Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Robot lawnmower without boundary wire comparison 2026

The best robot lawnmowers without boundary wire, compared.

Top pick: eufy E15 – Largest amazon.co.uk sample in this set, 4.6 from 580, with pure vision and a stated mapping cap under 800 m². Best value: Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit – The 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and charger are in the box at about £319. The body-only listing does not take best value. Updated 23 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A robot lawnmower without boundary wire stays on the lawn using cameras, satellite positioning, lidar, or a mix of those, instead of a perimeter cable pegged around the grass. In the UK you buy one when you want a short lawn with less weekly effort and you do not want to lay a wire, or repair one later. A suitable listing states a lawn area you can check against your own garden, a navigation method that matches your trees and edges, and a slope figure in a unit you can measure. Degrees and percent are not the same number. A charging station needs an outdoor socket on a 30 mA RCD under BS 7671, and a new socket is an electrician's job. A removable battery charges indoors and will not mow while you are out. The cut is a mulch of small trimmings, so bring the lawn down first and do not take off more than one-third of the grass height in one pass. Edges still need you. The first week is set out in the [setup guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/robot-lawnmower-without-boundary-wire/sub/robot-lawnmower-without-boundary-wire-how-to-set-up).

A robot lawnmower without boundary wire stays on the lawn using cameras, satellite positioning, lidar, or a mix of those, instead of a perimeter cable pegged around the grass.

eufy E15

Best overall

eufy E15
9.2/10∼ £1,499

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

11 of 11: Best robot lawnmowers without boundary wire compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
eufy E15
Best value
Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit
Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 body
MOVA ViAX 300
WORX WR303E
YARDCARE V3
YARDCARE V100
WORX WR305E
SUNTEK SRM2025
WORX WR306E
ECOVACS GOAT O800 RTK
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
8.0/10
8.0/10
8.0/10
7.8/10
7.8/10
7.2/10
∼ £1,499
∼ £319
∼ £296
∼ £408
∼ £672
∼ £370
∼ £350
∼ £799
∼ £400
∼ £899
∼ £652
4.6(580)
4.5(58)
4.1(72)
4.1(58)
4.1(38)
4.0(131)
4.0(32)
4.0(14)
3.9(91)
3.9(12)
3.6(33)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best robot lawnmowers without boundary wire in detail

eufy E15

Rank 1

eufy E15

∼£1,499

Our view

The eufy E15, model T2880, is listed at £1,499 on amazon.co.uk with a mapping cap under 800 m² and pure vision, so the bullets name neither a boundary wire nor an RTK station. Across 580 reviews the line is 4.6, the largest sample in this set, which is why the score is 92 and why this row is the top pick here. UK reviews describe maps, stripes and a complete-feeling app, and one setup took about 20 minutes including Wi-Fi and an update. The listing notes a 4G subscription if Wi-Fi does not cover the garden, and reviewers treat where you house the dock as the real decision. Battery average life is printed as 60 minutes, and the weight is 16.2 kg. The specification row says a maximum adjustable cutting height of 3 cm, while the intro bullet uses 3 cm for ground variation, so that field is not a usable height range. It is a poor match for a small lawn you can start by hand, or for a buyer who needs a printed minimum-to-maximum cut.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 580 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • Pure vision: no boundary wire and no RTK station in the bullets
  • UK reviews cite stripes and a setup of about 20 minutes
  • Automatic recall in rain or low light
  • Mapping cap stated as under 800 m²

Cons

  • About £1499, called steep in reviews
  • Cut-height row is a 30 mm maximum, not a range, and it clashes with the 3 cm ground-variation bullet
  • Dock siting is the practical limit in reviews
  • 4G or Wi-Fi coverage is a condition on the listing, and the slope limit is not captured as a full degree or percent

Best for: You want a mapped vision mower on a lawn inside the under-800 m² cap and you can site a dock where the signal reaches.

Less suitable: You have a small lawn with no dock spot, or you need a printed cut-height range from the Amazon row.

Specifications

Model
eufy E15
Brand
eufy
Price
∼£1,499
Customer rating
4.6/5(580)
Navigation
Pure vision
Stated area
Under 800 m²
Charging
Dock in reviews
Cutting height
30 mm max
App
eufy app
Rain
Recall in rain
Review sample
4.6 from 580

Common questions

Does it use a boundary wire or an RTK station?

The bullets say pure vision, no boundary wires and no RTK station. 4G is optional if Wi-Fi does not cover the garden.

What lawn does the listing tell you to check first?

Under 800 m² mapping area, mostly flat, variations under 3 cm, and slopes inside the limit in that bullet.

What is the cutting height?

The specification row says maximum adjustable cutting height 3 cm. That row is not a minimum-to-maximum range. Leave it as printed.

Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit

Rank 2

Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit

∼£319

Our view

The Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit, model 06008E1070, is £319 on amazon.co.uk for lawns up to 100 m², with a 16 cm cut and a 20–60 mm height in the title. The box lists the mower, an 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and the AL 18V-44 charger, with no dock and no boundary wire. Across 58 reviews the line is 4.5, so the score is 90. The pack and charger are in the box at this price, which is why it is the best value here. The body-only listing does not take that place, and a 1,000-review gate was not applied. UK reviews describe a quiet random cut you start with three buttons and carry between small lawns. The same reviews say the path misses patches, leaves an edge to strim, and runs until you stop it or the pack dies, because there is no app map. Some buyers find the battery latch hard to release. It will not mow to a schedule while you are out, and the listing prints no slope figure.

Pros

  • About £319 with an 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and the AL 18V-44 charger in the box
  • 4.5 from 58 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Title states up to 100 m², 16 cm width and a 20–60 mm cut
  • No boundary wire and no base station
  • Reviews describe carrying it between several small lawns

Cons

  • Random path, not a mapped schedule
  • Battery latch hard to release for some buyers
  • Edge left for a strimmer
  • No slope figure on the listing

Best for: You have a lawn around 100 m², no outdoor socket, and you are at home to start a carry-out mower.

Less suitable: You want a dock, an app map, or a machine that runs while you are out.

Specifications

Model
Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£319
Customer rating
4.5/5(58)
Navigation
Smartvision
Stated area
Up to 100 m²
Charging
18 V pack
Cutting height
20–60 mm
In the box
Battery and charger
Review sample
4.5 from 58

Common questions

Does this listing include a boundary wire?

No. The listing says wire-free Smartvision with no wires and no infrastructure. Included items are the mower, an 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and the AL 18V-44 charger.

Does it dock and recharge itself?

Not on this listing. Charging is the removable battery and the included charger. UK reviews describe placing it on the lawn rather than a base station.

What lawn and cut does the title state?

Lawns up to 100 m², cutting width 16 cm, height of cut 20–60 mm.

Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 body

Rank 3

Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 body

∼£296

Our view

The Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 body, model 06008E1001, is £296 and the title says without battery. Included components are the mower only, for the same class of lawn up to 100 m², with a 16 cm cut and 20–60 mm in the title. Across 72 reviews the line is 4.1, so the score is 82. Buyers who already own a Bosch 18 V pack treat the shared battery as the point, and one review cites about four hours on a 4 Ah pack. The listing still has no dock and no wire. More than one review reports a stiff or defective battery latch, and a lawn that is not a plain rectangle confuses it. UK reviews leave about 5 inches to strim. At £23 less than the kit, it is only the cheaper buy if you already own a compatible pack and charger.

Pros

  • About £296 for the VISIMOW18V-100 body, model 06008E1001
  • 4.1 from 72 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Same stated lawn as the kit: up to 100 m², 16 cm, 20–60 mm
  • Buyers with existing Bosch 18 V packs treat the shared battery as the point

Cons

  • Battery and charger are not in the box
  • Battery latch stiff or defective in more than one review
  • Confused by a lawn that is not a plain rectangle
  • About 5 inches left to strim in UK reviews

Best for: You already own a Bosch 18 V pack and charger and want the same carry-out mower as the kit.

Less suitable: You need a complete machine in one box, or a mapped dock that runs on a schedule.

Specifications

Model
Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 body
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£296
Customer rating
4.1/5(72)
Navigation
Smartvision
Stated area
Up to 100 m²
Charging
Body only
Cutting height
20–60 mm
In the box
Mower only
Review sample
4.1 from 72

Common questions

Is the battery in the box?

No. Included components on this listing are the VISIMOW18V-100 only. The title says without battery.

Is this a different mower from the battery kit?

Same VISIMOW18V-100 class, model number 06008E1001, stated up to 100 m² and 20–60 mm. The kit listing is a different ASIN and includes the 4.0 Ah pack and charger.

Does it need a boundary wire?

The listing says wire-free, with no wires and no infrastructure.

MOVA ViAX 300

Rank 4

MOVA ViAX 300

∼£408

Our view

The MOVA ViAX 300, model MVVV1200, is £408.45 with a recommended 300 m², dual vision and a virtual boundary, and no RTK station or signal pole. The listing states a 2–6 cm cut, slopes up to 40%, paths down to 60 cm and obstacles up to 4 cm. Across 58 reviews the line is 4.1, so the score is 82. UK reviews praise an easy app, more than one mapped area and a quiet cut, and some edges were closer than expected. Others still strim, including a gap of about 6 inches after resetting the boundary. One review was unhappy on more than a slight incline, which sits beside the 40% bullet rather than replacing it. The dock wants about a metre of flat surround and solid Wi-Fi, while the specification table does not name a charging station even though reviews describe a dock or housing. Weight is 19.3 kg, and one user reported the battery overheating in hot weather.

Pros

  • Recommended 300 m², dual vision, no RTK station or signal pole
  • 4.1 from 58 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £408.45
  • Cut 20–60 mm, paths down to 60 cm, slopes up to 40% in the bullet
  • Reviews describe more than one mapped area, including paths between them

Cons

  • Edges still short of a strimmer for several buyers, including a gap of about 6 inches
  • One review was unhappy above a slight incline despite the 40% bullet
  • Dock wants about a metre of flat surround and solid Wi-Fi
  • Specification table does not name a charging station, and one battery overheated in hot weather

Best for: You want a mapped vision mower around 300 m² without an RTK mast, and you can give the dock a flat metre and a Wi-Fi signal.

Less suitable: You need a steep slope you can trust from one bullet, or an edge you will never strim.

Specifications

Model
MOVA ViAX 300
Brand
MOVA
Price
∼£408
Customer rating
4.1/5(58)
Navigation
Dual vision
Stated area
300 m²
Charging
Dock in reviews
Cutting height
20–60 mm
Slope
Up to 40%
App
MOVAhome
Review sample
4.1 from 58

Common questions

Does it need a boundary wire or an RTK mast?

The listing says virtual boundaries, wire-free, with no RTK station and no signal pole.

What area, slope and cut height are stated?

Recommended 300 m². Slopes up to 40%. Paths down to 60 cm. Obstacles up to 4 cm. Cutting height 2–6 cm.

What did UK reviews say about edges?

Some called the edge close enough to skip a strimmer. Others still strim, including a gap of about 6 inches after resetting the boundary.

WORX WR303E

Rank 5

WORX WR303E

∼£672

Our view

The WORX Landroid Vision Cloud WR303E is £671.99, and the title does not state square metres, so this row is not the 500 m² or 600 m² WORX. Navigation is cloud RTK with no local antenna and no boundary wire, plus vision and V-SLAM, and the listing says there are no extra cloud fees. Cutting width is 18 cm, weight is 11.1 kg, battery average life is 2 hours, and the warranty text is 2 year manufacturer. Across 38 reviews the line is 4.1, so the score is 82. One buyer mapped in about 20 minutes after a pre-trim and called the setup manageable. The same reviews say it could not follow the path between garage and house, and WORX told that buyer nothing could be done. Edges are weaker than hoped. UK reviews mention a dock that is not itemised in the bullets, and cutting height and slope are not printed.

Pros

  • Cloud RTK plus vision and V-SLAM, with no local antenna and no boundary wire
  • 4.1 from 38 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 18 cm cut, 11.1 kg, battery average life 2 hours, 2 year manufacturer warranty
  • One review mapped in about 20 minutes after a pre-trim

Cons

  • No lawn area in the title
  • Could not learn a narrow path between garage and house in one review
  • Edges weaker than hoped
  • Dock mentioned in reviews but not itemised in the bullets; cut height and slope are not printed

Best for: You want cloud RTK without a garden mast and you will measure your own lawn, because this title prints no square metres.

Less suitable: You need a stated area, a narrow side passage the mower must learn, or a printed cutting height.

Specifications

Model
WORX WR303E
Brand
WORX
Price
∼£672
Customer rating
4.1/5(38)
Navigation
Cloud RTK
Charging
Dock in reviews
App
Zones and maps
Review sample
4.1 from 38

Common questions

Boundary wire or local antenna?

The listing says RTK from the cloud, without a local antenna or boundary wire, and without extra cloud fees.

What area is printed?

This title does not state a lawn area. Do not copy the 500 m² or 600 m² from the other WORX ASINs.

What do the specification rows give?

Cutting width 18 cm, weight 11.1 kg, dimensions 58 x 46 x 28 cm, battery average life 2 hours, 2 year manufacturer warranty.

YARDCARE V3

Rank 6

YARDCARE V3

∼£370

Our view

The YARDCARE V3 is £369.99 with AI vision and no boundary wire, sold for small to medium gardens and with no square metres printed. Cutting height is 20–60 mm and working noise is about 50 dB on the listing. Across 131 reviews the line is 4.0, so the score is 80. Some UK reviews praise a quiet cut and obstacle avoidance on a small patch, with app or onboard control. Others say it entered borders, stopped with an error every few minutes, or clogged when the grass was long. The 35° figure is a tilt sensor in the safety bullet, not a climbing rating. Charging is not stated as a dock or a removable pack, and magnetic strips are described as a feature without a spare-blade count.

Pros

  • 4.0 from 131 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • AI vision and no boundary wire in the listing
  • Cutting height 20–60 mm and about 50 dB working noise
  • App or onboard control both mentioned in reviews

Cons

  • No square-metre area on the listing
  • Entered borders or left the lawn in reviews
  • Error stops and clogging on long grass
  • 35° is a tilt sensor, not a climbing rating, and charging is not stated

Best for: You accept a vision mower whose area is only 'small to medium' and you will watch the first runs for border escapes.

Less suitable: You need a printed square-metre rating, a known dock or battery, or a slope you can measure against a climbing figure.

Specifications

Model
YARDCARE V3
Brand
YARDCARE
Price
∼£370
Customer rating
4.0/5(131)
Navigation
AI vision
Cutting height
20–60 mm
Slope
35° tilt sensor
App
Phone control
Rain
Rain sensor
Review sample
4.0 from 131

Common questions

Does it need a boundary wire?

The listing says no boundary wire and a faster setup than a cabled robot.

What cut and noise does it state?

Cutting height 20–60 mm. Working noise about 50 dB. A rain sensor and a 35° tilt sensor are in the safety bullet.

What area is it rated for?

The title says small to medium gardens. It does not print a square-metre figure.

YARDCARE V100

Rank 7

YARDCARE V100

∼£350

Our view

The YARDCARE V100 is £349.99 for lawns up to 150 m², with a detachable 4 Ah battery, a 16 cm cut and a 20–60 mm height. The title says without boundary, and the bullets include 2 × 5 m magnetic wires for no-go zones plus blades, not a perimeter cable around the lawn. The listing line is 4.0 from 32 reviews, so the score is 80, but the saved listing holds only two UK review texts, so that star line is not a thick UK sample. Those two texts describe charging, three buttons, leaving it, and obstacle detection on a random pattern. There is no fixed outdoor dock in the included description, and no slope on the specification rows. Do not read the 4.0 as a well-supported fault rate.

Pros

  • Up to 150 m² in the title, with a detachable 4 Ah battery
  • 16 cm cut and 20–60 mm height
  • Magnetic no-go wires are 2 × 5 m, not a perimeter cable
  • The two UK texts describe a three-button start after charging

Cons

  • Only two UK review texts in the saved listing behind a 4.0 from 32
  • No fixed outdoor dock in the included description
  • No slope figure on the specification rows
  • Random pattern, so you start it yourself

Best for: You want a carry-out vision mower up to the stated 150 m² and you will lay short magnetic strips only where the mower must not go.

Less suitable: You want a large UK review sample, a scheduled dock, or a printed slope rating.

Specifications

Model
YARDCARE V100
Brand
YARDCARE
Price
∼£350
Customer rating
4.0/5(32)
Navigation
Vision
Stated area
Up to 150 m²
Charging
4 Ah pack
Cutting height
20–60 mm
In the box
Pack and strips
Review sample
4.0 from 32

Common questions

Does it need a perimeter wire?

The title says without boundary, and a bullet says no complicated boundary cables. It does include 2 x 5 m magnetic wires to lay as no-go zones.

How do you charge it?

The bullet says charge the detachable 4.0 Ah battery. A fixed outdoor dock is not in the included description.

How many UK reviews are in the saved listing?

The listing line is 4.0 from 32. The saved listing contains two UK review texts.

WORX WR305E

Rank 8

WORX WR305E

∼£799

Our view

The WORX Landroid Vision Cloud WR305E is £799 for 500 m² in the title, with V-SLAM plus cloud RTK, no boundary cable and no local antenna claimed. Across 14 reviews the line is 4.0, so the score is 80, and twelve UK review texts are in the saved listing. Buyers who replaced a wired mower liked the lack of a cable and the cut once they had read the instructions. Others say it gets stuck on routes and did not cope with lots of narrow grass paths. Cutting height is not printed; the row only says five positions. Reviews assume a normal Landroid dock, which the bullets do not itemise. Battery average life is 2 hours, weight is 11.1 kg, and the warranty text is 2 year manufacturer. One review added an edge module separately, so close-edge cutting is a claim rather than a guaranteed finish.

Pros

  • 500 m² in the title, without a boundary cable
  • Cloud RTK, vision mapping and V-SLAM in shade, with no local antenna claimed
  • Five cut positions, 2 hour battery average life, 2 year manufacturer warranty
  • Replaced a wired mower for buyers whose cable kept breaking

Cons

  • Only 14 listing reviews
  • Gets stuck and muddled on routes, especially narrow grass paths
  • Cutting height not printed, only five positions
  • Dock assumed in reviews and not itemised; one buyer added an edge module separately

Best for: You have about 500 m², open enough for cloud RTK, and you accept a small review sample.

Less suitable: Your lawn is a chain of narrow paths, or you want a large amazon.co.uk review count before you buy.

Specifications

Model
WORX WR305E
Brand
WORX
Price
∼£799
Customer rating
4.0/5(14)
Navigation
V-SLAM + RTK
Stated area
500 m²
Charging
Dock assumed
Cutting height
5 positions
App
Zones
Review sample
4.0 from 14

Common questions

What area does the title state?

500 m², without a boundary cable.

How does it navigate?

The bullets say cloud RTK without a local antenna or boundary wire, vision mapping, and V-SLAM in shade.

How large is the review sample?

4.0 from 14 on the listing line. Twelve UK review texts are in the saved listing.

SUNTEK SRM2025

Rank 9

SUNTEK SRM2025

∼£400

Our view

The SUNTEK SRM2025 is £399.99, stated up to 250 m², with AI vision and no boundary wires or RTK in the bullet, and it returns to a base station. The cut is 20 cm and a 20 V 2.5 Ah line appears in the slope bullet. Across 91 reviews the line is 3.9, so the score is 78. The title says up to 35° and a bullet says up to 35%, which are not the same figure, so the slope stays unclear. IPX5 and a rain sensor are printed, and the cutting-height field is a 6 cm maximum, not a range. Some buyers found the first setup easy. One called battery life about ten minutes, the app is described as limited, and a virtual boundary did not match what prompted one order. Eight UK review texts sit against that listing count of 91.

Pros

  • Stated area up to 250 m², with a return to a base station
  • AI vision without boundary wires or RTK in the bullet
  • 20 cm cutting width, IPX5 and a rain sensor
  • 3.9 from 91 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Title says 35° and a bullet says 35%, so the slope is unclear
  • One buyer called runtime about ten minutes
  • App described as limited
  • Cutting height is a 60 mm maximum field, not a range, and the full box list is not printed

Best for: You want a docked vision mower around the stated 250 m² and you will quote both slope figures rather than pick one.

Less suitable: You need a single slope unit, a long proven runtime, or a fuller app than the reviews describe.

Specifications

Model
SUNTEK SRM2025
Brand
SUNTEK
Price
∼£400
Customer rating
3.9/5(91)
Navigation
AI vision
Stated area
Up to 250 m²
Charging
Base station
Cutting height
60 mm max
Slope
35° and 35%
App
Bluetooth, Wi-Fi
Rain
IPX5, rain sensor
Review sample
3.9 from 91

Common questions

Wire or RTK?

The bullet says it operates without boundary wires or RTK, using visual AI, and returns to a base station.

What slope figure should you trust?

Do not pick one. The title says 35°. A bullet says 35%. Quote both or treat the slope as unclear.

What area and waterproofing are stated?

Up to 250 m². IPX5, with a rain sensor.

WORX WR306E

Rank 10

WORX WR306E

∼£899

Our view

The WORX Landroid Vision Cloud WR306E is £899 for 600 m² in the title, with V-SLAM plus cloud RTK, no local antenna and no boundary wire. The bullets include a cut-to-zero module for less uncut grass along borders, and assembly required is No. Across 12 reviews the line is 3.9, so the score is 78. Reviews praise auto-map across more than one lawn and straight lines once Wi-Fi cooperated. They also say it gets stuck and often frees itself, that multi-area paths are hard in the app, and that the base needs a suitable power spot which is not itemised in the bullets. Weight is 12.8 kg and battery average life is 2 hours. Cutting height and slope are not printed, and there is no dedicated warranty row for this ASIN. Twelve reviews is a thin sample next to the eufy line in this comparison.

Pros

  • 600 m² in the title, with no local antenna and no boundary wire
  • Cut-to-zero module included for less uncut grass along borders
  • Reviews cite auto-map across more than one lawn and straight lines
  • Battery average life 2 hours at 12.8 kg

Cons

  • Only 12 listing reviews, at 3.9
  • Gets stuck on a complex layout, though it often frees itself
  • Multi-area paths and Wi-Fi setup are hard in reviews
  • Base not itemised; cutting height, slope and a dedicated warranty row are absent

Best for: You want the 600 m² WORX with the cut-to-zero module and you can site a base on a suitable socket.

Less suitable: You need a large review sample, a printed cut height, or a simple single lawn that does not justify this price.

Specifications

Model
WORX WR306E
Brand
WORX
Price
∼£899
Customer rating
3.9/5(12)
Navigation
V-SLAM + RTK
Stated area
600 m²
Charging
Base in reviews
App
Yes
In the box
Cut-to-zero
Review sample
3.9 from 12

Common questions

What is the cut-to-zero module?

The listing includes it and says it is for edge-to-edge mowing with less uncut grass along borders.

What area is stated?

600 m² in the title.

Boundary wire?

The title says without boundary cable. The bullets say no local antenna and no boundary wire.

ECOVACS GOAT O800 RTK

Rank 11

ECOVACS GOAT O800 RTK

∼£652

Our view

The ECOVACS GOAT O800 RTK is £651.83 for 800 m², with lidar-enhanced RTK plus vision and no perimeter cable in the navigation claim. The listing states a 220 mm cut, a 3–8 cm height, paths of 0.7 m and slopes up to 45% in the title and a bullet. Across 33 reviews the line is 3.6, so the score is 72, the lowest star line in this set. Several owners call setup straightforward and like a tidy or diagonal pattern, and one says the battery covered a 200 m² zone per charge. A UK review says the mower arrived with no UK plug or adapter, assembly required is Yes, and another note says the charging lead was not included. One owner reported no UK repair network, and the mower veered into a hedge and a bed. A reviewer with about 189 m² wrote that a smaller model would have done the job. Weight is 21 kg.

Pros

  • 800 m², lidar-enhanced RTK plus vision, wire free
  • 220 mm cut, 30–80 mm height, paths of 0.7 m, slopes up to 45%
  • Maps and a tidy pattern, including diagonal, in reviews
  • One review covered a 200 m² zone per charge

Cons

  • 3.6 from 33 amazon.co.uk reviews, the lowest star line here
  • One UK review: no UK plug or adapter, and a charging lead missing in another note
  • Veered into a hedge and a bed; no UK repair network in one account
  • Assembly required is Yes, and 800 m² is more machine than a reviewer with about 189 m² needed

Best for: You have a large awkward lawn near the stated 800 m² and you will check the plug and lead before the first charge.

Less suitable: You have a small lawn, or you need a UK plug confirmed in the specification rows and a stronger review line.

Specifications

Model
ECOVACS GOAT O800 RTK
Brand
ECOVACS
Price
∼£652
Customer rating
3.6/5(33)
Navigation
Lidar RTK
Stated area
800 m²
Charging
Plug not confirmed
Cutting height
30–80 mm
Slope
Up to 45%
App
ECOVACS HOME
Review sample
3.6 from 33

Common questions

What navigation and area are stated?

Wire-free lidar-enhanced RTK plus vision, 800 m², paths of 0.7 m, slopes up to 45%, cut 220 mm, height 3–8 cm.

Does the listing say a UK plug is included?

It does not. Assembly required is Yes. A UK review says the mower arrived with no UK plug or adapter.

Is 800 m² the right size for a much smaller lawn?

One reviewer with about 189 m² wrote that a smaller model would have done the job. The listing itself is rated to 800 m².

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 22 October 2026. The number on each row is the star rating times 20, so 4.6 becomes 92 and 3.6 becomes 72. Review count, a missing area, a thin UK text sample and a listing clash change the written assessment. They do not change the stored score. A carton that lists boundary wire was left out. This is not a laboratory cut.

1

Amazon.co.uk stars

100%

The stored score is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20. A 4.6 becomes 92. A 3.6 becomes 72. If the Customer Reviews line were missing, this part would not be invented. The score is not a cut trial.

Independent review
Last updated: 23 October 2026
8 sources checked

Robot lawnmower without boundary wire buying guide

Order the decision as area, then navigation, then dock or carry-out, then the slope unit, then what is actually in the carton. A printed maximum is for a favourable lawn. A star line is the amazon.co.uk listing, not a laboratory cut. Nothing below claims a safest model or a lift sensor we tested.

What is a robot lawnmower without boundary wire?

A robot lawnmower without boundary wire stays on the lawn using cameras, satellite positioning, lidar, or a mix, instead of a perimeter cable pegged around the grass. No wire is not one technology. Drop-and-mow vision has no dock. You place it and it cuts until the battery is flat, often at random, which suits one small lawn you can watch. Mapped vision uses cameras and an app to store a virtual boundary, then docks itself. It needs light, a crisp edge, and a signal at the dock.

Best for

  • A small lawn you can start by hand, with no outdoor socket
  • A household that wants a dock and a schedule inside the stated area
  • An open or large lawn where RTK or a hybrid matches the sky

Not ideal for

  • A carton that still includes a long perimeter cable
  • A pond, a drop or a public edge you cannot keep out with a no-go zone

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a kit that still contains a perimeter wire

    A long boundary cable in the carton is a wire mower, even when the search said wireless. Magnetic no-go strips are a different thing: they mark a bed or a pond, they do not peg the whole lawn. If the included list names metres of perimeter wire, leave that listing out of this category.

  2. 2

    Treating the maximum square metres as your garden

    A printed maximum is for a favourable lawn, not a guarantee on a shape broken into paths, beds and a side strip. Leave spare capacity. Two WORX titles in this set print no square metres at all, or print a different area from the next model, so do not copy a figure from a neighbouring ASIN.

  3. 3

    Mixing slope degrees with slope percent

    Degrees and percent are not interchangeable, and one listing prints both 35° and 35%. Quote the clash or leave the slope blank. Do not average it. A tilt sensor in a safety bullet is not a climbing rating. Starting on long wet grass, or expecting a stripe from a random path, is a separate mistake.

What to weigh up

Lawn area

High

Start with the maker's stated maximum and your own garden, not with the price. Leave spare capacity when paths, beds and a side strip break the shape. A printed maximum is for a favourable lawn, not a guarantee. If the title says only small to medium, or prints no square metres, do not borrow a figure from another model in the same brand. Narrow paths need the width the maker prints.

Navigation and charging

High

Camera vision wants a crisp edge and decent light. RTK wants open sky and is weaker under trees and beside tall walls. A hybrid or lidar is for those gaps. Drop-and-mow has no dock: you place it and it stops when the pack is flat. Mapped vision docks itself and needs a signal at the station. A dock needs an outdoor socket on a 30 mA RCD, and a new socket is an electrician's job. A removable battery charges indoors and will not mow while you are out.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Small lawn, no outdoor socket

You can start a carry-out mower while you are at home, and you will strim the edges. The Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit includes an 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and charger, states up to 100 m², and has no dock. It will not mow while you are out.

A schedule and a dock

You want the mower to dock and run when the lawn is inside the stated area, and you already have an outdoor socket or you will have one fitted. The eufy E15 is mapped pure vision with a cap under 800 m². Reviews treat dock siting, and Wi-Fi or 4G, as the practical limit.

Our recommendation

View offer

Open or large lawn

You are choosing cloud RTK or a hybrid, and a 100 m² random mower is the wrong class even though it is also wireless. The WORX WR305E states 500 m², with V-SLAM plus cloud RTK and no local antenna claimed. The sample is 14 reviews, and narrow grass paths are where buyers say it gets stuck.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about robot lawnmowers without boundary wire

What is a robot lawnmower without boundary wire?
A robot lawnmower without boundary wire stays inside the lawn using cameras, satellite positioning, lidar, or a mix, instead of a perimeter cable pegged around the grass. Magnetic no-go strips are not that cable. A box that includes a long boundary wire is a wire mower and sits outside this category. No wire does not mean no installation, no outdoor socket and no strimmer. Edges, narrow passages and soft borders still need you. Wire-guided machines are in the robot lawn mower comparison.
How much should I expect to pay on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices in this set come from the amazon.co.uk listings, not from another marketplace. Entry is about £296 to £370 for carry-out and budget vision machines. Confirm the battery is in the box. Mid is about £400 to £670, often with an app and a dock. Premium is about £800 to £1,500 for larger stated areas. Which? says boundaryless models are dearer than wire models. Prices move, so these bands are these listings, not a promise of the cheapest deal.
What should I check before I buy?
Check the stated lawn area against your garden and leave spare capacity if paths, beds and a side strip break the shape. A printed maximum is for a favourable lawn, not a guarantee. Match the navigation to trees, walls and light. Decide whether you can fit a dock on an RCD-protected outdoor socket, or carry a removable battery out. Read the slope in the unit the listing prints, and confirm the battery, charger and UK plug are in the box. A handful of reviews is a weaker signal than hundreds.
Is vision, RTK or a hybrid the right navigation?
Camera vision suits a crisp edge and decent light. RTK uses satellites plus a correction from a garden mast or a network. It is stronger on an open lawn than under trees or beside tall walls. A hybrid or lidar covers those gaps. Drop-and-mow vision has no dock: you place it and it cuts until the battery is flat. Mapped vision stores a virtual boundary and docks itself, which needs light and a signal at the dock. No wire is not one technology.
Do I need an outdoor socket?
A charging station needs an outdoor socket with 30 mA RCD protection under BS 7671 regulation 411.3.3. A new socket is an electrician's job, not a lead run from the kitchen. UK plugs are BS 1363. A removable battery charges indoors and will not mow while you are out. Do not assume every wireless mower charges indoors, and do not run a dock lead across the blades. If you are unsure about the RCD, stop and call an electrician.
Will it finish the edges and take long grass?
No. These machines mulch frequent small trimmings. They do not collect long grass, so you bring the lawn down first with an ordinary mower. The Royal Horticultural Society says not to remove more than one-third of the grass height in one cut, and not to mow frosty or waterlogged lawns. Edges, narrow side passages and soft borders are where a robot still leaves work for a strimmer. A random path will not stripe the lawn. Expect that leftover strip even when the listing says wire-free.
Which safety rules apply in the UK?
BS EN 50636-2-107:2015+A3:2021 covers household robotic battery rotary mowers up to 75 V DC. Remember lift, tilt and obstacle behaviour, and follow the instructions. Great Britain uses the General Product Safety Regulations 2005. Northern Ireland uses EU regulation 2023/988 from 13 December 2024. Daytime mowing is the sensible default under the Environmental Protection Act 1990, because noise can be a statutory nuisance. This comparison did not test a lift sensor, and it does not call any model the safest.
When should I stop and send the mower back?
Call a professional when you need a new outdoor circuit or you are unsure about the RCD, when the dock lead would cross the blades, when the mower fails to stop on lift, smokes, or throws a blade, and when a pond, drop or public edge cannot be kept out with a no-go zone. Faulty goods go back through the retailer under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. A star rating on this page is the amazon.co.uk listing line, not a laboratory score, and a missing slope figure stays missing.

Our verdict

The stored score on each row is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20, not a laboratory cut. The eufy E15 is the top pick: 4.6 from 580 reviews, pure vision, and a mapping cap under 800 m², at about £1499. The Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit is the best value at about £319 because the 18 V battery and charger are in the box. The body-only listing is not a complete machine. Match the printed area, and do not treat a missing slope, or a degree-versus-percent clash, as a settled climbing figure.

Best overall
eufy E15

eufy E15

Largest amazon.co.uk sample in this set, 4.6 from 580, with pure vision and a stated mapping cap under 800 m².

View offer
Best value
Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit

Bosch VISIMOW18V-100 kit

The 18 V 4.0 Ah battery and charger are in the box at about £319. The body-only listing does not take best value.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsLawn and garden equipmentRobot lawnmowers

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 23 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to robot lawnmowers without boundary wire

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Amazon.co.uk prices and star lines are from the listings scored on 22 October 2026. Last checked 23 October 2026.

  1. Which?, what is a robot lawn mower (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Which?, a month with a robot lawnmower (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. RHS, how to mow a lawn (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. BSI, BS EN 50636-2-107:2015+A3:2021 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK, statutory nuisances (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. IET Wiring Matters, 30 mA RCD on socket outlets (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. easymower, where RTK, vision and lidar fail (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use the UK listings, review counts and public sources named below. This is not a laboratory cut test, and it is not a promise of the cheapest price.