Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Hedge fertiliser comparison 2026

The best hedge fertilisers, compared.

Top pick: LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg Best value: Westland Growmore, 8 kg – 8 kg at about £16.95, 4.5 from 465 reviews, with a brand-page rate of 135 g per square metre for shrubs. Updated October 2026.

A hedge fertiliser is a feed for a hedge, and the right one depends on the job. On amazon.co.uk you will see a dedicated liquid, a general granular fertiliser, a foliar tablet for box, and sometimes a planting product. Most established hedges in ordinary soil do not need a routine feed. The Royal Horticultural Society says mulch first, and a general granular fertiliser only if the soil is light and sandy or the hedge already looks short of nutrients. Box in fertile ground is a no-feed plant. Box in a pot is fed in summer. You tell a usable pack by the plant it names, the form, and a rate you can measure. Granules, a concentrate and a foliar tablet are not interchangeable. A tablet does not replace a soil feed or pest control. An NPK line is a nutrient analysis. A mixing-ratio field is not an NPK. Pack size has to match the hedge. The job and the form are set out in the [hedge fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/hedge-fertiliser/sub/hedge-fertiliser-buying-guide).

A hedge fertiliser is a feed for a hedge, and the right one depends on the job. On amazon.co.uk you will see a dedicated liquid, a general granular fertiliser, a foliar tablet for box, and sometimes a planting product.

LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg

Best overall

LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg
9.2/10∼ £50

28 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

8 of 8: Best hedge fertilisers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg
TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets
Best value
Westland Growmore, 8 kg
Topline Grownmore, 8 kg
UK GROW hedge and tree, 250 ml
UK GROW hedge and tree, 500 ml
UK GROW hedge and tree, 5 L
UKGROW Hedge Boost, 5 L
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
7.8/10
∼ £50
∼ £25
∼ £17
∼ £24
∼ £9
∼ £10
∼ £20
∼ £23
4.6(310)
4.6(78)
4.5(465)
4.5(136)
4.2(42)
4.2(42)
4.2(42)
3.9(16)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best hedge fertilisers in detail

LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg

Rank 1

LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg

∼£50

Our view

LERAVA is a 4.6 kg hedge granule tub at about £49.99 that names hedges and photinia. Across 310 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, but the saved file has only two United Kingdom-marked texts, then later blocks from Spain and Belgium, so 310 is not a UK written sample. Both United Kingdom texts say the instructions were not in English. The application line is spread on the soil. There are no grams per plant or per metre, and NPK is not stated. The bullets mention zeolite, moisture holding, and slow release. It is the dedicated hedge-and-photinia granule in this set if you already know a rate from another source, not a first UK buy when you need English grams on the pack.

Pros

  • Hedges and photinia named on the title
  • 4.6 kg granules, no mixing claimed
  • Highest star line in the set at 4.6 from 310

Cons

  • Highest price in the set, at about £49.99
  • Only two UK-marked texts; 310 is not a UK written sample
  • Both UK reviews say the instructions were not in English
  • No grams per plant or per metre in the product data

Best for: A photinia or mixed hedge when you already have an English rate from elsewhere.

Less suitable: A first UK buy that needed English grams on the pack, or anyone treating 310 as UK reviews.

Specifications

Model
LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg
Brand
LERAVA
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.6/5(310)
Plants
Hedges, photinia
Job
Hedge granules
Application
Spread on soil
Pack
4.6 kg
Review file
4.6 from 310

Common questions

Does the listing name photinia?

Yes. The title and target species name hedges and photinia. The bullets mention zeolite, moisture holding, slow release, and granules with no mixing.

What dose is printed for a UK reader?

The application method is spread evenly on the soil. There are no grams per plant or per metre in the product data. Both United Kingdom-marked reviews say the instructions were not in English.

Are the 310 ratings all UK written reviews?

No. The saved file has two reviews marked United Kingdom, then later blocks marked Spain and Belgium. The 310 figure is the listing star line, not a count of UK texts.

TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets

Rank 2

TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets

∼£25

Our view

TOPBUXUS Health-Mix is a pack of 10 foliar tablets for Buxus at about £24.95, made in the Netherlands. Across 78 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.6, from 30 United Kingdom texts. The listing says dissolve one tablet in 1 litre of water, wait 10 minutes, and spray the foliage, with one tablet stated for 10 square metres. The bullets say the mix can go on with a BT product in one application. They do not say this product kills caterpillars, and one United Kingdom review returned it for that reason. NPK is not stated. The mixing field is 1:10. The unit count field says 1.0 count against a 10-tablet title. It is the top pick here for box foliage when you wanted a printed spray rate, not a soil drench and not pest control.

Pros

  • Printed foliar rate: 1 tablet in 1 L, 10 m² per tablet
  • 4.6 from 78 reviews, 30 UK texts
  • Buxus named from title, bullets, and target field
  • Listing says it can be mixed with a BT product

Cons

  • Not a caterpillar killer; one UK review returned it for that reason
  • NPK is not stated; unit count field says 1.0 count against a 10-tablet title
  • Soil-grown leafy hedges are outside the Buxus claim

Best for: Box foliage when you wanted a printed spray rate and already have pest control as a separate job.

Less suitable: Anyone who wanted these tablets to kill caterpillars or cure blight, or a soil feed for privet and laurel.

Specifications

Model
TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets
Brand
TOPBUXUS
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.6/5(78)
Plants
Buxus
Job
Box foliar tablets
Application
1 tablet in 1 L
Analysis
Field 1:10
Pack
10 tablets
Review file
4.6 from 78

Common questions

How do you use the tablets?

The listing says dissolve 1 tablet in 1 litre of water, wait 10 minutes, and spray the foliage. One tablet is stated for 10 square metres. A pressure sprayer is named in the bullets.

Does this product kill box tree caterpillar?

No. The bullets say foliar nutrition for Buxus and that it can be mixed with BT products in one application. They do not say this product kills caterpillars. One United Kingdom review returned it because it is a fertiliser, not a caterpillar killer.

Which plants does the listing name?

Buxus, from the title, bullets, and target-species field. A listing question about other plants is unanswered in the bullets.

Westland Growmore, 8 kg

Rank 3

Westland Growmore, 8 kg

∼£17

Our view

Westland Growmore is an 8 kg granular tub at about £16.95 for general garden use. The bullets do not name hedges. Across 465 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.5, from the first 50 United Kingdom texts, the deepest sample here and still not a laboratory ranking. Many of those texts describe lawns and mixed beds rather than a hedge result. NPK percentages are not stated on the listing. The mixing field 1:1:1 is not an analysis. The Westland brand page prints 7-7-7 and 135 g per square metre for shrubs. The RHS cites a different Growmore expression, 7–3.1–5.8, as an ROI, Ireland and EU label style. Reviewers mention a strong smell, no measuring jug, dogs on the granules, and the occasional burst box. It is the best value 8 kg tub in this set when you wanted a general feed you can weigh, not a dedicated hedge bottle.

Pros

  • Best value 8 kg tub here, at about £16.95
  • Deepest review sample: 4.5 from 465, first 50 UK texts
  • Brand page prints 7-7-7 and 135 g per square metre for shrubs
  • Ready-to-use granules, no mixing

Cons

  • Hedges are not named on the listing
  • Listing has no grams and no NPK; 1:1:1 is not an analysis
  • Reviews mention smell, dogs on granules, and split boxes
  • Many saved texts are lawn or mixed garden, not a hedge result

Best for: A long established hedge or mixed border when you wanted an 8 kg general tub and a brand gram rate.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed hedges named on the pack, or a dedicated liquid with a millilitre dose.

Specifications

Model
Westland Growmore, 8 kg
Brand
Westland
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(465)
Plants
General garden
Job
General granules
Application
Ready to use
Analysis
Field 1:1:1
Pack
8 kg
Review file
4.5 from 465

Common questions

Does the listing name hedges?

No. The bullets are for general garden use and name nitrogen for green growth, phosphorus for roots, and potassium for flowers. Vegetables are a listing question. Hedges are not named.

What analysis is printed on the listing?

NPK percentages are not stated in the product data for this listing. The mixing-ratio field says 1:1:1 and is not an analysis. The brand page prints 7-7-7.

What do the saved reviews mention besides garden plants?

Reviewers describe it as a general fertiliser, prefer a tub to a damp cardboard box, and some used it on lawns. Criticisms include a strong smell, no measuring jug, dogs liking the granules, and a bust-open box.

Topline Grownmore, 8 kg

Rank 4

Topline Grownmore, 8 kg

∼£24

Our view

Topline Grownmore is an 8 kg granule tub at about £23.99, titled for flowers, vegetables, fruit trees and shrubs, not hedges. Across 136 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.5, from 34 United Kingdom texts. The listing says base or top dressing every 4–6 weeks from February to the end of October, and to water before and after in dry weather. The mixing field is 20:20:20. One United Kingdom review says the bag is NPK 7-7-7, and the product data does not reconcile the two. Title spelling is Grownmore. At about £23.99 it costs more than the Westland 8 kg tub without a hedge name or a settled analysis.

Pros

  • Printed season: every 4–6 weeks from February to the end of October
  • 4.5 from 136 reviews, 34 UK texts
  • Names shrubs as well as flowers, vegetables, and fruit trees

Cons

  • Costs more than the Westland 8 kg tub, at about £23.99
  • Mixing field 20:20:20 disagrees with a UK review of 7-7-7
  • Hedges are not named; title spelling is Grownmore

Best for: A mixed garden that already uses Topline granules and wanted the February to October calendar on the listing.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed a settled NPK, a hedge name, or the cheaper 8 kg Westland tub.

Specifications

Model
Topline Grownmore, 8 kg
Brand
Topline
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.5/5(136)
Plants
Garden plants, not hedges
Job
General granules
Application
Every 4–6 weeks
Analysis
Field 20:20:20
Pack
8 kg
Review file
4.5 from 136

Common questions

What NPK does this listing state?

There is no tested analysis in the product data. The mixing-ratio field says 20:20:20. One United Kingdom review says it is NPK 7-7-7, not 20-20-20. The two figures are not reconciled.

When does the listing say to apply it?

Base dressing or top dressing every 4–6 weeks from February until the end of October. Water before and after in dry weather. Sprinkle or work in with a spade or hoe.

Does the listing name hedges?

No. The bullets name flowers, vegetables, fruit trees and shrubs. Indoor use is a listing question without an answer in the bullets. Title spelling is Grownmore.

UK GROW hedge and tree, 250 ml

Rank 5

UK GROW hedge and tree, 250 ml

Our view

The UK GROW 250 ml bottle is a hedge-and-tree liquid at about £8.99, with the title, unit count, and liquid volume all printed as 250 ml. Across 42 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.2, from the same nine United Kingdom texts as the 500 ml and 5 L sizes, so this is not a separate sample. The bullets say a few drops and name hedge plants. There is no measured dilution, and NPK is not stated. Item weight is 490 g. Reviewers on that shared line mention lids that stick and little change after an early look. It is the smallest titled hedge bottle in this set, not a weighed granular feed and not a box tablet.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set, at about £8.99
  • Title, unit count, and volume all say 250 ml
  • Hedge plants named on the listing

Cons

  • Same 4.2 from 42 line and nine UK texts as the two sibling sizes
  • Dose is a few drops, with no measured dilution
  • NPK is not stated, and the mixing-ratio field is blank

Best for: A short run of hedge when you wanted the smallest titled hedge-and-tree bottle and accepted an unmeasured dose.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed a weighed gram rate, a named species, or a review sample unique to this size.

Specifications

Model
UK GROW hedge and tree, 250 ml
Brand
UK GROW
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.2/5(42)
Plants
Hedge plants
Job
Hedge and tree liquid
Application
A few drops
Pack
250 ml
Review file
Shared 4.2 (42)

Common questions

What size is this bottle?

The title, unit count, and liquid volume field all say 250 ml. Item weight is 490 g.

Does the listing give a dilution rate?

No. The bullets say a few drops. There is no measured dilution and no NPK. The mixing-ratio field is blank.

Are the reviews unique to this 250 ml title?

No. The product data records the same 4.2 from 42 line and the same nine United Kingdom texts as the 500 ml and 5 litre UK GROW hedge-and-tree sizes.

UK GROW hedge and tree, 500 ml

Rank 6

UK GROW hedge and tree, 500 ml

∼£10

Our view

The UK GROW 500 ml title is a hedge-and-tree liquid at about £9.99. Title and unit count say 500 ml. The liquid volume field says 1 litre and item weight is 1.1 kg, and the product data does not reconcile those figures. The star line is again 4.2 from 42, the same nine United Kingdom texts as the 250 ml and 5 L bottles. Application is still a few drops with no measured dilution. The mixing field 1:0:0 is not an NPK. Listing questions about organic use and all hedge types sit unanswered in the bullets. Buy this size only if you wanted a mid bottle of the same unnamed concentrate, not a second independent review file.

Pros

  • Hedge-and-tree title at about £9.99
  • Title and unit count both say 500 ml
  • Same concentrate line as the 250 ml and 5 L sizes

Cons

  • Liquid volume field says 1 L against a 500 ml title
  • Shared 4.2 from 42 line; not a unique sample
  • Still a few drops, with 1:0:0 not an analysis

Best for: A mid-size bottle of the same UK GROW hedge-and-tree liquid when you already accept the unmeasured dose.

Less suitable: Anyone reading the 1 L field as a second litre, or anyone who wanted a unique review file.

Specifications

Model
UK GROW hedge and tree, 500 ml
Brand
UK GROW
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(42)
Plants
Hedge plants
Job
Hedge and tree liquid
Application
A few drops
Analysis
Field 1:0:0
Pack
500 ml; field 1 L
Review file
Shared 4.2 (42)

Common questions

Is this a 500 ml bottle?

The title and unit count say 500 ml. The liquid volume field says 1 litre. Item weight is 1.1 kg. The product data copies all three and does not reconcile them.

Does the listing say it is organic or for all hedge types?

Those are unanswered listing questions. The bullets name hedge nutrition, a concentrate, density, and all hedge types, without a measured dose.

Are the 42 ratings only for this 500 ml size?

No. The product data records the same 4.2 from 42 line and the same nine United Kingdom texts as the 250 ml and 5 litre titles.

UK GROW hedge and tree, 5 L

Rank 7

UK GROW hedge and tree, 5 L

∼£20

Our view

The UK GROW 5 L title is the large hedge-and-tree liquid at about £19.99. Title and unit count say 5 litres. The liquid volume field says 1 litre while the weight is 5.2 kg, and the listing prints all three. The 4.2 from 42 line and the nine United Kingdom texts are the same as the two smaller sizes, so you must not add the 42 ratings together. One United Kingdom review names cherry laurel given three doses over four weeks. The bullets still say a few drops. NPK is not stated and the mixing field is 1:0:0. It is a volume buy of the same concentrate, not a named-species drench with a printed millilitre rate.

Pros

  • Largest titled UK GROW hedge-and-tree bottle, at about £19.99
  • Title and unit count both say 5 L
  • One UK review names cherry laurel

Cons

  • Liquid volume field says 1 L against a 5 L title
  • Shared 4.2 from 42; do not add the ratings to the siblings
  • Still no measured dilution or printed NPK

Best for: A long hedge when you already use this concentrate and wanted the large bottle.

Less suitable: A first buy that needed a printed millilitre rate or a review sample unique to 5 L.

Specifications

Model
UK GROW hedge and tree, 5 L
Brand
UK GROW
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.2/5(42)
Plants
Hedges
Job
Hedge and tree liquid
Application
A few drops
Analysis
Field 1:0:0
Pack
5 L; field 1 L
Review file
Shared 4.2 (42)

Common questions

Is this a 5 litre bottle?

The title and unit count say 5 litres. The liquid volume field says 1 litre. Item weight is 5.2 kg. The listing prints all three and does not reconcile them.

Which plants does the listing name?

The target field and bullets say hedges, from decorative to privacy shrubs. One United Kingdom review names cherry laurel given three doses over four weeks.

Are the 42 ratings only for this 5 litre title?

No. The product data records the same 4.2 from 42 line and the same nine United Kingdom texts as the 250 ml and 500 ml titles. Do not add the 42 ratings to the other two sizes.

UKGROW Hedge Boost, 5 L

Rank 8

UKGROW Hedge Boost, 5 L

∼£23

Our view

UKGROW Hedge Boost is a 5 L concentrate at about £22.99 that names privet, boxwood, laurel, yew, and hawthorn. Across 16 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 3.9, from eight United Kingdom texts, the lowest score in this set. The application line is dilute and apply to soil. The mixing field is 1:5, while one United Kingdom review quotes 10 ml per litre or 20 ml for a thin hedge, and other reviews say the dose was missing or cut off. The product data keeps both and does not reconcile them. The bullets say the mix is safe around pets and children when used as directed, with no test name. It is the named-hedge liquid in this set if you will read the bottle you hold, not a foliar tablet and not a settled 1:5 recipe.

Pros

  • Names privet, boxwood, laurel, yew, and hawthorn
  • 5 L concentrate with unit count, volume, and weight in agreement
  • Soil drench printed, unlike the few-drops sibling line

Cons

  • Lowest score here: 3.9 from 16, eight UK texts
  • Mixing field 1:5 disagrees with a review-quoted 10 ml per litre
  • Several reviews say the dose was missing or cut off the label

Best for: An established leafy hedge when you wanted named species and will check the bottle rate.

Less suitable: Anyone who needed one reconciled dilution, or a foliar tablet for box.

Specifications

Model
UKGROW Hedge Boost, 5 L
Brand
UKGROW
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
3.9/5(16)
Plants
Privet, boxwood, laurel, yew, hawthorn
Job
Named hedge liquid
Application
Dilute, then soil
Analysis
Field 1:5
Pack
5 L
Review file
3.9 from 16

Common questions

Which hedges does the listing name?

Privet, boxwood, laurel, yew, and hawthorn. The bullets also say all hedge varieties from privet to laurel.

What dilution does the listing give?

The application line is dilute and apply to soil. The mixing-ratio field is 1:5. One United Kingdom review quotes a back label of 10 ml per 1 litre, or 20 ml for a very thin hedge. The product data keeps both and does not reconcile them. Other reviews say the dose was missing or cut off the label.

Does the listing mention pets?

The bullets say safe around pets and children when used as directed. There is no test name.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk listings were read from the stored pages and the UK review notes already on file. There is no laboratory test. The figure beside each product is the star line on a 10-point scale, so 4.6 is 9.2. It is not a weighted total of the four reading priorities below. Where two figures on one listing disagree, both stay. A 4.6-star row is not a count of UK written reviews, and it does not mean the pack names a hedge. The top pick is TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, for a printed box spray rate. The best value is Westland Growmore 8 kg. LERAVA shares the 4.6 star line and does not take either place. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Job and species

30%

Established leafy hedge, box foliage, and a general garden tub are different jobs. A listing that names privet, laurel, yew, hawthorn, photinia or Buxus is read against a listing that does not name hedges at all.

2

Rate and analysis

30%

A gram rate, a millilitre dilution, or a tablet in a litre you can measure. A mixing-ratio field is not an NPK. Two rates that contradict each other, or a dose the reviews say was missing, are a deduction in the reading, not a second recipe.

3

Amazon evidence

25%

The star line and review count on amazon.co.uk, then whether the saved texts are UK, shared across sizes, or mostly from other countries. The three UK GROW hedge-and-tree sizes share one 4.2 from 42 line.

4

Pack and price

15%

Shelf price in GBP against pack size and the job. An 8 kg tub and a 250 ml bottle are not the same purchase. A title and a volume field that disagree stay as printed.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Hedge fertiliser buying guide

Buy the job before you buy the star line. A dedicated liquid, a general granule and a box tablet are not one list. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices stored with these eight listings. This is not a laboratory test.

What to match before you buy

A hedge fertiliser is a feed for a hedge, and the job comes before the star line. Most established hedges in ordinary soil do not need a routine feed. The Royal Horticultural Society says mulch first after trimming, and a general granular fertiliser only if the soil is light and sandy or the hedge already looks short of nutrients. Box in fertile ground is a no-feed plant in the RHS growing guide. Box in a pot is fed in summer. Avoid high nitrogen on box after blight.

Best for

  • An established hedge on light soil, where you can weigh a general granule
  • Box foliage when you want a printed spray rate and pest control stays separate
  • A named leafy hedge when you will check the dilution on the bottle you hold

Not ideal for

  • Fertile ground-grown box fed on a calendar
  • A new hedge if the plan is to put feed in the trench
  • Anyone treating a 4.6-star row as a UK written review file

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Feeding fertile box on a calendar

    The RHS growing guide says fertile ground-grown box needs no feed. Box in a pot is fed in summer. After blight, use a balanced feed and avoid excess nitrogen. A tablet does not cure blight.

  2. 2

    Reading a mixing field as an NPK

    1:1:1, 1:0:0, 1:5, 1:10 and 20:20:20 are mixing fields in this set, not a tested analysis. Topline's 20:20:20 field and a UK review of 7-7-7 are not reconciled. Westland's 7-7-7 figure is the brand page, not the amazon bullets.

  3. 3

    Buying tablets to kill caterpillars

    TOPBUXUS Health-Mix is foliar nutrition. The listing says it can be applied with a BT product. It does not say the tablet kills box tree caterpillar. One UK review returned it for that reason.

What to weigh up

Job, species and form

High

Start with the job. An established privet, laurel or mixed hedge, a new bare-root row, and box after blight or caterpillars are not the same purchase. Species on the label is the next check. Hedge Boost names privet, boxwood, laurel, yew and hawthorn. LERAVA names hedges and photinia. TOPBUXUS names Buxus. The UK GROW hedge-and-tree titles say hedge plants or hedges, not those species. Westland Growmore and Topline Grownmore do not name hedges at all. Form follows the species.

Rate, analysis and pack size

High

A usable rate is one you can weigh or measure, and it should not contradict itself. Westland's brand page prints 135 g per square metre for trees, shrubs and borders. That gram line is not in the amazon bullets, which also omit an NPK. The listing mixing field is 1:1:1. Hedge Boost's field is 1:5. A UK review quotes 10 ml per litre, or 20 ml for a thin hedge, and other reviews say the dose was missing or cut off. Those are not one recipe.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A long established hedge

You have privet, laurel or a mixed hedge and you want a tub you can weigh. Westland Growmore, 8 kg, is about £16.95, with 4.5 from 465 reviews. The listing does not name hedges. The brand page prints 7-7-7 and 135 g per square metre for shrubs. Many saved reviews are lawns and mixed beds, not a hedge result.

Box foliage, not pest control

You want a printed spray for Buxus, and you are not buying a caterpillar killer. TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets, is about £24.95, with 4.6 from 78 reviews. The listing says one tablet in 1 litre for 10 square metres. Fertile ground-grown box needs no routine feed. Avoid high nitrogen after blight.

Named species on the bottle

You want privet, laurel, yew or hawthorn named on a liquid, and you will read the bottle you hold. UKGROW Hedge Boost, 5 L, is about £22.99, with 3.9 from 16 reviews. The mixing field is 1:5. A UK review quotes 10 ml per litre, and others say the dose was missing. Those lines are not reconciled.

Common questions about hedge fertilisers

Which hedge fertiliser is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets, at about £24.95. The listing says one tablet in 1 litre for 10 square metres, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 78 reviews. The bullets say foliar nutrition for Buxus. They do not say it kills caterpillars, and one UK review returned it for that reason. Choose it for box foliage when pest control is a separate job.
Which hedge fertiliser is the best value?
The best value is Westland Growmore, 8 kg, at about £16.95. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 465 reviews, the deepest sample in this set. The listing does not name hedges. The brand page prints 7% nitrogen, 7% P₂O₅ and 7% K₂O, and 135 g per square metre for trees, shrubs and borders. The listing mixing field 1:1:1 is not that analysis. Reviews mention smell, dogs on the granules, and split boxes.
Does an established hedge need a feed every year?
Often no. The RHS says mulch after trimming, and add a general granular fertiliser only if the soil is light and sandy or the hedge already looks short of nutrients. Dry organic feeds are timed about February to March, inorganic granules about March to April, and liquids while plants are growing. Avoid autumn feeding. A star rating does not tell you the hedge was short of nutrients.
Will a box tablet kill caterpillars or cure blight?
No product in this set kills box tree caterpillar or cures box blight. TOPBUXUS Health-Mix is foliar nutrition for Buxus. The listing says it can go on with a BT product in one application. That is not a claim that the tablet is the insecticide. Defra's June 2024 factsheet says the caterpillar is present in a limited distribution and the host is Buxus. After blight, the RHS says use a balanced feed and avoid excess nitrogen.
What should you check before you buy?
Match the job first: an established leafy hedge, a new planting, or box. Then read whether the label names the plant. Granules, a diluted concentrate and a foliar tablet are different products. You want a rate you can measure, and an NPK if the pack prints one. A mixing-ratio field is not an NPK. Agriculture Act 1970 section 68 requires a statutory statement for prescribed fertilisers. A marketplace bullet list is not that statement.
Should fertiliser go in the planting hole?
No. The RHS planting guide says no fertiliser at planting, and do not combine fertiliser with a mycorrhizal inoculant, because phosphorus can suppress the fungi. None of the eight listings here is a planting pouch. A bare-root trench is not a place for a general granule or a liquid drench. If a new hedge is dying in lengths, or the row runs into a ditch, that is a job for a professional.
Are the UK GROW review counts separate for each size?
No. The 250 ml, 500 ml and 5 litre UK GROW hedge-and-tree titles share one 4.2 from 42 line and the same nine UK texts. Do not add 42 three times. The 500 ml and 5 litre listings also print a liquid volume of 1 litre against those titles. The dose on all three is a few drops, with no measured dilution and no NPK. Hedge Boost is a different 5 litre concentrate, at 3.9 from 16.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for a long box hedge that needs spraying or replacement, a new hedge dying in lengths, a slope into a ditch, or a pet that has eaten meal or granules. Keep fertiliser out of drains and off frozen or waterlogged soil. A cherry laurel hedge is a leafy hedge, not a box tablet. Feed choice for that species is in the cherry laurel fertiliser comparison.

Our verdict

The top pick for box foliage is TOPBUXUS Health-Mix, 10 tablets, at about £24.95. The listing says one tablet in 1 litre, sprayed on 10 square metres, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 78 reviews. It does not kill caterpillars. The best value is Westland Growmore, 8 kg, at about £16.95, with 4.5 from 465 reviews. Hedges are not named on that listing. The brand page prints 7-7-7 and 135 g per square metre for shrubs. LERAVA shares a 4.6 star line from 310 reviews and costs about £49.99. The file has two UK-marked texts, both about instructions that were not in English. None of these figures is a laboratory test.

Best overall
LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg

LERAVA hedge fertiliser, 4.6 kg

View offer
Best value
Westland Growmore, 8 kg

Westland Growmore, 8 kg

8 kg at about £16.95, 4.5 from 465 reviews, with a brand-page rate of 135 g per square metre for shrubs.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Hedge feedsSoil and mulchamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to hedge fertilisers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and maker sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the eight amazon.co.uk listings in the stored product files. A mixing-ratio field is not an NPK. The 7-7-7 line is the Westland brand page. TOPBUXUS is foliar nutrition, not a caterpillar killer. LERAVA's 310 figure is the listing star line, not 310 UK written reviews.

  1. RHS, Fertilisers: types and uses (retrieved October 2026)
  2. RHS, How to trim a hedge (retrieved October 2026)
  3. RHS, How to grow box (retrieved October 2026)
  4. RHS, Managing box blight (retrieved October 2026)
  5. RHS, Planting trees and shrubs (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Defra, box tree caterpillar factsheet (June 2024) (retrieved October 2026)
  7. Agriculture Act 1970, section 68 (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Westland Growmore (retrieved October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.