Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless pole pruner comparison 2026

The best cordless pole pruners, compared.

Top pick: Yofidra 4-in-1 Best value: POSENPRO PGCS132GB – Lowest saved price among products that name a battery in the box, at about £50.55. Updated 22 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A cordless pole pruner is a battery cutter for branches while you stand on the ground. UK listings are a short chainsaw on a shaft, powered bypass shears on a shaft, or a kit that carries both heads. A telescopic hedge trimmer is a different tool. You judge a suitable pruner by the head against the wood, by whether a battery and a charger are in the box, and by the pole's own length rather than a reach figure that has added your height. A chain cuts wood you would saw. It needs bar-and-chain oil and a tension check with the battery removed. A bypass shear suits green shoots inside the stated jaw, often about 25–50 mm, and it is the wrong head once the wood is dry or thicker than that opening. Before you cut, an order, a conservation area or a nest in use can forbid the work. The difference between a chain head and a powered jaw is set out in the [chain or shears guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/cordless-pole-pruner/sub/cordless-pole-pruner-chain-or-shears).

A cordless pole pruner is a battery cutter for branches while you stand on the ground. UK listings are a short chainsaw on a shaft, powered bypass shears on a shaft, or a kit that carries both heads.

Yofidra 4-in-1

Best overall

Yofidra 4-in-1
9.4/10∼ £130

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

11 of 11: Best cordless pole pruners compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Yofidra 4-in-1
Best value
POSENPRO PGCS132GB
ToCzernobgol JY-EP2501+
Ryobi OPP1820
Supstable 6C12S
MuatCtarom PS01
Prunarbo PR-E50-Set
highsam 8 inch pole saw
Bosch UniversalChainPole 18
INCENDIOS TAH-SCS-2121-UK
Gxpjycfob 1346
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.0/10
7.0/10
∼ £130
∼ £51
∼ £130
∼ £107
∼ £127
∼ £177
∼ £240
∼ £110
∼ £144
∼ £120
∼ £66
4.7(32)
4.7(11)
4.6(77)
4.5(1,558)
4.4(5,321)
4.4(1,085)
4.4(109)
4.3(408)
4.2(586)
4.0(35)
3.5(43)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best cordless pole pruners in detail

Yofidra 4-in-1

Rank 1

Yofidra 4-in-1

∼£130

Our view

The Yofidra kit is £129.99 and describes an 8 inch saw, shears to 28 mm, two 20 V 3.0 Ah batteries and a pole of 3.3–5.6 ft. The 13.7 ft reach adds the user. The score is 94, from 4.7 across 32 reviews, which is under the 500-review line for the top-pick badge. Saved reviews say the saw cuts logs, the shears cut branches, and one owner reached a hedge they put at 12 feet. Oil was not in the box for one buyer. Another review describes a 12 inch bar and Makita-shaped packs. The bullets say 8 inch. The dimension field, 17 by 0.26 by 0.1 metres, is not a credible size. Fifteen reviews are saved against a line of 32.

Pros

  • Saw and shears in one price
  • Two 3.0 Ah packs and a charger
  • Manual oiler stated on the saw
  • 4.7 from 32 reviews, a thin sample

Cons

  • 32 reviews
  • 13.7 ft is not the pole length
  • Oil missing in one review
  • A review's 12 inch bar does not match the 8 inch bullet

Best for: You want both a short shear and an 8 inch saw on one pole, and you will add chain oil.

Less suitable: You want one mechanism, a large review sample, or a pole whose length is the reach number.

Specifications

Model
Yofidra 4-in-1
Brand
Yofidra
Price
∼£130
Customer rating
4.7/5(32)
Head
Chain and shear
Bar or jaw
8 inch, 28 mm
Batteries
2× 3.0 Ah
Stated pole
3.3–5.6 ft
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Manual
Voltage
20 V
Weight
5.4 kg
Head angle
30–150 degrees
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

What is in the kit?

The bullets describe a hand shear, an 8 inch mini chainsaw, a pole saw and a telescopic shear, plus two 20 V 3.0 Ah batteries and a fast charger. A full single components line is not in the file.

Does it include chain oil?

One review says oil is not supplied and that a small bottle is. The bullet calls the saw's oiler a manual pressure system. Buy oil before the first chain cut.

Why is 4.7 not the top pick?

The line is 4.7 from 32 reviews. The top-pick rule in this set needs at least 500 reviews. One of the saved reviews also describes a 12 inch bar, which is not this bullet.

POSENPRO PGCS132GB

Rank 2

POSENPRO PGCS132GB

∼£51

Our view

The POSENPRO PGCS132GB is £50.55, the lowest saved price in this set that names batteries in the box, which is why it carries the best-value badge. The bullets describe a 4 inch bar, two 12 V 2.0 Ah packs, and a pole of 5.15–7 ft. The 13 ft line includes a 6 ft user. The score is 94, the star rating of 4.7 times 20, from 11 reviews. That sample is too small for the top-pick badge. Saved reviews call it light and say one pack lasted an afternoon, and one reviewer cut a branch they put at about 150 mm. One review says the saw has come off the pole. A charger is not in the included line, and an oiler is not stated.

Pros

  • £50.55 with two 2.0 Ah packs named
  • 4 inch bar for small branches
  • Reviewers reached limbs without a ladder
  • Light, in the reviews that praise it

Cons

  • 4.7 is from 11 reviews
  • Charger not named in the included line
  • One report of the saw leaving the pole
  • 13 ft is not the pole length

Best for: You want the cheapest battery-included chain pole in this file set for small high twigs, and you will check that a charger is actually in the carton.

Less suitable: You want a large review sample, a stated oiler, or a 20 cm bar from a brand you already own batteries for.

Specifications

Model
POSENPRO PGCS132GB
Brand
POSENPRO
Price
∼£51
Customer rating
4.7/5(11)
Head
Chain or hand
Bar or jaw
4 inch bar
Batteries
2× 2.0 Ah
Stated pole
5.15–7 ft
Charger
Not listed
Voltage
12 V
Weight
3.18 kg

Common questions

Is a charger listed?

The included line names the pole saw, a stabiliser handle, a spare chain, a bar cover and two 12 V 2.0 Ah batteries. It does not name a charger.

What does 13 ft mean?

The bullet says the pole adjusts from 5.15 ft to 7 ft, and that a 6 ft user can then reach 13 ft. The 13 ft figure is not the length of the pole.

How many reviews support the 4.7?

The listing line is 4.7 from 11 reviews. Nine UK reviews are saved. One says the saw has come off the top of the pole.

ToCzernobgol JY-EP2501+

Rank 3

ToCzernobgol JY-EP2501+

∼£130

Our view

The ToCzernobgol JY-EP2501+ is a bypass shear at £129.99 with two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a pole the bullet puts at 4.9–9.4 ft. The highlight says 15 ft. The score is 92, from 4.6 across 77 reviews, which is under 500 and does not take the top-pick badge. The jaw is stated at 1.4 inch or 2.2 inch, and the same bullet warns that dry wood may need another cut. SK5 bypass blades and a double-click trigger are in the listing. The weight field is 5.9 kg. Five saved reviews mostly say it cuts and is not too heavy. One calls the purchase poor because a returns collection did not happen. Voltage is not in the file.

Pros

  • Two 2.0 Ah packs and a charger named
  • 2.2 inch jaw with a smaller mode
  • 4.6 from 77 reviews
  • Double-click start and a timeout in the bullet

Cons

  • 77 reviews, and only five texts saved
  • 15 ft and 4.9–9.4 ft are different claims
  • Weight field 5.9 kg
  • Dry wood may need repeat cuts, by the listing's own note

Best for: You want a shear for green shoots, with two small packs, and you will treat 15 ft as a highlight rather than a measured pole.

Less suitable: You need a chain, a large review sample, or a stated voltage.

Specifications

Model
ToCzernobgol JY-EP2501+
Brand
ToCzernobgol
Price
∼£130
Customer rating
4.6/5(77)
Head
Bypass shear
Bar or jaw
2.2 inch jaw
Batteries
2× 2.0 Ah
Stated pole
4.9–9.4 ft
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Not a chain
Weight
5.9 kg
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Will it cut dry branches?

The bullet says two modes, 1.4 inch and 2.2 inch, and that dry or hard wood may need sharpening or more than one cut. That limit is in the listing, not a test result.

What is the 15 ft figure?

The highlight says 15 ft max reach. The bullet says the pole stretches from 4.9 to 9.4 ft. The saved reviews do not measure either number.

How solid is the 4.6?

The line is 4.6 from 77 reviews. Five UK reviews are saved. Four are short praise. One describes a failed return collection.

Ryobi OPP1820

Rank 4

Ryobi OPP1820

∼£107

Our view

The Ryobi OPP1820 is a bare 18 V pole saw at £106.95, with a 20 cm Oregon bar, a stated reach of up to 4 m, an automatic oiler and a shoulder strap. Across 1,558 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, and the score is 90, which is that star rating times 20. It is the highest star line in this set among listings with at least 500 reviews, which is why it carries the top-pick badge, even though you still have to buy a ONE+ pack. Reviewers cut overhanging limbs without a ladder and compare the saw with quotes of about £250 to £300. They also call it top-heavy, argue about whether it really reaches 4 m, and say the chain needs oil and frequent tension. The 3.6 kW field is not a usable motor figure.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 1,558 reviews, the strongest large sample in this set
  • 20 cm Oregon bar, strap, oil and a sheath listed
  • ONE+ packs shared with other Ryobi tools, if you already own them
  • Reviewers cut several-inch branches from the ground

Cons

  • Battery and charger are not in the £106.95
  • Top-heavy, and some buyers say the pole is shorter than 4 m
  • Chain tension and oil use come up often
  • Not a saw you can take off the pole and use in one hand

Best for: You already own Ryobi ONE+ batteries and want a 20 cm chain pole for side branches.

Less suitable: You need batteries in the box, a short handheld saw, or a pole you have measured rather than a 4 m bullet.

Specifications

Model
Ryobi OPP1820
Brand
Ryobi
Price
∼£107
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,558)
Head
Fixed chain
Bar or jaw
20 cm bar
Batteries
None (bare)
Stated pole
Up to 4 m
Charger
No
Oiler
Automatic
Voltage
18 V
Weight
4.95 kg
Head angle
30 degrees

Common questions

Does the Ryobi OPP1820 include a battery?

No. The title says the battery and charger are excluded. The box line includes bar-and-chain oil, a bar sheath and a shoulder strap. The bullet says it fits Ryobi ONE+ batteries.

How long is the pole?

The bullet says a reach of up to 4 m. Saved reviews disagree: one says the pole is 3 m and the head will not rise above 60 degrees to the horizontal, and another says it does not extend to 4 m. The file has no separate measured length.

What do reviews say about oil and the chain?

Reviewers say the chain needs tension, that the saw drinks oil, and that oil leaks if the pole is stored the wrong way up. The oiler is described as automatic in the bullet.

Supstable 6C12S

Rank 5

Supstable 6C12S

∼£127

Our view

The Supstable 6C12S file shows £127.48, an 8 inch bar plus a 6 inch bar, two 4.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a pole of 1.8–2.9 m. Brushless and an automatic oiler are claimed. The listing line is 4.4 from 5,321 reviews, so the score is 88. The first 50 saved reviews talk about a cheap handheld mini saw, furniture, and prices near £35, not about this pole kit. That is why the star line is not used as evidence that the pole works, and why the top-pick badge is not placed here even though the count is the largest. Where the texts do describe a saw, they praise light cuts and complain that the chain goes slack and that oil was not included. Voltage is not stated.

Pros

  • Two 4.0 Ah packs, a charger, and both an 8 inch and a 6 inch bar in the bullets
  • Pole length given as 1.8–2.9 m
  • Auto oiler claimed
  • A large printed review count, with the caveat below

Cons

  • Saved review text does not match a £127.48 pole kit
  • Chain tension and missing oil in those reviews
  • 800 W field is untested
  • Voltage not stated

Best for: You are buying the bullet list — two bars, two 4.0 Ah packs and a 1.8–2.9 m pole — and you will not treat 5,321 as a pole-saw test.

Less suitable: You want reviews that are clearly about the pole, or a chain size the file actually states.

Specifications

Model
Supstable 6C12S
Brand
Supstable
Price
∼£127
Customer rating
4.4/5(5,321)
Head
Chain or hand
Bar or jaw
8 and 6 inch
Batteries
2× 4.0 Ah
Stated pole
1.8–2.9 m
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Oil extra
Weight
5 kg
Head angle
120 degrees
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Do the 5,321 reviews describe the pole?

The listing line is 4.4 from 5,321. The first 50 UK reviews in the file mostly describe a handheld mini chainsaw, including prices around £35 to £40. Pole use is rarely mentioned. Treat the count as the listing line, not as a pole trial.

Is chain oil in the box?

The included line lists bars, chains, batteries, a charger, goggles, a pole and a belt. It does not list oil. Reviews say you need to buy bar-and-chain oil.

What bars are listed?

The bullets say an 8 inch chainsaw and an extra 6 inch guide bar and chain. A buyer who ordered a chain as 36 drive links, 1/4 pitch, 0.43 gauge said it did not fit. The correct chain size is not in the file.

MuatCtarom PS01

Rank 6

MuatCtarom PS01

∼£177

Our view

The MuatCtarom PS01 is a 50 mm shear kit at £176.59, with poles stated at 1.2 m, 1.8 m and 2.4 m and two 21 V 2 Ah packs. The listing line is 4.4 from 1,085 reviews, so the score is 88. That is a large sample, and it is still below the Ryobi 4.5, so the top-pick badge is elsewhere. Reviewers cut branches around 2 inches, sometimes in two bites, and praise the runtime on a magnolia. The weight field says 5.6 kg and a bullet says 2.5 kg. Complaints include a pole that does not power the head, blades that would not open, a trigger that failed after a few hours, and a unit that broke after a day. Those are individual reports inside the 1,085.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 1,085 reviews
  • 50 mm jaw and a 25 mm setting in the bullets
  • Two packs and a charger
  • Pole useful in brambles, in reviews that got it working

Cons

  • 5.6 kg field against a 2.5 kg bullet
  • Some units did not run on the pole or would not open
  • Trigger and early breakage in single reviews
  • Heavier than hand secateurs once the pole is on

Best for: You want a powered shear for green wood inside 50 mm, with a pole for brambles, and you will learn the double-press.

Less suitable: You need a chainsaw bar, a settled weight, or a pole you have seen run before you rely on it.

Specifications

Model
MuatCtarom PS01
Brand
MuatCtarom
Price
∼£177
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,085)
Head
Bypass shear
Bar or jaw
50 mm jaw
Batteries
2× 2 Ah
Stated pole
Up to 2.4 m
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Not a chain
Voltage
21 V
Head angle
9 angles
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Is this a chainsaw?

No. It is a powered bypass shear with a stated 50 mm opening, plus poles of 1.2 m, 1.8 m or 2.4 m. There is no bar-and-chain oil system in the file.

Does the pole always work?

One review says the shear worked in the hand and did not run once the extension was fitted. Other reviews used the pole on brambles and high shoots. Both are in the saved text.

What is the weight?

The item weight field is 5.6 kg. A bullet says 2.5 kg. Reviews that mention weight say the pole makes the shear heavy. The file does not pick a winner between 5.6 kg and 2.5 kg.

Prunarbo PR-E50-Set

Rank 7

Prunarbo PR-E50-Set

∼£240

Our view

The Prunarbo PR-E50-Set is the dearest row in this file set, at £239.99. The bullets claim a 50 mm jaw, a 900 W brushless motor, two 18 V 4 Ah packs, a pole from 1.3 m to 2.4 m, and Makita 18 V compatibility. The score is 88, from 4.4 across 109 reviews. Eight saved reviews praise the cut on brambles and shaded branches. One says the charger failed after a season. The weight field is 998 g and a bullet says 1.65 kg, so neither figure is cleaned up. The components line says only electric secateurs, while the bullets describe batteries and a pole. No saved review confirms the Makita fit.

Pros

  • 50 mm jaw and an 18 V 4 Ah pair in the bullets
  • 4.4 from 109 reviews
  • Pole length given in metres, 1.3–2.4 m
  • Reviewers cut brambles and shaded branches

Cons

  • £239.99 is the top price here without a larger review sample than the cheaper shear
  • 998 g and 1.65 kg both printed
  • Charger failed after one season, one review
  • Makita fit is a bullet, not a review

Best for: You want a 50 mm 18 V shear and you are willing to pay the highest saved price for the stated 4 Ah packs.

Less suitable: You need a proved Makita fit, a chain, or a price near the other shear kits.

Specifications

Model
Prunarbo PR-E50-Set
Brand
Prunarbo
Price
∼£240
Customer rating
4.4/5(109)
Head
Bypass shear
Bar or jaw
50 mm jaw
Batteries
2× 4 Ah
Stated pole
1.3–2.4 m
Charger
Not listed
Oiler
Not a chain
Voltage
18 V
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Does the listing say it fits Makita batteries?

Yes, the bullet says it is compatible with Makita 18 V batteries. None of the eight saved reviews tests that claim.

What is the weight?

The item weight field is 998 g. A bullet says 1.65 kg. One review calls it a little heavy. Both printed weights stay in the file.

What failed in the reviews?

One reviewer says the charger stopped working after one season and would not charge the batteries. The other saved reviews are short praise, including bramble cutting.

highsam 8 inch pole saw

Rank 8

highsam 8 inch pole saw

∼£110

Our view

The highsam listing, manufacturer field Gisam, is £110.49 with an 8 inch bar, two 4.0 Ah batteries and a charger in the package line. The score is 86, from 4.3 across 408 reviews, which is under the 500-review line for the top-pick badge. The title says the pole extends to 4.2 m and that the saw is for Makita 18 V. The bullets say 1.4 m, 1.9 m and 2.4 m, and a review says the packs are not Makita packs. Reviewers who like it cut branches around 2 to 4 inches from the ground. Others say a clamp let the pole fall off mid-cut, or that the guard broke within seconds. The 2,800 W bullet and the 10 cm dimension field are not figures to quote as measured.

Pros

  • Two 4.0 Ah packs and a charger in the package line
  • 8 inch bar
  • 4.3 from 408 reviews
  • Reviewers reached driveway trees on the 2.4 m setup

Cons

  • Title length and Makita claim conflict with the bullets and a review
  • Pole joints and a snapping guard in reviews
  • Chain jam reported on the long setup
  • 10 x 10 x 10 cm is not a usable size

Best for: You want an 8 inch sectional saw with two packs around £110, and you will ignore the 4.2 m and Makita lines unless the carton proves them.

Less suitable: You need a proved Makita fit, a single telescopic tube, or a review sample over 500.

Specifications

Model
highsam 8 inch pole saw
Brand
highsam
Price
∼£110
Customer rating
4.3/5(408)
Head
Chain or hand
Bar or jaw
8 inch bar
Batteries
2× 4.0 Ah
Stated pole
1.4–2.4 m
Charger
Yes
Oiler
One-press
Voltage
18 V claimed
Weight
4.82 kg
Head angle
180 degrees
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Does it take Makita 18 V batteries?

The title says it is for Makita 18 V. A UK review says the packs are the same colour only, and that they would not charge on that reviewer's Makita charger. The box includes two 4.0 Ah packs and a charger of its own.

How long is the pole?

The title says 4.2 m. The bullets say 1.4 m, 1.9 m and 2.4 m. Reviews that measure it describe about 2.1 m to 2.4 m, not 4.2 m.

What do the 408 reviews complain about?

Pole clamps that come apart, a guard that snaps off, the chain jamming on the pole, and the Makita claim. Other reviews cut driveway branches and Leylandii on the 8 inch bar. The 10 cm dimension field is not a real tool size.

Bosch UniversalChainPole 18

Rank 9

Bosch UniversalChainPole 18

∼£144

Our view

The Bosch UniversalChainPole 18 is £143.98 with an 18 V 2.5 Ah battery and a 1-hour charger in the bullet. The listing line is 4.2 from 586 reviews, so the score is 84. That sample is large enough for the top-pick rule, and the star line is lower than the Ryobi bare tool, so it does not take the badge. Reviewers cut branches they describe at about 2 to 5 inches, including fruit wood, and several say the pole is heavier than the lightweight feature suggests. The chain coming off, oil leaks, and a strap clip that broke are repeated. One reviewer says the head snapped off. Bar length is not in the saved fields. A 45 degree head angle is.

Pros

  • 2.5 Ah battery and charger named in the bullet
  • 4.2 from 586 reviews
  • 18 V system the bullet calls Power for All
  • Reviewers did cut thicker side branches from the ground

Cons

  • Heavy at full length in many reviews
  • Chain derailments and high oil use
  • Strap clip broke for more than one buyer
  • Bar length is not stated

Best for: You want a Bosch 18 V chain pole with a battery already in the price, and you will keep the chain oiled and tensioned.

Less suitable: You want a published bar length, a light pole, or the higher star line of the bare Ryobi.

Specifications

Model
Bosch UniversalChainPole 18
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£144
Customer rating
4.2/5(586)
Head
Fixed chain
Batteries
1× 2.5 Ah
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Reservoir
Voltage
18 V
Weight
3.19 kg
Head angle
45 degrees

Common questions

Is a battery included?

The bullet includes the UniversalChainPole 18, a 2.5 Ah battery and a 1-hour charger. One reviewer says the charger that arrived was a basic slow unit rather than the one in the pictures.

Will it run on other Bosch 18 V packs?

The bullet says Power for All. Some reviewers say the pack matches their other Bosch tools. One reviewer says it did not match the Bosch batteries they already owned. The file does not settle that disagreement.

What fails in the reviews?

Repeated points are weight at full stretch, a chain that comes off, oil that runs out or leaks if the saw is stored the wrong way up, and a shoulder-strap clip that broke. Those are review reports, not a lab result.

INCENDIOS TAH-SCS-2121-UK

Rank 10

INCENDIOS TAH-SCS-2121-UK

∼£120

Our view

The INCENDIOS TAH-SCS-2121-UK is £119.99 for shears stated to 30 mm, an 8 inch saw, a pole of 1.1–2.5 m and two 21 V 4.0 Ah packs. The score is 80, from 4.0 across 35 reviews. Four reviews are saved. One says the charger plug was US-only and a converter had to be bought, which matters on a UK socket even though the model suffix says UK. Another likes the shears for an arthritic hand and still uses steps with the pole. The watt field is 900 W and the chainsaw bullet also says 300 W. An empty oil bottle is in the kit list. The 4.9 m reach is the working-height claim, not a second pole length.

Pros

  • Two 4.0 Ah packs and a fast charger in the bullets
  • Both a 30 mm shear and an 8 inch bar
  • Pole length given in metres
  • Goggles, gloves and chains listed

Cons

  • 4.0 from 35 reviews, four texts saved
  • One report of a US plug
  • 900 W and 300 W both printed
  • Oil bottle listed as empty

Best for: You want a red 21 V kit with two 4.0 Ah packs and you will check the charger plug before the first charge.

Less suitable: You need a confirmed BS 1363 plug, a chain-only tool, or a deeper review sample.

Specifications

Model
INCENDIOS TAH-SCS-2121-UK
Brand
INCENDIOS
Price
∼£120
Customer rating
4.0/5(35)
Head
Chain and shear
Bar or jaw
8 inch, 30 mm
Batteries
2× 4.0 Ah
Stated pole
1.1–2.5 m
Charger
Yes
Oiler
Empty bottle
Voltage
21 V
Weight
5.21 kg
Head angle
180 degrees
Brushless
Yes

Common questions

Is the charger a UK plug?

The model number ends in UK. One of the four saved reviews says the charger plug was for the US and that a converter was needed. The other three saved reviews do not mention the plug.

What cutting heads are listed?

Shears stated to 30 mm on a 900 W brushless claim, and an 8 inch chainsaw the bullet also describes as 300 W. Both can go on a pole of 1.1–2.5 m. The kit list includes an empty oil bottle.

How many reviews are saved?

The line is 4.0 from 35. Four UK reviews are in the file, so the text is a small slice of a small line.

Gxpjycfob 1346

Rank 11

Gxpjycfob 1346

∼£66

Our view

The Gxpjycfob 1346 is £65.89 with two 21 V 1.5 Ah batteries, a charger, and a pole the bullet puts at 4.3–7.5 ft. The title also says 2.3 m. The score is 70, from 3.5 across 43 reviews, the lowest star line in this set. Praise is real and narrow: high apple branches, and one user who cut 100 mm wood. The fault reports are sharper. The pole mode jammed or had no power. One saw smoked and flamed on first use. Another ran as soon as the battery was fitted. A later charge failed both packs. The bullet's two-switch lock and the reviews that describe a saw which will not stop are not the same account. Bar length is not in the bullets.

Pros

  • £65.89 with two packs and a charger named
  • Some buyers cut high branches
  • 150 degree head stated
  • Shorter pole length worked for one reviewer when the longest section bounced

Cons

  • 3.5 from 43 reviews
  • Pole mode failed for several buyers
  • Smoke, and a saw that ran on when the battery was fitted
  • 3.7 kg and 3.4 lb both printed

Best for: Only if you accept a low star line and will return the tool if the pole has no power or the chain runs on.

Less suitable: You need a pole that the reviews agree will cut, or any stated chain brake you can rely on.

Specifications

Model
Gxpjycfob 1346
Brand
Gxpjycfob
Price
∼£66
Customer rating
3.5/5(43)
Head
Chain or hand
Batteries
2× 1.5 Ah
Stated pole
4.3–7.5 ft
Charger
Yes
Voltage
21 V
Head angle
150 degrees

Common questions

Does the pole cut?

Some reviews say it cuts high apple wood or 100 mm branches. Several others say the handheld saw works and the pole does not: no power through the poles, or the chain only scratches the bark. Both groups are in the 43-review line.

Is the safety lock reliable?

The bullet says the saw runs only when a safety switch and the power button are pressed together. Two reviews say it started as soon as the battery was fitted and that the trigger did not stop it. If a saw does that, stop using it.

What is the weight?

The item weight field is 3.7 kg. A bullet says 3.4 lb. Those are not the same measurement. The file keeps both.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings are in this set. The score is the star rating times 20. It is not a lab score. The top pick is the highest star line among products with at least 500 reviews. Best value is the lowest saved price among products that name a battery in the box.

1

Star rating

100%

The published score is the amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20. A 4.5 becomes 90. There is no second percentage. Review count and price decide the two badges, and they are not extra weights.

Independent review
Last updated: 22 October 2026
10 sources checked

Cordless pole pruner buying guide

Start with the head, then whether a battery and a charger are in the box, then the pole's own length. A reach figure that adds your height is a different number. Oil belongs with a chain, not with a shear. The tree, the order and any nest come before the brand. Prices below are the saved amazon.co.uk files, not a live basket, and this is not a lab test.

What is a cordless pole pruner?

A cordless pole pruner is a battery cutter for branches while you stand on the ground. UK listings are a short chainsaw on a shaft, powered bypass shears on a shaft, or a kit with both. A telescopic hedge trimmer is a different tool. Fixed chain pole saws keep the bar on the shaft. Clip-on mini saws are a hand saw plus tubes, and reviews split between the hand saw working and the pole stalling. Powered shears close a jaw. Four-in-one kits mean two heads to maintain.

Best for

  • A bare chain pole when you already own batteries that fit
  • Green shoots inside a stated jaw, with packs named in the box

Not ideal for

  • A hedge blade used on limbs, or a reach figure treated as the pole length
  • A cut you have not checked against an order, a conservation area or a nest

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating a reach claim as the pole length

    Sellers add a person's height. If the title and the bullets disagree, use the shorter figure until you measure the pole. A 13 ft or 15 ft line is often the user plus the shaft.

  2. 2

    Comparing a bare tool with a two-pack kit

    A bare-tool price is not the same purchase as two included packs. Read whether a charger is named as well. A cross-brand fit sentence can be contradicted by a review on the same listing.

  3. 3

    Running a chain dry

    Bar-and-chain oil is often missing from the box. Check tension with the battery removed, and check oil before use. A shear has no chain-oil system.

  4. 4

    Buying a hedge pole for limbs

    A telescopic hedge trimmer is a different tool. A hedge blade is neither a chain nor a bypass jaw. Cut outside the collar rather than flush to the trunk. That collar cut is RHS advice, not a statute.

What to weigh up

Head and battery in the box

High

The head comes first. A chain cuts wood you would saw. A bypass shear suits green shoots inside the stated jaw, about 25–50 mm on these files, and it is the wrong head once the wood is dry or thicker than the jaw. A hedge blade is neither. Fixed chain pole saws keep the bar on the shaft. Clip-on mini saws are a hand saw plus tubes, and reviews split between the hand saw working and the pole stalling. Four-in-one kits mean two heads to maintain. The battery is the next check.

Pole length, oil and the tree

High

Keep pole length apart from reach. Sellers add a person's height. If the title and the bullets disagree, use the shorter figure until you measure the pole. A stated shaft of about 1–2.5 m, or a few feet, is the pole. A 13 ft or 15 ft line often includes the user. On a chain tool, bar-and-chain oil is often missing from the box. Tension the chain with the battery removed. A shear has no oil system. Before any brand, check the tree.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

You already own the batteries

You already own a battery platform and want a bare chain pole for side branches. The Ryobi OPP1820 is an 18 V tool with a 20 cm bar, and the battery and charger are not in the price. Reviewers cut overhanging limbs from the ground and also call the pole top-heavy.

Our recommendation

View offer

Batteries must be in the box

You have no packs and want a box that names them. The POSENPRO PGCS132GB is the lowest saved price among those listings, with two 12 V 2.0 Ah packs named. The 4.7 line is from 11 reviews, and a charger is not in the included line.

A neighbour's overhanging limb

You are looking at a neighbour's limb. Check the order, the conservation area and any nest before you buy a tool. If the cut is allowed and you want a chain from the ground, the Ryobi OPP1820 is the large-sample chain pole in this set. You may trim only to the boundary.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about cordless pole pruners

What is a cordless pole pruner?
A cordless pole pruner is a battery cutter for branches while you stand on the ground. UK listings are a short chainsaw on a shaft, powered bypass shears on a shaft, or a kit with both. A telescopic hedge trimmer is a different tool. You judge one by the head against the wood, by whether a battery and charger are in the box, and by the pole's own length rather than a reach figure that has added your height.
Should you buy a chain or a shear head?
A chain cuts wood you would saw, and it needs bar-and-chain oil plus a tension check with the battery removed. A bypass shear suits green shoots inside the stated jaw, about 25–50 mm on these files, and it is the wrong head once the wood is dry or thicker than the jaw. A hedge blade is neither. Clip-on mini saws are a hand saw plus tubes. Reviews on those listings split between the hand saw working and the pole stalling.
What does a cordless pole pruner cost?
Saved amazon.co.uk prices in this set are not a live basket. Entry sits at about £50–£70. Mid sits at about £100–£150. The upper rows in this file set only sit at about £170–£240. A higher price is not a measured cutting advantage. Budget for oil on any chain tool, and for a battery if the title says bare. A bare-tool price is not the same purchase as a kit that names packs in the box.
How do you tell pole length from a reach figure?
Sellers add a person's height to a reach figure. The pole's own length is the number to compare. If the title and the bullets disagree, use the shorter figure until you measure the pole. A 13 ft or 15 ft line often includes the user. A stated pole of a few feet, or about 1–2.5 m, is the shaft, not that taller working height. This comparison did not measure any pole.
What should you check before you buy?
Start with the head, then whether a battery and a charger are in the box. A bare-tool price is not the same purchase as two included packs. Keep the pole length apart from a reach claim. On a chain tool, check for an oiler and budget for bar-and-chain oil, which is often missing. The lock these listings describe is a switch you press with the trigger. A cross-brand battery sentence can be contradicted by a review on the same listing.
Can you cut a neighbour's overhanging branch?
In England you may trim a neighbour's branch to the boundary only, and the cuttings belong to the owner. A tree preservation order prohibits lopping without the council's written consent. A conservation-area tree that is not under an order needs six weeks' notice under section 211 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990, unless an exception applies. An English form does not clear Scotland or Northern Ireland. Other pole tools, including manual ones, are in the pole pruner comparison.
Do you need a chainsaw certificate for one garden branch?
HSE INDG317 is about petrol chainsaws at work, not a household ticket. Paid chainsaw use is the training case. A householder does not need a chainsaw certificate for one garden branch on that basis. Stay 15 metres from power lines, keep people clear, and use both hands. Call someone when the drop could hit a person, a roof or a wire, when you would have to leave the ground, or when you are being paid to run a chainsaw.
When should you call a professional?
Call someone when the tree may be protected and you have not asked, when the drop could hit a person or a roof or a wire, when you would have to leave the ground, or when you are being paid to run a chainsaw. March to August is when nests are usually found. It does not make every later cut lawful. An order can still apply to a garden tree even where a felling-licence exception exists.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Ryobi OPP1820. It has the highest amazon.co.uk star line among listings with at least 500 reviews, 4.5 from 1,558, and the score is that star rating times 20. The tool is bare, so the price does not include a battery. The best value is the POSENPRO PGCS132GB at about £50.55, the lowest saved price among products that name a battery in the box. Its 4.7 from 11 reviews is too small a sample for the top pick.

Best overall
Yofidra 4-in-1

Yofidra 4-in-1

View offer
Best value
POSENPRO PGCS132GB

POSENPRO PGCS132GB

Lowest saved price among products that name a battery in the box, at about £50.55.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsLawn and garden equipmentCordless pole pruners

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22 October 2026
10 sources checked

Guides to cordless pole pruners

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Legal and safety points are from GOV.UK, legislation.gov.uk, Electrical Safety First, the RHS, Stihl UK and HSE INDG317. Prices and star lines are the saved amazon.co.uk listings for the eleven kept ASINs. Updated 22 October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK, Tree preservation orders and trees in conservation areas (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Town and Country Planning Act 1990, section 211 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, When a felling licence is needed (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, Wild birds: protection and licences (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, High hedges, trees and boundaries (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Citizens Advice, If you disagree about a tree or hedge (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Electrical Safety First, Pole saws (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. RHS, Tree pruning guide (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  9. Stihl UK, Chainsaw maintenance (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  10. HSE, Chainsaws at work (INDG317) (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores are the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20. They are not a lab test, and they are not a promise of the cheapest price.