Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Impact sockets comparison 2026

The best impact sockets, compared.

Top pick: BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set Best value: WORKPRO 4-piece flip set – About £12.99, 4.7 from 132 reviews, and a chrome-molybdenum flip set for 17, 19 and 21 mm, after split reports on cheaper deep sets. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An impact socket is a square-drive tool socket meant for the shock of an impact wrench, not a BS 1363 wall socket and not a mains trailing lead. In the UK you buy one mainly for car wheel nuts, brakes and suspension. The square on the gun and the metric size of the nut matter more than piece count. A car impact wrench is almost always a 1/2 inch square. A 3/8 inch kit or a 3/4 inch hex set is a different job. Wheel nuts are commonly 17, 19 or 21 mm. Deep sockets cover studs. A thin wall or a flip socket with a sleeve reaches a recessed alloy nut. A thick wall that will not enter the recess is the wrong socket. Chrome molybdenum is the alloy usually named for impact duty. A chrome-vanadium or carbon-steel claim is a lower certainty, and black paint is not a rating. Finish wheel nuts with a torque wrench at the vehicle maker's figure. Drive, depth and material claims are in the [impact socket buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/impact-sockets/sub/impact-sockets-buying-guide).

An impact socket is a square-drive tool socket meant for the shock of an impact wrench, not a BS 1363 wall socket and not a mains trailing lead. In the UK you buy one mainly for car wheel nuts, brakes and suspension.

BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set

Best overall

BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set
6.6/10∼ £34

42 products checked · 63 hrs invested · +19,240 readers

12 of 12: Best impact sockets compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set
Ginour 17-piece 10–32 mm
Milwaukee 4932480456
Ginour 20-piece 8–24 mm
Best value
WORKPRO 4-piece flip set
KIRXST 11-piece deep set
Greensen 10-piece hex set
Aurlloct 16-piece deep set
KATSU 420444 10-piece
KATSU 420446 10-piece
Marnovest 12-piece deep set
TecoTek 109-piece 3/8 kit
6.6/10
9.3/10
9.1/10
9.0/10
8.4/10
8.0/10
6.8/10
7.2/10
7.1/10
6.5/10
6.4/10
4.8/10
∼ £34
∼ £33
∼ £33
∼ £34
∼ £13
∼ £23
∼ £56
∼ £40
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £16
∼ £56
4.9(32)
4.8(2,536)
4.8(205)
4.7(1,518)
4.7(132)
4.6(364)
4.5(20)
4.2(37)
4.1(253)
4.1(175)
4.0(2)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best impact sockets in detail

BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set

Rank 1

BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set

∼£34

Our view

BILITOOLS B1R95483 is listed at about £33.99 with 4.9 from 32 reviews, and no review texts were in the sample, so the star line has no written theme behind it. The bullets describe four thin-wall flip sockets covering 17, 19, 21 and 22 mm plus 3/4, 13/16, 7/8 and 15/16 inch, with protective sleeves, a knockout rod, a 3 inch extension and a case. They name chrome molybdenum and a 1/2 inch drive for impact wrenches and breaker bars, at 1.37 kg. The drive field prints 3/4 inch, which does not match that 1/2 inch claim. The piece-count field prints 1, which does not match that four-socket kit, so use the bullet list for contents. With no review prose in the sample, this card is a specification, not evidence that the sleeves or the thin walls survive a stubborn nut.

Pros

  • Thin-wall flip sizes stated for 17, 19, 21 and 22 mm
  • Protective sleeves and a knockout rod are in the bullets
  • Chrome molybdenum and 1/2 inch drive claimed for impact use
  • 3 inch extension and a compact case at 1.37 kg

Cons

  • No review texts in the sample behind 4.9 from 32 reviews
  • Piece-count field prints 1 against a four-socket bullet list
  • About £33.99 without buyer accounts of the sleeves or thin walls
  • Wheel sizes only, not a general metric set

Best for: A 1/2 inch gun and recessed alloy nuts in 17, 19, 21 or 22 mm, if you are buying on the bullet list alone.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants written buyer accounts before spending about £34, or jobs outside those wheel sizes.

Specifications

Model
BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set
Brand
BILITOOLS
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.9/5(32)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
17, 19, 21, 22 mm
Type
Thin-wall flip
Material
Cr-Mo
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
4
Case
Yes
Weight
1.37 kg

Common questions

What is in the bullet list?

Four thin-wall flip sockets for 17, 19, 21 and 22 mm, plus 3/4, 13/16, 7/8 and 15/16 inch, with sleeves, a knockout rod, a 3 inch extension and a case. The piece-count field prints 1.

Are there UK review texts?

The line is 4.9 from 32 reviews, and no review texts were in the sample. The stars are not a written account of the sleeves or the thin walls.

What drive do the bullets claim?

The bullets name a 1/2 inch drive. The drive field prints 3/4 inch. Use the bullet claim only after you match it to your anvil.

Ginour 17-piece 10–32 mm

Rank 2

Ginour 17-piece 10–32 mm

∼£33

Our view

On amazon.co.uk this Ginour 17-piece set is about £32.99 with 4.8 from 2,536 reviews, and buyers describe suspension work and wheel changes on an impact gun. The bullets list 16 metric sockets from 10 mm to 32 mm, including 17, 19, 21, 27, 30 and 32 mm, plus a 3/8 inch to 1/2 inch adapter in a moulded case at 4.13 kg. The material field prints chrome vanadium while the same bullets say Cr-Mo and then heat-treated chrome vanadium, so the steel grade is not settled from the page. The drive field prints 3/8 inch while the title says 1/2 inch. Reviewers treat it as a home-mechanic set rather than a full-time workshop kit, and one says the fit could be tighter. Another mentions a pungent chemical coating on arrival. No repeated defect theme shows in the UK reviews sampled, which is why this is the top pick here on review depth.

Pros

  • 4.8 from 2,536 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • Stated sizes from 10 mm to 32 mm, including 17, 19 and 21 mm
  • Buyers report suspension and wheel work without a repeated crack theme
  • 6-point sockets, laser-etched sizes, moulded case and a 3/8 to 1/2 inch adapter

Cons

  • The listing mixes Cr-Mo and chrome vanadium in the same material wording
  • Reviewers frame it as home use, not daily workshop work
  • One review says the socket fit could be tighter
  • Arrival oil is described as a strong chemical smell

Best for: A home mechanic who wants a wide 1/2 inch metric range, including 27–32 mm, for occasional suspension and wheel work.

Less suitable: A daily workshop that needs one stated steel grade, or a gun with a 3/4 inch anvil.

Specifications

Model
Ginour 17-piece 10–32 mm
Brand
Ginour
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.8/5(2,536)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
10–32 mm
Material
Cr-Mo and Cr-V
Points
6-point
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
17
Case
Yes
Weight
4.13 kg

Common questions

What sizes does the Ginour 17-piece set list?

The bullets list 16 metric sockets from 10 mm to 32 mm, including 17, 19, 21, 27, 30 and 32 mm, plus a 3/8 inch to 1/2 inch adapter. The title calls it a 17-piece set.

Which steel does the listing state?

The material field prints chrome vanadium. The same bullets also say Cr-Mo and then heat-treated chrome vanadium. The steel grade is not settled from the page.

What drive does the title state?

The title says 1/2 inch. The drive field prints 3/8 inch. The bullets include a 3/8 inch to 1/2 inch adapter, so match the square on your gun before you buy.

Milwaukee 4932480456

Rank 3

Milwaukee 4932480456

∼£33

Our view

The Milwaukee 4932480456 is about £32.95 on amazon.co.uk with 4.8 from 205 reviews, and UK texts praise the case, the etched sizes and use on an M18 impact wrench for family-car wheels. The listing describes a shallow 1/2 inch set of 13 pieces at 2.27 kg, and the individual millimetre sizes are not printed in the bullets. The material field names both alloy steel and chrome molybdenum. Reviewers say it is not every size a professional would want, and a shallow socket will not cover a long stud. The page also carries replacement-part wording and a vehicle selector, which is listing noise rather than a crack report. No repeated failure theme appears in the UK reviews sampled.

Pros

  • 4.8 from 205 reviews with no repeated crack theme in the sample
  • Sturdy case and deep-etched size marks
  • Used on an M18 impact wrench for family-car wheel changes
  • 1/2 inch square drive, listed at 2.27 kg

Cons

  • Shallow set, not a deep range for long studs
  • Millimetre sizes are not printed in the bullets
  • Material field names both alloy steel and chrome molybdenum
  • Sparse bullets and replacement-part wording on the listing

Best for: A 1/2 inch Milwaukee impact wrench and family-car wheel nuts where a shallow socket actually reaches the fastener.

Less suitable: Long studs, deep recesses, or a buyer who needs every millimetre size printed before ordering.

Specifications

Model
Milwaukee 4932480456
Brand
Milwaukee
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.8/5(205)
Drive
1/2 inch
Type
Shallow
Material
Alloy and Cr-Mo
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
13
Case
Yes
Weight
2.27 kg

Common questions

Are the Milwaukee sockets deep or shallow?

The listing reads as a shallow 13-piece set. A shallow socket will not cover a long stud. Reviewers describe family-car wheel changes on an M18 impact wrench.

Which millimetre sizes are printed?

The individual millimetre sizes are not printed in the bullets. You cannot check 17, 19 or 21 mm from the bullet list alone.

What material does the listing name?

The material field names both alloy steel and chrome molybdenum. The page does not state one steel grade.

Ginour 20-piece 8–24 mm

Rank 4

Ginour 20-piece 8–24 mm

∼£34

Our view

This Ginour set is about £33.99 with 4.7 from 1,518 reviews, and the bullets list 17 metric sockets from 8 mm to 24 mm, three extension bars at 3, 5 and 10 inches, and a 3/8 inch to 1/2 inch adapter. Reviewers mention a heavy case, oil on the sockets and a solid weight in the hand. Several call it enough for DIY and doubt it for a mechanic’s daily set. One buyer says the case will not shut even with the pieces in the right slots. The material line is heat-treated chrome vanadium with a black finish, which is a Cr-V claim rather than Cr-Mo. The title says 1/2 inch drive, so that is the square to match to the gun. The drive field prints 3/8 inch. The piece-count lines (19, 20, and 17 sockets plus bars) do not all agree.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 1,518 reviews
  • Stated range 8–24 mm, including 15 mm and 18 mm
  • Three extension bars and a 3/8 to 1/2 inch adapter
  • 6-point sockets with laser-etched sizes and a moulded case

Cons

  • Reviewers doubt it for daily workshop use
  • One case would not close with the sockets seated
  • Chrome vanadium claim, not a chrome molybdenum claim
  • Piece-count lines on the listing do not match each other

Best for: DIY jobs that stay inside 8–24 mm and need extension bars more than a 27–32 mm socket.

Less suitable: Daily workshop use, or fasteners above 24 mm such as some 27–32 mm suspension nuts.

Specifications

Model
Ginour 20-piece 8–24 mm
Brand
Ginour
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,518)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
8–24 mm
Type
Deep
Material
Cr-V
Points
6-point
Pieces
20
Case
Yes
Weight
4.47 kg

Common questions

What size range do the bullets list?

The bullets list 17 metric sockets from 8 mm to 24 mm, including 15 mm and 18 mm, plus three extension bars at 3, 5 and 10 inches and a 3/8 to 1/2 inch adapter.

Is the steel chrome molybdenum?

The material line is heat-treated chrome vanadium with a black finish. That is a Cr-V claim, not a chrome molybdenum claim. A black finish is not an impact rating.

Why do the piece counts disagree?

The listing lines say 19, 20, and 17 sockets plus bars. They do not all agree. One buyer says the case will not shut with the sockets seated.

WORKPRO 4-piece flip set

Rank 5

WORKPRO 4-piece flip set

∼£13

Our view

The WORKPRO W003129 is about £12.99 with 4.7 from 132 reviews, and only four review texts were read. The bullets list double-ended flip sockets for 17, 19 and 21 mm plus 3/4, 13/16 and 7/8 inch, a 3 inch extension, a detent ball and a blue case, in heat-treated chrome molybdenum at 773 g. The title says 1/2 inch drive. The drive field prints 3/4 inch, which does not match that title. The listing itself asks about tyre changes, which matches a wheel kit rather than an 8–32 mm garage set. Those four texts call the sockets well made and the extension useful. No repeated defect theme appears in that small read. At this price, beside the £9.99 sets that show cracks in much larger samples, it is the best value pick for wheel nuts only.

Pros

  • About £12.99 with 4.7 from 132 reviews
  • Flip sockets stated for 17, 19 and 21 mm plus three SAE sizes
  • Chrome molybdenum claim, 3 inch extension and detent ball
  • Blue case at a listed 773 g

Cons

  • Only four review texts were read, so the star line is thinly described
  • Four pieces, not a full metric deep set
  • No sizes below 17 mm or above 21 mm in the metric list
  • A polished finish is stated, which is not the same as a rated test

Best for: Changing wheels on a family car that uses 17, 19 or 21 mm nuts, when you want a light boot kit.

Less suitable: Suspension, engine or general fastener work outside those six sizes.

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 4-piece flip set
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.7/5(132)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
17, 19, 21 mm
Type
Flip
Material
Cr-Mo
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
4
Case
Yes
Weight
0.773 kg

Common questions

Which wheel sizes does the WORKPRO set list?

The bullets list double-ended flip sockets for 17, 19 and 21 mm, plus 3/4, 13/16 and 7/8 inch, a 3 inch extension and a detent ball.

How much review text is behind the stars?

The line is 4.7 from 132 reviews. Only four texts were read. They call the sockets well made. No repeated defect theme appears in that small read.

What drive does the title state?

The title says 1/2 inch drive. The drive field prints 3/4 inch. Match the square on your gun to the title before you treat the field as the anvil size.

KIRXST 11-piece deep set

Rank 6

KIRXST 11-piece deep set

∼£23

Our view

The KIRXST UKRT20251 is an 11-piece deep 1/2 inch set at about £22.99, with 4.6 from 364 reviews, stated as heat-treated chrome vanadium and a black finish. Reviewers describe a heavy feel, readable marks, colour coding in a dim garage and a snug 6-point fit, and many report impact-gun and wheel work that goes through. The criticism list says there is no 15 mm and no 18 mm, the moulded box feels flimsy, and sockets can fall off the anvil. Coating and etching are said to wear with hard use. Defect notes include a 24 mm that split within two weeks, a 19 mm that opened on a wheel, three sockets broken in two days for one buyer, and a parcel with two 16 mm sockets and no 17 mm.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 364 reviews, a sizeable UK sample
  • Deep 1/2 inch sockets with a snug 6-point fit in reviews
  • Colour-coded, readable marks
  • About £22.99, under the £33 sets, at 1.88 kg

Cons

  • No 15 mm and no 18 mm in the stated criticism of the range
  • Split sockets reported, including 19 mm and 24 mm
  • Moulded box called flimsy, and sockets can fall off the anvil
  • One parcel arrived with two 16 mm sockets and no 17 mm

Best for: Occasional deep-socket work in the sizes this 11-piece set actually contains, if you can accept a split risk seen in reviews.

Less suitable: Jobs that need 15 mm or 18 mm, or a buyer who wants a sample with no split reports.

Specifications

Model
KIRXST 11-piece deep set
Brand
KIRXST
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.6/5(364)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
10–24 mm
Type
Deep
Material
Cr-V
Points
6-point
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
11
Case
Yes
Weight
1.88 kg

Common questions

Which sizes are missing?

The criticism of the range says there is no 15 mm and no 18 mm. One parcel arrived with two 16 mm sockets and no 17 mm.

Do reviews report splits?

Yes. Notes include a 24 mm that split within two weeks, a 19 mm that opened on a wheel, and three sockets broken in two days for one buyer.

What drive and depth does the listing state?

It is an 11-piece deep 1/2 inch set, stated as heat-treated chrome vanadium, at about £22.99 with 4.6 from 364 reviews.

Greensen 10-piece hex set

Rank 7

Greensen 10-piece hex set

∼£56

Our view

The Greensen listing is a 10-piece hex bit socket set from 22 mm to 50 mm at about £55.96, with 4.5 from 20 reviews and only three texts read. Those texts say the sockets look strong and the tin is decent, and one buyer had not used them yet. The page states chrome molybdenum, a black coating, a plastic case, and a parcel of 7.15 kg with an item length of 80 mm. There is no repeated defect theme because almost no use is described. A 3/4 inch hex drive is a different square from a 1/2 inch car impact wrench. Twenty ratings is too small to treat 4.5 as a settled workshop result.

Pros

  • Stated chrome molybdenum hex sockets from 22 mm to 50 mm
  • 6-point deep hex form for large fasteners
  • Plastic case, and the three texts call the build strong
  • Listed for impact wrenches as well as ratchet bars

Cons

  • Only 20 reviews, and one of three texts says they were unused
  • About £55.96 for a 10-piece hex set with almost no described use
  • 7.15 kg, which is a bench kit rather than a boot kit
  • 3/4 inch hex drive will not fit a normal 1/2 inch car anvil

Best for: Large hex fasteners in the 22–50 mm band on a 3/4 inch drive, if you accept a 20-review sample.

Less suitable: Car wheel nuts, 1/2 inch impact guns, or anyone who wants written accounts of hard use.

Specifications

Model
Greensen 10-piece hex set
Brand
Greensen
Price
∼£56
Customer rating
4.5/5(20)
Drive
3/4 inch
Sizes
22–50 mm
Type
Hex bits
Material
Cr-Mo
Points
6-point
Pieces
10
Case
Yes
Weight
7.15 kg

Common questions

What drive and sizes does the Greensen set use?

It is a 10-piece hex bit set from 22 mm to 50 mm on a 3/4 inch drive. That square will not fit a normal 1/2 inch car impact wrench.

How many reviews describe use?

The line is 4.5 from 20 reviews, and only three texts were read. One of those says the sockets had not been used yet. There is no repeated defect theme because almost no use is described.

Is this a wheel-nut set?

No. It is a bench kit for large hex fasteners, listed at 7.15 kg. It is the wrong square for car wheel nuts on a 1/2 inch gun.

Aurlloct 16-piece deep set

Rank 8

Aurlloct 16-piece deep set

∼£40

Our view

Aurlloct AUK61067 is a 16-piece deep 1/2 inch set at about £39.99, with 4.2 from 37 reviews. The bullets list 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24, 27, 30 and 32 mm in chrome vanadium with a powder-coated finish and colour-coded laser marks. One buyer used them on seized wheel bolts and called them durable, and others describe a chunky first impression. A separate review says they fall off the impact gun or ratchet and were already rusting after one use. The weight field prints 150 g, which does not sit with a 16-piece deep set, so do not plan a pocket kit from that figure. Thirteen texts is a small sample next to the Ginour pages, and a case is not stated.

Pros

  • Deep sizes printed through 32 mm, including 15 mm and 18 mm
  • One buyer reports seized wheel bolts without an immediate failure
  • Colour-coded laser marks claimed on the listing
  • 6-point deep shape for longer bolts, as the bullets describe

Cons

  • 4.2 from only 37 reviews
  • One review: they fall off the gun and rusted after a single use
  • Weight field prints 150 g, which conflicts with a 16-piece deep set
  • Case is not stated, and 20 mm is absent from the size list

Best for: Someone who needs the odd larger sizes (27, 30, 32 mm) and will check retention on their own anvil before a big job.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants a large review sample or a reliable listed weight and a case.

Specifications

Model
Aurlloct 16-piece deep set
Brand
Aurlloct
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(37)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
10–32 mm
Type
Deep
Material
Cr-V
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
16

Common questions

Which sizes are printed?

The bullets list 10 through 19, then 21, 22, 24, 27, 30 and 32 mm. 15 mm and 18 mm are in that list. 20 mm is absent.

Can you trust the 150 g weight?

The weight field prints 150 g. That does not sit with a 16-piece deep set. Do not plan a pocket kit from that figure.

What do the reviews say about retention?

One buyer used them on seized wheel bolts. A separate review says they fall off the impact gun or ratchet and were rusting after one use. The line is 4.2 from 37 reviews.

KATSU 420444 10-piece

Rank 9

KATSU 420444 10-piece

∼£10

Our view

KATSU 420444 is a 10-piece deep 1/2 inch set at about £9.99, with 4.1 from 253 reviews, in carbon steel with a black oxide finish at 1.58 kg. Some buyers are content on an impact gun and a long breaker bar, and they like the depth under a car and a case that feels solid for the money. The same sample calls the walls too thin to be impact sockets, says the metal burred on an impact wrench, and notes a square that would not fit some existing 1/2 inch tools. A reviewer says 16 mm is missing, and some units arrived looking used. Defect notes include a 13 mm that split within 12 months, a 14 mm that sheared on first hand use, a crack on a third wheel nut, and a 17 mm that distorted on wheel nuts.

Pros

  • About £9.99 with a blow-moulded case
  • Some users are fine on an impact gun and a breaker bar for light DIY
  • Depth is described as useful under a car
  • Black finish that reviewers say does not scratch quickly

Cons

  • Carbon steel, and reviewers say the walls are too thin for impact use
  • Repeated splits, including wheel-nut sizes
  • 16 mm reported missing
  • Square fit problems on some existing 1/2 inch tools, and some units looked used

Best for: Occasional hand or very light DIY inside a 10–24 mm deep set, if a cracked socket is an acceptable risk at this price.

Less suitable: Wheel nuts or any job where a split socket on the third nut would stop the car.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 420444 10-piece
Brand
KATSU Tools
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.1/5(253)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
10–24 mm
Type
Deep
Material
Carbon steel
Wheel nuts
Yes
Pieces
10
Case
Yes
Weight
1.58 kg

Common questions

What material does KATSU 420444 state?

The listing states carbon steel with a black oxide finish. Reviewers say the walls are too thin for impact use. A black finish is not an impact rating.

What splits are in the reviews?

Notes include a 13 mm that split within 12 months, a 14 mm that sheared on first hand use, a crack on a third wheel nut, and a 17 mm that distorted on wheel nuts.

Who is the £9.99 set for?

Some buyers are content on an impact gun and a breaker bar for light DIY. It is a poor fit when a split socket on a wheel nut would stop the car. The line is 4.1 from 253 reviews.

KATSU 420446 10-piece

Rank 10

KATSU 420446 10-piece

∼£10

Our view

KATSU 420446 is the other about £9.99 deep 10-piece 1/2 inch set, with 4.1 from 175 reviews, listed at 1.22 kg and 78 mm long. The material field says S2 steel while a bullet says high-quality carbon steel, both with a black oxide finish and a blow-moulded case. Some buyers call the marking clear enough for amateur use and say the sockets work with a drill. Others say the case will not stay closed, the side wall is thin, the fit is loose or tight depending on the socket, and the metal is soft. Written complaints include a 14 mm that broke on first use, a 19 mm that failed after about two months of light use, and sockets that blew out at the ends on a first weekend. The price matches a painted budget set more than a workshop impact set.

Pros

  • About £9.99 for a 10-piece deep set with a case
  • Some amateur users call the size marks clear
  • Black oxide finish claimed as rust resistance
  • 78 mm length stated for deeper fasteners

Cons

  • Material field says S2 steel and a bullet says carbon steel
  • Cracks on first use and within two months in the review sample
  • Thin walls, soft metal, and ends that blew out
  • Case catches fail and sockets fall out

Best for: Very light DIY where a £9.99 loss is acceptable and the fastener is not a wheel nut.

Less suitable: Impact-gun wheel work, or any job that assumes the S2 line means a rated impact socket.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 420446 10-piece
Brand
KATSU Tools
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.1/5(175)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
8–24 mm
Type
Deep
Material
S2 and carbon
Pieces
10
Case
Yes
Weight
1.22 kg

Common questions

Which steel does the listing state?

The material field says S2 steel. A bullet says high-quality carbon steel. Both mention a black oxide finish. The two lines do not agree.

What failures are in the reviews?

A 14 mm broke on first use, a 19 mm failed after about two months of light use, and sockets blew out at the ends on a first weekend. Reviewers also call the walls thin and the case catches weak.

Is the S2 line an impact rating?

No. An S2 line, a carbon-steel line and a black finish are not a test to ISO 1711-2. The set is about £9.99 with 4.1 from 175 reviews.

Marnovest 12-piece deep set

Rank 11

Marnovest 12-piece deep set

∼£16

Our view

Marnovest 22454623 is about £15.59 with 4.0 from only two reviews. The bullets list ten deep 6-point sockets at 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 21 and 24 mm, plus two extension bars, in a case at 1.45 kg. They name chrome vanadium with heat treatment and a black phosphate finish, even though the material field itself is empty. One review likes a deep socket after rounding a bolt with a shallow 3/8 inch socket. The other likes the set but says the case closing is average and not always reliable. Two reviews cannot show a crack rate, a long-term finish, or whether the sockets stay on a 1/2 inch anvil. There is no 11, 16 or 18 mm in that size list.

Pros

  • Ten deep sizes printed, including 17, 19 and 21 mm
  • Two extension bars and a case at 1.45 kg
  • 6-point grip and black phosphate claimed in the bullets
  • About £15.59, between the £9.99 sets and the £23 deep set

Cons

  • Only two reviews, so 4.0 is not a pattern
  • Case closing called unreliable in one of those reviews
  • Material field is empty even though the bullets say chrome vanadium
  • No 11, 16 or 18 mm

Best for: A spare deep 1/2 inch kit in those ten sizes, if two reviews are enough for you.

Less suitable: A first impact set you will trust on wheel nuts without a larger review sample.

Specifications

Model
Marnovest 12-piece deep set
Brand
Marnovest
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.0/5(2)
Drive
1/2 inch
Sizes
8–24 mm
Type
Deep
Material
Cr-V
Points
6-point
Pieces
12
Case
Yes
Weight
1.45 kg

Common questions

Which ten sizes are printed?

The bullets list 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 21 and 24 mm, plus two extension bars. There is no 11, 16 or 18 mm.

How many reviews are there?

4.0 from two reviews. One likes a deep socket after rounding a bolt. The other says the case closing is not always reliable. Two reviews are not a crack rate.

Where is the material stated?

The bullets say chrome vanadium with heat treatment and a black phosphate finish. The material field itself is empty. Black phosphate is a finish, not an impact rating.

TecoTek 109-piece 3/8 kit

Rank 12

TecoTek 109-piece 3/8 kit

∼£56

Our view

TecoTek TC048EU is a 109-piece kit at about £55.77 and 7.43 kg, and this amazon.co.uk capture has no star rating and no review texts. The bullets claim drop-forged chrome vanadium, a black phosphate finish, metric deep and shallow sockets from 6 mm to 24 mm, SAE sockets from 5/16 inch to 1 inch, two spark-plug sockets, a 3/8 inch ratchet, two extensions, a universal joint and 40 bits. They also say the tools meet or exceed ANSI performance standards and include a one-year guarantee, which is the maker’s line rather than a UK test in this file. The title describes a 3/8 inch kit. The drive field prints 3/4 inch, and the socket-type field says a flip wheel-nut set, which does not match that title. A 3/8 inch square is the wrong drive for a typical 1/2 inch car impact gun. Nothing in the sample shows whether these sockets survive shock.

Pros

  • Wide 3/8 inch kit: metric 6–24 mm deep and shallow, plus SAE
  • Ratchet, extensions, universal joint, spark-plug sockets and bits in the bullets
  • Black phosphate and a storage case at 7.43 kg
  • Laser-etched sizes claimed

Cons

  • No star rating and no review texts in this capture
  • 3/8 inch drive, not a 1/2 inch car impact anvil
  • About £55.77 with an ANSI line that this page does not verify
  • Material field is empty even though the bullets say chrome vanadium

Best for: A 3/8 inch ratchet and light fastener kit from 6 mm to 24 mm, if you are buying the contents list without reviews.

Less suitable: 1/2 inch impact-gun work, wheel nuts in a deep recess, or anyone who wants a UK review count.

Specifications

Model
TecoTek 109-piece 3/8 kit
Brand
TecoTek
Price
∼£56
Drive
3/8 inch
Sizes
6–24 mm
Type
Deep and shallow
Material
Cr-V
Points
6-point
Pieces
109
Case
Yes
Weight
7.43 kg

Common questions

What drive does the title state?

The title describes a 3/8 inch deep and shallow kit from 6 mm to 24 mm, plus SAE. The drive field prints 3/4 inch. A 3/8 inch square does not fit a typical 1/2 inch car impact gun.

Is there a star rating?

This amazon.co.uk capture has no star rating and no review texts. The impact wording in the title is unverified here.

What does the ANSI line mean on this page?

The bullets say the tools meet or exceed ANSI performance standards. That is the maker’s line. This page does not verify it, and it is not an ISO 1711-2 result.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the figures in the stored listings. No lab test was run. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the best price against a usable star line and a clear wheel-nut job, after defect reports on cheaper deep sets.

1

Star line

40%

The star block is amazon stars divided by 5, then multiplied by 40. A listing with no star line scores 16 on this block. Stars are not a lab result.

2

Review sample

20%

2,000 or more reviews scores 20, 500 or more scores 18, 200 or more scores 16, 100 or more scores 14, 30 to 99 scores 10, 10 to 29 scores 6, and under 10 scores 3. If fewer than five texts were read, this block is capped at 10. If no texts were read, it is capped at 4.

3

Defect sentiment

25%

A sample with no repeated crack theme scores 25. About 12 when there are no texts to read. The block falls when splits, thin walls or soft metal repeat in the reviews.

4

Listing clarity

15%

Starts at 15. Points come off when the material line contradicts itself, the piece count disagrees with the bullets, the weight figure is implausible, or the drive in the title is not the drive a car gun uses.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Impact socket buying guide

The checks run in this order: drive size, the fastener, depth and wall, the material the listing states, then retention and the review texts. The table is the twelve stored amazon.co.uk listings. No socket here was tested to ISO 1711-2 for this page, and a black photo is not that test.

What is an impact socket?

An impact socket is a square-drive socket meant to take the shock of an impact wrench. You buy one in the UK mainly to undo car wheel nuts or to work on brakes and suspension. A hand chrome socket is a different tool: usually polished chrome vanadium, for a ratchet or a torque wrench. Impact sockets are usually thicker, often black, and often chrome molybdenum, so they are meant to deform rather than shatter. That split is typical, not absolute.

Best for

  • Changing family-car wheels with a 1/2 inch gun and 17, 19 or 21 mm nuts
  • Occasional brake and suspension work where the millimetre sizes are printed

Not ideal for

  • A 3/8 inch kit or a 3/4 inch hex set used as if it were a car wheel gun
  • Anyone reading black paint, or the word impact in a title, as a torsion test

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on piece count

    A 100-piece 3/8 inch kit does not fit a 1/2 inch car anvil. Four flip sockets in 17, 19 and 21 mm can be the whole wheel job. Count the sizes you undo, not the sockets you will never use.

  2. 2

    Trusting black paint

    Black oxide, phosphate and paint are finishes. They are not ISO 2725-2 or ISO 1711-2. A carbon-steel set can be black and still split. A chrome-vanadium socket can be rated for impact by its maker, and it can also be an ordinary hand socket.

  3. 3

    Finishing wheel nuts with the gun

    Run the nut with the gun if you must, then use a torque wrench at the vehicle maker's figure. There is no single newton-metre number for every UK car. A socket that will not enter the wheel recess is the wrong socket.

What to weigh up

Drive, sizes and depth

High

Start with 1/2 inch if the gun is a car wheel gun. In this table the Ginour sets, the Milwaukee set, the WORKPRO flip set, the KIRXST, Aurlloct, KATSU and Marnovest rows, and the BILITOOLS bullets, are 1/2 inch in the title or the bullets. The TecoTek title is 3/8 inch. The Greensen set is 3/4 inch hex from 22 mm to 50 mm. Several drive fields print 3/8 or 3/4 inch against a 1/2 inch title. The table follows the title, and the assessment names the field. Wheel work wants 17, 19 or 21 mm.

Material, retention and review evidence

High

Chrome molybdenum is stated for the WORKPRO flip set, the Greensen hex set and the BILITOOLS bullets. The Ginour 17-piece page names both Cr-Mo and chrome vanadium. The Ginour 20-piece, KIRXST and Aurlloct pages state chrome vanadium. KATSU 420444 states carbon steel, and the reviews describe thin walls and splits. KATSU 420446 says S2 steel in the field and carbon steel in a bullet. Milwaukee names alloy steel and chrome molybdenum.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home wheel changes

You change wheels on a family car and the nuts are 17, 19 or 21 mm. The WORKPRO four-piece flip set is the best value at about £12.99, with 4.7 from 132 reviews and a chrome-molybdenum claim. Only four review texts were read, and there is nothing below 17 mm or above 21 mm.

Brakes and suspension

You need a wider 1/2 inch metric run, sometimes through 27–32 mm. The Ginour 17-piece set is the top pick at about £32.99, with 4.8 from 2,536 reviews and no repeated crack theme in the texts read. The material line mixes chrome molybdenum and chrome vanadium.

Shallow wheel nuts

You already use a 1/2 inch impact wrench and the nut is open, so a shallow socket can reach it. The Milwaukee 4932480456 is about £32.95, with 4.8 from 205 reviews and no repeated crack theme in the UK sample. It will not cover a long stud. At work, retire a cracked socket rather than finish the job.

Common questions about impact sockets

Which impact socket set is the top pick?
The top pick is the Ginour 17-piece set at about £32.99. It is 4.8 from 2,536 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here, and the texts read do not show a repeated crack theme. The bullets list 10–32 mm, including 17, 19 and 21 mm, plus a 3/8 to 1/2 inch adapter. The material line mixes chrome molybdenum and chrome vanadium. The drive field prints 3/8 inch while the title says 1/2 inch. It has the highest score on this page.
Which set is the best value?
The best value is the WORKPRO four-piece flip set at about £12.99. It is 4.7 from 132 reviews, with a chrome-molybdenum claim and flip sockets for 17, 19 and 21 mm. Only four review texts were read, with no repeated defect theme. It is not a full metric range. The £9.99 deep sets show splits in larger samples, so the lower shelf price is not the best value. The title says 1/2 inch and the drive field prints 3/4 inch.
What drive size should you match?
Match the square on the impact wrench before you look at piece count. A family-car gun is almost always 1/2 inch. A 3/8 inch kit is a different anvil. A 3/4 inch hex set is for large hex fasteners, not a car wheel gun. A compact driver plus adapters is not a substitute on wheel nuts. Where the title and the drive field disagree, check the anvil you own.
Does a black finish mean the socket is impact rated?
No. Black paint, black oxide or phosphate is a finish, not an impact rating. The word impact in a title is not a test report. Chrome molybdenum is the alloy usually named for impact duty. A chrome-vanadium or carbon-steel line is a lower certainty. A maker can still rate a chrome-vanadium socket for impact. These listings do not state ISO 2725-2 or ISO 1711-2. Stars are not that test.
Can you put a polished chrome socket on the gun?
A hand chrome socket is usually polished chrome vanadium for a ratchet or a torque wrench. An impact socket is usually thicker, and often chrome molybdenum, so it is meant to deform rather than shatter. That split is typical, not a promise that one alloy never cracks. Putting an unrated chrome socket on the gun is a common mistake. Retire a socket that has cracked. Do not finish the nut with it.
Should you tighten wheel nuts with the impact gun?
No. Use the gun to undo a nut, or to run it on, and finish with a torque wrench at the vehicle maker's figure. There is no single newton-metre figure for every UK car. A thick socket that will not enter a recessed alloy nut is the wrong socket, not a reason to add torque. Eye protection is the practical control against fragments. At work, impact wrenches are a hand-arm vibration source, and PUWER requires suitable, maintained equipment.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for a spinning or cross-threaded stud, a missing locking-nut key, a cracked socket, or a torque figure you cannot find. Do not keep using a socket that has split. At work, a cracked socket is a reason to stop. A star rating is not a safety approval, and this page did not run a lab test. A socket sold as impact-rated that splits on first use is a description issue under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.
Is an impact socket the same as a wall socket?
No. An impact socket is a tool socket for an impact wrench. It is not a BS 1363 wall socket and it is not a mains extension lead. If you need a trailing socket for a television, a kettle or a charger, that is the extension lead comparison. Do not expect a tool-socket listing to show a 13 A plug, a fuse or a surge figure. Piece count on a socket set does not add sockets to a ring circuit.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Ginour 17-piece set at about £32.99, with 4.8 from 2,536 amazon.co.uk reviews and no repeated crack theme in the texts read. It has the highest score in this set. The bullets list 10–32 mm, including 17, 19 and 21 mm. The material line mixes chrome molybdenum and chrome vanadium, and the drive field prints 3/8 inch while the title says 1/2 inch. The best value is the WORKPRO four-piece flip set at about £12.99, with 4.7 from 132 reviews and a chrome-molybdenum claim for 17, 19 and 21 mm. Only four review texts were read. Cheaper deep sets here show split sockets in larger samples. This page did not run a lab test.

Best overall
BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set

BILITOOLS thin-wall flip set

View offer
Best value
WORKPRO 4-piece flip set

WORKPRO 4-piece flip set

About £12.99, 4.7 from 132 reviews, and a chrome-molybdenum flip set for 17, 19 and 21 mm, after split reports on cheaper deep sets.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to impact sockets

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings. This page did not run a lab test, and none of these listings is claimed to have been tested to ISO 1711-2.

  1. Chrome Trader — chrome versus impact sockets (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. ISO 1174-2:1996 — assembly tools, driving squares for power socket tools (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. ISO 2725-2:2017 — impact socket dimensions and marking (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. ISO 1711-2:2019 — impact socket hardness and torsion (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. HSE — PUWER overview (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. HSE — vibration in motor vehicle repair (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. HSE — using the right type of PPE (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.