss control, a buyer who needs a printed NPK, or anyone treating a single five-star rating as a measured result.
The bullets place it in autumn and early winter. The printed mix is 5 ml per litre of water, applied with a watering can or a suitable sprayer. They do not print an NPK. A coverage line says 5 litres covers up to 500 m², but the unit-count field says 10,000 ml, so treat that area as unconfirmed.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
No. The bullets do not claim weed control or moss control, and they do not say when children or pets may return. The product is described as a liquid feed with cold-pressed seaweed for roots and winter hardiness. Iron staining and herbicide rules do not arise from these bullets.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
There is one saved UK review. It starts with the words Very good product, then the text is cut off. It names no fault and no measured result. The star line is 5.0 from one rating. The listing conflict to keep in view is the 5 litre title against a 10,000 ml unit count and a 5 kg item weight.
The 12.6 kg Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1 states 360 m² at about £24.94, about £0.07 per stated square metre, the lowest figure among these listings with at least 50 ratings once the top review-volume score is set aside. It is the best value on that rule. It shows 4.5 stars from 309 ratings. The bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, claim moss control, and tell you to use a Miracle-Gro wheeled or multi-use spreader that is not in the box. Use is limited to established lawns from April to September after frosts, and children and pets may return once the granules are watered in and dried. Reviewers describe clover and other broad-leaved weeds as killed, with grass growing greener and faster, though one report of less horsetail is not a weed the bullets name. At least one reviewer found the weed kill incomplete, and dead weeds left patches that needed seed and topsoil. The Amazon bullets do not print an NPK, and this listing shares its best-seller rank line with the 80 m² tub.
Pros
About £0.07 per stated square metre at about £24.94 for a stated 360 m²
Clover and other broad-leaved weeds described as killed, with faster greener grass
Repeat buyers say earlier tubs gave the same kind of result
Pet return is printed: children and pets once the granules are watered in and dried
Cons
Weed kill described as incomplete in at least one review
Dead weeds left patches that needed seed and topsoil
No spreader in the box, and no NPK on the Amazon bullets
One delivery arrived late with damaged sacks left in the rain
Best for: A large established lawn from April to September, after frosts, when you want dandelions, white clover or plantain treated and you already have a suitable spreader.
Less suitable: Autumn, a weed-free lawn, new turf, or a garden where granules would land on flowers.
The bullets say established lawns from April to September, once frosts have gone. They do not print an NPK or a gram rate. The title states 360 m² from 12.6 kg. You are told to use a Miracle-Gro wheeled or multi-use spreader, and that spreader is not in the included components.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
The bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, and they claim moss control. Children and pets may use the lawn once the granules are watered in and dried. Horsetail is not in that weed list, even though one reviewer mentioned it. Incomplete weed kill shows up in at least one review.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
In the first 50 UK review bodies, clover and other broad-leaved weeds are described as killed, and the grass as greener and faster. Dead weeds left patches that needed seed and topsoil. One West of Scotland review opened on a dry spell then heavy rain, and the saved text cuts off. One delivery arrived with damaged sacks left in the rain.
The A1 10 kg bag is a granular autumn and winter feed with 6-5-10 printed on the Amazon bullets, spread at 35 g per square metre for a stated cover of up to 280 m². At about £34.20 that is about £0.12 per stated square metre. Among 615 ratings at 4.4 stars, reviewers often describe the grass looking much greener within a day to a few days, including after scarifying, when they use a hand spreader before rain. Several say it pushed root growth and they mowed less in winter, even after seaweed and other feeds. The bullets call it high-potassium and iron-rich; they do not sell it as a moss killer, and several UK reviews say the moss was barely touched. You are told to water it in heavily, which reviewers repeat, and some call the bag expensive. The catalogue item type says grass seed although the title, bullets and reviews describe fertiliser, and a pet question on the page is not answered in the bullets.
Pros
6-5-10 and 35 g/m² printed, with up to 280 m² stated for the 10 kg fields
Grass described as much greener within a few days across 615 ratings
Easy to put down with a hand spreader before rain
Thicker growth after scarifying, with less mowing reported in winter
Cons
Called expensive at about £34.20
Moss left largely in place, which matches the lack of a moss-killer claim
Instructions require heavy watering-in
Item type says grass seed, and the bullets do not answer a pet question
Best for: An established lawn in autumn and winter when you want a printed 6-5-10 and no weedkiller, and you already own a spreader.
Less suitable: A lawn where the job is killing moss, a listing you are buying as grass seed, or anyone who needs a pet-return sentence on the bullets.
The bullets say autumn and winter. They print 6-5-10 and a rate of 35 g per square metre, with up to 280 m² stated for the 10 kg fields. That is a hardening analysis, not a high-nitrogen growing-season feed. You still need your own spreader.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
There is no weed-control claim in the bullets. They call the granules iron-rich, and they do not sell the bag as a moss killer. Several UK reviews say moss was barely touched after scarifying plus this feed. A question on the page asks if it is pet friendly, and the bullets do not answer it.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
In the first 50 UK review bodies, grass is often described as much greener within a day to a few days, with thicker growth after scarifying. Reviewers also say they had to water it in heavily. The bag is called expensive, and some reviews were written before the product had been used. The catalogue item type says grass seed, which conflicts with the fertiliser title.
The 2.8 kg Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1 is the small combined pack: feed, named weeds and a moss claim, at about £15.00 for a stated 80 m², about £0.19 per stated square metre. The bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, and they limit use to established lawns from April to September once frosts have gone. Children and pets may use the lawn once the granules are watered in and dried. The title includes a handheld spreader. Across 444 ratings at 4.4 stars, reviewers often describe weeds turning black and dying, with thicker greener grass, and moss clearing on some lawns, with visible greening in about a week. One reviewer waited five weeks and said the weeds were untouched, and a June application was set back by a heatwave. Granules must stay off plants and flowers you want to keep, and bare patches still needed other work on some lawns. The Amazon bullets do not print an NPK.
Pros
Names dandelions, white clover and plantain, and claims moss control
Weeds described as turning black, with thicker greener grass, across 444 ratings
Handheld applicator described as easy to spread evenly
Children and pets may return once granules are watered in and dried
Cons
One review waited five weeks and said the weeds were untouched
Granules must be kept off plants and flowers you want to keep
A June application was set back by a heatwave
Amazon bullets do not print an NPK
Best for: A small established lawn, around the stated 80 m², with dandelions, white clover or plantain, between April and September after frosts.
Less suitable: New turf, flower borders, an autumn-only feed, or a buyer who needs an NPK printed on the Amazon bullets.
The bullets say established lawns from April to September, once frosts have gone. They do not print an NPK or a gram rate. The title states 80 m² and includes a handheld spreader. The pack weighs 2.8 kg at about £15.00, about £0.19 per stated square metre.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
Yes to both, within the limits of the bullets. They name dandelions, white clover and plantain, and the title and included components claim moss control. Children and pets may use the lawn once the granules are watered in and dried. Keep the granules off plants and flowers you want to keep.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
In the first 50 UK review bodies, weeds are often described as turning black and dying, with thicker greener grass, and moss clearing on some lawns. One reviewer waited five weeks and said the weeds were untouched. A June application was set back by a heatwave, and bare patches still needed other work. This listing shares its best-seller rank line with the 360 m² tub.
The 1 litre Miracle-Gro EverGreen Fast Green spray is a hose-end bottle for colour, not a seasonal granule programme. Across 4,294 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.3 stars, reviewers describe patchy and dog-worn areas turning a more even green within a few days, and several say a small lawn looks better before the weekend. At about £11.70 it states coverage of up to 100 m², about £0.12 per stated square metre, and the bullets say you attach it to a hose, ready to use, with no dilution step printed. The Amazon bullets do not state a season, an NPK analysis, a weed claim, a moss claim, or a pet line, and the mixing-ratio field that prints 1:0:0 is not an NPK. The valve is described as on or off rather than a dilution dial, and the spray is uneven enough that a long watering can leave much of the bottle unused. There is no level window, and one reviewer spilled the liquid opening the cap to check what remained. The score is stars plus review count, so it leads this table as a quick green-up spray, not as an autumn feed.
Pros
Patchy and dog-worn areas described as a more even green within a few days
Hose connection described as simple on a standard fitting
Ready to use, with a stated cover of up to 100 m² from the 1 litre bottle
Repeat buyers say they keep using it for colour on small lawns
Cons
Valve described as on or off, with an uneven spray and liquid left in the bottle
No level indicator, and opening the cap caused a spill in one review
No season, NPK, weed claim, moss claim, or pet line on the Amazon bullets
Some repeat buyers call it expensive for the area covered
Best for: A small established lawn where you want a hose-end green-up and you already have a standard hose fitting.
Less suitable: Autumn hardening, dandelions or moss, or a buyer who needs a printed NPK and a pet-return sentence on the Amazon listing.
The saved Amazon bullets do not name a month. They also do not print an NPK or a rate in grams. Coverage is stated as up to 100 m² from the 1 litre bottle, which you attach to a hose. No dilution step is printed on the listing. Read the label on the bottle in your hand before you pick the month.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
No. The bullets carry no weed claim and no moss claim, and they do not say when children or pets may return to the lawn. The mixing-ratio field that prints 1:0:0 is not a nutrient analysis. If dandelions or moss are the job, this bottle does not state that it does it.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
In the first 50 UK review bodies, patchy and dog-worn areas are often described as a more even green within a few days, and the hose fitting is described as simple. The repeated complaints are an on-or-off valve, an uneven spray that leaves a lot of liquid in the bottle, and no way to see the level without opening the cap. One reviewer spilled it doing that.
The 2.8 kg Miracle-Gro autumn 4-in-1 includes a spreader and states coverage of up to 80 m² at a maximum of 35 g per square metre, up to twice a year, for about £12.29, about £0.15 per stated square metre. The bullets print 6-5-10, iron sulphate to kill and control moss, a green-up claim of about seven days, and the months September, October or November. There is no selective weed list, and a pet question on the page is not answered in the bullets. Five ratings average 3.8 stars. One repeat user decants the granules into an older spreader and says the lawn is in better condition for early spring, and one short review simply says it works. Two saved UK reviews describe damage: one lawn burnt when the instructions were followed, and another lost grass as well as moss, leaving bald spots and nearly black patches. Spreading is described as difficult and the product as too strong, and the part number is the same string as on the 360 m² autumn bag.
Pros
Spreader included, with a stated cover of up to 80 m²
6-5-10, iron sulphate, and a maximum of 35 g/m² printed on the bullets
Season limited to September, October or November
One repeat user reports a better lawn going into early spring
Cons
One review says the lawn burnt when the instructions were followed
Another says grass died with the moss, leaving bald and nearly black patches
Even spreading described as difficult, and the product described as too strong
Only five ratings, at 3.8 stars, and no pet answer on the bullets
Best for: A small established lawn in September, October or November when you want 6-5-10, an iron moss claim and a spreader in the same box, and you can spread it evenly.
Less suitable: A thin lawn, a weed problem, new turf, or a buyer who wants a larger review sample than five.
The bullets say September, October or November. They print NPK 6-5-10 and a maximum of 35 g per square metre, up to twice a year, from the 2.8 kg spreader pack, covering up to 80 m². The green-up claim is about seven days. That rate belongs to this ASIN. Do not assume the 360 m² bag prints the same line.
Does the listing claim weed or moss control?
There is no selective weed list. Iron sulphate is claimed to kill and control moss. A question on the page asks about pets, and the bullets do not answer it. Two of the five saved ratings describe burning or grass dying with the moss, so the moss claim is not a promise of an even lawn afterwards.
What do the saved UK reviews repeat?
Five ratings average 3.8 stars. One repeat user decants the granules into an older spreader and says the lawn is in better condition for early spring. One review says the lawn burnt when the instructions were followed, and another describes bald spots and nearly black patches where grass died with the moss. The part number matches the 360 m² autumn bag.
How we compared
Seven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the saved pages. This is not a turf trial and not an RHS test. The score is the star rating divided by five, multiplied by 70, rounded, plus the review count as log10 times 10, capped at 30. A large review file can outrank a seasonal granule. That does not make a hose-end spray an autumn feed. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the lowest saved pounds per stated square metre among listings with at least 50 ratings, excluding that top score. A listing under 50 ratings is not eligible for a badge. One listing is also left out of the value figure because the 5 litre and 10 litre fields disagree. The weights below sum to 100.
1
Amazon star rating
70%
Star rating on amazon.co.uk, divided by five and multiplied by 70, then rounded. A 4.3-star row and a 5.0-star row are not equal. Five stars from one or two ratings do not outweigh a large file on their own. This block is 70 of the score.
2
Review volume
30%
log10 of the amazon.co.uk review count, times 10, capped at 30. Fast Green's 4,294 reviews take the cap. Two ratings add only a few points. The cap is why review volume can place a spray above a seasonal granule. It is not a test of the formula.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Lawn fertiliser buying guide
Match the season and the job before you match the star line. A growing-season feed, an autumn 6-5-10 and a weed and moss pack are not one list. Prices below are saved amazon.co.uk figures, not a live crawl on 21 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test.
What to match before you buy
Lawn fertiliser on amazon.co.uk is a feed for an established lawn, a hose-end spray, or a liquid you dilute. UK shoppers are choosing a growing-season treatment, an autumn feed, or a combined weed and moss product. The RHS says most lawns need no feed. Drought, shade and wear explain many thin lawns before hunger does. A star row is not a turf trial.
Start with the season printed on the pack. A nitrogen-led feed belongs in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August.
Best for
A small lawn that wants a quick green and no herbicide
Established turf with dandelions, clover or plantain from April to September
An autumn feed with a printed 6-5-10 and no weedkiller
Not ideal for
Using a hose-end spray as an autumn or weed feed because it has the most reviews
A buyer who needs a pet-return line the bullets do not print
Treating one or two ratings as a measured result
Mistakes to avoid
1
Summer feed in October
An autumn feed belongs in September or October. Leftover summer granules are the wrong bag. The RHS says not to use them then, and stripes mean an overdose.
2
Reading review volume as the season
Fast Green's review count can place the spray first on this score. The bullets still do not name a month, a weed or moss. A 6-5-10 with fewer ratings can be the right autumn pack.
3
Trusting a coverage figure that clashes
GreenCare's title says 5 litres and up to 500 m². The unit count says 10,000 ml. There is no firm price per square metre until the bottle in your hand matches one of those figures.
What to weigh up
Season
High
Name the months before you name the brand. A nitrogen-led lawn fertiliser belongs in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August. An autumn feed belongs in September or October. Potassium should be ahead of a summer-style nitrogen push on that bag. The RHS September note is plain: do not use leftover summer feed in autumn. Shade is the exception the RHS allows as an autumn feed or a half-rate spring feed, not as a reason to empty a high-nitrogen bag in October.
Weed claim, NPK and coverage
High
A plain feed does not kill dandelions. If the bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, the pack is a pesticide as well as a feed. Use the label dose, only on lawns the pack allows, and keep children and pets off until the pack allows them back. Only the Complete 4 in 1 bullets in this set print that return line: watered in and dried. An iron-rich description is not a moss-killer claim.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
💧
A small lawn and a quick green
You want colour on a small established lawn and you do not want a herbicide. Miracle-Gro Fast Green 1 litre is the top pick at about £11.70, with 4.3 from 4,294 reviews, as a hose-end spray for up to 100 m². The bullets do not name a season, an NPK, a weed claim or when pets may return.
The lawn is established and the job is April to September, after frosts. Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1, 360 m², is the best value at about £24.94, about £0.07 per stated square metre, with 4.5 from 309 reviews. It names those weeds and claims moss control. The spreader is not in the box. The 80 m² tub includes one.
You want a printed 6-5-10 before winter and no weed claim. A1 autumn winter fertiliser, 10 kg, is about £34.20, with 4.4 from 615 reviews, up to 280 m² at 35 g per square metre. It is iron-rich and not sold as a moss killer. The bullets do not answer a pet question, and you need your own spreader.
The top pick by this score is Miracle-Gro Fast Green 1 litre at about £11.70. The score uses 4.3 stars from 4,294 amazon.co.uk reviews, plus that review volume. It is not a turf trial. The listing is a hose-end spray for up to 100 m². It does not state a season, an NPK, a weed claim, a moss claim, or when pets may return. Choose it for a quick green on a small lawn. It is not an autumn feed and it does not claim to kill dandelions.
Which lawn fertiliser is the best value?
The best value is Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1, 360 m², at about £24.94. Among listings with at least 50 ratings, and excluding the top score, it has the lowest price per stated square metre, about £0.07. It shows 4.5 stars from 309 reviews. The bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, claim moss control, and limit use to established lawns from April to September after frosts. No spreader is in the box. Children and pets may return once the granules are watered in and dried.
When should you use a spring feed rather than an autumn feed?
Use a nitrogen-led feed in mid-spring, usually late March to April, and not after August. Use an autumn feed in September or October, with potassium ahead of a summer-style nitrogen push. The RHS says not to use leftover summer feed in autumn. In this set the printed 6-5-10 packs are the autumn analyses. Fast Green does not name a month. A combined pack limited to April to September is the wrong bag in October. The star row does not choose the season.
Does a lawn fertiliser kill weeds and moss?
A plain feed does not kill dandelions. Only the Complete 4 in 1 bullets name dandelions, white clover and plantain, and claim moss control. The autumn Miracle-Gro boxes claim that iron sulphate kills moss, and they do not name those weeds. A1 is described as iron-rich and is not sold as a moss killer. The RHS says iron in a fertiliser is not an approved moss killer. Use a weed and moss pack at the label dose only. Only the Complete bullets say when children and pets may return.
Does a large review count mean it is the right season?
No. Fast Green's 4,294 reviews raise its score because the score is stars plus review volume. That does not make the spray an autumn feed or a weedkiller. The bullets do not name a month. A pack with two or five ratings can print a 6-5-10 analysis and a season and still rank lower. Read the season and the analysis before the star line. Hundreds of ratings describe what buyers saw. They are not a laboratory result.
What should a UK lawn fertiliser label show?
A prescribed fertiliser needs a statutory statement under the Fertilisers Regulations 1991: nitrogen, P2O5, K2O, a UK marketer, and weight or volume. Great Britain uses those 1991 rules or assimilated Regulation (EC) No 2003/2003, marked as UK fertiliser. EU 2019/1009 is a Northern Ireland route. If the Amazon bullets omit the NPK, leave it absent. The mixing-ratio field that prints 1:0:0 on Fast Green is not an analysis. HSE says use the label dose only, because extra product can kill grass.
When should you stop and get help?
Get help if the product would reach a pond, if you need a professional herbicide, if large areas of grass have died, or if the cause might be pests or dog urine rather than hunger. The RHS says stripes mean an overdose, and drought explains many thin lawns. Do not feed hot or dry grass or overlap passes. Brush iron off paving and keep granules out of drains. Farming Rules for Water bind farms, not a domestic back garden. For a September feed, see the autumn lawn fertiliser comparison.
What if the pack-size fields disagree?
GreenCare's title and a coverage bullet say 5 litres and up to 500 m². The unit count says 10,000 ml and the item weight says 5 kg. Because those fields clash, this page does not give a price per square metre. The listing has one rating, and the saved review text is cut off. Confirm the bottle in your hand before you trust 500 m². The bullets say 5 ml per litre of water, for autumn and early winter, with no NPK and no weed or moss claim.
Our verdict
The top pick by this score is Miracle-Gro Fast Green 1 litre at about £11.70. It is a hose-end spray for up to 100 m², with 4.3 from 4,294 reviews. The bullets do not state a season, an NPK, a weed claim or a moss claim. The best value is Miracle-Gro Complete 4 in 1, 360 m², at about £24.94, about £0.07 per stated square metre, with 4.5 from 309 reviews. It names dandelions, white clover and plantain, claims moss control, and is for established lawns from April to September after frosts. The spreader is not in the box. A1 10 kg prints 6-5-10 for autumn and winter, at about £34.20, with 4.4 from 615 reviews and no weed claim. The Miracle-Gro autumn boxes print 6-5-10 and an iron sulphate moss claim, with two and five ratings. GreenCare is an autumn liquid whose 5 litre and 10 litre fields disagree, so it has no firm price per square metre. None of these scores is a laboratory test.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to lawn fertilisers
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the saved amazon.co.uk figures for the seven listings, not a live crawl on 21 October 2026. A score is stars plus review count, not a turf trial. Iron in a fertiliser is not an approved moss killer. A pet-return line is only what the bullets print.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.