Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Outdoor cable reel comparison 2026

The best outdoor cable reels, compared.

Top pick: Masterplug 25 m open reel – Open 25 m four-socket reel at about £24.00, 4.7 from 4,909 reviews, thermal cut-out and a BS EN 61242 claim. No IP line. Strongest general listing for a run you will unwind. Best value: Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette – 10 m four-socket cassette at about £16.69, 4.6 from 2,696 reviews, with a switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out. No IP rating. Fits a short dry patio job. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An outdoor cable reel is a portable drum of mains flex with one or more UK 13 A sockets, for a garden or a temporary job beyond a short lead. Buyers are householders with lawn tools and light trade users who want 230 V reach without a new socket. Judge the reel by the length you will fully unwind, the unwound current on the label, the lower current allowed while cable is still on the drum, and a thermal cut-out in the body. Under BS EN 61242 the fuse in a BS 1363 plug does not protect a wound drum, so the reel needs that cut-out, a current cut-out, or a weak point. Four sockets still share one plug limit. The word outdoor in a title does not state an IP rating. IP54 means dust-protected and protected against splashing water. A reel is a temporary lead, and outdoor equipment still needs RCD protection from the circuit, the socket or an adaptor. Unwind steps are in the [how to unwind an outdoor cable reel](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/outdoor-cable-reel/sub/outdoor-cable-reel-how-to-unwind).

An outdoor cable reel is a portable drum of mains flex with one or more UK 13 A sockets, for a garden or a temporary job beyond a short lead.

Masterplug 25 m open reel

Best overall

Masterplug 25 m open reel
8.4/10∼ £24

41 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best outdoor cable reels compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Masterplug 25 m open reel
Status 25 m open reel
Status 15 m two-socket reel
Status 10 m two-socket reel
SLx 30 m IP54 reel
SLx 20 m IP54 reel
Best value
Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette
SLx 30 m metal-frame reel
Masterplug 20 m IP54 case
SLx 10 m garden reel
Masterplug 50 m Pro-XT
URCHOICE 30 m IP54 reel
8.4/10
7.4/10
7.0/10
6.8/10
8.2/10
8.6/10
7.3/10
7.6/10
8.5/10
7.2/10
7.7/10
7.8/10
∼ £24
∼ £26
∼ £20
∼ £17
∼ £45
∼ £35
∼ £17
∼ £45
∼ £42
∼ £20
∼ £61
∼ £40
4.7(4,909)
4.6(21,068)
4.6(21,068)
4.6(21,068)
4.6(4,162)
4.6(4,160)
4.6(2,696)
4.6(2,494)
4.6(2,212)
4.6(1,660)
4.6(972)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best outdoor cable reels in detail

Masterplug 25 m open reel

Rank 1

Masterplug 25 m open reel

∼£24

Our view

The Masterplug LDCC2513/4BL-MP is a 25 m open four-socket reel marked 13 A, at about £24.00, with 4.7 from 4,909 reviews. The bullets say a thermal cut-out with a manual reset, shuttered sockets, a steel frame, an impact-resistant drum and manufacture to BS EN 61242. Reviewers compare it with an old cassette and call this frame sturdier and easier to wind, and one owner who bought in 2015 says it is still in use. High-visibility cable that stays off a wet floor is praised, and defect notes in the sampled reviews are few. An RCD is not in the box: one UK reviewer fitted an inline RCD because a plug-in RCD would not fit their outdoor socket. A review mentions a power indicator that the bullets do not list. It is the strongest general listing here for a run you will actually unwind. It is the wrong reel for a wet lawn, because no IP rating is stated, and it is more reel than you need for a 10 m garage job.

Pros

  • 25 m, four sockets, marked 13 A, at about £24.00
  • 4.7 from 4,909 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Thermal cut-out, shuttered sockets and a BS EN 61242 claim
  • Reviewers find the open frame easier to wind than an old cassette

Cons

  • No IP rating, so it is the dry-run reel
  • RCD is not included
  • A review mentions a power indicator the bullets do not list
  • Heavier and longer than a 10 m job needs

Best for: You will unwind about 25 m for garage, driveway or workshop tools, and the sockets stay dry.

Less suitable: You only need 10 m, or you will use the sockets on a wet lawn.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 25 m open reel
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.7/5(4,909)
Length
25 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Open
Cut-out
Manual reset
Weight
3.42 kg

Common questions

Is the cable on an open frame?

Yes. The listing calls it an open cable reel with an impact-resistant drum and a steel frame, plus a wind handle and a carry handle.

Does it name a safety standard?

The bullets say it is manufactured to BS EN 61242 and that the thermal cut-out needs a manual reset. That claim is on the listing. This page did not lab-test the reel.

Is an RCD included?

No. One UK reviewer bought a separate inline RCD because a plug-in RCD would not fit their outdoor socket. None of these twelve listings states a built-in 30 mA RCD.

Status 25 m open reel

Rank 2

Status 25 m open reel

∼£26

Our view

The Status S25M13ACR2 is a 25 m four-socket green open reel at about £25.75 with a thermal cut-out in the bullets and 13 A on the comparison line. Titles and bullets call it outdoor and garden use, yet the stored listing does not print an IP code, so it is a reach lead rather than a splash-rated case. Reviewers praise the visible cable and the winding handle compared with enclosed reels, and they also call the case flimsy or fiddly to rewind. At 4.6 from 21,068 the star line matches sibling Status listings in this comparison, so that count is not proof of 21,068 tests on this model. Weight is 3.3 kg. Unwind fully before a mower or a heater load.

Pros

  • 25 m, four sockets, green open reel at about £25.75
  • Thermal cut-out in the bullets, marked 13 A
  • Reviewers like the visible cable and the winding handle
  • Easier to wind than an enclosed reel for some wrists

Cons

  • No IP code, so it is a reach lead rather than a splash-rated case
  • Case called flimsy or fiddly to rewind
  • The 21,068-review line matches other Status listings here
  • Included-components line says bulb, which does not match a cable reel

Best for: You want a 25 m open reel with a visible green cable and you will unwind it.

Less suitable: You need an IP rating, or you will treat the 21,068-review line as a test of this model alone.

Specifications

Model
Status 25 m open reel
Brand
Status
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.6/5(21,068)
Length
25 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Open
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
3.3 kg

Common questions

Does this Status reel state an IP rating?

No. Outdoor and garden use are in the title and bullets. No IP code is printed. Do not treat the title as splash protection.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes. The listing has a thermal cut-out. The marked current applies when the cable is fully unwound. A coiled, powered drum can overheat.

Why is the review count hard to use?

The listing shows 4.6 from 21,068 reviews, and the same figure appears on other Status reels in this comparison. Read it as a shared listing total, not as a separate survey of this 25 m model.

Status 15 m two-socket reel

Rank 3

Status 15 m two-socket reel

∼£20

Our view

The Status S15M2SHBCR1PK2 is listed at about £19.95 as a 15 m green reel with two sockets, 13 A when fully unwound and 5 A when still wound, plus a thermal cut-out. Weight is 2.09 kg. The star line is 4.6 from 21,068 reviews. That count mixes other variants: many texts describe a different length or four sockets, and the included-components line says bulb. Where a review does match this shape, owners like the lime-green flex and a casing they call robust, and one person with a weak wrist found it easier to wind than an enclosed reel. Other notes call the case a little flimsy, the winding tricky, and the grip hard with arthritic fingers. Garden use is claimed and no IP code is printed. Treat 21,068 as the listing total, not as proof about this exact 15 m, two-socket model.

Pros

  • Prints 5 A wound and 13 A unwound, so the coiled limit is on the listing
  • About £19.95 for a stated 15 m lead
  • Thermal cut-out and a high-visibility green cable
  • One reviewer with a weak wrist found it easier than an enclosed reel

Cons

  • 21,068 reviews mix other lengths and socket counts
  • Included-components line says bulb
  • Case called a little flimsy, and winding is tricky for some hands
  • Garden claim with no IP code

Best for: You want a 15 m two-socket reel and you will check the title, not the mixed reviews, before you buy.

Less suitable: You need four sockets, a stated IP rating, or a review file that is clearly about this model.

Specifications

Model
Status 15 m two-socket reel
Brand
Status
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(21,068)
Length
15 m
Sockets
2
Current
13 A
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
2.09 kg

Common questions

How many sockets does this Status reel have?

The title and bullets say two sockets and 15 m. Reviews on the same listing often describe other lengths and four sockets, so use the title, not those reviews.

What load is allowed when the cable is still wound?

The bullets say up to 5 A wound and 13 A when fully unwound. That wound figure is one of the few in this set that is actually printed.

Is it waterproof?

Outdoor and garden use is claimed. No IP code is printed. The word outdoor does not state splash protection.

Status 10 m two-socket reel

Rank 4

Status 10 m two-socket reel

∼£17

Our view

This 10 m two-socket reel at about £16.95 lists Status as the brand and ION13A10MCR6 as the model, while the title uses an IONOS name. The bullets describe a thermal cut-out, 13 A and garden use, but they do not state an IP rating, so rain is not a listed protection. Listing weight is 1.47 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 21,068 on the rating line, and the stored reviews repeat text that mentions other lengths and four sockets, so that count must not be read as a separate survey of this 10 m reel. It suits a small patio job if you unwind the cable fully and stay inside the unwound rating. Store it indoors afterwards.

Pros

  • 10 m two-socket reel at about £16.95
  • Thermal cut-out and garden use in the bullets
  • 13 A on the comparison line
  • Listing weight 1.47 kg

Cons

  • No IP rating on the listing
  • The 21,068-review line is shared with other Status listings
  • Review text mentions other lengths and four sockets
  • The title is IONOS-branded while the brand field says Status

Best for: You want a short 10 m two-socket reel for a small patio and you will unwind it.

Less suitable: You need an IP rating, or you will read the 21,068 reviews as comments on this exact reel.

Specifications

Model
Status 10 m two-socket reel
Brand
Status
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(21,068)
Length
10 m
Sockets
2
Current
13 A
Reel type
Case
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
1.47 kg

Common questions

Does this 10 m listing state an IP rating?

No. Garden use is in the bullets. No IP code is printed. Rain protection is not a listed feature.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes. Stay inside the unwound rating on the label. A thermal cut-out is described. It is not a substitute for unwinding.

Whose brand is on the listing?

The brand field says Status and the model is ION13A10MCR6. The title uses an IONOS name. Check the carton against the model, and do not treat the shared 21,068 reviews as a survey of this reel alone.

SLx 30 m IP54 reel

Rank 5

SLx 30 m IP54 reel

∼£45

Our view

The SLx 90101PI/14 is a 30 m two-socket reel at about £44.99 with IP54 in the title and bullets, thermal overload protection, and a yellow cable. Listing weight is 4 kg. IP54 is splash and dust protection, not immersion or a pressure-washer jet on the sockets. Reviews describe Christmas lights and garden work, and some mention the cut-out opening when cable stayed wound, which is the behaviour Electrical Safety First describes. Read the amp line on the label before you load it. None of the bullets claim a built-in 30 mA RCD, so outdoor equipment still needs protection from the circuit or an adaptor. Close the socket covers when spare outlets are exposed.

Pros

  • 30 m, two sockets, IP54 stated, at about £44.99
  • Thermal overload protection and a yellow cable
  • 4.6 from 4,162 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviews describe garden work, and the cut-out opening when cable stayed wound

Cons

  • IP54 is splash protection, not a jet or immersion
  • No built-in 30 mA RCD in the bullets
  • Some review text appears to describe a 20 m lead
  • Socket covers need to stay closed when a spare outlet is exposed

Best for: You want about 30 m with IP54 covers for a long garden where the sockets may see rain.

Less suitable: You will aim a pressure-washer jet at the sockets, or you expected a built-in RCD.

Specifications

Model
SLx 30 m IP54 reel
Brand
SLx
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.6/5(4,162)
Length
30 m
Sockets
2
Reel type
Covered case
IP rating
IP54
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
4 kg

Common questions

Does this listing state an IP rating?

Yes. IP54 is in the title and the bullets. That is splash and dust protection. It is not immersion, and it is not a claim that a pressure-washer jet can hit the sockets.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes. Reviews mention the cut-out opening when cable stayed wound. Electrical Safety First says the marked current applies when the cable is fully off the drum.

Is a built-in RCD listed?

No. The bullets do not claim a built-in 30 mA RCD. Outdoor tools still need RCD protection from the circuit, the socket, or an adaptor.

SLx 20 m IP54 reel

Rank 6

SLx 20 m IP54 reel

∼£35

Our view

The SLx 90025PI is a 20 m yellow reel at about £34.99, rated 4.6 from 4,160 reviews, with two covered sockets, a thermal cut-out and a BSI-approved 13 A fused UK plug on the bullets. The weather line that matters is IP54 on those covers. The title also says waterproof, and IP54 is a splash claim. Reviewers use it for a mower, a shredder and a pressure washer, like the yellow cable, and say it winds back readily. One reviewer used it for outdoor car charging only with the cable fully unwound. That comment is not a design approval for EV charging. The cut-out trips if the cable stays coiled, the covers are called a bit flimsy, and at 3.08 kg it is bulkier to store than a 10 m cassette. One review says 30 m; the listing is 20 m. It is the wrong reel if you will hose the sockets or leave it in a puddle.

Pros

  • IP54 on two covered sockets
  • 20 m, 13 A, thermal cut-out and a BSI 13 A plug claim
  • 4.6 from 4,160 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Used on mowers, shredders and pressure washers in reviews

Cons

  • Title says waterproof; the printed rating is IP54 splash protection
  • Socket covers called a bit flimsy
  • 3.08 kg and bulky to store
  • Thermal cut-out trips if the cable stays coiled

Best for: You run a mower or garden tool from the house on a day with splash risk and you want covered sockets.

Less suitable: You will hose the sockets or leave the reel in standing water, or you only need a dry 10 m lead.

Specifications

Model
SLx 20 m IP54 reel
Brand
SLx
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.6/5(4,160)
Length
20 m
Sockets
2
Current
13 A
Reel type
Covered case
IP rating
IP54
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
3.08 kg

Common questions

Is this SLx reel waterproof?

The title says waterproof. The bullets say the two covered sockets are IP54 splashproof. IP54 is dust protection and protection against splashing water. It is not a claim that the reel can sit in a puddle.

Can it run a lawn mower?

The bullets say yes for a lawn mower and garden tools, at 13 A, with a thermal cut-out. Unwind the cable fully. The lead is still a temporary outdoor extension, and the sockets share one plug limit.

How long is the cable?

20 m on the title. One review says 30 m. Use 20 m when you plan the run.

Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette

Rank 7

Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette

∼£17

Our view

The Masterplug Pro-XT CMU10134SL-PX is a 10 m four-socket cassette marked 13 A, at about £16.69, with 4.6 from 2,696 reviews. The listing adds a power switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out that needs a manual reset, on a high-visibility cable. Reviewers use it for power tools once the cable is fully out, and they treat heat on a still-coiled drum as expected rather than a surprise. The rewind is the repeated complaint: there is no bar to grasp, so the case is hard to hold while you wind. One review says it may not suit very high-powered tools, and the parcel arrived in a paper bag. The item weight is printed as 320 g, which is not a credible weight for a complete 10 m reel, and the bullets say a 5-year warranty while the warranty line says N/a. No IP rating is stated. For a 10 m job at 13 A it is the useful cheap listing here, and it is the wrong reel if the route is longer than the cable or the sockets will sit in the rain.

Pros

  • 13 A on a 10 m four-socket cassette at about £16.69
  • 4.6 from 2,696 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Switch, LED and a thermal cut-out with a manual reset
  • Reviewers use it for power tools once the cable is fully out

Cons

  • Awkward to hold while rewinding
  • No IP rating on the listing
  • Printed weight of 320 g is not credible for a 10 m reel
  • Bullets say 5 years; the warranty line says N/a

Best for: You need about 10 m at 13 A, indoors or in a dry garage, and you want the switch and LED.

Less suitable: The run is longer than 10 m, or the sockets will be used in the rain.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,696)
Length
10 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Cassette
Cut-out
Manual reset
Switch
Yes

Common questions

How is this different from a 10 A cassette?

This listing is marked 13 A and adds a power switch and an LED. Another 10 m Masterplug cassette is marked 10 A. Both have four sockets and a thermal cut-out. Confirm the amp line on the carton.

Can you see when it is live?

Yes. The bullets say an LED power indicator shows that power is live, next to an integrated switch.

Is there an IP rating?

No IP code is printed on this listing. The cable is described as high-visibility. Treat it as a dry 10 m cassette.

SLx 30 m metal-frame reel

Rank 8

SLx 30 m metal-frame reel

∼£45

Our view

The SLx 90073PI/14 is a 30 m four-socket reel on a metal frame at about £44.99, rated 4.6 from 2,494 reviews, listed at 13 A and 230 V with a thermal cut-out. The bullets say a BSI-approved 13 A fused plug and a tri-core cable. The Amazon table also says plug type B, four conductors, Ethernet Cat 3 and 36 W, which conflicts with those bullets, so use the bullets for the plug. Reviewers like a frame that sits stably, the yellow cable and the reach, and more than one UK review says to unwind fully for higher-current tools. The repeated fault is mechanical: cable drops off the drum and tangles on the frame, some sockets are tight, and one review calls the reel somewhat flimsy. Indoor or outdoor use is claimed and no IP code is printed. Weight is 4.14 kg. It is the long, well-reviewed open reel when 25 m will not reach. It is not a weatherproof reel, and the table lines are not a second specification.

Pros

  • 30 m, four sockets, 13 A, 4.6 from 2,494 reviews
  • Metal frame that reviewers say sits stably
  • Thermal cut-out, and UK reviews that say to unwind for heavier tools
  • Bright yellow cable

Cons

  • Amazon table says a type B plug and 36 W, against the 13 A UK plug in the bullets
  • Cable can drop off the drum and tangle on the frame
  • Some sockets are tight, and one review calls it flimsy
  • No IP code, despite an indoor-or-outdoor claim

Best for: You need about 30 m, you will unwind it, and you will trust the 13 A plug in the bullets.

Less suitable: You need a printed IP rating, or you will be annoyed by cable that leaves the drum.

Specifications

Model
SLx 30 m metal-frame reel
Brand
SLx
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,494)
Length
30 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Open frame
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
4.14 kg

Common questions

Is the plug a UK 13 A plug?

The bullets say a BSI-approved 13 A fused mains plug and a 230 V tri-core cable. The Amazon table also says plug type B and 36 W. Those table lines conflict with the bullets. Use the bullets, and check the plug that arrives.

Do reviewers say to unwind it?

Yes. More than one UK review says to unwind the cable fully for higher-current tools. The thermal cut-out is present.

What do reviewers complain about?

Cable can drop off the drum and tangle on the frame, and some sockets are tight. One review calls the reel somewhat flimsy. No IP code is printed.

Masterplug 20 m IP54 case

Rank 9

Masterplug 20 m IP54 case

∼£42

Our view

The Masterplug HLP2013/2IP is a 20 m two-socket retractable case reel at about £41.97 with IP54 in the bullets and a thermal cut-out with manual reset. That IP code is splash protection, while the title also says weatherproof, so use the IP54 line. Reviews note convenience for garden tools and occasional reports of parts working loose after months of use. Two sockets share the 13 A ceiling of the plug when the cable is fully unwound. Weight on the listing is 3.03 kg. It fits a wet-garden job better than an open drum with no IP mark, provided you keep the covers closed. Do not plug a second reel into it to stretch the run.

Pros

  • 20 m two-socket case with IP54 at about £41.97
  • Thermal cut-out with a manual reset
  • 4.6 from 2,212 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviews note convenience for garden tools

Cons

  • Title says weatherproof; the rating to use is IP54
  • Two sockets share the 13 A ceiling when fully unwound
  • Parts reported working loose after months of use
  • Daisy-chaining a second reel is a review complaint, and it is unsafe

Best for: You want a 20 m IP54 case for garden tools and you will keep the covers closed.

Less suitable: You need more than two sockets, or you will hose the reel or leave it out all winter.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 20 m IP54 case
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,212)
Length
20 m
Sockets
2
Current
13 A
Reel type
Covered case
IP rating
IP54
Cut-out
Manual reset
Weight
3.03 kg

Common questions

Does this listing state an IP rating?

Yes. The bullets state IP54. That is dust protection and protection against splashing water. It is not a waterproof or hose-proof claim, even where the title says weatherproof.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes for the marked current. Electrical Safety First says a cable reel only reaches its marked current when unwound. Check the wound and unwound figures on the label of the reel you receive.

Is a built-in RCD listed?

No. None of the twelve listings states a built-in 30 mA RCD. Use an RCD-protected socket or adaptor for outdoor equipment.

SLx 10 m garden reel

Rank 10

SLx 10 m garden reel

∼£20

Our view

The SLx 10 m reel is a four-socket yellow garden reel at about £19.99 with a thermal cut-out and a 13 A fused UK plug in the title. Listing weight is 1.39 kg. Bullets mention garden and lawn mower use but do not print an IP rating, so treat it as a dry-day lead. Four sockets still share one fuse rating. Reviewers value the short reach for patios and sheds. Other comments say the winder tangles, plugs fit poorly, and the casing is weak. Unwind fully before loads that heat the cable, and bring the reel inside when the job is done.

Pros

  • 10 m, four sockets, yellow garden reel at about £19.99
  • Thermal cut-out and a 13 A fused UK plug in the title
  • 4.6 from 1,660 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers use the short reach for patios and sheds

Cons

  • No IP rating in the bullets
  • Four sockets still share one fuse
  • Winder tangles, and plugs can fit poorly
  • Casing called weak, and some buyers find winding difficult

Best for: You want about 10 m for a patio or shed on a dry day.

Less suitable: You need a stated IP rating, or you will run several heavy tools at once.

Specifications

Model
SLx 10 m garden reel
Brand
SLx
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,660)
Length
10 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Case
Cut-out
Yes
Weight
1.39 kg

Common questions

Does this 10 m SLx reel state an IP rating?

No. Garden and lawn-mower use are mentioned. No IP code is printed in the bullets. Use it as a dry-day lead unless you have your own rain plan.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes before loads that heat the cable. A thermal cut-out is listed. The marked current applies when the cable is fully off the drum.

Is a built-in RCD listed?

No. None of the twelve listings states a built-in 30 mA RCD. Four sockets still share the one fuse in the plug.

Masterplug 50 m Pro-XT

Rank 11

Masterplug 50 m Pro-XT

∼£61

Our view

The Masterplug OLU50134SL-PX Pro-XT is a 50 m four-socket open reel at about £60.99 with high-visibility green cable, a power switch, an LED, and a thermal cut-out in the bullets. The listing marks 13 A. The stored listing does not state an IP rating, so a long lawn run is still an open drum you store indoors, not a weatherproof enclosure left outside. Weight is about 6.13 kg, which matters if you will wind it every weekend. Reviewers like the length for large gardens and mention trip visibility from the green sheath. One review calls the handle, set back from centre, poor for winding. Do not leave most of the cable coiled while powered.

Pros

  • 50 m, four sockets, high-visibility green cable at about £60.99
  • Power switch, LED and a thermal cut-out
  • 4.6 from 972 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers like the length for large gardens

Cons

  • No IP rating on the stored listing
  • About 6.13 kg to wind each time
  • Handle set back from centre makes winding awkward for some
  • Cable must not stay coiled while the reel is powered

Best for: You need about 50 m for a large dry garden and you can wind a reel of about 6 kg.

Less suitable: You need a printed IP rating, or you will leave the cable coiled while it is powered.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 50 m Pro-XT
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£61
Customer rating
4.6/5(972)
Length
50 m
Sockets
4
Current
13 A
Reel type
Open
Cut-out
Manual reset
Switch
Yes
Weight
6.13 kg

Common questions

Does this 50 m reel state an IP rating?

No IP code is printed on the stored listing. Outdoor in the title is not splash protection. Store the open drum indoors after the job.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes. A 50 m drum left mostly wound and then powered can overheat. Electrical Safety First says the marked current applies when the cable is fully unwound.

Is a built-in RCD listed?

No. None of the twelve listings states a built-in 30 mA RCD. A long garden run still needs RCD protection from the supply.

URCHOICE 30 m IP54 reel

Rank 12

URCHOICE 30 m IP54 reel

∼£40

Our view

The URCHOICE 30 m two-socket reel at about £39.99 states IP54 and a thermal cut-out in the bullets, with a 13 A rating in the title. This capture had no customer reviews, so the amazon.co.uk evidence is thin beside the SLx IP54 reels. Treat IP54 as splash protection only, unwind fully before a 13 A tool load, and confirm the plug is a correctly fitted BS 1363 assembly on delivery. It is a mid-price long wet-garden option if the label matches the listing on the carton you receive. Weight is not stated.

Pros

  • 30 m two-socket reel at about £39.99
  • IP54 and a thermal cut-out stated in the bullets
  • 13 A rating in the title

Cons

  • No customer reviews in this capture
  • IP54 is splash protection only
  • Confirm the BS 1363 plug on delivery
  • Amazon evidence is thin beside the SLx IP54 reels

Best for: You want a 30 m IP54 reel and you will check the plug and the label on the carton.

Less suitable: You want a reel with a deep set of UK reviews, or you will treat IP54 as waterproof.

Specifications

Model
URCHOICE 30 m IP54 reel
Brand
URCHOICE
Price
∼£40
Length
30 m
Sockets
2
Current
13 A
Reel type
Covered case
IP rating
IP54
Cut-out
Yes

Common questions

Does this listing state an IP rating?

Yes. The bullets state IP54. That is splash and dust protection. It is not a waterproof claim, and this capture has no reviews to show how the covers behave in rain.

Do I need to unwind the cable fully?

Yes. A cable reel reaches its marked current when the cable is fully off the drum. The title states 13 A. Check the wound rating on the label before a heavy tool.

Is a built-in RCD listed?

No. None of the twelve listings states a built-in 30 mA RCD. Use an RCD-protected socket or adaptor for outdoor equipment.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf date 20 October 2026. Stars, review counts, lengths and IP lines come from those listings. A garden title without an IP code is not scored as weather protection. Four sockets share one plug fuse. There was no lab test. The highest splash score and the top-pick award are different rows: the award is the open 25 m reel for a typical unwound garden job.

1

Amazon evidence

30%

Stars and review count on amazon.co.uk for that listing. A missing review line scores near the floor. The same 21,068 figure repeated on three Status listings is not treated as three separate surveys.

2

Listing fit

35%

Length you can fully unwind, stated current, a thermal cut-out, and an IP code when rain is the job. A title that only says outdoor does not score as splash protection. Four sockets still share one 13 A plug limit.

3

Review outcome

20%

What buyers report about winding, socket covers, cut-out trips and cable that leaves the drum. A comment about car charging or a hot tub is not a design approval.

4

Value

15%

GBP on amazon.co.uk against a typical unwound 13 A garden job. The 10 m cassette takes the value award for a short dry run. The lowest price does not win this block on its own.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Outdoor cable reel buying guide

The checks run in this order: length you will fully unwind, unwound and wound current, a stated IP rating if rain is likely, then the thermal cut-out and the UK plug. The table is the twelve stored listings. There was no lab test.

What is an outdoor cable reel?

An outdoor cable reel is a drum of flexible mains cable with one or more BS 1363 sockets, meant to be unwound for a job and wound back afterwards. It is a temporary lead. On amazon.co.uk the usual buyers are householders mowing, trimming or pressure-washing, people who need a short patio lead, and light trade users on 230 V. A 110 V site system is a different product. Length comes first. Buy the shortest reel that reaches, then unwind it.

Best for

  • A mower, trimmer or pressure washer that needs 15–30 m of temporary reach
  • A short dry patio job if you still unwind the cassette

Not ideal for

  • A permanent garden socket, a hot tub, or EV charging
  • Anyone leaving most of the cable coiled while the reel is powered

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Leaving the cable on the drum

    A coiled, powered reel can melt its insulation. Buy the shortest length that reaches, unwind it, and use the wound current if any cable must stay on the drum. One 15 m listing prints 5 A wound and 13 A unwound.

  2. 2

    Reading outdoor as waterproof

    IP54 means dust-protected and protected against splashing water. Several titles say outdoor and print no IP code. Four sockets still share one plug limit, and a thermal cut-out is not a 30 mA RCD.

  3. 3

    Trusting a shared review count

    Three Status listings show 4.6 from 21,068 reviews, including comments about four sockets on a two-socket reel. Use the title and the amp line for that model. Do not daisy-chain a second reel.

What to weigh up

Length and current

High

Buy the shortest reel you will fully unwind. Leaving cable on the drum is how these products overheat. The unwound current is often the 13 A of the BS 1363 plug once the cable is fully out. Four sockets share that one limit. They do not provide four times 13 A. Wound current is lower, and it is not printed on every listing. The Status 15 m reel is the row that states 13 A unwound and 5 A wound. Other models differ, so read the label on the carton.

Weather, plug and storage

High

Prefer a marked IP rating if rain or wet grass is likely. IP54 on the SLx 20 m, the Masterplug 20 m case, the SLx 30 m and the URCHOICE 30 m means dust-protected and protected against splashing water. It does not mean hosing, immersion, or leaving the reel out all winter. Open drums in this set, including the 25 m top pick and the 50 m Pro-XT, have no IP code in the stored listings. A high-visibility green or yellow sheath helps you see the cable in grass. It is not an electrical rating.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Mower, trimmer or pressure washer

You need about 15–30 m of temporary reach and the sockets may see rain. The SLx 20 m IP54 reel is about £34.99, with 4.6 from 4,160 reviews, two covered sockets and a thermal cut-out. IP54 is splash protection. The covers are called a bit flimsy, and the cut-out trips if the cable stays coiled.

Short patio or dry garage

One small tool, about 10 m, and the sockets stay dry. The Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette is the best value at about £16.69, with 4.6 from 2,696 reviews, four sockets, a switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out. No IP rating is stated, and the rewind is awkward.

Light trade on 230 V

You want a cut-out, a stated household-reel standard, and a length you will actually unwind. The Masterplug 25 m open reel is the top pick at about £24.00, with 4.7 from 4,909 reviews and a BS EN 61242 claim. No IP rating is stated. Workplace checks still follow your employer’s rules.

Common questions about outdoor cable reels

Which outdoor cable reel is the top pick?
The top pick is the Masterplug 25 m open reel, model LDCC2513/4BL-MP, at about £24.00. The amazon.co.uk line in this file is 4.7 from 4,909 reviews, with four sockets, a thermal cut-out that needs a manual reset, and a BS EN 61242 claim. No IP rating is stated, so it is for a run you will unwind with the sockets dry. The SLx 20 m IP54 reel scores higher for covered sockets and is the splash option.
Which outdoor cable reel is the best value?
The best value is the Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette, model CMU10134SL-PX, at about £16.69. The stored line is 4.6 from 2,696 reviews, with four sockets marked 13 A, a switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out. No IP rating is stated. The rewind is awkward, and a printed weight of 320 g is not credible for a complete 10 m reel. It fits a short dry patio or garage job.
What does an outdoor cable reel cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this 20 October 2026 capture, reels without a stated IP rating run about £16.69 to £25.75. IP54 reels of 20 m to 30 m run about £34.99 to £44.99. The 50 m open Masterplug Pro-XT is about £60.99 and has no IP code in the stored listing. Prices move. Confirm the live amazon.co.uk figure before you buy. These are stored shelf prices, not a quote.
Do you have to unwind an outdoor cable reel fully?
Yes, if you want the unwound current on the label. Cable left on the drum is how these products overheat. Electrical Safety First says not to use a reel that does not clearly have a cut-out, and not to daisy-chain a second reel. One 15 m Status listing prints 13 A unwound and 5 A wound. Other models differ, so read the label on the reel you receive. A thermal cut-out is not a reason to leave the drum coiled.
Does IP54 mean an outdoor cable reel is waterproof?
No. IP54 means dust-protected and protected against splashing water. It does not mean a hose, a puddle, or leaving the reel outside all winter. In this set, IP54 is stated on the SLx 20 m, the Masterplug 20 m case, the SLx 30 m and the URCHOICE 30 m. Several other titles say outdoor and print no IP code. Use the IP line, not the word outdoor.
Can four sockets run four 13 A tools at once?
No. Four sockets share the limit of the one BS 1363 plug, normally 13 A when the cable is fully unwound. They do not provide four times 13 A. A thermal cut-out is also not a 30 mA RCD. None of these twelve listings states a built-in RCD. Outdoor equipment still needs that protection from the circuit, the socket, or an RCD adaptor.
When should you call an electrician?
Call an electrician for a permanent outdoor socket, a circuit with no RCD, a melted or repeatedly tripping reel, or a supply for a hot tub or a workshop. Do not rewire the plug. A reel is a temporary lead. A straight outdoor lead without a drum is a different comparison: the outdoor extension lead comparison. Fixed garden wiring is an electrician’s job.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Masterplug 25 m open reel at about £24.00, with 4.7 from 4,909 reviews, four sockets, a thermal cut-out with manual reset, shuttered sockets and a BS EN 61242 claim. No IP rating is stated, so unwind it and keep the sockets dry. The best value is the Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette at about £16.69, with 4.6 from 2,696 reviews, a switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out. No IP rating is stated. The SLx 20 m IP54 reel scores higher for covered sockets, at about £34.99, and it is the splash-rated option rather than this award.

Best overall
Masterplug 25 m open reel

Masterplug 25 m open reel

Open 25 m four-socket reel at about £24.00, 4.7 from 4,909 reviews, thermal cut-out and a BS EN 61242 claim. No IP line. Strongest general listing for a run you will unwind.

View offer
Best value
Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette

Masterplug Pro-XT 10 m cassette

10 m four-socket cassette at about £16.69, 4.6 from 2,696 reviews, with a switch, an LED and a thermal cut-out. No IP rating. Fits a short dry patio job.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to outdoor cable reels

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored on 20 October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. BSI Knowledge — BS EN 61242:1997+A13:2017 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  2. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — extension leads and cable reels (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  4. Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Service — unwinding extension cables (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  5. NICEIC — gardens and electrics (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  6. HSE — INDG236 Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  7. OPSS — product safety report 2511-0272 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  8. Hammond — IEC 60529 IP code tables (retrieved 20.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.