Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Brennenstuhl extension lead comparison 2026

The best Brennenstuhl extension leads, compared.

Top pick: Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way Best value: Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey) – about £11.94 with 4.5 from 151 reviews and a 13,500 A surge claim. Lowest price among listings here with at least 100 reviews and a stated surge claim. Plug fields disagree. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A Brennenstuhl extension lead is a portable multi-socket strip with a flexible cable, bought in the UK for a desk, a television or a workshop bench. You tell a usable lead from a poor fit by the plug first. It needs a UK BS 1363 three-pin plug and a BS 1362 fuse. If an attribute also names a Schuko or North American plug, treat that as a data conflict and check the photo. Socket count, cable length and a switch come next. Surge protection and a resettable fuse button are different features, and these household strips do not combine both. The continuous limit is the marked current, usually 13 A, shared across every socket. Extra outlets do not add amps. The flex is indoor cable, typically H05VV-F. These bars are not outdoor reels and they do not include an RCCB. An 80° or 90° socket helps a right-angle plug. Keyholes and hanging eyes matter only if you will screw the bar down. The order of those checks is on the [Brennenstuhl extension lead buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/brennenstuhl-extension-lead/sub/brennenstuhl-extension-lead-buying-guide).

A Brennenstuhl extension lead is a portable multi-socket strip with a flexible cable, bought in the UK for a desk, a television or a workshop bench. You tell a usable lead from a poor fit by the plug first.

Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way

Best overall

Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way
7.3/10∼ £35

36 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

10 of 10: Best Brennenstuhl extension leads compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way
Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way (black)
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 8-way (black)
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 6-way (black)
Brennenstuhl Super-Solid 8-way with fuse button
Brennenstuhl 4-way lead with USB (white)
Brennenstuhl Ecolor 4-gang with fuse button
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 12-way
Best value
Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)
Brennenstuhl 4-way surge lead (white)
7.3/10
9.1/10
7.0/10
4.8/10
8.6/10
8.5/10
6.9/10
7.7/10
8.0/10
6.7/10
∼ £35
∼ £18
∼ £23
∼ £20
∼ £22
∼ £14
∼ £15
∼ £48
∼ £12
∼ £12
4.8(59)
4.7(875)
4.7(862)
4.7(862)
4.7(177)
4.7(44)
4.6(47)
4.5(642)
4.5(151)
4.4(19)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Brennenstuhl extension leads in detail

Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way

Rank 1

Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way

∼£35

Our view

The Premium-Alu-Line is the aluminium 8-way at about £34.78, with 4.8 from 59 reviews, a 3 m H05VV-F 3G1.5 cable and a fuse button. The title says Made in Germany, the origin field says Germany, and the box line includes a 13 A fuse marked *GB*. Another plug field still says Type B. The enclosure is aluminium and the weight field is 1.2 kg. A verified UK review says it does not have surge protection and that an Amazon answer to the contrary was wrong. The same review says the fuse button suits a workshop better than spike protection. Another review calls the bar bulky under a desk and praises a subdued switch light. It is the metal option when the housing is the point, and it is not the default over the 10-way with 875 reviews.

Pros

  • Aluminium housing at 1.2 kg, with a fuse button
  • 4.8 from 59 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 13 A and 3 m of H05VV-F 3G1.5
  • Title says Made in Germany

Cons

  • No surge protection, according to the bullets and a verified review
  • Plug fields include Type B as well as Type G
  • about £34.78 with only 59 reviews
  • A review calls it bulky under a desk

Best for: You want a metal 8-way with a fuse button and you have checked the plug in the photo.

Less suitable: You need surge protection, or a light plastic bar for a small desk.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.8/5(59)
Outlets
8
Cable length
3 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G and B
Surge
No
Fuse button
Yes
Switch
Yes
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.5

Common questions

Does the Alu-Line include surge protection?

The bullets do not claim it. A verified UK review says it does not, and that an Amazon answer to the contrary was wrong. The same review says the fuse button suits a workshop better than spike protection.

Is it listed as made in Germany?

The title says Made in Germany and the origin field says Germany. The box line includes a 13 A fuse and *GB*. Another plug field still says Type B.

Is it a light plastic bar?

The enclosure is aluminium and the weight field is 1.2 kg. A review calls it bulky under a desk and praises a subdued switch light.

Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way (black)

Rank 2

Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way (black)

∼£18

Our view

The Primera-Line 10-way has the most reviews here: 4.7 from 875 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £18.06, with a 2 m cable and sockets in two groups of five. Each group has its own illuminated two-pole switch, and the plug and current fields say Type G and 13 A. Sockets sit at 90°, with mounting points and a cable clip in the bullets. UK reviews still say some power adaptors sit too close, and some buyers call the mounting holes poor. The bullets do not claim surge protection, which matches the manufacturer page for this 10-way, even where a stray review title talks about a surge strip. It is the top pick when you need many sockets and a large UK review count, and the wrong default if a surge lamp or a fuse button is why you are shopping.

Pros

  • 10 sockets in two switched groups of five
  • 4.7 from 875 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Type G and a single 13 A field
  • about £18.06 with a 2 m H05VV-F 3G1.25 cable

Cons

  • No surge claim on the listing or the manufacturer page
  • UK reviews say some adaptors sit too close
  • Some buyers call the mounting holes poor
  • The child-lock question is asked and not answered

Best for: You want the most-reviewed Brennenstuhl bar in this set for a desk or TV kit that stays within 13 A.

Less suitable: You need surge protection, or every bulky adaptor must sit side by side without a clash.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way (black)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.7/5(875)
Outlets
10 (2×5)
Cable length
2 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G
Surge
No
Switch
Two illuminated
Angle
90°
Wall fixing
Points, clip
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

Can I switch half of the sockets off?

The bullets say two illuminated two-pole switches, one arrangement for each group of five sockets, and a cable outlet on either side.

Will every adaptor fit side by side?

Sockets are at 90°. UK reviews still say some power adaptors sit too close, and some buyers call the mounting holes poor.

Does it have a child lock?

The listing asks and does not answer. The bullets say extra protection against contact, not a separate child-lock product.

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 8-way (black)

Rank 3

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 8-way (black)

∼£23

Our view

The black Premium-Line 8-way is about £22.62 with 4.7 from 862 reviews, a 3 m cable, sockets at 80° and two illuminated two-pole switches. Maximum current says 16 A and amperage says 13 A, so the page does not give you one continuous figure. The power-plug field says No Plug while plug type says Type G, and the weight field prints 205 g, which sits oddly next to the 820 g printed for the 6-way. UK reviews say the end tab is awkward for a horizontal wall and that screw positions are limited. The bullets do not claim surge protection. Reviews raise that gap, and one review disputes the polycarbonate claim. The origin field says China. It is a long switched bar if the photos show a UK plug, and a messy listing if you needed the attributes to agree with each other.

Pros

  • Two illuminated switches and 80° sockets
  • 3 m cable and 4.7 from 862 reviews
  • Hanging tab and cable wrap in the bullets
  • Model 1951183100 named on the listing

Cons

  • 16 A and 13 A are both printed
  • Type G and No Plug appear on the same page
  • UK reviews say the wall tab is awkward
  • The weight field prints 205 g

Best for: You want the 8-way with two switches and you will check the plug photo rather than the conflicting current lines.

Less suitable: You need a flush wall mount, or a listing with one current and one plug type.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 8-way (black)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.7/5(862)
Outlets
8
Cable length
3 m
Current
16 A / 13 A
Plug
Type G / none
Surge
No
Switch
Two illuminated
Angle
80°
Wall fixing
Hanging tab
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

Will it mount flat on a wall?

The bullets offer a hanging facility and a rail to wrap the cable. UK reviews say the end tab is awkward for a horizontal wall and that screw positions are limited.

Which current figure is printed?

Maximum current says 16 A and amperage says 13 A. The power-plug field says No Plug while plug type says Type G. The weight field prints 205 g.

Do the bullets claim surge protection?

No. The listing question is unanswered. Reviews raise the lack of surge protection, and one review disputes the polycarbonate claim.

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 6-way (black)

Rank 4

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 6-way (black)

∼£20

Our view

The Premium-Line 6-way is listed at about £20.15 with one illuminated two-pole switch, a 3 m cable and sockets at 80°. Both current fields say 10 A at 240 V, which is lower than the 13 A line on the 10-way in this set. Plug type says Type G and another field says No Plug. The star line reads 4.7 from 862, but the review text matches the 8-way listing B00P142TPY, including reviews that talk about eight sockets, so those texts are not evidence for this 6-way. Fastening eyes and a cable clip are in the bullets. There is no surge claim. Use the title and the 10 A fields, and do not treat those 862 reviews as evidence for six sockets.

Pros

  • 6 sockets at 80° and a 3 m cable
  • One illuminated two-pole switch
  • Fastening eyes and a cable clip in the bullets
  • Type G appears in one plug field

Cons

  • The review text matches the 8-way file
  • Both current fields say 10 A
  • A second plug field says No Plug
  • No surge claim in the bullets

Best for: You have confirmed this is the 6-way you want and you will follow the 10 A marking on the listing.

Less suitable: You are choosing from the 862-review line, or you need a single 13 A figure.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 6-way (black)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.7/5(862)
Outlets
6
Cable length
3 m
Current
10 A
Plug
Type G / none
Surge
No
Switch
One illuminated
Angle
80°
Wall fixing
Eyes, clip
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

What current does the 6-way listing print?

Both current fields say 10 A, at 240 V. The plug type is Type G, and another field says No Plug.

Can the 862 reviews be read as this 6-way?

The review text matches the 8-way listing B00P142TPY, including the same count and reviews that talk about eight sockets. Use the title and bullets for this model.

Does it have a safety switch?

Yes. The bullets say one illuminated two-pole switch, fastening eyes for wall mounting, and a clip for spare cable.

Brennenstuhl Super-Solid 8-way with fuse button

Rank 5

Brennenstuhl Super-Solid 8-way with fuse button

∼£22

Our view

The Super-Solid 8-way is about £22.16 with 4.7 from 177 amazon.co.uk reviews, a resettable fuse button and 2.5 m of cable that the bullets call 1.5 mm². The current fields say 13 A and the plug field says Type G. The cable outlet is opposite the switch, which is the layout the bullets give so spare cable is not left on the desk, and a review mentions screw holes on both sides. The listing asks about surge protection and the bullets do not claim it. One UK review says the strip lacks anti-surge and is otherwise well made. A two-year manufacturer field is printed, and the weight is 960 g. It suits a workshop or desk bar where the fuse button and the cable exit are the point, and it is not the surge strip in this comparison.

Pros

  • Fuse button, 13 A, and a Type G field
  • Cable outlet opposite the switch
  • 4.7 from 177 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 2.5 m and 1.5 mm² named in the bullets

Cons

  • No surge claim, and a review notes the lack
  • about £22.16, above the plastic 10-way
  • The switch line is vaguer than the fuse-button bullet
  • The material field is empty

Best for: You want an 8-way with a resettable fuse and the cable leaving opposite the switch.

Less suitable: You came for a 13,500 A surge lamp, or the cheapest bar in the set.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Super-Solid 8-way with fuse button
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.7/5(177)
Outlets
8
Cable length
2.5 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G
Surge
No
Fuse button
Yes
Angle
90°
Wall fixing
Hanging
Flex
1.5 mm²

Common questions

Do I still have a fuse in the plug?

The bullets say the fuse button resets after an overload so you do not replace the plug fuse each time. They do not say the plug is unfused. The current fields say 13 A.

Does this 8-way include surge protection?

The listing asks and the bullets do not claim it. One UK review says the strip lacks anti-surge and is otherwise well made.

Where does the cable leave the bar?

The bullets say the cable outlet is opposite the switch, so spare cable is not left on the desk. A review also mentions screw holes on both sides.

Brennenstuhl 4-way lead with USB (white)

Rank 6

Brennenstuhl 4-way lead with USB (white)

∼£14

Our view

This white 4-way is the only USB model in the set, at about £13.89 with 4.7 from 44 reviews, 2 m of H05VV-F 3G1.25 and sockets at 90°. The bullets give two USB ports at 2,100 mA total and do not say USB-C, which matches a UK review that wanted USB-C as well as USB-A. Plug fields say Type G, and compatible devices are listed as Type G (BS 1363), a cleaner plug line than several rows here. The origin field says Germany. The listing asks about surge protection and does not answer it, and the bullets do not claim it. Keyholes are stated for wall mounting. It is the charging strip in this comparison, and a poor substitute if you came for a surge lamp or a resettable fuse button.

Pros

  • Two USB ports at 2,100 mA total
  • Type G and a single 13 A field
  • 4.7 from 44 reviews at about £13.89
  • 90° sockets and keyholes in the bullets

Cons

  • No USB-C in the listing
  • No surge claim in the bullets
  • 44 reviews is a modest file next to the 10-way
  • A switch is not stated

Best for: You want USB-A charging on a short white 4-way and you do not need surge protection.

Less suitable: You need USB-C, or a strip whose bullets claim overvoltage protection.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl 4-way lead with USB (white)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.7/5(44)
Outlets
4
Cable length
2 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G
Surge
No
USB
2 ports, 2,100 mA
Angle
90°
Wall fixing
Keyholes
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

Does this 4-way include USB-C?

The bullets say two USB charging sockets with a total of 2,100 mA. They do not say USB-C. A UK review wanted USB-C as well as USB-A.

Does it have surge protection?

The listing asks the question and does not answer it. The bullets do not claim surge protection.

Will it fit a UK plug?

The plug fields say Type G, and compatible devices are listed as Type G (BS 1363). The origin field says Germany.

Brennenstuhl Ecolor 4-gang with fuse button

Rank 7

Brennenstuhl Ecolor 4-gang with fuse button

∼£15

Our view

The black Ecolor 4-gang is about £15.10 with 4.6 from 47 reviews, a 3 m cable and a resettable fuse button. The bullets say the button trips on a plug-fuse overload up to twice the rated current and can be reset, and a review also mentions a backup fuse in the plug. Sockets are at 90° with an illuminated two-pole switch, and the bullets name 1.5 mm² cable. The attribute says Type B and glosses that as a North American 3-pin, and the bullets do not say BS 1363. Current fields print both 10 A and 22 A, and the voltage field says 220 V. One UK review mentions surge protection, which the bullets do not claim. The photo has to confirm a UK plug, because the attribute as printed is not a Type G line.

Pros

  • Resettable fuse button and a 3 m cable
  • Illuminated two-pole switch and 90° sockets
  • 4.6 from 47 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 1.5 mm² named in the bullets

Cons

  • Plug field says Type B, glossed as a North American plug
  • Current fields print both 10 A and 22 A
  • Surge protection is not in the bullets
  • Wall mounting is only an unanswered question

Best for: You want the fuse-button 4-gang and you have confirmed a UK plug in the photos.

Less suitable: You would trust the Type B attribute as printed, or you came for a 13,500 A surge claim.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Ecolor 4-gang with fuse button
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.6/5(47)
Outlets
4
Cable length
3 m
Current
10 A / 22 A
Plug
Type B
Surge
No
Fuse button
Yes
Switch
Illuminated
Angle
90°
Flex
1.5 mm²

Common questions

What does the fuse button do?

The bullets say it trips on a plug-fuse overload up to twice the rated current and can be reset, so you do not change the plug fuse each time. A review also mentions a backup fuse in the plug.

Is the plug listed as a UK plug?

The attribute says Type B and glosses that as a North American 3-pin. The bullets do not say BS 1363. The current fields print both 10 A and 22 A.

Does the listing claim surge protection?

The bullets do not. One UK review mentions surge protection anyway. Wall mounting is only an unanswered question.

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 12-way

Rank 8

Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 12-way

∼£48

Our view

The 12-way Premium-Line is the dearest strip here at about £48.11, with 4.5 from 642 reviews, a 3 m H05VV-F 3G1.5 cable and sockets at 80°. Both current fields say 13 A, so twelve outlets do not raise the load above the figure printed for a 5-way. The bullets say one illuminated two-pole switch and a resettable fuse button. One UK review describes two switches, and this comparison follows the bullets. Power plug type says Type G and plug type says Type F. The origin field says Germany. The box line says black while the title says light grey/black, and wall mounting is not stated. It is the bar when you have counted twelve plugs and will still treat the circuit as 13 A, and a poor buy if the price was meant to add surge protection or a second switch the bullets do not promise.

Pros

  • 12 sockets arranged at 80°
  • 13 A on both current fields
  • Fuse button and a 3 m H05VV-F 3G1.5 cable
  • 4.5 from 642 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • about £48.11, the highest price in this set
  • Type G and Type F are both printed
  • One switch in the bullets, two in a UK review
  • No surge claim and no mounting line

Best for: You need twelve sockets on one 13 A lead and you will check that the plug is Type G.

Less suitable: You expected more amps from more sockets, or a surge strip at this price.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Premium-Line 12-way
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£48
Customer rating
4.5/5(642)
Outlets
12
Cable length
3 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G and F
Surge
No
Fuse button
Yes
Switch
One illuminated
Angle
80°
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.5

Common questions

How many switches does the listing claim?

The bullets say one illuminated two-pole switch and a resettable fuse button. One UK review describes two switches. This comparison uses the bullets.

Is the plug field consistent?

Power plug type says Type G and plug type says Type F. The title and origin field say Germany. The box line says black while the title says light grey/black.

Do 12 sockets raise the load above 13 A?

No. Both current fields say 13 A. The 80° layout is the listing’s answer for bulky adaptors, not a higher rating.

Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)

Rank 9

Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)

∼£12

Our view

The Eco-Line 5-way is the surge strip at about £11.94, with 4.5 from 151 amazon.co.uk reviews and a 2 m cable. The title claims 13,500 A overvoltage protection, while the continuous field stays at 13 A, so the large figure is the surge claim. A UK review also puts the lead at 2 metres. The power-plug field says Type G and the title is marked *GB*, yet a second field says Type B, which means the photo has to settle the plug before you trust the attribute table. Wall mounting is only an unanswered question, and the colour line says light grey in the title and anthracite in the attribute. It is the best value when you want that surge claim with more than a handful of reviews, and a weak match if you needed a fuse button or plug fields that agree.

Pros

  • 5 sockets, 2 m cable, 13 A continuous field
  • Surge claim of 13,500 A at about £11.94
  • 4.5 from 151 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Title marked *GB*

Cons

  • Plug fields say both Type G and Type B
  • Colour lines disagree: light grey and anthracite
  • Wall mounting is an unanswered question
  • No fuse button in the bullets

Best for: You want a low-priced Brennenstuhl strip with a stated surge claim for a TV or desk, and you will check the plug in the photo.

Less suitable: You need a resettable fuse button, or a listing whose plug fields say Type G only.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.5/5(151)
Outlets
5
Cable length
2 m
Current
13 A
Plug
Type G and B
Surge
13,500 A
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

Does this Eco-Line claim surge protection?

Yes. The amazon.co.uk title and the special-features line say overvoltage protection, and the title prints 13,500 A. That figure is the surge claim, not a second continuous current. The continuous field is 13 A.

Is the plug listed as a UK plug?

The power-plug field says Type G, and the title is marked *GB*. A second field says Type B. Both are printed in the listing, so check the photo before you rely on it.

How long is the cable?

The title says 2 m, and a UK review also says 2 metres. Wall mounting is only a question on the listing, and the listing does not answer it.

Brennenstuhl 4-way surge lead (white)

Rank 10

Brennenstuhl 4-way surge lead (white)

∼£12

Our view

The white 4-way is the other surge listing here, at about £11.98 with 4.4 from 19 reviews, a 2 m cable and sockets at 90°. The bullets name keyholes for wall mounting and an illuminated switch with a neon. UK reviews describe a green earth lamp and a red lamp for surge status, and one buyer says the green lamp was dead on two of three units while the sockets still worked. The maximum-current field prints 13,500 A, which the bullets call surge leakage current, and the listing has no separate 13 A continuous line. The plug field says Type G. At almost the same money as the Eco-Line, there are far fewer reviews. It fits if you specifically want four angled sockets and keyholes, and it is a return risk if a dead earth lamp on arrival is something you would not accept.

Pros

  • 90° sockets and keyholes stated in the bullets
  • Surge claim of 13,500 A and a Type G field
  • Illuminated switch and neon named on the listing
  • about £11.98, next to the Eco-Line on price

Cons

  • Only 19 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One review: green earth lamp dead on two of three units
  • Current field shows 13,500 A, with no separate 13 A line
  • No fuse button in the bullets

Best for: You want the white 4-way layout with keyholes and you accept a 19-review sample.

Less suitable: You want the 151-review surge file, or a printed 13 A continuous rating on the same page.

Specifications

Model
Brennenstuhl 4-way surge lead (white)
Brand
Brennenstuhl
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.4/5(19)
Outlets
4
Cable length
2 m
Current
13,500 A claim
Plug
Type G
Surge
13,500 A
Switch
Illuminated
Angle
90°
Wall fixing
Keyholes
Flex
H05VV-F 3G1.25

Common questions

What do the two lights mean?

UK reviews describe a green earth lamp and a red lamp for surge protection. One buyer says the green lamp was dead on two of three units while the sockets still worked.

Can it be fixed to a wall?

The bullets say the slim strip has keyholes for wall mounting. The listing question is not answered separately.

Is 13,500 A the load?

No. The attribute prints 13,500 amps in the maximum-current field, and the bullets call that the surge leakage current. There is no separate 13 A continuous figure on the listing.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Prices are the stored GBP shelf prices. Stars, review counts and listing fields come from those pages. This was not a lab test. A second plug type, a current field that is not a single 13 A figure, a duplicated review file, and a dead indicator reported on arrival are deductions. 13,500 A is treated as a surge claim, not as continuous current. The 6-way star line is not treated as evidence for that 6-way, because the review text matches the 8-way.

1

Amazon evidence

45%

Star points are the rating divided by 5, multiplied by 28, and rounded. Review points are 17 at 800 or more reviews, 12 at 500–799, 8 at 150–499, 4 at 40–149, and 1 at 15–39. The review-point block is 0 when the review text is the same file as another ASIN.

2

Listing agreement

30%

Start at 30. Subtract 8 when a second plug type appears (Type B, Type F, or No Plug) or Type G is missing. Subtract 8 when the current field is not a single continuous 13 A figure.

3

Use and price

25%

Start at 12. Add 7 under £16, 4 from £16 to £26, 2 from £26 to £40, and 0 above £40. Add 6 when the bullets name a surge claim, a fuse button, two switched socket groups, or USB charging. Subtract 6 for a dead indicator reported on arrival, 8 for a duplicated review file, and 4 when reviews repeatedly say adaptors clash or the wall tab is poor. This block cannot fall below 0.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Brennenstuhl extension lead buying guide

The checks run in this order: UK plug and fuse, marked current, socket count and angle, then the feature you came for, and finally cable length and fixing. The table is the ten amazon.co.uk listings. Surge figures and origin lines stay what the page prints. None of these leads was tested in a lab for this page.

What is a Brennenstuhl extension lead?

A Brennenstuhl extension lead, in the UK sense of this page, is a portable multi-socket strip with a flexible cable for a desk, a television or a workshop. It is not a cable reel, and it is not an outdoor lead. You recognise a usable one by the plug first: a UK BS 1363 three-pin plug and a BS 1362 fuse. The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 specify BS 1363 for standard plugs and matching sockets, and BS 1362 for the fuse.

Best for

  • A desk or television that needs more sockets on one 13 A lead
  • A workshop bar if you want a resettable fuse button

Not ideal for

  • Outdoor use, or a second strip plugged into the first
  • Anyone reading 13,500 A as the continuous cable rating

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading 13,500 A as the load

    That figure is the surge claim on two listings. The continuous field, where one is printed, is usually 13 A. Extra sockets do not add amps, and a surge claim is not an RCD.

  2. 2

    Trusting reviews written for another model

    The 6-way star line reads 4.7 from 862, but the review text matches the 8-way listing, including reviews that talk about eight sockets. Use the title and the 10 A fields for the 6-way.

  3. 3

    Using an indoor lead outside

    These household strips are IP20 on the manufacturer’s GB pages, with no RCCB. Do not daisy-chain a second strip into the first, and do not hide the lead under a rug. Call an electrician for a warm wall socket.

What to weigh up

Plug, current and sockets

High

The plug is the first check. You want Type G, BS 1363, and a BS 1362 fuse. Type B, Type F or No Plug on the same listing is a data conflict. The Eco-Line prints Type G and Type B. The Ecolor attribute says Type B. The 12-way prints Type G and Type F. The 6-way and the black Premium-Line 8-way print Type G and No Plug. The 10-way, the USB 4-way and the Super-Solid print Type G without that second type. Current is the second check. Most tables say 13 A, shared by every socket.

Surge, fuse button, cable and fixing

High

Buy the feature the bullets name. The Eco-Line and the white 4-way claim 13,500 A surge protection, a 2 m cable, and no fuse button. The white 4-way’s current field prints that surge figure and has no separate 13 A line. One UK review says the green earth lamp was dead on two of three units. Ecolor, Super-Solid, the aluminium 8-way and the 12-way name a resettable fuse button and do not claim surge protection.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Desk and television

You want more sockets for a television or a home office, and the load stays within 13 A. The Primera-Line 10-way is the top pick at about £18.06, with 4.7 from 875 reviews and two illuminated switches. It does not claim surge protection, and some adaptors sit close.

Surge claim on a short lead

You want a stated surge claim and at least 100 reviews. The Eco-Line 5-way is the best value at about £11.94, with 4.5 from 151 reviews and a 13,500 A claim. The continuous field is 13 A. Check the plug photo, because the fields say Type G and Type B.

Workshop fuse button

You want a resettable fuse and a heavier cable line after a cheap strip overheated. The Super-Solid 8-way is about £22.16, with 4.7 from 177 reviews, a Type G field, 13 A, and 2.5 m that the bullets call 1.5 mm². It does not claim surge protection.

Common questions about Brennenstuhl extension leads

Which Brennenstuhl extension lead is the top pick?
The top pick is the Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way, at about £18.06, with 4.7 from 875 amazon.co.uk reviews. It has ten sockets in two groups of five, each with an illuminated two-pole switch, a Type G field and a single 13 A line. It does not claim surge protection. UK reviews say some adaptors sit too close, and some buyers call the mounting holes poor. Skip it if you came for a surge lamp or a fuse button.
Which Brennenstuhl extension lead is the best value?
The best value is the Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way, at about £11.94, with 4.5 from 151 reviews and a 2 m cable. The title claims 13,500 A overvoltage protection. The continuous field stays at 13 A, so the large figure is the surge claim, not the load. Plug fields say Type G and Type B, so check the photo. It is the lowest price here among listings with at least 100 reviews and a stated surge claim.
What should you check before you buy a Brennenstuhl extension lead?
Check the plug first: Type G, BS 1363, and a BS 1362 fuse. A second plug type on the same page is a conflict, so use the photo. Then the marked current, usually one 13 A figure shared by every socket. Then socket count and angle, the feature you came for (a surge claim, a fuse button, two switches, or USB), and cable length from 2 m to 3 m. These strips are for indoor use.
Is 13,500 A the current the cable can carry?
No. 13,500 A is the surge claim printed on the Eco-Line and the white 4-way, not the continuous load. Where the listing gives one continuous figure, it is usually 13 A. Electrical Safety First says most leads are 13 A, that you should use only one extension lead per wall socket, and that you should not daisy-chain. Extra sockets do not raise the amps. Do not add conflicting current fields together, and do not read a surge figure as an RCD.
Should you buy surge protection or a fuse button?
These listings do not combine both. The Eco-Line and the white 4-way claim 13,500 A surge protection and do not name a fuse button. Ecolor, Super-Solid, the aluminium 8-way and the 12-way name a resettable fuse button and do not claim surge protection. A surge claim is not an RCD, and it is not outdoor protection. The wider choice of surge strips is in the extension lead with surge protector comparison.
Can you use one of these leads outdoors?
No. Brennenstuhl household pages for this kind of strip say IP20, not for outdoor use, and no RCCB. The flex is H05VV-F for indoors. A garden or site lead is a different product, with a rating and a plug meant for that place. Do not run these bars outside, and do not hide the lead under a rug. If the job is a long outdoor cable, look at a cable reel made for that use rather than an indoor multi-socket bar.
When should you call an electrician?
Call a registered electrician for a new fixed socket, a warm or scorched wall socket, or a circuit that trips on a normal load. Replace a melted or split lead. Do not open the casing. Workplaces follow a risk-based check of portable equipment. There is no universal rule that every home lead needs a PAT test once a year. HSE INDG236 treats extension leads as portable equipment: a user check and a visual inspection, with testing where the item is not double insulated.
Do these Brennenstuhl leads include USB-C?
Only one listing in this comparison adds USB charging. The bullets say two USB ports at 2,100 mA total. They do not say USB-C. A UK review of that white 4-way wanted USB-C as well as USB-A. The same listing does not claim surge protection. If charging is the reason you are shopping, compare leads that state the port you need. A 2,100 mA pair is not a USB-C claim, and extra sockets still share one marked current.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Brennenstuhl Primera-Line 10-way at about £18.06, with 4.7 from 875 reviews, two switched groups of five sockets, a Type G field and a single 13 A line. It does not claim surge protection, and UK reviews say some adaptors sit too close. The best value is the Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way at about £11.94, with 4.5 from 151 reviews and a 13,500 A surge claim. The continuous field is 13 A. Plug fields say Type G and Type B, so the photo has to settle the plug. The white 4-way is close on price and has only 19 reviews, so it does not take the value award.

Best overall
Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way

Brennenstuhl Premium-Alu-Line 8-way

View offer
Best value
Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)

Brennenstuhl Eco-Line 5-way surge (light grey)

about £11.94 with 4.5 from 151 reviews and a 13,500 A surge claim. Lowest price among listings here with at least 100 reviews and a stated surge claim. Plug fields disagree.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Guides to Brennenstuhl extension leads

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public sources are listed below. Prices, stars and review counts come from amazon.co.uk listings. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Extension leads (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First — Plugs and fuses (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. BEAMA — Extension lead safety checklist (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. HSE — INDG236 Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. HSE — PAT FAQ (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Brennenstuhl — Eco-Line 5-way surge (GB) (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.