TV, console and router
You need a short strip, a surge light and room for plug-top supplies. The white Masterplug SRG4210N is the best value at about £8.70, with 4.7 from 1,267 reviews, 370 J stated and no switches. The plug table also says Type B.
The best extension leads with surge protector, compared.
Top pick: Masterplug SWSRG4210N 4-way – Highest score in the set: about £9.50, 4.8 from 1,232 reviews, a switch on each socket and 370 J stated. The plug table also says Type B. Best value: Masterplug SRG4210N 4-way – About £8.70, the lowest shelf price with a stated joule figure and a Type G line. 4.7 from 1,267 reviews, unswitched. Updated October 2026.
An extension lead with surge protector is a UK 13 A trailing socket with parts that absorb some voltage spikes before they reach a television, computer or router. It does not add power. Surge protection is not overload protection. You buy one when low-power devices share one wall socket and you want a stated energy figure, not only the word surge. Judge it by a BS 1363 plug, shuttered sockets and a load inside 13 A. Extra sockets and USB ports do not raise that limit. If the table says a North American plug while the title says a UK lead, the plug is unresolved. Next, look for a joule figure and a surge light. What that figure does and does not mean is on the [joule figure guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/extension-lead-with-surge-protector/sub/extension-lead-with-surge-protector-joules). A higher joule claim can absorb more energy, and a failed part can still heat. Do not ignore a dark surge light while the sockets stay live. Do not plug one lead into another, and do not treat the bar as a lightning arrester.
An extension lead with surge protector is a UK 13 A trailing socket with parts that absorb some voltage spikes before they reach a television, computer or router. It does not add power.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Where will the lead sit?
The Masterplug SWSRG4210N is the four-way at about £9.50, rated 4.8 from 1,232 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a switch on each socket and a stated 370 J figure. Reviewers use the switches to turn a toaster or hair tool off without pulling the plug, and they call the 2 m cable a useful length. The same reviews say the status LEDs stay bright. The power-plug field says Type G and a second field says Type B. A BS 1363-2 line is not in the bullets. Connected-equipment wording goes up to £1,000 for 3 years. It is the top pick because it has the highest score in this set. It is a poor fit for a dark bedroom, and it has no USB.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A desk or a small appliance you want to switch off at the socket, with a stated joule figure.
Less suitable: A dark bedroom where indicator lights would stay on, or a setup that needs USB charging on the bar.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this Masterplug lead have a switch on every socket?
The listing says four individually switched shuttered sockets. Reviews describe the switches as lit. It is the switched model SWSRG4210N, not the unswitched SRG4210N.
What surge figure does the listing give?
The specification says 370 joules. The bullets claim power and surge LED indicators, plus connected-equipment cover of up to £1,000 for 3 years.
Are the indicator lights bright?
More than one UK review says the switch LEDs and the two lights at the end stay on and are bright in a bedroom.
The black Masterplug SRG4210NB is about £9.49, rated 4.8 from 243 amazon.co.uk reviews, with four unswitched sockets and a stated 370 J figure. Reviewers choose the black finish so it blends behind a television. The bullets claim shutters, a BS 1363-2 line, wall fixing and connected-equipment cover of up to £1,000 for 3 years. There is no voltage line in the listing. The plug fields say Type G and Type B. The UK reviews in this capture are short and do not describe a repeated failure. The white SRG4210N has the larger review sample.
Pros
Cons
Best for: The same four-socket job as the white bar, where the lead needs to be black.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants the larger review sample of the white SRG4210N, or switched sockets.
Specifications
Common questions
How does this differ from the white four-way?
The title says black and the model is SRG4210NB. It is unswitched, 2 m, and the surge figure is 370 joules, the same claim as the white SRG4210N. This listing has 243 reviews. A voltage line is not in the listing.
Are the sockets switched?
No. The title says unswitched. Shutters and a BS 1363-2 line are claimed in the bullets.
Do the reviews report a repeated fault?
The UK reviews in the listing are short. They praise the black finish behind a television. No repeated failure is described.
The Belkin BSV400AF2M is about £14.99, with 525 J in the specification field and four outlets on a 2 m cable. The star line is 4.7 from 6,912 reviews, the same count and the same opening titles as the six-way, so it is not a separate sample. The amperage field says 1,363 A, which is not used as a load. USB is unresolved: the USB field says 4, and the title and bullets do not describe USB ports. Reviews say there are no wall-mount holes. The product-warranty field says 1 year. A connected-equipment figure is not in the bullets. One reviewer quotes £70,000. That sentence is not a listing line. Belkin’s UK page for this model states up to £20,000 for connected equipment. That figure is not a test score. The plug fields say Type G and Type B.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A four-outlet strip where the listing itself states 525 J.
Less suitable: A wall-fixed bar, or a buyer who needs a stated watt limit in this listing.
Specifications
Common questions
How many joules does this Belkin listing state?
The specification field says 525 joules. A connected-equipment figure is not in the bullets. Belkin’s UK page for BSV400 states up to £20,000. One reviewer quotes £70,000. That sentence is not a listing line.
Does the USB field mean four chargers?
The USB-ports field says 4. The title and bullets do not describe USB ports. Treat USB as unresolved. Opening reviews also describe a six-socket strip.
Can it be screwed to the wall?
The listing does not claim fixing points. More than one UK review says there are no mounting holes and the underside is moulded.
The Belkin six-way is about £19.99, with up to 650 J in the bullet and a £30,000 connected-equipment line. That money line is not a test score. The model field is the numeric code 745883643578, not a BSV name. Both plug fields say Type B, described as a North American 3-pin. There is no Type G line and no 13 A line. There is no stated switch. The 4.7 from 6,912 reviews is the same count and the same opening titles as the four-way. One later title names the 6-way 2 m strip. Do not treat the shared block as a separate sample. The listed dimensions are 44 mm by 146 mm, with the width larger than the length. USB is unresolved. Buy it only after the plug in the box is confirmed as a UK 13 A plug. The table does not say that.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only after the plug in the box is confirmed as a UK 13 A plug. The table in this listing does not say that.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs Type G in the listing before paying about £19.99.
Specifications
Common questions
What plug type does this listing state?
Both plug fields say Type B, described as a North American 3-pin. There is no Type G line in this listing. Confirm the plug in the box before you treat it as a UK 13 A lead.
What surge figure is stated?
The bullet and the surge-rating field say up to 650 joules. A 13 A line is not in this listing. The USB field says 6. The bullets do not describe USB chargers.
Are the 6,912 reviews only about this six-way?
The opening titles match the four-way ASIN, including a four-way description. One later title names the 6-way 2 m strip. Do not treat the shared block as a separate sample.
The Masterplug SRG6210N is about £10.82, rated 4.7 from 2,252 amazon.co.uk reviews, with six unswitched sockets and a stated 370 J figure. The bullets claim shuttered sockets, a BS 1363-2 line, wall fixing and power and surge LEDs. Reviewers use it under a desk or a television unit. One review says the supplied plug is moulded, unlike the rewireable plug in the photos, so shortening the lead means cutting it. Do not cut a moulded plug off to pass cable through a wall. The USB field says 6. The bullets do not describe USB charging. Do not treat 6 as USB ports.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A TV unit or desk that needs six sockets and a stated joule figure, without switches.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants each socket switched, or who planned to rewire the plug from the photos.
Specifications
Common questions
Are the six sockets switched?
The title says unswitched. There is no switch on each socket.
Does the USB field mean six chargers?
The USB-ports field says 6. The title and bullets describe six mains sockets and no USB charging. Do not treat 6 as USB ports.
Can you shorten the plug?
One review says the photos show a rewireable plug and the item arrives with a moulded plug, so shortening the lead means cutting it. Do not cut a moulded plug off to pass cable through a wall.
The HAFINO tower is about £20.62, rated 4.7 from 2,224 amazon.co.uk reviews, with eight AC sockets, five USB ports and a night light. The surge-rating field says 1,800 joules. Four switches control groups of sockets, not one socket each. USB is 2.4 A per port and 5 A shared, and a review wanted USB-C. The bullets cite FCC, CE and UL rather than a BS 1363 sentence. The same review count appears on the DEWENWILS bar. The review text here is about this tower. The title states 13 A and 3,250 W. The warranty field says 1, with no unit.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A desk or lounge that needs many plugs and USB charging in a standing tower.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a BS 1363 sentence on the listing, or one switch per socket.
Specifications
Common questions
Do the four switches control each socket?
The bullet says four separated switches that control four parts, not one switch per socket. The title states eight AC sockets.
Can every USB port run at 2.4 A at once?
The bullet says 2.4 A maximum per port and 5 A shared. A review wanted USB-C, which the listing does not state.
What is the load for the whole tower?
The title states 13 A and 3,250 W for the tower. The plug type field says Type G. Eight sockets do not mean eight times 13 A.
The HANYCONY HN6088 is about £14.98, rated 4.7 from 1,621 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a 1.8 m braided cord and four USB slots in the title. Surge protection is claimed and no joule figure is given, which is why it has the lowest score. The only plug field says Type B. The bullets say double switches, not one switch per socket. A review reports 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C. That split is not a specification line, and no watt figure is stated. The warranty field says 6 months. The outlets field says 8, which matches 4 AC plus 4 USB if those are counted together. The title is a UK-facing 4-way lead on amazon.co.uk. Check the plug in the box before you rely on it.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short braided lead with USB slots, after you have checked the plug in the box.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a stated joule figure and Type G in the table before buying.
Specifications
Common questions
How many joules does the listing state?
None. Surge protection is claimed in the title and the first bullet. There is no joule figure.
What plug type is in the table?
The plug-type field says Type B. There is no Type G line in this listing. The title is a UK-facing 4-way lead on amazon.co.uk. Check the plug in the box.
Are the four USB ports two USB-C and two USB-A?
The title says 4 USB slots. The type split is not in the specification block. One UK review says the unit arrived with 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C. No watt figure is stated.
The Masterplug SWSRG6210N is about £12.49, rated 4.7 from 1,535 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a switch on each of six sockets and a stated 370 J figure. Reviewers use it on a kitchen counter, for PCs and for 3D printers, and they call the switches crisp. More than one review says the LEDs are too bright for a bedroom. One reviewer measured the mounting holes at 270 mm. That spacing is a review measurement, not a specification line. The plug fields say Type G and Type B. Connected-equipment wording goes up to £1,000 for 3 years.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Six devices on a 2 m bar where each socket needs its own switch.
Less suitable: A bedroom where the LEDs would stay bright, or a cable longer than 2 m.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this lead have a switch on every socket?
The bullets say six individually switched shuttered sockets. The model is SWSRG6210N.
What surge figure does the listing give?
The table says 370 joules. The bullets claim power and surge LED indicators and connected-equipment cover of up to £1,000 for 3 years.
How far apart are the wall holes?
Wall fixing is claimed. One review measured the holes at 270 mm on this unit. That spacing is a review measurement, not a specification line.
The white Masterplug SRG4210N is the lead at about £8.70, rated 4.7 from 1,267 amazon.co.uk reviews, with four unswitched sockets and a stated 370 J figure. That is the lowest shelf price among leads that state a joule figure and a Type G line, which is why it is the best value. The bullets name televisions among the devices, claim wall fixing and a BS 1363-2 line, and state connected-equipment cover of up to £1,000 for 3 years. Most early reviews are short praise. One buyer said the plug did not match the photos. The plug fields say Type G and Type B. Watts are not stated. It is not the switched model SWSRG4210N.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short TV or router run where the lowest price with a stated joule figure is the point.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants each socket switched, or a cable longer than 2 m.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the switched Masterplug four-way?
No. The title says unswitched. The switched model in this set is SWSRG4210N.
What surge figure does the listing give?
The table says 370 joules. The bullets claim power and surge LEDs, shuttered sockets, a BS 1363-2 line and connected-equipment cover of up to £1,000 for 3 years.
Does the plug match the photos?
One UK review said the photos show a moulded plug and the unit that arrived was not, so it did not fit the planned spot.
The Addtam strip is about £15.99, rated 4.7 from 767 amazon.co.uk reviews, with four switched sockets, a 1,050 J claim and a stated split of 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A. Current and wattage per port are not stated. Reviewers use it behind a television and say the plugs stay in. One review calls the switches cheap. The pack-size field says 5 items with no contents list. Warranty lines disagree: 6 months in a bullet and 1 in the warranty field, with no unit. Child safety doors are claimed. The outlets field says 8, which matches 4 AC plus 4 USB, not 8 mains sockets. The plug fields say Type G and Type B.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A four-socket bar that also needs two USB-C ports, with a stated joule figure.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a watt figure per USB port, or a single warranty sentence.
Specifications
Common questions
How are the USB ports split?
The bullet says 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A. Current and wattage per port are not stated. The outlets field says 8, which matches 4 AC plus 4 USB, not 8 mains sockets.
What joule figure is claimed?
The surge-rating field and the item highlight say 1,050 joules. The bullet also says surge and overload protection in one phrase. A joule figure is not a higher current limit.
Can it be fixed to a wall?
Two keyhole slots are claimed. One review fitted it with two screws. Screws are not listed in a box-contents line.
The DEWENWILS bar is about £16.99, rated 4.6 from 2,224 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a 3 m cable and Type G in both plug fields. Reviewers mount it beside a sofa and say the cable is longer than they expected. The title says individual switches and the first bullet says four switches on a six-way. The listing does not say whether two sockets are unswitched. Joules appear only as 270 J in a bullet. The surge-rating field says 13 A, not a joule figure. Reviews say the switches need a firm press. Child shutters are not stated. There is no warranty line.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A run of about 3 m where both plug fields need to say Type G.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants one switch per socket, or a joule figure in the rating field.
Specifications
Common questions
Does every socket have its own switch?
The title says individual switches. The first bullet says four individual switches on a six-way lead. The listing does not say whether two sockets are unswitched.
Where is the joule figure?
A safety bullet says 270 joules. The surge-protection rating field says 13 amps, not a joule figure.
Is the plug Type G?
Type G is in both the power-plug field and the plug-type field. The bullet states 13 A, 250 V and 3,250 W for all six sockets together.
The Anker A9185 is the tower at about £29.99, rated 4.6 from 290 amazon.co.uk reviews, with eight AC outlets, four USB ports and 300 J stated. Type G is in both plug fields. The title states 13 A and 2,990 W. USB-C at 20 W applies only when USB-C1 is used alone. A review says the standard USB output feels low when other cables are in use. One review says the tower can tip when every plug is in, and wished for weight in the base. There is one switch for the tower, not one per socket. The bullet states an 18-month warranty. It is the highest price in this set.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A standing tower beside a chair, with a stated Type G plug and a stated joule figure.
Less suitable: A fully loaded tower on a light base, or several USB-C devices that all need 20 W at once.
Specifications
Common questions
When does the 20 W USB-C rate apply?
The listing note says 20 W is only achievable when the USB-C1 port is used on its own. A review says the standard USB output feels low when other cables are in use.
Does each socket have a switch?
The safety bullet states one independent switch for the connected devices, not one switch per socket.
Will the tower stay upright when it is full?
A UK review says the tower can pull over when every socket is used, and wished for weight in the base. Another says USB can be used without a mains plug in every socket.
Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the figures in the stored listings. No lab test was run. A joule figure is used only when the listing states one. The two Belkin listings share 6,912 reviews and the same opening titles, so that count adds nothing. The best value is the lowest shelf price among leads that state a joule figure and a Type G line. It is not the second-highest score.
Amazon star line
40%4.8 starts at 80 on the working score, 4.7 at 76 and 4.6 at 72. The star block is the largest part of the mark. There was no lab test and no Which? score.
Review count
12%2,000 or more reviews adds the most, 1,000 to 1,999 adds less, 400 to 999 adds a little, and 150 to 399 adds none. A shared review block is not counted twice.
Stated joule figure
16%A stated joule figure adds points. Surge claimed with no joule figure loses points. A surge-rating field that prints amps instead of joules also loses points.
UK plug wording
16%Type G with no Type B line adds points. Type G beside a Type B line loses points. Type B only loses more. A North American plug line is not treated as a UK plug.
Switching
10%One switch per socket scores higher than group switches, double switches, or one switch for a whole tower. A listing that does not state a switch scores nothing on this block.
USB, length and listing conflicts
6%USB with a stated type split or a stated current adds a small amount, as does a cable of 3 m or longer. Marks that name FCC, CE and UL and do not name BS 1363 lose points. A repeated use problem, such as a tower that reviews say can tip when it is full, also loses points.
The checks run in this order: the UK plug, a joule figure the listing states, the 13 A load, then form, switches and warranty wording. The table is the twelve stored amazon.co.uk listings. Joule figures and connected-equipment sums stay seller claims. None of these leads was tested in a lab for this page.
An extension lead with surge protector is a portable 13 A trailing socket with a BS 1363 plug and parts that absorb some voltage spikes before they reach a television, computer or router. It does not add power. Electrical Safety First states that surge protection is not overload protection, and that you use one extension per wall socket. Do not daisy-chain. London Fire Brigade advice is not to put a kettle, a toaster and a microwave on one extension. A 3 A fuse suits a television or computer.

Eight sockets are not eight times 13 A. USB ports do not raise the plug fuse either. Watt figures such as 2,990 W and 3,250 W follow 13 A at different stated voltages. They are not three current ratings. Do not daisy-chain.
A high joule claim does not repair a Type B line. If the table says a North American plug and the title says a UK lead, the plug is unresolved. Check the plug in the box before you pay.
A dark surge indicator, with the sockets still live, means you should not assume the surge parts are still working. Do not keep using that lead for a television or a computer on the assumption that the protection is still there. The lead is not a lightning arrester.
Start with the plug. Regulation 35 requires a correctly fitted BS 1363 plug, or a conversion plug with a BS 1362 fuse. BEAMA’s checklist says a strip with a surge device or USB must meet BS 1363-2. In this table, Type G in both fields appears on the DEWENWILS bar, the HAFINO tower and the Anker tower. Several Masterplug rows and the Belkin four-way say Type G and Type B. The Belkin six-way and the HANYCONY four-way say Type B only. Then read the joules.
Wall-mount a strip only when fixing points are claimed. The DEWENWILS bar names two screw mounts. The Addtam names two keyholes. Reviews of the Belkin four-way say there are no mounting holes. A tower, the HAFINO or the Anker, lifts plugs off the floor. The Anker reviews say a full tower can tip. One switch per socket is the Masterplug SWSRG4210N and SWSRG6210N, and the Addtam. The HAFINO uses four group switches. The DEWENWILS bullet says four switches on six sockets.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You need a short strip, a surge light and room for plug-top supplies. The white Masterplug SRG4210N is the best value at about £8.70, with 4.7 from 1,267 reviews, 370 J stated and no switches. The plug table also says Type B.
You want each socket switched so a charger is not left on. The Masterplug SWSRG4210N is the top pick at about £9.50, with 4.8 from 1,232 reviews and 370 J stated. The status LEDs stay bright, and there is no USB.
You need a 13 A lead for now, and a plan to stop using it as a permanent socket. The Masterplug SRG6210N is about £10.82, with 4.7 from 2,252 reviews, six unswitched sockets and 370 J stated. Extra sockets do not raise the 13 A limit.
The top pick is the Masterplug SWSRG4210N four-way at about £9.50, with 4.8 from 1,232 reviews, a switch on each socket and 370 J stated. It has the highest score in this set. The plug table also says Type B, and the status LEDs stay bright. The best value is the unswitched white Masterplug SRG4210N at about £8.70, the lowest shelf price among leads that state a joule figure and a Type G line. It has 4.7 from 1,267 reviews and no switches. It is not the second-highest score. This page did not run a lab test.

Masterplug SWSRG4210N 4-way
Highest score in the set: about £9.50, 4.8 from 1,232 reviews, a switch on each socket and 370 J stated. The plug table also says Type B.

Masterplug SRG4210N 4-way
About £8.70, the lowest shelf price with a stated joule figure and a Type G line. 4.7 from 1,267 reviews, unswitched.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Sources taken from the research digest. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings. This page did not run a lab test.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.