Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Sameriver tower, length lines conflict Best value: Addtam 8-way tower, 1.8 m – About £17.99, the lowest price among other Type G rows rated at least 4.6. 4.7 from 584 reviews. No joule figure and no switch stated. Updated October 2026.
A socket tower is a vertical UK extension lead: several BS 1363 sockets on a column, usually with USB-A or USB-C ports, fed by one fused plug into one wall socket. You buy one to tidy a desk, a television cabinet or a bedside table. Eight or twelve outlets still share one fuse.
Judge it by the plug, the fuse, the shutters, a cable length that matches every line of the listing, and a load inside 13 A. Kettles, heaters, toasters and microwaves belong in a wall socket. How to read length, socket count and a conflicting plug row is in the [socket tower buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/socket-tower/sub/socket-tower-buying-guide).
USB on this kind of tower is mostly for phones, often under 20 W in total, so a laptop that needs 45-65 W still uses its own mains charger. Desk leads are mostly 1.8 m or 2 m. Choose 3 m or 5 m only for reach, and do not guess if the title and a bullet disagree. One extension per wall socket, with no daisy-chain and no flex under a rug.
A socket tower is a vertical UK extension lead: several BS 1363 sockets on a column, usually with USB-A or USB-C ports, fed by one fused plug into one wall socket.
A socket tower is a vertical UK extension lead: several BS 1363 sockets on a column, usually with USB-A or USB-C ports, fed by one fused plug into one wall socket. You buy one to tidy a desk, a television cabinet or a bedside table. Eight or twelve outlets still share one fuse.
Judge it by the plug, the fuse, the shutters, a cable length that matches every line of the listing, and a load inside 13 A. Kettles, heaters, toasters and microwaves belong in a wall socket. How to read length, socket count and a conflicting plug row is in the [socket tower buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/socket-tower/sub/socket-tower-buying-guide).
USB on this kind of tower is mostly for phones, often under 20 W in total, so a laptop that needs 45-65 W still uses its own mains charger. Desk leads are mostly 1.8 m or 2 m. Choose 3 m or 5 m only for reach, and do not guess if the title and a bullet disagree. One extension per wall socket, with no daisy-chain and no flex under a rug.
A socket tower is a vertical UK extension lead: several BS 1363 sockets on a column, usually with USB-A or USB-C ports, fed by one fused plug into one wall socket. You buy one to tidy a desk, a television cabinet or a bedside table. Eight or twelve outlets still share one fuse. Judge it by the plug, the fuse, the shutters, a cable length that matches every line of the listing, and a load inside 13 A. Kettles, heaters, toasters and microwaves belong in a wall socket.
The Sameriver ZYC05 lists eight AC sockets and four USB ports at £31.34, with 4.7 from 10,100 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set. The title and the item-length row say 10 m, one bullet says 2 m, and a reviewer describes a 5 m lead, so the three lengths stay side by side. USB is listed as 17 W and 3.4 A. Four switches are described as individual and per side, and buyers praise turning pairs off, including one person helping an older relative. The current row is 13 A, while bullets say 3,250 W and the highlight also says 2,990 W. The body is called a bit flimsy, and one short review says the unit did not last very long. A bullet mentions gardens and patios, and the attributes contain no IP rating. The length clash is why this star line sits behind the top pick.
Pros
4.7 from 10,100 amazon.co.uk reviews
Plug type G, eight AC sockets and four USB ports listed at 17 W
Four switches that buyers use to kill pairs of sockets
Surge protection claimed, with child-proof shutters named in the bullet
Cons
Title and item length say 10 m, one bullet says 2 m, and a review says 5 m
3,250 W and 2,990 W both appear on a 13 A listing
No IP rating beside a patio sentence, and one review reports an early failure
Best for: A room where you want side switches and a large review sample, once you have measured the cable in the box against the 10 m title.
Less suitable: A job that depends on a known 10 m reach, outdoor use, or a printed surge rating in joules.
The Kemelo FMK235 lists eight AC sockets, four USB ports and a 3 m lead at £24.99. The line is 4.7 from 5,810 reviews, and buyers mention monitors and chargers under a desk, with some ordering a second unit. USB is three USB-A ports at 5 V / 2.4 A and one USB-C port at 5 V / 3.1 A, and a review says those ports are not on the four switches. The plug-type row says Type B, North American, while a review describes 13 A 3-pin sockets, so the listing and the review disagree and both stay visible. Surge protection is claimed without a joule number, beside a current row of 13 A and 3,250 W. One buyer noticed a slight noise at close range. The bullet says not to use it somewhere humid or hot, there is no IP rating, and the attribute dimensions disagree with a bullet.
Pros
3 m lead, eight AC sockets and four USB ports
4.7 from 5,810 amazon.co.uk reviews
Four switches for pairs of 13 A sockets
13 A and 3,250 W on the current row
Cons
Plug type filed as North American Type B
USB ports are not on the switches, according to a review
No joule figure, and a slight noise at close range
Best for: A work-from-home desk that needs about 3 m, once the plug in your hand matches the 3-pin sockets a reviewer described.
Less suitable: An order you will not inspect for a UK plug, or a place that is humid or hot.
The HAFINO night-light tower lists eight AC sockets, five USB ports and a 1.8 m lead at the captured price of £20.62. Across 2,224 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.7, and the plug-type row says Type G, which is why the listing score of 73 is the highest here and this is the top pick. USB is up to 2.4 A per port and 5 A shared, so several phones can charge while a laptop still wants its own mains brick. Four switches sit on the column. A review says the USB ports, the green indicator and the touch night light stay available when you would rather they were off, and one buyer covered the green light because it was too bright in a bedroom. The listing claims 1,800 joules and three brightness levels. The body is about 12 cm square and 875 g, and reviewers like that it is not a very tall tower. The night light does not change the 13 A, 3,250 W row.
Pros
Plug type G, 4.7 from 2,224 reviews, highest listing score in the set
Eight AC sockets, four switches and a 1.8 m lead at £20.62 captured
Five USB ports stated as 2.4 A per port and 5 A shared
1,800 joule claim and a night light with three brightness levels
Cons
USB ports, the green light and the touch light stay on in a review
1.8 m is short if the socket is across the room
Eight sockets, so a 12-way layout is a different tower
Best for: A desk that wants eight sockets, side switches and a night light, if a glow in the room is acceptable.
Less suitable: A dark bedroom, a 12-socket cluster, or a lead of 3 m or 5 m.
The KLINTOS JA-B01 lists 12 AC sockets, six USB ports and a 5 m lead in the title, at £28.03. The line is 4.7 from 1,162 reviews. USB is two USB-C ports at 5 V / 3.1 A and four USB-A ports at 5 V / 2.4 A, and buyers say charging is slower than stated. Both plug rows say Type C. The comparison leaves listed current blank, while a bullet names a 3,250 W overload trip and the attribute table also prints 13 A beside a voltage of 5 V. Surge protection is claimed at 1,400 joules, and four switches, one per side, are praised for a home office and a TV cabinet. One review says the earth pin arrived broken and the buyer fitted a new plug, another says the strain relief would not enter a skirting socket, and a further review expected a 2 m cable.
Pros
Twelve AC sockets, six USB ports and a 5 m title length
4.7 from 1,162 amazon.co.uk reviews
1,400 joule claim and four side switches
Wide spacing claimed so large adaptors do not block each other
Cons
Plug type C on both plug rows
Earth pin broken on arrival in one report
Listed current is blank in the comparison while 13 A, 5 V and 3,250 W all appear elsewhere
USB slower than the listing, and the plug body was too stiff for a low skirting socket
Best for: A room that needs about 5 m of reach and 12 sockets, after you have checked the earth pin and that the plug is a UK 13 A type.
Less suitable: A skirting-board socket with little clearance, or an order placed without looking at the Type C rows.
The toomke 12-way lists 12 AC sockets, six USB ports and a 3 m lead at £23.99, with plug type G. The line is 4.7 from 624 reviews. USB is three USB-C ports at 5 V / 3 A and three USB-A ports at 5 V / 2.4 A, with a stated total of 3.8 A or 19 W, and reviewers say it works and is not fast. Four switches are used to isolate groups, including AV kit, without pulling every plug. Large adaptors above the earth pin block the next socket. One unit beeped continuously until the seller replaced it, and a side button failed after about 12 months of light use, after which that buyer stopped treating the tower as safe. Four non-slip mats are claimed on a two-sided column weighing 1.09 kg, overload protection is claimed without joules, and the extra reach is still one 13 A plug.
Pros
Twelve AC sockets, plug type G and a 3 m lead
4.7 from 624 amazon.co.uk reviews at £23.99
Six USB ports with a stated 19 W total
Four switches and four non-slip mats claimed
Cons
USB is not fast in reviews
Bulky adaptors block a neighbour
One unit beeped until replacement, and a side button failed after about a year
Best for: A desk or a small lab that needs 12 sockets and about 3 m, if you will stop using it when a switch fails.
Less suitable: A setup of large plug-in bricks, or anyone who wants a joule rating and a long failure-free record in the reviews.
The Addtam AD6WC2UK puts eight AC sockets and four USB ports on a 1.8 m braided lead, listed at £17.99. The line is 4.7 from 584 reviews, and the plug-type row says Type G, which is why this is the best value in the set. USB-A is listed up to 2.4 A and each USB-C port up to 3 A. A switch is not stated, and there is no joule rating. The listing claims short-circuit, over-current, over-temperature and over-voltage protection, plus child-safety shutters. Reviewers call it tidier than a flat lead behind a small TV, mention the braid, and one says it does not get hot in their use. The reservation that does appear is USB speed. The first 50 reviews do not repeat a melt or a return, and they also do not show years of wear.
Pros
£17.99 with plug type G on the listing
4.7 from 584 amazon.co.uk reviews
Eight AC sockets, two USB-A and two USB-C on a 1.8 m braided lead
13 A and 3,250 W at 250 V, with shutters claimed
Cons
No joule figure in the attributes
A switch is not stated
One buyer is unsure the USB ports charge quickly
Best for: A small TV or a desk where eight sockets and a short braided lead are enough, and you can live without a printed joule rating.
Less suitable: A 3 m or 5 m run, a 12-socket layout, or a buyer who wants a surge energy figure before they pay.
No joule figure is in the captured attributes. The bullet lists short-circuit, over-current, over-temperature, over-voltage, and over-charge protection.
What did reviews say about USB speed?
One buyer says the USB ports work but is not sure they charge particularly fast.
The Wolf Power WPTEL-271125 lists 12 sockets the bullet calls UK plugs, six USB ports and a 2 m lead at £22.98. The line is 4.7 from 139 reviews, a smaller sample than the towers with thousands of ratings. Four switches, one per side, let reviewers run a printer, a NAS, a lamp, a router and a phone from one column. Surge protection is claimed without a joule figure, and a 13 A fused plug is claimed. USB is two USB-C ports and four USB-A ports, and more than one review says it is not fast charging even though the bullet says smart charging. Awkward plugs waste a neighbouring socket, and one buyer found the footprint larger than the photos. The material attribute offers ABS, polycarbonate or metal, so the case is not pinned down, and twelve holes do not raise the 13 A row.
Pros
Twelve sockets filed as Type G, with four side switches
4.7 from 139 amazon.co.uk reviews at £22.98
Six USB ports and a 2 m lead
13 A fused plug claimed
Cons
Only 139 reviews
No joule figure
USB is not fast charging in more than one review, and bulky plugs waste a socket
Best for: A small cluster of low-power kit where 12 sockets and side switches matter more than a large review sample.
Less suitable: Fast USB charging, a known surge energy in joules, or a lead longer than 2 m.
This HAFINO tower lists 12 AC sockets, five USB ports and a 1.8 m lead at £24.63, with 4.6 from 3,886 reviews. One USB-C port is claimed at 18 W, with USB-A up to 2.4 A per port, and a buyer says charging was slower than the listing. The plug-type row says Type B and the power-plug row says Type G, so both lines stay visible. The surge attribute prints 3,250 watts, which is the load figure, not joules, beside a 13 A current row. Reviewers describe a compact, sturdy column for mixed devices. One asks for a steadier base so it does not topple. The number-of-items field says 17 on a single-tower title. Twelve sockets do not raise the 13 A line, and the pins are not settled until you see them.
Pros
Twelve AC sockets and five USB ports, with an 18 W USB-C claim
4.6 from 3,886 amazon.co.uk reviews
1.8 m lead and a 13 A, 3,250 W current row
Switches are claimed on the listing
Cons
Plug type B on one row and Type G on the other
Surge cell prints 3,250 watts, which is load, not joules
USB slower than the listing for at least one buyer, and the base can topple
Best for: A desk that needs 12 sockets and an 18 W USB-C claim, after you have checked that the plug is BS 1363.
Less suitable: A buyer who will not open the carton to settle a Type B row, or anyone who reads 3,250 W in the surge cell as stored energy.
The TESSAN TPS03-UK-C stands eight AC sockets on four faces, with three USB ports and a 2 m lead, listed at £25.99. Across 3,691 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.6, and buyers describe it as tidier than a flat multi-plug on a windowsill or a floor. A single switch on the top cuts the whole tower, which several reviews call handy, and the listing claims 1,700 joules with a red surge light and a green earth light. The current rows disagree: one says 8 A and another says a maximum of 101 A, so both figures stay on the table until you read the plate. Some plugs need force to seat, and the column will not stay upright once the plugs are bulkier than a standard 3-pin. At least one buyer called the cable short. Eight sockets still share that one plug.
Pros
Eight AC sockets and three USB ports on a 2 m lead
4.6 from 3,691 amazon.co.uk reviews
Plug type G on the listing, with a single top switch
Surge claim of 1,700 joules, plus four non-slip pads
Cons
Current rows print both 8 A and 101 A
Will not stay upright with oversized plugs
Some sockets need a hard push, and one buyer called the cable short
Best for: A desk or windowsill where you want eight sockets, a top switch and a stated joule figure, and you will check the amp plate because the listing disagrees with itself.
Less suitable: A run longer than 2 m, a dark bedroom that needs every light off, or any setup that leans on bulky adaptors to keep the tower upright.
The hotimy HOTIMY-PC2M14-3250 lists eight AC sockets, four USB-C ports and two USB-A ports on a 2 m lead at £21.99. The line is 4.6 from 2,186 reviews. The USB bullet caps the group at 3.6 A or 18 W, and a buyer called the charging not brilliant. Two side switches are claimed, without a separate master switch. The plug-type row says Type C, which is not a description of a BS 1363 plug, and overload cut-off is claimed with no joule figure beside the 3,250 W in the model code. Buyers like the tall shape and a reviewer mentions the digital load display. One says the tower still topples however the plugs are arranged, and others wish the 2 m cable were longer.
Pros
Eight AC sockets plus four USB-C and two USB-A ports
4.6 from 2,186 amazon.co.uk reviews
Two side switches, a 2 m lead and an overload cut-off claim
A digital voltage and current display mentioned by a reviewer
Cons
Plug type C on the attribute row
One buyer says it topples however the plugs are arranged
USB described as weak, and 2 m is short for some rooms
Best for: A desk that wants several USB-C ports and a load display, after the plug in the box matches a UK socket.
Less suitable: A hallway or a carpet edge where a tip is likely, or a buyer who needs the listing to say Type G before they order.
This toomke tower lists eight AC sockets, three USB-C ports and three USB-A ports on a 1.8 m lead at £19.99. The line is 4.6 from 1,875 reviews. The listing says four switches each govern two AC outlets and leave the USB ports unaffected. A buyer cites about 15 W on USB-C and 12 W on USB-A and felt that was not enough. The plug-type row says Type B and the power-plug row says Type G, so the conflict stays on the table. Overload protection is claimed without joules, beside a current row of 13 A and 3,250 W. One buyer returned it because eight sockets were too few, another reports fan noise while it stays on, and the plug arrived scuffed for a third.
Pros
Eight AC sockets and six USB ports on a 1.8 m lead
4.6 from 1,875 amazon.co.uk reviews
Four switches, with the listing stating that USB stays on
13 A and 3,250 W on the current row, at £19.99
Cons
Type B and Type G both printed
A buyer quotes 15 W and 12 W and wanted faster USB
Eight sockets were too few for one setup, and one review reports fan noise
Best for: An older house with too few wall sockets, where you want side switches and you accept that USB stays live.
Less suitable: A 12-socket layout, a laptop that needs a high-watt USB-C charge, or a buyer who needs one plug type on the listing.
The SE UKASE T8A2C is an eight-socket tower with two USB-A ports, one USB-C port and a 2 m lead, listed at £17.99. The captured line is 4.4 from 65 reviews, the thinnest sample in this set. The bullet claims a BS 1363 plug, a 13 A fuse, a 1.25 mm² three-core cable and a Type 3 surge device quoted as Uc 255 V, Uoc 3 kV and Up 1.5 kV line to neutral. Load is printed as 13 A and 3,120 W at 240 V, and the USB group is 2.4 A in total. Buyers mention angled sockets and shutters when several plugs are in. One UK review says the kill switch named in the listing was not on the unit. Another reports a burnt-plastic smell and overheating in a living room, which is the reason this price does not become the best value.
Pros
Plug type G, with a BS 1363 and 1.25 mm² cable claim
Eight AC sockets, a 2 m lead and a stated 13 A, 3,120 W line
Type 3 surge figures printed as voltages, not only a watt headline
£17.99 in the captured price
Cons
4.4 from only 65 reviews
A review reports a burnt-plastic smell and overheating
The kill switch in the bullet was missing for one buyer
Best for: A kitchen of small gadgets if you want a Type G listing at £17.99 and you will unplug at the first hot smell.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a large review sample, a switch they can see on day one, or a lead they will leave running unattended.
Yes. The bullet says it complies with BS 1363 and quotes a 13 A fused plug. Confirm the mark on the plug you receive.
What USB output is stated?
2 USB-A and 1 USB-C with a total of 2.4 A. That is a phone-charging claim, not a laptop power-delivery figure.
Did reviewers find every listed control?
One UK review says the kill switch described in the listing was missing. Another describes a burnt-plastic smell and overheating.
How we compared
Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. The stored score uses up to 50 points for stars, up to 20 for review volume and 10 for a Type G plug row. Those three blocks are shown here as weights that sum to 100. Six points come off one row because the title says 10 m and a bullet says 2 m. That penalty is not a fourth weight. Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the figures in the stored listings. No lab test was run. The top pick is the highest total. The best value is the lowest price among the other rows with plug type G and an amazon rating of at least 4.6. It is not the second-highest score.
1
Amazon star line
62%
Star points equal the amazon rating divided by 5, times 50, then rounded. That block is the largest share of the listing score. There was no lab test and no separate safety mark.
2
Review volume
25%
Review-volume points are 20 at 5,000 reviews or more, 16 at 2,000 or more, 12 at 1,000 or more, 10 at 400 or more, 6 at 100 or more, and 3 otherwise.
3
UK plug type
13%
Ten points apply only when the plug-type row starts with Type G. Type B or Type C scores nothing on this block, because a UK wall socket is BS 1363 and that row does not show it.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Socket tower buying guide
The checks run in this order: the UK plug and fuse, the 13 A load, the cable length, then socket count, switches, USB and any stated joule figure. The table is the twelve stored amazon.co.uk listings. Joule figures stay maker claims. None of these towers was tested in a lab for this page.
What is a socket tower?
A socket tower is a vertical UK extension lead. Several BS 1363 sockets sit on a column, usually with USB-A or USB-C ports, and one fused plug goes into one wall socket. People use one on a desk, under a television or beside a bed when a flat bar wastes space or blocks large adaptors. It does not add power. Eight or twelve outlets share one BS 1362 fuse, normally 13 A. Electrical Safety First says use one extension per wall socket and do not daisy-chain.
Best for
A desk, bedside table or television cabinet where a flat bar wastes space
Low-power kit that can share one 13 A plug
Not ideal for
Kettles, heaters, toasters and microwaves together on one lead
Outdoor use, because no IP rating is established
Mistakes to avoid
1
Reading 3,250 W as extra power
A 3,250 W line is usually 13 A at 250 V. Eight or twelve sockets do not multiply it. USB ports are not mains outlets. Do not daisy-chain, and do not run the flex under a rug.
2
Trusting a conflicting length or plug row
If the title says 10 m and a bullet says 2 m, those are two claims. If one row says Type B or Type C and another says Type G, the plug is unresolved until you see the pins.
3
Assuming a side switch isolates USB
Socket switches are not a promise that the USB rail goes off. On more than one tower in this set, reviews or the listing say the USB ports stay live. A hot smell, scorch marks or sparks means stop using the tower.
What to weigh up
Plug, load and cable length
High
Start with the plug. A domestic lead needs a correctly fitted BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse, normally 13 A. In this table, Type G with no second plug line appears on the night-light tower, the Addtam, the TESSAN, the SE UKASE, the Sameriver, the Wolf Power and the toomke 12-way. The HAFINO 12-way and the toomke 8-way print Type B and Type G. The hotimy and the KLINTOS print Type C. The Kemelo plug row says Type B, North American, while a review describes 13 A 3-pin sockets.
Sockets, switches, USB and surge
High
Count AC sockets apart from USB. Eight sockets suit a desk. Twelve help when plug-in bricks are bulky. Neither count raises the 13 A fuse. A switch per face is useful for standby. The night-light tower, the Sameriver, the KLINTOS, the toomke 8-way, the Wolf Power, the Kemelo and the toomke 12-way state four switches. The hotimy states two side switches. The TESSAN has one switch on the top for the whole tower. The Addtam does not state a switch. The HAFINO 12-way says switches without a count.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
💻
Home office desk
You want about eight sockets, a short cable and USB for phones, with the laptop brick in a mains socket. The HAFINO 8-way tower with night light is the top pick at about £20.62, with 4.7 from 2,224 reviews, Type G and a 1,800 joule claim. A review says the USB ports and the lights stay on.
You want room for bulky adaptors and a switch on each face. The Wolf Power 12-socket tower is about £22.98, with 4.7 from 139 reviews, Type G, 12 sockets and four side switches on a 2 m lead. The review sample is small, and there is no joule figure.
You need a 13 A lead for now, and a plan to stop using it as a permanent socket. The Addtam 8-way tower is the best value at about £17.99, with 4.7 from 584 reviews and Type G. No switch is stated, and there is no joule figure. The 13 A limit still applies.
The top pick is the HAFINO 8-way tower with night light at about £20.62. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.7 from 2,224 reviews, the plug-type row says Type G, and the listing claims 1,800 joules. It has the highest listing score in this set, 73. A review says the USB ports, the green light and the touch light stay on. It is not a lab result, and the night light does not change the 13 A row.
Which socket tower is the best value?
The best value is the Addtam 8-way tower at about £17.99. It is the lowest price among the other rows with plug type G and an amazon rating of at least 4.6. The line is 4.7 from 584 reviews, with eight sockets and a 1.8 m braided lead. No switch is stated, and there is no joule figure. It is not the second-highest score. The SE UKASE is the same shelf price, with 4.4 from 65 reviews and a hot-smell review, so that price does not take this badge.
What should you check before you buy?
Check the plug first. A domestic lead needs a BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse, normally 13 A. If a row says Type B or Type C, the plug is unresolved until you see the pins. Then match the cable length across the title and the bullets, and keep the load inside 13 A. Extra sockets and USB ports do not add amps. This page did not run a lab test.
Do twelve sockets mean more than 13 A?
No. The plug fuse is 13 A. Eight sockets, twelve sockets or USB ports do not raise that limit. A 3,250 W line is usually 13 A at 250 V, not headroom. Kent Fire and Rescue Service tells households to stay within 13 A or 3,000 W. Use one extension per wall socket. Do not daisy-chain, and do not put a kettle, a toaster and a microwave on one tower.
What if the listing says Type B or Type C?
Treat the plug as unresolved. Type B in these tables is a North American 3-pin. Type C is not a BS 1363 description either. The HAFINO 12-way and the toomke 8-way print Type B and Type G in different fields. The hotimy and the KLINTOS print Type C. The Kemelo row says Type B, while a review describes 13 A 3-pin sockets. Look at the pins before you rely on the tower in a UK socket.
Will the built-in USB ports charge a laptop?
Not from the watt lines captured here. The stated USB totals are mostly phone-level, often under 20 W. A laptop that needs 45-65 W still uses its own charger in a mains socket. Do not assume a side switch turns the USB ports off unless that listing says so. On the night-light tower, a review says the USB ports stay active.
Does a joule figure stop a lightning strike?
No. A stated joule figure is the maker's claim for how much spike energy the parts are said to absorb. It is not a measurement from this page, and it is not a lightning arrester. The IET says a Type 3 device near the equipment only supplements Type 2 protection at the consumer unit. Surge protection is not overload protection. Several towers in this set claim surge protection and state no joules at all.
When should you call an electrician?
Call a registered electrician when the wall socket is warm or cracked, cores are visible, a breaker trips on ordinary loads, or the room needs permanent sockets. A hot tower, scorched plastic or sparks means stop using it. A renter who cannot add sockets still needs a plan to stop using a lead as a permanent socket. The 13 A limit still applies.
Our verdict
The top pick is the HAFINO 8-way tower with night light at about £20.62. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.7 from 2,224 reviews, the plug-type row says Type G, and the listing claims 1,800 joules. That is the highest listing score in this set, 73. A review says the USB ports, the green light and the touch light stay on. The best value is the Addtam 8-way tower at about £17.99, the lowest price among the other Type G rows rated at least 4.6. It has 4.7 from 584 reviews, eight sockets and a 1.8 m lead. No switch is stated, and there is no joule figure. It is not the second-highest score. This page did not run a lab test.
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to socket towers
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Sources taken from the research digest. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings. This page did not run a lab test.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.