A 110 V outlet you already have
You already have a 110 V, 16 A outlet and you want about 16 m of pull with IP44 stated on the listing. The Brennenstuhl 16+2 m reel is about £99.99. It will not fit a BS 1363 house socket.
The best automatic cable reels, compared.
Top pick: Brennenstuhl 110 V IP44 reel, 16+2 m – Highest score in this set for a stated 110 V, 16 A plug, IP44, H07RN-F and 16+2 m, at about £99.99 with 4.9 from 15 reviews. Best value: Brennenstuhl 9+2 m automatic reel – Lowest price in this set for a stated BS 1363, 13 A plug, at about £57.62, with 4.0 from 120 reviews, the widest sample here. Updated 22.10.2026.
An automatic cable reel is a wall- or ceiling-mounted case that pays out a lead and springs it back on a ratchet. You use one from a 230 V BS 1363 socket in a garage or workshop, or you choose a 110 V reel only when the outlet is already a centre-tapped site supply. A handle-wound drum is a different product and is not compared here. Judge the plug first, then how far the lead reaches after the tail, then IP20 against a stated IP44, then the load while any lead is still inside the case. The scores use listing facts and review notes. They are not a load, rewind or IP test. The order of those checks is in the [automatic cable reel buying guide](/hub/electrical-equipment/automatic-cable-reel/sub/automatic-cable-reel-buying-guide). Reviews in these files describe a spring, not a motor, even where a title says electrical rewind. A slipping ratchet can whip the plug back, which UK reviews report on the short 230 V.
An automatic cable reel is a wall- or ceiling-mounted case that pays out a lead and springs it back on a ratchet.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 7Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What outlet are you plugging into?
This Brennenstuhl is a 110 V, 16 A reel with 16+2 m of H07RN-F 3G1.5, IP44 and a safety cut-out, listed at £99.99. It scores 4.9 from 15 reviews, and only two of the three review blocks in the file are from the UK. Those UK buyers said it was the reel they wanted and that the quality was good once the bracket came off on the two pivot screws. They also said the fitting instructions are poor if you leave the bracket attached. A German review mentions solid 110 V plugs and a working rewind, which is not UK opinion. The 1 kg attribute is discarded, because an 18 m rubber lead is not that light. Dimensions stay 36 x 15 x 29 cm. It will not plug into a house socket. It is the top pick in this set when you already have a 110 V outlet and you want the longer splash-rated lead.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A 110 V outlet where you need about 16 m of pull and a stated IP44 rating.
Less suitable: A domestic garage on a 13 A socket, or a job that needs a deep UK review sample.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this run from a house socket?
No. The listing states 110 V / 16 A and IP44, with an H07RN-F lead.
What length is printed?
16+2 m, also written as 18 m.
Can the 1 kg weight be used?
The attributes say 1 kg. That is not plausible beside an 18 m rubber lead, so weight is not used. Dimensions stay 36 x 15 x 29 cm.
The Draper 15052 is a blue 20 m retractable reel at £104.53, the longest lead and the highest price in this set. The star line is 4.8 from nine reviews, with two UK texts in the file. One buyer fitted it on a wall beside a bench because a ceiling drop was not wanted, and the lead pulled out and came back. The same file calls the 13 A socket tight and the price high. Amazon’s attribute block does not state voltage, plug standard or a cable code, even though Draper’s own page titles this model as 230 V. A 20 g listing weight is discarded. Dimensions are 31.2 x 16.8 x 35.8 cm. Bullets name a thermal cut-out and a bracket that swivels through 180°, and mounting is wall rather than wall or ceiling. Consider it when 20 m matters and you have checked the carton for a BS 1363 plug. A 4.8 from nine reviews is not a test.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A wall beside a bench when you need about 20 m and you have confirmed a 13 A plug on the carton.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs voltage, a cable code and an IP rating printed on the amazon page, or a ceiling mount.
Specifications
Common questions
What length and protection are in the listing?
The title says 20 m. Bullets state a thermal cut-out and a bracket that swivels through 180°.
Does the amazon attribute block state 230 V?
No. Supply, plug standard and cable code are not in this capture. A review mentions a 13 A socket.
Is the 20 g weight usable?
No. Item weight is not used. Dimensions in the attributes are 31.2 x 16.8 x 35.8 cm.
EnergyPro’s 10 m reel is listed at £60.99 with a UK BS 1363 plug, 230 V and up to 2300 W when fully unwound. The star line is 4.7 from 15 reviews, but the UK review bodies match the 15 m EnergyPro file and one of them names a 16.5 m reel, so they do not prove this length. Those shared texts praise a heavy metal bracket, an adjustable stopper and a 1400 W vacuum, and they say plasterboard alone may not hold the case. There is no cable code and no IP rating, while the title still mentions garden use. A listed weight of 45.4 g and a 10 cm cube are discarded as implausible, and included components say NO even though bullets claim a mounting kit. Treat 2300 W as a fully unwound claim only. No coiled wattage is printed, so a half-out lead has no number you can quote.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A 13 A socket where you want about 10 m and you accept a shared, thin review file.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated cable code, an IP rating, or reviews that belong only to this length.
Specifications
Common questions
What plug and load does the listing state?
The title states a UK BS 1363 plug, 230 V, and up to 2300 W when fully unwound. It does not state a coiled wattage or a cable code.
Can the listing dimensions be used?
No. The attribute block says 45.4 g and 10 x 10 x 10 cm. Those figures are not plausible for a 10 m reel and are not used.
Do the reviews belong only to this 10 m model?
The saved listing’s UK review text matches the 15 m EnergyPro file, and one review names a 16.5 m reel.
EnergyPro’s 15 m listing is the orange case at £89.99, again with a BS 1363 plug, 230 V and 2300 W fully unwound, and the same 4.7 from 15 reviews. The UK review text is identical to the 10 m file, including a mention of 16.5 m, so those comments are not a separate test of this length. The shared notes describe a cord stopper that leaves a socket hanging and cable that will not roll fully tight. No sheath code and no IP rating appear, so a garden bullet is not a weather rating. The 45.4 g weight and 10 cm dimensions are discarded, and included components say NO. You pay £29 more than the 10 m title for a longer name, not for a second review sample. It is a candidate when you need around 15 m on a 13 A socket and you accept that the evidence is shared.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A longer 13 A run of about 15 m when you can live with the same review text as the 10 m listing.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants a cable code, a stated IP rating, or proof that the reviews are for this length.
Specifications
Common questions
How does this differ from the 10 m EnergyPro listing in the saved listing?
The title says 15 metres and the colour attribute is orange. Price is £89.99. The UK review text matches the 10 m file.
What load is stated?
Up to 2300 W when fully unwound, at 230 V, with a BS 1363 plug. No coiled figure and no cable code.
Is an IP rating stated?
No. Bullets mention garden, shed and eaves use without an IP code.
The Brennenstuhl 16+2 m reel is a BS 1363, 13 A unit with H07RN-F 3G1.5, a safety cut-out and a listed weight of 6 kg, at £98.44. Across 42 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.2, from nine review blocks in the saved listing. Buyers describe a sturdy ceiling mount and a heavy workshop reel, and one praised the ratchet plus a replacement after transit damage. Others call it heavy, noisy and fiddly to fit alone, with no hook to park the socket. One UK review says the booklet claimed IP44 outdoor use while the product label said IP20, so the comparison leaves ingress protection unstated. The manufacturer page for this model marks IP20 and 1000 W coiled against 3120 W uncoiled. Those watts are not in the amazon capture. For a longer dry bay on a normal UK socket it is the most complete 230 V reel here, if you can lift 6 kg and you trust the label rather than the booklet.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A longer dry workshop on a 13 A socket, where you want a stated rubber lead and about 16 m of pull.
Less suitable: A wet wall, a plasterboard-only fixing, or a 110 V site outlet.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a 13 A UK reel?
Yes in the listing: BS 1363 / 13 A, and the included-components line says 240 V, 16+2 m.
Does the saved listing state IP44?
No. A UK review says the booklet claimed IP44 and the label on that unit said IP20. Ingress protection in the attributes is not stated.
How heavy is the listing figure?
6 kg. Dimensions are 36 x 15 x 29 cm.
The Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel puts a BS 1363, 13 A lead on a wall or ceiling bracket, with 9 m you pull and a 2 m tail back to the socket, listed at £57.62. Across 120 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set, the line is 4.0, and 30 review blocks were in the saved listing. Workshop buyers say an overhead fit takes a lead off the floor, and some find the mounting plate straightforward once the screws are located. The title says electrical rewind, but UK reviews describe a spring, and a slipping ratchet can whip the plug back. Several buyers received the plug and socket the wrong way round, and the last metres often need feeding in by hand. The cable is H05VV-F 3G1.5. The listing does not state an IP rating, and the manufacturer page marks this class IP20 for indoors. It is the best value here for a short dry workshop on a normal UK socket, if you guide the rewind and return a reversed unit.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short, dry garage or workshop on a normal 13 A socket, where about 9 m of pull is enough.
Less suitable: A long bay, a wet or outdoor wall, or anyone who needs a 110 V plug.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this plug into a normal UK socket?
The listing states BS 1363 / 13 A, and the included-components line says 240 V. It does not state an IP rating.
How long is the lead you can pull?
The listing says 9+2 m of H05VV-F 3G1.5, so 9 m is the retractable length and 2 m is the extra length in that wording.
Does the listing show a motor rewind?
Operation mode is Automatic and the title says electrical rewind. UK reviews in the saved listing describe a spring and ratchet, and some report the ratchet letting go.
This Brennenstuhl is a yellow 110 V, 16 A reel with 9+2 m of H07RN-F 3G1.5, IP44 and a safety cut-out, listed at £70.52. The star line is 3.9 from only seven reviews, and the saved listing holds two review texts, so the sample is thin. One UK buyer called the quality good. The other said the 110 V plugs were fitted the wrong way round. It will not go into a BS 1363 garage socket, and an adaptor is the wrong fix. The case is listed at 4.88 kg, with a bracket that slews up to 180°. IP44 means splash, not a hose or rain, even where the bullets pair the rubber lead with outdoor wording. Take it only when the outlet is already 110 V and about 9 m of pull is enough.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short pull from a 110 V, 16 A outlet you already have, where splash resistance is stated.
Less suitable: A house or garage on BS 1363, or a bay that needs more than about 9 m of pull.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this plug into a UK 13 A wall socket?
No. The listing states 110 V / 16 A, not BS 1363.
Is it described as splash resistant?
The title and bullets state IP44 and an oil-resistant H07RN-F lead.
How long is the cable?
The listing says 9+2 m, also written as 11 m total, of H07RN-F 3G1.5.
Seven automatic cable reels on amazon.co.uk were scored from the listings captured on 19 October 2026 and from the UK review notes in those files. No load, rewind or IP test was run. The score starts at the amazon.co.uk star average times 15, then adds up to 12 points for the review count and further points when the listing states a plug, a cable code, an IP rating and a plausible weight. Points come off for a repeated whip-back, for review text shared across two listings, or for a missing supply voltage.
Amazon star average
55%The score starts from the amazon.co.uk star average times 15. A 4.9 line starts higher than a 4.0 line. The stars are not copied across as a percentage, and the published score is that start after the later additions and deductions.
Review-count band
12%Up to 12 points reflect how many amazon.co.uk reviews sit behind the star line. A line from 120 reviews is a wider sample than a line from seven, nine or 15 reviews.
Stated plug, cable, IP and weight
18%Further points apply when the listing states a plug, a cable code, an IP rating and a plausible weight. A missing supply voltage does not earn those points. Implausible weights, such as 45.4 g or 20 g, are not treated as stated.
Repeated listing faults
15%Points come off for a repeated whip-back in the reviews, for review text shared across two listings, or for a supply voltage the amazon capture does not state. A brand name does not add points.
Start with the plug, then the reach after the tail, then IP20 against a stated IP44, then the load while any lead is still in the case. Price comes after those four. The notes below follow that order for seven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. None of the scores is a load, rewind or IP test.
An automatic cable reel is a closed case you fix to a wall or a ceiling. You pull a lead out, and a spring returns it on a ratchet. Reviews in these files describe a spring, not a motor, even where a title says electrical rewind. A slipping ratchet can whip the plug back, which UK reviews report on the short 230 V Brennenstuhl. A handle-wound drum is a different product. The seven rows here are retractable reels only, at shelf prices captured on 19 October 2026. Supply comes first.

Brennenstuhl’s 9+2 m and 16+2 m split the pull from the tail back to the wall. Measure the room with that tail included. EnergyPro prints 10 m or 15 m with no split, and Draper prints 20 m.
A 110 V, 16 A reel will not fit a BS 1363 socket. An adaptor is the wrong fix. Buy 110 V only when that outlet is already there. HSE points site work toward cordless tools or 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth. That is not a duty on every job.
H07RN-F is a rubber sheath. It does not set the IP of the case. IP44 is splash, not rain or a hose. A garden bullet without an IP code is not a weather rating. A 45.4 g, 20 g or 1 kg listing weight is not a usable figure for these reels.
A house socket needs BS 1363 at nominally 230 V. In this set the Brennenstuhl 9+2 m and 16+2 m 240 V reels state BS 1363 and 13 A. Both EnergyPro titles state a BS 1363 plug at 230 V. The Draper amazon capture does not state voltage or a plug, so a 20 m title is not enough on its own. The two 110 V Brennenstuhl reels state 110 V and 16 A. They fit a 110 V outlet only. Do not join a 110 V reel to a 13 A socket with an adaptor.
Plan the pull, not only the number on the title. 9+2 m and 16+2 m include a 2 m tail. EnergyPro’s 10 m and 15 m titles, and Draper’s 20 m, do not show that split. IP20, which the manufacturer pages give the 230 V Brennenstuhl models, is dry indoors. IP44, stated only on the two 110 V Brennenstuhl reels, is splash. EnergyPro and Draper print no IP code. H05VV-F is the PVC lead on the short 230 V Brennenstuhl. H07RN-F is the rubber lead on the other three Brennenstuhl reels.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already have a 110 V, 16 A outlet and you want about 16 m of pull with IP44 stated on the listing. The Brennenstuhl 16+2 m reel is about £99.99. It will not fit a BS 1363 house socket.
You have a normal UK socket and about 9 m of pull is enough in a dry garage. The Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel is about £57.62, with 4.0 from 120 reviews. Guide the rewind, and return a unit whose plug is reversed.
You want about 16 m of H07RN-F on a BS 1363 socket and you can lift a reel listed at 6 kg. The Brennenstuhl 16+2 m 240 V reel is about £98.44. Trust the product label on IP, not a booklet that disagrees with it.
In this set of seven amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Brennenstuhl 110 V IP44 reel with 16+2 m, about £99.99, with 4.9 from 15 reviews, when the outlet is already 110 V. The best value is the Brennenstuhl 9+2 m reel at about £57.62, with 4.0 from 120 reviews, for a short dry workshop on a BS 1363 socket. The 16+2 m 240 V Brennenstuhl is the fuller 230 V reel if you can lift the listed 6 kg. None of these scores is a load, rewind or IP test.

Brennenstuhl 110 V IP44 reel, 16+2 m
Highest score in this set for a stated 110 V, 16 A plug, IP44, H07RN-F and 16+2 m, at about £99.99 with 4.9 from 15 reviews.

Brennenstuhl 9+2 m automatic reel
Lowest price in this set for a stated BS 1363, 13 A plug, at about £57.62, with 4.0 from 120 reviews, the widest sample here.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured on 19 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 19 October 2026. We did not lab-test these automatic cable reels.