Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

9 kW fan heater comparison 2026

The best 9 kW fan heaters, compared.

Top pick: DAHTEC BG-C9/3 – Highest score: one written UK review, 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, IP24, tip-over and overheat protection, at about £105.03. Three ratings, and the thermostat prints 40 °C twice. Best value: DAHTEC BGP1506-09 – About £69.00 with printed 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W steps and a stated rejection of a household socket. Not the lowest price alone. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A 9 kW fan heater for a UK garage or workshop is a portable electric blower with a resistance element. It is meant for a 400 V or 415 V three-phase supply and a 16 A industrial connector. It will not run from a BS 1363 13 A socket. A 13 A plug is in the order of 3 kW. You tell a usable listing from a trap by the voltage line, the heat steps and the plug. Useful pages print fan-only plus a middle step around 4.5 kW or 6 kW, then 9 kW. Search hits at 2.0 kW or 2.8 kW stay out of this table. The [three-phase supply guide](/hub/portable-heaters/9kw-fan-heater/sub/9kw-fan-heater-three-phase-supply) sets out the socket checks before you order. It is not a larger version of a domestic 2 kW heater. At 400 V, 9 kW is about 13 A, which is why a manual that names a plug specifies a 16 A outlet. A middle step around 4,500 W or 6,000 W is the usual pattern. Three-phase coil heaters with 4.5 kW and 9 kW steps are the common trade pattern here:, 9001, and the and /3. The title says ceramic and the element field says coil.

A 9 kW fan heater for a UK garage or workshop is a portable electric blower with a resistance element. It is meant for a 400 V or 415 V three-phase supply and a 16 A industrial connector.

DAHTEC BG-C9/3

Best overall

DAHTEC BG-C9/3
7.2/10∼ £105

26 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

7 of 7: Best 9 kW fan heaters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
DAHTEC BG-C9/3
Best value
DAHTEC BGP1506-09
Sealey EH9001
DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G black
SIP Turbofan 9001
DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G silver
Sealey PEH9001
7.2/10
6.0/10
5.0/10
6.2/10
5.7/10
5.4/10
4.6/10
∼ £105
∼ £69
∼ £189
∼ £127
∼ £179
∼ £149
∼ £154
5.0(3)
2.9(6)
1.0(1)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What do you want named on the listing?

The best 9 kW fan heaters in detail

DAHTEC BG-C9/3

Rank 1

DAHTEC BG-C9/3

∼£105

Our view

The DAHTEC BG-C9/3 is a 9 kW fan heater listed at about £105.03 that the one written amazon.co.uk review, dated 17 December 2025, says does what the listing claimed and warms a workshop. The star line is 5.0 from three ratings, so two of those ratings have no text you can read. The page prints 400 V, steps of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, IP24, tip-over protection, overheat protection, a delayed fan shutdown and a 1.60 m cable, and it names stainless steel elements. It does not state whether the connector is a household plug or an industrial one, and it does not print a coverage figure. The thermostat fields show 40 °C as both the minimum and the maximum, which is not a usable range. At 11.5 kg it is the heaviest unit in this set. Three ratings and a single written review are too small a sample to treat as a reliability record, even though that review does not describe a fault.

Pros

  • One written UK review says it warms a workshop and matches the listing
  • Printed steps of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W
  • IP24, tip-over protection, overheat protection and a delayed fan shutdown
  • 1.60 m cable stated, at about £105.03

Cons

  • Thermostat fields print 40 °C as both minimum and maximum
  • Plug type and coverage are not stated
  • Only three ratings, and only one of them has review text

Best for: You already have a 400 V supply and want the only listing in this set with a written UK review plus a stated tip-over switch.

Less suitable: You need a printed rejection of a 13 A socket, a usable thermostat range, or a coverage figure in cubic metres.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC BG-C9/3
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£105
Customer rating
5.0/5(3)
Supply
400 V
Heat steps
52 W, 4.5 kW, 9 kW
Thermostat
40 °C and 40 °C
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Tip-over switch
Yes
Fan-only
52 W
IP rating
IP24
Element
Stainless steel
Cable
1.60 m
Weight
11.5 kg

Common questions

What supply does the DAHTEC BG-C9/3 need?

The listing prints 400 V AC. It does not say whether that is a domestic 13 A plug or an industrial connector, and it does not print a pin count.

Does the BG-C9/3 have tip-over protection?

Yes. The bullets state tip-over protection, overheat protection, IP24 and a delayed fan shutdown, plus a 1.60 m cable.

What do the reviews say?

The star line is 5.0 from 3 ratings. The only written UK review, from 17 December 2025, says the heater does what the listing said and warms a workshop. It does not describe a fault.

DAHTEC BGP1506-09

Rank 2

DAHTEC BGP1506-09

∼£69

Our view

The DAHTEC BGP1506-09 is the lowest price in this set at about £69.00, listed as a 400 V three-phase heater with steps of 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W that will not run from a 220–240 V household socket. The amazon.co.uk line is 2.9 from six ratings. Two UK reviews describe the plug as industrial: one says six pins, and another says an industrial 13 A three-pin plug, which is the complaint if you expected a normal 13 A household socket. The title says industrial ceramic heaters and the heating-element field says coil, so those two lines disagree. A stepless thermostat is printed with a maximum of 85 °C, plus overheat protection, and the bullets say not to cover it and not to use it in damp areas. No IP code, tip-over switch or cable length is printed. Coverage is claimed as 861 sq ft. At 6.9 kg it is the lightest unit here, and six ratings are still too few to treat the 2.9 as a settled verdict.

Pros

  • About £69.00, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • Printed steps of 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W on 400 V
  • Listing says it is not for a household socket, and quotes 16 A
  • Stepless thermostat to a stated maximum of 85 °C, plus overheat protection

Cons

  • 2.9 from six ratings, with UK reviews describing an industrial plug
  • Title says ceramic and the element field says coil
  • No IP code, no tip-over line and no cable length
  • Bullets say not to use it in damp areas

Best for: You already have a matching 400 V industrial socket and you want the lowest price here against printed 6 kW and 9 kW steps.

Less suitable: You need a BS 1363 plug, an IP rating, a tip-over switch, or a listing whose title and element field agree.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC BGP1506-09
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£69
Customer rating
2.9/5(6)
Supply
400 V, 16 A
Heat steps
80 W, 6 kW, 9 kW
Thermostat
Stepless, max 85 °C
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Fan-only
80 W
Coverage
861 sq ft
Element
Coil, title ceramic
Household socket
No
Weight
6.9 kg

Common questions

Will the BGP1506-09 plug into a 13 A UK socket?

The listing says it needs 400 V three-phase and is not for a 220–240 V household socket. Two UK reviews say the plug supplied is industrial: one describes six pins, another an industrial 13 A 3-pin plug.

Is the element ceramic?

The title says industrial ceramic heaters. The heating-element field says coil. Both lines are in the same raw file.

What heat settings are printed?

80 W fan only, 6,000 W and 9,000 W, with a stepless thermostat and a maximum temperature setting of 85 °C. The bullets say not to cover it and not to use it in damp areas. No IP code is printed.

Sealey EH9001

Rank 3

Sealey EH9001

∼£189

Our view

The Sealey EH9001 is listed at about £188.99 for a 415 V three-phase heater with a 16 A plug, a tip-over switch and a stated coverage of 80 m³. The bullets give 31,000 Btu/hr, which the page also calls 9 kW, and two heat settings plus fan-only, without printing the lower wattage. The element field says radiant. The star line is 1.0 from one rating and the raw file has no review text, so you cannot see why that rating was left. A cooling system is stated without a duration, the thermostat range is not printed, and there is no IP code. At 11.8 kg, with a one-year warranty, it is the dearest listing in this set. One star with no comment is not proof the heater is unfit, and it is also not a reason to ignore that price.

Pros

  • 415 V three-phase supply with a stated 16 A plug
  • Tip-over switch and a coverage claim of 80 m³
  • Fan-only mode and a one-year warranty

Cons

  • 1.0 from one rating, with no review text
  • Lower heat-setting wattage, thermostat range and IP code are not printed
  • About £188.99, the highest price in this set

Best for: You want Sealey's 80 m³ claim and a tip-over switch in the bullets, and you will read the instructions that come with the unit before you trust the mounting line.

Less suitable: You are comparing on review text, a printed lower wattage, or price against the other 9 kW listings here.

Specifications

Model
Sealey EH9001
Brand
Sealey
Price
∼£189
Customer rating
1.0/5(1)
Supply
415 V, 16 A plug
Heat steps
9 kW, lower unpublished
Thermostat
Range not printed
Overheat cut-out
Cooling system
Tip-over switch
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Coverage
80 m³
Element
Radiant
Weight
11.8 kg

Common questions

What area does Sealey state for the EH9001?

The bullets say 31,000 Btu/hr (9 kW) and an area of 80 m³. That figure is the maker's claim on this listing, not a measured room test.

Does the EH9001 have a tip-over switch?

Yes. The bullets include a tip-over switch and front supports, plus a 3-phase cable and 16 A plug. The mounting-type field says tabletop.

What is behind the 1.0 star rating?

The raw file has a star line of 1.0 from 1 review and no review text, so the reason for that rating is not in the file.

DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G black

Rank 4

DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G black

∼£127

Our view

The black DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G is listed at about £126.65 as a 400 V three-phase coil heater that the page says will not run from a 220–240 V household socket. Printed steps are 52 W fan only, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, with IP24, overheat protection, a 1.60 m cable, an airflow claim of up to 1,198 m³/h and a coverage claim of 861 sq ft. The thermostat is called adjustable, but the setpoint range is not printed, and tip-over protection is not stated. There is no customer-review line and no review text in the file, so heat-up, noise and faults are not described by UK buyers. It weighs 9.6 kg and measures 35.5 x 30 x 49 cm. The same model number is also sold in silver at a higher shelf price, so you are choosing a colour and a price, not a second design. IP24 on this listing is a splash rating, not a statement that the heater is for outdoor use.

Pros

  • Listing states it will not run from a 220–240 V household socket
  • Printed steps of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, plus IP24
  • 1.60 m cable and an airflow claim of up to 1,198 m³/h
  • Overheat protection stated, at 9.6 kg

Cons

  • No review line in the raw file
  • Tip-over protection and the thermostat range are not printed
  • 861 sq ft is a maker area claim, not a measured room

Best for: You want the IFHO3-90-G steps and a stated household-socket rejection, and the black listing at about £126.65 is the colour you will order.

Less suitable: You need written UK reviews, a tip-over switch on the page, or a cheaper copy of the same model number.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G black
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£127
Supply
400 V three-phase
Heat steps
52 W, 4.5 kW, 9 kW
Thermostat
Range not printed
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Fan-only
52 W
IP rating
IP24
Coverage
861 sq ft
Element
Coil
Household socket
No
Cable
1.60 m
Weight
9.6 kg

Common questions

Will the black IFHO3-90-G run from a normal UK socket?

No. The listing says this is a 400 V three-phase heater and that it cannot be used on a 220–240 V household socket.

What heat settings does it have?

Three printed settings: 52 W fan only, 4,500 W and 9,000 W. It also states an adjustable thermostat, overheat protection and IP24.

How does the black listing differ from the silver one?

Both use model IFHO3-90-G. This ASIN is the black colour at about £126.65. The silver ASIN is B0FFYGZPHR at about £149.00. Neither file has a review line.

SIP Turbofan 9001

Rank 5

SIP Turbofan 9001

∼£179

Our view

The SIP Turbofan 9001, model SIP-09299, is listed at about £178.54 as a 400 V three-phase coil heater supplied with a 16 A mains lead and plug. The bullets state a maximum of 9 kW, shown as 30,706 BTU/hr, plus fan-only and three heat settings, but they do not print the wattage of the lower steps, and the speeds field says 2. A manual thermostat is given with a maximum of 45 °C, together with overheat protection and a stated two-minute cool-down fan cycle. Tip-over protection, an IP code and the cable length are not stated. There is no customer-review line in the file. Dimensions appear as 500 x 360 x 400 mm in the bullets and as 40 x 36 x 50 cm in the item dimensions, at a weight of 10.3 kg. The two-year warranty is the longest period printed in this set, which matters only if the socket on your wall already matches that 16 A three-phase plug.

Pros

  • Supplied with a 16 A mains lead and plug for 400 V three-phase
  • Two-minute cool-down fan cycle and overheat protection stated
  • Two-year warranty, the longest period printed in this set
  • Fan-only plus a stated 9 kW maximum

Cons

  • Lower heat-setting wattages are not printed
  • No review line, no IP code and no tip-over line
  • About £178.54, and the coverage field is a BTU output rather than a room size

Best for: You already have a 400 V 16 A three-phase socket and you want a stated cool-down time and a two-year warranty on the listing.

Less suitable: You need the lower steps in watts, an IP code, written reviews, or a lower shelf price.

Specifications

Model
SIP Turbofan 9001
Brand
SIP
Price
∼£179
Supply
400 V, 16 A plug
Heat steps
9 kW, lower unpublished
Thermostat
Manual, max 45 °C
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Coverage
30,706 BTU/hr
Element
Coil
Weight
10.3 kg

Common questions

What plug does the SIP Turbofan 9001 come with?

The listing says it is supplied with a 16 A mains lead and plug for a 400 V 3-phase supply. It does not print a cable length.

Are all three heat settings given in watts?

No. The bullets say three heat settings with a maximum of 9 kW (30,706 BTU/hr), plus fan-only. The wattage of the lower steps is not printed. The speeds field says 2.

Does it keep running after you switch the heat off?

The listing states a two-minute cool-down fan cycle and a delay cooling function, plus an overheat safety thermostat. Tip-over protection is not stated.

DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G silver

Rank 6

DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G silver

∼£149

Our view

The silver DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G uses the same model number as the black listing, with the same 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W steps, IP24 mark, 1.60 m cable, 9.6 kg weight and airflow claim of up to 1,198 m³/h, at about £149.00. The indoor/outdoor field on this file says indoor, so the IP24 line is splash resistance rather than a licence to stand the heater in the rain. The thermostat is called adjustable and no setpoint range is printed, and tip-over protection is not stated. No customer-review line is in the raw file. You pay more than the black ASIN for the same printed heat steps. Coverage is claimed as 861 sq ft, which is an area figure on the listing, not a cubic-metre room test.

Pros

  • Same printed 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W steps as the black IFHO3-90-G
  • IP24, overheat protection and a 1.60 m cable
  • Indoor usage field is stated, so the splash rating is not sold as outdoor use

Cons

  • About £149.00, above the black listing of the same model
  • No review line in the raw file
  • Thermostat range and tip-over protection are not printed

Best for: You want this silver finish and you have already compared it with the black IFHO3-90-G at the lower shelf price.

Less suitable: You are choosing on price, or you need reviews, a tip-over line, or a coverage figure in cubic metres.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G silver
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£149
Supply
400 V three-phase
Heat steps
52 W, 4.5 kW, 9 kW
Thermostat
Range not printed
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Fan-only
52 W
IP rating
IP24
Coverage
861 sq ft
Element
Coil
Household socket
No
Cable
1.60 m
Weight
9.6 kg

Common questions

Is the silver IFHO3-90-G a different heater from the black one?

The model number is the same, IFHO3-90-G. This listing is the silver colour at about £149.00. Heat steps, IP24, cable length and the 9.6 kg weight match the black file.

Can it be used outdoors?

The indoor/outdoor field says indoor. IP24 is stated. That is splash resistance on the listing, not a claim that the heater is for outdoor use.

Does the listing include reviews?

No customer-review line and no review text are in the raw file, so the Amazon rating is shown as unavailable.

Sealey PEH9001

Rank 7

Sealey PEH9001

∼£154

Our view

The Sealey PEH9001 is listed at about £153.96 as a 415 V three-phase heater with printed steps of 6,000 W and 9,000 W, fan-only, and an ambient room thermostat. The title says PTC while the element field says radiant, and the heated-area line is printed as 180mtr, which is not a clear cubic-metre or square-metre figure. Dimensions are printed as 10 x 10 x 10 mm beside a weight of 8.14 kg, so the size line is not usable. The amperage field shows 21.69 A. Overheat protection, tip-over protection, an IP code and a cable length are not stated, and a household-socket rejection is not printed. There is no review line in the raw file. A one-year warranty is stated. You would be buying the 6 kW and 9 kW figures in the bullets, and you would still need the paper instructions to resolve the clashes on the same page.

Pros

  • Bullets print 6,000 W and 9,000 W, plus fan-only
  • 415 V three-phase, with a 3-phase cable and plug stated
  • Ambient room thermostat and a one-year warranty

Cons

  • Title says PTC and the element field says radiant
  • Coverage is printed as 180mtr and dimensions as 10 x 10 x 10 mm
  • Overheat protection, tip-over protection and an IP code are not stated
  • No review line, and the amperage field prints 21.69 A

Best for: You want a Sealey listing that prints both 6 kW and 9 kW, and you will check the instructions against the conflicting lines on the amazon page.

Less suitable: You need an agreed element type, a usable size, a stated overheat cut-out, or any UK review text.

Specifications

Model
Sealey PEH9001
Brand
Sealey
Price
∼£154
Supply
415 V three-phase
Heat steps
6 kW and 9 kW
Thermostat
Room thermostat
Fan-only
Yes
Coverage
180mtr
Element
PTC title, radiant
Weight
8.14 kg

Common questions

What supply does the Sealey PEH9001 state?

The title and item type say 415 V three-phase, supplied with a 3-phase power cable and plug. The amperage field is 21.69 A. A household-socket rejection is not printed.

What are the heat settings?

The bullets say two heat settings or fan only, and they print 6,000/9,000 W. The fan-only wattage is not printed. The element field says radiant while the title says PTC.

What coverage figure is on the listing?

The heated-area line is printed as 180mtr. Dimensions are printed as 10 x 10 x 10 mm and the weight as 8.14 kg. There is no review line in the raw file.

How we compared

Seven amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 20 October 2026 from the UK review text, the star line, and the fields a workshop buy needs. There was no laboratory heat test. Written review text comes before the star line. A sample under 20 ratings is deducted. One written review does not sit next to a large sample, and a single 1.0 with no text is not treated as proof that a heater is unfit. A claimed square footage, cubic metre, BTU or airflow figure is not credited as a tested room. IP24 is splash resistance on the listing, not outdoor use. The five weights below sum to 100.

1

Review evidence

25%

Written UK review text first, then the star line, then a hard deduction when fewer than 20 reviews sit behind it. A star line with no comments scores below written reviews. No review line scores lower still.

2

Supply and heat steps

30%

Whether the page prints 400 V or 415 V three-phase, a rejection of the household socket or a stated 16 A plug, fan-only, and a middle step around 4,500 W or 6,000 W before 9,000 W. An unpublished second setting is not credited.

3

Protection lines

20%

Overheat protection, tip-over protection, an IP code, and cable length, only when the listing actually prints them. IP24 is scored as splash resistance, not as outdoor use.

4

Listing honesty

10%

Deductions for a ceramic or PTC title against a coil or radiant element, a thermostat whose minimum and maximum are the same figure, coverage without a unit you can read, junk dimensions, and an amperage figure that is not something to plan a breaker from.

5

Price against stated fields

15%

Shelf price in GBP against the supply, steps and protection lines that are actually printed. The lowest price alone is not best value.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

9 kW fan heater buying guide

A 9 kW fan heater in this comparison is a floor-standing electric blower for a workshop socket, not a plug-in 2 kW ceramic. On these seven amazon.co.uk listings the shelf runs from about £69.00 to about £188.99. Start with the voltage and the plug, then the heat steps, then whether the coverage unit is cubic metres or square metres. Star counts under 20 are not a reliability record.

What is a 9 kW fan heater?

A 9 kW fan heater sold for UK garages and workshops is a portable electric blower with a resistance element. In this amazon.co.uk set it is meant for a 400 V or 415 V three-phase supply and, where the listing says so, a 16 A industrial connector. It is not a larger version of a domestic 2 kW heater. It will not run from a BS 1363 13 A socket. A 13 A plug is in the order of 3 kW. At 400 V, 9 kW is about 13 A, which is why a manual that names a plug specifies a 16 A outlet.

Best for

  • A home garage that already has a 400 V 16 A socket and needs a few hours of dry heat
  • A workshop that wants a stated tip-over line or a named 16 A plug more than the lowest price

Not ideal for

  • A room with only a BS 1363 13 A socket
  • Outdoor use, or anyone treating IP24 or a coverage claim as a tested room

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Ordering a 2 kW heater from a 9 kW search

    Many amazon.co.uk hits under this name are 2.0 kW or 2.8 kW machines. A BS 1363 13 A socket is in the order of 3 kW. Confirm 400 V or 415 V and a 9,000 W line before you treat the title as this class.

  2. 2

    Reading UK plug as a household socket

    Two UK reviews of the BGP1506-09 describe an industrial connector, one with six pins and one as an industrial 13 A three-pin plug. The listing itself says it is not for a 220–240 V household socket. Do not plan on an adapter.

  3. 3

    Mixing coverage units or treating IP24 as outdoor use

    Sealey EH9001 states 80 m³. DAHTEC states 861 sq ft on the IFHO3-90-G pages. The PEH9001 listing prints 180mtr. Those are maker claims. IP24 is splash resistance, and the pages that name a place say indoor.

What to weigh up

Supply and connector

High

These heaters need 400 V or 415 V three-phase. At 400 V, 9 kW is about 13 A, so a manual that specifies a plug specifies a 16 A outlet. A BS 1363 13 A domestic plug is in the order of 3 kW, and an adapter does not make a 9 kW element safe on that socket. Expect a red BS EN 60309 connector, commonly 16 A, 3P+N+E, where the listing names an industrial plug. Pin count and amp rating have to match the outlet already on the wall.

Real wattage and heat steps

High

Reject a title or spec line of 2,000 W or 2,800 W if you searched for a 9 kW fan heater. Confirm fan-only and a reduced step, not only the words 9 kW. A middle step around 4,500 W or 6,000 W is credited. An unpublished second setting is not. In this set the BG-C9/3 and both colours of the IFHO3-90-G print 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W. The BGP1506-09 prints 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W. The Sealey PEH9001 prints 6,000 W and 9,000 W.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home garage with three-phase already fitted

You already have a 400 V supply, or you will pay an electrician for a matching 16 A socket, and you need a few hours of dry heat rather than all-night background heat. The DAHTEC BG-C9/3 is the only listing here with a written UK review plus a stated tip-over switch. Three ratings are a small sample.

Our recommendation

View offer

Workshop that wants a named 16 A plug

You want a UK trade name, a stated 16 A plug and a cool-down line more than the lowest price. The SIP Turbofan 9001 prints a 16 A lead, a two-minute cool-down and a two-year warranty. Lower wattages are not printed, and there is no review line.

Our recommendation

View offer

Matching socket, lowest shelf price

You already have a matching 400 V industrial socket and you want printed 6 kW and 9 kW steps at the lowest price in this set. The DAHTEC BGP1506-09 is about £69.00. Reviews describe an industrial plug, and the title and the element field disagree.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about 9 kW fan heaters

Will a 9 kW fan heater run from a normal UK plug?
No. A 9 kW fan heater in this set is not a 13 A appliance. At 400 V, 9 kW is about 13 A, so a manual that names a plug specifies a 16 A outlet. A BS 1363 13 A socket is in the order of 3 kW. The black and silver IFHO3-90-G pages, and the BGP1506-09, say they will not run from a 220–240 V household socket. Do not use an adapter.
How much does a 9 kW fan heater cost?
On these amazon.co.uk shelves the range is about £69.00 to about £188.99. The DAHTEC BGP1506-09 is about £69.00. The top pick, the DAHTEC BG-C9/3, is about £105.03. The Sealey EH9001 is about £188.99. At the Ofgem Direct Debit average of 26.32 p/kWh for 1 October to 31 December 2026 in England, Scotland and Wales, full 9 kW is about £2.37 an hour and 4.5 kW is about £1.18. That cap is not a business tariff and not Northern Ireland's price.
What heat steps should a 9 kW listing print?
Look for fan-only and a middle step, not only the words 9 kW. In this set the BG-C9/3 and both IFHO3-90-G colours print 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W. The BGP1506-09 prints 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W. The SIP Turbofan 9001 states a 9 kW maximum and fan-only, and it does not print the lower wattages. The Sealey EH9001 leaves the lower wattage unpublished. Reject a 2,000 W or 2,800 W title if you need 9 kW.
Does IP24 mean I can use a 9 kW fan heater outdoors?
No. IP24 on these listings is splash resistance, not outdoor use. The silver IFHO3-90-G indoor field says indoor. The BGP1506-09 bullets say not to use it in damp areas, and that page does not print an IP code. Do not stand any of these heaters outside because a bullet mentions IP24. A coverage line in square feet or cubic metres is the maker's claim, not a tested room.
Which 9 kW fan heater is the top pick?
The top pick is the DAHTEC BG-C9/3 at about £105.03. It has the highest score here: one written UK review, steps of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, IP24, tip-over and overheat protection, and a 1.60 m cable. The thermostat fields both say 40 °C, the plug type is not stated, and three ratings are a small sample. The best value is the DAHTEC BGP1506-09 at about £69.00. If the workshop needs the next size up, see the 15 kW fan heater comparison.
What should I check before I buy a 9 kW fan heater?
Supply first, then real wattage, then the connector. Expect a red BS EN 60309 plug where a 16 A three-phase lead is stated, and match the pin count. Do not mix 80 m² with 80 m³. Call an electrician when no matching socket exists, when you would add a circuit, or when the lead is damaged. In England a new circuit in a dwelling is notifiable. Scotland and Northern Ireland need their own building rules checked.
Why is the cheapest 9 kW fan heater not the top pick?
The DAHTEC BGP1506-09 is about £69.00 and it does print 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W, plus a household-socket rejection. It is the best value on price against those steps. It stays below the BG-C9/3 because the star line is 2.9 from six ratings, UK reviews describe an industrial plug, the title says ceramic while the element field says coil, and there is no IP code. Six ratings are too few to treat 2.9 as a settled verdict.

Our verdict

The top pick is the DAHTEC BG-C9/3 at about £105.03. It has the highest score in this set: one written UK review, steps of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, IP24, tip-over and overheat protection, and a 1.60 m cable. The thermostat fields both say 40 °C, the plug type is not stated, and three ratings are deducted. The best value is the DAHTEC BGP1506-09 at about £69.00, because the page prints 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W against that price, plus a household-socket rejection. It stays below the BG-C9/3: 2.9 from six ratings, a ceramic title against a coil field, and no IP code. None of these scores is a lab test.

Best overall
DAHTEC BG-C9/3

DAHTEC BG-C9/3

Highest score: one written UK review, 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W, IP24, tip-over and overheat protection, at about £105.03. Three ratings, and the thermostat prints 40 °C twice.

View offer
Best value
DAHTEC BGP1506-09

DAHTEC BGP1506-09

About £69.00 with printed 80 W, 6,000 W and 9,000 W steps and a stated rejection of a household socket. Not the lowest price alone.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPortable heatersamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to 9 kW fan heaters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for supply, plugs and running cost, taken from the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 20 October 2026.

  1. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. HSE HSG107 — Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE HSG141 — Electrical safety on construction sites (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. Approved Document P (England) — Electrical safety in dwellings (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. IET Wiring Matters — BS 7671 regulation 411.3.3 and 30 mA RCDs (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Assimilated Regulation (EU) 2015/1188 — local space heaters (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Sealey EH9001 — industrial fan heater 9 kW 400 V (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines checked on 20 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.