Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Autumn lawn fertiliser comparison 2026

The best autumn lawn fertilisers, compared.

Top pick: Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m² Best value: Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m² – Stated NPK 6-5-10, 4.4 from 440 reviews, about £12.48 for a stated 80 m². Updated October 2026.

An autumn lawn fertiliser is a UK end-of-season feed for roots and cold hardiness, not a flush of leaf. The Royal Horticultural Society says most lawns recover from summer without feeding, so you feed only a lawn that needs a boost. The granular packs that declare an analysis use 6-5-10. Iron sulphate blackens moss; the liquids claim seaweed and state no and no moss kill. The listing does not print an, and a spreader is not in the box. What to check on the label is in the [autumn lawn fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/autumn-lawn-fertiliser/sub/autumn-lawn-fertiliser-buying-guide). RHS fertiliser advice puts autumn lawn feeds in a window from September to mid-October. The listings print September to November, and the manufacturer page for the current bag says September to mid-November. In northern England and Scotland, RHS suggests starting autumn lawn work in.

An autumn lawn fertiliser is a UK end-of-season feed for roots and cold hardiness, not a flush of leaf.

34 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +22,400 readers

9 of 9: Best autumn lawn fertilisers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 5 L
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 10 L
Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg
Best value
Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²
Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care spreader 80 m²
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m², 121501
7.2/10
5.7/10
5.7/10
5.6/10
9.2/10
8.9/10
8.0/10
5.4/10
2.0/10
∼ £25
∼ £13
∼ £20
∼ £40
∼ £24
∼ £12
∼ £15
∼ £12
∼ £15
5.0(2)
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
4.5(1,135)
4.4(440)
4.3(233)
3.8(5)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best autumn lawn fertilisers in detail

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²

Rank 1

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²

∼£25

Our view

The Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care listing at £24.75 is the 360 m² bag that prints NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate. Included components say 12.6 kg, and the season line is September, October, or November. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from two reviews, and the written comment says expectations were met, with no fault stated. A question on the page mentions a 2.8 kg bag and is not answered, so the pack size is not settled by shoppers. A spreader is not listed as included. The bullets do not print a pet-exclusion line or a seaweed claim. Two reviews are a thin record beside the 1,135-review EverGreen bag at a similar price.

Pros

  • NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate on the bullets
  • Title coverage up to 360 m²
  • Included components say 12.6 kg
  • September, October, or November on the listing

Cons

  • 5.0 from only two reviews
  • Unanswered question about a 2.8 kg bag
  • Spreader not listed as included
  • No pet-exclusion line on the bullets

Best for: You want a stated 6-5-10 analysis on a large-lawn bag and you can accept two reviews.

Less suitable: You want a review history in the hundreds, or a printed pet line before you buy.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
NPK
6-5-10
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
360 m²
Spreader
Not included
Season
Sep–Nov
Seaweed
n/a
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

What analysis does the listing state?

The bullet states NPK 6-5-10 with added iron sulphate.

When should you apply it?

The bullet says September, October, or November.

How is the pack size described?

The title says 360 m² and included components say 12.6 kg. A question on the page mentions a 2.8 kg bag and is not answered.

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed

Rank 2

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed

∼£13

Our view

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed from Invigortex, listed at £12.95, is a cold-pressed seaweed liquid you mix at 5 ml per litre and apply with a watering can or a suitable sprayer. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from one review, and that review calls it a very good product in a sentence that is cut off in the stored review text. The bullets claim stronger roots and winter hardiness for autumn and early winter. They do not state an NPK or a moss kill, so this is a feed-only path, not an iron treatment. The specification block says 10,000 ml and an item weight of 5 kg, while the title does not state litres, so the bottle size is not settled on the page. Shared copy says 5 litres covers up to 500 m² and 10 litres up to 1,000 m², which is not a measured size for this ASIN. There is no pet line in the bullets.

Pros

  • Dilution printed at 5 ml per litre
  • Cold-pressed seaweed on the bullets
  • Watering can or sprayer, no granule spreader
  • Lowest liquid price in the set at £12.95

Cons

  • 5.0 from a single review
  • No NPK and no moss claim
  • Title states no litres; spec block says 10,000 ml and 5 kg
  • No pet line in the bullets

Best for: You want a no-iron liquid and you will confirm the bottle size before you rely on the coverage sentence.

Less suitable: You need moss control, a stated NPK, or a pack size the title and the specification agree on.

Specifications

Model
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed
Brand
GreenCare
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
NPK
n/a
Moss control
n/a
Season
Autumn
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

How do you dilute it?

The bullets say mix 5 ml of lawn feed with 1 litre of water, then apply with a watering can or a suitable sprayer.

Does the listing state an NPK ratio?

No NPK ratio is printed. The bullets also do not claim moss control.

What size do the specification fields give?

Unit count and liquid volume say 10,000 ml, and item weight says 5 kg. The title does not state litres.

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 5 L

Rank 3

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 5 L

∼£20

Our view

The GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed listing titled 5 L, at £19.95, is the same Invigortex liquid, model GC-GFEED, mixed at 5 ml per litre of water. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from one review, which calls it a very good product and then cuts off in the stored review text. The bullets claim cold-pressed seaweed, stronger roots, and winter hardiness in autumn and early winter, and they tell you to use a watering can or a suitable sprayer. They do not print an NPK or a moss claim. The title says 5 L, but the unit count and liquid-volume fields say 10,000 ml and the item weight says 5 kg, so the three size lines do not agree. The coverage sentence that mentions 500 m² and 1,000 m² is shared copy, not a measurement of this ASIN. There is no pet exclusion in the bullets.

Pros

  • Title says 5 L
  • 5 ml per litre dilution on the bullets
  • Cold-pressed seaweed claimed
  • No granule spreader required

Cons

  • One review, and the sentence is cut off
  • Spec block says 10,000 ml and 5 kg against a 5 L title
  • No NPK and no moss claim
  • £19.95 with the size still unresolved

Best for: You want a seaweed liquid for a small lawn and you can check the bottle on arrival.

Less suitable: You need iron for moss, or a listing whose title and specification name the same volume.

Specifications

Model
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 5 L
Brand
GreenCare
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
NPK
n/a
Moss control
n/a
Season
Autumn
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

How do you dilute it?

The bullets say mix 5 ml of lawn feed with 1 litre of water.

Does the listing state an NPK ratio?

No NPK ratio is printed, and the bullets do not claim a moss kill.

What size do the specification fields give?

Unit count and liquid volume say 10,000 ml, and item weight says 5 kg. The title says 5 L.

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 10 L

Rank 4

GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 10 L

∼£40

Our view

The GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed listing titled 10 L, at £39.95, is the dearest product in this set and the same Invigortex concentrate, model GC-GFEED. You mix 5 ml with 1 litre of water and the bullets say to apply it with a watering can. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from one review that calls it a very good product in a sentence cut off in the stored review text. The bullets claim cold-pressed seaweed and winter hardiness, and they do not state an NPK or moss control. The title says 10 L, while the unit count and liquid volume say 10,000 ml and the item weight says 5 kg, which cannot all be the same bottle. Shared coverage copy mentions up to 1,000 m² for 10 litres, and that figure is not a measured result for this ASIN. There is no pet line to quote.

Pros

  • Title says 10 L
  • Printed dose of 5 ml per litre
  • Cold-pressed seaweed claimed
  • Watering-can application

Cons

  • £39.95 with one review
  • Item weight of 5 kg conflicts with a 10 L title
  • No NPK and no moss claim
  • No pet line in the bullets

Best for: You want the largest titled bottle of this seaweed feed and you will weigh it when it arrives.

Less suitable: You need a confirmed 10 litre fill, moss control, or a price closer to the £12.95 listing of the same model.

Specifications

Model
GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed 10 L
Brand
GreenCare
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
NPK
n/a
Moss control
n/a
Season
Autumn
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

How do you dilute it?

The bullets say mix 5 ml of lawn feed with 1 litre of water and apply it with a watering can.

Does the listing state an NPK ratio?

No NPK ratio is printed. Moss control is not claimed either.

What size do the specification fields give?

Unit count and liquid volume say 10,000 ml, and item weight says 5 kg. The title says 10 L.

Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg

Rank 5

Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg

∼£24

Our view

The Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care bag, listed at £24.00, is the top pick in this set for a large lawn: the title covers 360 square metres, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 1,135 reviews. Repeat buyers say it sets the grass up for winter and that the lawn looks green in spring, with a thicker colour after about four weeks. The bullets say moss blackens within seven days and should be raked after two weeks, and they mention added seaweed. This listing does not print an NPK ratio, so you cannot confirm 6-5-10 from the page, and a spreader is not in the box. Reviewers warn that spreading by hand leaves stripes, and that a wheeled spreader can dump a heap on a turn and kill that patch. A setting that is too open means the sack does not reach the stated 360 square metres. The item-weight field says 1.3 kg against a 12.6 kg unit count.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 1,135 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Title coverage of 360 m² at £24.00
  • Moss blackens within 7 days on the listing
  • Reviewers report a greener lawn by spring
  • Added seaweed on the bullets

Cons

  • NPK not printed on this listing
  • No spreader in the box
  • Heaps and hand spreading linked to brown patches
  • Item-weight field says 1.3 kg against 12.6 kg

Best for: You have a lawn near 300 m², you already own a spreader, and you want moss control with a long review record.

Less suitable: You need an NPK printed on the listing, or you cannot keep children and pets off until the granules are watered in and dry.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,135)
NPK
n/a
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
360 m²
Spreader
Not included
Season
Sep–Nov
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
Yes

Common questions

When should you apply it?

The listing says use from September to November. A spreader is not included; the page tells you to use an EverGreen or Scotts spreader.

When can children and pets use the lawn?

Keep them away until the granules have been watered in thoroughly and the areas have dried.

Is a spreader in the box?

No. The listing tells you to use an EverGreen or Scotts spreader. A spreader is not listed as included.

Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

Rank 6

Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

∼£12

Our view

The Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care box, listed at £12.48, is the best value in this set for a lawn around 80 square metres. The active-ingredients line states NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 440 reviews. Reviewers say they use it every autumn, and several report green grass and black moss within a few days. One neglected lawn improved after two treatments that blackened heavy moss. The box does not include a spreader; reviewers tip the granules through a built-in funnel into a spreader they already own. One reviewer still had rampant weeds, which the bullets do not claim to kill, and another said the granules took three weeks to dissolve. The unit count is 2,800 g while the item-weight field says 3.1 kg.

Pros

  • NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate stated
  • 4.4 from 440 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • £12.48 for a stated 80 m²
  • Reviewers mention a funnel for filling a spreader
  • Pet line until watered in and dry

Cons

  • Spreader not included
  • Weed control is not a printed claim
  • One review said granules took three weeks to dissolve
  • Unit count 2,800 g against a 3.1 kg weight field

Best for: Your lawn is about 80 m² and you already have a spreader.

Less suitable: You want weed control, or you have no way to spread granules evenly.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.4/5(440)
NPK
6-5-10
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
80 m²
Spreader
Not included
Season
Sep–Nov
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
Yes

Common questions

What analysis does the listing state?

The active-ingredients line says NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate.

When can children and pets use the lawn?

Keep them away until the granules have been watered in and the areas have dried.

What coverage and weight are printed?

Coverage is 80 m². The unit count is 2,800 g and the item-weight field says 3.1 kg, so those two lines are left as printed.

Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care spreader 80 m²

Rank 7

Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care spreader 80 m²

∼£15

Our view

The Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care spreader pack, listed at £14.59, is the 80 m² box whose title includes an applicator, with 4.3 from 233 reviews on amazon.co.uk. Long-term buyers say they use it at the end of October and call the box light enough to carry. The bullets name iron sulphate, a seven-day moss claim, added seaweed, and a line that keeps children and pets off until the granules are watered in and dry. The listing does not print an NPK ratio, and the coverage field says only moss while the title says 80 m². Reviewers report broken or smashed spreaders in the box, flow that changes as the pack empties, and strips of grass they say were killed. The included-components line says only autumn lawn treatment, so the spreader sits in the title and the reviews, not in that field.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 233 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Title includes a spreader for 80 m²
  • Iron sulphate and a seven-day moss line
  • Pet exclusion printed on the listing

Cons

  • NPK not stated
  • Broken spreaders reported in the reviews
  • Flow changes as the pack empties
  • Included-components line does not name the spreader

Best for: You want an 80 m² pack with an applicator and you will check the spreader before you fill it.

Less suitable: You need a printed NPK, or you have already received a smashed applicator.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care spreader 80 m²
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.3/5(233)
NPK
n/a
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
80 m²
Spreader
Title only
Season
Sep–Nov
Seaweed
Yes
Pet line
Yes

Common questions

Does it include a spreader?

The title says spreader, and reviews discuss an applicator on the pack. The included-components line says only autumn lawn treatment.

When can pets go back on the lawn?

The listing says keep children and pets away until the granules have been watered in and the areas have dried.

What coverage is printed?

The title says 80 m². The coverage field says only moss and does not repeat a number.

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

Rank 8

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

∼£12

Our view

The Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care pack, listed at £12.29, includes a spreader with 2.8 kg of granules and prints NPK 6-5-10. The dose line says a maximum of 35 g per square metre, up to twice a year, over up to 80 square metres, in September, October, or November. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from five reviews. One yearly user decants the granules into an older spreader and reports a better lawn for early spring. Other reviewers say it burnt the lawn when they followed the instructions, and that it killed moss and grass, leaving bald and near-black patches. The bullets do not answer a question about pets. Five reviews, several of them about scorch, are a thin record next to the 440-review box at a similar price.

Pros

  • Spreader included with 2.8 kg of granules
  • NPK 6-5-10 and a 35 g/m² maximum
  • Lowest granule price in the set at £12.29
  • Season stated as September, October, or November

Cons

  • 3.8 from five reviews
  • Scorch and bald patches in those reviews
  • No pet line in the bullets
  • Reviewers found it hard to spread evenly

Best for: You want an 80 m² box with a spreader and you will try a small strip before the whole lawn.

Less suitable: You want a review count in the hundreds, or a printed pet exclusion.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
3.8/5(5)
NPK
6-5-10
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
80 m²
Spreader
Included
Season
Sep–Nov
Seaweed
n/a
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

Does the box include a spreader?

Included components say a 2.8 kg spreader with the autumn lawn care fertiliser.

What dose does the listing state?

Up to twice a year, maximum 35 g per square metre, covering up to 80 square metres.

Do the bullets say it is safe for pets?

A question asks, and the bullets do not answer it. No pet line is printed.

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m², 121501

Rank 9

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m², 121501

∼£15

Our view

The Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care listing at £14.98 states NPK 6-5-10, an 80 m² title, and a highlight that says with spreader. The stored listing has no customer-review line, so there is no star rating to quote and no shopper account of how it spreads. Specific uses mention moss control, winter protection, and a seven-day green-up, but a calendar month is not in the surviving bullet. Unit count and item weight both say 2.8 kg, which is clearer than some sibling packs. Included components list lawn fertiliser and lawn moss control, without a sentence that names the spreader as a separate part. At £14.98 it costs more than the 440-review 80 m² box, with nothing in the stored reviews to show how it behaves on a lawn.

Pros

  • NPK 6-5-10 in the bullet
  • Title coverage of 80 m²
  • Highlight says with spreader
  • 2.8 kg in both weight fields

Cons

  • No review line on the stored listing
  • Season is not a printed month
  • No pet-exclusion line
  • Dearer than the reviewed 80 m² box

Best for: You are comparing the stated 6-5-10 label and you can wait until reviews appear.

Less suitable: You want shopper comments before you spend £14.98.

Specifications

Model
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 80 m², 121501
Brand
Miracle-Gro
Price
∼£15
NPK
6-5-10
Moss control
Yes
Coverage
80 m²
Spreader
Stated
Seaweed
n/a
Pet line
n/a

Common questions

Is a spreader indicated?

The item highlight says with spreader. Included components list lawn fertiliser and lawn moss control, and do not name the spreader as a separate part.

What analysis is printed?

The bullet states NPK 6-5-10. A calendar month is not in the surviving bullet.

Is there a star rating on the stored listing?

No customer-review line is present, so there is no star rating or review count to quote.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages. There is no lawn trial. Stars are up to 40, the review sample up to 25, fit as an autumn feed up to 25, and value in this set up to 10. The highest score is the top pick, once. The highest value-part score that is not the top pick is best value, once. The EverGreen 12.6 kg bag scores 88. The 80 m² box with a stated 6-5-10 has the next value part, so it is best value.

1

Amazon stars

40%

Star rating on amazon.co.uk, scored as the rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 40, and rounded. A listing with no review line scores 0 on this part.

2

Review sample

25%

1,000 or more reviews score 25, 200 or more score 20, 50 or more score 12, 10 or more score 6, one to nine reviews score 2, and no review line scores 0.

3

Autumn-feed fit

25%

A stated NPK 6-5-10, a moss line, a coverage figure and a printed pet exclusion score highest. Missing NPK, a spreader named only in the title, scorch in a handful of reviews, no reviews, or a liquid with no NPK, no moss claim and a size conflict each reduce the score.

4

Value in this set

10%

About 7 pence per square metre with 1,000 or more reviews scores highest. A stated 6-5-10, 400 or more reviews and a price under £13 for 80 m² is next. Thin review files, an unresolved liquid size, and the unreviewed granule at about £14.98 score lower.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Autumn lawn fertiliser buying guide

Buy the season, the analysis and the coverage before you buy the star line. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices stored for this set. This is not a lawn trial.

What an autumn lawn fertiliser is for

An autumn lawn fertiliser is a UK end-of-season feed for roots and cold hardiness, not a flush of leaf. The Royal Horticultural Society says most lawns recover from summer without feeding, so you feed only a lawn that needs a boost. RHS fertiliser advice puts autumn lawn feeds in a window from September to mid-October. The Miracle-Gro listings in this set print September to November, and the manufacturer page for the current bag says September to mid-November.

Best for

  • A lawn near 300 m² if you already own a spreader
  • A lawn around 80 m² where you want a stated 6-5-10
  • A no-iron liquid if you will not keep pets off granules

Not ideal for

  • Weed control, which these autumn bullets do not claim
  • A confirmed GreenCare litre size while the specification conflicts
  • Leftover summer feed with a high-nitrogen analysis

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Spreading by hand

    Reviewers link hand spreading to stripes, and a wheeled spreader that dumps a heap on a turn to a brown patch. Use a setting that can reach the title coverage, and try a strip if the review file is thin.

  2. 2

    Using a summer 4-in-1

    Leftover high-nitrogen feed is a different product. RHS says late nitrogen feeds soft growth that is more open to fusarium patch, and there is no amateur fungicide for lawn diseases.

  3. 3

    Reading black moss as a dead lawn

    On the granular listings that claim it, moss blackens within about seven days and is raked after about two weeks. That blackening is the moss line, not a promise that the grass has died. Do not seed in the same week as iron.

What to weigh up

Season, NPK and moss

High

Read the season before the star rating. On these Miracle-Gro listings the window is September to November. The manufacturer page for the current bag says September to mid-November. RHS fertiliser guidance places autumn lawn feeds from September to mid-October, and in northern England and Scotland RHS suggests starting autumn lawn work in September. April to September is a different product. Miracle-Gro's spring and summer Complete 4 in 1, removed from this category, is listed at 14-0-5.

Coverage, spreader and the safety line

High

Match coverage to a lawn you have measured. Granule titles here are about 80 m² or 360 m². The current Miracle-Gro label caps the dose at 35 g per square metre and two applications a year. A setting that is too open means the 360 m² sack does not reach the title figure. The GreenCare bullets share a sentence about 500 m² and 1,000 m². That is shared copy, not a measured size, and the titles disagree with specification blocks that say 10,000 ml and 5 kg. Spread evenly.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A lawn near 300 m²

You want the 12.6 kg bag and a spreader setting that can reach the 360 m² title. Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg is the top pick at about £24.00, with 4.5 from 1,135 reviews. The listing does not print an NPK, and the spreader is not in the box.

A lawn around 80 m²

A small box is enough if you already own a spreader. Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m² is the best value at about £12.48. The listing states NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate, with 4.4 from 440 reviews. Weed control is not a printed claim.

No iron, and pets stay on the grass

Skip an iron granule if you will not keep children and pets off until it is watered in and dry. GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed is the no-iron liquid at about £12.95, mixed at 5 ml per litre. It states no NPK and no moss kill, and the bottle size is not agreed on the page.

Common questions about autumn lawn fertilisers

Which autumn lawn fertiliser is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg at about £24.00. It scored highest because the title covers 360 m² and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 1,135 reviews. The bullets say moss blackens within seven days and mention added seaweed. This listing does not print an NPK, and a spreader is not in the box. It fits a lawn near 300 m² if you already own a spreader. It is not a lawn trial.
Which pack is the best value?
The best value is Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m² at about £12.48. The listing states NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 440 reviews. Reviewers report green grass and black moss within a few days. The box does not include a spreader, and weed control is not a printed claim. One reviewer said the granules took three weeks to dissolve. It fits a lawn around 80 m² if you already have a spreader.
When should you apply autumn lawn fertiliser?
Apply these Miracle-Gro autumn listings from September to November. The manufacturer page says September to mid-November for the current bag. RHS places autumn lawn feeds from September to mid-October. Apply just before rain, at the packet rate, and water in if rain does not come within a day or so. Do not spread onto frozen, waterlogged or snow-covered ground. April to September is a summer product, not this feed.
What NPK should an autumn lawn feed show?
Where a granular listing in this set declares an analysis, it is NPK 6-5-10. That is lower nitrogen than Miracle-Gro's spring and summer Complete 4 in 1, listed at 14-0-5 and removed from this category. The EverGreen 360 m² bag and the 80 m² spreader pack do not print an NPK, so those pages stay n/a. The GreenCare liquids do not state an NPK either. If the ratio is missing, do not fill it in from a sibling ASIN.
Do these packs kill moss?
Iron sulphate is the moss ingredient on the granular Miracle-Gro packs that claim it. The bullets say moss blackens within about seven days and should be raked after about two weeks. Black moss is not a dead lawn, and the control is not permanent. The GreenCare liquids do not claim a moss kill. Weed killing is not on the kept autumn bullets. If the pack is sold as a moss killer, check a MAPP number on the HSE garden database.
When can children and pets go back on the lawn?
Only where that listing prints the line: keep children and pets off until the granules have been watered in and the areas have dried. That exclusion is on the EverGreen 360 m² bag, the 80 m² 6-5-10 box and the 80 m² spreader pack. Other listings here do not print a pet line, including the 4-in-1 boxes and the GreenCare liquids. Do not read a missing line as a safety clearance. Iron can stain paving.
Can you use leftover summer lawn feed in autumn?
Do not use leftover summer feed as an autumn lawn fertiliser. RHS says the extra nitrogen feeds soft growth that is more open to fusarium patch, and there is no amateur fungicide for lawn diseases. Miracle-Gro's spring and summer Complete 4 in 1 is a different analysis, 14-0-5, labelled April to September. A year-round or spring feed is a separate comparison: lawn fertiliser.
Are the GreenCare bottles a moss killer?
No. GreenCare Autumn Lawn Feed, from Invigortex, model GC-GFEED, is a cold-pressed seaweed liquid mixed at 5 ml per litre. The bullets claim winter hardiness, and they do not state an NPK or a moss kill. Titles say unsized, 5 L and 10 L, while the specification blocks also say 10,000 ml and 5 kg. Each listing shows 5.0 from one review, cut off in the stored text. Confirm the bottle size before you rely on a coverage figure.

Our verdict

Nine amazon.co.uk listings put Miracle-Gro EverGreen Autumn Lawn Care 12.6 kg first for a large lawn: about £24.00, a 360 m² title, and 4.5 from 1,135 reviews. The best value for a lawn around 80 m² is Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m² at about £12.48, with NPK 6-5-10 stated and 4.4 from 440 reviews. A no-iron liquid is the other path if you will not keep pets off granules, and the GreenCare sizes are not confirmed where the title and the specification disagree. None of these scores is a lawn trial.

Best overall
Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²

Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 Autumn Lawn Care 360 m²

View offer
Best value
Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 80 m²

Stated NPK 6-5-10, 4.4 from 440 reviews, about £12.48 for a stated 80 m².

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
FertilisersAutumn lawn feedamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to autumn lawn fertilisers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and maker sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the nine amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Farming Rules for Water is an agricultural limit, not a householder statute. A pet line is quoted only where that listing prints it.

  1. RHS, lawn care in autumn (retrieved October 2026)
  2. RHS, lawns in October (retrieved October 2026)
  3. RHS, fertilisers (retrieved October 2026)
  4. RHS, fusarium patch and snow mould (retrieved October 2026)
  5. HSE, garden pesticides (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care UK (retrieved October 2026)
  7. Miracle-Gro Autumn Lawn Care 360 m² pack label (retrieved October 2026)
  8. GOV.UK, Farming Rules for Water (retrieved October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a lawn trial.