Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wi-Fi socket buying guide: form, band, app and load

Updated: October 2026

You are standing at a double socket with a lamp in one hand and a phone in the other, deciding whether a plug-in Wi-Fi socket is enough or the wall plate has to change. This Wi-Fi socket buying guide uses the eight amazon.co.uk listings from 15 October 2026 and tells you which check removes a row before you pay. The [Wi-Fi socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/wifi-socket) holds those eight rows. Peter F. set this from those listings. There was no lab test. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are standing at a double socket with a lamp in one hand and a phone in the other, deciding whether a plug-in Wi-Fi socket is enough or the wall plate has to change.

Our top picks

Tapo Tapo P100, 2-pack

Best overall

Tapo Tapo P100, 2-pack
9.5/10about £14.99
UPXNBOR UPXNBOR energy, 2-pack

Best value

UPXNBOR UPXNBOR energy, 2-pack
7.2/10about £13.88
On this page

Plug-in adaptor or a flush plate

Seven of the eight listings are plug-in adaptors you can take with you if you rent. The eighth is the British General Nexus 800, model 822/HC-01, at £14.99, a flush double that needs the circuit isolated and a back box at least 25 mm deep. A renter who cannot alter the plate is finished with that row. Plug-in prices run from the UPXNBOR 2-pack at £13.88 to the Tapo P100 4-pack at £28.99. None of the seven plugs asks you to touch a terminal. Fitting is on smart plug vs smart wall socket. A plug controls one appliance. The plate can switch both outlets. Do not stack a smart plug on the smart plate.

Band, app, and hub

Most of these listings are 2.4 GHz only. The NOUS A10 2-pack at £24.99 is the only row that states both bands, and that claim is not a promise on every mesh. Reviewers did pair it on Virgin broadband without splitting the name. Tapo uses the Tapo app. ANTELA and UPXNBOR name Smart Life. QUEENWEN names Smart Life or Tuya. NOUS uses NOUS Smart Home. The BG plate uses BG Home. One UPXNBOR review found Tuya when the listing said Smart Life. The Tapo, UPXNBOR, ANTELA 2-pack, QUEENWEN, and BG bullets say no hub. The NOUS bullet and the ANTELA 4-pack bullet do not. The button sequence is on how to set up a Wi-Fi socket.
Tapo Tapo P100, 2-pack

Testsieger

Tapo Tapo P100, 2-pack
9.5/10about £14.99

Load, indoor use, and what 13 A does not promise

Every kept listing states 13 A. That is the ceiling of a UK socket, not permission for a heater, a motor, or an EV lead on a schedule. The Tapo tips are the only ones that say indoor use only, 2990 W, no EV charging, and no motor above 1/6 HP. One review called a changing gaming-PC load a poor match, and one owner reported a relay click that did not cut power. None of the eight prints an IP rating. A garden-cabin review does not rewrite a listing that never says outdoor. A CE cell is not BS 1363. Regulation 35 of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 requires plug-in gear for UK use to suit BS 1363 sockets. None of these files prints that line.

Energy claim, pack size, and bad attribute lines

ANTELA shows data after one hour. QUEENWEN states day, week, and month. UPXNBOR says real-time consumption. NOUS says current use plus history. Both Tapo P100 packs and the BG plate do not. TP-Link’s UK FAQ says the P100 does not monitor energy. The Tapo 4-pack says Type A or Type B beside a UK 13 A title. The NOUS wattage cell says 13 watts beside a 13 A title. QUEENWEN’s title does not state a pack, the attribute says 4 items, and the unit count says 1. The BG line says Amazon India Compliance, and the item type says a light switch. The ANTELA bullet says no paid subscription, and one review says a fuller chart is £18 a year.

Common questions

Does a Wi-Fi socket have to be 2.4 GHz?
In this set, yes, unless you buy the NOUS A10 2-pack, the only listing that claims 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. The other rows are 2.4 GHz only. A shared network name will still stop a 2.4 GHz plug until the phone is on a name the plug can see.
Will 13 A run a kettle or a heater?
13 A is the socket’s ceiling, not a recommendation. Tapo’s tips exclude EV charging and a motor above 1/6 HP, and they cap the listing at 2990 W indoors. A review used a kettle. The bullets do not name one. If you are unsure, do not automate it.
Which listings in this set meter energy?
ANTELA, QUEENWEN, UPXNBOR, and NOUS print an energy feature. Both Tapo P100 packs and the BG plate do not. A graph in an app is a comparison between appliances, not the meter your supplier uses for the bill. Accuracy is not stated for these eight ASINs.
Can I use one of these in the garden?
Only the Tapo tips answer, and they say indoor use only. The other pages ask about outdoors and do not answer, and no listing states an IP rating. A review that put a plug in a box, or in a garden cabin, does not rewrite the listing. Outdoor equipment should be on an RCD, and a fixed outdoor socket is a different job.
Why do some attribute lines disagree with the title?
Amazon tables sometimes carry a cell from another marketplace. Type A or Type B on the Tapo 4-pack, 13 watts on the NOUS 2-pack, and Amazon India Compliance on the BG plate are those cells. Buy from the title, the current, and the bullets you can read, and ignore a cell that describes a different plug or a different country.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on plug-in electrical safety, smart-product security, and Part P. Listings checked 15 October 2026. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.

  1. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Silentnight Smart Wi-Fi Plug recall 2602-0174 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, consumer connectable product security (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Safety First, plugs and fuses (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Electrical Safety First, garden (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. TP-Link UK, Tapo P100 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. British General smart FAQ (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. IET Part P FAQ (retrieved 15 October 2026)