Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Spark plug lawnmower comparison 2026

The best spark plug lawnmowers, compared.

Top pick: Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair – Score 96 from 4.8 and 2,482 reviews at about £7.99, an RC12YC pair whose pack-count cells disagree. Best value: NGK BPMR7A – Score 94 from 4.7 and 5,929 reviews at about £3.91, not the lowest price in the set. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A spark plug lawnmower part is the replaceable ignition piece in a small petrol engine. In the UK you usually meet one when a petrol mower or a related garden engine is hard to start. Match the code on the old plug or in the engine manual, not the word lawnmower in a title. Thread diameter, reach, hex size, heat range, resistor and electrode gap have to agree together. Flathead engines and overhead-valve engines do not share one plug. Short-reach two-stroke plugs for saws and strimmers are a third family. A 14 mm thread is not enough. The usual two-stroke pattern is a short reach with a 19 mm hex. Neighbouring heat-range numbers are not substitutes, and the letter R means a resistor. Take the gap from the engine chart after delivery. Many rows are 0.76 mm and some dated rows are 0.51 mm. Check or replace the plug if the engine will not start, about every 25 hours or once a season. Those checks are in the [spark plug lawnmower buying guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/spark-plug-lawnmower/sub/spark-plug-lawnmower-buying-guide).

A spark plug lawnmower part is the replaceable ignition piece in a small petrol engine. In the UK you usually meet one when a petrol mower or a related garden engine is hard to start.

Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair

Best overall

Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair
9.6/10∼ £8

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best spark plug lawnmowers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair
Best value
NGK BPMR7A
OMCGG F6RTC pair
NGK BPR5ES
Adefol BPMR7A cross
Hawpasy F7RTC pair
UYUYong RJ19LM, 3
VZU L7T 6-pack
RLMVGBX L7T pair
Lumoia XC92YC pair
Talinco 2-pack
OmniCraft BPMR7A
9.6/10
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
8.2/10
8.6/10
7.8/10
7.4/10
7.2/10
–/10
–/10
∼ £8
∼ £4
∼ £6
∼ £4
∼ £5
∼ £6
∼ £5
∼ £9
∼ £6
∼ £4
∼ £5
∼ £5
4.8(2,482)
4.7(5,929)
4.7(109)
4.6(3,235)
4.6(2,214)
4.5(11)
4.3(153)
4.3(18)
4.1(9)
4.0(2)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best spark plug lawnmowers in detail

Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair

Rank 1

Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair

Our view

Across 2,482 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.8, this Briggs & Stratton listing is sold as an RC12YC pair at £7.99, with a 12-month warranty cell. UK reviews treat the plugs as a genuine service part and a spare in the same pack, including a first pull on a Masport and an easy fit on a Mountfield. One review says the terminal would not seat in a new coil boot that had already taken a Champion RC12YC. Another says the plugs were the wrong buy for an overhead-cam engine, which is a different layout from a typical overhead-valve Briggs. The title, the unit count and the included line say two plugs, while the Number of Items cell says 1, so count what arrives. The rank cell sits under car spark plugs, and this file does not print the 0.020 in gap used on some Quantum rows.

Pros

  • RC12YC OHV pair at £7.99 with a 12-month warranty cell
  • 4.8 from 2,482 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • UK reviews cite a Masport first pull and a Mountfield fit
  • One review says they outlasted cheap imports on a Briggs engine

Cons

  • Number of Items cell says 1 while the title says two
  • One UK review: terminal too large for a new genuine coil boot
  • One UK review: bought in error for an overhead-cam engine
  • Rank cell is car spark plugs, not lawn mower spark plugs

Best for: An OHV Briggs engine whose parts list calls for RC12YC, if you accept a pair and check the terminal in the boot.

Less suitable: A flathead engine, an overhead-cam engine, or a buyer who needs the Quantum 0.020 in plug. That gap is not in this listing.

Specifications

Model
Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair
Brand
Briggs & Stratton
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.8/5(2,482)
Plug code
RC12YC
Family
OHV
Thread
14 mm
Pack
2, cell says 1
Electrode
Copper, nickel
Warranty
12 months
Listing conflict
Pack count disagrees

Common questions

How many plugs does the listing say are in the pack?

The title, the unit count and the included-components line say two BS-OHV plugs. The Number of Items cell says 1.

Which code is printed for this pair?

The title says RC12YC. The model cell is 992362 and the included line says 992304. The listing tells you to check the Briggs & Stratton parts list.

What do UK reviews say about fitting?

Reviewers report lawnmower use, including a first pull on a Masport and an easy fit on a Mountfield. One review says the terminal was too large for a new genuine Briggs coil boot.

NGK BPMR7A

Rank 2

NGK BPMR7A

Our view

The saved listing is a single NGK BPMR7A at £3.91, 4.7 from 5,929 reviews, the largest count in this set, and number 1 in Lawn Mower Spark Plugs on that rank cell. UK reviews mostly describe chainsaws, a Ryobi strimmer, a Stihl hedge trimmer, an FS55 and a Mitox blower starting after a change, with lawnmower servicing mentioned as well. One review says the built-in resistor was a poor replacement for a non-resistor CJ8 on a hand-pull saw. The Gap Size cell prints 9.5 mm and does not say whether that figure is the electrode gap or the reach. The unit count and a bullet say one plug, while the included-components cell says NO. The vehicle-type cell says Motorcycle, so the garden rank is not the same thing as a fit for a four-stroke mower.

Pros

  • Single NGK BPMR7A at £3.91
  • 4.7 from 5,929 reviews, the largest count in this set
  • Rank cell: 1 in Lawn Mower Spark Plugs
  • UK reviews on strimmers, a Stihl hedge trimmer and chainsaws

Cons

  • Gap cell says 9.5 mm and does not define it
  • Included-components cell says NO
  • One UK review: resistor versus a CJ8 on a hand-pull chainsaw
  • Vehicle-type cell says Motorcycle

Best for: A tool whose existing plug or manual says BPMR7A, especially a two-stroke saw or strimmer already on that code.

Less suitable: A four-stroke mower that calls for RJ19LM or RC12YC, or a saw specified as a non-resistor CJ8.

Specifications

Model
NGK BPMR7A
Brand
NGK
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.7/5(5,929)
Plug code
BPMR7A
Thread
14 mm
Pack
1
Electrode
Nickel, ceramic
Gap or hex
9.5 mm cell
Resistor
Review: has R
Warranty
Months not stated
Listing conflict
Included cell: no

Common questions

Is this a single plug?

The unit count is 1 and the bullet says one NGK BPMR7A. The included-components cell says NO.

What gap does the listing print?

The Gap Size cell says 9.5 millimetres. It does not say whether that figure is the electrode gap or the reach.

Where do UK reviews say it was used?

Named uses include chainsaws, a Ryobi strimmer, a Stihl hedge trimmer, an FS55, a Mitox blower and lawnmower servicing. One review says the resistor was wrong for a CJ8 on a pull-start saw.

OMCGG F6RTC pair

Rank 3

OMCGG F6RTC pair

Our view

This is a two-plug F6RTC listing at £5.59, 4.7 from 109 reviews, sold as a cross for NGK BPR6ES. A bullet states a 14 mm thread diameter and 19 mm of thread length, and the OEM line names MTD 951-10292 and 751-10292. UK reviews include a lawnmower and a 20-year MacAllister that started on the third pull with a 21 mm socket. One review says the plugs were not the ones in the photograph, though that reviewer still found the size right. The warranty cell says no, and a Universal Fit cell sits beside that specific part number. The vehicle-type cell says car and motorcycle, so you match the code and the stated 19 mm reach rather than the vehicle words.

Pros

  • F6RTC pair at £5.59 with 19 mm reach stated in the bullets
  • 4.7 from 109 reviews
  • UK review: MacAllister started on the third pull with a 21 mm socket
  • MTD 951-10292 and 751-10292 on the OEM line

Cons

  • Warranty cell says no
  • One UK review: plugs did not match the listing photo
  • Vehicle-type cell says car and motorcycle
  • Universal Fit cell beside a specific part number

Best for: A mower whose plug is already F6RTC or BPR6ES, and whose reach is the 19 mm the bullets state.

Less suitable: A short-reach two-stroke that needs 9.5 mm reach, or a buyer who needs the plugs to match the photograph.

Specifications

Model
OMCGG F6RTC pair
Brand
OMCGG
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.7/5(109)
Plug code
F6RTC
Thread
14 mm x 19 mm
Pack
2
Electrode
Nickel
Gap or hex
21 mm socket
Warranty
No
Listing conflict
Photo did not match

Common questions

What reach do the bullets state?

The bullets say a 14 mm thread diameter and a 19 mm thread length, and they name NGK BPR6ES among the crosses.

Did UK reviewers fit it to a mower?

Yes. One review names a lawnmower. Another says a 20-year MacAllister started on the third pull with a 21 mm socket.

Did the plugs match the photograph?

One UK review says the plugs received were not as pictured, and that the size was still right.

NGK BPR5ES

Rank 4

NGK BPR5ES

Our view

The saved listing is one NGK BPR5ES at £3.54, the lowest shelf price in this set, at 4.6 from 3,235 reviews and ranked 1 in Car Spark Plugs. UK reviews often say a Honda or other petrol mower started after the change, which is why the row sits in a lawnmower comparison at all. One reviewer bought it for a Mountfield S421 / ST100 and says that engine needs BPR6ES, not BPR5ES. Core and top cells say iridium, while the type name is NGK Genuine BPR5ES, and one UK review disputes the metal. One delivery arrived loose in an envelope, so the gap may have moved, and another review says only one plug arrived. The thread cell is M14 x 1.25, reach is not stated, and the origin cell says Italy.

Pros

  • £3.54, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • 4.6 from 3,235 reviews
  • UK reviews on Honda and other petrol mowers
  • Origin cell says Italy

Cons

  • Rank is car spark plugs
  • One UK review: wrong plug for a Mountfield ST100, which needed BPR6ES
  • Iridium cells conflict with the BPR5ES type name
  • One review: loose in an envelope. Another: only one plug arrived

Best for: An engine whose manual or old plug says BPR5ES, including some Honda mowers named in UK reviews.

Less suitable: A Mountfield ST100 or any engine specified as BPR6ES, and anyone who needs the electrode protected in transit.

Specifications

Model
NGK BPR5ES
Brand
NGK
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,235)
Plug code
BPR5ES
Thread
M14 x 1.25
Pack
1
Electrode
Iridium cells
Resistor
R in the code
Warranty
Producer
Listing conflict
Iridium vs name

Common questions

Is this listed as a lawnmower plug?

The title is NGK BPR5ES. The rank cell is 1 in Car Spark Plugs. UK reviews in the file do describe petrol mowers, including Honda models.

What do the material cells say?

Core and top both say iridium. The item type name says NGK Genuine BPR5ES and does not say iridium. One UK review disputes the metal content.

Which UK review says the heat range was wrong?

One reviewer bought it for a Mountfield S421 / ST100 and says that engine needs BPR6ES, not BPR5ES.

Adefol BPMR7A cross

Rank 5

Adefol BPMR7A cross

Our view

A single Adefol cross at £4.74, 4.6 from 2,214 reviews, ranked 3 in Lawn Mower Spark Plugs on that cell. The bullets sell it against BPMR7A, L7T, CJ8, RCJ6Y, RCJ7Y and others, and they name 2-stroke kit in the 47 cc to 50 cc range plus Stihl and Husqvarna model strings. UK reviews often say a saw or strimmer started after fitting. The thread cell says M10, which does not line up with a 14 mm BPMR7A description, and one review says there is no resistor even though several codes on the list contain R. Gap and hex are not printed. The bullets offer a full refund if you are not satisfied, without stating how many months that covers.

Pros

  • £4.74 single with 2,214 reviews at 4.6
  • UK reviews on a Stihl FS55, strimmers and saws
  • Cross list names Stihl MS170 and Husqvarna 272XP among others

Cons

  • Thread cell says M10
  • One UK review: no resistor, and the cross list cannot be both
  • One UK review: did not fix an existing chainsaw fault
  • One UK review calls a very long equivalent list not credible

Best for: A 2-stroke saw or strimmer whose removed plug matches this cross, after you check thread and resistor on the plug in your hand.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated resistor, a stated 14 mm reach, or a single Champion code such as RCJ7Y with no ambiguity.

Specifications

Model
Adefol BPMR7A cross
Brand
Adefol
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,214)
Plug code
BPMR7A cross
Family
2-stroke
Thread
M10
Pack
1
Electrode
Copper, ceramic
Resistor
Review: no R
Warranty
Refund, no months
Listing conflict
M10 vs BPMR7A

Common questions

What thread size is in the specification cell?

The thread cell says M10. The bullets still list BPMR7A among the crosses.

Does the listing say the plug has a resistor?

The cells do not say. One UK review says these plugs have no resistor, and that a listing cannot be both the R and the non-R code.

What did UK reviews fit it to?

Strimmers, a Stihl FS55, chainsaws and at least one lawnmower. One review says it did not cure a chainsaw that already ran badly.

Hawpasy F7RTC pair

Rank 6

Hawpasy F7RTC pair

Our view

Two F7RTC plugs at £5.79. The listing line is 4.5 from 11 reviews, which is a small sample, and the only UK review text in the file is the word Super. No reach, gap or engine model is printed, so you cannot check the plug against a Briggs or Honda row from this page alone. The thread cell says #14, and the core cell says iridium. The rank cell is 134 in Car Spark Plugs, and the title also mentions a toolbox and a cabinet. Treat the lawnmower words as a claim. Buy it only if the plug already in the engine reads F7RTC and you can match the thread yourself.

Pros

  • Two plugs at £5.79
  • Thread cell says #14
  • Core cell says iridium

Cons

  • No engine model, reach or gap
  • Only one UK review, with no machine named
  • Rank cell is car spark plugs
  • Title also says toolbox and cabinet

Best for: Only if the plug already in the engine reads F7RTC and you can match the thread yourself.

Less suitable: A buyer choosing from a mower model number. This file does not give one.

Specifications

Model
Hawpasy F7RTC pair
Brand
Hawpasy
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.5/5(11)
Plug code
F7RTC
Thread
#14
Pack
2
Electrode
Iridium
Listing conflict
Toolbox in title

Common questions

Which engines are named?

None. The bullets say lawn mowers, motorcycles and cars. The thread cell says #14. Reach, hex and gap are not stated.

How is it rated?

The listing line is 4.5 out of 5 from 11 reviews. The only UK review body in the file is the word Super.

Is the fit certain?

No. The title includes lawnmower and also toolbox and cabinet. The rank cell is car spark plugs, not lawn mower spark plugs.

UYUYong RJ19LM, 3

Rank 7

UYUYong RJ19LM, 3

Our view

Three RJ19LM plugs at £4.89, 4.3 from 153 reviews, with Classic, Sprint, Quattro and Quantum names in the bullets. UK reviews include a lawnmower and a JCB rotavator that ran after the change. The same file describes a hex that would not take a 13/16 socket, the size many Champion flathead plugs use. One Macallister stopped because the plugs overheated, which is a limit on treating the title as a heat-range match rather than a lab result. You still read the code on the old plug before you rely on those Briggs family names. An overhead-valve engine that calls for RC12YC is outside this listing.

Pros

  • Three RJ19LM plugs at £4.89
  • 4.3 from 153 reviews
  • Thread cell 14 mm x 1.25 mm
  • UK review: JCB C35 rotavator ran

Cons

  • UK reviews: hex smaller than Champion and not a 13/16 fit
  • One UK review: overheated and stopped a Macallister Briggs engine
  • Quantum code date is not in the file

Best for: A flathead mower whose old plug reads RJ19LM, if you have a socket that fits the smaller hex described in reviews.

Less suitable: An OHV engine, or a buyer who only owns a 13/16 socket and expects the Champion hex.

Specifications

Model
UYUYong RJ19LM, 3
Brand
UYUYong
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.3/5(153)
Plug code
RJ19LM
Family
Flathead
Thread
14 mm x 1.25
Pack
3
Electrode
Steel, stainless
Gap or hex
Hex under 13/16
Resistor
R in the code
Listing conflict
Hex vs 13/16

Common questions

Which engines does the listing name?

The bullets say Classic, Sprint, Quattro and Quantum. A Quantum code date is not in the file.

Will it fit a 13/16 socket?

The file has no hex measurement. Two UK reviews say the nut is smaller than a Champion equivalent and that a 13/16 socket does not fit.

What running fault appears in UK reviews?

One reviewer says the plugs overheated quickly in a Macallister with a Briggs & Stratton engine and the engine stopped.

VZU L7T 6-pack

Rank 8

VZU L7T 6-pack

Our view

Six short-reach crosses at £8.89, 4.3 from 18 reviews, with a 14 mm by 9.5 mm thread cell and Stihl and Husqvarna model names in the bullets. That reach matches the short two-stroke pattern, so a six-pack only makes sense when several tools already use this L7T or BPMR7A code. The UK reviews in the file are short and positive, and none describes a failure, though 18 reviews is a thin sample next to the NGK single in this set. The warranty cell says no. A four-stroke walk-behind that calls for RJ19LM or RC12YC is outside what these bullets describe. You still set the gap from the tool manual after delivery.

Pros

  • Six plugs at £8.89
  • Thread cell 14 mm x 9.5 mm
  • Named Stihl MS170 and Husqvarna 272XP crosses
  • UK reviews in the file report no fault

Cons

  • Only 18 reviews
  • Warranty cell says no
  • Vehicle cell does not say lawn mower
  • No UK review describes long use of more than one plug

Best for: Several 2-stroke tools that already use this L7T or BPMR7A code, so a six-pack is actually shared.

Less suitable: A single four-stroke mower, or anyone who needs a warranty cell that says more than no.

Specifications

Model
VZU L7T 6-pack
Brand
VZU
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.3/5(18)
Plug code
L7T cross
Family
2-stroke
Thread
14 mm x 9.5 mm
Pack
6
Electrode
Nickel
Warranty
No
Listing conflict
ATV, not a mower

Common questions

How many plugs, and what thread?

Six plugs. The thread cell says 14 mm x 9.5 mm. The bullets say fixed tail caps.

Which machines are named?

Stihl MS170 and MS180 among others, Husqvarna 61 to 272XP, plus lawnmowers, strimmers, blowers and small petrol engines. The listing says check the model.

What do the UK reviews say?

Five short UK reviews call them good value and say they did the job. None describes a fault. One reviewer had used only one of the six.

RLMVGBX L7T pair

Rank 9

RLMVGBX L7T pair

Our view

Two L7T plugs at £5.99, 4.1 from 9 reviews, with about 13.7 mm thread diameter and about 52 mm overall length in the bullets. Two UK reviews say they did the job. One says three electrodes made gapping hard, and one says both plugs failed. Nine reviews is too small to treat either outcome as typical. There is no printed gap, so you still set the figure from the engine manual after the plugs arrive. A BR2LM flathead plug is a different code, and this listing does not show that you can swap the two on reach alone.

Pros

  • Lawn mower on the vehicle-type cell
  • Bullets tell you to match code, reach, hex and gap
  • Two UK reviews say they did the job on a mower

Cons

  • One UK review: both plugs not working
  • One UK review: three electrodes, difficult to gap
  • Only 9 reviews
  • OEM line pairs L7T with BR2LM

Best for: A lawnmower whose removed plug is marked L7T, if you can gap a three-electrode plug as that review describes.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a single-electrode plug with a printed gap, or a BR2LM flathead plug without checking the reach.

Specifications

Model
RLMVGBX L7T pair
Brand
RLMVGBX
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.1/5(9)
Plug code
L7T
Family
Small engines
Thread
About 13.7 mm
Pack
2
Electrode
Copper
Gap or hex
Three electrodes
Listing conflict
L7T and BR2LM

Common questions

What should you check before fitting?

The bullets say compare the L7T mark, thread, reach, hex, terminal, electrode layout and gap with the plug you removed and with the engine manual.

What did a UK reviewer say about the electrodes?

One review says there are three electrodes, which made the gap difficult, and that the plugs were then fitted to a lawnmower.

Did any review say the plugs failed?

Yes. One UK review says both plugs are not working.

Lumoia XC92YC pair

Rank 10

Lumoia XC92YC pair

Our view

Two XC92YC plugs at £3.99. The listing line is 4.0 from 2 reviews, and there is no review text to show which machine was fitted. The bullets name Z335, Z345 and Z355 strings and MIU11020, and they mention a twin, which is the practical reason to buy a pair of the same code. The warranty cell says no. With two reviews and no fitting story, you are buying the code printed in the bullets, not a measured mower result. A walk-behind flathead or a two-stroke saw is not named on this listing. Check the parts list for XC92YC or MIU11020 before you rely on the model strings.

Pros

  • Two XC92YC plugs at £3.99
  • Model strings and MIU11020 are printed
  • Bullets mention a dual-cylinder pair
  • Rank cell is 35 in Lawn Mower Spark Plugs

Cons

  • Only 2 reviews, and no review text
  • Thread, reach and gap are n/a
  • Warranty cell says no
  • Vehicle cell also says car and motorcycle

Best for: A machine whose plug or parts list says XC92YC or MIU11020, including a twin that needs two of the same code.

Less suitable: A walk-behind flathead or a two-stroke saw. Those codes are not on this listing.

Specifications

Model
Lumoia XC92YC pair
Brand
Lumoia
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.0/5(2)
Plug code
XC92YC
Family
Ride-on twin
Pack
2
Electrode
Ceramic, alloy
Warranty
No
Listing conflict
Car and motorcycle

Common questions

Which model strings are on the listing?

Z335E, Z335M, Z345M, Z345R, Z355E and Z355R, plus MIU11020. The title also prints Z355. Thread and gap are not stated.

How many reviews is the score based on?

The listing line is 4.0 out of 5 from 2 reviews. The file has no review text, so there is no theme to quote.

Does the listing mention two plugs in one engine?

Yes. The bullets say the pair can replace both plugs in a dual-cylinder machine.

Talinco 2-pack

Rank 11

Talinco 2-pack

Our view

Two plugs at £4.99 with no customer-reviews line, so there is no star score to weigh against the other rows. The title describes a 14 mm by 1.25 mm lawnmower plug. The included line says L7T, while the bullets name Classic, Sprint, Quattro and Quantum, which are flathead family names rather than a short-reach two-stroke code. Do not treat those strings as one fit. The rank is 332 in Lawn Mower Spark Plugs, which only places the listing in that list. Read the code on the plugs that arrive and match it to the engine before you fit them.

Pros

  • £4.99 for two
  • Title states 14 mm x 1.25 mm
  • Bullets say no special tools

Cons

  • No customer-reviews line
  • L7T and flathead family names conflict in one file
  • Weight cell is 10 g for two plugs
  • Rank 332 in the lawn-mower plug list

Best for: Only after you read the code on the plugs that arrive and match it to the engine. The file does not settle which code that is.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs either a proven L7T or a proven RJ19LM and cannot inspect the marking first.

Specifications

Model
Talinco 2-pack
Brand
Talinco
Price
∼£5
Plug code
L7T on box line
Family
Flathead names
Thread
14 mm x 1.25
Pack
2
Electrode
Nickel ceramic
Warranty
None extra
Listing conflict
L7T vs flathead

Common questions

Which code is in the box, according to the file?

The included-components line says two L7T plugs. The bullets instead name Classic, Sprint, Quattro, Quantum and older opposed twins. Those are not the same claim.

Is there a star rating?

No customer-reviews line and no review text.

What thread does the title state?

14 mm x 1.25 mm. Reach and gap are not stated. The bullets say no special tools.

OmniCraft BPMR7A

Rank 12

OmniCraft BPMR7A

Our view

One BPMR7A-marked plug at £5.39 from OmniCraft, with the manufacturer cell naming XuanQiMY. There is no customer-reviews line, so there is no star score and the comparison score stays at 0. The bullets limit it to 2-stroke kit in the 47 cc to 50 cc range, name Stihl MS170-series and Husqvarna chainsaws, and tell you to verify the part number. Thread and gap are not printed, though the core and top cells both say copper. At £5.39 it costs more than the NGK BPMR7A single in this set without adding a review sample. It is a possible match only when your manual already says BPMR7A for a tool in that capacity band.

Pros

  • Single BPMR7A cross at £5.39
  • Bullets name Stihl MS170-series and Husqvarna chainsaws
  • Copper core stated in the cell and the bullets

Cons

  • No customer-reviews line
  • Thread and gap are n/a
  • Dearer than the NGK BPMR7A single in this set, with no review line to compare

Best for: A 47 cc to 50 cc 2-stroke whose manual says BPMR7A, if you accept a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: A four-stroke mower, or a buyer who wants a star line before paying £5.39.

Specifications

Model
OmniCraft BPMR7A
Brand
OmniCraft
Price
∼£5
Plug code
BPMR7A
Family
2-stroke
Pack
1
Electrode
Copper

Common questions

Is there an amazon.co.uk star line?

No. The amazon.co.uk capture has no customer-reviews line and no review text.

What does the title say it fits?

A 2-stroke lawnmower, chainsaw and brush cutter. The bullets add Stihl MS170-series and Husqvarna chainsaws, and 47 cc to 50 cc engines, and tell you to check the part number.

What material cells are filled?

Core and top both say copper. The bullets also say an alumina silicate ceramic insulator and a copper core.

How we compared

Scores on this page are the figures already stored for each amazon.co.uk listing on 22 October 2026. Each score is the star rating multiplied by 20, so 4.8 becomes 96. If the customer-review count is under 100, that stored score subtracts 8. If the amazon.co.uk capture has no customer-reviews line, the score is 0. Shelf price does not create a score. It is used only afterwards, to choose the best value among plugs that already have a score. The top pick is the highest score. Plug code, thread, pack and gap stay in the table and are not turned into points. Twelve listings stayed in. This is not a laboratory test.

1

Amazon.co.uk listing score

100%

The stored score is the amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20. A 4.8 line starts at 96. If the customer-review count is under 100, the score subtracts 8. At 100 reviews or more there is no deduction. If the amazon.co.uk capture has no customer-reviews line, the score is 0. Plug code, thread, pack, gap and hex stay in the comparison cells, including cells that disagree, and they are not turned into points. Shelf price is recorded as shown and does not create a score. The top pick is the highest of those stored scores. The best value is chosen after the scores, among plugs that already have a score, and it is not automatically the lowest price.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Spark plug lawnmower buying guide

Match the code, the reach and the gap to the engine. A 14 mm thread is not a fitment, and a title that says lawnmower is not a type.

What is a lawnmower spark plug?

A lawnmower spark plug is the replaceable ignition part in a small petrol engine. You usually buy one when a walk-behind mower, a ride-on, or a related garden engine is hard to start. The code on the old plug, or the code in the engine manual, is the purchase. The word lawnmower in a title is not a fitment. Thread diameter, thread reach, hex size, heat range, resistor and electrode gap have to match that engine together.

Best for

  • A petrol mower whose old plug or manual already shows the code
  • A two-stroke saw or strimmer that stays on its own short-reach code

Not ideal for

  • Anyone buying from the word lawnmower, with no code to check
  • A no-start that still has no spark after a correct new plug

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on the word lawnmower

    Flathead, overhead-valve and short-reach two-stroke plugs are different families. A 14 mm thread can screw in and still run hot, foul, or fail to seat. Read the code on the plug you removed.

  2. 2

    Ignoring a 0.51 mm gap row

    Many walk-behind rows are 0.76 mm. Some dated rows are 0.51 mm. A short-reach two-stroke chart often states 0.7 mm. Check the gap after delivery, because a loose parcel can move it.

  3. 3

    Treating resistor and non-resistor as the same plug

    The letter R means a resistor. One UK review said a resistor plug was a poor swap for a non-resistor plug on a hand-pull chainsaw. Neighbouring heat-range numbers are not substitutes either.

What to weigh up

Code, reach and hex

High

The engine model and type come first. On some small engines a code date changes the part and the gap, so a family name such as Classic, Sprint, Quattro or Quantum is not a single plug. Flathead walk-behind codes and overhead-valve codes do not interchange. Short-reach two-stroke plugs for saws and strimmers are a third family. A 14 mm thread is the start of the check, not the end. Reach and hex decide whether the plug seats and whether your socket fits.

Heat range, resistor and gap

High

Heat range is the number in the code, and the next number is not a substitute. One UK review of a Mountfield engine said it needed the next heat range, not the plug that had been ordered. The letter R means a resistor. One UK review said a resistor plug was a poor swap for a non-resistor plug on a hand-pull chainsaw. If the listing cells do not state a resistor and a review says there is none, while the cross list mixes R and non-R codes, treat that row as unresolved.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One walk-behind mower

Read the code off the old plug before you buy. If that code is RC12YC, the Briggs & Stratton pair is the top pick at about £7.99. The stored score is 96, from 4.8 and 2,482 amazon.co.uk reviews. The Number of Items cell says 1 while the title says two, so count what arrives. A flathead code such as RJ19LM is a different row, and an overhead-cam engine is outside this listing.

Saws and strimmers

Do not buy a four-stroke mower plug because both titles say garden. If the tool already says BPMR7A, the NGK single is the best value at about £3.91. The score is 94, from 4.7 and 5,929 reviews, the largest count in this set. The gap cell prints 9.5 mm and does not say whether that is the electrode gap or the reach. One UK review said the resistor was a poor swap for a non-resistor CJ8 on a hand-pull saw.

Our recommendation

View offer

A yard on an hour log

Buy the engine maker’s number and keep the service interval. Briggs & Stratton UK says check or replace the plug every 25 hours or once a season, and not to tighten past 15 ft lb on that page. For an overhead-valve engine whose parts list says RC12YC, the pair at about £7.99 is that maker’s code in this set. It is not a plug for every machine on the yard, and a two-stroke saw still needs its own code.

Common questions about spark plug lawnmowers

What is a lawnmower spark plug?
A lawnmower spark plug is the replaceable ignition part in a small petrol engine. You meet it when a walk-behind mower, a ride-on, or a related garden engine is hard to start. Thread, reach, hex, heat range, resistor and gap have to match that engine together. A plug can screw into the head and still run hot, foul, or fail to seat in the lead. The word lawnmower in a title is not a fitment. Match the code on the old plug or in the engine manual.
How do you choose a spark plug for a petrol mower?
Start with the engine model and, where the chart uses one, the code date. The part and the gap can change around that date. Flathead and overhead-valve engines do not share a plug, and a short-reach two-stroke plug is a third family. A 14 mm thread is not enough. Then check reach, hex, heat range and whether the code contains R for a resistor. Set the gap from the engine chart after delivery. Stars on a listing are not fitment.
Can a flathead plug replace an overhead-valve plug?
No. Codes such as RJ19LM and RC12YC belong to different engine layouts. A plug can screw into a head and still cause running problems or internal damage. Neighbouring heat-range numbers are not substitutes. One UK review said the mower needed the next heat range. Read the code on the old plug or in the manual. A multi-code cross list is a claim, not proof that every code on it is the same part.
What electrode gap should you set?
There is no single gap for every engine. Many walk-behind rows are 0.030 in (0.76 mm). Some dated rows are 0.020 in (0.51 mm). A short-reach two-stroke chart often states 0.7 mm. Use a feeler gauge, bend only the ground electrode, and take the figure from the manual for that engine. A loose parcel can knock the gap, so check it before you fit the plug. Do not copy a gap from a different engine family.
How often should you replace a lawnmower spark plug?
Briggs & Stratton UK says check or replace the plug if the engine will not start, every 25 hours, or once a season. Do not tighten past 15 ft lb on that service page. Work outside with the engine cool and the lead off. Refill petrol only when the mower is cool, and outdoors. A grounds team that logs hours should follow the engine maker’s interval rather than waiting for a no-start.
What if a new plug does not cure a no-start?
A correct new plug can still leave the engine dead. Briggs & Stratton UK also names the lead, the kill switch and a damaged flywheel key. Fuel and oil stay in play, and white or blue smoke is oil burning. Stop for a dealer if there is no spark, oil returns, the thread is damaged, or a workplace log requires it. A mower with a starter motor is a different comparison: petrol lawn mower with electric start.
How much does a lawnmower spark plug cost?
Saved amazon.co.uk shelf prices in this set run from about £3.54 to about £8.89. That is the capture on 22 October 2026, not a live quote. A single named plug or a small multi-pack often sits under about £6. The dearest row here is a six-pack of short-reach crosses at about £8.89. Husqvarna UK listed a plug from £3.99. A lower price does not show that the code fits your engine.
What if the listing contradicts itself on pack or code?
Count the plugs that arrive. One file can say one item and also two plugs. Another can put a short-reach code on the included line and flathead family names in the bullets. Two listings in this set have no customer-reviews line, so a missing star line is not a quality score. A car-plug rank does not mean the plug fits the mower. The Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9, judges quality against the description and the price.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair at about £7.99. The stored score is 96, from 4.8 and 2,482 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title says an RC12YC pair, and the Number of Items cell says 1, so count what arrives. One UK review says the terminal was too large for a new coil boot. The best value is the NGK BPMR7A at about £3.91. The score is 94, from 4.7 and 5,929 reviews, the largest count in this set. It is not the lowest price. The NGK BPR5ES is about £3.54 with a score of 92 and does not take the value badge. The BPMR7A gap cell prints 9.5 mm and does not say whether that is the gap or the reach. An OMCGG F6RTC pair also scores 94, from 4.7 and 109 reviews, and does not take a badge. Neither result is a laboratory test.

Best overall
Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair

Briggs & Stratton RC12YC pair

Score 96 from 4.8 and 2,482 reviews at about £7.99, an RC12YC pair whose pack-count cells disagree.

View offer
Best value
NGK BPMR7A

NGK BPMR7A

Score 94 from 4.7 and 5,929 reviews at about £3.91, not the lowest price in the set.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Lawn and garden equipmentGarden toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to spark plug lawnmowers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Buying notes from the sources below, checked for this page on 22 October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk captures of that date. Two listings had no customer-reviews line.

  1. Briggs & Stratton UK: identifying the correct spark plug and gap (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Briggs & Stratton UK: servicing the spark plug (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Briggs & Stratton UK: engine problem solving (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. NGK: BPMR7A nickel spark plug (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Husqvarna UK: spark plug spare (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Husqvarna UK: how to check a spark plug gap (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. HSE: staying safe with petrol (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The scores follow the listing rules above. They are not a lab test, and they do not promise the cheapest price.