Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Drawknife comparison 2026

The best Drawknives, compared.

Top pick: Sorandy straight draw shave Best value: banapoy draw knife – Lowest shelf price among the listings that have UK sentences and are not the top pick. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A drawknife is a two-handled blade you pull towards yourself to shave bark and shape wood. In the UK you buy one for green wood, a short log, a handle or a rough chair part, usually in a vice or a shave horse. It has no sole and no depth stop, so the cut is your hands, not a setting. A suitable knife has a stated blade length, a blade form the title and the bullets agree on, and a listing that describes a drawknife. Straight is the general-duty shape. An all-round length is about 8–10 inches, with a bevel near 25 degrees, which is a workshop rule of thumb rather than a standard printed on the tool. Check whether a sheath is listed, and whether a United Kingdom review names a real job. Plan to hone before you trust the edge, and cover the blade at rest. The pull, the clamp and the hone are set out in the [how to use a drawknife](/hub/hand-tools/drawknife/sub/drawknife-how-to-use) guide.

A drawknife is a two-handled blade you pull towards yourself to shave bark and shape wood. In the UK you buy one for green wood, a short log, a handle or a rough chair part, usually in a vice or a shave horse.

Sorandy straight draw shave

Best overall

Sorandy straight draw shave
2.5/10∼ £18

36 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,800 readers

10 of 10: Best Drawknives compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Sorandy straight draw shave
BAFOVY straight draw knife
Rvluw 6 inch straight draw knife
Greensen straight draw knife
YWBL-WH straight draw knife
Tyenaza straight draw shave
PPI 10 inch straight draw knife
Best value
banapoy draw knife
OVAQUIXI 10 inch drawknife
Ejoyous straight draw shave
2.5/10
2.6/10
3.8/10
2.9/10
6.2/10
3.5/10
5.4/10
4.1/10
2.2/10
2.7/10
∼ £18
∼ £20
∼ £19
∼ £17
∼ £19
∼ £20
∼ £38
∼ £15
∼ £15
∼ £18
5.0(8)
5.0(3)
5.0(1)
4.8(5)
4.5(78)
4.5(2)
4.1(234)
4.0(13)
4.0(1)
3.8(6)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Drawknives in detail

Sorandy straight draw shave

Rank 1

Sorandy straight draw shave

∼£18

Our view

The Sorandy straight draw shave is about £17.77 and 440 g, with package dimensions 34.7 × 7.4 × 5.2 cm, and 5.0 from eight ratings. Two United Kingdom texts are short and positive: one says perfect tool, and another says it works, is comfortable, and needed a bit of a sharpen, which that reviewer expected. The five bullets describe a 60 kg bathroom suction rail and are not features of this knife. Steel, blade length, bevel, and a sheath are not stated once those bullets are set aside. The photograph is the same file as Ejoyous. The score is 25 because the UK sentences are kinder than the page they sit on.

Pros

  • Two UK texts say it works and is comfortable after a hone
  • about £17.77 and 440 g are stated
  • The title is a straight draw shave for bark and flat surfaces

Cons

  • The bullets describe a bathroom grab bar, not the knife
  • Steel, blade length, and sheath are not stated
  • The photograph is shared with Ejoyous

Best for: You will ignore the suction-cup bullets and you only need a cheap knife that two UK reviewers found usable after a hone.

Less suitable: You need a listing whose bullets match the tool, or a named steel.

Specifications

Model
Sorandy straight draw shave
Brand
Sorandy
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
5.0/5(8)
Blade form
Straight
Handles
Wooden
Weight
440 g

Common questions

Are the suction-cup bullets part of this tool?

No. The title and the UK reviews describe a drawknife. The five bullets describe a 60 kg bathroom grab bar and are not features.

What do the UK reviews say?

One says perfect tool. Another says it works, is comfortable, and needed a bit of a sharpen, which that reviewer expected.

What size and weight are listed?

Item weight is 440 g. Package dimensions are 34.7 x 7.4 x 5.2 cm. Blade length and steel are not stated outside the discarded bullets.

BAFOVY straight draw knife

Rank 2

BAFOVY straight draw knife

∼£20

Our view

BAFOVY’s straight draw knife is about £20.48 and 441 g, with tungsten steel claimed at HRC30, double wooden handles, and a bevel named without an angle. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from three ratings and no review texts, so the perfect line does not describe a cut. Included components say no sheath. The power line says AC/DC, and the age field says Adults, Kid, which is not permission to sell a knife to someone under 18. The photograph matches Greensen and OVAQUIXI. Blade length is not stated. The score is 26 because five stars from three silent ratings cannot outrank a knife that has UK sentences.

Pros

  • Straight form and a bevel are named
  • Tungsten steel and wooden handles are on the listing
  • The missing sheath is explicit

Cons

  • 5.0 from three ratings with no review texts
  • No blade length, and HRC30 is only a claim
  • Shared photograph, an AC/DC line, and an age field that says Kid

Best for: You want a straight title at about £20 and you will ignore the five-star line until you see the knife.

Less suitable: You need reviews, a stated length, or a listing that does not say Kid.

Specifications

Model
BAFOVY straight draw knife
Brand
BAFOVY
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
5.0/5(3)
Blade form
Straight
Steel
Tungsten steel
Hardness
HRC30 claimed
Sheath
No
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
441 g
Bevel
Bevel named

Common questions

Is the blade straight?

The blade-shape and blade-type lines say straight. The edge line says bevel, with no angle. No blade length is stated. Weight is 441 g.

Does it include a sheath?

Included components say no.

Can a child buy it because the age field says Kid?

The listing age field says Adults, Kid. That catalogue line is not a licence to sell a knife to someone under 18.

Rvluw 6 inch straight draw knife

Rank 3

Rvluw 6 inch straight draw knife

∼£19

Our view

The Rvluw draw knife states 6 inches in the title and on the item-length line, at about £18.99 and 450 g, with a carbon-steel blade described as fully heat treated and no HRC number. The handles are double wooden. Included components say one draw knife, not a sheath. The model code ends in -UK, while the country of origin says China, so the suffix is a seller code rather than proof of UK manufacture. The only review is a United Kingdom five-star dated 19 July 2026, titled Craft, with the body 5*. That line does not say what was cut. The score is 38 because the length and the steel are unusually clear for this table and the review is not.

Pros

  • 6 inch length is on the title and the item-length line
  • Carbon steel and heat treatment are named, with double wooden handles
  • The box contents are one draw knife, so a sheath is not implied

Cons

  • The only review is the word Craft and a star, with no job described
  • No HRC number and no sheath
  • Listed as made in China despite a model code that ends in -UK

Best for: You want a stated 6 inch carbon-steel draw knife and you do not need a review of the cut.

Less suitable: You want UK sentences about bark or furniture, or a blade around 10 inches.

Specifications

Model
Rvluw 6 inch straight draw knife
Brand
Rvluw
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Blade form
Straight
Blade length
6 in
Steel
Carbon steel
Hardness
Heat treated
Sheath
No
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
450 g

Common questions

How long is this draw knife?

The title and the item-length line both say 6 inches. Weight is 450 g.

What is the blade made of?

The blade-material line says carbon steel. A bullet says it is fully heat treated. No HRC number is given. Handles are wood.

What does the only review say?

One United Kingdom review, rated 5, is titled Craft and the body is 5*. It does not describe a job.

Greensen straight draw knife

Rank 4

Greensen straight draw knife

∼£17

Our view

Greensen’s straight draw knife is about £17.21 and 430 g, with double wooden handles and a tungsten-steel bullet that claims HRC30. amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from five ratings, and the saved listing has no review texts, so the stars do not describe bark, hardwood, or a hone. Included components say no, which means no sheath is listed. The power-source line says AC/DC on a hand tool, which is listing noise. The photograph is the same image file as OVAQUIXI B0F41KSQZQ and BAFOVY B0D78DNFQM, so the picture does not separate the three. Blade length is not stated, and the country of origin is China. The score is 29 because the page names steel and a straight form, then stops.

Pros

  • about £17.21 with tungsten steel and double wooden handles named
  • Straight form is stated, and the missing sheath is explicit
  • 430 g is lighter than the PPI row

Cons

  • 4.8 from five ratings with no review texts
  • Blade length is not stated, and HRC30 is only a bullet
  • The photograph is shared with two other ASINs, and a power line says AC/DC

Best for: You accept a short specification at about £17.21 and you will judge the edge yourself.

Less suitable: You need a unique photograph, a stated length, or a review that describes a cut.

Specifications

Model
Greensen straight draw knife
Brand
Greensen
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.8/5(5)
Blade form
Straight
Steel
Tungsten steel
Hardness
HRC30 claimed
Sheath
No
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
430 g

Common questions

Is a sheath included?

The included-components line says no.

What steel and hardness are claimed?

The bullets and the material line say tungsten steel, and a bullet says HRC30. There is no certificate in the file.

Why does the power line say AC/DC?

That line is in the saved listing. The product is a hand drawknife. Treat AC/DC as listing noise, not as a powered tool.

YWBL-WH straight draw knife

Rank 5

YWBL-WH straight draw knife

∼£19

Our view

The YWBL-WH straight draw knife is about £19.32, weighs 480 g, and carries 4.5 from 78 amazon.co.uk ratings, which is why the score is 62 and why it is the top pick inside this set. Six of the 29 saved review texts are marked United Kingdom. One UK buyer honed and polished it, then cut hardwoods, and called the quality a surprise at the price. Another, new to the tool, made handles and spoons and debarked green wood, and found it pretty sharp. The same UK sample says the blade is not straight, that the metal was hard to sharpen, and that it feels awkward until you practise. There is no sheath: a UK review says it does not come with a cover, which that person accepted in a workshop. The listing claims tungsten steel at HRC30 and a compound bevel, neither of which is a certificate, and the age field says Kid, which does not make a sale to someone under 18 lawful.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 78 ratings, with UK texts that name hardwood, spoons, and green wood
  • about £19.32 with double wooden handles and a stated compound bevel
  • Tungsten steel is named, and the lack of a sheath is explicit

Cons

  • A UK review says the blade is not straight
  • UK reviewers found it awkward and hard to sharpen
  • No cover is supplied
  • HRC30 is a bullet claim, and the age field says Kid

Best for: You will hone a knife around this price and check that the edge is straight enough for your stock before you keep it.

Less suitable: You need a sheath in the box, or a blade a UK reviewer has already called straight.

Specifications

Model
YWBL-WH straight draw knife
Brand
YWBL-WH
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.5/5(78)
Blade form
Straight listed
Steel
Tungsten steel
Hardness
HRC30 claimed
Sheath
No
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
480 g
Bevel
Compound

Common questions

Does it come with a cover?

The included-components line lists the draw knife only. A UK review says it does not come with a cover.

Is the blade straight?

The title and the blade-shape line say straight. One UK review says it is not straight.

What hardness is claimed?

A bullet says tungsten steel at HRC30. That figure is not a certificate in the file.

Tyenaza straight draw shave

Rank 6

Tyenaza straight draw shave

∼£20

Our view

The Tyenaza listing is a straight iron-blade draw shave with wooden handles at about £19.59 and 530 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from two ratings, and the saved listing has no review texts, so there is no record of a log, a hone, or a failure. Blade length, hardness, bevel, and a sheath are not stated. The bullets call the blade sharp iron, which is a material word rather than a grade you can check. The browse label sits under utility knives. With no written reviews and no length, you are buying a title and a weight. The score is 35, which keeps it in the table without treating two silent stars as evidence of a cut.

Pros

  • Straight in the title, with wooden handles
  • 530 g and about £19.59 are both stated
  • Iron is named as the blade material

Cons

  • No review texts behind the 4.5 from two ratings
  • Blade length, hardness, bevel, and sheath are not stated

Best for: You want a low-priced straight draw shave and you will inspect the edge yourself before you rely on it.

Less suitable: You need a stated blade length, a sheath, or reviews that describe a job.

Specifications

Model
Tyenaza straight draw shave
Brand
Tyenaza
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.5/5(2)
Blade form
Straight
Steel
Iron
Handles
Wooden
Weight
530 g

Common questions

What is the blade made of?

The bullets say a sharp iron blade and sturdy iron, with wooden handles. No hardness number is given.

How long is the blade?

The saved listing does not state a blade length. The item weight is 530 g.

What do the reviews say?

amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2 ratings. The saved listing has no review texts, so no praise or complaint is recorded.

PPI 10 inch straight draw knife

Rank 7

PPI 10 inch straight draw knife

∼£38

Our view

The PPI 10 inch straight draw knife from Precise Products, model AH02, is about £38.31 and 649 g, with a sheath named in the included components. The listing shows 4.1 from 234 ratings, the largest count here, but only three of the first 50 saved texts are marked United Kingdom, and those three criticise the price, the grind, or the edge. One UK reviewer said the grind needed a thorough rework, not a quick hone. Another had not used it because it did not feel sharp, after a delivery of about three weeks. The blade-length line says 10 inches and a size line says 25 cm, which is the same length to the nearest centimetre. Hardened steel, high carbon, and tempered all appear, with a compound bevel and no HRC number. The score is 54 because the specification is the fullest in the set and the UK sentences are not praise. Non-UK lines about pine, spruce, ash, or an ill-fitting sheath are not British opinion.

Pros

  • 10 inch straight blade and a sheath in the included components
  • Hardened steel and a compound bevel are named, and the care line says clean, dry, and oil
  • Largest rating count in the set, 4.1 from 234

Cons

  • The three UK texts in a sample of 50 criticise price, grind, or sharpness
  • about £38.31 is about double the rest of this table
  • Most of the written sample is not marked United Kingdom

Best for: You want a stated 10 inch blade and a listed sheath, and you will rework the grind if it arrives as those UK reviews describe.

Less suitable: You want UK reviewers who report a successful peel, or a knife under £21.

Specifications

Model
PPI 10 inch straight draw knife
Brand
PPI
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.1/5(234)
Blade form
Straight
Blade length
10 in
Steel
Hardened steel
Sheath
Yes
Handles
Wooden
Weight
649 g
Bevel
Compound

Common questions

Does this one include a sheath?

Yes. The included-components line says sheath. Some non-UK reviews argue about whether that sheath fits. Those are not UK reviews.

How long is the blade?

The blade-length line and the title say 10 inches. A size line also says 25 cm. Weight is 649 g.

Are the 234 reviews British?

The listing shows 4.1 from 234 ratings. In the first 50 texts saved in the saved listing, 3 are marked United Kingdom, and those three criticise price, grind, or sharpness.

banapoy draw knife

Rank 8

banapoy draw knife

∼£15

Our view

The banapoy draw knife is about £15.43, the lowest price in this set, at 440 g with dimensions 35 × 7 × 5 cm. It shows 4.0 from 13 ratings. Two United Kingdom texts praise it: one says the quality was good and only a slight sharpening made it razor sharp, and another calls it a brilliant tool and value for money. No UK complaint sentence is saved. The title says straight draw shave, and one bullet calls it a curved draw knife, so the file does not settle the shape. Tungsten steel and HRC30 appear as bullet claims, not as a certificate, and a separate blade length is not given. The score is 41, and it is the best value here because it is the cheapest listing that still has UK sentences, with that shape conflict left in view.

Pros

  • about £15.43, the lowest price, with 4.0 from 13 ratings
  • Two UK texts praise the quality after a slight sharpen
  • Overall size 35 × 7 × 5 cm and 440 g are stated

Cons

  • The title says straight and one bullet says curved
  • Blade length is not separate from the 35 cm overall size
  • HRC30 is a claim, and a sheath is not listed

Best for: You want the cheapest row that has UK sentences and you will check whether the blade is straight or curved when it arrives.

Less suitable: You need a settled straight blade, a stated edge length, or a sheath.

Specifications

Model
banapoy draw knife
Brand
banapoy
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.0/5(13)
Blade form
Straight and curved
Steel
Tungsten steel
Hardness
HRC30 claimed
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
440 g

Common questions

Is this a straight or a curved draw knife?

The title says straight draw shave. One bullet calls it a curved draw knife. The file does not resolve that.

What size is listed?

Product dimensions are 35 x 7 x 5 cm and the weight is 440 g. A separate blade length is not given.

What do the UK reviews say?

One UK review praises the quality and says only a slight sharpen was needed. Another calls it a brilliant tool. No UK complaint sentence is in the file.

OVAQUIXI 10 inch drawknife

Rank 9

OVAQUIXI 10 inch drawknife

∼£15

Our view

OVAQUIXI’s drawknife puts 10 inch in the title, at about £15.45 and 441 g, with tungsten steel claimed at HRC30 and double wooden handles. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from one rating, and the saved listing has no review text. The title does not say straight or curved. Bullets say Vane/Wing where a blade description should sit. The photograph is the same file as Greensen B0DBJ8G63H and BAFOVY B0D78DNFQM, so the 10 inch claim is not backed by a picture that belongs only to this ASIN. A sheath is not stated, and the country of origin is China. The score is 22, the lowest in the set, because the price is concrete and almost everything else is shared or missing.

Pros

  • about £15.45 with 10 inch in the title
  • Tungsten steel and wooden handles are named
  • 441 g is stated

Cons

  • One rating and no review text
  • Blade form and sheath are not stated, and the bullets say Vane/Wing
  • The photograph is shared with Greensen and BAFOVY

Best for: You are comparing 10 inch titles at the bottom of the price list and you will not trust the picture alone.

Less suitable: You want a unique photo, a UK review, or a sheath.

Specifications

Model
OVAQUIXI 10 inch drawknife
Brand
OVAQUIXI
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.0/5(1)
Blade length
10 in, title
Steel
Tungsten steel
Hardness
HRC30 claimed
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
441 g

Common questions

How long is the blade?

The title says 10 inch. No separate blade-length specification is in the file. Weight is 441 g.

What hardness is claimed?

A bullet says the blade is tungsten steel at HRC30. That is listing copy, not a certificate.

Is the photograph unique?

The image URL is the same file id as Greensen B0DBJ8G63H and BAFOVY B0D78DNFQM. The listings are still separate ASINs.

Ejoyous straight draw shave

Rank 10

Ejoyous straight draw shave

∼£18

Our view

The Ejoyous straight draw shave is about £17.59 and 410 g, the lightest weight in this set, with tungsten steel and double wooden handles and no hardness number. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from six ratings, and all three saved texts are marked United Kingdom. One reviewer used it and said it did the job. Another said the blade is not straight and curves downwards. A third said the steel by the handle was sharper than the blade and took about 20 minutes to make safe. Included components say no. The image file is the same as Sorandy B0CLFD6V89. The score is 27 because those UK texts describe a curve and a sharp tang on a knife the title calls straight.

Pros

  • A UK reviewer said it did the job
  • 410 g at about £17.59, with tungsten steel named
  • The straight claim is on the title, so you can compare it with the knife that arrives

Cons

  • A UK review says the blade curves downwards
  • Steel beside the handle was sharper than the edge and took about 20 minutes to make safe
  • No hardness, length, or sheath, and the photograph is shared with Sorandy

Best for: You will spend time making the handle area safe and you can return a knife that curves.

Less suitable: You need a straight edge on arrival, or a sheath.

Specifications

Model
Ejoyous straight draw shave
Brand
Ejoyous
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
3.8/5(6)
Blade form
Straight listed
Steel
Tungsten steel
Handles
Double wooden
Weight
410 g

Common questions

Is the blade straight?

The title says straight. A UK review says it is not straight and curves downwards.

Is it safe to pick up as delivered?

A UK review says the steel by the handle was sharper than the blade and took about 20 minutes to make safe. Another UK review says it did the job.

What steel is named?

The blade-material line says tungsten steel. Handles are wood. Weight is 410 g. No hardness number is in the file.

How we compared

For this comparison we scored ten drawknife listings on amazon.co.uk. Prices, stars and review counts are the figures on those listings on 22 October 2026. There was no workshop test and no measured edge test. The method file awards up to 45 points for UK use evidence, 30 for whether length, steel, form and a sheath are stated, and 15 for the price band, then deducts for listing faults. Those four published blocks are weighted 45, 30, 15 and 10 here so the weights sum to 100. In the method file the last block only reduces a score, and the floor is 0.

1

Use points

45%

A UK review that names work done, with 20 or more ratings, scores 45. The same kind of review with under 20 ratings scores 28. UK reviews that only praise the knife, without a named job, and 10 or more ratings, score 24. UK reviews that are only critical, with 50 or more ratings, score 20. A UK review that does not describe work, with under 10 ratings, scores 8. No review text scores 5. Stars from outside the United Kingdom do not add use points.

2

Order points

30%

A blade length on a specification line scores 10. A length that appears only in the title scores 5, unless that photograph is also used by another listing in this set, in which case the title length scores 0. Named steel scores 8. A blade form that is stated and not contradicted by a bullet or a UK review scores 7. A sheath stated as yes or no scores 5. If no review text describes work, order points are capped at 15.

3

Price points

15%

A shelf price under £21 scores 15. From £21 to £30 scores 8. Over £30 scores 4. The price is the amazon.co.uk shelf price in this snapshot. It is not a promise of the next price.

4

Deductions

10%

A UK review that says the blade is not straight, or that it curves, deducts 8. Sharp steel beside the handle deducts 10. Bullets that describe a different product deduct 12. A photograph shared with another listing in this set deducts 6. A title and a bullet that disagree on straight versus curved deduct 6. An age field that says Kid deducts 3. The floor is 0. The weight of 10 is the gap between the 90-point positive ceiling in the method file and 100. The method applies these figures as deductions, not as a 10-point award.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Drawknife buying guide

A drawknife is the tool for a free cut with no sole. Match the job first, then the blade form and the stated length, then whether the listing actually describes a drawknife. A star line is not a UK review unless the text is marked United Kingdom and names a job.

What is a drawknife?

A drawknife is a two-handled blade you pull towards yourself to shave bark and shape wood. You hold one handle in each hand and draw the edge towards you. It has no sole and no depth stop, so the thickness of the shaving is your hands, not a setting on the tool. In the UK it is a green-wood and rough-shaping tool: bark on a short log, a handle blank, or a chair part before a soled tool takes over.

Best for

  • A beginner with a vice or shave horse who will hone first
  • Bark on a short, freshly felled log
  • Rough shaping of a handle or chair part before a soled tool

Not ideal for

  • A fair finished surface, which wants a soled tool
  • A long pole, a chair seat, or a sale to anyone under 18

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading stars as British experience

    A large rating count can sit on texts that are not marked United Kingdom. A five-star line with no review text does not name a job. Read the UK sentences, including the ones that say the blade curves or that the grind needs rework.

  2. 2

    Treating HRC30 or the wrong bullets as proof

    A tungsten-steel or HRC30 bullet is a seller sentence, not a certificate. Bullets that describe a different product are not features of the knife. An age field that says Kid does not make a sale to someone under 18 lawful.

  3. 3

    Skipping the hone, or peeling the wrong bark

    A final hone is expected. Seasoned, dirty bark blunts the edge. Bark peels more easily just after felling, and a long pole is a peeling-spade job. Stop if a weld or a crack is visible.

What to weigh up

Edge, length and the job

High

The job comes first, because a drawknife is not a soled tool. It removes wood quickly and has no depth stop. A spokeshave fairs the surface. A long pole wants a peeling spade. A chair seat wants an inshave. Straight is the general-duty shape for debarking and rounding. Curved or bent is a chairmaking form. An all-round straight knife is about 8–10 inches, with a bevel near 25 degrees.

Listing, sheath and UK reviews

High

The listing has to describe a drawknife. Bullets that belong to another product are not features, even when the title is right. A pencil set and a kitchen knife block were already outside this comparison for that reason. A sheath stated as yes or no is clearer than a silence. Only some pages name one. Then read whose stars you are looking at. Stars from outside the United Kingdom do not count as British use.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Beginner who will hone

You have a vice or a shave horse and you expect to hone before you trust the edge. UK texts on the YWBL-WH name hardwood, spoons and green wood after a hone. A UK review also says the blade is not straight, and there is no sheath.

Bark on a short green log

You want the lowest shelf price among the listings that have UK sentences, and you will check whether the blade is straight or curved when it arrives. Two UK texts on the banapoy praise the quality after a slight sharpen. A separate blade length is not given.

A stated 10 inch blade and a sheath

You want a blade length on the specification line and a sheath in the included components, and you will rework the grind if it arrives as the UK texts describe. Those three UK texts criticise price, grind or sharpness. Shop knives from UK makers are not rows in this table.

Common questions about Drawknives

Which drawknife is the top pick in this set?
The top pick in this set is the YWBL-WH straight draw knife at about £19.32. It scores 62, the highest here, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 78 ratings. UK texts name hardwood, spoons and green wood after a hone. A UK review also says the blade is not straight, and there is no sheath. The HRC30 line is a bullet, not a certificate. The age field says Kid, which does not make a sale to someone under 18 lawful.
Which drawknife is the best value in this set?
The best value in this set is the banapoy draw knife at about £15.43. It scores 41, with 4.0 from 13 amazon.co.uk ratings. It is the lowest shelf price among listings that have UK sentences and are not the top pick. Two UK texts praise the quality after a slight sharpen. The title says straight and one bullet says curved, so the shape is not settled. Blade length and a sheath are not listed.
How much does a drawknife cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these amazon.co.uk listings, nine drawknives sit between about £15.43 and about £20.48. The 10 inch knife that lists a sheath is about £38.31. Those shelf prices are the 22 October 2026 snapshot, not a promise of the next price. UK shop knives sit well above this band and are not rows in this table. A low price still needs a hone and a look at the edge.
What should you check before you buy a drawknife?
Check the job first. A drawknife removes wood quickly and has no sole. A spokeshave fairs the surface, a long pole wants a peeling spade, and a chair seat wants an inshave. Straight is the general-duty shape, about 8–10 inches, with a bevel near 25 degrees as a rule of thumb. The title and the bullets must agree, and the bullets must describe a drawknife. Plan to hone. Read whether a United Kingdom review names a real job.
Can a shop sell a drawknife to someone under 18?
In England and Wales, section 141A of the Criminal Justice Act 1988 makes it an offence to sell a knife to anyone under 18. The pocket-knife exception is a non-locking folder with a cutting edge no longer than 3 inches. A drawknife is not that knife. Scotland’s wording is not a licence to sell one at 16. A listing age field that says Kid does not make a child sale lawful.
Does a hardness claim or a star rating prove the edge?
No. A bullet that says tungsten steel or HRC30 is a seller sentence, not a certificate. No British Standard or DIN number is printed on these listings. HSE guidance on retractable utility knives is not a drawknife standard. A high star line can sit on reviews that are not marked United Kingdom. If the goods are not as described, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 is the route.
When is a drawknife the wrong tool for bark?
Bark peels more easily just after felling. A short, freshly felled log is the usual drawknife job. Large poles are a peeling-spade job, not a two-handled knife. Seasoned, dirty bark is a poor first cut and blunts the edge. If the listing bullets describe a different product, ignore them. Clamp the wood, hone first, and cover the blade when you set it down. If you are unsure the edge is straight, do not start a long peel.
When should you use a block plane instead?
A drawknife has no sole and no depth stop, so it takes a thick, free cut. Use it for bark and rough shaping, with the wood clamped, and cover the edge at rest. A soled tool is the better choice when you need a fair surface. That job is covered in the block plane comparison. At home, stone with the blade facing away and wear a leather glove.

Our verdict

The top pick is the YWBL-WH straight draw knife. It scores 62, at about £19.32, with 4.5 from 78 amazon.co.uk ratings. UK texts name hardwood, spoons and green wood after a hone. A UK review also says the blade is not straight, and there is no sheath. HRC30 is a bullet, not a certificate. The best value is the banapoy draw knife at about £15.43, score 41, with 4.0 from 13 ratings. It is the lowest shelf price among the listings that have UK sentences and are not the top pick. The title says straight and one bullet says curved.

Best overall
Sorandy straight draw shave

Sorandy straight draw shave

View offer
Best value
banapoy draw knife

banapoy draw knife

Lowest shelf price among the listings that have UK sentences and are not the top pick.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Hand toolsWoodworking toolsDIY tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Drawknives

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources for this comparison, last checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. Woodsmith, Drawknives FAQ (2023) (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Tyzack, Kirschen 300 mm straight draw knife (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Thomas Flinn, drawknives (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Crown Hand Tools, drawknives (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Buying and carrying knives (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Criminal Justice Act 1988, section 141A (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. HSE PPS12, safety knives (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. The Conservation Volunteers, tools guide (January 2024) (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Listings, review counts and public sources still decide the comparison. We did not run a lab test.