Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless ratchet comparison 2026

The best cordless ratchets, compared.

Top pick: Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet Best value: Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit – Highest value part among the other tools, with two batteries and metric sockets. Reviews still say you crack the bolt first. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A cordless ratchet is a battery-powered square-drive tool. You fit a socket and the head turns the nut or bolt, so you do not swing a hand ratchet through a tight gap. UK buyers use one when a compressor hose is in the way. Tell a listing apart by the torque it prints, the square size, whether a battery and charger are in the box, and whether the neck will reach the fastener. A 3/8 inch square is the usual size for car work. A 1/4 inch square needs different sockets, and an adapter adds length, not torque. Reviews often say the tool feels weaker than the printed figure. Use it on a fastener that already turns. Crack a tight bolt with a spanner or breaker bar, spin the thread, then set a specified joint with a torque wrench. It is not an impact wrench. How the head sits on a car is set out in [engine-bay access](/hub/hand-tools/cordless-ratchet/sub/cordless-ratchet-engine-bay). If the battery is not in the box, the shelf price is not the cost of the first job.

A cordless ratchet is a battery-powered square-drive tool. You fit a socket and the head turns the nut or bolt, so you do not swing a hand ratchet through a tight gap.

Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet

Best overall

Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet
6.2/10∼ £33

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

11 of 11: Best cordless ratchets compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet
TALOEYH extended DeWalt-fit body
Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo
WORKPRO 12 V single-battery ratchet
werktough 3/8 inch 12 V kit
DURATECH 12 V extended ratchet
ACDelco ARW1210-2P 1/4 inch
Durofix RW1216-3P extended
VTEK 12 V extended ratchet
Best value
Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit
JOJOCY 3/8 inch Makita-fit body
6.2/10
5.9/10
7.4/10
6.3/10
5.7/10
6.3/10
4.9/10
7.2/10
7.6/10
6.1/10
4.6/10
∼ £33
∼ £49
∼ £54
∼ £68
∼ £42
∼ £90
∼ £150
∼ £130
∼ £60
∼ £34
∼ £45
5.0(5)
5.0(2)
4.6(342)
4.5(107)
4.5(80)
4.4(74)
4.4(6)
4.3(516)
4.3(391)
4.3(174)
3.9(34)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best cordless ratchets in detail

Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet

Rank 1

Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet

∼£33

Our view

The Capsste 12 V kit is a short 3/8 inch ratchet at £32.99 that the written reviews use on engine parts and other narrow gaps, with a stated 40 Nm and variable speed up to 300 rpm. The box includes two 1.5 Ah batteries, a fast charger and seven metric sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm, so the shelf price is a complete first kit rather than a bare body. Across five amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 5.0, and the four written texts are broadly positive, including comments that the slim steel head reaches into the bay and that 40 Nm covers most of the bolts they meet. Direction control is not named on the listing, only a safety lock, so you cannot confirm a reverse switch from the listing alone. One reviewer says a promised £6 refund had not arrived, which is a payment complaint rather than a mechanical fault. No repeated failure shows up in these reviews, but five ratings are too small a sample to treat that star line as stronger evidence than tools with hundreds of reviews. The stated length is 25 cm and the weight is 1.3 kg, and there is no printed neck length for a recessed bolt.

Pros

  • Two 1.5 Ah batteries, a charger and seven metric sockets at £32.99
  • Slim head described for engine parts in a five-review sample
  • Stated 40 Nm and variable speed up to 300 rpm
  • No repeated mechanical fault in the four written reviews

Cons

  • Only five amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Forward and reverse are not named on the listing
  • One payment-refund complaint, not a tool fault
  • No printed neck length for a recessed fastener

Best for: You want a cheap complete 12 V metric kit for light car bolts and can live with a five-review sample.

Less suitable: You need a large review pool, a named reverse switch, or a stated neck length.

Specifications

Model
Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet
Brand
Capsste
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
5.0/5(5)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
40 Nm
Free speed
300 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
2 x 1.5 Ah
LED
Yes
Sockets
7 metric, 10–17 mm

Common questions

Are the batteries included?

Yes. The listing says two 1.5 Ah lithium-ion batteries and a fast charger are in the kit.

What sockets are in the box?

The kit bullet lists seven metric sockets: 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17 mm.

Does the listing state a forward and reverse switch?

No. It names a safety lock and variable speed. Direction control is not stated.

TALOEYH extended DeWalt-fit body

Rank 2

TALOEYH extended DeWalt-fit body

∼£49

Our view

The TALOEYH body at £48.99 is sold as a 3/8 inch extended ratchet with a stated 16 cm neck, 80 Nm and 0–400 rpm, and the seller says it fits listed DeWalt 18 V and 20 V packs such as the DCB182 and DCB184. The brand is TALOEYH and the manufacturer line is belistair, so this is not a DeWalt tool, and the box does not include a battery, charger or sockets. Amazon shows 5.0 from two ratings. The only detailed UK review says the torque feels low, a breaker bar is still needed, and the tool is useful after that first crack. The other review is the single word Perfecto, from Spain. Two ratings cannot carry a buying decision, even at a perfect average. The 16 cm figure is the neck in the bullets and also the item-length line, so you do not have a separate overall length. There is no safety-lock line on the listing.

Pros

  • Stated 16 cm neck if you need reach and already own a listed DeWalt pack
  • £48.99 body-only price, with forward and reverse named
  • Stated 80 Nm and 0–400 rpm on the listing
  • The UK review still finds it useful after a breaker bar

Cons

  • Only two amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Not a DeWalt tool, and no battery in the box
  • The only detailed review calls the torque low against the 80 Nm claim
  • No sockets, and no safety lock named

Best for: You own a listed DeWalt 18 V or 20 V pack and want a long neck to try, knowing the sample is two reviews.

Less suitable: You need a proven torque figure, a complete kit, or more than one detailed UK write-up.

Specifications

Model
TALOEYH extended DeWalt-fit body
Brand
TALOEYH
Price
∼£49
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
80 Nm
Free speed
0–400 rpm
Voltage
18/20 V claimed
Battery
Not included
Neck
16 cm
Direction
Forward and reverse
LED
Yes
Sockets
None

Common questions

Does it include a DeWalt battery?

No. The brand is TALOEYH. The listing claims compatibility with named DeWalt 18 V and 20 V packs such as DCB182 and DCB184.

How long is the neck?

The bullets say 16 cm, also written as 6.3 inches. The item-length line is also 16 cm.

What do the two reviews say?

The UK review says torque feels low and a breaker bar is still needed, and that the tool is useful after that. The other review is one word.

Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo

Rank 3

Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo

∼£54

Our view

The Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo at £53.99 is an 18 V Power X-Change body that UK reviewers use to run nuts on home car jobs once they already own a pack. The amazon listing states 60 Nm on a 3/8 inch drive, includes a 3/8 to 1/2 adapter, and says the tool can also be used as a hand ratchet. Battery and charger are not in the box, so £53.99 is not the cost to first use unless a Power X-Change pack is already on the shelf. The line is 4.6 from 342 reviews, the highest star average here with a large sample, and the published score is 64, two points behind the top pick. Owners call it light at the listed 820 g and useful for speeding up repairs, and they say it is for running nuts rather than breaking them like an impact wrench. One buyer received a first unit with no torque and had it replaced. Einhell’s manual for part 4514320 says the tool is not designed for commercial or industrial use. Amazon does not print a free speed; Einhell’s sheet for this part number states 0–260 per minute, and the listing head-style line says Open End, which conflicts with the square-drive bullets.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 342 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a stated 60 Nm
  • £53.99 body price if you already own Power X-Change
  • Listing says it can also be used as a hand ratchet
  • 3/8 to 1/2 adapter included; owners call it light at 820 g

Cons

  • No battery, charger or sockets in the box
  • One unit arrived with no torque and was replaced
  • Manual says it is not for commercial or industrial use
  • Amazon does not print rpm, and the head-style line conflicts with the square drive

Best for: You already own Einhell 18 V batteries and want a compact ratchet for spinning fasteners at home.

Less suitable: You need a battery in the box, a trade-rated tool, or an extended neck printed on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£54
Customer rating
4.6/5(342)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
60 Nm
Voltage
18 V
Battery
Not included
Direction
Forward and reverse
LED
Yes
Sockets
Adapter only

Common questions

Is the battery included at £53.99?

No. The title and bullets say Power X-Change without a battery or charger. You need a pack you already own, or the price is not the cost to first use.

What drive does it use?

3/8 inch, and the box includes an adapter to 1/2 inch. The listing head-style line also says Open End, which does not match the square-drive bullets.

Can it be used as a normal ratchet?

The listing says it can also be used as a hand ratchet. Einhell’s own manual for 4514320 says the same, and says the tool is not designed for commercial or industrial use.

WORKPRO 12 V single-battery ratchet

Rank 4

WORKPRO 12 V single-battery ratchet

∼£68

Our view

The WORKPRO 12 V ratchet at £67.99 is a single-battery 3/8 inch kit that UK reviewers use on a car at home, with a stated 55 Nm and up to 200 rpm. Weight with the battery is given as 1.3 kg. The box holds one 2.0 Ah pack, a charger the listing says fills it in about an hour, seven metric sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm, a 3 inch extension, a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter and a bag. The line is 4.5 from 107 reviews, mostly UK, and owners call the accessories a proper kit and say it saves the wrist on repeated nuts if you help the tight ones. The common gap is the single battery. One owner says it would not undo a 12 mm bolt the car manual put near 30 Nm, and one unit stopped completely after three months. There is no extended-neck length, and direction control is not named. A notice on the listing says to recharge after use and at least every three months.

Pros

  • Stated 55 Nm, seven metric sockets, an extension, an adapter and a bag
  • 4.5 from 107 reviews, with home car use reported
  • Charger stated at about one hour for the 2.0 Ah pack
  • Reviewers who like it call it easy to hold

Cons

  • Only one battery in the box
  • One review against a bolt the owner expected to be within about 30 Nm
  • One unit stopped after three months
  • No named reverse switch and no neck length

Best for: You want one complete metric kit and will charge the single pack between jobs.

Less suitable: You need a spare battery in the box, or a tool that has not drawn an early-failure report.

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 12 V single-battery ratchet
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£68
Customer rating
4.5/5(107)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
55 Nm
Free speed
200 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
1 x 2.0 Ah
LED
Yes
Sockets
7 metric, 10–17 mm

Common questions

How many batteries are in the box?

One 12 V 2.0 Ah pack and a charger the listing says will fill it in about an hour. Reviews mention the single battery as the main gap.

What is the stated torque and speed?

55 Nm and up to 200 rpm. Weight with the battery is given as 1.3 kg.

Did any review report a failure?

Yes. One UK review says the tool stopped completely after three months. Another says it would not undo a 12 mm bolt the owner expected to be within 30 Nm.

werktough 3/8 inch 12 V kit

Rank 5

werktough 3/8 inch 12 V kit

∼£42

Our view

The werktough 12 V kit at £41.99 is a slim 3/8 inch body that UK reviews treat as enough for small jobs, with a stated 54 Nm, also printed as 40 ft-lb, and 280 rpm. Two 1500 mAh batteries charge from a USB Type-C cable, the only kit in this set that clearly names that method, and the listing claims about an hour of use after a 2.5 hour charge. The sockets in the box are imperial: 3/8, 15/32, 1/2, 9/16, 19/32 and 11/16 inch, plus a 75 mm extension, so they do not match the metric fasteners on a typical UK car. Across 80 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, and owners call it solid for the money if the job is small and the access is tight. The repeated criticism is power: you still crack a really tight nut by hand, and one reviewer says it is not enough beyond small jobs. Another says the battery clips do not hold the pack, so they improvise a fix. Direction change is not named on the listing.

Pros

  • Stated 54 Nm and 280 rpm, two batteries and USB-C charging
  • 4.5 from 80 reviews, with months of use reported by one owner
  • Slim body for tight access on small jobs
  • Case and sockets included if you work in inches

Cons

  • Included sockets are imperial, not metric
  • Repeated reviews say power is short of a stuck fastener
  • Battery clips failed to hold the pack in one detailed review
  • Forward and reverse are not named on the listing

Best for: You work in inches, want USB-C charging, and will crack tight nuts by hand.

Less suitable: You need metric sockets for a UK car, or a pack that stays clipped without a workaround.

Specifications

Model
werktough 3/8 inch 12 V kit
Brand
werktough
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.5/5(80)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
54 Nm
Free speed
280 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
2 x 1.5 Ah
LED
Yes
Sockets
6 imperial

Common questions

Are the sockets metric?

No. The listing lists 3/8, 15/32, 1/2, 9/16, 19/32 and 11/16 inch sockets, plus a 75 mm extension.

How does it charge?

By a USB Type-C cable. The bullet says about one hour of use from a 2.5 hour charge, with two 1500 mAh packs.

Do owners find the torque enough?

Some UK reviews call it good for the money and for small jobs. Others say a very tight nut still needs cracking by hand, and one says the battery clips do not hold.

DURATECH 12 V extended ratchet

Rank 6

DURATECH 12 V extended ratchet

∼£90

Our view

The DURATECH 12 V ratchet at £89.99 is the long tool in the mid band, with an overall length stated as 395 mm, a slim 3/8 inch head, 60 Nm and 180 rpm. Two 2000 mAh batteries, a charger stated at about one hour, eight metric sockets from 9 mm to 17 mm, an extension, a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter and a bag are included, and forward and reverse sit on the back of the head. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 74 reviews. Several buyers say the build beat the price they expected, one reports heavy weekly use, and the length is called versatile. The same length is the complaint in another review, which calls it bulky and too long, and one buyer says torque is the letdown. It is also described as heavier than expected, and at 180 rpm it is the slowest free speed printed in this set. The 395 mm figure is an overall length, not a neck measurement you can line up against a 4 inch or 6 inch neck.

Pros

  • Stated 60 Nm, two batteries and eight metric sockets from 9 mm
  • 395 mm overall length when you have measured a long reach
  • Forward and reverse on the back of the head
  • 4.4 from 74 reviews, including a report of weekly use

Cons

  • £89.99, and one review calls the length too bulky
  • 180 rpm is the slowest stated free speed in this set
  • One review says torque is the weak point
  • Heavier than some buyers expected

Best for: You have measured a long reach under the bonnet and want two batteries plus a wide metric socket set.

Less suitable: You work in a tight bay where 395 mm will not clear, or you want a faster stated free speed.

Specifications

Model
DURATECH 12 V extended ratchet
Brand
DURATECH
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
4.4/5(74)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
60 Nm
Free speed
180 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
2 x 2.0 Ah
Neck
395 mm
Direction
Forward and reverse
LED
Yes
Sockets
8 metric, 9–17 mm

Common questions

How long is it?

The compact-design bullet says 395 mm, with a slim 3/8 inch head. One UK review calls that bulky and too long. Others call the length versatile.

What comes in the box?

Two 2000 mAh batteries, a quick charger, eight sockets from 9 mm to 17 mm, an extension, a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter and a bag.

Where is the direction switch?

The listing places a forward and reverse switch on the back of the head.

ACDelco ARW1210-2P 1/4 inch

Rank 7

ACDelco ARW1210-2P 1/4 inch

∼£150

Our view

The ACDelco ARW1210-2P at £149.99 is the only 1/4 inch ratchet in this comparison, a brushless G12 tool with a stated 60 Nm and 45 ft-lb and a free speed of 0–195 rpm. One battery and a charger are included, and socket sizes are not listed. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from six ratings. Two review texts are on the page: a UK review that says Excellent and nothing further, and an Italy review that calls the tool large and awkward and says it skipped some turns within two weeks. The item-weight line says 797 g and a specification bullet says 1.4 kg, and the listing does not say which figure includes the battery. A forward and reverse label is not on the listing, though safety lock switches are named. At this price, six ratings and a conflicting weight leave little evidence that UK buyers have checked the brushless claim or the 60 Nm line. It is a different drive from the ten 3/8 inch rows, so a 3/8 socket set does not fit unless you add an adapter the box does not list.

Pros

  • The only 1/4 inch drive in this set, brushless, stated 60 Nm
  • One battery and a charger included on the G12 platform
  • Both 60 Nm and 45 ft-lb are printed
  • Safety lock switches are named

Cons

  • £149.99 with 4.4 from only six ratings
  • Two weights printed, 797 g and 1.4 kg
  • One review reports skipped rotation within two weeks
  • No socket list, and the drive is not 3/8 inch

Best for: You specifically need a 1/4 inch G12 ratchet and will check the live listing because the sample is six reviews.

Less suitable: You want 3/8 inch sockets, a large UK review pool, or a single clear weight.

Specifications

Model
ACDelco ARW1210-2P 1/4 inch
Brand
ACDelco
Price
∼£150
Customer rating
4.4/5(6)
Drive
1/4 inch
Stated torque
60 Nm
Free speed
0–195 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
1 included
LED
Yes
Sockets
None

Common questions

Is the drive 3/8 inch?

No. This model is 1/4 inch. The 3/8 inch extended tool in the same G12 naming is the Durofix RW1216-3P, a different ASIN.

Why are there two weights?

The item-weight line says 797 g. A specification bullet says tool weight 1.4 kg. The file does not say which includes the battery.

How many reviews are there?

The listing shows 4.4 from 6. Two review texts are on the page, one of them a single word.

Durofix RW1216-3P extended

Rank 8

Durofix RW1216-3P extended

∼£130

Our view

The Durofix RW1216-3P at £129.99 is a 12 V G12 extended ratchet with a stated 6 inch neck, 65 foot-pounds and 0–260 rpm, and the largest rating count in this comparison at 4.3 from 516. A large share of the written reviews are marked United States or another country, so those paragraphs are not UK owners. The kit is one battery, a charger and a canvas bag, with a socket set named but sizes not listed, and the battery capacity is not on the listing. Reviews that praise it talk about a solid feel once a bolt is already cracked, early battery life, the long reach, the LED and a lock for manual use. The repeated limit is the same as on cheaper rows: it does not undo tight bolts, and final tightening is weak, so the lock and a hand pull are part of using it. A separate bullet says the body is moulded for hand torque up to 100 ft-lb, which is not the motor figure, and owners also call the tool heavy. One report, in a US review, says the 3/8 drive failed after about 10 months, and the score here is 62, behind the VTEK and the Einhell, despite the review count.

Pros

  • Stated 6 inch neck, and 4.3 from 516 ratings
  • Variable speed 0–260 rpm, an LED and a safety lock
  • G12 battery, shared with other G12 tools on the listing
  • Described as useful once the bolt is already cracked

Cons

  • £129.99, and many written reviews are not from the UK
  • Repeated comments that it will not undo tight bolts
  • One battery, capacity not stated, and socket sizes not listed
  • One US report of the drive failing after about 10 months

Best for: You want the longest stated neck in this set and you already accept a crack-first ratchet at a higher price.

Less suitable: You need UK-only review texts, two batteries in the box, or a tool that breaks stubborn bolts.

Specifications

Model
Durofix RW1216-3P extended
Brand
Durofix
Price
∼£130
Customer rating
4.3/5(516)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
65 ft-lb
Free speed
0–260 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
1 included
Neck
6 inch
LED
Yes
Sockets
Sizes not listed

Common questions

Is this the long-neck Durofix?

Yes. The listing says a 6 inch extended neck, model RW1216-3P, with one G12 battery, a charger and a canvas bag.

What torque does the listing print?

65 foot pounds, and 0–260 rpm. It also mentions hand torque up to 100 ft-lb, which is a different line from the motor figure. It does not print newton-metres.

Are the written reviews all from the UK?

The star line is 4.3 from 516 on amazon.co.uk. Many of the review texts are marked United States or another country.

VTEK 12 V extended ratchet

Rank 9

VTEK 12 V extended ratchet

∼£60

Our view

The VTEK 12 V extended ratchet at £59.99 is the tool in this set that UK reviewers most often describe as handy in an engine bay, with a stated 4 inch neck, a compact 3/8 inch head and a variable trigger from 0 to 400 rpm. The listing prints 40 foot-pounds, not newton-metres, and the box includes two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger, seven metric sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm, a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter and a tool box. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.3 from 391 reviews, and the score in this comparison is 66, the highest of the eleven, which is why it is the top pick here. Praise clusters around access, the two-battery kit and DIY car work. One owner disputes the 40 ft-lb claim outright, one says both batteries need charging after a decent job, and another calls it a bit noisy. The item-length line says 10.2 cm while the bullets say a 4 inch neck, so those two figures should be read as printed rather than merged into one measurement. Direction is not named as a forward and reverse switch, and this is a listing-and-review score, not a lab result.

Pros

  • Highest score in this set, from 4.3 and 391 reviews
  • Stated 4 inch neck, with reviews that name engine-bay access
  • Two 2.0 Ah batteries and seven metric sockets in the box
  • Variable trigger stated at 0–400 rpm

Cons

  • Torque is printed as 40 ft-lb, not as newton-metres
  • One UK review disputes that torque claim
  • One review says a bigger job empties both batteries
  • Item length 10.2 cm and the 4 inch neck bullet are separate printed figures

Best for: You want a complete 12 V kit with a stated longer neck and a large UK review sample for spinning bolts in a bay.

Less suitable: You need the torque printed in Nm, a battery platform you already own, or breakaway performance the reviews do not promise.

Specifications

Model
VTEK 12 V extended ratchet
Brand
VTEK
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.3/5(391)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
40 ft-lb
Free speed
0–400 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
2 x 2.0 Ah
Neck
4 inch
LED
Yes
Sockets
7 metric, 10–17 mm

Common questions

How long is the neck?

The bullets say a 4 inch neck with a compact 3/8 inch head. The item-length line separately says 10.2 cm, so those two figures are not the same measurement.

Are two batteries included?

Yes. Two 2.0 Ah lithium batteries, a charger, seven metric sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm, a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter and a tool box.

Is 40 ft-lb printed as newton-metres?

No. This listing prints 40 foot pounds. It does not print a newton-metre figure.

Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit

Rank 10

Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit

∼£34

Our view

At £33.99 the Huini 12 V kit is the tool UK reviewers treat as a spinner after a spanner has cracked the bolt, not as the tool that breaks it. The listing states 40 Nm and 300 rpm, a forward and reverse switch, a safety lock, two 1.5 Ah batteries, seven metric sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm and a case. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.3 from 174 reviews, a much larger sample than the 5.0 kits at a similar price, which is why this row carries the best-value mark in this set. Several reviews say it is handy in a tight space and light next to an impact gun, and one owner uses it at work. The same reviews say it is not powerful enough for a very tight bolt, one of the two batteries does not hold a charge for long, and one unit barely undid bolts torqued to 10 Nm after under five months. You should not expect the trigger to finish a joint to a specified torque. Direction is named here, which the similar Capsste listing does not do, but the power limit is the repeated complaint.

Pros

  • £33.99 with two batteries, metric sockets and a case
  • 4.3 from 174 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Forward and reverse plus a safety lock are named
  • Reviewers use it in tight spaces once the bolt is cracked

Cons

  • Repeated comments that it will not shift a very tight bolt
  • One of the two batteries goes flat quickly, in reviews
  • One unit weakened within five months on bolts at 10 Nm
  • Stated 40 Nm is the low end of this comparison

Best for: You want a complete cheap kit for spinning nuts you have already freed, and you will keep a spanner for the first turn.

Less suitable: You need more than a 40 Nm claim, or a tool reviewers do not describe as crack-first.

Specifications

Model
Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit
Brand
Huini
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.3/5(174)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
40 Nm
Free speed
300 rpm
Voltage
12 V
Battery
2 x 1.5 Ah
Direction
Forward and reverse
LED
Yes
Sockets
7 metric, 10–17 mm

Common questions

Will it undo a tight bolt on its own?

The listing states 40 Nm. Several UK reviews say you still crack a tight bolt with a spanner, then use this to spin it off.

How many batteries are included?

Two 12 V 1.5 Ah packs and a fast charger. One reviewer says one of the two does not hold a charge for long.

What else is in the kit?

Seven sockets from 10 mm to 17 mm, a carrying case and gloves.

JOJOCY 3/8 inch Makita-fit body

Rank 11

JOJOCY 3/8 inch Makita-fit body

∼£45

Our view

The JOJOCY listing is a 3/8 inch body at £44.99 with no battery and no sockets, and the seller claims it fits named Makita 18 V packs such as the BL1830 and BL1850. The brand line is JOJOCY and the manufacturer line is cooponmile, so this is not a Makita tool. The title states 80 Nm and 320 rpm, with forward and reverse, a variable trigger, a safety lock and an LED. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 34 reviews, the lowest star average in this comparison. One UK owner uses it nearly every day and calls it pretty powerful, and a French review says a Makita-type battery fitted. Other texts, including UK and non-UK reviews, say the opposite of the 80 Nm line: one could not tighten an M8 to 30 Nm, another says it stopped after a handful of uses between March and July, and some describe little or no power. A French buyer of a reconditioned unit says parts were missing. The lower price only helps if a pack you already own actually fits, and the stated torque is disputed in more than one review.

Pros

  • £44.99 body if you already own a listed Makita 18 V pack
  • Forward, reverse, variable trigger and a safety lock are named
  • One UK owner reports near-daily use
  • Stated 80 Nm and 320 rpm on the listing

Cons

  • No battery, charger or sockets in the box
  • Not a Makita tool; fit is a seller claim
  • 3.9 from 34, with power far below 80 Nm in more than one review
  • One UK report of it stopping after light use

Best for: You already have a Makita 18 V pack and will treat 80 Nm as a printed claim, not a measured result.

Less suitable: You need a kit that includes cells, or reviews that support the torque line.

Specifications

Model
JOJOCY 3/8 inch Makita-fit body
Brand
JOJOCY
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
3.9/5(34)
Drive
3/8 inch
Stated torque
80 Nm
Free speed
320 rpm
Voltage
18 V claimed
Battery
Not included
Direction
Forward and reverse
LED
Yes
Sockets
None

Common questions

Is a Makita battery in the box?

No. The listing is tool only and names Makita 18 V packs it claims to fit, including BL1830, BL1850 and BL1860.

Is this a Makita tool?

No. The brand line is JOJOCY and the manufacturer line is cooponmile. Makita appears only as a compatibility claim.

Do the reviews support 80 Nm?

Not as a group. One UK review calls it powerful in daily use. Another says it would not tighten an M8 to 30 Nm, and another says it stopped after light use.

How we compared

Eleven cordless ratchet listings on amazon.co.uk were scored from the star rating, the size of the review sample, what the review notes say about real use, and value inside this set. There was no lab and no torque bench. A newton-metre or foot-pound figure is the figure the listing prints. The highest score is the top pick, once. The highest value part among the others is best value, once.

1

Star rating

35%

The amazon.co.uk star rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 35, rounded to the nearest whole number. Halves round up. This is a listing average, not a lab score.

2

Review sample

20%

200 or more ratings score 12. From 100 to 199 scores 8. From 20 to 99 scores 4. Under 20 scores 1. A small perfect average does not outrank a large sample.

3

Use in the reviews

30%

Taken from the review notes only. A large sample with repeated use scores higher than two or three short texts. Tight access with an extended neck, or a speed control people actually use, adds points. A fault named more than once, a failed or replaced unit, or power described as below the printed figure reduces the part.

4

Value in this set

15%

A lower shelf price scores more, then a printed torque, free speed, voltage or battery arrangement, and a named direction change or variable speed. A larger rating count adds points. A rating under 4.0, a count under 10, or a repeated fault reduces the part. The highest value part among the tools that are not the top score is best value.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Cordless ratchet buying guide

Choose the job first, then the square, then whether a battery is in the box, then the neck. The notes below are those checks. The table is the eleven listings on amazon.co.uk. Shelf prices run from £32.99 to £149.99. A stated newton-metre or foot-pound figure is the claim on the listing, not a bench result. Star ratings are listing averages. A 5.0 from two or five ratings is weaker evidence than a large sample.

What is a cordless ratchet?

A cordless ratchet is a battery tool with a male square that drives a socket. The motor turns the square so you can run a nut or bolt where a hand ratchet needs room to swing. In the UK, home garages and small workshops buy one when a compressor hose is in the way. The usual square for car fasteners is 3/8 inch. A 1/4 inch tool is a smaller drive and needs its own sockets. It is not an impact wrench. An impact wrench hammers the fastener. A cordless ratchet spins it.

Best for

  • Spinning covers and brackets after the bolt is cracked, with no compressor
  • A 12 V kit when you do not already own a battery platform

Not ideal for

  • Breaking corroded suspension bolts or setting a wheel-nut torque
  • A third-party 18 V body when you cannot confirm the pack fits

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading an impact label as impact-wrench torque

    A cordless ratchet spins a fastener. It does not hammer it the way an impact wrench does. A title that says impact is not a measured breakaway figure. Crack a tight bolt with a spanner or breaker bar first.

  2. 2

    Trusting 80 Nm on a third-party body, or imperial sockets on a metric car

    A seller line that names another brand’s 18 V packs is a compatibility claim, not a tool from that brand. Reviews dispute high torque figures on those bodies. Imperial sockets in the box will not fit the metric fasteners on a typical UK car.

  3. 3

    Treating a body-only price as ready to use, or leaving wheel nuts to the trigger

    If the battery is not in the box, the shelf price is not the cost of the first job. A road wheel needs the handbook figure and a torque wrench. The MOT inspection manual treats a loose wheel nut as a defect.

What to weigh up

Job, drive and stated torque

High

The first check is the job. A cordless ratchet spins a fastener that already turns. It is the wrong purchase if you need to break a corroded suspension bolt or set a torque figure. Crack the bolt with a spanner or breaker bar, run the thread with the ratchet, then finish a specified joint with a torque wrench. Square drive is next. In UK car work the usual square is 3/8 inch. A 1/4 inch tool needs 1/4 inch sockets. An adapter adds length and does not add torque.

Battery, neck and evidence

High

A closed 12 V kit includes its own pack and charger. Those packs are not interchangeable across brands. A platform body is priced without a battery, so the shelf price is not the cost of first use unless you already own that system. A third-party body that claims another maker’s 18 V shoe is a seller compatibility claim. The lower price counts only if your pack fits, and reviews dispute high torque lines on those bodies. Neck is reach against bulk.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home garage, no compressor

You spin covers and brackets after the bolt is cracked, and you do not want a compressor hose in the bay. A complete 12 V kit with a stated longer neck matches that job. It will not break a seized suspension bolt, and it will not set a torque figure.

You already own the packs

You already own an 18 V Power X-Change pack, so a body-only price is an add-on rather than the cost of first use. The manual says this model is not designed for commercial or industrial use. The amazon listing does not print an extended neck or a free speed.

Complete kit, crack the bolt first

You want batteries, metric sockets and a case in the box, and you will crack the first turn with a spanner. This row is best value: the highest value part among the tools that are not the top score. Reviews still say it will not shift a very tight bolt.

Common questions about cordless ratchets

What is a cordless ratchet for?
A cordless ratchet is a battery tool that turns a square-drive socket so you can run a nut or bolt without swinging a hand ratchet. In the UK it is used in an engine bay or a home garage when a compressor hose is awkward. Use it on a fastener that already turns. Crack a tight bolt with a spanner or breaker bar, spin the thread with the ratchet, and finish a specified joint with a torque wrench.
How do I choose the drive size?
Start with the square. Car work of this kind is usually 3/8 inch. A 1/4 inch cordless ratchet needs 1/4 inch sockets. An adapter joins the two sizes and adds length. It does not add torque. Match the sockets you already own. If the sockets in the box are imperial, they will not fit the metric fasteners on a typical UK car. Read the socket list before you treat the box as a complete kit for a UK vehicle.
Should I trust the torque figure on the listing?
Read the torque as a claim, in the units the listing prints. Some pages use newton-metres, some use foot-pounds, and a few print both. Reviews often say the tool feels weaker than the title, especially before the bolt has been cracked. Do not read the word impact on a listing as impact-wrench torque. A stated 80 Nm line on a body that only claims to fit another brand’s packs is still a printed claim. Nothing here was measured on a torque bench.
Does the battery come in the box?
Check the listing, because the types are not the same price to first use. A closed 12 V kit includes its own pack and charger, and those packs are not shared across brands. A body-only tool is cheaper on the shelf only if you already own a matching pack. If you do not, add a battery and a charger. A line that names another brand’s 18 V packs is a compatibility claim, not a tool made by that brand. Confirm the pack fits.
Can I use a cordless ratchet on wheel nuts?
No. Finish a road wheel to the figure in the vehicle handbook with a torque wrench. The MOT inspection manual treats a loose wheel nut as a defect. A cordless ratchet does not replace that wrench. Reviews describe these tools as spinners after a bolt is already free, not as the tool that breaks a seized fixing. If you lack the figure and a torque wrench, or the joint is a wheel, brake, steering part or suspension part, stop and use a professional.
Cordless ratchet or air ratchet?
Choose a cordless ratchet when you do not want a compressor hose in the bay. An air ratchet needs that compressor and a hose. If the hose is already how you work, the air ratchet comparison is the next page, not another battery platform. Either way the tool is a ratchet, not an impact wrench. You still crack a tight bolt first, and you still finish a specified joint with a torque wrench.
What applies if this is work equipment?
If an employer supplies the tool, PUWER requires equipment that is suitable and maintained. The Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 set a daily action value of 2.5 m/s² A(8) and a limit of 5.0 m/s² A(8). The Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 use action values of 80 and 85 dB(A) and a limit of 87 dB(A). One manual in the sources prints 4.618 m/s² and LpA 86.3 dB(A). That is not a daily dose.
When should I stop and get help?
Stop if you have rounded or snapped a fastener, if a battery or charger looks damaged, or if you are about to torque a wheel, brake, steering part or suspension part without the handbook figure and a torque wrench. At home, Consumer Rights Act 2015 section 19 is the route when goods are not as described. A 5.0 line from two or five ratings is weaker evidence than a large amazon.co.uk sample. Quality is not the star line on its own.

Our verdict

The highest score is the VTEK 12 V extended ratchet, the top pick: 4.3 from 391 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 4 inch neck, two 2.0 Ah batteries and seven metric sockets. The listing prints 40 ft-lb rather than newton-metres, one review disputes that claim, and the item-length line does not match the neck bullet. Best value is the Huini 12 V kit. It has the highest value part among the tools that are not the top score, at £33.99, with two batteries, metric sockets and 4.3 from 174 reviews. Reviews say you still crack a tight bolt first, and one unit weakened within five months. Einhell is two points behind VTEK on the total and does not take a second award. It suits someone who already owns Power X-Change.

Best overall
Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet

Capsste 12 V 3/8 inch ratchet

View offer
Best value
Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit

Huini 12 V 3/8 inch kit

Highest value part among the other tools, with two batteries and metric sockets. Reviews still say you crack the bolt first.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY and tools editor
DIY and tools editor
DIY and toolsHand toolsWorkshop kit

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to cordless ratchets

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. Auto Express, Best cordless ratchets 2026 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. HSE, vibration duties (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. HSE, vibration regulations (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 19 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. GOV.UK MOT inspection manual, wheels (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Einhell TE-RW 18/60 Li-Solo (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The notes come from amazon.co.uk listings, review text and public UK sources, not from a lab test.