Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Retractable socket comparison 2026

The best retractable sockets, compared.

Top pick: EnergyPro 10 m reel Best value: TERIUX-S pop-up – About £32.99, the lowest shelf price among listings at 60 or above with at least 10 reviews. 3.9 from 13 reviews. A price rule, not a claim that every BS 1363 plug seats. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A retractable socket is a pop-up that drops into a worktop or desk, or an automatic cable reel whose socket pulls out of a wall- or ceiling-mounted drum. You buy one in the UK when a kettle or a charger should not cross a kitchen island, or when a garage tool needs a lead that reels back off the floor. Sort the family first. A round tower is not a long garage reel, and a short plug-in extender is not a worktop unit. On a pop-up, check a BS 1363 plug, outlets a UK plug can seat fully, a cut-out that matches the unit, and a clamp that fits the worktop. On a reel, check a marked thermal cut-out and printed wound and unwound ratings. The plug fuse does not protect a coiled drum. USB ports and a wireless pad do not raise the 13 A limit of the one plug that feeds the unit. Those checks, in order, are in the [retractable socket buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/retractable-socket/sub/retractable-socket-buying-guide).

A retractable socket is a pop-up that drops into a worktop or desk, or an automatic cable reel whose socket pulls out of a wall- or ceiling-mounted drum.

EnergyPro 10 m reel

Best overall

EnergyPro 10 m reel
6.8/10∼ £61

28 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

8 of 8: Best retractable sockets compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
EnergyPro 10 m reel
Gxpjycfob pop-up
Sealey CRM10 reel
Sealey CRM101 reel
Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel
Best value
TERIUX-S pop-up
SKJJM extender
Normodic pop-up
6.8/10
7.2/10
7.8/10
7.7/10
8.2/10
7.3/10
5.4/10
1.0/10
∼ £61
∼ £62
∼ £98
∼ £64
∼ £58
∼ £33
∼ £26
∼ £54
4.7(15)
4.4(8)
4.3(26)
4.2(91)
4.0(120)
3.9(13)
3.3(3)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best retractable sockets in detail

EnergyPro 10 m reel

Rank 1

EnergyPro 10 m reel

∼£61

Our view

The EnergyPro listing is about £60.99 for a 10 m automatic reel that claims a BS 1363 plug and socket and up to 2,300 W when the cable is fully unwound. The star line is 4.7 from 15 reviews, and five UK texts describe a heavy unit with a metal bracket that was straightforward to put on a wall or ceiling, including use with a mower and a trimmer in a garage. One of those reviews describes a 16.5 m EnergyPro reel, so it does not confirm the 10 m title. The specification weight of 45.4 g and the 10 cm cube conflict with those heavy descriptions, and the included-components field says no while a bullet claims a mounting kit. Wound watts are not printed, and sheltered outdoor use is claimed with no IP rating. A high star line on 15 reviews is not a reason to treat 2,300 W as available while the drum is still full.

Pros

  • 2,300 W printed for a fully unwound cable
  • BS 1363 claimed for the plug and the socket
  • UK reviews describe a solid metal bracket
  • Adjustable cord stopper mentioned by reviewers

Cons

  • No wound wattage
  • Printed weight of 45.4 g does not match the reviews
  • One review describes 16.5 m, not the 10 m title
  • No IP rating beside a sheltered-outdoor claim

Best for: A garage wall where 10 m and an unwound figure matter more than a large review sample, and the reel stays under cover.

Less suitable: You need a wound rating on the label, or you want to leave the reel in the rain.

Specifications

Model
EnergyPro 10 m reel
Brand
EnergyPro
Price
∼£61
Customer rating
4.7/5(15)
Type
Automatic reel
Plug
BS 1363
Sockets
Not stated
Reach
10 m
Wound-unwound
2300 W unwound
Protection
Overload
Mounting
Wall or ceiling
USB
None
Voltage
230 V

Common questions

What load does the EnergyPro reel state?

The bullets say up to 2,300 W when the cable is fully unwound, at 230 V. A wound wattage is not printed.

Can it be used outside?

The bullets say sheltered spots such as a shed, garage or under eaves. No IP rating is printed.

How long is the cable?

The title says 10 metres. One UK review describes a 16.5 metre EnergyPro reel, so the review does not confirm the title length.

Gxpjycfob pop-up

Rank 2

Gxpjycfob pop-up

∼£62

Our view

The Gxpjycfob pop-up is about £61.99, with the title and the ports field both saying four UK plugs, one USB-A, one USB-C and a 15 W Qi pad, for a 100 mm hole. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from eight reviews, and only three UK texts are in the file, one of which calls the pop-up action smooth. One UK review says the clamp thread was too short to pull up through 50 mm of worktop and cupboard together. The bullets claim waterproofing and surge protection without an IP code or a joule figure, and a bathroom question on the page is unanswered. Cable length and a watt rating for the mains outlets are not printed, so four sockets still share whatever plug is on the lead. At this price the 100 mm hole is the convenient part, and the short thread is the part that stops a thick top.

Pros

  • 100 mm hole
  • Four UK plugs agreed in the title and the ports field
  • 15 W Qi plus USB-A and USB-C
  • Type G in the plug field

Cons

  • Clamp thread too short for a 50 mm stack in one UK review
  • Only three UK texts behind an eight-review count
  • Waterproof wording with no IP rating
  • Cable length not stated

Best for: A thin worktop or desk with a 100 mm hole, where you can confirm the nut bites before you commit the cut.

Less suitable: A 50 mm worktop-plus-cupboard stack, a bathroom, or a job that needs a printed IP code.

Specifications

Model
Gxpjycfob pop-up
Brand
Gxpjycfob
Price
∼£62
Customer rating
4.4/5(8)
Type
Pop-up tower
Plug
Type G
Sockets
4 UK
Cut-out
100 mm
Protection
Overcurrent
Mounting
Worktop
USB
USB and 15 W Qi

Common questions

What hole does this pop-up need?

The bullets say cut a 100 mm hole, slide the body in from the top, and tighten the ring from below.

Can it clamp a thick worktop?

One UK review says the thread was too short to clamp through 50 mm of worktop and cupboard together.

Is it rated for a bathroom?

A listing question asks about a bathroom. No IP rating is printed. One bullet says water proof and does not give a code.

Sealey CRM10 reel

Rank 3

Sealey CRM10 reel

∼£98

Our view

The Sealey CRM10 is the dearest reel here at about £98.02, with 10 m, two switched 230 V sockets and LEDs, and 1,000 W wound and 2,750 W unwound on the amazon.co.uk listing. The star line is 4.3 from 26 reviews, and UK texts describe a heavy garage unit that reaches a pressure washer or a mower and pulls in more cleanly than a manual drum. Spring failure shows up on units used for carpet cleaning, and one buyer called the supplied socket lightweight and fitted a different double socket. Sealey's own page for this system prints 3,200 W unwound, which is not the 2,750 W on this listing, so the amazon.co.uk figure is the one to plan with. The plug standard is not named, and outdoor use is not claimed even though some reviews take the lead into the garden. Two sockets do not mean two separate 13 A feeds.

Pros

  • Two switched sockets with LEDs
  • 1,000 W wound and 2,750 W unwound on this listing
  • Manual thermal trip
  • 4.3 from 26 reviews, with garage use in the UK texts

Cons

  • About £98.02, the highest reel price in this set
  • Spring failures reported after carpet-cleaning use
  • The maker page's 3,200 W does not match this listing's 2,750 W
  • Plug standard not named as BS 1363

Best for: A wall-mounted garage reel when you want two sockets and the tool stays under 2,750 W fully unwound.

Less suitable: A single light tool that the CRM101 can feed, or a plan that treats the maker's 3,200 W as the amazon.co.uk rating.

Specifications

Model
Sealey CRM10 reel
Brand
Sealey
Price
∼£98
Customer rating
4.3/5(26)
Type
Retractable reel
Sockets
2 switched
Reach
10 m
Wound-unwound
1000–2750 W
Protection
Thermal trip
Mounting
Wall
USB
None
Voltage
230 V

Common questions

How many sockets does the CRM10 have?

The title and bullets say two 230 V sockets, each with an LED and a rocker switch.

What are the printed wattages?

1,000 W when wound and 2,750 W when unwound, at 230 V, with a manual thermal trip.

Is it for wall mounting?

The installation method field says wall mount. The bullets describe pull-and-release retraction.

Sealey CRM101 reel

Rank 4

Sealey CRM101 reel

∼£64

Our view

The Sealey CRM101 is about £63.62 for 10 m and a single 230 V socket, with 1,000 W wound and 1,500 W unwound printed on the listing, plus a manual thermal trip and an LED. It scores 4.2 from 91 reviews, and UK buyers use it for a jigsaw, an orbital sander or a vacuum when the spring is working. The same file says the spring or ratchet failed within light use for some people, the last couple of feet stay out, and one buyer reports three units that rewound on their own and damaged a car. A supplier reply quoted in a review puts the load at about 4 A wound and about 6 A fully unwound, which matches a reel that is not a 13 A drum even when the cable is out. The picture has been mistaken for a twin socket. The plug standard is not named as BS 1363 on the card, though reviews describe a lead into a wall socket.

Pros

  • 1,000 W wound and 1,500 W unwound both printed
  • Manual thermal trip and an LED
  • 4.2 from 91 reviews
  • 10 m single socket for light workshop tools

Cons

  • 1,500 W unwound is well below a 13 A expectation
  • Spring failures and self-rewind in UK reviews
  • The last part of the cable often stays out
  • Plug standard not printed as BS 1363

Best for: A garage vacuum, jigsaw or sander that stays under 1,500 W with the cable fully out.

Less suitable: A mitre saw or anything else above about 6 A, or a bench that needs two sockets.

Specifications

Model
Sealey CRM101 reel
Brand
Sealey
Price
∼£64
Customer rating
4.2/5(91)
Type
Retractable reel
Sockets
1
Reach
10 m
Wound-unwound
1000–1500 W
Protection
Thermal trip
Mounting
Wall
USB
None
Voltage
230 V

Common questions

How long is the CRM101 cable?

The listing says 10 m, with one 230 V socket.

What load is printed?

1,000 W wound and 1,500 W unwound. A review quotes the supplier at about 4 A wound and about 6 A fully unwound.

Does it have a thermal trip?

Yes. The bullets say an integral manual thermal trip and an LED power indicator.

Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel

Rank 5

Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel

∼£58

Our view

The Brennenstuhl 1241023300 is a wall or ceiling reel at about £57.62 with 9 m of retractable cable plus a 2 m tail, H05VV-F 3G1.5, a BS 1363 plug and a 13 A socket in the bullets. Across 120 amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.0, the largest sample in this set, and UK reviews often use it to clear leads off a workshop floor. Several of those reviews say the plug and socket arrived on the wrong ends, so the unit was useless until it went back. The title says electrical rewind, while a UK review describes a metal spring and a breaker button with a light, and other texts say the ratchet can let go so the cable flies back. Wound and unwound watts are not printed, and you should not copy the 1,000 W and 3,120 W pair from a different Brennenstuhl model. It is the top pick here because of that review depth and a named BS 1363 lead, provided you check the ends before you mount it and you walk the cable in by hand.

Pros

  • 9+2 m of H05VV-F 3G1.5
  • BS 1363 and 13 A named on the listing
  • 4.0 from 120 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Wall or ceiling mount, slew up to 180°
  • Safety cut-out claimed

Cons

  • UK reviews of plug and socket ends swapped
  • Spring rewind can fly back or stop short of the last 2 m
  • Title says electrical rewind; a review says a spring
  • Wound watts not printed

Best for: A workshop or garage where you inspect the plug and socket before fitting and you only need one socket.

Less suitable: You need printed wound and unwound watts, outdoor rubber cable, or a reel you can mount without checking the ends.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£58
Customer rating
4.0/5(120)
Type
Automatic reel
Plug
BS 1363
Sockets
1
Reach
9+2 m
Protection
Cut-out
Mounting
Wall or ceiling
USB
None
Voltage
240 V

Common questions

Can this Brennenstuhl reel be mounted on a ceiling?

The title and bullets say wall or ceiling mounting, slewable up to 180°.

What cable is fitted?

The bullets say 9+2 m of H05VV-F 3G1.5, with a BS 1363 plug and a 13 A socket. Wound and unwound watts are not printed.

Is outdoor use claimed?

A listing question asks. The bullets do not claim outdoor use, and they do not print an IP rating.

TERIUX-S pop-up

Rank 6

TERIUX-S pop-up

∼£33

Our view

The TERIUX-S DS-00A1 is a silver aluminium pop-up at about £32.99 with a 226 mm by 111 mm cut-out, two UK sockets in the title, and one USB-A plus one USB-C. Across 13 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.9, and the UK texts praise a flush lid and a solid housing once the rectangle is cut. Two of those reviews say a standard BS 1363 plug is tight or does not seat fully, including a buyer who had already cut the worktop and could not send it back. Cable length is not in the table, and one buyer expected a 1.5 m lead, did not find it, and then needed an electrician. The rectangular opening needs a jigsaw or a router, not a hole saw. It is the best value here on shelf price among listings that still score 60 or above, which does not mean every kettle lead will push home. Surge protection is not stated.

Pros

  • Flush lid on a 226 mm by 111 mm cut-out
  • Aluminium housing that UK reviews call solid
  • USB-A and USB-C on the unit
  • About £32.99 with a 13-review line

Cons

  • UK plugs tight or not fully home in more than one review
  • Supply cable length not stated, and one box had no 1.5 m lead
  • Rectangular cut needs a jigsaw or a router
  • No printed mains load

Best for: A desk or worktop where you can test a BS 1363 plug on the bench before you cut 226 mm by 111 mm.

Less suitable: You have already cut the hole, or you need a round 100 mm tower and a lead length printed on the page.

Specifications

Model
TERIUX-S pop-up
Brand
TERIUX-S
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
3.9/5(13)
Type
Pop-up lid
Plug
Type G
Sockets
2 UK
Cut-out
226 x 111 mm
Mounting
Worktop
USB
USB-A and USB-C

Common questions

What opening does this pop-up need?

The listing says the cut-out is 226 mm by 111 mm. Reviews say that opening needs a jigsaw or a router.

Does a standard UK plug fit?

The table says plug type G. UK reviews say a BS 1363 plug can be tight or fail to seat fully, including one buyer who had already cut the worktop.

Is a supply cable included?

Cable length is not in the specification table. One UK review says a 1.5 m cable was not in the box and that an electrician was then needed.

SKJJM extender

Rank 7

SKJJM extender

∼£26

Our view

The SKJJM LQS-0641 is a plug-in extender at about £25.99 with a telescopic arm printed as 19.49 to 28.15 inches, a head that rotates 180°, two AC outlets, USB-A and USB-C at 5 V 2.4 A, and 1,800 joules claimed. It is not a worktop pop-up and not a cable reel. You plug it into a socket that already exists. The line is 3.3 from three ratings and two UK texts, one of which says the unit was not tried, and the other says it sparked and tripped the house electrics on the first plug-in. The 2.4 A figure belongs to the USB ports, not to a stated AC rating. Reach is in inches rather than a cable length in metres. With that review file it stays in the table as a boundary case, not as a substitute for a 10 m reel or a flush tower.

Pros

  • Plugs into an existing Type G socket, with no cut-out
  • 1,800 joules claimed
  • USB-A and USB-C at 5 V 2.4 A
  • Telescopic arm and a 180° head

Cons

  • 3.3 from only three ratings
  • One UK text reports a spark and a trip on first use
  • AC current is not stated
  • Reach is printed in inches, and the family fit is uncertain

Best for: A short reach behind a sofa or a desk, and only if you can accept a three-review file.

Less suitable: A kitchen worktop, a garage cable run, or a socket that has already tripped the circuit on a similar extender.

Specifications

Model
SKJJM extender
Brand
SKJJM
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
3.3/5(3)
Type
Plug-in extender
Plug
Type G
Sockets
2 AC
Reach
49.5–71.5 cm
Protection
Surge claim
Mounting
Plug-in
USB
USB-A and USB-C

Common questions

Does this extender need a hole in the desk?

The bullets say you plug it into an existing socket. No tools and no cut-out are described.

What surge figure is printed?

The specification table says 1,800 joules. The 2.4 A figure is tied to the USB ports, not stated as the AC rating.

Is the plug a UK plug?

Power plug type and plug type both say Type G.

Normodic pop-up

Rank 8

Normodic pop-up

∼£54

Our view

The Normodic SJCZ is listed at about £54.49 as a press-to-raise pop-up for a 120 mm hole, with a 15 W Qi glass panel and three USB ports in the bullets. There is no customer-review line in the file, so this score is missing evidence rather than a poor star rating. The power plug type field says no plug, and the box notes do not describe a cable. The bullets also mention a universal socket at the base, while the highlight says four UK plugs, so the socket count does not agree. A thick case or a camera bump can trip the wireless protection, and the listing says to unplug for 30 seconds before Qi works again. Without a confirmed BS 1363 plug you should not cut a worktop for this unit.

Pros

  • 120 mm cut-out, a hole-saw size
  • 15 W Qi and three USB ports in the bullets
  • Press to raise and press to close

Cons

  • Plug field says no plug
  • Socket count conflicts between the bullets and the highlight
  • No amazon.co.uk review line
  • No cable length

Best for: Only a later check, if the listing then shows a BS 1363 lead and you still want a 120 mm hole with Qi.

Less suitable: Any kitchen you are cutting this week, or a buy you need UK reviews for before the hole saw comes out.

Specifications

Model
Normodic pop-up
Brand
Normodic
Price
∼£54
Type
Pop-up tower
Plug
No plug
Sockets
Count conflict
Cut-out
120 mm
Protection
Overcurrent
Mounting
Worktop
USB
3 USB, 15 W Qi

Common questions

What hole does the Normodic pop-up need?

The bullets say cut a 120 mm hole, remove the ring, slide the unit in from above, and screw the ring on from below.

Does the listing include a UK plug?

The power plug type field says no plug. Cable length is not stated.

What wireless output is claimed?

The bullets say 15 W Qi. A thick case or a camera bump can trip protection. The note says to unplug for 30 seconds before wireless charging works again.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the figures in the stored listings. No lab test was run. A watt pair is used only when that listing prints it. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the lowest shelf price among listings that score at least 60, have at least 10 reviews, and are not the top pick.

1

Amazon stars

30%

Stars are (amazon rating / 5) times 30, rounded. A listing with no review line scores 0 on this block. That 0 is missing evidence, not a one-star rating.

2

Review sample

20%

100 or more reviews scores 20. Then 50 to 99 scores 16, 20 to 49 scores 12, 10 to 19 scores 8, 5 to 9 scores 4, 1 to 4 scores 2, and none scores 0.

3

Spec you can check

30%

Points for a named BS 1363 or Type G plug, a printed cut-out or cable length, a reel that prints both wound and unwound watts or a pop-up whose socket count agrees, and a named thermal trip, safety cut-out or joule figure. Points come off for no plug, a socket-count conflict, a printed reel weight under 100 g, an extender-only family, or a waterproof or outdoor claim with no IP code.

4

UK review outcome

20%

No review text scores 0. UK texts that describe the job working, without a repeated defect, score 16. A mixed file scores 10. A repeated defect that stops use scores 6: a plug that will not seat, ends swapped, a spark on first plug-in, or a spring that lets the cable fly.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Retractable socket buying guide

The checks run in this order: family, then the UK plug and the measurement that matches the job, then a protection you can name, then the shared load. The table is the eight stored amazon.co.uk listings. Watt pairs, IP words and joule figures stay seller claims unless the listing prints the number. None of these units was tested in a lab for this page.

What is a retractable socket?

A retractable socket on a UK mains circuit is one of two products. A pop-up rises from a worktop or a desk and pushes back flush. An automatic cable reel lets you pull a socket out of a wall- or ceiling-mounted drum, then guide the cable back. A telescopic plug-in extender only reaches a short way from a socket you already have. Travel strips, flush strips that do not pop up, and clamp-on desk strips are different products. Sort the family first.

Best for

  • A kitchen or desk where a flush pop-up keeps the lead off the worktop
  • A garage wall where a reel with a thermal cut-out clears the floor

Not ideal for

  • A coiled reel run at the unwound wattage, or a second reel plugged into the first
  • A splash zone, a bathroom, or any unit whose waterproof claim has no IP code

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Cutting before a UK plug seats

    A pop-up cut-out is permanent. If a BS 1363 plug is tight or will not go fully home, the worktop is already ruined. Seat a plug on the bench first. A listing field that says no plug is a reason to wait.

  2. 2

    Using a coiled reel at the unwound wattage

    The plug fuse does not protect the drum while the cable is still on it. A wound reel is often only about 3 A to 4 A. Read the wound figure on that model. Do not copy another reel's watts.

  3. 3

    Treating extra sockets as extra amps

    Every outlet, USB port and wireless pad shares one plug. Do not plug a second reel into the first. A waterproof or surge word without an IP code or a joule figure is not a rating.

What to weigh up

Family, UK plug and the measurement

High

Family comes first. A pop-up is for a worktop or a desk. An automatic reel is for a garage or a bench. A telescopic plug-in extender only reaches a short way behind furniture and is not a worktop unit. Travel strips and clamp-on desk strips are different products. The lead needs a BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse, and each outlet must accept a BS 1363 plug fully. One listing in this set prints no plug. Another has reviews that the plug does not seat. A universal or Schuko socket is not BS 1363.

Named protection and the shared load

High

A reel needs a cut-out in the body. Under BS EN 61242 the UK plug fuse does not protect the cable while it is coiled. The body needs a thermal cut-out, a current cut-out, or a weak point. Electrical Safety First says to unwind the reel, and that a wound reel is often only about 3 A to 4 A. Use only the wound and unwound figures that listing prints. A waterproof or surge word without an IP code or a joule figure is not a rating. No listing here prints an IP code. Keep pop-ups out of splash.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Kitchen worktop

You want a flush pop-up, a cut-out that matches the top, and a lead that reaches a socket under the counter. The TERIUX-S pop-up is the best value at about £32.99, with 3.9 from 13 reviews and a 226 mm by 111 mm cut-out. UK reviews say a BS 1363 plug can be tight. Test a plug before you cut.

Our recommendation

View offer

Garage or workshop

You want a wall reel with a thermal cut-out and an unwound rating that covers the tool. The Sealey CRM10 is about £98.02, with 4.3 from 26 reviews, two switched sockets, 1,000 W wound and 2,750 W unwound on this listing. Two sockets still share one plug.

Our recommendation

View offer

Desk with a thin top

You want a pop-up on the same 13 A plug, not a second feed. The Gxpjycfob pop-up is about £61.99, with 4.4 from 8 reviews, a 100 mm hole and Type G in the plug field. One UK review says the clamp thread was too short for a 50 mm stack.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about retractable sockets

Which retractable socket is the top pick?
The top pick is the Brennenstuhl 9+2 m automatic reel at about £57.62. It has the highest score in this set, with 4.0 from 120 amazon.co.uk reviews and a BS 1363 plug named on the listing. UK reviews include plug and socket ends that arrived swapped, and a spring that can let the cable fly back. Wound and unwound watts are not printed. Check the ends before you mount it. This page did not run a lab test.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the TERIUX-S pop-up at about £32.99. It is the lowest shelf price among listings that score at least 60, have at least 10 reviews, and are not the top pick. The line is 3.9 from 13 reviews. UK reviews say a BS 1363 plug can be tight or fail to seat. Test a plug before you cut. That price rule is not a claim that every plug fits.
What should you check before you buy a retractable socket?
Sort the family first. A pop-up needs a BS 1363 plug and a cut-out that matches the unit. A reel needs a thermal cut-out in the body, plus printed wound and unwound watts. The plug fuse does not protect a coiled drum. USB and a wireless pad do not raise the 13 A limit of the one plug. A waterproof or surge word without an IP code or a joule figure is not a rating.
When is a pop-up a better fit than a cable reel?
Choose a pop-up for a worktop or a desk, where the unit sits flush and the cut-out matches the top. Choose an automatic reel for a garage or a bench, where you need metres of cable and a cut-out in the reel body. A telescopic plug-in extender only reaches a short way behind furniture. If you are cutting timber, use a pop-up. If you are clearing a floor, use a reel.
Does each socket on the unit supply 13 A?
No. Every socket shares the one plug that feeds the unit. Extra sockets, USB ports and a wireless pad do not add amps. A 13 A figure on a reel is the plug, not a promise that each outlet is 13 A on its own. On a coiled drum the usable current is often only about 3 A to 4 A, which is why the wound wattage has to be printed on that listing.
Can you use the unwound wattage while the cable is still coiled?
No. Under BS EN 61242 the UK plug fuse does not protect a reel while the cable is coiled. The body needs a thermal cut-out, a current cut-out, or a weak point. Electrical Safety First says to unwind the reel, and that a wound reel is often only about 3 A to 4 A. Use a wound figure and an unwound figure only when that listing prints them. Do not copy another model's watts onto a different reel.
When should you call an electrician?
Call an electrician for a jointed-in unit, a new circuit, a new consumer unit, a bath or shower zone, or a stone worktop. In England, Approved Document P does not notify a plug-in pop-up on an existing kitchen circuit. Hard-wiring still has to meet BS 7671. Cutting the hole, or mounting and rewinding a reel, is covered in how to fit a retractable socket. Stop if a reel smells hot or retracts by itself.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel at about £57.62. It has the highest score, 4.0 from 120 reviews, and a BS 1363 plug named on the listing. UK reviews include swapped plug and socket ends, so check the ends before you mount it, and walk the cable in by hand. Wound watts are not printed. The best value is the TERIUX-S pop-up at about £32.99, the lowest shelf price among listings that score at least 60, have at least 10 reviews, and are not the top pick. The line is 3.9 from 13 reviews. UK reviews say a BS 1363 plug can fail to seat. This page did not run a lab test.

Best overall
EnergyPro 10 m reel

EnergyPro 10 m reel

View offer
Best value
TERIUX-S pop-up

TERIUX-S pop-up

About £32.99, the lowest shelf price among listings at 60 or above with at least 10 reviews. 3.9 from 13 reviews. A price rule, not a claim that every BS 1363 plug seats.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to retractable sockets

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. Electrical Safety First — extension leads, cable reels and block adaptors (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First — overloading sockets (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — garden electrical safety (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. BSI — BS EN 61242 cable reels for household use (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. GOV.UK — Electrical safety: Approved Document P (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. Brennenstuhl UK — 16+2 m automatic reel (a different model) (retrieved 21.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.