Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Childproof socket covers comparison 2026

The best childproof socket covers, compared.

Top pick: 10-pack inserts, HF-123 Best value: Norjews 20-pack inserts – Best balance of stars, review count and pack price among blanking inserts: 4.6 from 1,562 reviews at about £5.99. Shutters still open. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Childproof socket covers are plastic accessories for UK BS 1363 three-pin wall outlets. People buy them as an extra barrier while toddlers explore, or to stop a rocker being knocked. The range splits into plug-in blanking inserts that copy a plug, covers that sit on the faceplate or box over a plug left in place, and guards that cover only the switch. A compliant UK socket already has shutters under BS 1363-2. BEAMA, the IET, RoSPA and an NHS estates alert say plug-in inserts are not made to an electrical safety standard and can defeat those shutters or damage the contacts. Unused holes, a live plug a child might pull, and switch tampering are different jobs. The shutter rules are on the [UK socket safety](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/childproof-socket-covers/sub/childproof-socket-covers-uk-socket-safety) page. Check the plate, whether anything enters the outlet, and whether the plug stays in. Adhesive needs a clean, dry faceplate. A screw-on box needs a compatible back box and enough depth. A switch guard does not blank the pin holes. The shutters already fitted, plus supervision, remain the baseline.

Childproof socket covers are plastic accessories for UK BS 1363 three-pin wall outlets. People buy them as an extra barrier while toddlers explore, or to stop a rocker being knocked.

10-pack inserts, HF-123

Best overall

10-pack inserts, HF-123
5.1/10∼ £4

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

11 of 11: Best childproof socket covers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
10-pack inserts, HF-123
BABYGO 12 adhesive discs
Best value
Norjews 20-pack inserts
ZHIYE 24-pack inserts
10-pack plug-in inserts, white
24-pack plug-in inserts, white
4 switch guards, white
SAFELON double box
EUDEMON double box
Double clip cover, 1 pack
2-pack adhesive flip covers
5.1/10
8.4/10
7.7/10
7.0/10
7.2/10
6.9/10
7.8/10
7.9/10
7.2/10
5.4/10
4.4/10
∼ £4
∼ £10
∼ £6
∼ £6
∼ £4
∼ £6
∼ £5
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £8
∼ £6
5.0(1)
4.8(43)
4.6(1,562)
4.5(210)
4.4(4,153)
4.4(917)
4.4(311)
4.2(489)
4.1(114)
3.6(84)
3.2(22)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best childproof socket covers in detail

10-pack inserts, HF-123

Rank 1

10-pack inserts, HF-123

Our view

Model HF-123 is a 10-pack of white push-in guards at £3.95, the lowest shelf price in this file, with finger-grip edges and a BPA-free claim. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from a single review, and this snapshot has no praise or complaint text to quote. Package size is printed as 27.7 × 11.9 × 2.8 cm and 130 g, which is the listing’s figure rather than a measured check. Rank 22 in Plug Socket Covers is Amazon’s placement, not evidence that the fit matches the 4,153-review 10-pack. Treat it as an unproven blanking insert of the same pin-in type. Skip it when you want a review sample you can actually read before you buy.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price here at £3.95 for 10
  • Finger-grip edges on the listing
  • BPA-free plastic claim
  • Tool-free push-in install
  • Stated pack weight of 130 g

Cons

  • Only one amazon.co.uk review in the file
  • No review text to judge fit or removal
  • Pins enter the socket like the other inserts
  • A 5.0 score on one rating is not a sample

Best for: You already know this insert shape and you are buying on the £3.95 price alone.

Less suitable: You want review evidence, a no-pin cover, or anything other than an unused-socket blank.

Specifications

Model
10-pack inserts, HF-123
Brand
–
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Cover type
Plug-in insert
Enters socket
Yes
Pack size
10
Live plug use
No
Switch protection
No
Installation
Push-in
Material
Plastic
BPA-free
Yes

Common questions

Does HF-123 go inside the socket?

Yes. It is a push-in three-pin blank, the same pin-in type as the other inserts. The listing has one amazon.co.uk review and no review text in this snapshot.

Is HF-123 for unused sockets?

Typical use is blanking unused outlets. A 5.0 from one review is not a sample you can judge fit from. The 10-pack with 4,153 reviews is the row with a readable file at a similar price.

BABYGO 12 adhesive discs

Rank 2

BABYGO 12 adhesive discs

∼£10

Our view

BABYGO’s 12-pack is an adhesive ABS disc at £9.95, listed at 4.8 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the page says the disc has no pins so the shutters can stay closed. You line it up with a plug, stick a 3M pad to the faceplate, leave the bond for the stated 24 hours, then twist the spring cover to use the socket while the disc stays on. The box lists 12 covers, 12 pads, and a guide, at 60 g. Reviewers like keeping the cover fitted while they use the socket, and they report a strong hold on a clean plate. One review says a baby pulled a disc off, and another buyer needed a metal strip to lift one. The spring is claimed at more than 10,000 snaps, and the plastic cites EN71-3, which is a toy-material test rather than a socket standard. It is the top pick here when you want a cover that stays up during normal plug use, provided 43 reviews is a large enough sample for you.

Pros

  • No pins; listing says shutters stay closed
  • Works with a plug in place via a twist
  • 4.8 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 12 covers, 12 3M pads, and a guide at £9.95
  • Tool-free fit on single and double UK sockets claimed

Cons

  • Only 43 reviews in this snapshot
  • At least one baby pulled a disc off
  • Alignment twist is fiddly at first
  • EN71-3 is not an electrical approval

Best for: You want a cover that stays on the plate while you still use the socket, and the faceplate is clean, flat, and dry.

Less suitable: You need a large review file, a rental where adhesive is unwelcome, or a lock over a chunky plug and switch.

Specifications

Model
BABYGO 12 adhesive discs
Brand
BABYGO
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.8/5(43)
Cover type
Adhesive disc
Enters socket
No pins
Pack size
12
Live plug use
Yes
Installation
Adhesive
Material
ABS
BPA-free
Yes

Common questions

Does the BABYGO disc use plug pins?

The listing claims a zero-pin adhesive disc that sticks to the faceplate, so dummy pins do not force the shutters open. That is a product claim, not a BS 1363 certificate.

Can a plug stay in under the BABYGO disc?

The listing says you can use the socket with a plug in place by twisting the spring cover. Check review notes for chunky plugs before you buy. One buyer said a baby pulled a disc off.

Norjews 20-pack inserts

Rank 3

Norjews 20-pack inserts

Our view

Norjews sells 20 UK socket inserts at £5.99, listed at 4.6 from 1,562 amazon.co.uk reviews, the strongest star line among the large insert packs here. The stored UK reviews praise a snug, smooth fit that is hard for a small child to pull and straightforward for an adult using a real plug. The same file says removal is slightly tricky and the fit has to be exact. Material is not stated in the technical rows, so you cannot treat it as a confirmed ABS or BPA-free piece. It blanks unused holes. It does not stay on while a plug is in use, and it does not cover the switch. If you still choose inserts after the shutter warning, this is the best value row for stars, sample size, and price together.

Pros

  • 20 inserts at £5.99
  • 4.6 from 1,562 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • UK reviews describe a smooth, snug fit
  • Adults remove them with a standard plug
  • Strongest stars among the big insert packs

Cons

  • Pins go into the socket
  • Removal is slightly tricky for some adults
  • Fit has to be exact or it will not hold
  • Material is not stated in the technical rows

Best for: You have decided to blank unused standard sockets and you want the best-reviewed bulk insert in this comparison.

Less suitable: You want a cover that leaves the shutters closed, or a shell over a plug that stays in the wall.

Specifications

Model
Norjews 20-pack inserts
Brand
Norjews
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,562)
Cover type
Plug-in insert
Enters socket
Yes
Pack size
20
Live plug use
No
Switch protection
No
Installation
Push-in

Common questions

Do the Norjews inserts go inside the socket?

Yes. They are push-in three-pin blanking inserts. UK guidance warns that inserts like these interact with BS 1363 shutters. Read that before you fit them.

Are the Norjews inserts for unused sockets?

Typical use is blanking unused outlets. They do not cover a plug left in the wall. A box or an adhesive disc is the other row for that job.

ZHIYE 24-pack inserts

Rank 4

ZHIYE 24-pack inserts

Our view

ZHIYE’s 24 white ABS inserts are £5.99, with 4.5 from 210 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the parcel is listed at 140 g in an 18.4 × 14.4 × 2.4 cm pack. Reviewers say you have to press them firmly before they seat, after which children struggle to pull them out. Adults call the removal niggly, which is the same tight-grip theme as the other insert rows. The bullets mention homes and schools, while the pieces still go into the outlet rather than sitting on the plate. Non-toxic ABS is a material claim, not an electrical standard. Keep it for unused sockets only. A kettle or night-light that stays plugged in needs a box or a disc from another row.

Pros

  • 24 ABS inserts at £5.99
  • 4.5 from 210 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers describe a firm seat once pushed home
  • Discreet white finish in the review notes
  • 140 g pack with stated dimensions

Cons

  • Must be pressed hard to seat
  • Tight fit frustrates adult removal
  • Pins enter the shuttered outlet
  • School-and-home wording is not a care-setting approval

Best for: You want a named 24-pack for unused home sockets and you can press each insert fully home.

Less suitable: A nursery or care setting that has been told to withdraw plug-in inserts, or any socket with a plug left in.

Specifications

Model
ZHIYE 24-pack inserts
Brand
ZHIYE
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.5/5(210)
Cover type
Plug-in insert
Enters socket
Yes
Pack size
24
Live plug use
No
Switch protection
No
Installation
Push-in
Material
ABS

Common questions

Do the ZHIYE inserts go inside the socket?

Yes. They are push-in three-pin blanks. Reviewers say you have to press hard before they seat. UK guidance warns that this type opens BS 1363 shutters.

Are the ZHIYE inserts approved for schools?

The listing mentions homes and schools. That wording is not a care-setting approval. NHS alert EFA/2016/002 says 13 A inserts should not be used in health or social care premises.

10-pack plug-in inserts, white

Rank 5

10-pack plug-in inserts, white

Our view

This unbranded 10-pack is a set of white ABS blanking inserts at £3.99, listed at 4.4 from 4,153 amazon.co.uk reviews, and this snapshot ranks it first in Plug Socket Covers. You push each three-pin piece into an unused BS 1363 outlet and take it out with a real UK plug. Reviewers often praise a tight fit that toddlers struggle to pull, and the pack is large enough for a small flat. The same tightness is the usual adult complaint, and fit is less reliable on decorative faceplates. Some buyers in the file say they would not use inserts because of UK guidance on shutters. It blanks empty holes only, so a plug that stays in, or a switch you want locked, needs a different row.

Pros

  • 10 white ABS inserts at £3.99
  • 4.4 from 4,153 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Push-in fit, removed with a standard UK plug
  • BPA-free claim on the listing
  • Ranked 1 in Plug Socket Covers in this snapshot

Cons

  • Pins enter the socket and open the shutters
  • Adults report a very tight removal
  • Fit varies on decorative faceplates
  • Some reviewers cite UK guidance against inserts

Best for: You want a low-cost 10-pack to blank unused standard white sockets and you have already decided to accept the shutter trade-off.

Less suitable: You need a cover over a plug that stays in, or you are following advice to keep inserts out of BS 1363 outlets.

Specifications

Model
10-pack plug-in inserts, white
Brand
–
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.4/5(4,153)
Cover type
Plug-in insert
Enters socket
Yes
Pack size
10
Live plug use
No
Switch protection
No
Installation
Push-in
Material
ABS
BPA-free
Yes

Common questions

Does this 10-pack go inside the socket?

Yes. Each piece is a push-in three-pin blank. UK guidance warns that inserts interact with BS 1363 shutters. A BPA-free line is a material claim, not an electrical standard.

Is this 10-pack for unused sockets?

Typical use is blanking unused outlets. It does not cover a plug left in the wall. Fit is less reliable on decorative faceplates, and some adults find removal very tight.

24-pack plug-in inserts, white

Rank 6

24-pack plug-in inserts, white

Our view

The 24-pack of white ABS inserts is £5.98, about 25p a cover, with 4.4 from 917 amazon.co.uk reviews and a category rank of 5 in Plug Socket Covers in this snapshot. The listing claims a BS 1363 fit and a reusable push-in piece you remove with a standard plug. Review themes match the smaller unbranded pack: a snug seat on ordinary plates, and adults who struggle when the grip is very tight. Review notes also record occasional child removal on similar listings, plus misses on decorative faceplates. It is the bulk blanking option in this set, not a shell for a live plug and not a switch guard. Buyers who mention UK guidance are questioning whether an insert belongs in the outlet at all.

Pros

  • 24 covers at £5.98, about 25p each
  • 4.4 from 917 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Listing claims a reusable BS 1363 fit
  • Same push-in removal with a real plug
  • BPA-free ABS claim

Cons

  • Inserts open the socket shutters
  • Very tight pieces are awkward for adults
  • Decorative faceplates are a common miss
  • Does not cover a plug left in the wall

Best for: You are blanking unused sockets across several rooms and you want the lowest price per cover in this table.

Less suitable: You need the plug to stay in, or you want a review file that discusses a no-pin design.

Specifications

Model
24-pack plug-in inserts, white
Brand
–
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.4/5(917)
Cover type
Plug-in insert
Enters socket
Yes
Pack size
24
Live plug use
No
Switch protection
No
Installation
Push-in
Material
ABS
BPA-free
Yes

Common questions

Does this 24-pack go inside the socket?

Yes. The listing describes a reusable push-in three-pin blank and claims a BS 1363 fit. That fit claim is not the same as being made to the socket standard. The pins open the shutters.

Is this 24-pack for unused sockets?

Typical use is blanking unused outlets across several rooms. It does not cover a plug left in the wall. Decorative faceplates are a common miss in the reviews.

4 switch guards, white

Rank 7

4 switch guards, white

Our view

Four white switch guards are £4.99, listed at 4.4 from 311 amazon.co.uk reviews, and they stick with pre-applied acrylic adhesive after a press of about 20 seconds. The material line says PLA+ and claims manufacture in Europe. They sit over the rocker rather than in the pin holes, and a pen slot lets an adult move the switch. Reviewers say they stop accidental on and off switching and look discreet on a clean white plate. One unit in the file felt too short, and the guard has to be aligned carefully or the rocker can still move. This row is for switch tampering, such as a freezer you do not want switched off. It does not blank the live contact holes.

Pros

  • Four switch guards at £4.99
  • 4.4 from 311 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Stops accidental rocker movement in reviews
  • Pen slot for adult access
  • Pre-applied adhesive, about a 20-second press

Cons

  • Does not cover the pin holes
  • One unit felt too short
  • Must be aligned carefully
  • Adhesive needs a clean plate

Best for: You want to stop a child or a passing hand toggling a switch, especially on a fridge or freezer socket.

Less suitable: You need the contact holes blocked, or a guard for a rocker that is an unusual size.

Specifications

Model
4 switch guards, white
Brand
–
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.4/5(311)
Cover type
Switch guard
Enters socket
No
Pack size
4
Switch protection
Yes
Installation
Adhesive
Material
PLA+

Common questions

Do these switch guards block the socket holes?

No. They cover the rocker so it is harder to knock on or off. They do not blank unused pin holes, and they are not a substitute for a shuttered socket.

How do the switch guards fit?

The listing says pre-applied adhesive and a press of about 20 seconds on a clean plate. A pen slot is there so an adult can still move the rocker. One unit in the file felt too short.

SAFELON double box

Rank 8

SAFELON double box

∼£10

Our view

SAFELON’s double box, model W6205/6206, is £9.99, listed at 4.2 from 489 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the file describes 130 g of ABS as splash resistant. Screws go behind the faceplate only, and the lid is meant to cover both the plug and the switch. Reviewers use it on kitchen fridge and freezer switches so a toddler cannot toggle them, and they call the look acceptable when the back box matches. The depth limit is the repeated complaint: older thick plugs do not sit inside. Screw fitting is fiddly even when the holes line up. It is the better-reviewed box in this pair if your plugs are slim. It is the wrong shell for a plug-in transformer.

Pros

  • Double box for a plug left in place
  • Switch covered as well as the outlets
  • 4.2 from 489 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Splash-resistant ABS claim, about 130 g
  • Used in reviews on fridge and freezer switches

Cons

  • Not deep enough for old thick plugs
  • Screw installation is fiddly
  • Only one double box at £9.99
  • Back-box compatibility still decides the fit

Best for: You want the better-reviewed screw-on box for a slim plug and a switch you do not want toggled.

Less suitable: Chunky or transformer plugs, or a socket you cannot unscrew to reach the back box.

Specifications

Model
SAFELON double box
Brand
SAFELON
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(489)
Cover type
Box cover
Enters socket
No
Pack size
1
Live plug use
Yes
Switch protection
Yes
Installation
Screws
Material
ABS

Common questions

What does the SAFELON box cover?

The listing describes a screw-fit box for a UK double three-pin outlet, meant to enclose the plug and the switch. Check the back box and the plug depth before you buy.

Can a plug stay in under the SAFELON box?

The listing claims use with a plug in place. Reviews say older thick plugs do not sit inside. A transformer plug is the shape most likely to foul the lid.

EUDEMON double box

Rank 9

EUDEMON double box

∼£10

Our view

EUDEMON’s white double box is £9.99, listed at 4.1 from 114 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the file gives 140 g of ABS sold as heat resistant. It is meant to enclose a plug that stays in, switch included, with screws behind the faceplate. Reviewers who had a compatible back box found it neat and usable with the plug in place. Others say it is not deep enough for chunky plugs, the instructions show non-UK plug art, and the screw diameter was wrong for their box. The product notes say some UK back boxes lack the metal bracket it expects. Check the yoke behind your plate before you isolate the socket to fit it. A transformer plug is the shape most likely to foul the lid.

Pros

  • Box stays over a plug left in a double socket
  • Covers the switch as well as the outlets
  • 4.1 from 114 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • ABS listed as heat resistant, about 140 g
  • Neat look when the back box matches

Cons

  • Too shallow for some chunky plugs
  • Instructions show non-UK plug art
  • Wrong screw diameter reported
  • Needs a metal bracket some UK back boxes lack

Best for: You have a double socket with a compatible metal back-box yoke and slim plugs you want enclosed.

Less suitable: Older or decorative plates, thick transformer plugs, or a back box without the bracket the screws need.

Specifications

Model
EUDEMON double box
Brand
EUDEMON
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.1/5(114)
Cover type
Box cover
Enters socket
No
Pack size
1
Live plug use
Yes
Switch protection
Yes
Installation
Screws
Material
ABS

Common questions

What does the EUDEMON box cover?

The listing describes a box for a UK double three-pin outlet, plug and switch included, fixed with screws behind the faceplate. Some UK back boxes lack the metal bracket those screws expect.

Can a plug stay in under the EUDEMON box?

The listing claims use with a plug in place. Reviews say it is too shallow for some chunky plugs. Confirm depth, and note that the instructions show non-UK plug art.

Double clip cover, 1 pack

Rank 10

Double clip cover, 1 pack

Our view

This single double-gang clip cover is £7.99, listed at 3.6 from 84 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the title says it covers a UK double plate with or without plugs. At 90 g it is a light plastic shell that clips on without screws. Reviewers who got a fit were pleased it covered both outlets. The recurring complaints are a 3D-printed feel, brittle clips, retaining loops that snap, and a closed cover that is very hard to open. Several buyers say they had to modify it before it would stay on. It is a tool-free trial for one double plate. It is a weak stand-in for a screwed box if a plug stays in all day.

Pros

  • Clips over a double plate without screws
  • Claimed to work with or without plugs
  • One cover at £7.99 and about 90 g
  • Some buyers were pleased when the fit worked

Cons

  • 3.6 from 84 reviews
  • Brittle clips and loops that snap
  • Very hard to open once closed
  • Buyers report having to modify the fit

Best for: You want to try a tool-free shell on one standard double plate and you can return it if the clips do not hold.

Less suitable: You need a robust daily cover, a screw-fixed box, or a product with a stronger review file.

Specifications

Model
Double clip cover, 1 pack
Brand
–
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.6/5(84)
Cover type
Double clip cover
Pack size
1
Live plug use
Yes
Installation
Clip-on
Material
Plastic

Common questions

What does this double clip cover fit?

The listing describes one clip-on shell for a UK double three-pin plate, with or without plugs. Reviews cite brittle clips and a lid that is very hard to open. Check the faceplate before you buy more than one.

Can a plug stay in under this clip cover?

The title claims use with or without plugs. Buyers who got a fit were pleased. Others had to modify it. It is a weak stand-in for a screw-fixed box if a plug stays in all day.

2-pack adhesive flip covers

Rank 11

2-pack adhesive flip covers

Our view

This two-pack of adhesive flip covers is £5.99, listed at 190 g, with 3.2 from 22 amazon.co.uk reviews, the weakest stars in the set. Some buyers say a cover sat on a double socket as a temporary dust or splash lid. The main themes are tape that lets go within weeks and no latch, so a toddler can lift the flap. The title claims a waterproof and dustproof safety cover. The review file does not describe a child-resistant lock. It can serve as a short-term flap on a clean plate. It is a poor choice when you need something a child cannot open, or when the adhesive has to survive a busy skirting board.

Pros

  • Two adhesive flip covers at £5.99
  • No pins into the socket
  • Some buyers fitted one to a double socket
  • Listing claims a dust and water flap

Cons

  • 3.2 from only 22 reviews
  • Adhesive fails within weeks in the review notes
  • No latch; toddlers lift the cover
  • Called not fit for purpose by reviewers

Best for: You want a temporary flap on a clean plate and you do not need a lock a child cannot open.

Less suitable: Any socket where adhesion or a real child-resistant catch is the point of the purchase.

Specifications

Model
2-pack adhesive flip covers
Brand
–
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
3.2/5(22)
Cover type
Adhesive flip
Enters socket
No
Pack size
2
Switch protection
No
Installation
Adhesive tape

Common questions

What does this adhesive flip cover do?

The listing describes a two-pack flap stuck on with tape, sold with waterproof and dustproof wording. Reviews say the tape can fail within weeks and that there is no latch a toddler cannot lift.

Is this flip cover for unused sockets?

Some buyers used one as a temporary dust or splash lid on a double socket. It does not push pins into the outlet. It is a poor choice when you need a catch a child cannot open.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf date 20 October 2026. Stars and review counts come from those listings. No lab test was run. Customer stars are the largest block, at 16 points per star up to 80, then scaled into the weights below with the review-count ladder and the job-match points. Plug-in inserts take a further deduction because the pins enter a BS 1363 shutter. EN71-3, BPA-free wording and a best-seller rank do not add points. The best-value award is a separate judgement of stars, review count and pack price among blanking inserts. It is not a third score.

1

Customer stars

55%

amazon.co.uk stars for that ASIN, the largest block in the score. A five-star line with almost no reviews cannot carry the row on its own.

2

Review confidence

15%

A ladder on the stored review count: more weight from 1,000 reviews upward, and a sharp cut below 10 reviews. A single review with no text is marked down.

3

Job match

18%

A no-pin disc or a screw-on box that can cover a plug left in place scores above a switch guard, a plug-in blank, or a clip or flip cover. Plug-in inserts lose further points because the pins open the shutters.

4

Fit and failure themes

12%

Points come off when the review theme is tight adult removal, a box too shallow for the plug, adhesive or clip failure, or a listing with no review text to read.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Childproof socket covers buying guide

Decide the job first: unused holes, a plug that stays in, or a rocker you do not want toggled. Then match the mechanism, the faceplate, and the review theme. Shelf prices below are the October 2026 amazon.co.uk figures in this file. No lab test was run.

What is a childproof socket cover?

A childproof socket cover in this UK comparison is a plastic accessory for a BS 1363 three-pin wall outlet. It is not a replacement socket, and none of these listings is certified to BS 1363. People buy one for three different jobs: blanking unused holes, keeping a child from pulling a plug that stays in, or stopping a rocker being toggled. Modern UK sockets already have shutters. CAPT and Electrical Safety First point to those shutters as the designed barrier.

Best for

  • Blanking unused standard sockets after you have read the shutter warning
  • A slim plug left in a double socket, if the back box can take a screw-on box

Not ideal for

  • Health or social care premises, where EFA/2016/002 says to withdraw 13 A inserts
  • A damaged faceplate, missing shutters, or a transformer plug in a shallow box

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating an insert as extra safety

    BEAMA, RoSPA and NHS alert EFA/2016/002 warn that plug-in covers are not made to a socket standard and can defeat BS 1363 shutters. A tight fit in reviews is not an approval. Do not leave an insert inverted.

  2. 2

    The wrong cover for a live plug

    Inserts blank unused holes only. A box that is too shallow will not take a transformer plug. Check the back-box yoke before you isolate the socket and fit screws. The EUDEMON instructions show non-UK plug art.

  3. 3

    Reading a material claim as an electrical test

    BPA-free wording and EN71-3 on the BABYGO plastic do not add score points and do not prove electrical safety. A best-seller rank is Amazon’s placement, not a fit test.

What to weigh up

Mechanism and the shutter

High

Pick the job before the pack size. Unused holes, a plug left in, and a rocker you do not want toggled are three products. Plug-in inserts, which are most of the packs here, push into the outlet and open the shutters. UK bodies named in the digest do not recommend that type. The BABYGO disc claims zero pins and stays on while you use the socket. The SAFELON and EUDEMON boxes screw behind the faceplate and can cover the plug and the switch.

Fit, pack size and review themes

High

Reviews in this set mention a tight fit on standard white plates and failure on black nickel or decorative plates. Box units are too shallow for chunky plugs, and some older back boxes have no metal yoke for the screws. Adhesive on a dusty skirting socket is a known miss. The flip-cover reviews say the tape lets go within weeks and that there is no latch. The clip-cover reviews cite brittle loops and a lid that is very hard to open.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Unused sockets at home

You want a pack for empty outlets and you have read the shutter warning. Norjews is the best value among the inserts: 20 pieces at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 1,562 reviews. The pins still enter the socket.

You need a cover while a cable stays plugged in, on a clean flat plate

You need a cover while a cable stays plugged in, on a clean flat plate. BABYGO is the top pick: 12 adhesive discs at about £9.95, with 4.8 from 43 reviews and no pins on the listing. One review says a baby pulled a disc off.

Switch and a screw-on box

You want the plug and the rocker enclosed, and the back box can take the screws. SAFELON is the better-reviewed double box at about £9.99, with 4.2 from 489 reviews. Thick plugs do not fit.

Common questions about childproof socket covers

Which childproof socket cover is the top pick?
The top pick is the BABYGO 12-pack of adhesive discs, at about £9.95. The listing says the disc has no pins and can stay on the plate while you twist it to use a plug. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.8 from 43 reviews. That sample is small, one review says a baby pulled a disc off, and EN71-3 is a toy-plastic test, not a socket standard. It leads on score because it does not push pins into a BS 1363 shutter. It is not a safety certificate.
Which socket cover is the best value?
The best value among blanking inserts is the Norjews 20-pack at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 1,562 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is the strongest star line among the large insert packs here, at a mid-pack price. The unbranded 24-pack at about £5.98 is cheaper per cover, about 25p, with 4.4 from 917 reviews. A 10-pack at £3.95 shows 5.0 from one review, so it does not take the award. Every insert in this group still pushes pins into the outlet and opens the shutters.
Do UK homes need socket covers?
Modern UK 13 A sockets already have shutters under BS 1363-2. CAPT and Electrical Safety First point to those shutters. RoSPA does not recommend plug-in covers, and BEAMA advises against protective covers because they can overcome the shutter. NHS alert EFA/2016/002 says 13 A inserts should not be used in health or social care, nor supplied for homes. People still buy covers to blank unused holes, cover a live plug, or stop a switch being knocked. That is a choice of mechanism, not proof the socket was unsafe without one.
What is the difference between a plug-in insert and a box?
A plug-in insert copies a three-pin plug, pushes into an unused BS 1363 outlet, and comes out with a real plug. It opens the shutters and does not cover a plug left in the wall. A screw-on box, such as the SAFELON or EUDEMON double here, sits outside the socket and can enclose a slim plug and the switch if the back box matches. The BABYGO disc claims no pins and use with a plug in place. A clip-on shell and a tape-on flap are lighter covers, with weaker reviews.
What do childproof socket covers cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this October 2026 capture, 10 plug-in inserts are about £3.95 to £3.99. Packs of 20 or 24 inserts are about £5.98 to £5.99. Four switch guards are about £4.99. One double clip cover is about £7.99. Twelve adhesive discs are about £9.95. One screw-on double box is about £9.99. Price per cover only compares like with like. A cheap insert is not a substitute for a box if the plug stays in. Confirm the live amazon.co.uk price before you buy. These figures are stored shelf prices.
Does a switch guard block the socket holes?
No. The four white guards at about £4.99, with 4.4 from 311 reviews, stick over the rocker so a passing hand is less likely to toggle it. A pen slot lets an adult move the switch. They do not blank the pin holes. Reviewers use them on fridge and freezer sockets. If you also need the contact holes covered, this row is the wrong product. A box that encloses the plug and the switch is the nearer match, if the back box and the plug depth allow it.
When should you call an electrician instead?
Call a registered electrician for a cracked faceplate, a loose socket, missing shutters, or no RCD where the wiring rules require one. A plastic cover does not repair a damaged outlet or replace a compliant shuttered socket. Do not fit plug-in inserts on a socket that is not BS 1363, and do not leave an insert inverted. If the outlet itself needs replacing, that is a different product. See the surface-mounted socket comparison.
Can you leave a plug in under a socket cover?
Only with a cover built for that job. Plug-in inserts in this table are for unused holes. The BABYGO disc claims you can twist it and keep a plug in, on a clean flat plate. The SAFELON and EUDEMON boxes claim to enclose a plug and the switch, and reviews say thick or transformer plugs do not fit. The double clip cover claims use with or without plugs, and several buyers had to modify the fit. None of these listings is a BS 1363 approval.

Our verdict

The top pick is the BABYGO 12-pack of adhesive discs at about £9.95. The listing says the disc has no pins, so the shutters are not forced open, and it can stay on while a plug is used. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.8 from 43 reviews. That sample is small, one baby pulled a disc off, and EN71-3 is a toy-plastic test, not a socket standard. The best value among blanking inserts is the Norjews 20-pack at about £5.99, with 4.6 from 1,562 reviews. It still pushes pins into the outlet. The 24-pack at about £5.98 is cheaper per cover and has a thinner review file. A 5.0 from one review does not take the value award.

Best overall
10-pack inserts, HF-123

10-pack inserts, HF-123

View offer
Best value
Norjews 20-pack inserts

Norjews 20-pack inserts

Best balance of stars, review count and pack price among blanking inserts: 4.6 from 1,562 reviews at about £5.99. Shutters still open.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Guides to childproof socket covers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored on 20 October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. IET Wiring Matters — socket-outlet protectors (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  2. BEAMA — position on socket-outlet covers (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  3. NHS/MHRA — EFA/2016/002 alert (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  4. Child Accident Prevention Trust — socket covers (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  5. Electrical Safety First — socket covers (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  6. Lincolnshire HSB48 — plastic socket covers (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  7. Fatally Flawed — socket cover FAQ (retrieved 20.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.