Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Slow release granules 15-9-12, 10 g – Highest listing score: unit count matches 10 g, stated NPK 15-9-12, shared 3.7 from 11 reviews, at £2.95. Best value: High potassium granules 12-8-19, 500 g – Lowest price per stated 100 g among granule packs whose unit count matches the title, about £2.59, at £12.95. Updated October 2026.
The Royal Horticultural Society says established plants in moist, fertile, free-draining soil need little extra feed, while plants in containers or on poor, light soil do need it. Says a drop of liquid feed every couple of months in water, or a spring feed and a summer feed in compost, not a handful of coated granules.
Six are granules stating 12-8-19 or 15-9-12, and none of those listings prints a gram rate. How to separate the plants is in the [bamboo fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/bamboo-fertiliser/sub/bamboo-fertiliser-buying-guide).
Bamboo fertiliser on amazon.co.uk is not one plant. Outdoor or potted true bamboo is a woody grass. Lucky bamboo is sanderiana, a houseplant often kept in a vase of water. Two liquids put lucky bamboo in the title while the bullets describe wood, and one of those also names orchids, ferns and succulents. Garden bamboo is not stated on those bullets. A usable pack names the plant, states an, and gives a rate you can follow.
The Royal Horticultural Society says established plants in moist, fertile, free-draining soil need little extra feed, while plants in containers or on poor, light soil do need it.
The Royal Horticultural Society says established plants in moist, fertile, free-draining soil need little extra feed, while plants in containers or on poor, light soil do need it. Says a drop of liquid feed every couple of months in water, or a spring feed and a summer feed in compost, not a handful of coated granules.
Six are granules stating 12-8-19 or 15-9-12, and none of those listings prints a gram rate. How to separate the plants is in the [bamboo fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/bamboo-fertiliser/sub/bamboo-fertiliser-buying-guide).
Bamboo fertiliser on amazon.co.uk is not one plant. Outdoor or potted true bamboo is a woody grass. Lucky bamboo is sanderiana, a houseplant often kept in a vase of water. Two liquids put lucky bamboo in the title while the bullets describe wood, and one of those also names orchids, ferns and succulents. Garden bamboo is not stated on those bullets. A usable pack names the plant, states an, and gives a rate you can follow.
The Royal Horticultural Society says established plants in moist, fertile, free-draining soil need little extra feed, while plants in containers or on poor, light soil do need it. Says a drop of liquid feed every couple of months in water, or a spring feed and a summer feed in compost, not a handful of coated granules. Six are granules stating 12-8-19 or 15-9-12, and none of those listings prints a gram rate. How to separate the plants is in the bamboo fertiliser buying guide.
The Generic 10 g granules are the top pick in this set on the listing score, because the unit-count field says 10.0 gram and the shared star line is 3.7 from 11 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets state NPK 15-9-12 and a 5–6 month release for bamboo, trees, shrubs, conifers and bedding plants. One review text says raspberries looked good. The other texts say the amount was tiny, the photo was misleading, and there were no instructions. Those same four texts sit on the 50 g and 200 g listings, so this is not eleven separate trials of a 10 g sachet. No gram rate is printed. At £2.95 the pack is about £29.50 per 100 g, and the manufacturer field says Betta Shrimp Shop.
Pros
Unit count of 10.0 gram matches the 10 g title
Stated NPK 15-9-12 and a 5–6 month release claim
Shared star line is 3.7 from 11, higher than the 12-8-19 block
One review text says raspberries looked good
Cons
No application rate on the listing
Reviews say the amount was tiny, the photo was misleading, and there were no instructions
The same four texts are on the 50 g and 200 g listings
About £29.50 per 100 g at the £2.95 shelf price
Best for: You only need a few grams and want the granule listing whose stated fill matches the unit count.
Less suitable: A hedge or a 45 cm pot that needs a season of feed with a printed rate.
The bullets state 15-9-12. They also say the granules suit bamboo, trees, shrubs, conifers and bedding plants. No gram rate is given.
What do the reviews say?
Four texts are on the listing. One says raspberries looked good. The others say the amount was tiny, the photo was misleading, and there were no instructions.
Is pet or vegetable safety answered?
The listing asks both questions. It does not answer them.
The title says 200 g of 15-9-12 granules at £7.75, with a 5–6 month release for bamboo, trees, shrubs, conifers and bedding plants. The unit-count field says 1.0 gram. The star line is 3.7 from 11, and the four review texts match the 10 g and 50 g listings: raspberries, a tiny amount, a misleading photo, and no instructions. This listing ranks 52,653 in Garden, while those other two listings say 31,063. No rate is printed. The coverage field says Full, which is not a gram dose. If the jar holds 1 g, £7.75 is not a 200 g purchase.
Pros
Title states 200 g and NPK 15-9-12
A 5–6 month release is claimed
Shared star line is 3.7 from 11
Cons
Unit count says 1.0 gram against a 200 g title
The same four review texts call the amount tiny
Garden rank does not match the 10 g and 50 g listings
No application rate is printed
Best for: You will confirm the jar weight with the seller before you pay £7.75 for a stated 200 g.
Less suitable: You are treating the title weight as already checked.
The title says 50 g of 15-9-12 granules at £5.45 and includes the words Osmocote Pro. The manufacturer field says Betta Shrimp Shop, the brand is Generic, and the listing does not name ICL. The unit-count field says 1.0 gram. The reviews are the shared 3.7 from 11, with texts about a tiny amount, a misleading photo and no instructions. No dose is printed. The rank line matches the 10 g listing at 31,063 in Garden. The word on the title is not evidence that this is a coated feed from the brand that word usually means.
Pros
Title states NPK 15-9-12 and 50 g
Shelf price is £5.45
The star line matches the other 15-9-12 listings at 3.7 from 11
Cons
Unit count says 1.0 gram against a 50 g title
Osmocote Pro appears on a Generic listing made by Betta Shrimp Shop
Review texts say there were no instructions, and the listing has no rate
The 11 reviews are shared, not a separate trial of this ASIN
Best for: You will weigh the jar on arrival and you do not need the title's brand word to be ICL.
Less suitable: You are buying it as Osmocote, or as a weighed 50 g dose.
The 50 g Generic granules at £5.75 state NPK 12-8-19 plus MgO and a 5–6 month release, and the unit-count field says 50.0 gram. The star line is 2.5 from 3, and the two review texts are the same texts as on the 10 g and 500 g listings. Those texts complain about a 50 g bag and a misleading photo, so they at least describe this size. No application rate is printed. At £5.75 the pack is about £11.50 per 100 g, which sits with the poor-value complaint. The manufacturer field says Betta Shrimp Shop. The stated ratio has more potassium than nitrogen, unlike the 24-8-16 pattern on the UK nursery tubs checked for this category.
Pros
Title, unit count and the review text all describe 50 g
Stated NPK 12-8-19 plus an MgO claim
A 5–6 month release is stated on the listing
£5.75 sits between the 10 g and 500 g prices in this formula
Cons
2.5 from 3 reviews, shared with the other two 12-8-19 listings
Reviewers call the fill poor value and the photo misleading
No gram rate is printed
The MgO amount is not stated
Best for: You want the 12-8-19 listing where the complaint and the title describe the same 50 g bag.
Less suitable: You need a printed dose, or a larger fill that the reviews actually describe.
The 10 g 12-8-19 granules are listed at £2.95, with a unit count of 10.0 gram and the same 2.5 from 3 reviews as the 50 g and 500 g listings. The two review texts describe a tiny 50 g fill and a misleading photo, so they do not describe this 10 g title. The listing states NPK 12-8-19 plus MgO and a 5–6 month release, and it states neither a rate nor the percentage of MgO. At £2.95 the sachet is about £29.50 per 100 g. The manufacturer field says Betta Shrimp Shop. Questions on the listing about indoor use and pet safety are not answered.
Pros
Unit count of 10.0 gram matches the 10 g title
Stated NPK 12-8-19 and a 5–6 month release claim
Lowest shelf price among the three 12-8-19 sizes, at £2.95
Cons
The review texts describe a 50 g bag, not this 10 g title
2.5 from 3, shared across three ASINs
No rate, and the MgO amount is not stated
About £29.50 per 100 g
Best for: You have already decided on a 10 g trial and want the unit count to match the title.
Less suitable: A garden clump, or anyone treating the shared reviews as a test of this sachet.
The title states NPK 12-8-19 plus MgO and trace elements. It does not list the trace elements or the percentage of MgO.
Is there an application rate?
No rate is on the listing. The two UK reviews on this listing complain about a tiny 50 g fill and a misleading photo, even though this title says 10 g.
Does the listing say it is safe indoors or for pets?
The questions ask about indoor use and bamboo safety. The listing does not answer them. The target-species field says bamboo.
The 500 g Generic granules at £12.95 are the best value in this set on shelf price per stated gram, because the unit-count field says 500.0 gram, about £2.59 per 100 g. The title states NPK 12-8-19 plus MgO and a 5–6 month release for bamboo. The star line is still 2.5 from 3, and the two review texts complain about a 50 g bag and a misleading photo. Those texts are the same as on the smaller listings, so they are not a test of a 500 g tub. No application rate is printed. The manufacturer field says Betta Shrimp Shop. The price only helps if the parcel really holds the stated 500 g.
Pros
£12.95 for a stated 500 g, about £2.59 per 100 g
Unit count of 500.0 gram matches the title
Stated NPK 12-8-19 plus an MgO claim
Lowest price per stated 100 g among packs whose unit count matches the title
Cons
The review texts describe a 50 g bag
2.5 from 3, shared with the 10 g and 50 g listings
No application rate is printed
The MgO percentage is not stated
Best for: You are comparing price per stated gram and you expect the 500 g unit count to be what arrives.
Less suitable: You need reviews of this fill, or a dose printed on the pack.
Super Green is three bottles of lucky-bamboo liquid at £16.79, brand LuckyBamboo, manufacturer Greenthumb Inc. A bullet says three 36 ml bottles and ready to use. The mixing-ratio field says 1:4, and no NPK is stated. The unit count is 107.9999 millilitres, close to 3 x 36 ml, while the item weight is 36.3 g. There is no customer-review line, so the rating is not stated. The target-species field says lucky bamboo, and another bullet widens that to indoor and outdoor flowers and plants. It is the only liquid in this set that names lucky bamboo without switching the steps to Brazilian wood, and the two use lines still disagree.
Pros
Target species says lucky bamboo
Three 36 ml bottles are named, and the unit count is about 108 ml
A mixing ratio of 1:4 is in the technical fields
The brand and the £16.79 shelf price are both stated
Cons
No NPK is stated
Ready to use and a 1:4 mixing ratio are both on the listing
No customer-review line
A bullet also covers indoor and outdoor flowers, wider than lucky bamboo
Best for: A vase of lucky bamboo, once you have decided whether the bottle is used neat or at 1:4.
Less suitable: Garden bamboo, or a buyer who wants a star line and a stated NPK.
YE&ZI is a 100 ml liquid at £9.99 whose title says lucky bamboo and Brazilian wood. The steps say to shake, spray the leaves or the soil until slightly moist, and repeat every 7–10 days. No NPK is stated, and there is no customer-review line. Number of items is 1, while the title ends in (5), which the listing does not explain. Country of origin is China. Garden bamboo is not stated, so a hedge is outside what the bullets describe. A spray every 7–10 days is also a different routine from a drop in the vase every couple of months.
Pros
The listing gives an interval of every 7–10 days
The spec volume is 100 ml and matches the unit count
Shelf price is £9.99
Cons
The bullets describe Brazilian wood, not garden bamboo
No NPK and no star line
The title ends in (5) while the number of items is 1
Lucky bamboo appears in the title, not in the spray steps
Best for: You already grow Brazilian wood and want the spray interval printed on this listing.
Less suitable: A garden hedge, or lucky bamboo kept in water with an occasional drop of feed.
Vesidoloy is listed at £6.40 with lucky bamboo in the title and Brazilian-wood houseplant food in the bullets, which also name orchids, ferns and succulents. The bullets say no dilution is required. No NPK is stated, and there is no customer-review line. The title says 100 ml times 2, the unit count says 100.0 millilitres, and the number of packs is 2. Country of origin is China. Garden bamboo is not stated. It is the cheapest liquid in this set, and the plant name and the fill still disagree with each other.
Pros
Lowest liquid price in the set, at £6.40
The bullets state that no dilution is required
Number of packs is given as 2
Cons
Bullets describe Brazilian wood, orchids, ferns and succulents, not garden bamboo
The title says 100 ml times 2 and the unit count says 100 ml
No NPK and no star line
Fit is uncertain for a hedge and for a lucky-bamboo vase
Best for: You want this bottle for the houseplants named in the bullets, and you will check how many 100 ml bottles arrive.
Less suitable: Garden bamboo, or lucky bamboo when you need an NPK and a dilution.
The title includes lucky bamboo. The bullets describe Brazilian wood houseplant food and also name orchids, ferns and succulents. Garden bamboo is not stated. Fit is uncertain.
Do you dilute it?
The bullets and the application-method field say no dilution is required. No NPK is stated.
Is there a star rating?
No customer-review line is on the listing, so the rating is not stated.
How we compared
Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the review texts on those listings. Shelf date 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Royal Horticultural Society and BBC Gardeners' World pages say which plant needs which form. They are not a score for these packs. Price per 100 g is not inside the score. It decides the best value on its own. The highest score is the top pick. The best value is the lowest shelf price per stated 100 g among granule packs whose unit count matches the title. One of each. The weights below sum to 100.
1
Buyer evidence
40%
Stars count only with the review texts on that listing. The three 12-8-19 ASINs share 2.5 from 3 and the same two texts, so they are one sample. The three 15-9-12 ASINs share 3.7 from 11 and the same four texts, so they are one sample. A listing whose rank line disagrees with the others in its block scores slightly lower. No customer-review line is a gap, not a one-star result.
2
Label
40%
Points for a named plant, a stated NPK, a rate you can follow, and a unit-count field that matches the title. A lucky-bamboo name fits a vase and not a hedge. An uncertain plant scores lower. A rate that contradicts itself, such as ready to use and 1:4 on one listing, is a deduction. A missing rate scores nothing. Osmocote on a Generic listing whose manufacturer is Betta Shrimp Shop is a deduction.
3
Pack match
20%
Points rise when the review text describes the fill on that title. Points fall when the text describes a different weight, or when the unit count, the title and the review each name a different amount.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
11 sources checked
Bamboo fertiliser buying guide
Buy the plant before you buy the star line. Garden bamboo, lucky bamboo and Brazilian wood are not one feed. Prices below are amazon.co.uk shelf prices on 19 October 2026. A stated NPK without a gram rate is still an incomplete label. This is not a laboratory test.
What bamboo fertiliser has to name
Bamboo fertiliser on amazon.co.uk is not one plant. Outdoor or potted true bamboo is a woody grass. Lucky bamboo is Dracaena sanderiana, a houseplant often kept in a vase of water. Brazilian wood is a third name. Two liquids in this set put lucky bamboo in the title while the bullets describe Brazilian wood, and one of those also names orchids, ferns and succulents. Garden bamboo is not stated on those bullets. A usable pack names the plant, states an NPK, and gives a rate you can follow.
Best for
True bamboo in poor soil, if you will check the unit count against the title
Lucky bamboo in a vase, with a drop of dilute liquid every couple of months
Not ideal for
Running bamboo, which feed does not stop
A buyer treating Osmocote on a Generic listing as ICL
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying 10 g from a sack photo
Reviews on the shared 12-8-19 block say a full-bag photo hid a tiny 50 g fill. At £2.95 a 10 g sachet is about £29.50 per 100 g. Read the unit count, not the picture.
2
One bottle for both plants
Garden bamboo and lucky bamboo are different plants. Brazilian wood on a lucky-bamboo title is a third plant. Coated granules are the wrong form for a vase.
3
Borrowing a rate
None of these listings prints a gram rate. Do not copy a dose from a 24-8-16 nursery tub, and do not feed a dry or root-bound pot harder to make up for it.
What to weigh up
Plant, NPK and form
High
Name the plant before you compare a price. Outdoor or potted true bamboo is a woody grass. Lucky bamboo is Dracaena sanderiana. Brazilian wood is a third plant, and two liquids in this set put lucky bamboo in the title while the bullets describe Brazilian wood, orchids, ferns or succulents. Those two are an uncertain fit for a hedge and for a vase.
Fill, rate and shared reviews
High
Trust the fill only when the title, the unit-count field and the photo agree. The 10 g sachets are both £2.95, about £29.50 per 100 g, and the unit count says 10.0 gram. The 50 g 12-8-19 pack at £5.75 is about £11.50 per 100 g, and the review texts name a 50 g bag. The 500 g 12-8-19 pack at £12.95 is about £2.59 per 100 g. The unit count says 500.0 gram, but the same review texts still describe a 50 g bag.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🌿
True bamboo in a border
Established plants in moist, fertile, free-draining soil need little extra feed. Water in dry spells and keep the leaf litter, and feed only if the soil is poor or growth is weak. If you do buy granules, the 50 g 12-8-19 pack at £5.75 is the listing where the review text and the title both describe 50 g. The star line is 2.5 from 3, shared with the other 12-8-19 sizes, and no gram rate is printed.
A pot at least 45 cm wide and deep, in peat-free John Innes No. 3 or similar, wants a general liquid from March to October, or a slow-release that prints a pot rate. None of these listings prints that rate. The 500 g 12-8-19 pack at £12.95 is about £2.59 per 100 g, the lowest among granule packs whose unit count matches the title. The review texts still describe a 50 g bag, so the price only helps if 500 g arrives.
Change the water weekly and add a drop of dilute feed every couple of months. Super Green at £16.79 names lucky bamboo and about 3 x 36 ml. The mixing-ratio field says 1:4 and a bullet says ready to use, so those two lines disagree. No NPK is stated and there is no star line. It is not a feed for a garden hedge.
The top pick in this set is the Generic 10 g granules stating NPK 15-9-12, at £2.95. The unit count says 10.0 gram, and the shared amazon.co.uk line is 3.7 from 11 reviews. Those same four texts also sit on the 50 g and 200 g listings, so they are not eleven trials of this sachet. No gram rate is printed, and £2.95 is about £29.50 per 100 g. It fits a few grams where the title and the unit count agree.
Which pack is the best value?
The best value is the Generic 500 g granules stating NPK 12-8-19, at £12.95. Among granule packs whose unit count matches the title, that is about £2.59 per 100 g, the lowest in this set. The star line is 2.5 from 3, and the review texts still describe a 50 g bag. Those texts are shared with the smaller listings, so they are not a test of a 500 g tub. The price only helps if 500 g arrives.
Can one bottle feed garden bamboo and lucky bamboo?
No. Garden bamboo is a woody grass. Lucky bamboo is Dracaena sanderiana. The Royal Horticultural Society says established garden plants in moist, fertile soil need little extra feed, while pots and poor soil do. BBC Gardeners' World says lucky bamboo in water gets a drop of liquid feed every couple of months, not coated granules. Two liquids here put lucky bamboo in the title and Brazilian wood in the bullets. A shared star line does not make one bottle right for both plants.
What NPK should bamboo fertiliser state?
A usable label states an NPK and a rate. The RHS treats nitrogen as leaf and stem growth, phosphorus as roots and shoots, and potassium as flowering, fruiting and hardiness. Nursery tubs checked beside this set state 24-8-16. The granules here state 12-8-19, more potassium than nitrogen, or 15-9-12. None of the nine listings prints a gram rate. The three liquids state no NPK at all. Do not borrow a rate from another brand, and do not use a high-nitrogen feed after September.
How do you tell a real pack size from the title?
Read the unit-count field next to the title. On the 12-8-19 granules the 10 g, 50 g and 500 g unit counts match those titles, but the review texts describe a 50 g bag on all three. On the 15-9-12 line the 10 g unit count matches, while the 50 g and 200 g titles have a unit count of 1.0 gram. Super Green's unit count is about 108 ml, close to three 36 ml bottles. Weigh the jar if the two figures disagree.
When should you feed garden bamboo, and when should you stop?
Established garden bamboo in moist, fertile, free-draining soil often needs no extra feed. Water in dry spells and leave the leaf litter. None of these packs declares silicon. Feed if the soil is poor or growth is weak, with a general granular feed in spring. Stop high-nitrogen feeds after September, and keep granules off the leaves. A large pot wants a liquid from March to October. These listings do not print a pot rate.
Will fertiliser stop running bamboo?
No. A root barrier at least 60 cm deep, or a container, is what stops running bamboo. Fertiliser does not. The Royal Horticultural Society's control page is about the barrier, not about a feed. Call a professional if the plant is damaging paving, a building, or a neighbour's garden. A screen of bamboo is also a different job from a general hedge feed, which is a separate comparison: hedge fertiliser. If someone has swallowed a product, use NHS 111 or emergency care.
Our verdict
The top pick in this set is the Generic 10 g granules stating NPK 15-9-12, at £2.95. The unit count matches 10 g and the shared amazon.co.uk line is 3.7 from 11 reviews. The best value is the 500 g 12-8-19 pack at £12.95, about £2.59 per 100 g, only among granule packs whose unit count matches the title. Neither result is a laboratory test, and neither means the best bamboo fertiliser in the UK: the top pick has no gram rate, and the best-value reviews still describe a 50 g bag.
Best overall
Slow release granules 15-9-12, 10 g
Highest listing score: unit count matches 10 g, stated NPK 15-9-12, shared 3.7 from 11 reviews, at £2.95.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
11 sources checked
Guides to bamboo fertilisers
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the nine amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. Nursery prices for 24-8-16 are from The Palm Centre and Blue Nurseries, not from these listings. This is not a laboratory test.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.