Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: LENCENT 2-socket adaptor with USB – Highest score: about £16.99, 4.7 from 1,670 reviews, 350 joules stated, 13 A fuse, two switched AC outlets and USB. Only two AC sockets. Best value: Status 3WAISB110 3-way adaptor – About £5.99 with 4.6 from 2,354 reviews and individual switches. Lowest shelf price among those blocks. Amps are not printed in the specification block. Updated October 2026.
An adapter plug with switch is a UK multiway block that plugs into a BS 1363 wall socket and gives extra Type G outlets, each with its own switch, and no trailing flex. You buy one when a single socket has to feed a lamp, a router, a television or a charger and you do not want a lead across the floor. The 13 A figure on a sound listing is the total for everything switched on together, not 13 A on each outlet.
Look for a BS 1362 fuse, shuttered sockets and a BS 1363 mark. Pins should stay seated, and the body should not lever out of the wall. Side sockets, a short lead or spacer screws help on a twin plate. A neon only shows that an outlet is live, not that surge protection works. Take joules and USB output only when the listing states them. A kettle, heater, iron, air fryer or washing machine belongs in the wall socket on its own. The checks are in the [adapter plug with switch buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/adapter-plug-with-switch/sub/adapter-plug-with-switch-buying-guide).
An adapter plug with switch is a UK multiway block that plugs into a BS 1363 wall socket and gives extra Type G outlets, each with its own switch, and no trailing flex.
An adapter plug with switch is a UK multiway block that plugs into a BS 1363 wall socket and gives extra Type G outlets, each with its own switch, and no trailing flex. You buy one when a single socket has to feed a lamp, a router, a television or a charger and you do not want a lead across the floor. The 13 A figure on a sound listing is the total for everything switched on together, not 13 A on each outlet.
Look for a BS 1362 fuse, shuttered sockets and a BS 1363 mark. Pins should stay seated, and the body should not lever out of the wall. Side sockets, a short lead or spacer screws help on a twin plate. A neon only shows that an outlet is live, not that surge protection works. Take joules and USB output only when the listing states them. A kettle, heater, iron, air fryer or washing machine belongs in the wall socket on its own. The checks are in the [adapter plug with switch buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/adapter-plug-with-switch/sub/adapter-plug-with-switch-buying-guide).
An adapter plug with switch is a UK multiway block that plugs into a BS 1363 wall socket and gives extra Type G outlets, each with its own switch, and no trailing flex. You buy one when a single socket has to feed a lamp, a router, a television or a charger and you do not want a lead across the floor. The 13 A figure on a sound listing is the total for everything switched on together, not 13 A on each outlet. Look for a BS 1362 fuse, shuttered sockets and a BS 1363 mark. Pins should stay seated, and the body should not lever out of the wall.
LENCENT model SL-816 is the only row here that states surge energy in joules, 350 J, alongside a 13 A fuse, child-safety shutters claimed, and two switched AC outlets plus three USB ports at about £16.99 with 4.7 from 1,670 reviews. The AC side is rated 250 V, 13 A and 3,250 W total for both sockets together, and USB is split as two USB-A ports at 2.4 A and one USB-C at 3 A without a watt line for PD. A wireless special-feature field refers to the cordless wall form, not a charger pad. You trade outlet count for specification honesty: there are only two AC sockets, not three or four. For a bedside or desk where phones and a lamp share one reachable point, it is the top pick in this comparison because joules and fuse are printed together. Skip it if you need four AC outlets or no USB electronics in the block.
Pros
350 joules stated, the only joule figure in the set
13 A fuse and 3,250 W AC total stated
Two switched AC sockets plus three USB ports
4.7 from 1,670 reviews
Child-safety shutters claimed
Cons
Only two AC outlets
Highest feature spec at about £16.99
USB-C watts not converted in the table
Not a four-gang wall plate
Best for: Two AC loads plus USB when you want the only stated joule rating in this category.
Less suitable: You need three or four AC sockets only, or the lowest shelf price.
Two USB-A ports at 2.4 A maximum and one USB-C port at 3 A maximum. The listing does not convert the USB-C port into watts. The AC side is 250 V, 13 A and 3,250 W for both sockets together.
Is the surge rating stated in joules?
Yes. The specification field says 350 joules. The bullets also claim a 13 A fuse, child-safety shutters, and switches that cut off if the adaptor is overloaded.
Is it a wireless charger?
No. One special-feature field says Wireless. The design bullet describes a cordless wall block, not a radio or a charging pad.
The Masterplug MSWRG3-MP sits on one wall socket and gives three switched outlets on the front and sides, which UK reviewers use for a lamp, a router and chargers without a lead on the floor. The listing states 13 A and claims surge protection with a thermal cut-out indicator, but it does not print joules, and the voltage field reads 220 V rather than the usual 230–250 V band. A specification line lists two USB ports while the title and bullets describe a three-socket adaptor only, and a second plug-type field says Type B while another says Type G. At 4.6 from 5,929 reviews it is the most-reviewed row in this set, and several UK comments mention the neighbouring twin outlet staying usable because sockets sit to the side. Treat the connected-equipment warranty as a listing claim, not a test result. It is a strong row when you want a stated 13 A limit and side outlets, and a poor match if you need printed joules or a clean USB story.
Pros
Three switched sockets, including side outlets
13 A stated in the listing
4.6 from 5,929 amazon.co.uk reviews
Surge and thermal indicator claimed
Listed at about £8.25
Cons
No joule rating despite the surge claim
USB and Type B fields conflict with other lines
Voltage field 220 V, not 230–250 V
Fuse amp not stated separately
Best for: A low-power socket where side outlets help clear a twin plate, and you accept surge without joules.
Less suitable: You need stated joules, USB that matches the bullets, or a kettle-class load on the adaptor.
Does the Masterplug adaptor have a switch on every socket?
Yes. The listing says each of the three sockets is switched, and the sockets sit on the front and the sides.
How much surge protection does it state?
It claims surge protection and a thermal cut-out indicator. It does not give a joule rating. The listing says not to use it if that indicator is not lit.
Does the listing include USB ports?
A specification field says two USB ports. The title and the bullets do not describe a USB socket. A second plug-type field says Type B while another says Type G.
TESSAN model TS-223-C is the outlier with a short extension lead so the block can sit clear of a neighbouring twin outlet, three AC sockets in the bullets, USB-C at PD 20 W and 15 W on a second USB-C port, plus two USB-A ports at 12 W, with a 13 A fuse and 3,250 W stated at about £19.99 and 4.6 from 3,435 reviews. Individual switches are not mentioned in the title, bullets or specification block, so it does not belong in a switched-adaptor shortlist even though one reviewer describes avoiding two appliances being on together. The specification field lists six AC outlets while the bullets say three. Surge joules are absent. It fits when USB-C PD and physical clearance from a twin plate matter more than per-socket switches. Skip it if switched outlets are the reason you opened this comparison.
Pros
USB-C PD 20 W stated
Short lead clears neighbouring sockets
13 A fuse and 3,250 W stated
4.6 from 3,435 reviews
Three AC outlets in the bullets
Cons
Individual switches not stated
Highest price in the set at about £19.99
Outlet count field conflicts with the bullets
No surge joules
Best for: A charging hub with a short lead when switches on each socket are not required.
Less suitable: You need individual switches, no trailing flex, or the lowest price.
Does the TESSAN listing include individual switches?
The title, bullets and specification block do not mention a switch. One UK review says a microwave and an air fryer need not both be on. That sentence does not name a rocker.
How long is the lead?
The bullets call it a short extension lead so the block can sit clear of neighbouring sockets. They do not state the length in metres or centimetres.
What do the USB ports supply?
One USB-C port is PD 20 W maximum, the other USB-C port is 15 W maximum, and each of the two USB-A ports is 12 W maximum. A 13 A fuse and 3,250 W are stated for the adaptor. Surge joules are not.
Status 3WAISB110 is the cheapest individually switched block in this set at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 2,354 reviews and surge protection claimed without joules. The item type calls it fused, but the specification block does not state amps or volts, so one UK reviewer opened the unit to find a 13 A fuse inside while the listing stayed silent. That gap matters if you plan the fuse from the table alone. The body is a light 140 g surface-mount block, and CE is claimed without a BS 1363 edition year. For lamps, a TV standby path and phone chargers the price and switches are the draw. For anything near 3 kW you should use the wall socket directly. In this comparison it is the best value when you accept checking the fuse label yourself, and not the top pick when you need joules, USB or a printed 13 A row.
Pros
Lowest shelf price in the set at about £5.99
4.6 from 2,354 reviews
Individually switched three-way
Fused in the item type
Light 140 g block
Cons
Amp and voltage not in the specification block
Surge claimed without joules
CE bullet without a BS 1363 edition
Reviewers report finding the fuse rating inside
Best for: Low-power electronics when about £5.99 matters and you will confirm the fuse rating on the unit.
Less suitable: You need a printed 13 A line, stated joules, or four outlets.
The specification block does not state amps or volts. The item type says it is a fused adaptor. One UK reviewer reported finding a 13 A fuse inside because the listing did not state the rating.
Is this the same Status model as S3WASPSCX2?
No. This row is model 3WAISB110. S3WASPSCX2 is a different ASIN, with 13 A and 250 V printed in its specification block.
Does it claim surge protection?
One bullet says surge protection protects your devices. It does not give joules. A separate bullet says CE certified and does not name a standard.
Status model S3WASPSCX2 is a compact three-way block, individually switched and marked fused in the item type, with 13 A and 250 V in the specification block and surge protection claimed without joules. It weighs 140 g and measures roughly 6.2 × 5 × 7.5 cm in the table. At 4.6 from 506 reviews the star line is strong but the sample is smaller than the Masterplug or the cheaper Status 3WAISB110 row. UK reviews describe red neon indicators on the switches even though the bullets do not mention a lamp. There is no IP rating, and the listing does not answer outdoor use. It is a sensible alternative when you want amps and volts printed on a Status block rather than the about £5.99 row with a blank amp field. You still cannot rank its surge stage against LENCENT’s 350 joules.
Pros
13 A and 250 V stated
Individually switched, fused in the item type
Compact 140 g body
4.6 stars with surge claimed
Listed at about £8.47
Cons
No joule figure
Only 506 reviews
Indicator not stated in the bullets
No outdoor or IP specification
Best for: A switched three-way when you want Status branding with a full amp and volt line.
Less suitable: You need the lowest price, thousands of reviews, or a stated joule rating.
The bullets say surge protected. They do not give joules. The current and voltage fields are 13 A and 250 V, and the item type calls it a fused adaptor.
Does the listing mention an indicator light?
The bullets do not. UK reviews describe red neon indicators on the switches.
Can it be used outdoors?
The listing does not answer outdoor use. There is no IP rating. Treat it as an indoor plug-in adaptor.
Pro-Elec PL10031 is the lowest-priced four-gang in this set at about £8.08, with colour-coded neon push-button switches and a full load line of 13 A, 230 V and 3,120 W, plus surge and spike claims without joules. The table prints BS1363/A and IP00, which is indoor only, and Wi-Fi appears as a connectivity field though the switches are ordinary push-buttons. At 4.5 from 2,724 reviews it is well sampled for a wide plate. UK reviews often say this four-gang lacks the spacer screws that buyers praise on the three-gang Pro-Elec, so a heavy plug can pull the 99.8 g body outward on a loose socket. It is the sensible four-outlet pick for a home office on low loads, and a poor choice if you need rotation, USB or stand-offs stated in the box.
Pros
Four neon switched outlets
13 A, 230 V and 3,120 W stated
Lowest four-gang price at about £8.08
BS1363/A and IP00 marked
2,724 reviews
Cons
No joule rating
Spacers not listed; reviews say none supplied
Confusing Wi-Fi field in the table
Wide plate may block a twin socket
Best for: Four switched outlets for chargers and AV on a stable wall socket.
Less suitable: You need spacer screws included, USB, or outdoor use.
The table says 13 A, 230 V AC and 3,120 W. It claims surge and spike protection without joules, and it prints BS1363/A and IP00. A separate fuse amp is not stated.
Does this four-gang include spacer screws?
The listing does not mention spacers. UK reviews say this four-gang has none, unlike the three-gang Pro-Elec, and that plug weight can pull it out of the socket.
Is the Wi-Fi line a smart feature?
No. Connectivity protocol Wi-Fi and control method Touch appear in the specification table and are not described in the bullets. The switches are push-buttons with neon indicators.
Pro-Elec’s three-gang T-shaped adaptor is a flush wall block with a neon beside each switch, listed at about £6.49 with 4.5 from 2,561 reviews. The table states 13 A but not voltage or surge protection, so you are buying on switches and review volume rather than a full load line. UK reviews often describe short and long screws fitted by hand at the back, which can steady the block on a shallow twin socket, though the specification block does not list spacers and the box-contents field says lead. Several reviewers say the body hangs below the socket they used and the neighbouring outlet stayed free, while others report the opposite on a different plate. The width field in the table is unusually large and should not be treated as a measured fit guide. It suits a renter who wants neons and a stated 13 A at a mid entry price, and it is weaker if you need surge joules or a maker’s spacer kit in writing.
Pros
Neon indicator on each switched socket
13 A stated
4.5 from 2,561 reviews
Flush T-shape with no trailing lead
Listed at about £6.49
Cons
Voltage and surge not stated in the table
Spacers described in reviews only
Conflicting box-contents line
Wide dimensions field may not match the body
Best for: Three switched outlets with neons when about £6.49 matters and loads stay low-power.
Less suitable: You need surge figures, a printed spacer kit, or guaranteed clearance on every twin socket.
The listing does not say. The bullets do not answer it. What they do state is a neon on each switched socket and 13 A.
Are wall spacers included?
The specification block does not list spacers. UK reviews describe short and long screws that go in the back by hand. The box-contents field says lead, which does not match those reviews or the flush-mount bullets.
Will it leave the other half of a double socket free?
The listing does not give a width against a twin plate. Several UK reviews say the block hangs below the socket they used, so the neighbouring outlet stayed usable.
Benross model 45610 adds three individually switched sockets on a wall adaptor with no trailing lead, stating a combined 13 A at 250 V and claiming surge protection that shuts power off in a surge, again without joules. At about £8.99 and 4.5 from 1,044 reviews it sits in the upper entry band with a heavier 200 g body and listed dimensions of 25 × 16 × 6 cm. UK reviews split on twin-socket fit: some say the neighbouring outlet could not be used, others that it stayed free, and plastic stand-offs appear in comments rather than in the specification block. The surge claim is marketing language until a joule figure appears. It fits a household that wants three switches and a printed combined amp line, and it is a weaker buy if clearing the second half of a double socket is non-negotiable on your plate.
Pros
Combined 13 A at 250 V stated
Switch on each socket
Surge shut-off claimed
1,044 UK reviews at 4.5 stars
No trailing flex
Cons
No joule rating
Mixed UK reports on blocking a twin socket
Stand-offs not listed in the specs
Heavier than the compact Status blocks
Best for: Three switched outlets when a combined 13 A line is enough and fit on your socket is untested first.
Less suitable: You must keep both outlets on a twin plate free, or you only trust stated joules.
What load does Benross state for all three sockets together?
The bullets say the combined capacity of the three sockets is 13 A at 250 V. They do not give a watt figure.
Does it state surge protection in joules?
No. It claims each socket is surge protected and that power shuts off in a surge. There is no joule number and no fuse line in the specification block.
Will it block a double socket?
The listing does not say. Several UK reviews say the neighbouring outlet could not be used, and at least one says it stayed free. Plastic stand-offs are described in reviews, not in the bullets.
Mscien’s four-way adaptor mirrors the rotating-plug pattern: four switched sockets, a 180° Type G plug, a 13 A fuse, and a stated 3,250 W at 250 V total, with surge protection claimed but no joules, at about £16.15 and 4.4 from 3,083 reviews. BS 1363, CE and RoHS appear in the table without an edition year, and recommended uses include garden and outdoor even though there is no IP rating. One UK review says the plug moves between three positions rather than a full circle and may not sit vertically on the left of a double socket. The warranty line mentions a 30-day return and six-month replacement. It is a credible four-gang when you need orientation at the wall and you ignore outdoor marketing. It is expensive against Pro-Elec PL10031 if you do not need rotation.
Pros
13 A, 250 V and 3,250 W stated
Four switches with indicator lights claimed
180° plug orientation
3,083 reviews at 4.4 stars
Surge claimed
Cons
No joule figure
Outdoor and garden lines without an IP rating
Higher price than the PL10031 four-gang
Rotating range disputed in reviews
Best for: Four switched outlets when plug orientation on an awkward twin plate matters.
Less suitable: You need stated joules, an outdoor IP rating, or the lowest-price four-gang.
It claims a built-in surge protector, a 13 A fuse and a safe door. It does not give joules. The load line is 3,250 W at 250 V and 13 A for the whole adaptor.
Can the plug point up or down?
The bullets say 180° so the body can be installed up or down. One UK review says the movement is three positions, not a full circle, and that it would not sit vertically on the left of a double socket.
Is it an outdoor adaptor?
Recommended uses include outdoor and garden. There is no IP rating. Those words are not a weatherproof specification. The seller also claims BS 1363 without an edition year.
SUPHOST’s four-way block adds a switched socket, a 180° rotating UK plug, short and long support brackets, and a stated 13 A fuse with a spare, at about £13.99 with 4.4 from 618 reviews. Total load is given as 3,250 W, which is still one 13 A path shared by everything that is on. Child-safety doors are claimed, and lights on each switch are listed. Surge protection is not stated, so this is a mechanical and capacity story, not a spike story. UK reviews often argue about bracket screws being too short or too long for the wall, which affects whether the heavy 360 g body levers out of the socket. It suits a desk or media bay that needs four switches at the wall. It is the wrong row if you wanted surge joules or a compact three-way.
Pros
Four individually switched sockets
13 A fuse and spare fuse stated
180° plug and support brackets
3,250 W total load stated
Child-safety door claimed
Cons
Surge not stated
618 reviews, mixed fit comments on screws
Heavy 360 g block may stress the socket
No model number in the table
Best for: Four low-power loads at one reachable socket when you will adjust the brackets carefully.
Less suitable: You need surge protection, three sockets only, or a light compact block.
The listing does not say. It does state four switched sockets, a 13 A fuse with a spare, a child-safety door, and a 3,250 W total. High-power heaters over that figure are excluded in the bullets.
How does the rotating plug work?
The bullets say a 180° UK plug, moved with a side button, plus short and long support brackets. UK reviews say the supplied screws were either too short or too long for the wall.
Is there a model number?
No model number is printed in the specification block. The brand field is SUPHOST.
The JIUGGLAD three-way adaptor lists 250 V in and out and claims surge protection with several protection bullets, but it does not state amps or watts, and the printed dimensions of 7.6 × 0.7 × 0.1 cm cannot describe a three-gang body. At 4.1 from 287 reviews it is the weakest star line here, and Amazon reviews include sparking mentions and a melted review title that you should treat as individual reports, not a rate. A bullet names bathrooms among rooms without an IP rating, which is not a wet-room approval. At about £8.99 it costs more than the Status best-value row while giving less specification clarity. Skip it unless you have no alternative and you will treat the first week as a trial on low loads only.
Pros
Three independent switches claimed
250 V stated in and out
Light 110 g listed weight
One-year warranty stated
Cons
No amp or watt rating in the table
Implausible dimensions in the specification block
4.1 from only 287 reviews
UK reviews include sparking complaints
Best for: A spare low-power block when nothing else is in stock and you will test cautiously.
Less suitable: You want a stated 13 A line, strong reviews, or any fixed or high-load appliance.
The specification block does not state amps or watts. It states 250 V in and 250 V out. The printed dimensions, 7.6 × 0.7 × 0.1 cm, do not describe a three-gang body.
Does it have surge protection?
The item highlight says surge protected. The bullets list short circuit, overcurrent, over-voltage and overload. There is no joule rating and no fuse line.
Can it be used in a bathroom?
A bullet names a bathroom among rooms. There is no IP rating. That sentence is not a wet-room specification.
How we compared
Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf date 19 October 2026. Stars, review counts and stated amps, volts, joules and switches come from those listings. There was no lab test. A surge line without joules does not score as stated energy. A repeated UK review theme is a deduction, not a failure rate. Conflicting specification fields are a deduction. Ties break to the higher review count, then the lower shelf price.
1
Amazon line
48%
Stars and review count on amazon.co.uk for that ASIN. A 4.7 line starts higher than a 4.1 line. Five thousand reviews or more add more than a count under 400. Fewer than 300 reviews are a sample-size deduction.
2
Stated load
16%
A stated 13 A, or a watt line of 3,120 W or 3,250 W, scores. That watt line is still one 13 A path. Amps or volts missing from the specification block score down.
3
Individual switches
12%
A switch on every outlet scores. A listing that does not state a switch scores down. A neon is only a lamp that the outlet is on.
4
Surge in joules
10%
Stated joules score. A surge claim with no joule figure does not. Surge wording is not treated as overload protection.
5
Plug and specification consistency
8%
Type G without a second plug-type field that says Type B scores. Conflicting outlet counts, plug types or impossible dimensions score down.
6
USB, rotation and shutters
6%
USB with stated port currents scores. A rotating plug with a stated fuse, and child shutters when the listing claims them, add a smaller mark.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Adapter plug with switch buying guide
The checks run in this order: shared 13 A, fuse and shutters, switches you can reach, then fit on the wall. Surge joules and USB come after that, and only when the listing states a number. The table is the eleven stored amazon.co.uk listings from 19 October 2026. None of these adaptors was tested in a lab for this page.
What is an adapter plug with switch?
A switched adapter plug is a block that takes one BS 1363 wall socket and gives you more Type G outlets, each with its own switch, and no long flex across the floor. People in small UK homes use one for a lamp, a router, a television or a charger. It is not a way to run a kettle, a heater, an iron, an air fryer or a washing machine. Those belong in the wall socket on their own. The marked 13 A is the total for everything switched on together. A rule of thumb from Which?
Best for
A lamp, a router and chargers on one reachable BS 1363 socket
A desk that needs USB or four low-power outlets at the wall
Not ideal for
A kettle, heater, iron, air fryer or washing machine
Outdoor use, or any listing read as weatherproof without an IP rating
Mistakes to avoid
1
Reading 13 A as per socket
The marked current is the total for everything switched on together. A 3,250 W line is 13 A at 250 V, not extra capacity and not 13 A on each outlet. A kettle plus anything else on the same adaptor is the usual overload.
2
Trusting a CE bullet or a garden line
A CE bullet is not a BS 1363 edition year, and a recommended-use line that says garden or bathroom is not an IP rating. Look for a BS 1362 fuse and a BS 1363 mark. None of these listings is an outdoor product. Pro-Elec PL10031 is marked IP00.
3
Treating a neon as surge protection
A neon shows that the outlet is on. It does not show that a surge stage is working, and a surge claim does not stop an overload fire. Only a printed joule figure tells you the energy the listing states. In this set that figure is 350 joules on one row.
What to weigh up
Shared current, fuse and switches
High
Start with the shared current. UK mains are nominally 230 V, and a practical guide is about 3,000 W on one 13 A socket. Listing lines of 3,120 W or 3,250 W are 13 A times 240 V or 250 V. They are not a second 13 A. The fuse should be a BS 1362 fuse in the adaptor, and the sockets should be shuttered. Reject an unfused cube. Individual switches you can reach come next. A neon is only a “this outlet is on” lamp.
In this table, several three-way rows print 13 A.
Fit on the wall, then surge or USB
High
Side sockets or a short lead are what leave the other half of a twin plate usable. Spacer screws matter on a wide four-way. UK reviews of the Pro-Elec four-gang say spacers are not supplied, and plug weight can pull the body out. Reviews of the three-gang Pro-Elec describe screws fitted by hand, which the specification block does not list. Bracket screws on the SUPHOST row are reported as too short or too long. A rotating plug helps orientation only as far as the listing and the reviews agree.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
Renter with one reachable socket
You cannot add wall sockets and you want three switches for a lamp, a router and chargers. The Status 3WAISB110 is the best value at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 2,354 reviews. Amps are not in the specification block, so check the fuse on the unit. Keep the total under one 13 A path.
You want USB and the only stated joule figure in this set. The LENCENT SL-816 is the top pick at about £16.99, with 4.7 from 1,670 reviews, 350 joules, a 13 A fuse and two switched AC outlets. Skip it if you need four AC sockets.
Chargers and a small AV stack share one stable wall socket. The Pro-Elec PL10031 is about £8.08, with 4.5 from 2,724 reviews, four neon switches and a stated 13 A, 230 V and 3,120 W line. It is marked IP00. Reviews say spacer screws are not in the box.
Common questions about adapter plugs with switches
Which adapter plug with switch is the top pick?
The top pick is the LENCENT SL-816, at about £16.99. The amazon.co.uk line in this file is 4.7 from 1,670 reviews. It is the only row that states surge energy, at 350 joules, with a 13 A fuse, two switched AC outlets and three USB ports. The AC side is 250 V and 3,250 W for both sockets together. It is the wrong row if you need three or four AC outlets and no USB. This page did not lab-test the surge stage.
What does an adapter plug with switch cost on amazon.co.uk?
In the 19 October 2026 listings, entry blocks run about £5.99 to £8.99. Mid listings run about £13.99 to £16.99. The TESSAN short-lead adaptor is about £19.99, the highest price here. Argos and Screwfix list other Masterplug three-ways around £7.99 to £8.49, which sits in the same entry band. These are stored shelf prices, not a quote. Confirm the live amazon.co.uk price before you buy.
What should you check before you buy a switched adaptor?
Check four things before surge or USB. The 13 A rating is the total for everything switched on, about 3,000 W at the UK nominal 230 V. Lines of 3,120 W or 3,250 W are 13 A at 240 V or 250 V, not extra capacity. Then look for a BS 1362 fuse and shuttered sockets. Then switches you can reach. Then whether the block covers the other half of a twin socket. Joules and USB watts count only when the listing states them.
Is 13 A the rating of each socket?
No. On a UK adaptor the marked current is the total for every outlet that is switched on together. Electrical Safety First says not to exceed that mark and not to daisy-chain. A kettle, heater, iron, air fryer or washing machine should use the wall socket on its own. London Fire Brigade makes the same point for a kettle, a toaster and a microwave. If you live on adaptors, have more wall sockets fitted.
Does a surge claim mean the adaptor has a joule rating?
No. A surge claim is not a joule rating, and it does not stop an overload. A neon shows that an outlet is on. It does not show that surge protection is working. In this set only the LENCENT SL-816 states 350 joules. Several other rows say surge protected and print no energy figure. A flex with a surge stage is a different product from these wall blocks. Read the joules on the listing before you treat a surge bullet as energy absorption.
When is an extension lead the better tool?
A switched adaptor is enough when one wall socket must feed low-power kit and you do not want flex on the floor. An extension lead is the better tool when the appliances sit away from the socket, or when you need a longer reach than a block can give without covering a twin plate. Do not daisy-chain either. High-power appliances still belong in the wall socket. The lead comparison is separate from these eleven blocks. None of these blocks is an outdoor product.
Can these adaptor plugs be used outdoors?
No listing in this set is an outdoor product. Pro-Elec PL10031 is marked IP00, which means no protection against water or dust. Recommended-use lines that say garden, outdoor or bathroom are not an IP rating. Treat every block here as an indoor plug for a BS 1363 socket. Do not run an indoor adaptor through a window. If the socket you need is outside, use a product that states an outdoor rating.
When should you call an electrician?
Call a registered electrician if the wall socket is already hot or cracked, if a fuse blows again on one sound appliance, if you want sockets added properly, or if you are a tenant and the fixed wiring looks scorched. Stop if a plug smells, sparks or scorches. Unplug to be sure a circuit is dead. This page did not test any adaptor in a lab. Scores follow amazon.co.uk listings dated 19 October 2026 and the public UK sources listed below.
Our verdict
The top pick is the LENCENT SL-816 at about £16.99, with 4.7 from 1,670 reviews. It is the only row that states surge energy, at 350 joules, with a 13 A fuse, two switched AC outlets and three USB ports. You give up a third and fourth AC socket. The best value is the Status 3WAISB110 at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 2,354 reviews and a switch on each of three outlets. The specification block does not state amps or volts, so it is not the top pick.
Best overall
LENCENT 2-socket adaptor with USB
Highest score: about £16.99, 4.7 from 1,670 reviews, 350 joules stated, 13 A fuse, two switched AC outlets and USB. Only two AC sockets.
About £5.99 with 4.6 from 2,354 reviews and individual switches. Lowest shelf price among those blocks. Amps are not printed in the specification block.
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to adapter plugs with switches
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.