Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Portable power distribution box comparison 2026

The best portable power distribution boxes, compared.

Top pick: KIMISS 12 V mini power box Best value: Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure – A 4-way wall shell at about £21.59 with 4.6 from 490 reviews, the largest sample in the set. The carton has no breakers and no sockets. Updated October 2026.

A portable power distribution box splits one supply into several outlets you can carry, and the inlet current limits every socket together. Extra outlets do not add power. On amazon.co.uk the same search also returns empty breaker enclosures and 12 V battery hubs. A finished distro has an inlet and outlets. An empty DIN-rail box is only a shell. A 12 V hub feeds small loads from a battery. Match the inlet before the socket count: current, pins, colour and clock position. BS 1363 is the UK plug. Under BS EN 60309, yellow is about 110 V, blue is about 230 V and red is about 400 V. A Schuko face does not take a UK plug. Connector fit is set out in the [CEE or UK sockets](/hub/electrical-equipment/portable-power-distribution-box/sub/portable-power-distribution-box-cee-or-uk-sockets) guide. HSE describes an RCD of not more than 30 mA, used with the test button and not bypassed. A claim with no milliamp figure is incomplete. IP44 with the lids shut is the usual splash claim. Site tools are cordless or 110 V centre-tapped to earth.

A portable power distribution box splits one supply into several outlets you can carry, and the inlet current limits every socket together. Extra outlets do not add power.

KIMISS 12 V mini power box

Best overall

KIMISS 12 V mini power box
10.0/10∼ £107

36 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

10 of 10: Best portable power distribution boxes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
KIMISS 12 V mini power box
as-Schwabe Stecky 14 CEE distro
Best value
Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure
shengbowi 3-way DIN enclosure
CFTGIW 12 V boat power box
Limiebllu 5-way breaker enclosure
Ausla 32 A six-outlet CEE box
YJDOORPLAY portable socket box
Septoolshop 230 V 16 A box
Dilwe 12 V mini power box
10.0/10
9.8/10
9.2/10
8.4/10
8.2/10
7.6/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
∼ £107
∼ £94
∼ £22
∼ £10
∼ £106
∼ £8
∼ £122
∼ £51
∼ £38
∼ £89
5.0(1)
4.9(39)
4.6(490)
4.2(27)
4.1(2)
3.8(12)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best portable power distribution boxes in detail

KIMISS 12 V mini power box

Rank 1

KIMISS 12 V mini power box

∼£107

Our view

KIMISS lists a 12 V panel at £106.86 and 1.12 kg with four Anderson ports, six USB ports and two 12 V sockets. The output line says 12 V DC at 2 A, while the input line says 10 V, so the voltage schedule does not agree with itself. Box contents says none, and no battery capacity is stated. The listing shows 5.0 from one UK review, from a buyer who found it fairly easy to install and reported no fault. One review is a thin sample, and there is no IP rating. A 2 A output line is a light accessory load, and the star line does not describe a mains distribution box.

Pros

  • Anderson, USB and 12 V sockets on one panel
  • Output current is stated as 2 A
  • The single UK review reports a straightforward install
  • 1.12 kg

Cons

  • Only one review
  • The input line says 10 V against a 12 V output claim
  • No battery, and box contents says none
  • Not a 230 V distro, and no IP rating

Best for: A small 12 V accessory panel where a stated 2 A output is enough and the supply is already there.

Less suitable: Loads above that 2 A line, or any 230 V distribution job.

Specifications

Model
KIMISS 12 V mini power box
Brand
KIMISS
Price
∼£107
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Type
12 V DC hub
Inlet
10 V stated
Outlets
Anderson, USB, 12 V
Protection
None stated
UK 13 A
No
Portable
Yes
Phase
DC
Weight
1.12 kg

Common questions

How long does the battery last?

The page asks, and the bullets do not state a battery capacity. Box contents says no.

Is this a 230 V site distro?

No. The listing is a 12 V DC box with Anderson, USB and 12 V sockets.

What does the only review say?

The listing shows 5.0 from 1 review. The UK text says it was fairly easy to install and suited that buyer. It states no fault.

as-Schwabe Stecky 14 CEE distro

Rank 2

as-Schwabe Stecky 14 CEE distro

∼£94

Our view

The as-Schwabe Stecky 14, model 60869, is £94.42 with a 16 A CEE inlet, four Schuko sockets, two 16 A CEE outlets and about 3.5 kW for the whole unit, so the sockets share one ceiling. The listing shows 4.9 from 39 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the captured comments are mostly from Germany: caravan use, a lead that wraps, and angled plugs that sit badly on the Schuko row. IP44, a 2.5 m H07RN-F lead and a weight of about 3 kg are stated, with a carry handle. No RCD or MCB is stated, and a bullet that names EN 61439-4 is a claim on the page, not a certificate in this file. A UK 13 A plug fits neither face. It is the only finished distro here that schedules inlet, outlets and lead together, and the residual-current question stays open.

Pros

  • 16 A CEE inlet, four Schuko sockets and two 16 A CEE outlets are all stated
  • About 3.5 kW, IP44 and a 2.5 m H07RN-F lead on a 3 kg box
  • 4.9 from 39 reviews, with caravan use in the captured comments
  • Carry handle and a scheduled single-phase 230 V layout

Cons

  • No BS 1363 sockets, so a UK plug does not fit
  • No RCD or MCB is stated
  • Angled plugs fit poorly on the Schuko row in the captured reviews
  • Most of the captured review text is from Germany, not a UK sample

Best for: A pitch or caravan lead that already uses blue 16 A CEE or Schuko plugs, where you accept a box with no RCD stated.

Less suitable: UK 13 A appliances, a building site, or any job that needs a stated residual-current device.

Specifications

Model
as-Schwabe Stecky 14 CEE distro
Brand
as-Schwabe
Price
∼£94
Customer rating
4.9/5(39)
Type
Portable CEE distro
Inlet
CEE 16 A 3-pin
Outlets
4 Schuko + 2 CEE
Protection
None stated
IP rating
IP44
UK 13 A
No
Portable
Yes
Phase
Single phase
Weight
3 kg
Ways
6

Common questions

Will this take a UK 13 A plug?

No. The listing states four earthing-contact sockets and two 16 A CEE sockets, not BS 1363 sockets.

Does the listing include an RCD?

No. The bullets state IP44, a 16 A CEE inlet and about 3.5 kW. They do not state an RCD or an MCB.

What do the captured reviews say?

The listing shows 4.9 from 39 reviews. The captured text is mostly from Germany and mentions caravan use, a lead that wraps, and angled plugs that fit poorly on the Schuko row.

Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure

Rank 3

Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure

∼£22

Our view

Mollom’s SHPN-4 Without Lock is a 4-way wall enclosure at £21.59, 130 x 100 x 200 mm and 500 g, with a DIN rail, two bus bars, a blank, screws and two glands. The packing list has no breakers and no sockets, so this is a cabinet you mount, not a distro you plug in. The listing shows 4.6 from 490 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here. Captured comments include a garden building, a transfer switch that only fitted upside down, and knockouts that were hard to punch out. The highlight says a padlock is available, and some reviews say one was missing. IP66 is claimed for the empty shell, which is not the same as a finished outdoor installation.

Pros

  • £21.59 with 4.6 from 490 reviews
  • DIN rail, two bus bars, glands and screws are in the packing list
  • IP66 claimed on a 4-way PC and ABS shell
  • Reviews mention use on a garden building

Cons

  • No breakers, sockets or inlet in the carton
  • Wall mount, so it is not a carry distro
  • A padlock was missing in some reviews
  • Knockouts were hard to punch, and one transfer switch fitted only upside down

Best for: A wall cabinet for up to four DIN devices you already own, such as a small outbuilding.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a portable distro with a lead and sockets in the box.

Specifications

Model
Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure
Brand
Mollom
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.6/5(490)
Type
Wall enclosure
Inlet
None
Outlets
None
Protection
None included
IP rating
IP66
UK 13 A
No
Portable
No
Weight
0.5 kg
Ways
4

Common questions

Is this a plug-in portable distro?

No. It is a 4-way wall enclosure with a DIN rail and bus bars. The packing list does not include breakers or sockets.

Does it come with a padlock?

The model name is SHPN-4 Without Lock. The highlight says padlock available. The packing list does not include a padlock, and some reviews say one was missing.

What do reviewers mention about fitting?

The listing shows 4.6 from 490 reviews. Captured comments include a garden building and a transfer switch that only fitted upside down, plus knockouts that were hard to punch out.

shengbowi 3-way DIN enclosure

Rank 4

shengbowi 3-way DIN enclosure

∼£10

Our view

The shengbowi UK HT3 is a 3-way surface enclosure at £9.99 and 250 g, with a DIN rail and a clear lid claimed. The listing states IP65 and single phase, and it does not include an MCB or an RCD. Dimensions are absent from the capture. The listing shows 4.2 from 27 reviews. Captured comments mention an Ecoflow smart meter and a Shelly Pro 3EM, a DIN rail that was crooked, and gland seals and mounting plugs that were missing. More than one reviewer would not trust it outside as supplied. It can house a small DIN device indoors if you already have the seals, and it does not distribute mains power by itself.

Pros

  • £9.99 for a 3-way DIN shell
  • A clear lid is claimed
  • Reviews cite meter and Shelly installs
  • 250 g, with single phase stated

Cons

  • No circuit breaker or RCD in the box
  • Gland seals and mounting plugs were missing in reviews
  • Reviewers would not trust it outside as supplied
  • No dimensions in the capture

Best for: An indoor surface box for a meter or another three-way DIN device you supply yourself.

Less suitable: Outdoor use as delivered, or a portable socket board.

Specifications

Model
shengbowi 3-way DIN enclosure
Brand
shengbowi
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(27)
Type
Wall enclosure
Inlet
None
Outlets
None
Protection
None included
IP rating
IP65
UK 13 A
No
Portable
No
Phase
Single phase
Weight
0.25 kg
Ways
3

Common questions

Does it include circuit breakers?

No. It is a 3-way DIN-rail enclosure. The description does not list an MCB or an RCD.

Do the reviews support the IP65 claim?

The listing states IP65. Captured reviews say gland seals and mounting plugs were missing, and more than one reviewer would not trust it outside as supplied.

What was it used for in the reviews?

Reviewers mention an Ecoflow smart meter and a Shelly Pro 3EM. One says the DIN rail was crooked. The listing shows 4.2 from 27 reviews.

CFTGIW 12 V boat power box

Rank 5

CFTGIW 12 V boat power box

∼£106

Our view

The CFTGIW unit is a 12 V DC hub at £106.39 and 1.12 kg, with four Anderson ports, six USB ports and two 12 V sockets. Input and output are stated as 12 V DC, so a mains appliance has nowhere to plug in. The listing shows 4.1 from two reviews, and a UK review says it is not a standalone supply: you connect it to a vehicle or leisure battery. No battery is stated on the listing, and no current is given for the Anderson ports. The waterproof question on the page is unanswered because no IP rating is printed. Twelve ports on the technical line describe that low-voltage face.

Pros

  • Four Anderson ports, six USB ports and two 12 V sockets are stated
  • 12 V DC in and out
  • A UK review confirms it connects to a battery
  • 1.12 kg

Cons

  • It does not supply 230 V
  • No battery is included
  • Only two reviews, at 4.1
  • No IP rating and no current figure

Best for: A 12 V boat or vehicle layout where the battery is already fitted and you want Anderson and USB on one panel.

Less suitable: Kettles, site tools, or any appliance with a mains plug.

Specifications

Model
CFTGIW 12 V boat power box
Brand
CFTGIW
Price
∼£106
Customer rating
4.1/5(2)
Type
12 V DC hub
Inlet
12 V DC
Outlets
Anderson, USB, 12 V
Protection
None stated
UK 13 A
No
Portable
Yes
Phase
DC
Weight
1.12 kg
Ways
12

Common questions

Does this run mains appliances?

No. Input and output are stated as 12 V DC, with Anderson, USB and 12 V sockets.

Does it contain a battery?

The listing does not state one. A UK review says it is not a standalone supply and must be connected to a vehicle or leisure battery.

Is it waterproof?

The page asks, and the bullets do not state an IP rating. The listing shows 4.1 from 2 reviews.

Limiebllu 5-way breaker enclosure

Rank 6

Limiebllu 5-way breaker enclosure

Our view

Limiebllu’s YWS-036 is listed at £7.99 as a 5-way IP65 enclosure, 16 x 12 x 9 cm and 340 g, in PC and ABS. The listing shows 3.8 from 12 reviews, and several of those reviews describe a 12-way box, so the way count is not settled in the file. It is a wall enclosure with a DIN rail, and the included-components line does not list breakers or sockets, while the bullets claim screws and caps. Reviewers mention knockouts that do not open, and more than one would not trust it outdoors despite the IP65 claim. At the lowest enclosure price here you are buying an uncertain shell. The title’s five ways and the reviews’ twelve ways cannot both be the quantity you order.

Pros

  • £7.99, the lowest enclosure price in the set
  • The title states five ways and IP65
  • PC and ABS, at 340 g
  • Screws and caps are claimed in the bullets

Cons

  • Reviews describe 12 ways, while the title says five
  • 3.8 from only 12 reviews
  • No breakers or sockets included
  • Knockouts that do not open, with poor outdoor trust in the reviews

Best for: A cheap wall shell only after you have checked the way count on the unit in front of you.

Less suitable: A counted five-way install, outdoor use, or a portable distro.

Specifications

Model
Limiebllu 5-way breaker enclosure
Brand
Limiebllu
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.8/5(12)
Type
Wall enclosure
Inlet
None
Outlets
None
Protection
None included
IP rating
IP65
UK 13 A
No
Portable
No
Weight
0.34 kg
Ways
5 or 12

Common questions

Is it five ways or twelve?

The title and the circuits line say five ways and 16 x 12 x 9 cm. Several captured reviews describe a 12-way enclosure. The file does not resolve that.

Is it a portable distro with sockets?

No. It is a wall enclosure with a DIN rail. The included-components line does not list breakers or sockets.

What do the reviews say about the IP rating?

The listing shows 3.8 from 12 reviews and claims IP65. Reviewers mention knockouts that do not open, and more than one would not trust it outdoors.

Ausla 32 A six-outlet CEE box

Rank 7

Ausla 32 A six-outlet CEE box

∼£122

Our view

The Ausla box is £122.06 and states a 32 A five-pin CEE inlet, six 16 A three-pin CEE outlets, a carry handle and a weight of 4.52 kg. It claims an IP65 housing, IP44 sockets and an RCBO, then says the RCD function can be switched off, without a residual current in milliamps or an RCD type. Voltage is given as AC 220–380 V in one place and AC 240–415 V in another, and the phase line says single phase or three-phase. There is no cable length. The amazon.co.uk capture has no star line and no review text. You get a connector schedule, and you do not get evidence that the protection stays in circuit.

Pros

  • 32 A five-pin inlet and six 16 A three-pin CEE outlets are stated
  • Carry handle on a 4.52 kg box
  • IP65 housing and IP44 sockets are claimed
  • An RCBO is named on the listing

Cons

  • The listing says the RCD can be switched off, and no milliamps are stated
  • No amazon.co.uk star line or review text
  • Voltage and phase lines disagree with each other
  • No UK 13 A sockets and no lead length

Best for: You already have a 32 A five-pin supply and want six CEE 16 A outlets on one portable box, after a competent person has checked the wiring.

Less suitable: A 13 A house socket, a 16 A caravan hook-up, or anyone who needs a stated 30 mA device that stays in circuit.

Specifications

Model
Ausla 32 A six-outlet CEE box
Brand
Ausla
Price
∼£122
Type
Portable CEE distro
Inlet
CEE 5-pin 32 A
Outlets
6 x CEE 16 A
Protection
Switchable RCBO
IP rating
IP65 box, IP44 sockets
UK 13 A
No
Portable
Yes
Phase
Single or 3-phase
Weight
4.52 kg
Ways
6

Common questions

Are the outlets UK 13 A sockets?

No. The listing states six CEE 3-pin 16 A outlets and one CEE 5-pin 32 A inlet.

What protection does the listing state?

It states an RCBO and says the RCD function can be selected on or off. It does not state a residual current in milliamps or an RCD type.

Is there a review score on the capture?

No star line is in the saved listing, and there are no review texts.

YJDOORPLAY portable socket box

Rank 8

YJDOORPLAY portable socket box

∼£51

Our view

YJDOORPLAY lists a size A plastic socket box at £51.44, about 1 kg, and claims IP65 plus an RCD and a fuse on each outlet. One size line says 25 x 16.6 x 11.5 cm and another says 26 x 17 x 12 cm. The page asks how many sockets it has, and the bullets never answer, just as they omit the inlet, the voltage and any residual current in milliamps. Copper contacts are claimed, and the text mentions rain, gardens and construction sites. The capture has no star line and no reviews. You cannot match this title to a 16 A supply or a UK plug from the page alone.

Pros

  • £51.44 for a small plastic box with a portable title
  • IP65 is claimed
  • An RCD and a fuse per outlet are named
  • About 1 kg, with copper contacts claimed

Cons

  • Socket count, inlet and voltage are not stated
  • No milliamps and no RCD type
  • No reviews in the capture
  • Two dimension lines that do not match

Best for: Only a buyer who can see the inlet and the socket faces before paying, and who accepts an unreviewed listing.

Less suitable: Ordering from the page alone, or a site that needs a stated 110 V supply or a stated 30 mA assembly.

Specifications

Model
YJDOORPLAY portable socket box
Brand
YJDOORPLAY
Price
∼£51
Type
Portable socket box
Protection
RCD claimed
IP rating
IP65
Portable
Yes
Weight
1 kg

Common questions

How many sockets does the listing state?

It does not. The page asks how many sockets it has, and the bullets do not give a number.

Does it state an RCD rating?

It says each outlet has a residual current circuit breaker and a fuse. It does not state milliamps, RCD type, voltage or the inlet plug.

Is it for outdoor use?

The listing claims IP65 and mentions rain, gardens and construction sites. There are no reviews in the capture.

Septoolshop 230 V 16 A box

Rank 9

Septoolshop 230 V 16 A box

∼£38

Our view

Septoolshop’s size B box is the cheapest title in the set at £37.93, and the title does state 230 V and 16 A. It claims an RCD and a fuse on each socket, weighs 1.5 kg, and measures 11.5 x 16.6 x 11.5 cm in plastic with copper claimed. The bullets say waterproof and give no IP code, no socket count and no inlet connector. The page asks how sizes A, B, C and D differ and does not define them. There is no star line and no review text. A 16 A phrase on the title still leaves you guessing which faces are on the box.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at £37.93
  • The title states 230 V and 16 A
  • An RCD and a fuse per socket are claimed
  • 1.5 kg plastic box

Cons

  • No socket count, inlet plug or IP code
  • No residual current in milliamps
  • Size B is not defined in the capture
  • No reviews

Best for: Someone who has already seen the sockets in person and only needs a low-priced 230 V 16 A claim on the title.

Less suitable: A remote order, UK 13 A plugs, or any job that needs a stated IP rating.

Specifications

Model
Septoolshop 230 V 16 A box
Brand
Septoolshop
Price
∼£38
Type
Portable socket box
Protection
RCD claimed
IP rating
No IP code
Portable
Yes
Weight
1.5 kg

Common questions

What is size B?

The title ends with (B) and the page asks how sizes A, B, C and D differ. The capture does not define them.

Is an IP rating stated?

No. The bullets say waterproof and do not give an IP code, a socket count or an inlet connector.

Are there reviews?

The saved listing has no star line and no review text.

Dilwe 12 V mini power box

Rank 10

Dilwe 12 V mini power box

∼£89

Our view

Dilwe’s DC 12 V box is £89.26 and 1.12 kg, with two 12 V sockets and six USB ports, in ABS and metal. It does not state Anderson ports, a battery, an IP code or a current, and included components says none. The listing claims outdoor use for camping, fishing and boats without a rating to match that claim. It also does not say the box charges from the mains by itself. The amazon.co.uk capture has no star line and no review text. It is the lowest price of the three 12 V hubs here, and you would still be buying an unreviewed low-voltage face.

Pros

  • £89.26, below the other two 12 V hubs
  • Two 12 V sockets and six USB ports
  • ABS and metal are stated
  • 1.12 kg

Cons

  • No reviews in the capture
  • No battery, no IP code and no current
  • It does not provide a 230 V outlet
  • Included components says none

Best for: A 12 V camping or boat panel if you have already confirmed the connector and you accept a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: Mains appliances, a stated waterproof rating, or Anderson plugs.

Specifications

Model
Dilwe 12 V mini power box
Brand
Dilwe
Price
∼£89
Type
12 V DC hub
Inlet
12 V DC
Outlets
2 x 12 V, 6 USB
Protection
None stated
UK 13 A
No
Portable
Yes
Phase
DC
Weight
1.12 kg

Common questions

Will this charge from the mains by itself?

The listing does not say so. It states a DC 12 V box with two 12 V sockets and six USB ports, and it does not state a battery.

Is there an IP rating?

No. Outdoor use is claimed for camping, fishing and boats, without an IP code.

Are there Amazon reviews in the capture?

No star line and no review text.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings from this search were checked against the buying order below. This is not a laboratory test. Card scores are the listing scores from the amazon.co.uk capture, on a 0–100 scale, shown at about one tenth of that figure. A display score of 0, where the capture has no star line, is shown as 1.0. A printed IP code, RCD or standard name is a listing claim, not a certificate.

1

Product family

25%

A finished distro has an inlet and outlets. An empty DIN-rail box is only a shell. A 12 V hub feeds a battery. A cable-tidy lead and a project box are not this category.

2

Inlet and outlets

25%

Match current, pins, colour and clock position. Extra sockets share the inlet. BS 1363 is the UK plug. A Schuko face does not take that plug.

3

Protection

20%

HSE describes an RCD of not more than 30 mA, used with the test button and not bypassed. A claim with no milliamp figure is incomplete. A switch that turns the device off removes that protection.

4

Enclosure and cable

15%

IP44 with the lids shut is the usual splash claim. IP65 on an empty box does not survive missing seals. H07RN-F 3G2.5 suits a 16 A lead, not a 63 A feed.

5

Listing evidence

15%

Star line and review count from the amazon.co.uk capture, including a missing star line. The lowest price does not win when the inlet, the socket count or the residual current is unstated.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Portable power distribution box buying guide

Start with the family, then the inlet, then the outlet faces, then the protection the listing actually names. Price comes after those checks. Extra sockets do not add power, and an empty enclosure is not a distro. The notes below follow that order for these 10 amazon.co.uk listings. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What is a portable power distribution box?

A portable power distribution box splits one supply into several outlets you can carry, and the inlet sets the power for every socket together. In this set the finished mains titles are a 16 A CEE distro and a 32 A five-pin box, plus two portable socket boxes that do not state the inlet or the socket count. Three listings are empty enclosures. Three are 12 V hubs. A 12 V hub is not a mains supply.

Best for

  • A household that wants several outlets from a caravan bollard, a generator or a 13 A socket, inside a 16 A ceiling
  • A trade that needs a specified assembly, usually 110 V for tools
  • An event crew working to BS 7909

Not ideal for

  • Anyone buying a 12 V hub for a kettle or another mains appliance
  • A buyer treating an empty IP65 shell as a finished outdoor distro
  • Using a 230 V box as a site-tool supply

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating socket count as extra power

    Every outlet shares the inlet. A 16 A inlet is about 3.7 kW at 230 V for the whole box. A 13 A BS 1363 plug is about 3.0 kW. More sockets do not raise that ceiling.

  2. 2

    Expecting a Schuko face to take a UK plug

    BS 1363 is the UK 13 A plug. A Schuko socket does not take it. Blue CEE is a different connector again. Read the faces on the listing before you order.

  3. 3

    Trusting RCD or IP65 with no figures

    HSE describes an RCD of not more than 30 mA, used with the test button and not bypassed. IP65 on an empty box does not survive missing gland seals. A 12 V hub will not run a kettle, and a 230 V box is not a site-tool supply.

What to weigh up

Inlet and outlets

High

Decide the family, then match the inlet, then read the outlet faces. A finished distro has an inlet and outlets. An empty DIN-rail box is a shell. A 12 V hub feeds a battery. Common inlet currents are 16 A, 32 A and 63 A. Match colour, pins and clock position as well as the amps. A 16 A inlet is about 3.7 kW at 230 V for the whole box. A 13 A BS 1363 plug is about 3.0 kW. Extra sockets share that ceiling. BS 1363 is the face for a UK appliance. Blue CEE is the usual caravan-pitch connector.

Protection and enclosure

High

HSE describes an RCD of not more than 30 mA, used with the test button and not bypassed. “RCD” or “waterproof” with no figure is not a specification. A switch that turns the RCD off removes that protection. Do not invent a type such as AC, A, F or B when the listing is silent. One box in this set names an RCBO and says the function can be switched off, with no milliamps stated. IP44 with the lids shut is the usual splash claim. NICEIC associates IP44, doors closed, with BS EN 61439-4.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A caravan pitch or hook-up

You already have a blue 16 A CEE or Schuko lead and you want several outlets on one portable box. The as-Schwabe Stecky 14 states that inlet, four Schuko sockets, two CEE outlets and about 3.5 kW for the whole unit. No RCD is stated, and a UK 13 A plug does not fit.

A wall cabinet for an outbuilding

You need a DIN shell for devices you already own, not a lead and sockets in the carton. The Mollom 4-way enclosure is about £21.59, with a DIN rail, two bus bars and 4.6 from 490 reviews. IP66 is claimed for the empty box. Fitting it on a shed supply is work for a competent person.

A 12 V boat or vehicle panel

You are feeding USB and 12 V sockets from a battery that is already fitted. The CFTGIW hub states 12 V DC in and out, and a UK review says it is not a standalone supply. It will not run a kettle or a site tool.

Common questions about portable power distribution boxes

What is a portable power distribution box?
A portable power distribution box splits one supply into several outlets you can carry. The inlet current limits every socket together, so more sockets do not add power. A finished distro has an inlet and outlets. An empty DIN-rail box is only a shell, and a 12 V hub feeds a battery’s small loads. Under BS EN 60309, yellow is about 110 V, blue is about 230 V and red is about 400 V.
Which listing is the top pick in this set?
The top pick in this amazon.co.uk set is the as-Schwabe Stecky 14 at about £94.42. It states a 16 A CEE inlet, four Schuko sockets, two 16 A CEE outlets, IP44, a 2.5 m H07RN-F lead and about 3.5 kW for the whole unit. The listing shows 4.9 from 39 reviews. No RCD is stated, and a UK 13 A plug does not fit either face. The score is a listing score, not a laboratory test.
Which portable power distribution box is best value?
The best value in this set is the Mollom SHPN-4 Without Lock at about £21.59, with 4.6 from 490 reviews. It is a 4-way wall enclosure with a DIN rail, two bus bars and two glands. IP66 is claimed for the empty shell. The carton has no breakers and no sockets, so it is not a distro you plug in. It suits a buyer who already owns the devices and will mount the cabinet on a wall.
Will these boxes take a UK 13 A plug?
Only a listing that states BS 1363 sockets will take a UK 13 A plug. The finished CEE distros in this set use Schuko or CEE faces, and a Schuko socket does not take a UK plug. The as-Schwabe and Ausla pages state CEE outlets, not 13 A sockets. Several other titles do not state the socket type at all. Match the face to the plugs you already own before you order.
Do more sockets mean more power?
No. Extra sockets share the inlet. A 16 A inlet is about 3.7 kW at 230 V for the whole box. A 13 A BS 1363 plug is about 3.0 kW. The Stecky listing says about 3.5 kW for the unit, so the six outlets share that ceiling. A 32 A five-pin inlet is a larger supply. If that connector is new to you, treat it as a job for a competent person rather than as spare capacity.
What should an RCD claim include?
HSE describes an RCD of not more than 30 mA, used with the test button and not bypassed. “RCD” with no milliamp figure is incomplete. A switch that turns the RCD off removes that protection. The Ausla listing names an RCBO and says the RCD function can be switched off, with no milliamps stated. The RCD comparison covers that device on its own. If it will not trip or reset, call a competent person.
Is an empty DIN enclosure a portable distro?
No. Three listings here are wall enclosures. Their packing lists do not include a lead, an inlet plug or socket outlets. Wiring an empty enclosure into a dwelling is installation work. IP65 on an empty box does not survive missing gland seals. Reviewers of the cheaper shells mention missing seals and knockouts that will not open. One title says five ways, and the captured reviews describe twelve.
When should you call a competent person?
Call a competent person for a consumer unit or shed connection, a three-phase, 32 A or 63 A inlet, a generator feeding more than one user, a construction site, or a public event beyond a couple of checked leads on a 13 A socket. The Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 require work equipment to be maintained so it does not give rise to danger. They do not set an annual PAT interval.

Our verdict

In this set of 10 amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the as-Schwabe Stecky 14 at about £94.42. It is the finished distro that states a 16 A CEE inlet, four Schuko sockets, two 16 A CEE outlets, IP44 and a 2.5 m lead together, with 4.9 from 39 reviews. The best value is the Mollom 4-way enclosure at about £21.59, with 4.6 from 490 reviews, because you are buying a wall shell rather than sockets. Neither score is a laboratory test. A UK 13 A plug fits neither CEE face, and an empty cabinet does not distribute power until a competent person fits the devices.

Best overall
KIMISS 12 V mini power box

KIMISS 12 V mini power box

View offer
Best value
Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure

Mollom 4-way DIN enclosure

A 4-way wall shell at about £21.59 with 4.6 from 490 reviews, the largest sample in the set. The carton has no breakers and no sockets.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Portable distributionUK plugs and RCDsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to portable power distribution boxes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources are listed below. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for this comparison.

  1. HSE: Electrical systems on construction sites (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE: Powered equipment (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE: HSG141 Electrical safety on construction sites (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. IET Wiring Matters, March 2024: event distribution boards (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. BSI: BS EN 61439-4:2013 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. BSI: BS 7909:2023+A1:2024 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Voltimum / NICEIC: environmental factors on construction sites (retrieved 21 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings in this set. We did not lab-test these boxes.