Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Black+Decker grass trimmer comparison 2026

The best Black+Decker grass trimmers, compared.

Top pick: Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB Best value: Black+Decker GL250-GB – 4.1 from 2,098 reviews, listed at £28.99, the largest sample and the lowest complete price, for a light edge. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A grass trimmer, often called a strimmer in Britain, cuts the lawn edge and the grass a mower leaves against fences, walls and borders. You buy one for that last strip. The checks that apply if the models change are cutting width, how it is powered, what is in the box, and how the cutter is fed. A short swathe suits a tight border. A wider head is faster in the open and clumsier beside a path. A corded tool needs a 230 V supply, an outdoor extension fully unwound, and a 30 mA RCD. A cordless tool only helps when the battery voltage matches. An 18 V pack does not run a 36 V tool. A listing that leaves the battery out is the tool only. Bump feed, automatic feed and a resin blade are different cutters. Fishing line and metal line do not belong on the guard. At a cutting width of 50 cm or less, the outdoor noise rules set a permissible sound power of 96 dB. The order of those checks is in the [grass trimmer buying guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/black-and-decker-grass-trimmer/sub/black-and-decker-grass-trimmer-buying-guide).

A grass trimmer, often called a strimmer in Britain, cuts the lawn edge and the grass a mower leaves against fences, walls and borders. You buy one for that last strip.

Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB

Best overall

Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB
9.2/10∼ £100

26 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +24,700 readers

7 of 7: Best Black+Decker grass trimmers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB
Black+Decker BCSTA536B-XJ
Black+Decker GL7033-GB
Black+Decker BCST918B-XJ
Best value
Black+Decker GL250-GB
Black+Decker GL360-GB
Black+Decker BCST918D1-GB
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.2/10
8.0/10
8.0/10
∼ £100
∼ £90
∼ £67
∼ £74
∼ £29
∼ £37
∼ £100
4.6(5)
4.4(710)
4.3(1,292)
4.2(40)
4.1(2,098)
4.0(1,758)
4.0(14)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

How will you power it?

The best Black+Decker grass trimmers in detail

Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB

Rank 1

Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB

∼£100

Our view

The BCSTR918D1-GB is an 18 V trimmer with a resin blade, not a nylon spool, listed at £99.99 with a 25 cm swathe, a telescopic pole and a title that says kitted 2 Ah. The star line is 4.6 from five amazon.co.uk reviews. The file holds two written reviews: a UK note that says only “Excellent product”, and a Spanish note about a UK plug on the charger. That is not a cutting test, and five ratings cannot outrank 1,292 reviews on the GL7033. The 43-minute figure is printed as no load, low speed, dual blades, on battery BDL2018S. A charger model is not in the amazon capture, and the page asks about wet grass without answering. Sort by stars and this row floats to the top. Read the sample and it tells you almost nothing about a UK lawn.

Pros

  • Resin blade and a telescopic pole, kitted 2 Ah, listed at £99.99
  • 25 cm cut, flip-to-edge and a wheel guide, with assembly not required
  • The runtime bullet states its conditions: no load, low speed, dual blades, battery BDL2018S, up to 43 minutes
  • One UK written review calls it an excellent product, with no further detail

Cons

  • 4.6 from five reviews, with only two written notes in the file
  • It is not a nylon-line strimmer, so spool advice does not apply
  • The Spanish review is about a UK plug on the charger, which says nothing about cutting
  • A charger model is not in the amazon capture, and wet grass is asked and not answered

Best for: You have already chosen a resin blade rather than nylon line, you want the telescopic pole, and you will not treat five stars as a test.

Less suitable: You want a nylon spool, a large review sample, or a runtime measured on grass rather than no load.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.6/5(5)
Cutting width
25 cm
Power
18 V battery
Battery in the box
Yes, 2 Ah
Line system
Resin blade
Edging aid
Flip and wheel
Listed weight
3.6 kg
Assembly
Not required
Runtime
43 min, no load

Common questions

Does this model use nylon line?

The title says a resin blade. The runtime bullet refers to dual blades. It is not described as an AFS line spool.

What does the 43-minute claim depend on?

The same bullet says per charge, no load, dual blades, battery BDL2018S, on low speed. The battery-life field also says 43 minutes.

Is a battery included, and does the pole adjust?

The title says kitted 2 Ah and one lithium-ion battery is included. The bullets say a telescopic pole and an adjustable secondary handle. A charger model is not in the amazon capture.

Black+Decker BCSTA536B-XJ

Rank 2

Black+Decker BCSTA536B-XJ

∼£90

Our view

The BCSTA536B-XJ is a 36 V cordless trimmer at £90.00, with a 33 cm head, automatic feed, a brushless motor in the bullets and a flip-to-edge guide wire, listed at 3.2 kg and 5,500 rpm. It scores 4.4 from 710 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the first 50 written reviews are headed United Kingdom. Owners who already have 36 V packs use it on nettles, docks and cautious brambles, and they like the wider cut than their old 36 V trimmer. Several say the straight handle lets the battery dig into the forearm, and they prefer the older angled shape, with a high/low switch that leaves nothing between too slow and harsh. The listing is a bare unit, and the size field prints “Sans batterie, ni chargeur”. The manufacturer field says BLAUG while the brand line says Black+Decker, and the maker’s own page prints 7,300 rpm against amazon’s 5,500 rpm. It suits a shed that already owns the 36 V pack, and £90 is not the price of a working kit.

Pros

  • 33 cm automatic feed, brushless in the bullets, flip-to-edge with a guide wire, listed at £90.00
  • 4.4 from 710 reviews headed United Kingdom
  • UK owners use the same 36 V packs as their other Black+Decker tools on nettles, docks and cautious brambles
  • The listing states a 2 year manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • Bare unit: battery and charger are not in the box
  • UK reviews prefer the older angled handle because the pack digs into the forearm
  • High/low switch, with low described as too low and high as harsh
  • Amazon prints 5,500 rpm and the maker page prints 7,300 rpm

Best for: You already own a 36 V Black+Decker pack and charger and you want a 33 cm cordless head.

Less suitable: You are starting from an empty shed, you only own 18 V packs, or you want the older angled handle.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker BCSTA536B-XJ
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
4.4/5(710)
Cutting width
33 cm
Power
36 V brushless
Battery in the box
Bare unit
Line system
AFS
Edging aid
Flip, guide wire
Listed weight
3.2 kg
Assembly
Not required
Speed
5,500 rpm

Common questions

Does the 36 V trimmer include a battery?

No. The highlight says bare unit, battery and charger not included. Included components say 36 V strimmer only. The size field prints “Sans batterie, ni chargeur”.

What cutting system does the listing describe?

33 cm cutting width, AFS automatic line feed, a brushless motor, and a head that flips for edging with a guide wire. Listed speed is 5,500 rpm. The maker page prints 7,300 rpm.

What does the manufacturer field say?

The manufacturer field says BLAUG. The brand line says Black+Decker. The warranty line says 2 year manufacturer.

Black+Decker GL7033-GB

Rank 3

Black+Decker GL7033-GB

∼£67

Our view

The GL7033-GB is a 700 W corded trimmer, 240 V on the title, with a 33 cm automatic single-line feed, a wheel edge guide and a listed weight of 3.2 kg, at £66.99. Across 1,292 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.3, and the 50 written reviews in the file are headed United Kingdom. Reviewers take it to stubborn weeds and long grass and describe a wider cut than their previous strimmer; one cleared a neglected patch in minutes and said the feed kept up through brambles. Nylon still vanishes quickly once the job turns woody, and those same reviews are not always sure whether the automatic feed has advanced or the line has simply worn away. Longer sessions tire the arms even when the tool itself is not called heavy. Assembly is required. It is the complete corded model in this set for thicker growth beside a socket, and the spool is still a consumable you will replace.

Pros

  • 700 W, 33 cm automatic feed and a wheel edge guide, listed at £66.99
  • 4.3 from 1,292 reviews, with the written sample headed United Kingdom
  • UK reviews describe long grass, stubborn weeds and a bramble patch where the feed kept up
  • The title states 240 V, so the listed price is a mains tool rather than a bare battery buy

Cons

  • Listed at 3.2 kg, and longer sessions still tire the arms
  • Line wears quickly on woody growth such as brambles
  • Reviewers cannot always tell whether the automatic feed has advanced
  • Assembly is required

Best for: You can run a lead from an RCD-protected outdoor socket and the grass is beyond a light edge.

Less suitable: You need to cross a garden the cable cannot follow, or you want a battery platform you already own.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker GL7033-GB
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£67
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,292)
Cutting width
33 cm
Power
700 W, 240 V
Battery in the box
Corded
Line system
AFS single line
Edging aid
Wheel edge guide
Listed weight
3.2 kg
Assembly
Required
Speed
7,000 rpm

Common questions

Is this a cordless strimmer?

No. The title says 700 W, 240 V and corded, and the cordless field says no.

What edge aid does the listing name?

A wheel edge guide. Cutting width is 33 cm. Line feed is automatic single line (AFS).

Does it need assembly?

Yes. Listed weight is 3.2 kg. Item dimensions on the page are 22 x 11.5 cm.

Black+Decker BCST918B-XJ

Rank 4

Black+Decker BCST918B-XJ

∼£74

Our view

The BCST918B-XJ is an 18 V cordless trimmer listed at £74.19, with a 28 cm automatic feed and a flip-to-edge head, and the highlight says the battery and charger are not included. It scores 4.2 from 40 amazon.co.uk reviews. Only two written reviews in the file are clearly from the United Kingdom, so German and French notes about a failed feed are not a UK failure rate. Those two UK notes call it light, and one buyer was on a second unit after nine years and said a CM100 mower battery ran it after the help desk had said it would not. An Ireland review reminds you that the box has no battery and no charger. The “up to 36 minutes” bullet prints no test condition. At £74.19 you have paid for the tool, and the pack is a separate purchase.

Pros

  • 28 cm automatic-feed head with flip-to-edge, listed at £74.19 as a bare tool
  • Assembly is not required on the listing
  • One UK reviewer ran it from a Black+Decker CM100 mower battery on a second purchase after nine years
  • It takes the lead out of the job once you already own an 18 V pack and a charger

Cons

  • Battery and charger are not included, so £74.19 is not a working kit
  • 4.2 from 40 reviews, and only two written reviews in the file are clearly from the UK
  • Non-UK reviews describe a feed that does not advance, which is not a UK failure rate
  • The 36-minute bullet has no test condition

Best for: You already own a compatible 18 V Black+Decker battery and charger and you want the tool only.

Less suitable: You need a complete kit, a large UK review sample, or you only own a 36 V pack.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker BCST918B-XJ
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£74
Customer rating
4.2/5(40)
Cutting width
28 cm
Power
18 V battery
Battery in the box
Bare unit
Line system
AFS
Edging aid
Flip to edge
Listed weight
3.1 kg
Assembly
Not required
Runtime
Up to 36 min

Common questions

Does the BCST918B include a battery?

No. The highlight says bare unit, battery and charger not included.

What cutting width is printed?

The title and the bullets say 28 cm. The specification line says 11.02 inches. Power Select and a runtime of up to 36 minutes are bullets, with no test condition in the file.

Can the head edge as well as trim?

The bullets say a flip-to-edge mechanism converts it from trimming to wheeled edging. Assembly is not required. Listed weight is 3.1 kg.

Black+Decker GL250-GB

Rank 5

Black+Decker GL250-GB

∼£29

Our view

The GL250-GB is a 250 W corded trimmer with a 23 cm bump-feed head, listed at £28.99, and it needs assembly before the first cut. The amazon weight line says 989 g, while the GL250 manual says 1.3 kg, so the page figure is not the one to plan around. Across 2,098 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.1, and the written sample is headed United Kingdom. Reviewers use it on high grass in a small garden and say fitting new line is straightforward once the tool is together. The shaft is the recurring limit: one UK reviewer at 5 ft 1 in said they had to bend and it hurt their back, and others add an extension lead because the cable does not reach. A Good Housekeeping UK test of this model, scored 74/100 by them, found it fine for light edges and weak once the grass thickened, with 1.5 mm line that snapped. One long-term owner could not find a replacement spring, which matters if the bump feed dies after a few seasons.

Pros

  • 250 W corded tool listed at £28.99, so there is no battery left to buy
  • 4.1 from 2,098 amazon.co.uk reviews, with the written sample headed United Kingdom
  • 23 cm bump feed, and the listing names the A6226-XJ spare spool
  • Reviewers on small gardens describe the cut as enough once the tool is assembled

Cons

  • A reviewer at 5 ft 1 in reported back strain from a short shaft
  • Lead length is not on the listing, and reviewers add an extension
  • Good Housekeeping’s test found the line snapped once the grass was no longer a light edge
  • Amazon prints 989 g; the manual says 1.3 kg

Best for: You have a socket within reach of a short edge and you want the lowest complete price in this set.

Less suitable: You are tall enough to stoop on a short shaft, the growth is woody, or the border sits beyond a sensible extension lead.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker GL250-GB
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
4.1/5(2,098)
Cutting width
23 cm
Power
250 W corded
Battery in the box
Corded
Line system
Bump feed
Listed weight
989 g
Assembly
Required
Speed
11,500 rpm

Common questions

Is the GL250 cordless?

No. The listing says the power source is AC and that it is not cordless. A bullet also names a cable-management feature. Lead length is not stated.

How does it feed line?

The title and the bullets call it a bump-feed system, and they name an A6226-XJ replacement spool.

What cutting width and weight does the listing state?

Cutting width is 23 cm. Item weight is 989 g. Assembly is required. The manual says 1.3 kg, so the 989 g line is not the figure to plan around.

Black+Decker GL360-GB

Rank 6

Black+Decker GL360-GB

∼£37

Our view

The GL360-GB adds 350 W, a 25 cm bump-feed swathe and a second handle, listed at £37.33, with assembly not required. It scores 4.0 from 1,758 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the first 50 written reviews are headed United Kingdom. Owners of older Black+Decker machines say it clears a messy garden at this price when the bump feed actually advances. The same reviews keep returning to a mains lead that feels too short, line that snaps or disappears into the spool, and a guard that breaks away or will not line up. The listing prints 300 g, while the GL250/GL360 manual states 1.6 kg, so that page weight is not a figure you can plan a carry around. One UK review describes the motor smoking on the third use after about 10 minutes. A reviewer near 6 ft wants a longer shaft. It is the small corded model with a second grip, and the lead and the line still stop the job.

Pros

  • 350 W and a 25 cm bump-feed swathe, listed at £37.33
  • Second handle in the bullets, which the GL250 listing does not name
  • 4.0 from 1,758 reviews headed United Kingdom
  • Assembly is listed as not required

Cons

  • The listing weight of 300 g conflicts with the manual’s 1.6 kg
  • UK reviews describe a short lead, line that vanishes into the spool, and a guard that will not line up
  • One UK review reports the motor smoking after about 10 minutes on the third use
  • Taller reviewers want a longer shaft

Best for: You want the small corded trimmer with a second handle and you will check the lead against your own garden before you rely on it.

Less suitable: You need a published weight you can trust, a long reach from the socket, or a tool for thick weeds.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker GL360-GB
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.0/5(1,758)
Cutting width
25 cm
Power
350 W corded
Battery in the box
Corded
Line system
Bump feed
Edging aid
Not named
Listed weight
300 g
Assembly
Not required
Speed
11,500 rpm

Common questions

What does the listing say it weighs?

Item weight is printed as 300 g. That is the captured figure. It is not a weighed check. The GL250/GL360 manual states 1.6 kg.

Does it include a battery?

No. The power source is corded, and the cordless field says no.

How does the line feed?

The bullets call it a bump-feed mechanism. Cutting width is 25 cm at 350 W and 11,500 rpm. Assembly is not required.

Black+Decker BCST918D1-GB

Rank 7

Black+Decker BCST918D1-GB

∼£100

Our view

The BCST918D1-GB is the 18 V, 28 cm automatic-feed trimmer at £99.99, and the title says it is kitted with a 2 Ah battery, one lithium-ion pack included. It scores 4.0 from 14 amazon.co.uk reviews, six of the written notes headed United Kingdom. Several of those notes are short and positive, including one bought to trim grass around family graves. One UK reviewer used it for 10 minutes, found full power very weak, and sent it back. An Ireland review says the automatic feeder never worked. The amazon capture does not name a charger, while a trade page for this model lists a 400 mA charger and a 1.6 mm spool, which is that seller’s box rather than the amazon included line. “Up to 36 minutes” has no load or speed condition in the file, so you are paying for a battery in the carton without a sample large enough to show how often the feed fails.

Pros

  • 18 V kit listed at £99.99, with one 2 Ah lithium-ion battery named in the title
  • 28 cm automatic feed and flip-to-edge, with assembly not required
  • Several short UK reviews are positive, including one for grass around family graves
  • Listed weight is 3.6 kg

Cons

  • 4.0 from only 14 reviews
  • One UK reviewer returned it after 10 minutes as too weak, with less runtime than expected
  • An Ireland review says the automatic feeder never worked
  • The amazon capture does not name a charger; a trade page does, and that is a different source

Best for: You want an 18 V line trimmer with a battery named in the box and you accept a 14-review sample.

Less suitable: You need a large UK review pool, a charger confirmed on the amazon listing, or a tool already described on thick weeds.

Specifications

Model
Black+Decker BCST918D1-GB
Brand
Black+Decker
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.0/5(14)
Cutting width
28 cm
Power
18 V battery
Battery in the box
Yes, 2 Ah
Line system
AFS
Edging aid
Flip to edge
Listed weight
3.6 kg
Assembly
Not required
Runtime
Up to 36 min

Common questions

Is a battery included?

Yes. The title says kitted 2 Ah, and the battery line says one lithium-ion battery is required and included. A charger model is not in the amazon capture.

What is the cutting width and feed?

28 cm, with AFS automatic single line feed and Power Select. The runtime bullet says up to 36 minutes and does not state a test condition.

How many reviews are on the listing line?

4.0 out of 5 from 14 reviews. Assembly is not required. Listed weight is 3.6 kg.

How we compared

Seven amazon.co.uk listings are scored in this folder. Products Compared did not lab-test cutting power, runtime, noise or line life. The method note publishes no separate percentage split. The stored score is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20, so that single rule is the whole score and is recorded at 100 below. Five reviews at 4.6 become 92 is a worked example for one listing, not a criterion weight, and it is not used as a weight. No partial weights were rescaled. Review-count limits, a bare box and a listing-weight conflict sit in the assessment, not as a second penalty inside the number. A seller’s minute, rpm or gram line stays a seller claim.

1

Amazon.co.uk star rating

100%

The stored score is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20. A 4.3 becomes 86. A 4.1 becomes 82. It is not a lab test and not an editorial rank. Review-count limits, a bare box and a weight conflict stay in the written assessment. The method note prints no other percentage. The figure 92 is a worked example for one product with five reviews at 4.6, not a criterion weight.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Black+Decker grass trimmer buying guide

Decide the width, the lead or the battery, and what is in the box before you read the stars. Seven amazon.co.uk listings are on this page. The stored score is the star rating times 20. It is not a laboratory test of cutting power, runtime, noise or line life.

What to check on a grass trimmer

A grass trimmer, sold in Britain as a strimmer, cuts lawn edges and the grass a mower misses against fences, walls and borders. You are not buying a mower. You are buying the last strip. The decision order is the job and the cutting width, then the power source, then what is in the box, then the cutter, and only then the review sample. Cutting width is the first fit. About 23 cm and 25 cm suit a short edge. About 28 cm is the middle line head in this set.

Best for

  • A light edge you can reach with a lead from an RCD-protected socket
  • Thicker grass beside a socket, or a shed that already owns a matching battery

Not ideal for

  • A garden the cable cannot follow if you have no matching battery
  • Woody growth if you are counting on a light-edge line that snaps

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading a bare price as a kit

    The 18 V and 36 V bare listings say the battery and charger are not included. The shelf price is the tool. Add a pack and a charger before you call either cheaper than a kitted 18 V model. No lone-pack price was captured, so this page does not invent one.

  2. 2

    Mixing 18 V and 36 V

    An 18 V pack does not run the 36 V trimmer, and a 36 V pack is not a reason to buy an 18 V tool. Match the pack you already own. A corded tool avoids that match and still needs a 30 mA RCD and a fully unwound outdoor lead.

  3. 3

    Trusting a thin sample, a no-load minute, or 300 g

    Five reviews at 4.6 become a high scaled score and still do not take a badge. “Up to 36 minutes” has no test condition. The 43-minute bullet is no load, low speed, on a named battery. The GL360 page prints 300 g. The manual says 1.6 kg. Do not plan a carry around the page figure.

What to weigh up

Cutting width and power source

High

Width comes first. About 23 cm and 25 cm suit a short edge. About 28 cm is the middle head. About 33 cm is faster in the open and clumsier beside a path. Wider is not automatically the right tool. Power source comes next. A corded trimmer is a 230 V tool: outdoor extension fully unwound, cable over the shoulder, 30 mA RCD, unplug before a jam, and no rain. A cordless trimmer only helps when the pack matches. An 18 V pack does not run a 36 V tool.

What is in the box, and the cutter

High

A corded tool is complete once you have a safe lead. A bare cordless highlight means the battery and charger are a separate purchase, so the shelf price is not a working kit. A kitted title that says 2 Ah names one lithium-ion battery. A charger model is not on every amazon capture. Read the included line. Bump feed, automatic single-line feed and a resin blade are different cutters. Reviewers cannot always tell whether automatic feed has advanced or the nylon has worn away.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A short edge beside a socket

You can live with a lead and the growth is a light edge, not woody weeds. The GL250-GB is a 250 W corded trimmer with a 23 cm bump-feed head, listed at £28.99, with 4.1 from 2,098 amazon.co.uk reviews. Assembly is required. The listing prints 989 g and the manual says 1.3 kg, so plan around the manual. A short shaft is the limit some UK reviewers report.

Thicker growth from a mains socket

You can run a lead from an RCD-protected outdoor socket and the grass is beyond a light edge. The GL7033-GB is 700 W, 240 V on the title, with a 33 cm automatic feed, a wheel edge guide and a listed weight of 3.2 kg, at £66.99. It is 4.3 from 1,292 reviews. Nylon still wears on woody growth, and assembly is required.

A 36 V pack already in the shed

You already own a 36 V Black+Decker pack and charger and you want a 33 cm cordless head. The BCSTA536B-XJ is listed at £90.00 as a bare unit, with automatic feed and a flip-to-edge guide wire, at 4.4 from 710 reviews. The battery and charger are not in the box, so £90.00 is not a working kit. An 18 V pack does not run it.

Common questions about Black+Decker grass trimmers

What should you check on a grass trimmer before the star rating?
Start with cutting width. A short swathe suits a tight edge. A wider head is faster in the open and clumsier in a border. Then the power source. A corded tool needs 230 V, an outdoor lead fully unwound, and a 30 mA RCD. A cordless tool needs a matching 18 V or 36 V pack. An 18 V pack does not run a 36 V trimmer. Then check whether the battery and charger are in the box.
Is a bare cordless price a complete kit?
No. Two listings in this set are bare tools. The battery and charger are not included, and the shelf price is the tool only. Add a pack and a charger before you treat that price as cheaper than a kit. No lone-pack price was captured here. The kitted 18 V models name a 2 Ah battery in the title. A charger model is not on every amazon capture, so read the included-components line.
Which listing is the top pick, and which is best value?
The top pick is the Black+Decker GL7033-GB: 4.3 from 1,292 amazon.co.uk reviews, a complete 700 W corded tool with a 33 cm automatic feed and a wheel edge guide, listed at £66.99. That is the highest scaled score among complete tools with a four-figure UK-headed review count. Best value is the GL250-GB, 4.1 from 2,098 reviews, listed at £28.99, for a light edge. Five reviews at 4.6 do not outrank that sample.
When should you stop and call a repairer?
Call an authorised repairer when the mains cord is damaged, the RCD will not reset, the socket is hot or buzzing, the motor smokes, or the guard is cracked. Do not splice a cut flex. The 80 dB(A) and 85 dB(A) action values under the Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 bind employers, not a householder. At home you still need the guard, safety glasses, ear protection, and the lead over your shoulder.
What do the prices in this set cover?
Captured amazon.co.uk lines run from £28.99 to £99.99. The two small corded tools are £28.99 and £37.33. The 700 W corded tool is £66.99, and an idealo.co.uk check in October 2026 shows that model from £66.99 to £97. Bare cordless tools are £74.19 and £90.00, without a battery. Both 18 V kits are £99.99. Prices move. These are the captured lines, not a promise of the next shelf price.
Does a no-load runtime tell you how long it cuts grass?
No. “Up to 36 minutes” is printed with no test condition. The 43-minute bullet is no load, low speed, dual blades, on a named battery. Neither figure is a runtime on a lawn. Do not rank a listing on that minute claim. Nylon still wears. A resin blade is a different cutter, so spool advice does not apply to it. The manual for the small corded pair also forbids metal line and fishing line.
Where do other strimmer listings sit?
This page is one brand’s shelf. A wider set of makes is in the grass trimmer comparison. That page is a different comparison. It does not replace the checks here: width, voltage, what is in the box, and the size of the review sample. Stars are still not a lab test of cutting power. A bare price is still not a kit, and an 18 V pack still does not run a 36 V tool.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Black+Decker GL7033-GB: 4.3 from 1,292 amazon.co.uk reviews, score 86, a complete 700 W corded tool with a 33 cm automatic feed and a wheel edge guide, listed at £66.99. That is the highest scaled score among complete tools with a four-figure UK-headed review count. It is not a claim that it is the best strimmer in Britain. Best value is the Black+Decker GL250-GB: 4.1 from 2,098 reviews, score 82, listed at £28.99, the largest sample and the lowest complete price, for a light edge. The resin-blade kit prints 92 from five reviews and does not take the top pick. The 36 V bare tool prints 88 from 710 reviews, and £90.00 is not a working kit.

Best overall
Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB

Black+Decker BCSTR918D1-GB

View offer
Best value
Black+Decker GL250-GB

Black+Decker GL250-GB

4.1 from 2,098 reviews, listed at £28.99, the largest sample and the lowest complete price, for a light edge.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY and tools editor
DIY and tools editor
DIY and toolsLawn and garden equipmentGrass trimmers

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Black+Decker grass trimmers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk captures named in the digest.

  1. Electrical Safety First, grass trimmers (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Noise Emission in the Environment by Equipment for use Outdoors Regulations 2001 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. GL250/GL360 manual (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Black+Decker POWERCONNECT (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. HSE, noise duties for employers (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. RHS, how to garden safely (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. idealo, Black+Decker GL7033, October 2026 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Power Tools Direct, BCST918D1 (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The notes come from amazon.co.uk listings, review text and public UK sources, not from a lab test.