Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Plug adapter comparison 2026

The best plug adapters, compared.

Top pick: MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter Best value: BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB – About £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,353 reviews and 21 W USB. The listing does not name a fuse. One review describes a melted cable. Price against review volume, not a safety clearance. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A plug adapter changes how a plug meets a socket. In the UK that is usually one of four jobs: a travel adaptor that changes pin shape, a world-to-UK adaptor for a visitor's plug, a UK multiway that splits one 13 A socket, or a 1 A shaver adaptor for a BS 4573 toothbrush plug. UK mains are 230 V, 50 Hz, Type G to BS 1363. A travel adaptor with a UK plug or socket should meet BS 8546. It does not convert voltage. Match the adaptor to the job, then to the appliance plate. Europe is also 230 V, so a European trip usually needs new pins, not a converter. Class I kit needs a metal earth. An unearthed body is only for double-insulated kit. Look for shutters, a BS 1362 fuse on a UK socket, and a current you can stay under: often 10 A on a universal, 13 A on a cube, and 1 A on a shaver. A country count is not that check. The order is in the [plug adapter buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/plug-adapter/sub/plug-adapter-buying-guide).

A plug adapter changes how a plug meets a socket.

28 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

8 of 8: Best plug adapters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter
Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor with switches
TESSAN universal travel adapter, 21 W USB
Masterplug shaver adaptor, 1 A
MOMAX UA8A 70 W GaN travel adapter
Best value
BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB
Double Dragon world-to-UK adapter
Double Dragon 13 A 2-way cube
9.4/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
∼ £45
∼ £8
∼ £20
∼ £2
∼ £36
∼ £14
∼ £7
∼ £5
4.7(12)
4.6(5,929)
4.6(3,075)
4.5(36,465)
4.5(2,045)
4.5(1,353)
4.5(30)
4.4(126)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best plug adapters in detail

MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter

Rank 1

MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter

∼£45

Our view

The MOMAX UA36A is the thin brick at about £44.99, with two AC outlets plus two USB-C and two USB-A ports and a claimed 70 W GaN stage. The star line is 4.7, but only 12 amazon.co.uk reviews sit behind it, and several read as early long reviews from people who had only used it in the UK. The listing says it is for dual-voltage appliances rated 100–250 V and under 2,500 W, with a 10 A fuse, and it is not a converter. Reviewers like the slimmer body and say it runs only slightly warm while charging a phone, tablet or laptop. One review states it cannot be used with appliances that need an earth, and the specification table does not describe an earth path. Dimension lines also disagree between the spec field and a bullet, so quote both or neither. At this price and sample size it is a two-socket travel brick to consider after you have checked earth, not the default top pick.

Pros

  • Two AC outlets plus four USB ports on a thinner body
  • 10 A fuse and a stated under-2,500 W limit
  • Reviewers who have used it call it only slightly warm
  • Listing limits it to 100–250 V appliances

Cons

  • About £44.99 with only 12 reviews
  • One review: no earth for appliances that need one
  • Several reviews had only tried it in the UK
  • Dimension lines in the listing do not match

Best for: You want two AC sockets and 70 W USB in a thin brick, and your loads are double-insulated and dual-voltage.

Less suitable: You need a large review sample, a stated earth path for a Class I dryer, or the lowest price.

Specifications

Model
MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter
Brand
MOMAX
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.7/5(12)
Type
Universal travel
Pins
A, C, G, I
AC outlets
2
USB
2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 70 W
Fuse
10 A
Converter
No
Load
Under 2500 W
Weight
185 g
Colour
Black

Common questions

Is this a voltage converter?

No. The note says it is only for dual-voltage or global appliances rated 100–250 V and under 2,500 W.

How many AC outlets does it have?

The bullets say two AC outlets plus 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A.

Does it earth a Class I appliance?

The specification table does not state an earth path. One UK review says it cannot be used with appliances that need an earth.

Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor with switches

Rank 2

Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor with switches

Our view

The Masterplug MSWRG3-MP is about £8.25 with 4.6 from 5,929 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample among the UK blocks in this comparison. It puts three Type G sockets on a wall block with individual switches and a surge or thermal cut-out indicator; the bullet says not to use the adaptor if that light is unlit. There is no trailing lead, which reviews like for a bedroom air purifier, an Echo and a lamp that can stay plugged in and be switched separately. The joule rating is not stated, so the surge claim is a feature line rather than a measured figure, and one review still reported surges while using it. On a twin wall socket the block covers the neighbouring outlet, and the indicator stays bright even when the individual switches are off, which is a nuisance in a bedroom. The fuse is not named in the specification block, so you still read the fuse on the plug you receive. It is the switched three-way to buy when you want switches and a large review count, not a travel adaptor and not a home for a kettle.

Pros

  • Three switched UK sockets at about £8.25
  • 4.6 from 5,929 reviews
  • Surge indicator with a clear do-not-use instruction if it is unlit
  • No trailing lead; side sockets suit a night light or a tall plug

Cons

  • Covers the neighbouring outlet on a twin wall socket
  • Indicator stays bright; awkward in a bedroom
  • Joule rating is not stated
  • Fuse amps are not in the specification block

Best for: You want to split one UK socket for low-power kit and switch each outlet, and you can spare the neighbouring socket on a twin plate.

Less suitable: You need foreign pins, a stated joule rating, or a block that leaves the second half of a twin socket free.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor with switches
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.6/5(5,929)
Type
UK 3-way
Pins
Type G
AC outlets
3
Converter
No
Weight
158 g
Colour
White

Common questions

Can I switch each socket off?

Yes. The listing describes individual switched sockets.

What does the indicator mean?

The bullet says there is a surge or thermal cut-out indicator. Do not use the adaptor if that light is not illuminated.

Will it block the other half of a twin wall socket?

UK reviews say the block covers the neighbouring outlet on a twin plate.

TESSAN universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

Rank 3

TESSAN universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

∼£20

Our view

The TESSAN TS-WTA10 at about £19.99 slides Type C, A, G and I pins and shares 21 W across two USB-A and two USB-C ports. Across 3,075 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.6, the largest travel-brick sample in this comparison. UK buyers describe the slider as smooth and treat it as one brick rather than a pouch of country plugs, including a Norway trip that mixed USB and Type C. The listing says it is not a voltage converter and is only for appliances rated 100–250 V, with a stated 1,100 W at 110 V and 2,500 W at 250 V. Those watt lines are listing text, not a measurement we made. Dual 10 A fuses and a spare are in the bullets, though no British Standard number is printed in the specification table. One UK review said the pins did not seat in European sockets in Poland, and a toothbrush two-pin is hard to push in. The body can also feel bulky and run a bit warm, as one Japan-trip review noted. It is the top pick here for a fused sliding universal with a large review count, and the wrong buy for India, South Africa, or a 220–240 V-only hair tool in the United States.

Pros

  • Types C, A, G and I on one sliding brick at about £19.99
  • 4.6 from 3,075 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Dual 10 A fuses plus a spare fuse in the bullets
  • Two USB-A and two USB-C ports sharing 21 W
  • Listing states it is not a voltage converter

Cons

  • Not for South Africa or India, according to the listing
  • One UK review: did not fit European sockets in Poland
  • Toothbrush two-pin is hard to push in
  • Can feel bulky, sit loosely, or run warm

Best for: You want one fused travel brick for Type C, A, G and I sockets and you only pack dual-voltage kit under the marked load.

Less suitable: You need India or South Africa, a shaver well, or a converter for a 220–240 V-only hair tool.

Specifications

Model
TESSAN universal travel adapter, 21 W USB
Brand
TESSAN
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,075)
Type
Universal travel
Pins
C, A, G, I
AC outlets
1
USB
2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, 21 W
Fuse
Dual 10 A
Converter
No
Load
2500 W at 250 V
Weight
149 g
Colour
Grey

Common questions

Does this convert voltage?

No. The listing says it is not a voltage converter and is only for appliances rated 100–250 V.

Which countries are excluded?

The listing says it is not for South Africa and India. Plug types listed are C, A, G and I.

What fuse does it use?

The bullets describe dual 10 A fuses and one spare fuse in the box.

Masterplug shaver adaptor, 1 A

Rank 4

Masterplug shaver adaptor, 1 A

Our view

The Masterplug SHADC-MP is a 1 A shaver adaptor at about £2.29, 4.5 from 36,465 reviews, the biggest star sample in this comparison. The body is a UK three-pin plug with a two-pin well, a 1 A fuse and a stated 240 W at 240 V, and the listing names BS 1363-3. UK reviews mostly use it to charge an electric toothbrush from a normal socket while a bathroom is being refurbished, and many prefer a fused body to the unmarked adaptor that arrived with the appliance. The same well is also used in reviews for a two-pin photo frame and an epilator. The two-pin can need force to insert, and some buyers say the fit has gone downhill. It will not run a hairdryer, and it does not add Type C, E or F pins for a holiday. A specification field also prints 20 x 20 x 20 mm against a 50 x 48 x 46 mm bullet, so trust the bullet for size. Buy it when the appliance is a shaver, toothbrush or similar low-watt two-pin, and skip it if you searched for a travel brick.

Pros

  • 1 A fuse and 240 W, with BS 1363-3 named
  • 4.5 from 36,465 reviews at about £2.29
  • Fits a bathroom two-pin onto a normal UK socket
  • Reviews use it for toothbrush chargers as well as shavers

Cons

  • Two-pin well can be tight and need force
  • 1 A and 240 W will not run a hairdryer
  • Not a Europlug or a holiday adaptor
  • Size lines in the listing disagree

Best for: You need a fused UK body for a shaver, electric toothbrush or similar BS 4573-style two-pin while the bathroom socket is out of use.

Less suitable: You are packing for Europe, or the appliance is a hair tool, a laptop, or anything above 240 W.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug shaver adaptor, 1 A
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.5/5(36,465)
Type
Shaver adaptor
Pins
G plug, 2-pin well
AC outlets
1
USB
None
Fuse
1 A
Standard
BS 1363-3
Converter
No
Load
240 W
Weight
30 g
Colour
White

Common questions

Will it charge an electric toothbrush?

The listing names electric toothbrushes as well as shavers. Many UK reviews use it for a toothbrush charger.

What fuse is fitted?

A 1 A fuse. The bullet states 240 W at 240 V and BS 1363-3.

Is this a European travel adapter?

No. It is a UK shaver adaptor. It does not add Type C, E or F pins for a holiday.

MOMAX UA8A 70 W GaN travel adapter

Rank 5

MOMAX UA8A 70 W GaN travel adapter

∼£36

Our view

The MOMAX UA8A is about £35.99, 4.5 from 2,045 reviews, with three USB-C and two USB-A ports and a claimed 70 W USB-C PD output beside one AC outlet. The listing states a 10 A dual fuse, safety shutters and a plug lock, and it says the brick is not a voltage converter, with a 2,500 W maximum that is listing text. UK reviews praise charging a MacBook and a phone together and say the GaN body stays cooler than expected, including a stay that replaced a heavier adaptor which fell out of an older Spanish hotel socket. Reviews also record sliders that are hard to pull and, in one case, UK and EU pins locked together after about a year. A two-pin plug would not fit the AC well for one reviewer, and a US hair dryer did not run. One further review failed after a few charges and was refunded. Choose it when you want laptop-class USB on a travel brick and the appliance is already dual-voltage.

Pros

  • Claimed 70 W USB-C PD with three USB-C and two USB-A ports
  • 4.5 from 2,045 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 10 A dual fuse, shutters and a plug lock in the bullets
  • Listing states it is not a voltage converter

Cons

  • About £35.99, well above the 21 W bricks
  • Sliders can stick; one review locked UK and EU pins after about a year
  • A US hair dryer did not run, because it does not convert voltage
  • A two-pin plug did not fit the AC well for one reviewer

Best for: You charge a laptop and a phone from one dual-voltage travel brick and you can live with a bulkier body at about £35.99.

Less suitable: You only need phone USB, a shaver well, or any conversion of a 220–240 V-only hair tool.

Specifications

Model
MOMAX UA8A 70 W GaN travel adapter
Brand
MOMAX
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,045)
Type
Universal travel
Pins
A, B, C, G, I
AC outlets
1
USB
3 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 70 W
Fuse
Dual 10 A
Converter
No
Load
2500 W
Weight
180 g
Colour
Black

Common questions

Will a UK hair dryer run in the United States through this?

No. The listing says it is not a voltage converter. One UK review tried a US hair dryer and it did not run.

How many USB ports are there?

The bullets say 3 USB-C and 2 USB-A plus one AC outlet, with one USB-C PD up to 70 W.

Is there a fuse?

The listing describes a 10 A overload dual fuse, safety shutters and a plug lock.

BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

Rank 6

BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

∼£14

Our view

The BigFish 651UC is about £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,353 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the bullets give two USB-A and two USB-C ports sharing 21 W. The comparison table names Types E, G, A and I, while a country bullet also mentions Type C, so the pin list is slightly inconsistent on the page. UK reviews say the brick works for mixed USB in Europe if you push the pin set fully out; a halfway slider will not connect. The specification block does not name a fuse or a British Standard number, which is a real gap beside the TESSAN dual 10 A line. One review describes the body getting hot enough to melt a cable in the AC well with nothing charging, and the seller later contacted that reviewer. That is one report, not a failure rate. Another review found no male Australian fitting, and a two-prong set fell out of sockets in Asia. It is the best value universal in this comparison on price and review volume, not a fused or converter substitute.

Pros

  • About £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,353 reviews
  • Two USB-A and two USB-C ports sharing 21 W
  • Toggle pin sets for the types named on the listing
  • Listed weight about 100 g

Cons

  • Fuse and British Standard number are not in the specification block
  • Slider must be fully out or it will not connect
  • One review: body hot enough to melt a cable in the AC well
  • Type list disagrees between the table and the country bullet

Best for: You want a cheaper 21 W universal for a short trip and you will check the fuse mark on the body when it arrives.

Less suitable: You want a named fuse in the listing, a male Australian pin, or a brick you will leave on a high-watt hair tool.

Specifications

Model
BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB
Brand
BigFish
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,353)
Type
Universal travel
Pins
E, G, A, I
AC outlets
1
USB
2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, 21 W
Converter
No
Weight
100 g
Colour
Black

Common questions

Does the listing name a fuse?

No. The listing specification does not name a fuse.

How much USB power is claimed?

The bullets say 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C share 21 W.

Will the pins connect if they are not fully out?

UK reviews say you must push the pin set fully out or it will not make a connection.

Double Dragon world-to-UK adapter

Rank 7

Double Dragon world-to-UK adapter

Our view

The Double Dragon World-UK-Pack-1 is an inbound adaptor at about £6.66: foreign plugs into a UK Type G socket, not a UK plug for a holiday abroad. The listing claims BS 8546 and an earth path, and the title prints a 10 A fuse while a bullet also says 13 A fused, so treat the amp mark as a conflict until you read the fuse in the body. Across 30 listing ratings the score is 4.5, but only 10 UK review texts are stored, and one of those is about a fan and does not describe this adaptor. Reviewers who like it call it sturdy enough for a heavy charger or a phone. Two UK reviews say the holes are too small and a European two-pin will not enter. Shutters are not stated. It is a cheap world-to-UK body to try for a visitor's US or Australian plug only if those pins actually seat, and a poor bet if the guest arrives with a Type C Europlug.

Pros

  • World-to-UK body at about £6.66 for a visitor's plug
  • Listing claims BS 8546 and an earth path
  • Reviewers who like it call it sturdy for a charger
  • No USB stage to confuse with a wall charger

Cons

  • Title says 10 A; a bullet also says 13 A fused
  • Two UK reviews: European two-pin holes are too small
  • Only 10 review texts behind 30 listing ratings
  • Wrong direction if you are taking a UK plug to Europe

Best for: A guest is bringing a US, Australian or China plug into a UK house for a short stay and you will check the fuse rating on the body.

Less suitable: You need a reliable Type C fit, a UK-to-Europe brick, or a sample larger than 30 ratings.

Specifications

Model
Double Dragon world-to-UK adapter
Brand
Double Dragon
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.5/5(30)
Type
World to UK
Pins
C, US, AU, CN
AC outlets
1
USB
None
Fuse
10 A and 13 A
Standard
BS 8546
Converter
No
Weight
60 g
Colour
White

Common questions

Is this for UK plugs abroad?

No. The title is world-to-UK: foreign plugs into a Type G socket.

What fuse rating is printed?

The title says a 10 A fuse. A bullet heading says 13 A fused and then repeats a 10 A fuse. Both lines are on the listing.

Will a European two-pin fit?

The listing lists Type C. Two UK reviews say the holes are too small and an EU plug will not enter.

Double Dragon 13 A 2-way cube

Rank 8

Double Dragon 13 A 2-way cube

Our view

The Double Dragon 5024784696001 is a UK Type G cube at about £4.93 that turns one socket into two, with no foreign pins and no trailing lead. The bullets claim 13 A and 3,120 W, child shutters on both sockets, and BS 1363 plus UKCA, CE and TUV wording. It scores 4.4 from 126 reviews. Buyers who are happy say both sockets work and the price is low for a window camera or a desk. Others call the body light or cheap, say plugs are hard to insert because the terminals do not line up, and report that two plugs can drag the cube out of the wall. One reviewer saw visible metal innards; another reported a dead socket and a slight shock on unplug. Those are review texts, not a measured failure rate, and they are enough to keep this cube off any top-pick line. The surge wording is also doubted in reviews because of the size, and no joule figure is printed. Use it only for light loads if the fit in your socket is tight, and stop if it runs warm or loose.

Pros

  • Two UK sockets from one wall outlet at about £4.93
  • Child shutters claimed on both sockets
  • 13 A and 3,120 W printed in the bullets
  • No trailing lead for a camera or a desk

Cons

  • One review: visible metal; another: dead socket and a shock on unplug
  • Can hang out of the wall if two plugs drag it
  • Feels light or cheap to several reviewers
  • Surge claim has no joule figure

Best for: You need a second UK socket for a light load, the cube sits firmly, and you will unplug it if it feels loose or warm.

Less suitable: You want a travel adaptor, a large review sample without safety complaints, or a place to share a kettle.

Specifications

Model
Double Dragon 13 A 2-way cube
Brand
Double Dragon
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.4/5(126)
Type
UK 2-way cube
Pins
Type G
AC outlets
2
USB
None
Standard
BS 1363
Converter
No
Load
13 A, 3120 W
Weight
60 g
Colour
White

Common questions

Is this a travel adapter?

No. It is a UK Type G cube that adds a second UK socket. There is no foreign pin set.

Does it have shutters?

The listing says child safety shutters on both sockets.

What do UK reviews say about safety?

Some reviews call it good value. Others report a loose fit, visible metal, a dead socket, or a shock on unplug. Those are review texts, not a lab test.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk listings were kept after USB wall chargers were removed. The printed score is the star line times 20, rounded to a whole number: 4.7 becomes 94, 4.6 becomes 92, 4.5 becomes 90 and 4.4 becomes 88. That figure is a listing-star index, not a lab score and not a weighted safety score. Review count, a named fuse, a named British Standard, shutters and conflicting amp lines are not folded into the number. They are used when the badge is chosen, and they are written in the assessment. The weights below are those checks. They sum to 100. Shelf prices are the October 2026 amazon.co.uk capture. No lab test was run.

1

Job and pin system

25%

Outward travel, a visitor's plug into a UK socket, a UK multiway and a shaver adaptor are different products. The job decides whether you are looking at BS 8546, BS 1363-3 or a conversion plug.

2

Voltage match

15%

The appliance plate has to include the supply you will meet. Europe matches the UK at 230 V. A 220–240 V-only tool cannot use 120 V through an adaptor. None of these listings converts voltage.

3

Earth and shutters

20%

Class I kit needs a metal earth. An unearthed body is for double-insulated kit only. UK sockets and inbound wells need shutters. A missing earth or shutter line is a gap in the assessment, not a pass.

4

Fuse and named standard

25%

Inbound-to-UK needs a BS 1362 fuse. Travel listings should name BS 8546. UK cubes and the shaver name BS 1363-3. A 10 A line and a 13 A line on the same listing stay as a conflict.

5

Load, then USB

15%

Stay under the marked amps. Ten amps is common on a universal, 13 A on a cube, and 1 A or 240 W on a shaver. USB watts are a bonus after the fuse. A watt line is listing text, not a measurement.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Plug adapter buying guide

The checks run in this order: the job, the appliance plate, earth and shutters, then the fuse and the named standard, then the marked load. USB watts come after that. The table is eight stored amazon.co.uk listings from October 2026. None of these adaptors was tested in a lab. USB wall chargers titled as plug adapters were left out of the set.

What is a plug adapter?

A plug adapter changes pin shape so an appliance can meet a different socket. It does not change voltage. UK mains are 230 V at 50 Hz. The household plug is Type G to BS 1363: sleeved pins, a shuttered socket and a fused plug. The same amazon.co.uk search covers four jobs, and the job picks the standard. Outward travel uses a configurable brick for pin families such as A, C, G and I, sometimes E or B. A listing that names BS 8546 is a travel adaptor with a UK interface.

Best for

  • A UK holiday where the appliance plate already matches the destination voltage
  • A visitor's plug into a UK socket for a short stay, or a bathroom two-pin at home

Not ideal for

  • A 220–240 V-only hair tool on a 120 V supply
  • A permanent conversion, or a USB wall charger used as an adaptor

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a charger instead of an adaptor

    A USB wall charger titled as a plug adapter does not change pin shape for an AC appliance. Those listings were removed before scoring. Read the job: travel, inbound, UK multiway, or shaver.

  2. 2

    Treating a country count as a converter

    A long country list does not change 230 V into 120 V, and it does not include India, South Africa or Type J and L unless the listing says so. Read the appliance plate, then the fuse.

  3. 3

    Overloading or leaving a travel brick in place

    A 10 A universal is not a dryer socket, and a 1 A shaver body is not a hairdryer socket. Extra outlets do not add amps. Do not daisy-chain, and do not leave a travel brick as a permanent UK plug on a foreign lamp.

What to weigh up

Job, voltage and earth

High

The first check is the job. Outward travel, a visitor's plug into a UK house, a UK multiway and a shaver adaptor are different products. A travel brick should be read against BS 8546. A cube or a shaver body should be read against BS 1363-3. A fused conversion plug to BS 1363-5 is for a foreign appliance that will stay in a UK house. The second check is the appliance plate. UK mains are 230 V, 50 Hz.

Fuse, standard and load

High

After the job, the plate and the earth, read the fuse and the named standard. Anything that feeds a UK socket from a foreign plug needs a BS 1362 fuse. Travel listings should name BS 8546. UK cubes and the shaver name BS 1363-3. An unfused universal is the wrong buy. A title that says 10 A and a bullet that also says 13 A is a conflict. Read the cartridge in the body. Do not average the two lines. Then stay under the marked current. Ten amps is common on a universal travel brick.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

UK holiday to Europe

You are taking a UK plug to Europe and the appliance plate already says 220–240 V. You need Type C, E or F, and an earth if the hair tool is Class I, not a converter. Italy, Switzerland and Denmark are the usual pin exceptions. The TESSAN TS-WTA10 is the top pick: Types C, A, G and I, dual 10 A fuses, 4.6 from 3,075 reviews, at about £19.99. The listing excludes South Africa and India.

Host with a visitor's plug

A guest is bringing a foreign plug into a UK house for a short stay. You need a fused, shuttered world-to-UK adaptor, not a USB charger and not an unfused cube. The Double Dragon world-to-UK listing claims BS 8546, at about £6.66, with 4.5 from 30 reviews. The title says a 10 A fuse and a bullet also says 13 A, so read the fuse in the body. Two UK reviews say a European two-pin will not enter.

Shaver or toothbrush at home

You need a bathroom two-pin on a normal 13 A socket. That is BS 1363-3, not a travel brick. The Masterplug SHADC-MP is about £2.29, with a 1 A fuse, a stated 240 W and 4.5 from 36,465 reviews. It will not run a hairdryer, and it does not add Type C, E or F pins for a holiday.

Common questions about plug adapters

Which plug adapter is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the TESSAN TS-WTA10, at about £19.99. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from 3,075 reviews, the largest travel-brick sample here. It slides Types C, A, G and I, with dual 10 A fuses and a spare in the bullets. The listing says it is not a voltage converter, and it excludes South Africa and India. The printed score is the star line times 20. A 4.7 line with 12 reviews is not the top pick.
What does a plug adapter cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this October 2026 set, entry listings run about £2 to £8: a shaver adaptor, a two-way cube, an inbound adaptor and a switched three-way. Mid listings run about £14 to £20 for 21 W universals. Premium listings run about £36 to £45 for 70 W GaN universals. These are stored shelf prices from this set, not a market study. Confirm the live amazon.co.uk price before you buy.
What should you check before you buy a plug adapter?
Start with the job: outward travel, a visitor's plug into a UK socket, a UK multiway, or a shaver. That choice points to BS 8546, BS 1363-3, or a conversion plug rather than a holiday brick. Then read the appliance plate. Europe matches the UK at 230 V. Then earth and shutters: Class I needs a metal earth, and UK wells need shutters. Then a BS 1362 fuse and a named standard. Then the marked amps. USB watts come last.
Does a plug adapter convert voltage?
No. A travel adaptor changes pin shape. It does not turn 230 V into 120 V. BS 8546 covers travel adaptors with a UK interface and excludes voltage conversion. A 220–240 V-only hair tool cannot run on US 120 V through an adaptor. If the plate includes 110–120 V, you need a converter, not another pin set. Europe usually needs pins only. That check is on the plug adapter versus voltage converter page.
When is a switched UK multiway the better buy?
When you are not travelling. A UK cube or switched block splits one 13 A socket for low-power kit and has no foreign pins. The marked current is the total for everything on together, not per outlet. A kettle, heater or hairdryer belongs in the wall socket. The switched three-way in this set is also compared as an adapter plug with switch. A travel brick is the wrong tool for a permanent UK conversion.
Is a shaver adaptor a European travel adapter?
No. A shaver adaptor is a UK three-pin body with a two-pin well for a BS 4573 shaver or electric toothbrush, typically with a 1 A fuse and a 240 W limit, named to BS 1363-3. It does not add Type C, E or F pins for a holiday. A UK toothbrush will not seat in a Type C well, and many EU-to-UK adaptors refuse the shaver pin. Do not put a hairdryer on a 1 A body.
What are the usual mistakes with a plug adapter?
Buying a USB charger titled as a plug adapter, forcing a UK toothbrush into a Type C well, and treating a country count as a converter. Overloading a 10 A brick with a dryer, daisy-chaining adaptors, and leaving a travel brick as a permanent UK plug on a foreign lamp are the other common errors. If a household socket is scorching or fuses keep blowing, stop and call a professional. Do not back-feed a generator through an adaptor.

Our verdict

The top pick is the TESSAN TS-WTA10 at about £19.99. It is a sliding universal for Types C, A, G and I, with dual 10 A fuses and a spare, and 4.6 from 3,075 reviews, the largest travel-brick sample here. It is not a converter, and the listing excludes South Africa and India. The best value is the BigFish 651UC at about £13.99, with 4.5 from 1,353 reviews and 21 W USB. The specification block does not name a fuse. One UK review describes a melted cable in the AC well. That badge is the price against a large review count, not a safety clearance. A 4.7 star line with 12 reviews is a higher printed score and is not the top pick.

Best overall
MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter

MOMAX UA36A 70 W ultra-thin travel adapter

View offer
Best value
BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

BigFish universal travel adapter, 21 W USB

About £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,353 reviews and 21 W USB. The listing does not name a fuse. One review describes a melted cable. Price against review volume, not a safety clearance.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSockets and extension leadsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to plug adapters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored in October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. Electrical Safety First, travel advice (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First, travel adaptors (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First, dangerous online adaptors (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. BSI, BS 8546 scope (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. BSI, BS 1363-5 scope (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. OPSS recall 2201-0320 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. OPSS report 2601-0166 (January 2026) (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.