Surge protection on a UK adapter plug with a switch
Many listings in the [adapter plug with switch comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/adapter-plug-with-switch) say “surge protected”, yet almost none print joules. Surge here means a short high-voltage spike, handled, if at all, inside the block. It is not extra amperes, not overload protection, and not an RCD. A neon beside a switch does not prove the spike stage is healthy. The [adapter plug with switch buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/adapter-plug-with-switch/sub/adapter-plug-with-switch-buying-guide) puts surge after the fuse, the 13 A total, the switches and the fit. There was no lab test of the components. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Many listings in the adapter plug with switch comparison say “surge protected”, yet almost none print joules.
Many listings in the adapter plug with switch comparison say “surge protected”, yet almost none print joules. Surge here means a short high-voltage spike, handled, if at all, inside the block. It is not extra amperes, not overload protection, and not an RCD. A neon beside a switch does not prove the spike stage is healthy. The adapter plug with switch buying guide puts surge after the fuse, the 13 A total, the switches and the fit. There was no lab test of the components. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Surge | Indicator | AC outlets | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | LENCENT LENCENT 2-socket adaptor with USB | 350 J stated | Not stated | 2, plus three USB | 9.4 | about £16.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | Masterplug Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor | Claimed, no joules | Thermal cut-out | 3, front and sides | 9.2 | about £8.25 | View offer |
| Best value | Status Status 3WAISB110 3-way adaptor | Claimed, no joules | Not stated | 3 | 9.2 | about £5.99 | View offer |
On this page
What the surge bullet is claiming
Joules only where the listing states them
A neon is not a surge indicator
What surge protection does not do
Common questions
Does surge protected mean the adaptor can take more than 13 A?
Why do most listings give no joule number?
Is 350 joules a lot?
Does the neon by the switch mean surge is working?
Will surge protection stop an overload fire?
Is surge the same as an RCD?
Which row states joules?
Related pages
Sources
Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored on 19 October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.
- Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- BSI, BS 1363-3:2023 (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- Electrical Safety First, block adaptors and leads (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- Electrical Safety First, appliance ratings (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- London Fire Brigade, cables, fuses and leads (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, electrical safety (retrieved 19.10.2026)
- Which?, overloading sockets (retrieved 19.10.2026)


