Renter, lamps on a schedule
You want a plug-in pack, no wiring, and you can join 2.4 GHz. The Tapo P100 2-pack states indoor only, 13 A, 2990 W, and no hub. It does not meter energy, and it is the wrong plug for the garden.
The best Wi-Fi sockets, compared.
Top pick: Tapo P100, 4-pack Best value: UPXNBOR energy, 2-pack – About £13.88 is the lowest shelf price among listings that score 70 or more, and the bullets claim real-time energy. Updated October 2026.
A Wi-Fi socket is a 13 A outlet you switch from an app or by voice: a plug-in adaptor, or one flush plate. You want lamps and chargers on a schedule, or a plate that sits flush behind furniture. Seven of the eight amazon.co.uk listings are plug-in. The British 800, model 822/, is the only flush double. Most are 2.4 GHz only, and silence is not dual-band. No file here prints an IP rating, BS 1363, or a security-update end date. Tapo states indoor only, 13 A, and 2990 W. A phone graph is not your electricity bill. The [Wi-Fi socket buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/wifi-socket/sub/wifi-socket-buying-guide) sets form, band, app, and load before price. Scores use stars, review text, and whether the listing agrees with itself. A USB wall plate, a Wi-Fi repeater plate, and a 433 MHz kit that says it needs no Wi-Fi are not this category.
A Wi-Fi socket is a 13 A outlet you switch from an app or by voice: a plug-in adaptor, or one flush plate. You want lamps and chargers on a schedule, or a plate that sits flush behind furniture.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 8Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
How will it sit?
The Tapo P100 4-pack is four indoor plugs at £28.99, rated 4.7 from 18,187 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 44 texts read. The tips again state 13 A, 2990 W, 2.4 GHz, and indoor use only, with a 240 V attribute and a two-year warranty. Reviewers describe an easy app, Alexa, schedules, and a small body that does not cover the next socket or the switch, and some bought the pack to replace Calex plugs that had stopped after several years. The plug-type attribute says Type A or Type B, which does not match a UK 13 A title, and the certification cell lists CSA, NEMA, and UL marks beside CE. One review title mentions real-time energy tracking, which the bullets do not list. Block adaptors need care next to the body, and a router password change means pairing each plug again. Across the 44 texts there is no cluster of dead P100 units.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Four indoor lamps or fans on one Tapo account, if you ignore the Type A or Type B cell.
Less suitable: A listed energy meter, outdoor use, or a single socket where the 2-pack is enough.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the plug Type A or a UK plug?
The attribute says Type A or Type B. The title is a UK Tapo P100 4-pack rated 13 A. Treat the Type A or Type B line as a catalogue error, not as the plug in the box.
Does the 4-pack add energy monitoring?
Not in the bullets. One review mentions tracking. The listing itself does not, and a review title is not the same as a stated feature.
Can you use it outdoors?
The tips bullet says indoor use only, with a 13 A and 2990 W limit. No IP rating is printed.
The Tapo P100 2-pack is two indoor plugs at £14.99, and the 15 October 2026 amazon.co.uk file shows 4.6 from 54,195 reviews, with 50 texts read for this comparison. The tips you can check say 13 A, 2990 W, 2.4 GHz, no hub, and indoor use only, and TP-Link’s UK FAQ says this P100 does not monitor energy. Reviewers praise a short setup in the Tapo app, schedules, and a body small enough not to cover the next socket, and they use it on lamps, a garage socket, and a 3D printer. One detailed review says it is a poor match for a gaming PC whose load keeps changing, and one owner of six plugs later heard the relay click without the power actually switching, while the manual button still worked. A reviewer who put one in a waterproof box in the garden was outside the indoor-only line. One bullet on the listing says “Tapo P105” on a P100 page, and nothing here prints BS 1363, an IP rating, or a security-update end date.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Indoor lamps, chargers, and timers on 2.4 GHz, where you do not need a watt graph.
Less suitable: A watt reading, the garden, EV charging, or a motor above 1/6 HP.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this 2-pack monitor energy?
The bullets do not say so. They list schedules, away mode, Alexa, and Google. TP-Link’s UK FAQ says this P100 does not monitor energy.
Can you use it outside?
The tips bullet says indoor use only. A reviewer who put one in a waterproof box in the garden was outside that line. No IP rating is printed.
Which Wi-Fi band does the listing require?
2.4 GHz only. It also says no hub, 13 A, and 2990 W, and it tells you not to use it for EV charging or a motor above 1/6 HP.
The ANTELA F1s303 2-pack is £15.99, rated 4.6 from 113 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 43 texts read. The bullets claim an energy graph after one hour on 2.4 GHz, no hub, and no paid subscription, in Smart Life, with Alexa and Google Assistant. Reviewers describe a quick setup, a body that did not block the next gang in one report, and use on Christmas lights and tube heaters that replaced older Calex plugs. One review says anything beyond a power snapshot costs £18 a year, and that the free view is per-socket power plus an overall chart, which fights the no-subscription line. A bright blue LED kept one reviewer awake. Another said a plug stopped responding while it was still on Wi-Fi, and that it needs the internet rather than Home Assistant. Place, wattage, and warranty are not stated, and there is no IP rating. The material attribute says brass and copper, which reads as the pins, not a full body description.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Two indoor sockets on Smart Life, if a one-hour delay and a possible paid chart are acceptable.
Less suitable: An immediate watt reading, a dark bedroom, outdoor use, or a local-only setup.
Specifications
Common questions
Does energy monitoring need a subscription?
The bullet says no hub and no paid subscription. One review says a fuller energy chart costs £18 a year. The file contains both, so the free view and the paid chart are not the same claim.
When does the energy figure appear?
The bullet says the plug shows energy data after 1 hour of use. That delay is the listing, not a measured accuracy figure.
Is outdoor use stated?
The page asks. The bullets do not answer, and there is no IP rating.
The ANTELA F1s302 4-pack is four 13 A plugs at £27.99, rated 4.5 from 81 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 28 texts read. The energy bullet matches the 2-pack: the app shows use after one hour, as a graph, on 2.4 GHz in Smart Life, with Alexa and Google Home named. The title says 4PCS and the plug type says Type G. Reviewers set it up by holding the button until it flashes, then adding it to an existing Smart Life account, and they use timers on lamps and heaters. More than one review says the body does not block the next socket. The clearest complaint is the app: it felt cut down, and features changed from an earlier version people preferred. The 28 texts do not show a repeated “died after months” pattern. Size, voltage, wattage, warranty, and place are not stated, the hub line is absent, and there is no IP rating.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Four indoor points on a Smart Life account you already have, if a one-hour energy delay is enough.
Less suitable: A large review sample, a listing that states the room it may be used in, or a 5 GHz network.
Specifications
Common questions
Which app does the 4-pack use?
Smart Life, on 2.4 GHz. Alexa and Google Home are named for voice. That is a link from the app, not a shared account with Tapo or BG Home.
Does the listing say it is for outdoors?
The page asks. The bullets do not answer, and there is no IP rating.
When is energy data shown?
The bullet says after 1 hour of use, as a graph in the app. The listing does not state how close that graph is to the meter.
The QUEENWEN bsd43 listing is £24.98, rated 4.5 from 44 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 30 texts read, which is the thinnest count in this set. Bullets say 2.4 GHz only, no 5 GHz, no hub, 13 A, 240 V, child safety shutters, and energy in real time plus day, week, and month, in Smart Life or Tuya. The title does not say how many plugs are in the box. The attribute says 4 items and the unit count says 1, so this comparison does not call it a 4-pack and does not quote a per-plug price. Reviewers who like it use the watt reading, including on a PC, and some describe an app child lock and a selectable under-3 W auto-off. One review says a subscription was required for something already paid for, and the bullets never mention a fee. Shoulders on the body covered a bulky power brick for one person, while others say the next socket stays clear. Place and warranty are not stated, and there is no IP rating.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A 2.4 GHz Smart Life or Tuya plug when you confirm the count in the live basket before you pay.
Less suitable: A known pack size, a 5 GHz join, or anyone who needs a per-plug price.
Specifications
Common questions
How many plugs are in the box?
The title does not say. The attribute says 4 items and the unit count says 1. Confirm the count in the live basket. This page does not call it a 4-pack.
Does it work on 5 GHz?
The bullet says 2.4 GHz only and that 5 GHz is not compatible. It also says no hub.
Is a child lock listed?
The bullet says child safety shutters. It does not describe an app lock. Reviews mention an app lock separately.
The UPXNBOR UK05 2-pack is the lowest shelf price in this set, at £13.88, with 4.3 from 483 amazon.co.uk reviews and 50 texts read. The bullets claim real-time energy use, Smart Life, 2.4 GHz, no hub, 13 A, and 240 V, and the plug attribute says Type G. Reviewers mention a short first setup, Alexa after the in-app link, Christmas lights, off-peak charging, and a heater, and some call the price good value. One plug in the texts stopped after about 30 days, and one of a pair stopped after nine months. Those are single reports, not a rate you can quote. One review found the Tuya name rather than Smart Life, another heard a rattle in the buttons, and a thick edge blocked other ways on a compact extension. Wattage, warranty, and indoor or outdoor use are not stated, and there is no IP rating.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A low-priced indoor trial of a watt figure, if you can return a unit that stops.
Less suitable: A stated warranty, the garden, or a graph you will treat as the electricity bill.
Specifications
Common questions
How does Alexa connect?
The bullet says open the device in Smart Life, tap Third-party Control, then Alexa. Alexa is a link from that app, not a separate login for the plug.
Does the listing allow outdoor use?
The page asks. The bullets do not answer, and there is no IP rating. Do not treat the missing line as outdoor approval.
Can you set it up without a phone?
The bullets describe the mobile app. They do not describe a setup with no smartphone.
The NOUS A10 2-pack is the only listing here that claims both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, at £24.99, with 4.3 from 105 amazon.co.uk reviews and 49 texts read. Energy is claimed as current use, daily totals, and history in the NOUS Smart Home app, and the voice line names Alexa, Google Home, and Siri Shortcuts. The title says 13 A and a UK 3-pin. The wattage attribute says 13 watts, which cannot be the same limit. Reviewers paired it on Virgin broadband without splitting the network first, and one used a unit in a garden cabin about 20 m from the router, which the listing never calls outdoor use. A 3 W auto-off after 40 minutes, which one reviewer could not retune, cut a camera off before it finished charging. One of a pair stopped after about three weeks, another failed after five months, and one review says the manual lists no warranty. The child-lock control is unclear in one text, and place is not stated.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A house where 2.4 GHz pairing has already failed and you will use the NOUS app.
Less suitable: A printed warranty, a trustworthy wattage cell, or a load that must stay on below 3 W.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing answer the kettle question?
No. The page asks. The bullets name lamps, fans, heaters, or chargers as schedule examples, and the attribute says under 13 A. The wattage cell says 13 watts, which does not match a 13 A title.
Is there a child lock?
The page asks. The bullets do not answer. One review says the control is unclear.
Can you use it outdoors?
The page asks and the bullets do not answer. There is no IP rating. One garden-cabin review is not an outdoor claim on the listing.
The British General Nexus 800 plate, model 822/HC-01, is a flush 13 A double at £14.99, rated 4.1 from 3,089 amazon.co.uk reviews, and only 18 texts are in this file. The listing states 240 V, 3120 W, a 25 mm minimum box, a three-year warranty, and BG Home on 2.4 GHz with no hub and no subscription. It is the only wall socket in the set, with touch control as well as the switched plate, plus Alexa, Hey Google, and Siri. Reviewers like the finish and the fact that, once fitted, it can sit behind furniture, and one mentions a firmware update after it joined the router. The repeated complaint is setup: the direct method fails, AP mode works better, and a Wi-Fi password longer than 32 characters would not connect. That password limit is a review, not a line in the British General manual. The attribute says Amazon India Compliance, and the item-type name says a light switch, while the title is a socket. There is no energy bullet and no IP rating, and you isolate the circuit before a like-for-like swap.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A like-for-like indoor socket swap you can isolate and make safe, where a plug would stick out.
Less suitable: Renters who cannot change a plate, a bathroom, or anyone who wants a watt graph.
Specifications
Common questions
What back box does the listing ask for?
A bullet says a minimum mounting box depth of 25 mm, with fixings included. Isolate the circuit before a like-for-like swap.
Does it need a hub?
The bullet says it uses home Wi-Fi on 2.4 GHz with no hub and no subscription. The app is BG Home, not Tapo or Smart Life.
Does the listing say it is for outdoors?
The page asks. The bullets do not answer, and there is no IP rating. A bathroom or a new circuit needs a competent person.
Scores use the eight amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison, snapshot 15 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test and they do not rank the wider UK aisle. Each score is out of 100: 30 for the star line, 25 for how much review text you can read, 30 for whether form, band, load, place, and the title agree, and 15 for what those texts show. Price is not in the score. It decides the best value after the scores.
Amazon star line
30%The base is the stars divided by 5, times 30, rounded with halves upward. A higher star line is not, on its own, the whole score.
Review volume and depth
25%Volume rises with the number of ratings, from under 80 up to 10,000 or more. Depth adds points for how many review texts were actually read.
What the listing lets you check
30%Points for a named form and app, a named band, a watt figure that matches 13 A, a stated place, and a title that agrees with the attributes. A cell that describes another plug or another country scores nothing on agreement.
What the texts show
15%A large extract that praises setup, with only an isolated fault, scores higher than two separate stop reports, a fee clash, or a cut-off you cannot retune. Those reports are not a failure rate.
Start with the form, not the app icon. A plug-in adaptor needs no wiring. A flush plate needs the supply isolated, and only one listing here is that plate. Then read the band, the account the app uses, and the load line. Prices in this set run from about £13.88 to about £28.99 on amazon.co.uk. A phone graph is not your electricity bill, and a CE cell is not a BS 1363 check.
A Wi-Fi socket in this comparison is a 13 A outlet you switch from an app or by voice. Seven kept amazon.co.uk listings are plug-in adaptors. One is a flush plate, the British General Nexus 800, model 822/HC-01. A plug-in adaptor needs no wiring. A flush plate needs the supply isolated. A USB wall plate, a Wi-Fi repeater plate, and a 433 MHz kit that says it needs no Wi-Fi are not this category. Form comes first, then the band. Most listings are 2.4 GHz only.

Most of these listings are 2.4 GHz only. Silence is not dual-band. Pairing a 2.4 GHz plug to a 5 GHz network name is the usual failure. Only the NOUS A10 claims both bands, and its wattage attribute still says 13 watts beside a 13 A title.
Both Tapo P100 packs, and the BG plate, do not print an energy line. ANTELA, QUEENWEN, UPXNBOR, and NOUS do. A phone graph is not your bill, and this page does not claim those readings are accurate to a percentage.
Tapo rules out EV charging and a motor above 1/6 HP, and it says indoor only. No kept listing states an IP rating. A repeater plate or a 433 MHz kit is a different product even when the title says Wi-Fi. A body that covers the next socket is a fit problem the reviews already mention.
Form is the first cut. A plug-in adaptor needs no wiring, which is the renter path. A flush plate needs the supply isolated, and only the BG Nexus 800 is that plate, with a 25 mm box in the bullet. Band is next. Most listings are 2.4 GHz only, and a silent listing is not dual-band. The NOUS A10 is the only 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz claim. The app account is not shared. Tapo, Smart Life or Tuya, BG Home, and NOUS Smart Home are different logins.
Read the load before you trust 13 A. Tapo prints indoor only, 13 A, 2990 W, no EV charging, and no motor above 1/6 HP. The BG plate prints 3120 W and 240 V. The NOUS wattage attribute says 13 watts, which contradicts the 13 A title, so that cell is not a limit you can use. No kept listing states an IP rating, so outdoors is not established. Energy is optional. ANTELA, QUEENWEN, UPXNBOR, and NOUS print a graph. Both Tapo packs and the BG plate do not. A phone graph is not the electricity bill.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a plug-in pack, no wiring, and you can join 2.4 GHz. The Tapo P100 2-pack states indoor only, 13 A, 2990 W, and no hub. It does not meter energy, and it is the wrong plug for the garden.
You have already swapped a socket and you want the control in the wall, not a body that sticks out. The BG Nexus 800 is the only flush double here, on 2.4 GHz, with a 25 mm box in the bullet. Stop if the room is a bathroom.
You want a listing that prints energy monitoring. The UPXNBOR 2-pack is the lowest shelf price among scores of 70 or more, and it claims real-time use. A phone graph is not your electricity bill, and two stop reports are not a rate.
The top pick is the Tapo P100 2-pack at about £14.99. Indoor use, 13 A, 2990 W, and 2.4 GHz agree, the file shows 4.6 from 54,195 reviews, and the texts praise setup. It does not meter energy. The best value is the UPXNBOR 2-pack at about £13.88, the lowest shelf price among listings that score 70 or more, with a real-time energy bullet. Two stop reports on that file are not a failure rate. A phone graph is not your electricity bill.

UPXNBOR energy, 2-pack
About £13.88 is the lowest shelf price among listings that score 70 or more, and the bullets claim real-time energy.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources on plug-in electrical safety, smart-product security, and Part P. Listings checked 15 October 2026. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores compare published listings and review texts. They are not a laboratory test.