Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Lawn tractor battery comparison 2026

The best lawn tractor batteries, compared.

Top pick: Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah Best value: Withheld – Best value is withheld. The lowest shelf price is the same listing as the top pick, and one product does not carry both awards. The other two rows are dearer, for 20 Ah with no size, or for 3 Ah. Updated 23.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A lawn tractor battery is the 12 V starter in a petrol ride-on or garden tractor. It is not an 18 V tool pack, and it is not the traction battery in an electric mower. In the UK you buy one when the machine turns slowly, clicks, or has sat through winter and will not start. You tell a suitable lawn tractor battery by voltage, the case in the tray, which end is positive, and the cranking figure, before chemistry. The usual garden case is a U1 group, near 195 mm by 130 mm by 183 mm. Measure the tray. U1 and U1R differ only by which end is positive. Do not cross the cables. Cold cranking is a short high current. Amp-hours are stored capacity. A few amp-hours with a high cranking figure are not a 30 Ah block. Sealed AGM and maintenance-free lead-acid suit the mower's charging circuit. A lighter lithium Group U1 belongs only inside the charge window the battery maker states. Those checks are in the [lawn tractor battery buying guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/lawn-tractor-battery/sub/lawn-tractor-battery-buying-guide).

A lawn tractor battery is the 12 V starter in a petrol ride-on or garden tractor. It is not an 18 V tool pack, and it is not the traction battery in an electric mower.

Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah

Best overall

Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah
7.0/10∼ £73

11 products checked · 47 hrs invested · +16,840 readers

3 of 3: Best lawn tractor batteries compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 3
Best overall
Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah
Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 32 Ah
DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO 3 Ah
7.0/10
8.5/10
5.7/10
∼ £73
∼ £60
∼ £100
4.7(26)
4.5(273)
4.3(9)
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Where will the battery live?

The best lawn tractor batteries in detail

Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah

Rank 1

Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah

∼£73

Our view

The Mountfield row is part 118120002/1, a 12 V 20 Ah lead-acid battery at £72.59, with GGP as the manufacturer. The title names Mountfield 1228H, 1640H and 1740H, and the bullets add further Mountfield numbers plus Castelgarden, Lawn-king, Twin Cut and Alpina models. Across 26 amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.7, and the file holds five UK texts. Four of those say a Mountfield ride-on or garden tractor started after the swap. One owner says the original Mountfield battery had failed after six months and this replacement worked the first time. In the same set, one buyer found the top fixings did not match the housing and had to adjust the wiring, and that buyer would not order again without seeing the posts. Size, weight and cold cranking are absent from the capture, and none of the five texts says how many seasons the new battery then lasted. Buy it when your model is on the 118120002/1 list and you can compare the posts with the leads before you close the cover.

Pros

  • Part 118120002/1, with Mountfield, Castelgarden, Lawn-king, Twin Cut and Alpina models named
  • 4.7 from 26 amazon.co.uk ratings, and five UK texts in the file
  • Four of those texts say the ride-on started after fitting
  • One owner replaced a Mountfield battery that had failed at six months

Cons

  • £72.59 for 20 Ah, with size, weight and CCA not stated
  • One UK review had to alter the wiring because the top fixings differed
  • None of the five texts says how long the replacement then lasted
  • No charger or instructions are named in the bullets

Best for: Your Mountfield, Castelgarden or Alpina model is on the 118120002/1 list and you will check the posts against the leads.

Less suitable: You want a printed case size and CCA, or a lighter lithium starter you can lift out each winter.

Specifications

Model
Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah
Brand
Mountfield
Price
∼£73
Customer rating
4.7/5(26)
Voltage
12 V
Capacity
20 Ah
Chemistry
Lead-acid
Charger
Not named
Fitment
Named model list

Common questions

Which mowers does the listing name?

The title names Mountfield 1228H, 1640H, and 1740H, part 118120002/1. The bullets add further Mountfield numbers plus Castelgarden, Lawn-king, Twin Cut, and Alpina models.

Will the top fixings match the old battery?

The listing does not describe the terminal hardware. One of the five UK reviews says the top fixings differed from the housing and the wiring had to be adjusted.

What capacity and cranking does it state?

20 Ah and 12 V. Cold cranking amps, weight, and dimensions are not on the capture.

Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 32 Ah

Rank 2

Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 32 Ah

∼£60

Our view

The Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 is listed as a 12 V 32 Ah AGM at £59.72, with SAE posts, a stated weight of 6 kg, and model 550903. Across 273 amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.5, though in the first 50 texts saved with this ASIN only one is marked Reviewed in the United Kingdom, and that owner says it fitted and worked. The listing says the battery needs no acid handling and no maintenance, which is the sealed VRLA story for a ride-on tray if the case matches. A bullet prints 195 × 125 × 176 cm while the size line prints 19 × 13 × 18 cm, so you measure the tray rather than trust the centimetre unit on the long figure. Cold cranking is not on the page, so you cannot set it beside a Yuasa garden U1 that states 330 A to EN. One captured review says the posts were on the wrong side and the cables were crossed, which is a reason to check polarity before you tighten the clamps. It leads this set as a sealed 32 Ah AGM near a high-street U1 price, with the limit that most of the saved review texts are not from the UK.

Pros

  • £59.72 for a 12 V 32 Ah AGM with SAE posts and a stated weight of 6 kg
  • 4.5 from 273 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Listing says no acid fill and no maintenance
  • The one UK text in the first 50 says it fitted and the machine worked

Cons

  • A bullet prints 195 × 125 × 176 cm while the size line prints 19 × 13 × 18 cm
  • Cold cranking amps are not stated
  • One captured review crossed the cables because the posts faced the other way
  • Only one of the first 50 saved texts is marked United Kingdom

Best for: You want a sealed 32 Ah AGM in a U1-size tray and you will check which end is positive before you bolt it down.

Less suitable: You need a printed CCA figure, a Mountfield part number, or a battery light enough to lift with one hand.

Specifications

Model
Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 32 Ah
Brand
Fulbat
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.5/5(273)
Voltage
12 V
Case
U1-32 / U1-12
Capacity
32 Ah
Terminal
SAE
Chemistry
AGM
Weight
6 kg
Size
Two sizes printed
Charger
Not named
Fitment
Ride-on mowers

Common questions

Does this Fulbat need acid before you fit it?

The listing says the SLA range needs no acid handling, no initial preparation, and no maintenance. It calls the design VRLA.

What size does the listing print?

The bullet prints 195 x 125 x 176 cm. The size line prints 19 x 13 x 18 cm. Those two strings are both on the capture. CCA is not stated.

Are the 273 reviews all from the UK?

The star line is 4.5 from 273 on amazon.co.uk. In the first 50 texts saved with this ASIN, one is marked Reviewed in the United Kingdom. That text says it fitted and worked.

DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO 3 Ah

Rank 3

DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO 3 Ah

∼£100

Our view

The DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO is a Group U1 starter at £99.95, and the title states 12 V, 3 Ah and 450 CCA. Across nine amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.3, and all nine texts in the file are from the UK. Reviewers describe it as much lighter than the lead-acid block it replaced, and they say a ride-on or a generator turned over and started. The title and bullets say LiFePO4, while the specification table says Lithium Ion, and the page prints 1.25 kg, 1 kg and 3.3 lb without those three figures agreeing. A charger is not in the included line, and one review says you need a compatible charger sold separately. One reviewer says a safety cut-out needs frequent resets, and none of the nine texts covers a full winter, so the seller’s 2,500-cycle and 24-month standby lines stay claims. The 450 CCA figure has no test method on the listing, so it is not an EN figure you can place next to a Yuasa 330 A. It is the row for someone who lifts the battery out and will charge a lithium starter on the maker’s terms, rather than a 30 Ah store for a mower left on its own charging circuit.

Pros

  • Group U1 size printed as 15.6 × 13.1 × 17.4 cm, and reviewers say it is much lighter than the lead-acid it replaced
  • 4.3 from nine UK reviews, with a ride-on or a generator reported as started
  • The seller claims a BMS and a sleep mode for a machine that sits
  • One-year warranty printed on the listing

Cons

  • £99.95 for 3 Ah, with 450 CCA stated and no test method
  • The title says LiFePO4, the table says Lithium Ion, and the weights print 1.25 kg, 1 kg and 3.3 lb
  • No charger is named in the box
  • Nine reviews do not cover a winter, and one mentions frequent cut-out resets

Best for: You lift a Group U1 starter in and out, and you will buy a charger the lithium maker accepts.

Less suitable: You want 20–32 Ah of lead-acid on the mower’s existing charge circuit, or a car, UTV or v-twin the listing excludes.

Specifications

Model
DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO 3 Ah
Brand
DOUKAS
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.3/5(9)
Voltage
12 V
Case
Group U1
Capacity
3 Ah
Cranking
450 CCA stated
Chemistry
LiFePO4 / Li-ion
Weight
Weights disagree
Size
15.6 × 13.1 × 17.4 cm
Charger
Not named
Fitment
Not cars or UTV

Common questions

Is a charger in the box?

The included line names one 12 V battery. It does not name a charger. One UK review says you need a compatible charger, and that the maker sells one separately.

What chemistry does the listing use?

The title and bullets say LiFePO4. The specification table says Lithium Ion. Voltage is 12 V, capacity 3 Ah, and the title states 450 CCA with no test method.

How heavy is it on the listing?

The table says battery weight 1.25 kg and item weight 1 kg. A bullet says 3.3 lb. Those three figures are all on the capture and they are not the same.

How we compared

Three amazon.co.uk listings are scored, captured on 22 October 2026: Fulbat B0727YM4ML, Mountfield B06WV92XZL and DOUKAS B0GBSM1WB9. No lab test was run. A Yuasa garden U1 on a specialist page is a size reference. It is not a fourth row. Stars, review count, printed voltage and amp-hours, case or model list, terminal or a single weight, cranking only when a test method is named, and the price in this set make the score. Deductions use a captured review or a clash on the same listing. The working caps sum to 97. The weights below are that split scaled so they sum to 100. The top pick leads this set on those blocks. It is not a Which? Best Buy.

1

Amazon.co.uk stars

63%

The star line times 12, up to 60 in the working score. A 4.5 becomes 54 before any deduction. The weight here is 63 so the blocks sum to 100. It is an amazon.co.uk figure, not a lab test.

2

Review count

15%

200 or more reviews score 15. From 25 to 199 score 6. From 1 to 24 score 2. A larger pool carries more of the score than a higher average from a few ratings.

3

Voltage and amp-hours

4%

Both printed on the listing scores 4. A lawn tractor battery in this category is a 12 V starter. Amp-hours are stored capacity, not cold cranking.

4

Case or model list

3%

A group name, or a part number with named machines, scores 3. The tray and the model list are how you tell a U1 case from a named ride-on part.

5

Terminal or weight

3%

SAE posts, or a single weight with no second weight that disagrees, scores 3. Two or three weights that do not match score 0.

6

Cranking with a test method

3%

3 only if CCA is printed with a test method. A bare CCA, or a blank cell, scores 0. EN 50342-1 is a -18 °C test. A seller's figure without that method is not scored as cranking.

7

Price in this set

9%

In the working score, £59.72 scores 9, £72.59 scores 5 and £99.95 scores 3. The weight here stays 9. Deductions for a crossed cable, mismatched fixings, a missing charger, a cut-out or a chemistry clash sit outside these weights.

Independent review
Last updated: 23.10.2026
8 sources checked

Lawn tractor battery buying guide

Match the case, the positive post and the voltage before chemistry, then read cranking only if a test method is named. Three amazon.co.uk listings are on this page, captured on 22 October 2026. The scores use those listings and the review texts saved with them. They are not a laboratory test.

What a lawn tractor battery has to match

A lawn tractor battery in the UK is the 12 V starter in a petrol ride-on or garden tractor. It is not an 18 V tool pack and not the traction battery of an electric mower. Match voltage, the case in the tray, which end is positive, and cranking, and only then the chemistry. Price is last. Wrong posts waste the saving.

Best for

  • A sealed AGM or lead-acid starter in the same tray, with the positive end checked
  • A named ride-on part, or a Group U1 you lift out and charge on the maker's terms

Not ideal for

  • An 18 V tool pack, or the traction battery of an electric mower
  • A split, acid-wet or swollen case, or lithium with no stated charge window on a warranted mower

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on amp-hours alone

    Amp-hours are stored capacity. Cold cranking is a short high current. 450 CCA beside 3 Ah is not a 30 Ah block. If no test method is named, the CCA is the seller's figure.

  2. 2

    Ignoring U1 versus U1R

    The cases match and the positive post does not. Layout 1 and layout 0 are the published pair. Crossing the cables to force a fit showed up in a captured review. Do not plan to do it.

  3. 3

    Binning a lead-acid block

    Shop tubes take portable batteries, not vehicle batteries. A U1 lead-acid block goes to a council recycling centre or a battery retailer. Tape lithium terminals. Do not use a desulphation mode on lithium iron phosphate.

What to weigh up

Case, polarity and posts

High

The usual UK garden group is U1. Yuasa's garden U1, which is a size reference and not a row here, is 12 V, 30 Ah at the 20-hour rate and 330 A to EN, about 195 mm by 130 mm by 183 mm. Types 895 and 896 are about 26 Ah and 250 A. Measure the tray. One listing prints 195 × 125 × 176 cm in a bullet and 19 × 13 × 18 cm on the size line. Do not read 195 cm as the case. U1 and U1R differ by which end is positive. Yuasa uses layout 1 and layout 0.

Chemistry and charging

High

Cranking first, then amp-hours, then chemistry. EN 50342-1 is a -18 °C test. A stated 450 CCA on 3 Ah is not the same reservoir as 30 to 32 Ah. A blank cranking cell scores nothing here. Maintenance-free lead-acid, often calcium, can be supplied charged and still needs a storage charge. AGM is sealed, with no acid fill. Stay with AGM or maintenance-free lead-acid if you have not measured the stator. A lithium Group U1 is much lighter.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A sealed battery in the same tray

You want another AGM or sealed lead-acid in a U1-size tray, and you will check which end is positive before you bolt it down. The Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12 is 12 V, 32 Ah, SAE posts, a stated 6 kg, at £59.72. Cold cranking is not on the listing. One captured text crossed the cables.

A named ride-on part number

Your Mountfield, Castelgarden or Alpina model is on the 118120002/1 list, and you will compare the posts with the leads. The listing is 12 V, 20 Ah, at £72.59. Size, weight and CCA are not stated. One UK review had to alter the top fixings.

You lift the starter out each winter

You will pay more for a lighter Group U1 starter and charge it on the battery maker's terms. The DOUKAS DKLU1 PRO is listed at £99.95. The title says 12 V, 3 Ah and 450 CCA, with no test method. No charger is named. Nine UK reviews do not cover a winter.

Common questions about lawn tractor batteries

Which listing is the top pick, and is there a best value?
The top pick in this set is the Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12, listed at £59.72 as a 12 V 32 Ah AGM with SAE posts and a stated weight of 6 kg. The star line is 4.5 from 273 amazon.co.uk ratings, and most of the saved review texts are not from the UK. Cold cranking is not printed. Best value is withheld. The lowest price is this same listing, and one product does not carry both awards. The other two rows cost more for less stored capacity.
Are the 273 Fulbat ratings all from the UK?
The star line is 4.5 from 273 ratings on amazon.co.uk. In the first 50 texts saved with that ASIN, one is marked Reviewed in the United Kingdom, and that owner says it fitted and worked. The rating is not a UK laboratory win, and it is not evidence that every text is a British review. Read the count beside the stars, and still check which end is positive before you tighten the clamps.
How do I tell a U1 lawn tractor battery from a U1R?
U1 and U1R are the same sort of garden case with the positive post at opposite ends. Yuasa uses layout 1 for U1 and layout 0 for U1R. A specialist describes an Exide U1R as positive on the right, with the terminals nearest you. Do not cross the cables to force a fit. Look at which cable is positive on the mower, then order the layout that meets it. A captured review crossed the leads. That is a fault, not a method.
Is a high CCA the same as a high amp-hour rating?
No. Cold cranking amps are a short high current. EN 50342-1 is a test at -18 °C. Amp-hours are stored capacity. A title that states 450 CCA and 3 Ah is not the same reservoir as a 30 to 32 Ah lead-acid block. If the listing names no test method, treat the CCA as the seller's figure. The 32 Ah AGM on this page does not print a CCA. The 20 Ah part does not either.
Can I charge a lithium lawn tractor battery on a lead-acid charger?
Do not assume it. Quality Source charges lithium iron phosphate at 14.6 V and warns that a battery-management disconnect can spike an alternator. Allbatteries says a lead-acid charger can charge a 12 V lithium mower battery. Those pages disagree, so follow the battery maker. Do not use a desulphation mode. None of the three listings on this page names a charger in the box. A Group U1 title that excludes cars, a UTV and a v-twin is not a car battery.
Where do I take the old lawn tractor battery?
Do not put it in household rubbish. GOV.UK says shop collection tubes take portable batteries, not vehicle batteries, so a U1 lead-acid block goes to a council recycling centre or a battery retailer. Tape the terminals on a lithium battery before you carry it. Producer duties sit under the Waste Batteries and Accumulators Regulations 2009. A motorcycle battery that only mentions a lawn mower in a long list of uses is not this category.
When should I call a professional if the mower still will not start?
Call a professional if the case is split, wet with acid or swollen, if a lead has melted, if a fuse blows as you reconnect, or if a warranted mower would take lithium with no stated charge window. Disconnect the negative first and connect the positive first. UK plugs are BS 1363. A battery is not the only no-start part. A fouled plug is a different job, set out in the spark plug lawnmower comparison.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Fulbat U1-32 / U1-12. It scores 85 in this three-row set: 54 from 4.5 stars, 15 for 273 reviews, 4 for voltage and amp-hours, 3 for the U1 group name, 3 for SAE posts and 6 kg, and 9 for £59.72, minus 3 because one captured text crossed the cables. Cold cranking scores 0. It is not a lab result and not a Which? Best Buy. Best value is withheld. The lowest shelf price is the same listing, and one product does not carry both awards. The Mountfield part is £72.59 for 20 Ah with no size on the page. The DKLU1 PRO is £99.95 for 3 Ah. Neither is the value row.

Best overall
Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah

Mountfield 118120002/1 20 Ah

View offer
Best value

Withheld

Best value is withheld. The lowest shelf price is the same listing as the top pick, and one product does not carry both awards. The other two rows are dearer, for 20 Ah with no size, or for 3 Ah.

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY and tools editor
DIY and tools editor
DIY and toolsLawn and garden equipmentLawn tractor batteries

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 23.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to lawn tractor batteries

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources from the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk capture of 22 October 2026 for B0727YM4ML, B06WV92XZL and B0GBSM1WB9.

  1. Yuasa U1, 12 V 30 Ah 330 A (EN) (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Yuasa garden brochure, layout 1 and layout 0, types 895 and 896 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Yuasa, garden machinery batteries still need a storage charge (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Groves Batteries, Exide garden U1R, positive on the right (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Allbatteries, fitting order for mower batteries (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Quality Source, LiFePO4 charge voltage and alternator warning (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. GOV.UK, vehicle batteries excluded from shop collection tubes (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The notes come from amazon.co.uk listings, review text and public UK sources, not from a lab test.