Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

One-handed clamp comparison 2026

The best one-handed clamps, compared.

Top pick: Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp Best value: WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack – Ties the pink pair on 94 points and takes the value mark at the lower shelf price, about £12.99, with a 150 mm jaw and a 285 mm spreader stated. The review file is shared. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A one-handed clamp closes with one hand while the other holds the work. UK buyers use one for a shelf, a fence or a glue-up. The usual form is a trigger bar that ratchets along a steel bar and can reverse into a spreader. A screw clamp or a sash cramp is the next step when the trigger stops adding pressure. You recognise a suitable clamp by the jaw opening, the throat depth and a force figure kept in one unit. Common openings are about 150 mm and about 300 mm, with throats about 60 mm. Measure the stack, including any caul. A shallow throat will not reach the middle of a wide board, and a longer bar does not deepen the throat. Kilograms are a maker claim, not a laboratory test. Soft pads can fall off, and a steel bar left in a damp shed can rust. One clamp is rarely enough for a glue-up. When a trigger is enough, and when you still need a screw clamp, is covered in the [one-handed clamp versus a screw clamp](/hub/hand-tools/one-handed-clamp/sub/one-handed-clamp-vs-screw-clamp).

A one-handed clamp closes with one hand while the other holds the work. UK buyers use one for a shelf, a fence or a glue-up.

Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp

Best overall

Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp
7.7/10∼ £43

42 products checked · 67 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

12 of 12: Best one-handed clamps compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp
IRWIN Quick-Grip mini 300 mm, twin pack
Jorgensen 150 mm bar clamp, 4-pack
WORKPRO 150 mm pink bar clamp, 2-pack
Best value
WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack
WORKPRO 305 mm bar clamp, 2-pack
DEKO bar clamp set, 6-piece
Roughneck Turboclamp 150 mm
ZOFUN 10 inch bar clamp, 4-pack
Hultafors ratchet clamp
SIIIXS 6 inch bar clamp, 4-pack
DBAILY one-handed clamp, 2-pack
7.7/10
9.4/10
9.7/10
9.6/10
9.6/10
9.4/10
7.7/10
7.8/10
6.4/10
5.9/10
7.6/10
2.6/10
∼ £43
∼ £15
∼ £30
∼ £14
∼ £13
∼ £17
∼ £26
∼ £11
∼ £21
∼ £10
∼ £18
∼ £17
4.9(65)
4.7(5,967)
4.7(4,470)
4.6(8,918)
4.6(8,917)
4.6(8,917)
4.6(25)
4.5(269)
4.3(17)
4.1(75)
4.0(190)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best one-handed clamps in detail

Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp

Rank 1

Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp

∼£43

Our view

The Presch single is the outlier at £42.99: a 300 mm opening, a 90 mm throat, a 300 kg claim, and a spreading function for door frames with no millimetre range printed. The star line is 4.9 from 65 reviews, and only three UK-headed texts sit in the file, all short praise for a solid build, quick application, and strength that matches the listing's words. There is no criticism in those three texts, which is not the same as a large UK sample. Glass-fibre housing, a carbon-steel rail and TPU jaws are named on the listing, and the bestseller line sits in fixturing clamps rather than the bar-clamp chart used by the other rows. The 300 kg figure is a claim, not a side-by-side test against the 63–68 kg triggers. Pay the premium when you want the deeper throat and the high printed force on one 300 mm clamp. Skip it if you need a stated spreader travel or a review count in the thousands.

Pros

  • 300 mm opening and a 90 mm throat, the deepest throat stated here
  • 300 kg clamping claim, far above the 63–68 kg bars
  • Spreading function named for door frames
  • 4.9 from 65 reviews, with three short positive UK texts

Cons

  • £42.99 for a single clamp
  • No spreader distance in millimetres
  • Only three UK texts under a count of 65, and none of them criticise it
  • 300 kg is a listing claim, not a measured comparison

Best for: You want one 300 mm clamp with a 90 mm throat and you accept a high printed force with a small UK sample.

Less suitable: You need a stated spreader range, several clamps for the price, or a review count in the thousands.

Specifications

Model
Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp
Brand
Presch
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.9/5(65)
Jaw opening
300 mm
Throat depth
90 mm
Stated force
300 kg
Spreader
No mm range
Pieces
1
Pads
TPU jaws

Common questions

How much force does Presch claim?

The title and the bullets say 300 kg. That figure is the listing claim. The file has no measurement.

How deep is the throat?

The bullet says 90 mm.

What is the spreader opening?

The listing says the clamp converts for spreading, including door frames. It does not give a millimetre range.

IRWIN Quick-Grip mini 300 mm, twin pack

Rank 2

IRWIN Quick-Grip mini 300 mm, twin pack

∼£15

Our view

The IRWIN Quick-Grip T54122EL7 is a light-duty twin pack of 300 mm trigger clamps at £14.90, with 63 kg stated as a sustained force, a 62 mm throat, and no spreader in the bullets. It scores 4.7 from 5,967 reviews, and the UK-headed texts belong to this model rather than a copied WORKPRO block. Reviewers use the one-handed action for small repairs, and a detailed note says a clamp held mixed thicknesses while the other hand drove screws. The same sample includes one clamp that slipped when tightened, plastic grips described as small and liable to break if you over-press them, and a plain warning that this is not for a massive oak beam. The style line says Single while the box holds two, and the printed item weight of 50 g is not a credible mass for the pair. You are looking at a known light-duty mini with a longer bar and no stated way to push. Leave it if the job is spreading a frame or closing a heavy joint.

Pros

  • 300 mm opening in a twin pack at £14.90
  • 63 kg and a 62 mm throat are both stated
  • 4.7 from 5,967 reviews, with UK texts on this model
  • One-handed hold while screwing, in a detailed UK review

Cons

  • No spreader is stated
  • One of a pair can slip, and the plastic grips can break if over-pressed
  • Not for a heavy oak beam, in a UK review
  • Style says Single and the item weight prints 50 g

Best for: You want a familiar light-duty 300 mm pair for small repairs and do not need to spread.

Less suitable: You need a stated spreader, or you are closing a large or bowed joint.

Specifications

Model
IRWIN Quick-Grip mini 300 mm, twin pack
Brand
IRWIN
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.7/5(5,967)
Jaw opening
150–300 mm
Throat depth
62 mm
Stated force
63 kg
Pieces
2
Pads
Soft pads

Common questions

What clamping force is stated?

The bullet says up to 63 kg (140 lb) of sustained force, with a 62 mm throat.

Does this twin pack convert to a spreader?

The listing does not state a spreader range or a jaw-reversal step.

How many clamps are included?

Number of items, number of packs, and the included-components line describe a twin pack of 300 mm mini one-handed bar clamps. The style line says Single.

Jorgensen 150 mm bar clamp, 4-pack

Rank 3

Jorgensen 150 mm bar clamp, 4-pack

∼£30

Our view

The Jorgensen 99216A four-pack is four 150 mm one-handed bars at £29.99, and the listing says two of them join to a claimed 400 mm while one bar converts to a 290 mm spreader. Across 4,470 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.7, and the sampled UK texts describe using the clamps singly, joined while gluing wood, and as push clamps, with soft covers on delicate faces. One reviewer called the build sturdier than Irwin clamps they already owned, after cheaper clamps that came off the work. Reach is the recurring limit: people wanted a 300 mm four-pack rather than the join, and the listing does not say a joined pair keeps the 68 kg claim or the 62 mm throat. The manufacturer line says Greatstar, the number-of-items line says 1 against a unit count of 4, and the item weight of 1.46 kg sits next to a bullet of 290 g times four. Those clashes are listing noise, not a reason to invent a lab result. On this table the row leads because of the star line, the sample, a full spec, and a low price per piece.

Pros

  • Four 150 mm bars the listing says will join to a claimed 400 mm
  • 290 mm spreader and a quick-release button are both stated
  • 4.7 from 4,470 amazon.co.uk reviews, with UK notes on joined glue-ups
  • Soft rubber pads mentioned for delicate faces
  • About £7.50 a clamp at the £29.99 shelf price

Cons

  • Opening past 150 mm depends on joining two short bars
  • The joined pair is not stated to keep the 68 kg claim
  • Item count says 1 while the set name says four
  • Printed weight is 1.46 kg and also 290 g times four

Best for: You want four light 150 mm bars that the listing says will join and spread, for shelves and small glue-ups.

Less suitable: You need one bar that already opens to 300 mm, or a screw clamp to close a bowed joint.

Specifications

Model
Jorgensen 150 mm bar clamp, 4-pack
Brand
Jorgensen
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.7/5(4,470)
Jaw opening
150 mm, join 400 mm
Throat depth
62 mm
Stated force
68 kg
Spreader
290 mm
Pieces
4
Pads
Soft rubber

Common questions

Can two clamps be joined?

The listing says two 150 mm clamps join to make a 400 mm clamp. It does not say the joined pair keeps the same 68 kg.

Does it work as a spreader?

Yes. The listing states a 290 mm spreader and a quick-release button that lets the fixed jaw move to the other end of the bar.

How many are in the box?

The set name and unit count say four 150 mm clamps. The number-of-items line says 1.

WORKPRO 150 mm pink bar clamp, 2-pack

Rank 4

WORKPRO 150 mm pink bar clamp, 2-pack

∼£14

Our view

The pink WORKPRO pair copies the 150 mm opening, 68 kg claim, 285 mm spreader and 60 mm throat of the other short WORKPRO set, at £13.99. Stars are 4.6 from 8,918 reviews, one higher than the neighbouring WORKPRO lines, and the sampled texts are that shared block rather than notes about the pink pads. Reviewers describe easy one-handed use, jaws that leave the wood unmarked, and a second pair bought because they felt more versatile than G-clamps. Pads still detach, replacements are hard to find, and damp storage is tied to rust, including near the coast. One reviewer called the clamps a little over-priced, which is a fair caution when this twin is only £1 above the best value row and the reviews are not colour-specific. The listing's conversion is a pink button that takes the jaw off so it can be reversed, not the wingnut described on the 305 mm WORKPRO. Choose the pink pads if that is what you want on the bench, and skip the extra pound if you only need the same stated spec.

Pros

  • Same stated 150 mm, 68 kg, 285 mm spreader and 60 mm throat as the £12.99 pair
  • Pink button is described for reversing the jaw
  • Removable pads the listing says are non-slip
  • 4.6 from 8,918 reviews on this listing line

Cons

  • £1 more than the blue-red pair with the same shared review block
  • Pads come loose and are easy to lose
  • Rust if stored damp, in the shared texts
  • One reviewer called them a little over-priced

Best for: You want the pink jaw pads and the same light 150 mm spec as the cheaper WORKPRO pair.

Less suitable: You are choosing on review evidence that is specific to this colour, or you want the lower shelf price.

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 150 mm pink bar clamp, 2-pack
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.6/5(8,918)
Jaw opening
150 mm
Throat depth
60 mm
Stated force
68 kg
Spreader
285 mm
Pieces
2
Pads
Pink pads

Common questions

How wide does it open?

The listing says 150 mm as a clamp and 285 mm as a spreader, with a 60 mm throat from the bar to the pad.

What is it made of?

The material line says carbon steel and nylon. The bullets say a carbon steel bar and a reinforced nylon head and handle.

Does the pink set include a case?

No case is listed. The bullets describe two clamps.

WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

Rank 5

WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

∼£13

Our view

Two WORKPRO W001412A bars open to 150 mm for £12.99, with a stated 285 mm spreader, a 60 mm throat, and a bullet that claims 68 kg. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from 8,917 reviews, but the opening texts match the pink pair and the 305 mm set, so that count is not a separate panel for this colourway. UK comments praise a quicker ratchet than a screw clamp, soft jaws that do not mark wood, and a rigid metal shaft. The same block says the jaw pads come loose and are hard to replace, and that the bar rusts in a damp unheated shed, especially near the coast. The highlight prints 68 kg beside 50 lb, which contradicts the bullet's 68 kg (150 lb), so neither conversion is a measured force. No storage case is stated. At about £6.50 a clamp this is the best value when a light 150 mm pair is enough, and it is the wrong pair if you need one bar that already opens to 300 mm.

Pros

  • £12.99 for two 150 mm bars, about £6.50 each
  • 285 mm spreader and 60 mm throat are both stated
  • UK comments describe a secure grip and soft jaws on wood
  • Quicker ratchet action than a screw clamp, in those reviews

Cons

  • Highlight says 68 kg (50 lb) while the bullet says 68 kg (150 lb)
  • Jaw pads come loose and replacements are hard to find
  • Bars rust if left in a damp shed, especially near the coast
  • The 8,917 reviews are shared with two other WORKPRO listings

Best for: You want a cheap pair of light 150 mm bars with a stated spreader and can live with the shared review file.

Less suitable: You need a single opening around 300 mm, or reviews that only describe this 150 mm colourway.

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.6/5(8,917)
Jaw opening
150 mm
Throat depth
60 mm
Stated force
68 kg
Spreader
285 mm
Pieces
2
Pads
Soft pads

Common questions

What force does the listing claim?

The bullet says up to 68 kg (150 lb). The highlight on the same listing writes 68 kg (50 lb). Those two figures do not match.

Can it spread as well as clamp?

Yes. Spreader capacity is stated as 285 mm, and a red button switches between clamping and spreading.

Is a case included?

The listing asks about a storage case and does not say one is included.

WORKPRO 305 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

Rank 6

WORKPRO 305 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

∼£17

Our view

The WORKPRO 305 mm pair is the longer of the three WORKPRO rows, at £16.99, with a stated 305 mm opening, a 440 mm spreader, a 60 mm throat and a 68 kg claim. The star line is again 4.6 from 8,917, and the opening reviews match the 150 mm files, with one text that names this 305 mm set and the 440 mm spreader. That named review calls the longer bars solid and quicker than a screw clamp for DIY. Shared complaints still sit in the file: pads fall off, replacements are hard to find, and a damp shed rusts the steel, especially near the coast. Conversion on this listing is a wingnut you loosen so the fixed jaw can move to the other end, which is a different step from the button on the 150 mm packs. About £8.50 a clamp buys the extra opening, though part of the review pile describes the shorter bars. Take it when 150 mm will not span the work. Leave it if you need a force claim above this light band, or a review file that only covers 305 mm.

Pros

  • 305 mm opening and a stated 440 mm spreader
  • 60 mm throat and a 68 kg claim on the listing
  • One UK review names this length and calls it quicker than a screw clamp
  • About £8.50 a clamp at £16.99

Cons

  • Most of the 8,917 reviews are the shared WORKPRO block, not this length
  • Jaw conversion is a wingnut, not the button on the 150 mm packs
  • Pads come loose and the bar can rust in a damp shed
  • Still a 68 kg light-bar claim

Best for: You need about 300 mm of opening and a stated spreader, and you accept the shared WORKPRO reviews.

Less suitable: You want reviews that only cover 305 mm, or a higher force class than this 68 kg claim.

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 305 mm bar clamp, 2-pack
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(8,917)
Jaw opening
305 mm
Throat depth
60 mm
Stated force
68 kg
Spreader
440 mm
Pieces
2
Pads
Soft pads

Common questions

How far does the 305 mm clamp spread?

The listing says 305 mm as a clamp and 440 mm as a spreader, with a 60 mm throat.

How does the jaw reverse?

This listing says loosen a wingnut and move the fixed jaw to the opposite end of the bar. It does not use the button wording from the 150 mm packs.

What force is claimed?

68 kg, with a tensile-strength line of 150 pounds.

DEKO bar clamp set, 6-piece

Rank 7

DEKO bar clamp set, 6-piece

∼£26

Our view

The DEKO six-piece set, manufacturer line DEKOPRO, packs four 6 inch clamps and two 12 inch clamps at £25.99, with a claim of up to 130 lb and spreader distances printed as inch fractions. It scores 4.6 from 25 reviews, and only two UK texts are in the file. Those notes say the mix is a lot of clamp for the money, that the pads helped while glue set on a shelving unit, and that one hand could hold the work. The same reviewer found the release button less polished than a trigger on dearer clamps, and the body larger than the photos, and called that minor at this price. No broken bar or failed lock appears in the two texts, which is a thin base under a count of 25, and the unit-count line says 1.0 while the title says six pieces. There is no kilogram figure to compare with the 68 kg rows, only 130 lb. It is a practical mixed-length set if you accept a small review file, and a weak first buy if you want a force claim in kilograms.

Pros

  • Four 6 inch and two 12 inch clamps in one £25.99 box
  • Spreader ranges are printed for both lengths
  • Two UK reviews describe a shelving glue-up and pads that limit marks
  • Removable, replaceable pads are stated

Cons

  • Only 25 reviews, and two UK texts in the file
  • Release button felt less polished than a dearer trigger
  • Force is 130 lb, not a kilogram figure
  • Title says DEKO while the brand line says DEKOPRO, and the unit count says 1

Best for: You want both short and 12 inch one-handed bars in one box for light DIY, including a shelving glue-up.

Less suitable: You want a large UK sample or a force claim you can compare in kilograms.

Specifications

Model
DEKO bar clamp set, 6-piece
Brand
DEKO
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.6/5(25)
Jaw opening
4×6 in, 2×12 in
Stated force
130 lb
Spreader
11 9/64–17 21/64 in
Pieces
6
Pads
Soft pads

Common questions

What is in the set?

Four 6 inch clamps and two 12 inch clamps. The unit-count line says 1.0.

How far do they spread?

The 6 inch clamps spread up to 11 and 9/64 inches. The 12 inch clamps spread up to 17 and 21/64 inches.

What force is claimed?

Up to 130 lb. A throat depth is not stated, and the listing does not give a kilogram figure.

Roughneck Turboclamp 150 mm

Rank 8

Roughneck Turboclamp 150 mm

∼£11

Our view

The Roughneck ROU38010 is one 150 mm speed clamp at £11.14, with a plastic foot and an instant release, and the amazon.co.uk listing states neither a kilogram force nor a spreader. It scores 4.5 from 269 reviews. UK texts say the one-handed action helps when you work alone, that this 6 inch length held while someone was sawing, and that it felt more robust than 4 inch clamps they already owned, with a thicker central rod and a welded handle joint. A large sticky brand label on the shaft is called a nuisance, and broken plastic pads are the failure those reviewers were replacing on other clamps of this type. The 75 mm item-diameter line is not a throat, and the maker's 600 Nm figure is absent from this amazon file, so it is not a number you can set beside 68 kg. One clamp is an awkward buy for a glue-up that needs a pair. It is a light solo hold at 150 mm when you do not need to spread.

Pros

  • £11.14 for a single 150 mm one-handed speed clamp
  • 4.5 from 269 reviews in the sample
  • Held while sawing, in one UK review
  • 6 inch version described as sturdier than shorter Roughneck clamps the reviewer owned

Cons

  • No kilogram force and no spreader on the amazon listing
  • Throat depth is not stated; 75 mm is an item-diameter line
  • Sticky brand label on the shaft
  • Only one clamp, and plastic pads are the usual failure on this type

Best for: You want one light 150 mm pump clamp for solo holding and you do not need a spreader.

Less suitable: You need a pair, a stated force in kilograms, or a jaw that reverses.

Specifications

Model
Roughneck Turboclamp 150 mm
Brand
Roughneck
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.5/5(269)
Jaw opening
150 mm
Pieces
1
Pads
Plastic foot

Common questions

How wide does it grip?

The bullets say a gripping capacity of 150 mm (6 inches).

What clamping force is on the amazon listing?

None in kilograms. The tensile-strength line says 425 pounds per square inch, which is not a kilogram clamping force.

Does it include a case or a second clamp?

Included components list one clamp. A case is not stated.

ZOFUN 10 inch bar clamp, 4-pack

Rank 9

ZOFUN 10 inch bar clamp, 4-pack

∼£21

Our view

The ZOFUN four-pack, brand line ZOFORTY, is four 10 inch one-handed bars at £20.99, and the amazon listing does not state a kilogram force, a throat, or a spreader. It scores 4.3 from 17 reviews, with five UK texts in the file, all short and positive. One reviewer held decking joists during sistering repairs with one hand, and others mention padding on the faces, easy release, and a couple of months of regular use without a named defect. That is a friendly sample, and it is also a small one, so the absence of a complaint is not a durability test. Material is listed as plastic, while the bullets name nylon, high-carbon steel and PE. You cannot check a force claim against the 68 kg rows because none is printed. It can be a spare set of longer bars if you already accept a 17-review line, and it is a poor first clamp if you need a stated spreader or a force figure you can compare.

Pros

  • Four 10 inch bars at £20.99
  • Five short UK texts are positive, including a decking-joist repair
  • Padding on the faces is mentioned in a UK review
  • Push-button release with a handle that rebounds for one-handed use

Cons

  • No force, throat or spreader on the amazon listing
  • Only 17 reviews, and five texts in the file
  • Brand line says ZOFORTY while the title says ZOFUN
  • Material row says plastic, which is thinner than the bullet's steel claim

Best for: You want four longer bars for light holding, such as decking joists, and you accept a very small review file.

Less suitable: You need a stated spreader, a kilogram force, or more than 17 reviews before you buy.

Specifications

Model
ZOFUN 10 inch bar clamp, 4-pack
Brand
ZOFUN
Price
∼£21
Customer rating
4.3/5(17)
Jaw opening
10 in
Pieces
4

Common questions

What opening do they have?

The bullet says an opening width of 10 inches and a total length of 16.7 inches.

Is a clamping force stated?

No kilogram or pound force is stated. There is no spreader range either.

Are they one-handed?

The bullet says the handle rebounds so the clamp can be used with one hand, with a push-button quick release.

Hultafors ratchet clamp

Rank 10

Hultafors ratchet clamp

∼£10

Our view

The Hultafors listing is a small nylon ratchet clamp at £9.95, not a 150 mm bar, and the size strings do not agree: the title says 38 mm, the bullet and item type say RC 58 mm, the diameter line says 5.8 cm, and the set name says RC 60 inches. It scores 4.1 from 75 reviews, with only three UK-headed texts in the file. One calls it tiny and useful for a dolls' house. Another says there is no real grip and to save your money, and the short texts treat it as too small for general work. There is no spreader, no kilogram clamping force, and the 3,000 psi tensile line is not a force you can set beside 68 kg. Swivel plastic plates and a fibreglass-reinforced nylon body are what the bullet describes, with no long bar and no quick-release travel along one. Part numbers also disagree, 525383 in the title and 525583 on the model line. Use it only for a very small hold where a bar clamp would be oversized.

Pros

  • £9.95 if you truly need a very small one-handed ratchet
  • One UK review found it useful for a dolls' house
  • Swivel pressure plates are stated
  • Fibreglass-reinforced nylon body in the bullet

Cons

  • Size text conflicts: 38 mm, 58 mm, 5.8 cm and a 60 inch set name
  • UK reviews say it is too small and one says there is no real grip
  • No spreader and no kilogram clamping force
  • Only three UK texts under 75 reviews, and the part numbers disagree

Best for: You are clamping something tiny, such as a dolls' house joint, and a bar clamp is too large.

Less suitable: You want a 150 mm or 300 mm bar clamp for shelves, glue-ups or spreading.

Specifications

Model
Hultafors ratchet clamp
Brand
Hultafors
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.1/5(75)
Jaw opening
38 or 58 mm
Pieces
1
Pads
Swivel plates

Common questions

What size is this clamp?

The title says 38 mm and part 525383. The bullet, item type and model line say RC 58 mm and 525583. The set name says RC 60 inches. The file does not pick one.

Is a clamping force stated?

Not in kilograms. The tensile-strength line says 3,000 pounds per square inch.

Does it convert to a spreader?

No spreader is described. The bullet describes swivel pressure plates and a fibreglass-reinforced nylon body.

SIIIXS 6 inch bar clamp, 4-pack

Rank 11

SIIIXS 6 inch bar clamp, 4-pack

∼£18

Our view

The SIIIXS four-pack is four 6 inch one-handed bars at £18.31, with a spreader stated up to 13.4 inch and a force claim of up to 177 lb. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from 190 reviews, the weakest starred bar in the set, and the UK texts split between short praise for value and a repeated lock failure. Reviewers describe the jaw slipping, chewing a spot on the bar that then will not hold, and a four-pack in which three of four would not stay locked, while the one that did lock was called great. A printed GS line is a German mark on the listing, not UKCA and not a British Standard, and the included-components field says NO. A United States note about 24 inch clamps in the same file is not a length fact for this 6 inch set. The price per piece looks low until the ratchet walks back under load. Treat it as a warning row when you need a clamp that stays shut while you saw or while glue cures.

Pros

  • Four 6 inch bars at £18.31, with a stated spreader up to 13.4 inch
  • Some UK reviews call them functional and good value
  • Non-marring pads are described as removable and replaceable
  • One-handed ratchet and a quick-release latch are stated

Cons

  • 4.0 from 190 reviews, with UK reports that the ratchet slips
  • A slipping jaw can chew the bar so that spot will not hold
  • One UK review says three of four clamps in a pack would not stay locked
  • The GS line is not UK approval

Best for: You already understand the slip complaints and still want a cheap four-pack with a stated spreader.

Less suitable: You need a clamp that stays locked while you saw or while glue cures.

Specifications

Model
SIIIXS 6 inch bar clamp, 4-pack
Brand
SIIIXS
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.0/5(190)
Jaw opening
6 in
Stated force
177 lb
Spreader
Up to 13.4 in
Pieces
4
Pads
Soft pads

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

Up to 177 lb, with a metal ratchet. Throat depth is not stated.

Do they convert to spreaders?

Yes. The 6 inch clamps are stated to spread up to 13.4 inches by a button.

Is a storage case included?

No. The included-components line says NO, and the set bullet says four clamps.

DBAILY one-handed clamp, 2-pack

Rank 12

DBAILY one-handed clamp, 2-pack

∼£17

Our view

The DBAILY two-pack is listed at £16.99 with a 310 mm maximum span, a 60 mm jaw depth, a 140 kg claim, and a spreader range of 130–435 mm, plus a note that two clamps can be combined. There is no customer-review line and no review text in the file, so you have the printed spec and the price, not UK opinion. The title calls the set screw clamps and then the bullets describe a button conversion and a quick release, which is a one-handed bar, not a screw handle. The title is cut off at 140 kg, and the included-components line is cut off. Carbon steel, reinforced nylon and a TPR cap are in the bullets, with a rust-resistant claim that nobody in this file has checked. You cannot tell whether the jaw stays locked, because no reviewer has said so here. Treat the 140 kg figure and the long spreader as unverified listing text. Skip it when you want stars before you pay.

Pros

  • 310 mm span and a stated spreader of 130–435 mm
  • 60 mm jaw depth and a 140 kg claim on the listing
  • Two clamps, and the bullet says they can be combined for a longer stretch
  • £16.99 if the printed range is the reason you are looking

Cons

  • No star rating and no review text
  • Title says screw clamps while the bullets describe a button release
  • Title and included-components line are both cut off
  • 140 kg and the rust-resistant claim are unchecked

Best for: You specifically need a stated 130–435 mm stretch and you accept a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: You want amazon.co.uk stars, or a screw clamp rather than a button-release bar.

Specifications

Model
DBAILY one-handed clamp, 2-pack
Brand
DBAILY
Price
∼£17
Jaw opening
310 mm
Throat depth
60 mm
Stated force
140 kg
Spreader
130–435 mm
Pieces
2
Pads
TPR cap

Common questions

What openings are stated?

Maximum span 310 mm, jaw depth 60 mm, and an expansion range of 130 mm to 435 mm. The bullet also says two clamps can be combined.

What force is claimed?

140 kg. The title calls the set screw clamps, while the bullets describe a button and a quick release.

Are there amazon.co.uk reviews in the file?

No. There is no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the comparison sources, not a live re-price. No laboratory load test. Each row total is the score already on the listing card: stars, the size of the review sample, whether a jaw, a force claim and a spreader are stated, and price per piece. There is no separate method file in the display folder. The weights below are the buying criteria from the research digest, in that order, and they sum to 100. A kilogram or pound figure is the claim the listing prints.

1

Jaw capacity

22%

The opening has to clear the work plus a caul. In this class the common bar openings are about 150 mm and about 300 mm. A size line that conflicts with the bullet is not treated as a settled jaw.

2

Throat depth

18%

Throat is how far the jaw reaches past the edge. Many light bars state about 60–62 mm. A longer bar does not deepen the throat, and an item-diameter line is not a throat unless the listing says so.

3

Force claim

18%

The figure is a maker claim in one unit. A kilogram line is not mixed with a pound highlight that does not convert, and a torque or tensile line is not read as kilograms.

4

Spreader

14%

A spreader matters only where the listing states the range. A named spreading function with no millimetres is not a travel you can plan, and some listings do not mention a spreader at all.

5

Pack size

16%

One clamp is rarely enough for a glue-up. The comparison looks at how many pieces the title actually describes, and a low price per piece does not repair a ratchet that walks back.

6

Pads and the bar

12%

Soft pads are meant to avoid dents. Reviews on this type of bar often say the pads fall off. A steel bar left in a damp shed can rust. A GS line is a German mark, not UK approval.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

One-handed clamp buying guide

Match the jaw opening first, then the throat, then the force claim, then whether a spreader range is printed. Pack size, pads and the bar come after those numbers. The scores on this page are listing scores. They are not a measured clamping test.

What to check on a one-handed clamp

A one-handed clamp closes with one hand while the other holds the work. On a UK bench that is usually a trigger bar that ratchets along a steel bar. Many of those bars reverse so the same tool can push as a spreader. A pump-lever speed clamp is a related one-handed tool and may not state a spreader at all. A small nylon ratchet with swivel plates is not a bar clamp. A screw F clamp or a sash cramp is slower, and it is the usual choice once the trigger stops adding pressure.

Best for

  • A solo hold on a shelf or fence while the other hand drills
  • Positioning a small glue-up before a screw clamp closes the joint

Not ideal for

  • A bowed joint or a wide panel that needs a sash cramp
  • A structural opening, a stair, or a machine guard

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying one clamp for a glue-up

    One clamp is rarely enough. A pair is the usual minimum for a shelf or a fence. A low price per piece does not fix a ratchet that walks back under load.

  2. 2

    Reading the force line as a test

    Kilograms and pounds on these cards are maker claims. Two figures on one listing can fail to convert. A torque figure, or a tensile line in pounds per square inch, is not a clamping force in kilograms.

  3. 3

    Treating a GS line as UK approval

    A GS line is a German mark. It is not UKCA and not a British Standard. Goods still have to match the description. If the jaw chews a groove or the bar bends, stop.

What to weigh up

Jaw opening and throat depth

High

Jaw opening and throat depth are different measurements. The size in a bar-clamp title is the opening along the bar. Measure the stack you will actually clamp, including a caul, and leave a margin. A 150 mm opening will not span a wider stack just because you squeeze harder. Throat depth is how far the jaw reaches past the edge. Light bars in this class often state about 60–62 mm. A longer bar does not deepen the throat, so a wide board still gets pressure only near the edge.

Force claim, spreader, pads and pack size

High

The force figure is a claim, kept in one unit. Do not mix a kilogram bullet with a highlight that prints a pound figure which does not convert. Do not turn a torque figure into kilograms. UK guides put ordinary triggers near 60–100 kg and keep a screw clamp for a joint that must close. This comparison did not measure those figures. A spreader is useful only where the range is stated. A named function with no millimetres does not tell you the travel.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Solo holding while you drill

You want a pair of light bars to hold a shelf or a fence while the other hand drills. The WORKPRO 150 mm pair is about £12.99, with a stated 285 mm spreader, a 60 mm throat and a 68 kg claim in the bullet. The star line is 4.6 from 8,917 reviews, shared with the other WORKPRO files.

Positioning a small glue-up

Triggers can hold a joint while you place it. They are not the tool that closes a bowed panel. The Jorgensen four-pack is about £29.99, four 150 mm bars the listing says will join to a claimed 400 mm, with a 290 mm spreader. The star line is 4.7 from 4,470 reviews. A screw clamp or sash cramp still has to finish a joint the trigger cannot close.

A lining that needs a stated spreader

Fitting a door lining needs a spreader range the listing actually prints, and you should stop if the opening is structural. The WORKPRO 305 mm pair states a 440 mm spreader, a 305 mm opening and a 60 mm throat, at about £16.99. That review file is shared with the shorter WORKPRO bars.

Common questions about one-handed clamps

What is a one-handed clamp?
A one-handed clamp closes with one hand while the other holds the work. The usual UK form is a trigger bar that ratchets along a steel bar and can reverse into a spreader. A pump-lever speed clamp is related and may not state a spreader. A small nylon ratchet is not a bar clamp. A screw F clamp or sash cramp is slower and is the usual choice once the trigger stops adding pressure. Judge a listing by jaw opening, throat depth and a force claim in one unit.
What jaw opening and throat should you look for?
Jaw capacity has to clear the work plus a caul. In this class the common bar openings are about 150 mm and about 300 mm. Throat depth is separate. Most light bars state about 60–62 mm, and a shallow throat will not clamp the middle of a wide board. A longer bar does not deepen the throat. If the title and the bullet disagree on size, do not treat either figure as settled. An item-diameter line is not a throat unless the listing says so.
How should you read a clamping-force claim?
Read it as a claim, in one unit, not as a test. Do not mix a kilogram figure with a highlight that also prints a pound figure which does not convert. Do not turn a torque figure, or a tensile line in pounds per square inch, into kilograms. UK guides put ordinary triggers near 60–100 kg and keep a screw clamp for a joint that must close. This comparison did not measure any listing's kilograms or pounds.
When do you need a spreader?
You need a spreader when the job pushes, for example easing a door lining, and only if the listing states the range. Several bars print a spreader length. Some name a spreading function and give no millimetres, so you cannot plan the travel. A few listings do not mention a spreader at all. Stop if the opening is structural. Do not stand in line with a spreader, and keep fingers clear of the pads.
How many clamps should you buy?
One clamp is rarely enough for a glue-up. A pair is the usual minimum for a shelf or a fence, and a four-pack gives you spares if a pad falls off or a jaw walks back. A low price per piece does not fix a ratchet that will not stay locked. Check the unit-count line against the title, because some cards say one item while the set name says several. A joined pair of short bars is not the same as one bar that already opens wide.
Do pads, rust and a GS mark change the choice?
Soft pads are meant to avoid dents on a show face. Reviews on this type of bar often say the pads fall off and are hard to replace. A steel bar left in a damp UK shed can rust, especially near the coast. A GS line on a listing is a German mark. It is not UKCA and not a British Standard. The Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22, gives a 30-day short-term right to reject when goods are not as described.
When should you stop and call a joiner?
Call a joiner for a structural opening, a stair, or any clamp that is part of a machine guard. A bent bar, or a jaw that chews a groove and then will not hold, is a stop. PUWER 1998 applies when the clamp is work equipment: it must be suitable and maintained. HSE guidance on machine clamps is not an instruction to use a domestic trigger clamp as a saw-bench hold-down. A wider set of clamp types, including screw clamps, is in the clamp comparison.
Are the star ratings a load test?
No. Stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines on each listing. A high count can be shared across more than one colour or length, so it is not a separate panel for each card. A listing with no review line has no UK opinion in the file, only the printed spec. Three short positive texts under a small count are not a large sample. None of these figures is a measured clamping force.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Jorgensen 150 mm four-pack at about £29.99. It scores 95, with a stated 68 kg, a 62 mm throat, a 290 mm spreader and 4.7 from 4,470 reviews, and the listing says two bars join to a claimed 400 mm. The best value is the WORKPRO 150 mm pair at about £12.99. It scores 94, the same points as the pink pair, and the lower shelf price takes the value mark. Stated kilograms were not measured. A joint the trigger cannot close still needs a screw clamp or a sash cramp.

Best overall
Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp

Presch 300 mm one-handed clamp

View offer
Best value
WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

WORKPRO 150 mm bar clamp, 2-pack

Ties the pink pair on 94 points and takes the value mark at the lower shelf price, about £12.99, with a 150 mm jaw and a 285 mm spreader stated. The review file is shared.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
One-handed clampsHand toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to one-handed clamps

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in those comparison sources, not a live re-price.

  1. HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. HSE L114, safe use of woodworking machinery (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, refunds for faulty or misdescribed goods (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Spear & Jackson, Eclipse one-handed bar clamps (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Bessey UK, EZS30-8 one-handed clamp (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. IRWIN workholding brochure (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. UK Workshop, one-handed clamps thread (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing figures used for this page. We did not lab-test these clamps.