Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Bit holder comparison 2026

The best bit holders, compared.

Top pick: Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic Best value: Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic – Best value for stated reach: about £7.19, 4.8 from 689 reviews, one 152 mm magnetic holder, and not a locking collar. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A bit holder is the 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) hex adaptor that sits in a UK drill or impact driver and holds a screwdriver insert bit. Shoppers usually choose a short magnetic sleeve, a locking collar, or a set in which the holder is only one piece. A suitable one matches the shank, holds the bit as the screw pulls, and is only as long as the recess needs. About 50 to 60 mm is a daily length. About 150 mm reaches a carcass or a recess. A longer shank bends and can walk off the screw. BS ISO 1173:2001 sets the drive-end sizes so bits and holders interchange. Form C 6.3 is the short insert, form E 6.3 has the retention groove a lock needs, and form F 6.3 is the machine-side mount. The standard does not guarantee every chuck will grip every bit. UK wood screws are often Pozidriv. A Phillips tip in a Pozidriv head cams out, and the holder does not fix that. Type, length and lock are in the [bit holder buying guide](/hub/hand-tools/bit-holder/sub/bit-holder-buying-guide).

A bit holder is the 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) hex adaptor that sits in a UK drill or impact driver and holds a screwdriver insert bit.

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Best overall

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic
8.4/10∼ £7

42 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

12 of 12: Best bit holders compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic
Milwaukee locking holder 6 in
SabreCut SCRK1 impact kit
Wera Rapidaptor 50 mm
MulWark 29-piece nut drivers
Geinxurn 83-piece bit set
SHALL 4 holders and 10 bits
Trend Snappy kitchen fitting set
Katerk 6-piece keychain holders
GURADESIGN 9-piece extensions
Hakkin 6-piece magnetic holders
AEMCHDM 10-pack 60 mm
8.4/10
8.9/10
9.4/10
8.5/10
5.8/10
6.1/10
6.3/10
4.6/10
7.2/10
4.0/10
4.5/10
2.6/10
∼ £7
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £15
∼ £20
∼ £14
∼ £13
∼ £67
∼ £9
∼ £9
∼ £12
∼ £11
4.8(689)
4.7(1,360)
4.6(9,770)
4.6(7,018)
4.6(423)
4.6(159)
4.6(99)
4.5(11)
4.4(8,024)
3.8(34)
3.6(264)
3.4(18)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best bit holders in detail

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Rank 1

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Our view

The Milwaukee Shockwave magnetic holder is a single 152 mm piece at about £7.19, with 4.8 from 689 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reach into tight spots and a strong magnet dominate the first 50 UK texts. Reviewers call it solid and durable, including when it was bought on sale, and one handyman switched after merchant bits kept breaking. The Shockwave name is on the title, while the short listing adds no separate impact-duty sentence, and no bits are included. Shank size is absent from the spec lines. One buyer received a bent holder in the original packaging and said it ran crooked in daily work. At this price it is the best value long magnetic holder in the set when 152 mm of reach is the job.

Pros

  • 152 mm magnetic holder at about £7.19
  • 4.8 from 689 amazon.co.uk reviews, the highest star line here
  • UK texts praise reach and a strong magnet
  • 70 g single piece, part 4932472065

Cons

  • One arrived bent and ran crooked
  • Magnet only, with no locking collar described
  • No separate impact-duty sentence, and shank size is not on the spec lines

Best for: You want one long magnetic extension for awkward reach and you already have 1/4 inch bits.

Less suitable: You have already lost bits from magnetic sleeves, or you need a second short holder in the same pack.

Specifications

Model
Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic
Brand
Milwaukee
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.8/5(689)
Type
Magnetic holder
Retention
Magnet only
Length
152 mm
Pieces
1
Bits included
None
Weight
70 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The listing states 152 mm. That is one holder, not a set of lengths.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The included part is the magnetic holder, part 4932472065.

What do the review texts repeat?

Reach and a strong magnet dominate the UK texts. One buyer received a bent holder that ran crooked.

Milwaukee locking holder 6 in

Rank 2

Milwaukee locking holder 6 in

Our view

The Milwaukee 48-32-4532 is a single 1/4 inch locking holder at about £9.36, with the length given as 6 in and 4.7 from 1,360 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing describes an auto-locking collar, a one-handed release and two magnets, and reviewers say they chose it because magnetic holders let the bit fall out. Reports include straight running on a 12 V Milwaukee driver and an 18 V DeWalt driver, and use on tech screws. Millimetres are not printed, and the set name says Shockwave Bit Set while the included part is only 48-32-4532. One buyer received a unit that looked used, with a lock collar that would not pull back, and another said it broke in under two months. It is the locking holder to pick when you already own the bits and want the collar to do the holding. Do not merge this US model number with Milwaukee UK 493247206x parts without the photos.

Pros

  • Auto-locking collar, one-handed release and two magnets
  • 4.7 from 1,360 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers bought it after magnetic holders dropped bits
  • Title and bullets state impact duty
  • about £9.36 for one 6 in holder

Cons

  • One lock collar would not pull back on a unit that looked used
  • One broke in under two months
  • Set name says a bit set; only 48-32-4532 is included
  • Length in millimetres is not stated

Best for: You already have 1/4 inch hex bits and want a 6 in impact holder that stays locked until you slide the collar.

Less suitable: You want several lengths and driver bits in one pouch, or a short 50 mm quick-release for bench work.

Specifications

Model
Milwaukee locking holder 6 in
Brand
Milwaukee
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,360)
Type
Locking holder
Retention
Collar and magnets
Length
6 in
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
1
Bits included
None
Weight
81.6 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The title states 6 in. Millimetres are not printed, so this row is not treated as 152 mm.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The included component is the locking holder 48-32-4532, even where the set name says a bit set.

What do the review texts repeat?

Reviewers contrast the collar with magnetic holders that drop bits. One lock would not move, and one broke within two months.

SabreCut SCRK1 impact kit

Rank 3

SabreCut SCRK1 impact kit

Our view

SabreCut’s SCRK1 is a four-piece impact kit at about £7.99: a 60 mm holder, a 152 mm holder and two 32 mm magnetic PZ2 bits in a pouch. amazon.co.uk lists 4.6 from 9,770 reviews, and the bullets name impact drivers and high-powered drill drivers. Retention is a C-ring plus a rare-earth magnet, and daily users say the bit needs a firm tug before it comes out. The PZ2 bits are described as having a long head that helps in pre-drilled holes. The page states heat-treated steel with a black oxide finish, and the set weighs 109 g. One holder snapped after about two years of light home use, and the pouch is described as a simple plastic case. With two stated lengths, a mechanical hold and the largest review file in this comparison, it is the top pick here.

Pros

  • 60 mm and 152 mm holders plus two 32 mm PZ2 bits
  • C-ring and rare-earth magnet; reviewers say the bit needs a firm tug
  • 4.6 from 9,770 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Bullets state impact drivers and high-powered drill drivers
  • about £7.99 with a pouch included

Cons

  • One holder snapped after about two years of light DIY
  • Pouch described as a simple plastic case
  • Only PZ2 bits, so other drives stay in your own box

Best for: You want a short and a long impact holder, plus spare PZ2 bits, for a drill or impact driver you already own.

Less suitable: You need Torx, hex or slotted bits in the same box, or a collar you can slide when the C-ring wears.

Specifications

Model
SabreCut SCRK1 impact kit
Brand
SabreCut
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.6/5(9,770)
Type
Impact kit
Retention
C-ring and magnet
Length
60 mm and 152 mm
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch
Pieces
4
Bits included
2 x PZ2
Material
Heat-treated steel
Weight
109 g
Storage
Pouch

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The holders are stated at 60 mm and 152 mm. The two PZ2 bits are stated at 32 mm.

Does the listing include driver bits?

Yes. The box includes two 32 mm magnetic PZ2 bits. Other profiles are not in the pouch.

What do the review texts repeat?

Daily users praise the C-ring hold and the PZ2 bits. One holder snapped after about two years of light DIY.

Wera Rapidaptor 50 mm

Rank 4

Wera Rapidaptor 50 mm

∼£15

Our view

The Wera 889/4 Rapidaptor is one 50 mm, 1/4 inch quick-release holder at about £14.56, rated 4.6 from 7,018 amazon.co.uk reviews. Many of the first 50 texts praise one-handed changes, including small hex bits, and call the release smooth. Workshop users describe daily use and a well-made feel, and some say the magnet holds screws well. It weighs 22.7 g and the country of origin is the Czech Republic. Impact duty is not stated on this listing, and the box contains no bits. The maker page for 889/4/1 K, part 05052502001, describes a 50 mm holder that accepts DIN ISO 1173-C 6.3 and E 6.3 bits, with an F 6.3 mount. That datasheet gives no impact duty cycle, so this listing is not treated as an Impaktor holder. One detailed review says the magnet could be stronger, and one unit seized after a month of light use with the bit stuck inside.

Pros

  • Rapidaptor one-handed release on a 50 mm, 1/4 inch holder
  • 4.6 from 7,018 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers praise smooth bit swaps, including small hex bits
  • 22.7 g, made in the Czech Republic

Cons

  • about £14.56, called pricey next to plain sleeves
  • Impact duty is not stated, and no bits are included
  • One magnet-strength complaint and one sleeve seized after a month

Best for: Daily bit changes on a drill or driver where 50 mm is long enough and you already own the bits.

Less suitable: Impact-driver work, or any job that needs 100 to 152 mm of reach.

Specifications

Model
Wera Rapidaptor 50 mm
Brand
Wera
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.6/5(7,018)
Type
Quick-release
Retention
Sleeve release
Length
50 mm
Impact claim
No
Shank
1/4 inch
Pieces
1
Bits included
None
Weight
22.7 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The listing states 50 mm. That is the daily short length, not a carcass reach.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The box is the 889/4 Rapidaptor holder only.

What do the review texts repeat?

Many of the first 50 praise one-handed changes. One magnet-strength complaint and one seized holder are in that span.

MulWark 29-piece nut drivers

Rank 5

MulWark 29-piece nut drivers

∼£20

Our view

MulWark’s 29-piece listing is a nut-driver set at about £19.99 that also includes a 1/4 inch magnetic bit holder and quick-release extensions at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm. The star line is 4.6 from 423 reviews. You get 11 metric nut drivers from 5 mm to 14 mm, 11 SAE nut drivers, and 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch socket adapters, in Cr-V steel at 1.12 kg. The bullets call the set an impact nut-driver set, while the storage line says a bag in one place and a case in another. The only UK text in the file calls it a worthwhile kit for coach screws. Another review doubts the magnet on the 1/4 inch driver, finds the 9/16 inch marking hard to read, and says a socket neck snapped within three months. The bit holder is one piece inside a nut-driver kit.

Pros

  • 11 metric and 11 SAE nut drivers plus three extensions
  • Extensions stated at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm
  • 4.6 from 423 reviews
  • The only UK text calls it worthwhile for coach screws

Cons

  • One UK review text in the sampled file
  • A review doubts the magnet and says a socket neck snapped within three months
  • Storage described as a bag and as a case
  • Screwdriver bits are not what this set is for

Best for: Coach screws and hex nuts, with a 1/4 inch magnetic holder and three extensions in the same bag.

Less suitable: A screwdriver-bit holder on its own, or a buyer who needs several UK reviews of the magnet.

Specifications

Model
MulWark 29-piece nut drivers
Brand
MulWark
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(423)
Type
Nut-driver set
Retention
Magnet
Length
60–150 mm
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch
Pieces
29
Bits included
Nut drivers
Material
Cr-V steel
Weight
1.12 kg
Storage
Bag or case

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The quick-release extensions are stated at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm. The nut drivers are sized by socket, not by those lengths.

Does the listing include driver bits?

It includes 11 metric nut drivers from 5 mm to 14 mm and 11 SAE nut drivers. It is not a screwdriver-bit set.

What do the review texts repeat?

The only UK text calls it a worthwhile coach-screw kit. Another text says a socket neck snapped within three months.

Geinxurn 83-piece bit set

Rank 6

Geinxurn 83-piece bit set

∼£14

Our view

Geinxurn’s box is an 83-piece insert-bit set with one 60 mm holder, at about £13.67 and 4.6 from 159 reviews. The contents run to 72 bits at 25 mm in Phillips, Pozi, Torx, slotted and hex, plus 50 mm, 65 mm and 75 mm bits, a 25 mm 1/4 inch square drive and a storage box. Bullets name an impact shock zone and impact drivers, and the tips are magnetic. Eleven of the first 50 texts are from the UK and praise the mix, the clear boxes and use with a DeWalt driver. One decking job used a single tip, and that buyer called the set good value. A UK review says the plastic support can break when screws are removed often, and most UK texts are a single line, so wear over years is not described. Choose it when you want the bit assortment. The holder itself is the single 60 mm piece.

Pros

  • 83 pieces, including PH, PZ, Torx, slotted and hex
  • 60 mm holder plus 25 mm, 50 mm, 65 mm and 75 mm bits
  • 4.6 from 159 reviews, with 11 UK texts in the first 50
  • Storage box, and bullets name an impact shock zone

Cons

  • Only one 60 mm holder in the whole box
  • UK review: plastic support can break if screws are removed often
  • Most UK texts are one line, so durability is thinly described

Best for: A household bit box for a 1/4 inch driver, with a short holder included.

Less suitable: You only need extensions, or you remove screws often enough to load the plastic supports.

Specifications

Model
Geinxurn 83-piece bit set
Brand
Geinxurn
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.6/5(159)
Type
Bit set
Retention
Magnetic tips
Length
Holder 60 mm
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch
Pieces
83
Bits included
PH, PZ, Torx
Material
S2 alloy steel
Weight
620 g
Storage
Box

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The holder is 60 mm. Bits are listed at 25 mm, 50 mm, 65 mm and 75 mm.

Does the listing include driver bits?

Yes. The box is mostly bits: Phillips, Pozi, Torx, slotted and hex, plus one 60 mm holder.

What do the review texts repeat?

UK texts praise the mix and the box. One says the plastic support breaks if screws are removed often.

SHALL 4 holders and 10 bits

Rank 7

SHALL 4 holders and 10 bits

∼£13

Our view

SHALL’s set is four magnetic holders and ten screwdriver bits at about £12.99, listed at 4.6 from 99 reviews. The bullets claim magnetic holding, secure locking, quick release, heat-treated Cr-V steel and use on an impact driver. A UK reviewer says bits no longer fall out, unlike magnetic-only holders, and another calls them strongly magnetic though short of a full twist-lock. Lengths are only described as various, with no millimetres, and the ten bit profiles are not listed. The page asks about a case, and the bullets do not include one. In the wider first 50 texts a coloured release end popped off unused, and one lock failed to latch after first use in a tight space. Only five of those texts are from the UK, so the locking praise rests on a small British sample beside the 4.6 line.

Pros

  • Four holders and ten bits at about £12.99
  • 4.6 from 99 reviews
  • Bullets claim magnetic hold, locking, quick release and impact-driver use
  • Heat-treated Cr-V steel stated

Cons

  • Holder lengths are not given in millimetres
  • Bit profiles are not listed, and no case is in the bullets
  • A release end came off, and one lock failed to latch
  • Only five UK texts in the first 50 reviews

Best for: A mixed holder-and-bit bundle when you can accept unstated lengths and a small UK comment sample.

Less suitable: You need a stated 60 mm, 100 mm or 150 mm, or a case that the listing actually includes.

Specifications

Model
SHALL 4 holders and 10 bits
Brand
SHALL
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.6/5(99)
Type
Holder set
Retention
Magnet and lock
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
14
Bits included
10 bits
Material
Cr-V steel
Weight
350 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The bullets say four holders of various lengths. Millimetres are not stated, so the length cell is left blank.

Does the listing include driver bits?

Yes. Ten screwdriver bits are included. The profiles are not listed in the bullets.

What do the review texts repeat?

UK texts like bits staying in. In the wider first 50, a release end came off and one lock failed to latch.

Trend Snappy kitchen fitting set

Rank 8

Trend Snappy kitchen fitting set

∼£67

Our view

Trend’s SNAP/TH6/SET is a kitchen and door fitting kit at about £67.22, with 4.5 from 11 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title counts 22 pieces and the included-components line counts 23, covering 13 insert bits, 19 mm and 25 mm flat bits, hex and masonry drills, a fabric roll and a magnetic bit holder. Holder length is not stated, and impact duty is not stated. Four UK texts call it a useful pouch kit, and one buyer purchased a second for a friend. A call-out user said the elastic loosened after a few weeks and a drill bit was lost. The price buys a Snappy fitting roll with a four-text review file. Compare it with other fitting kits, not with a short sleeve.

Pros

  • Kitchen and door mix: insert bits, flat bits, hex and masonry drills
  • Fabric tool holder included
  • 4.5 from 11 reviews; four UK texts call the pouch kit useful
  • Trend Snappy quick release, made in Taiwan

Cons

  • about £67.22 with only 11 reviews
  • Title says 22 pieces; included-components line says 23
  • Holder length is not stated
  • Elastic loosened and a bit was lost in call-out use

Best for: Kitchen and door fitting where you want the Snappy bits and a fabric roll together.

Less suitable: A plain driver extension, impact duty, or any purchase that needs a large review sample.

Specifications

Model
Trend Snappy kitchen fitting set
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£67
Customer rating
4.5/5(11)
Type
Fitting kit
Retention
Magnet in a roll
Impact claim
No
Shank
Quick release
Pieces
22 or 23
Bits included
13 insert bits
Material
Fabric holder
Weight
513 g
Storage
Fabric roll

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

Holder length is not stated. The bullets name 19 mm and 25 mm flat bits, which are drills, not the holder.

Does the listing include driver bits?

Yes. It lists 13 insert bits in Pozi, Phillips, slotted and Torx, plus flat, hex and masonry drills.

What do the review texts repeat?

Four UK texts praise a useful pouch kit. One call-out user said the elastic loosened and a bit was lost.

Katerk 6-piece keychain holders

Rank 9

Katerk 6-piece keychain holders

Our view

Katerk sells six aluminium pocket holders and a black carabiner at about £8.54, rated 4.4 from 8,024 amazon.co.uk reviews. Belt users describe clipping them on and swapping driver bits for more than a year, and the listing specifies a ball-lock buckle for one-handed changes. Each holder is 1/4 inch hex. The bullets mention T20 and T25 only as examples of bits it can hold, and no bits are in the pack. These are pocket holders, so an extension length is not stated, and the item type names an impact bit holder without an impact-duty test line. Some bits stay put only after a wiggle, and the spring is called stiff. Bits also fall out when the collar releases on a belt, one lock stuck until it was broken open, and one carabiner thread failed within days. Keep it for bits on a belt, and check the collar before you move.

Pros

  • Six aluminium 1/4 inch holders plus a carabiner at about £8.54
  • 4.4 from 8,024 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Ball-lock buckle for one-handed bit changes
  • Belt users report more than a year of swaps

Cons

  • Collar can release on a belt and drop the bit
  • Stiff spring, and one lock stuck until it was forced open
  • One carabiner thread failed within days
  • No stated extension length and no bits included

Best for: A belt or keyring clip for a few 1/4 inch driver bits you already carry.

Less suitable: Driver extensions at 60 to 152 mm, or impact work where the listing’s impact line is only the item type.

Specifications

Model
Katerk 6-piece keychain holders
Brand
Katerk
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.4/5(8,024)
Type
Pocket holders
Retention
Ball-lock
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
6
Bits included
None
Material
Aluminium
Weight
50 g
Storage
Carabiner

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

No extension length is stated. These are pocket holders, not 60 mm or 150 mm bars.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The pack is six holders and one carabiner.

What do the review texts repeat?

Belt users like the clip. Others lose bits when the collar releases, or report a stuck lock and a poor carabiner.

GURADESIGN 9-piece extensions

Rank 10

GURADESIGN 9-piece extensions

Our view

GURADESIGN lists nine chrome-vanadium magnetic extensions at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm for about £8.99, with 3.8 from 34 reviews. How many of each length is not stated, and no bits are included. The listing does not call them impact rated, although a review title uses that word. Several of the 13 UK texts call the three lengths sturdy and a bargain when a missing length was the reason for the order. The repeated UK complaint is that the magnet will not hold a PZ2 in the screw, will not pick up a small screw, or lets the bit fall out. One buyer calls the magnetic claim false, and the bullets describe no lock. Nine bars at this price only help if you already accept a weak pull.

Pros

  • Nine extensions at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm for about £8.99
  • Chrome vanadium steel, 1/4 inch hex
  • Some of the 13 UK texts call the lengths sturdy

Cons

  • 3.8 from 34 reviews
  • UK texts: magnet fails on a PZ2, a small screw, or the bit itself
  • Count of each length is not stated
  • Listing does not say impact rated, and no lock is described

Best for: Filling a missing 60, 100 or 150 mm length when screw retention is not the point.

Less suitable: Impact drivers, or one-handed screw starting that depends on the magnet.

Specifications

Model
GURADESIGN 9-piece extensions
Brand
GURADESIGN
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.8/5(34)
Type
Magnetic set
Retention
Magnet only
Length
60–150 mm
Impact claim
No
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
9
Bits included
None
Material
Chrome vanadium
Weight
410 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The extensions are 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm. The count of each length is not stated.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The pack is nine magnetic bars.

What do the review texts repeat?

Several of the 13 UK texts say the magnet will not hold a screw or the bit falls out. Others call the three lengths a bargain.

Hakkin 6-piece magnetic holders

Rank 11

Hakkin 6-piece magnetic holders

∼£12

Our view

Hakkin’s six-piece set is magnetic extensions at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm in S2 steel, at about £11.99 and 3.6 from 264 reviews. The title says impact duty. The description gives a magnet inside the adapter and no locking collar, and no bits are included. Across the first 50 texts, weak magnets and bits falling out come up again and again, and one buyer said the magnets fell out on first use. A minority still call the holders sturdy, and one person stacked them to reach with a spade bit. It ranks 5th in screwdriver connectors, which shows order volume beside a 3.6 star line. Treat the three lengths as the useful part, and expect the magnet complaint before you rely on it for screws.

Pros

  • Six S2 extensions at 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm
  • 1/4 inch hex, and the title says impact duty
  • 270 g for the six-piece pack
  • A minority of reviews still call the holders sturdy

Cons

  • 3.6 from 264 reviews
  • Weak magnet: bits and screws do not stay put
  • Magnets fell out on first use in one report
  • No locking collar and no bits included

Best for: Spare lengths at 60, 100 and 150 mm if you already know a weak magnet is acceptable.

Less suitable: Any job where the bit or the screw has to stay on the magnet.

Specifications

Model
Hakkin 6-piece magnetic holders
Brand
Hakkin
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
3.6/5(264)
Type
Magnetic set
Retention
Magnet only
Length
60–150 mm
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
6
Bits included
None
Material
S2 steel
Weight
270 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

The six extensions are 60 mm, 100 mm and 150 mm. How many of each length is part of that mix.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The pack is holders only.

What do the review texts repeat?

Across the first 50, weak magnets and bits falling out recur. A few callers still call the set sturdy.

AEMCHDM 10-pack 60 mm

Rank 12

AEMCHDM 10-pack 60 mm

∼£11

Our view

AEMCHDM’s pack is ten 60 mm, 1/4 inch magnetic holders at about £10.99, with a stated 15 mm diameter and a 3.4 line from 18 reviews. The bullets describe a magnet, a sleeve you push back, self-locking, and impact-driver use, in aluminium alloy and carbon steel. No bits are included, and the pack weighs 220 g. The file holds nine review texts and none of them are from the UK. Those texts describe runout, a hex and sleeve that are not in line, eight of ten wobbling, bits falling out, and one holder bent before use. One review says the magnet holds screws and is pleased to have ten holders for a cordless driver. A 3.4 average from 18 ratings, with no British text in the file, leaves this as a spare-sleeve pack you would try only if losing one does not matter.

Pros

  • Ten 60 mm holders for about £10.99
  • 1/4 inch hex, 15 mm diameter stated
  • Bullets describe a push-back sleeve and self-locking

Cons

  • 3.4 from 18 reviews
  • No UK review text in the file
  • Sampled texts: wobble, a bent holder and bits falling out

Best for: A drawer of spare 60 mm sleeves when a failed one is cheap to discard.

Less suitable: Impact work you need to trust, or any buy that should rest on British reviews.

Specifications

Model
AEMCHDM 10-pack 60 mm
Brand
AEMCHDM
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
3.4/5(18)
Type
Magnetic pack
Retention
Magnet and sleeve
Length
60 mm
Impact claim
Yes
Shank
1/4 inch hex
Pieces
10
Bits included
None
Material
Alloy and steel
Weight
220 g

Common questions

What length does the listing state?

Each holder is stated at 60 mm, with a 15 mm diameter. There is no 100 mm or 150 mm bar in the pack.

Does the listing include driver bits?

No. The pack is ten holders.

What do the review texts repeat?

No UK review text is in the file. The sampled texts describe wobble, bent pieces and bits falling out.

How we compared

Twelve bit holders and holder kits were scored from amazon.co.uk listing fields and the review notes in those files. There was no lab test, no torque trial and no timed drive-off. Shelf prices are the GBP figures captured on 19 October 2026. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the award on the long magnetic holder, which is not second on the total. Weights follow the published order: stars, review evidence, retention, spec usefulness, then price.

1

Stars

30%

Amazon stars are scaled from the UK listing. A 4.8 line scores higher than a 3.4 line. The formula is (stars minus 3.0) divided by 2.0, times 30.

2

Review evidence

25%

A large UK sample scores higher. Under 30 reviews, a single UK text, or no UK text in the file is cut hard.

3

Retention

25%

What the sampled reviews say about the bit staying in. A collar or C-ring that reviewers praise scores higher than a magnet reviewers say drops the bit.

4

Spec usefulness

10%

Stated length, shank, an impact line, and whether the product is actually a bit holder. Piece-count conflicts and missing millimetres cost points.

5

Price

10%

What the GBP price buys. Two usable holders and bits at a low shelf price score higher than one short holder, or a fitting roll, when the holder is the object.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Bit holder buying guide

Start with the type, then how the bit is held, then the tool, then the length. A low shelf price comes after those checks. A single holder, a length multi-pack, an impact kit, a nut-driver set, a pocket clip and a fitting roll are not one product. The notes below follow that order for twelve amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. None of the scores is a workshop test.

What is a bit holder?

A bit holder is the 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) hex adaptor that sits in a UK drill or impact driver and holds a screwdriver insert bit. Shoppers on amazon.co.uk are often choosing between a short magnetic sleeve, a locking collar, and a set that only includes a holder as one piece. Quality shows up as a shank that matches the tool, a lock or magnet that matches how often the bit is pulled out of the screw, and a length that reaches without becoming a lever. Separate them before you compare prices.

Best for

  • A drill or impact driver you already own, when you need a stated length and a hold that matches the screw
  • Awkward reach around 150 mm, if a magnet is enough and you already have 1/4 inch bits
  • A belt clip for a few driver bits, or a fitting roll when that is the system you already use

Not ideal for

  • An impact driver fitted with a sleeve whose listing does not state impact duty
  • A job where the bit or the screw has to stay put, if the reviews already say the magnet drops it
  • A structural fixing, or an implant question that belongs with a clinic

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a bit box when you needed one holder

    An 83-piece insert set and a nut-driver bag both contain a holder. The holder is one piece among bits or sockets. If you needed a 60 mm and a 150 mm sleeve, the rest of the box is not the product.

  2. 2

    Blaming the magnet for the wrong screw profile

    UK wood screws are often Pozidriv. A Phillips tip in a Pozidriv head cams out. Changing from a magnet to a lock does not fix that. The profile and the holder are separate checks.

  3. 3

    Running a non-impact sleeve in an impact driver

    Use an impact-labelled holder in an impact driver. A title name without a separate impact sentence is weaker than bullets that name the tool. A pocket clip is not an extension.

What to weigh up

Retention and the tool

High

Retention is whether the bit stays in the holder when the screw starts to grip. A magnet-only sleeve holds the bit until that pull wins. Review notes on several multi-packs in this set repeat a weak magnet, bits falling out, and in one case magnets that fell out of the holder. A C-ring, a ball lock or a sliding collar is the mechanical answer. It needs a form E 6.3 bit with a groove. Form C 6.3 is the short insert without that groove.

Length, profile and the evidence

High

Length is a rule of thumb: the shortest holder that reaches. About 50 to 60 mm covers daily face screws. About 150 mm reaches a carcass or a recess. A longer shank bends and walks off the screw. Using the long holder on every screw adds leverage you do not need. If the listing prints 6 in and not millimetres, keep the cell in inches. If it says various lengths and prints no millimetres, the length is not known. A pocket holder with no extension length is a clip, not a 150 mm bar.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Flat-pack and domestic DIY

You want one short holder and a PZ2 bit, with the clutch on the drill. The SabreCut SCRK1 is about £7.99, with 4.6 from 9,770 reviews, a 60 mm holder, a 152 mm holder and two 32 mm PZ2 bits. Retention is a C-ring plus a magnet. It is the wrong box if you need Torx or hex in the same pouch.

Impact driver on site

You want an impact-labelled holder, spare bits, and you already treat PZ2 tips as consumable. The Milwaukee 48-32-4532 is about £9.36, with 4.7 from 1,360 reviews, an auto-locking collar and two magnets. The title gives 6 in, not millimetres, and the box is one holder. Leave it if you wanted several lengths and bits together.

Kitchen fitting on a guided system

You already work with a guided fitting system, so the comparison is with other fitting kits, not with a short sleeve. The Trend Snappy kitchen set is about £67.22, with 4.5 from 11 reviews, insert bits, flat bits and a fabric roll. Holder length is not stated. A plain driver extension is a different purchase.

Common questions about bit holders

What is a bit holder?
A bit holder is the 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) hex adaptor that sits in a UK drill or impact driver and holds a screwdriver insert bit. You are usually choosing a short magnetic sleeve, a locking collar, or a set in which the holder is only one piece. BS ISO 1173:2001 sets the drive-end sizes so bits interchange. A lock needs the groove on a form E 6.3 bit. The standard does not promise that every chuck will grip every bit.
Which bit holder is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the SabreCut SCRK1. The amazon.co.uk listing is about £7.99, with 4.6 from 9,770 reviews, the highest score in this set. You get a 60 mm holder, a 152 mm holder and two 32 mm PZ2 bits. Retention is a C-ring plus a magnet, and the bullets name impact drivers. One holder snapped after about two years of light DIY, and the pouch is a simple case. The score uses listing facts. It is not a lab test.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the Milwaukee Shockwave magnetic holder, part 4932472065, at about £7.19, with 4.8 from 689 reviews. It is one 152 mm magnetic piece. UK texts praise the reach and a strong magnet. The Shockwave name is on the title, and the short listing adds no separate impact-duty sentence. One buyer received a bent holder. It suits awkward reach when you already have 1/4 inch bits. It is magnet-only, so a collar is a different job. Shank size is not on the spec lines.
How much does a bit holder cost?
On this amazon.co.uk snapshot, captured on 19 October 2026, a single branded holder sits around £7 to £15. The Milwaukee magnetic holder is about £7.19, the SabreCut pair about £7.99, the locking Milwaukee about £9.36, and the Wera Rapidaptor 50 mm about £14.56. Multi-packs and bit boxes sit in a similar band. A nut-driver set is about £19.99 and a fitting kit about £67.22. Trade-counter prices are not these amazon.co.uk figures. Recapture the shelf price before you buy.
Should you buy a magnetic holder or a locking holder?
A magnet holds the bit until the screw grips harder. A C-ring, ball or sleeve lock is what stops the bit staying in the timber. A lock needs a form E 6.3 bit with a groove. Reviews of weak magnets, including bits that fall out, show up on several multi-packs in this set. A collar can also seize or fail to slide. Both types sit in the same table, because the failure you care about is the bit left in the screw, not the title.
Can you use a bit holder in an impact driver?
Use an impact-labelled holder in an impact driver. Impact wording on the title is part of the description. A Shockwave name without a separate impact sentence is weaker evidence than bullets that name impact drivers. A non-impact sleeve in an impact driver is a common mistake. Pocket clips and fitting rolls are not driver extensions. PUWER 1998 binds employers who supply the driver and the holder. It does not bind a householder. This is not legal advice.
What length of bit holder should you buy?
A rule of thumb: the shortest holder that reaches. About 50 to 60 mm is the daily length. About 150 mm is for a carcass or a recess. Longer shanks bend and walk off the screw. If the listing does not print millimetres, you cannot compare reach on paper. A title that says 6 in is not the same cell as a stated 152 mm. Using 150 mm on every face screw adds leverage you do not need.
When is a screwdriver set the better buy?
Buy a screwdriver set when you need the profiles, not another sleeve. UK wood screws are often Pozidriv. A Phillips bit in a Pozidriv head cams out, and no holder fixes that. An 83-piece box is the wrong purchase if you only needed one holder. The screwdriver set comparison covers the bits themselves. Call a professional for a structural fixing you cannot specify, for rented or listed fabric where the fixing is prescribed, and when an employer has not trained you on the driver.

Our verdict

In this set of twelve amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the SabreCut SCRK1 at about £7.99, with 4.6 from 9,770 reviews. You get a 60 mm holder, a 152 mm holder and two PZ2 bits, held by a C-ring and a magnet, and the bullets name impact drivers. The best value is the Milwaukee Shockwave magnetic holder at about £7.19, with 4.8 from 689 reviews and a stated 152 mm. It is magnet-only, and the short listing adds no separate impact sentence. None of these scores is a lab test.

Best overall
Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

View offer
Best value
Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Milwaukee Shockwave 152 mm magnetic

Best value for stated reach: about £7.19, 4.8 from 689 reviews, one 152 mm magnetic holder, and not a locking collar.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Hand toolsScrewdriver bitsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to bit holders

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and maker sources are listed below. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured on 19 October 2026. This page did not lab-test the holders.

  1. BSI, BS ISO 1173:2001 drive ends for screwdriver bits (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. ISO 1173:2001 status (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Wera 889/4/1 K Rapidaptor bit holder (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Wera datasheet 05052502001 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Milwaukee UK, Shockwave locking bit holder (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. SabreCut SCRK1 impact bit holder kit (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing figures in this comparison. We did not lab-test these bit holders.