Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Fan heater comparison 2026: watts, safety and price

The best fan heaters, compared.

Top pick: Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W Best value: Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater – About £9.90 with tip-over and overheat protection stated, after smoke and burning-plug deductions elsewhere. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A fan heater blows air across a hot element, so you feel warmth in minutes and lose it when the fan stops. People buy one for a single room, a desk, a caravan berth, or a garage hour, not to replace the boiler. Ceramic and models here are still fan heaters. Look for a UK 3-pin plug, an overheat cut-out, a tip-over switch if the heater can fall, a thermostat reviews say actually works, and a wattage that fits the room. About 100 W per square metre is a quoted rule of thumb: roughly 2 kW for 20 m². A 700 W plug-in heater is for a desk or a berth. Coverage figures in this batch disagree and are not a heat-loss calculation. The [fan heater buying guide](/hub/portable-heaters/fan-heater/sub/fan-heater-buying-guide) sets out watts, the thermostat, the tip-over switch and the timer. The element does not change the unit rate. Oil-filled radiators and halogen heaters are a different category. The same kilowatts cost the same on a fan heater or an oil-filled radiator. If you want heat that lingers after the fan stops, use the [oil heater fan comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/oil-heater-fan).

A fan heater blows air across a hot element, so you feel warmth in minutes and lose it when the fan stops. People buy one for a single room, a desk, a caravan berth, or a garage hour, not to replace the boiler.

Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W

Best overall

Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W
7.3/10∼ £34

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

12 of 12: Best fan heaters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W
DAHTEC 2800 W workshop fan heater
Dreo Atom 316 1500 W white
Dreo Atom 316 1500 W gold
DREO 2000 W oscillating tower
Best value
Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater
DAHTEC 2000 W ceramic fan heater
Warmlite WL44001 fan heater
CUQOO 2 kW upright fan heater
Russell Hobbs 700 W plug-in heater
Warmlite WL44002 fan heater
Status 2 kW portable fan heater
7.3/10
2.8/10
8.5/10
8.2/10
7.2/10
7.5/10
5.0/10
5.8/10
6.5/10
6.2/10
4.9/10
5.9/10
∼ £34
∼ £67
∼ £42
∼ £50
∼ £75
∼ £10
∼ £30
∼ £15
∼ £12
∼ £20
∼ £9
∼ £10
4.7(27)
4.7(5)
4.6(10,476)
4.6(10,466)
4.6(3,270)
4.5(430)
4.4(129)
4.3(9,401)
4.2(1,804)
4.2(1,369)
4.0(14,122)
4.0(637)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best fan heaters in detail

Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W

Rank 1

Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W

∼£34

Our view

The Pro Breeze ThermaCube PB-H-27B-UK is a 1,500 W tabletop ceramic heater at £33.99 with 60° oscillation, a remote, a 12-hour timer and an eco thermostat from 15°C to 35°C. At 1.81 kg it is listed for a bedroom, office, living room or caravan berth, and the bullets name a tip-over switch and overheat protection. The listing shows 4.7 from 27 reviews. The 20 UK reviews in the file mostly praise fast heat for a desk or small room, quieter running than older fan heaters, and a case that cools quickly once it is off. That sample is too small to treat the star line as a settled pattern. One unit arrived with a distorted plastic top, a badly fitted frame and a crumpled manual. Dimensions and voltage are absent from the technical fields, and the heating-method field says Radiant while the bullets say PTC ceramic.

Pros

  • 1,500 W with 60° oscillation, remote and a 12-hour timer
  • Eco thermostat stated from 15°C to 35°C, plus fan mode
  • Tip-over switch and overheat protection in the title and bullets
  • £33.99, 1.81 kg, and a one-year warranty line

Cons

  • 4.7 from only 27 ratings, with 20 UK reviews in the file
  • One unit arrived with a distorted top and a badly fitted frame
  • Dimensions and voltage are not in the technical fields
  • Heating-method field says Radiant against PTC in the bullets

Best for: A desk, bedroom or caravan berth if you want oscillation and a remote and can accept a thin review count.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs thousands of UK reviews before trusting a 4.7, or a measured footprint from the listing.

Specifications

Model
Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W
Brand
Pro Breeze
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.7/5(27)
Output
1,500 W
Settings
2 heat settings
Thermostat
Eco, 15–35°C
Timer
12 hours
Oscillation
60°
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.81 kg
Element
PTC ceramic
Remote
Yes

Common questions

Does the Pro Breeze listing state tip-over protection?

Yes. The title and the bullets both name a tip-over switch, and they also name overheat protection.

What output and thermostat does the listing state?

1,500 W, with an eco thermostat from 15°C to 35°C, two heat settings, a fan mode and a 12-hour timer.

Does it oscillate, and is a remote included?

The listing says 60° oscillation. A remote and a touch panel are in the bullets. Dimensions are not in the technical fields.

DAHTEC 2800 W workshop fan heater

Rank 2

DAHTEC 2800 W workshop fan heater

∼£67

Our view

The DAHTEC BGP3003-28 is a 2,800 W steel workshop fan heater at £67.15, 4.16 kg and 24 × 22.6 × 29.4 cm, with settings of 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W. You can tilt the outlet from 0° to 25°, which is not oscillation. The listing line is 4.7 from five ratings, and the file holds three UK reviews: a short note that it heats a garage quickly, a doubt it would cope with a double garage, and a burning smell at the plug and cable after two or three months. A tip-over switch is not stated. The current field says 12.7 A, above the IET figure of about 2.7 kW for continuous full power on a BS 1363 plug, so this is a poor match for a bedroom or any extension lead. The heat-output field says 62°C, which conflicts with the 2,800 W title.

Pros

  • Steel body, 4.16 kg, with 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W settings
  • Outlet tilt of 0–25° and a short garage review that calls it powerful
  • Overheat protection and a thermostat are in the bullets
  • Coverage claim of 301 sq ft, as a listing line only

Cons

  • 4.7 from five ratings, with three UK reviews in the file
  • One review describes a burning smell at the plug and cable
  • 12.7 A current field, above about 2.7 kW continuous on a BS 1363 plug
  • No tip-over switch stated, and the heat-output field says 62°C

Best for: A short supervised hour in a workshop, on a wall socket, if you accept a five-rating sample.

Less suitable: A bedroom, a small flat, an extension lead, or any use that treats five ratings as a pattern.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC 2800 W workshop fan heater
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£67
Customer rating
4.7/5(5)
Output
2,800 W
Settings
35 / 1,400 / 2,800 W
Thermostat
Manual dial
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
4.16 kg

Common questions

What output and settings does the 2800 W listing state?

The title says 2,800 W. The bullets say 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W. The heat-output field says 62°C, which conflicts with the title. The current field says 12.7 A. Weight is 4.16 kg.

Does it state tip-over protection?

No. The bullets name a thermostat, overheat protection and a safety plug. They do not name a tip-over switch. The outlet angle is 0–25°, which is not oscillation.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The listing line says 4.7 from 5 ratings. The notes contain three UK reviews. One of them describes a burning smell at the plug and cable.

Dreo Atom 316 1500 W white

Rank 3

Dreo Atom 316 1500 W white

∼£42

Our view

The white Dreo Atom 316 is the top pick in this batch when you want a few hours of heat in a small or medium room. It is a 1,500 W PTC fan heater, 1.38 kg, 15.3 × 15.3 × 24.5 cm, at £42.49, with a 5–35°C thermostat, ECO, fan-only, a 12-hour timer and tip-over protection stated on the listing. The UK listing is 4.6 from 10,476 reviews, and the sampled pattern is fast heat plus a fan many people find acceptable in a bedroom. One reviewer who tested the anti-tip said it beeped and switched off. Much of that review text also appears on the gold Atom, so the two star counts are one corpus. Reviews mention a remote, but this special-features list does not, so treat the remote as reported rather than specified. The same notes mention a smell on the first uses, no oscillation, and air that is too hot if you sit very close. A 12-hour timer caps a session, and it is still not a statement that the heater is designed to run while you sleep.

Pros

  • 1,500 W with 5–35°C, ECO, fan-only and a 12-hour timer
  • Tip-over protection stated, and one reviewer saw it beep and switch off
  • 4.6 from 10,476 reviews, often quiet enough for a bedroom
  • 1.38 kg and 15.3 × 15.3 × 24.5 cm, at £42.49

Cons

  • Remote is in reviews, not on the special-features list
  • No oscillation stated, and heat is fierce at very close range
  • First-use smell in the shared review text
  • Review count is not independent of the gold listing

Best for: A small or medium room for a few hours while you are there, if you want a Celsius thermostat, a timer and this review pattern.

Less suitable: A room that needs the blast to sweep, or a buyer who will only trust a remote written on this feature list.

Specifications

Model
Dreo Atom 316 1500 W white
Brand
DREO
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.6/5(10,476)
Output
1,500 W
Settings
Power, ECO, fan
Thermostat
5–35°C
Timer
12 hours
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.38 kg
Element
PTC ceramic

Common questions

How does the white Atom differ from the gold listing in the fields?

This one is £42.49, model DR-HSH026 White, part DR-HSH026, colour white, coverage 10–20 m². The gold listing is £49.99, model field DR-HSH006, and its bullets date the remote from 19 September 2025. A lot of the review text is the same in both files.

Does this listing state a remote?

Not in the special-features list, and there is no included-components field. Reviews do mention a remote. Tip-over protection, a 12-hour timer and a 5–35°C thermostat are in the listing.

What output is stated?

1,500 W PTC, with power heat, ECO and fan only. Weight 1.38 kg. Dimensions 15.3 x 15.3 x 24.5 cm. Voltage is not stated.

Dreo Atom 316 1500 W gold

Rank 4

Dreo Atom 316 1500 W gold

∼£50

Our view

The gold Dreo Atom 316 is the same 1,500 W shape as the white listing, at £49.99, and it is not a second set of reviews. The bullets state 5–35°C, a 12-hour timer, tip-over protection, and a remote on units from 19 September 2025. The included-components field lists the heater and a manual, not the remote, and the model field says DR-HSH006 while the part field says DR-HSH026. Reviewers describe a fan they will use in a bedroom, a set temperature, and a unit that cools quickly after switch-off, which they contrast with an oil-filled radiator. The recurring complaint is a smell on first use, and one reviewer wanted oscillation this listing does not claim. Bathroom appears among the recommended uses, with no IP rating in the fields, so that line is not a reason to put it in a shower room. Pay the extra over the £42.49 white listing only if you want the gold finish.

Pros

  • 1,500 W, 5–35°C, 12-hour timer and stated tip-over protection
  • Remote dated from 19 September 2025 in the bullets
  • 4.6 from 10,466 reviews, with the quiet-bedroom pattern
  • 1.38 kg and the same 15.3 × 15.3 × 24.5 cm footprint

Cons

  • Review text is shared with the white Atom
  • Model field DR-HSH006 clashes with part DR-HSH026
  • Included-components field omits the remote
  • Bathroom is named with no IP rating

Best for: A buyer who wants this Atom in gold and accepts the remote bullet dated 19 September 2025.

Less suitable: A bathroom, or anyone treating this star count as extra proof on top of the white listing.

Specifications

Model
Dreo Atom 316 1500 W gold
Brand
DREO
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.6/5(10,466)
Output
1,500 W
Settings
Power, ECO, fan
Thermostat
5–35°C
Timer
12 hours
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.38 kg
Element
PTC ceramic
Remote
Yes

Common questions

What output does the gold Atom 316 listing state?

The title and bullets say 1,500 W. The heat-output field says 35°C, which is the top of the 5–35°C thermostat range, not a second wattage. The model field is DR-HSH006 and the part field is DR-HSH026.

Is a remote included?

The bullets say that from 19 September 2025 the heater is a remote-control version. The included-components field lists the heater and a user manual, not the remote.

Does the listing say it is for a bathroom?

Bathroom is one of the recommended uses in the listing. No IP rating is stated, and the bullets do not describe a bathroom-rated heater.

DREO 2000 W oscillating tower

Rank 5

DREO 2000 W oscillating tower

∼£75

Our view

The DREO DR-HSH014 is the 2,000 W oscillating tower in this batch, at £74.99, 2.3 kg and 16.2 × 15.5 × 40.2 cm. The bullets state 70° oscillation, a 0–12 hour timer, ECO from 5°C to 35°C, a remote, fan-only and tip-over protection, with settings of 900 W, 1,100 W and 2,000 W. Among 4.6 stars from 3,270 reviews, people praise a room that warms quickly and heat that moves instead of sitting in one spot, including use in a bedroom or a static caravan. The 34 dB line is not what every reviewer heard, and the LEDs are bright. One order arrived without the remote and was replaced. Another reviewer stopped because the plug became very hot. The voltage field says 120 V, the current field says 16 A and the heat-output field says 1500, which conflict with the 2,000 W title and were not re-measured.

Pros

  • 70° oscillation with 900 W, 1,100 W and 2,000 W settings
  • 0–12 hour timer, ECO from 5°C to 35°C, remote and fan-only
  • Tip-over protection stated, and 4.6 from 3,270 reviews
  • Easier to move than an oil-filled radiator, at 2.3 kg with a handle

Cons

  • Voltage, current and heat-output fields conflict with the 2,000 W title
  • One reviewer stopped after the plug became very hot
  • Fan is louder than the 34 dB line for some, and the LEDs are bright
  • £74.99, and one delivery arrived without the remote

Best for: A room where you specifically want the heat to sweep, and you will ignore the conflicting 120 V field.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs the technical fields to match the title, or a small room that does not need £74.99 and 2,000 W.

Specifications

Model
DREO 2000 W oscillating tower
Brand
DREO
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,270)
Output
2,000 W
Settings
900 / 1,100 / 2,000 W
Thermostat
5–35°C, ECO
Timer
0–12 hours
Oscillation
70°
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
2.3 kg
Element
PTC ceramic
Remote
Yes

Common questions

What output does the DREO tower listing state?

The title and bullets say 2,000 W, with 900 W, 1,100 W and 2,000 W settings. The heat-output field says 1500.0. The voltage field says 120 V and the current field says 16 A. Those fields conflict with the title and were not re-measured.

Does it oscillate, and is there a timer?

Yes. The bullets say 70° oscillation, a 0–12 hour timer, ECO from 5°C to 35°C, and a fan-only mode. A remote with a CR2025 battery is in the included components.

Does the listing state tip-over protection?

Yes, tip-over and overheat protection. One UK review says the plug became very hot and the reviewer stopped using that unit.

Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater

Rank 6

Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater

∼£10

Our view

The Amazon Basics DQ075 is the best value in this set if you want a stated tip-over switch without paying Atom money. It is a 1,800 W ceramic heater at £9.90 and 1.3 kg, on 230 V, with low, high and fan-only, an adjustable thermostat, and bullets that name both a tip-over switch and overheat shut-off. The star line is 4.5 from 430 UK reviews. Reviewers often say a bedroom or sitting room warms quickly, and that it is quieter than they expected beside a television, though the highest setting is still noisy for some. One review's smart-meter note put a moderate setting near 38p an hour and full power near 61p, which is that meter rather than the Ofgem cap. There is no timer in the fields, dimensions are missing, and the bullets say it is not for bathrooms or high-humidity areas. A TÜV line in the bullets was not checked here.

Pros

  • £9.90 for 1,800 W with tip-over and overheat shut-off stated
  • Low, high and fan-only, plus an adjustable thermostat
  • 4.5 from 430 reviews, often quieter than expected beside a television
  • 230 V, 1.3 kg, and a carrying handle in the bullets

Cons

  • No timer, and dimensions are not stated
  • Highest setting is noisy for some reviewers
  • Bullets exclude bathrooms and high-humidity areas
  • TÜV wording in the bullets was not verified

Best for: A bedroom or sitting room on a tight budget, where a stated tip-over switch matters and a timer does not.

Less suitable: A bathroom, a buyer who needs a footprint or a 12-hour timer, and a very small room left on high.

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.5/5(430)
Output
1,800 W
Settings
Low, high, fan
Thermostat
Adjustable dial
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.3 kg
Element
Ceramic

Common questions

Does the Amazon Basics listing state tip-over protection?

Yes. The bullets say a tip-over switch and overheat protection, both with automatic shut-off. They also say it is not suitable for bathrooms or high-humidity areas.

What settings and voltage are stated?

1,800 W, low, high or fan only, an adjustable thermostat, and 230 V. Weight is 1.3 kg. Dimensions and a timer are not stated. A customer question asks about a timer.

Is the TÜV line a checked certificate?

It is a bullet claim. This comparison does not verify the certificate. The special-features field is cut off at the word Over.

DAHTEC 2000 W ceramic fan heater

Rank 7

DAHTEC 2000 W ceramic fan heater

∼£30

Our view

The DAHTEC BGP2305-20 is a 2,000 W PTC fan heater in a powder-coated steel body, 1.3 kg and 14.1 × 12.2 × 17.8 cm, at £29.74. The bullets give a 25 W fan, 1 kW and 2 kW, a manual thermostat, and an airflow claim of up to 142 m³/h. Across 4.4 from 129 reviews, people like the heat for the size, the handle and a metal case that feels tougher than cheap plastic. They do not get a stated tip-over switch. One reviewer says it kept running when tipped onto its face. Noise is a repeated complaint, one unit broke after a month of light use, and the 85°C maximum in the specification did not match that reviewer's experience of the room. Workshop and garage appear as listing uses, and it is still a 2 kW fan heater rather than the 2,800 W model.

Pros

  • Steel body, 1.3 kg, with a handle and a lot of heat for the size
  • 25 W fan, 1 kW and 2 kW, at £29.74
  • 4.4 from 129 reviews, including kitchen, desk and outbuilding use
  • Bullets claim up to 142 m³/h and overheat protection

Cons

  • No tip-over switch stated, and one fall test left it running
  • Not quiet, including a review titled Noisy Fan
  • One unit failed after a month of light use
  • 85°C specification field did not match one reviewer's room

Best for: A kitchen, desk or outbuilding where a metal case matters and a knock is unlikely.

Less suitable: A bedroom with children or pets, or anyone reading it as the 2,800 W workshop heater.

Specifications

Model
DAHTEC 2000 W ceramic fan heater
Brand
DAHTEC
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(129)
Output
2,000 W
Settings
25 W, 1 kW, 2 kW
Thermostat
Manual dial
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.3 kg
Element
PTC ceramic

Common questions

Does the DAHTEC 2000 W listing state tip-over protection?

No. The bullets name overheat protection and a steel body. They do not name a tip-over switch. One UK review says it kept running when tipped.

What are the heat settings?

The bullets say a 25 W fan-only mode, 1 kW, and 2 kW, plus a separate thermostat dial. No timer is stated.

Can the listing be read as a garage heater?

The bullets name workshop, garage and similar indoor spaces. It is still a 2 kW fan heater, 1.3 kg, not the 2.8 kW workshop model.

Warmlite WL44001 fan heater

Rank 8

Warmlite WL44001 fan heater

∼£15

Our view

The Warmlite WL44001 is a wire-element fan heater at £14.99 with cool, warm and hot, and a title that states 1,000 W and 2,000 W plus overheat protection. It weighs about 1.14 kg and carries 4.3 from 9,401 UK reviews. Sampled comments often say the high setting is strong enough that people turn it down, that it is light, and that some find it less loud than they feared. A tip-over switch is not stated. One review says there is no base pressure switch because the heater can sit upright or flat, and that reviewer would not use it around animals or children. The dimensions field reads 4.9 × 9.6 × 9.8 cm, which is implausibly small for a 2 kW heater and was not re-measured, while the heat-output field says 1,000 W against a 2,000 W title. A new or returned unit can smell on first use.

Pros

  • £14.99 with cool, warm and hot, and 4.3 from 9,401 reviews
  • Strong heat on high, light enough to move, about 1.14 kg
  • Some reviewers find it less loud than they expected
  • Overheat protection is in the title, with a Stoke-on-Trent manufacturer contact

Cons

  • No tip-over switch stated, and one review cites no base pressure switch
  • Dimensions field of 4.9 × 9.6 × 9.8 cm was not re-measured
  • Heat-output field says 1,000 W against a 2,000 W title
  • First-use smell, and no timer stated

Best for: A small office that wants a cheap 1,000/2,000 W blast and has no children or pets near the heater.

Less suitable: A bedroom shared with animals or children, or anyone buying from the printed dimensions.

Specifications

Model
Warmlite WL44001 fan heater
Brand
Warmlite
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.3/5(9,401)
Output
1,000–2,000 W
Settings
Cool, warm, hot
Thermostat
Adjustable dial
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.14 kg
Element
Wire

Common questions

What output does the WL44001 listing state?

The title and bullets say 1,000 W and 2,000 W, with cool, warm and hot. The heat-output field says 1000 W. Dimensions are listed as 4.9 x 9.6 x 9.8 cm, which is unusually small and was not re-measured.

Does the listing state a timer or tip-over switch?

No timer is in the bullets. Overheat protection is in the title. A tip-over switch is not stated. One review says there is no base pressure switch because the heater can sit upright or flat.

Is bathroom use stated?

A customer question asks. The bullets do not say it is suitable for a bathroom.

CUQOO 2 kW upright fan heater

Rank 9

CUQOO 2 kW upright fan heater

∼£12

Our view

The CUQOO DYN12000 is a 2 kW upright fan heater at £11.99, 1.2 kg and 24.5 × 12 × 24.5 cm. The special-features line names tip-over protection, overheat protection, oscillation, 1,000 W and 2,000 W, and a cool setting. Most of the sampled reviews, against 4.2 from 1,804, praise the heat and the price. One verified review says two heaters smoked or exploded, that one tripped the house electrics, and that a later unit smoked as soon as it was switched on. That is one account, not a recall notice in this file, and it is enough to keep the model off a default shortlist. Noise shows up in reviews titled Noisy. No timer is stated. The temperature field runs to 100°C, which is the printed field rather than a measured room temperature.

Pros

  • £11.99 with tip-over, overheat protection and oscillation stated
  • 1,000 W and 2,000 W plus a cool setting
  • 1.2 kg and 24.5 × 12 × 24.5 cm
  • Most sampled reviews praise the heat for the price

Cons

  • One verified review describes smoke, a described explosion and a tripped circuit
  • Fan noise in reviews titled Noisy
  • No timer stated
  • Temperature field runs to 100°C, which is not a measured room temperature

Best for: A short top-up only if you have read that smoke account and still want the stated tip-over line at £11.99.

Less suitable: A default bedroom heater, or anyone who would treat one severe review as something to shrug off.

Specifications

Model
CUQOO 2 kW upright fan heater
Brand
CUQOO
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,804)
Output
2,000 W
Settings
1,000 and 2,000 W
Thermostat
Adjustable dial
Oscillation
Yes
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.2 kg
Element
Wire

Common questions

Does the CUQOO listing state tip-over protection?

Yes. Special features name tip-over protection, overheat protection, oscillation, 1,000 W and 2,000 W, and a cool function.

What do the reviews say about failure?

Most of the sampled reviews praise the heat and the price. One verified review says two heaters smoked or exploded, one tripped the house electrics, and a later unit smoked as soon as it was switched on. That is one account, not a recall notice in this file.

Is a timer stated?

No. The bullets describe an adjustable thermostat, not a timer. The coverage field says 300 sq ft. The temperature field runs to 100°C, which is the printed field, not a measured room temperature.

Russell Hobbs 700 W plug-in heater

Rank 10

Russell Hobbs 700 W plug-in heater

∼£20

Our view

The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is a 700 W plug-in ceramic heater at £19.70, 510 g, about 12.5 cm square, with no cable of its own. It states two fan speeds, a digital thermostat from 15°C to 30°C, a 12-hour timer and overheat protection, and the coverage claim is 10 square metres. The star line is 4.2 from 1,369 reviews. Reviewers who are content with it use a kitchen corner, a small room or a campervan, and the lower wattage is why an hour costs less than a 2 kW heater at the same unit rate. The hard limit is the socket. The instructions want clearance that many low sockets, curtains and worktops do not give, and one conservatory review described a buzzing connection. A tip-over switch is not stated. The mounting field says wall mount, which conflicts with a heater that plugs straight into the socket.

Pros

  • 700 W plug-in, 510 g, with a 15–30°C thermostat and a 12-hour timer
  • Lower hourly draw than a 2 kW heater at the same unit rate
  • 4.2 from 1,369 reviews for small rooms and campervans
  • Overheat protection in the title, and a one-year warranty line

Cons

  • No cable, so a badly placed socket is a badly placed heater
  • Tip-over protection is not stated
  • Mounting field says wall mount against a plug-in product
  • One review describes a buzzing socket connection

Best for: A desk, kitchen corner or caravan berth where the socket already has the clearance the instructions ask for.

Less suitable: A low socket behind a curtain, a room nearer 20 m², or a space shared with children who need a tip-over switch.

Specifications

Model
Russell Hobbs 700 W plug-in heater
Brand
Russell Hobbs
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,369)
Output
700 W
Settings
2 fan speeds
Thermostat
15–30°C
Timer
12 hours
Weight
510 g
Element
Ceramic

Common questions

Does the Russell Hobbs heater have a cable?

No. It is a plug-in heater. The mounting field says wall mount, which conflicts with that. Reviews say the instructions want clearance above the floor and from furniture, and that many sockets are too low or too close.

What output, thermostat and timer are stated?

700 W, two fan speeds, a digital thermostat from 15°C to 30°C, and a 12-hour timer. The coverage claim is 10 square metres. Overheat protection is in the title. A tip-over switch is not stated.

Is there a remote?

A customer question asks. The bullets do not include a remote.

Warmlite WL44002 fan heater

Rank 11

Warmlite WL44002 fan heater

Our view

The Warmlite WL44002 is the £9.00 wire fan heater, 1.12 kg and 23 × 15.7 × 26.5 cm, with cool, warm and hot and a claimed overheat cut-out. It has the largest review count here, 4.0 from 14,122, and many of those reviews say it heats a small room quickly and is easy to carry. Several UK reviews say there is no tilt switch, and one reviewer stopped using it for that reason. More than one says the thermostat dial does not switch the heater off or change the heat, while other reviews say it does, so the listing does not settle the dial. It does not oscillate. The fan is often called noisy on a call, and a couple of reviews describe failure after months rather than years. The cable field says 2 yards, while one review puts the lead at about 1.2 metres. The star count does not add a cut-out for when the heater is knocked.

Pros

  • £9.00, 1.12 kg, and 4.0 from 14,122 reviews
  • Cool, warm and hot, with a carry handle
  • Many reviews say a small room heats quickly
  • Overheat protection is claimed, with a Stoke-on-Trent contact

Cons

  • Several UK reviews say there is no tilt switch
  • Thermostat dial is disputed and may not cut the heat
  • Noisy on a call, and it does not oscillate
  • A few reviews describe failure within months, and the cable length is inconsistent

Best for: A supervised short blast in a room where nobody can knock the heater over.

Less suitable: Children, pets, an overnight bedroom, or anyone buying the 14,122 reviews as a safety feature.

Specifications

Model
Warmlite WL44002 fan heater
Brand
Warmlite
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.0/5(14,122)
Output
1,000–2,000 W
Settings
Cool, warm, hot
Thermostat
Dial
Oscillation
No
Tip-over
No
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1.12 kg
Element
Wire

Common questions

Does the WL44002 have a tip-over switch?

The bullets claim overheat protection and do not mention a tilt switch. Several UK reviews say there is no tilt switch, and one reviewer stopped using it for that reason.

Does the thermostat cut the heater off?

The bullets describe manual dials for temperature and heat. More than one review says the dial does not switch the heater off or change the heat. Other reviews say it does. The listing itself does not settle that.

Is there a timer or oscillation?

Neither is stated in the bullets. One review says it does not oscillate. The cable field says 2 yards; one review says about 1.2 metres.

Status 2 kW portable fan heater

Rank 12

Status 2 kW portable fan heater

∼£10

Our view

The Status FH1P-2000W1PKB is a single-position 2 kW fan heater at £10.00, 1 kg and 13 × 23 × 27 cm, stated at 240 V and 8.33 A. The bullets name two heat settings, a cooling fan mode, an adjustable thermostat, overheat protection and a safety tip switch. The listing is 4.0 from 637 reviews. One review cites a bedroom warming by a few degrees in about half an hour, and a positive review says the tip switch cuts power when the heater is lifted. Several older reviews call it loud even on lower speeds, and the plastic is described as cheap. One verified review says the fan did not turn and the heater smoked. Another says that after a year of being carried the tip switch failed and the heater would not turn on. There is no oscillation, and the warranty field is empty.

Pros

  • £10 for 2 kW with a stated safety tip switch
  • Cooling fan mode, two heat settings and an adjustable thermostat
  • 1 kg, 13 × 23 × 27 cm, 240 V and 8.33 A
  • Some reviewers use it as a top-up beside central heating

Cons

  • Loud on lower speeds in several older reviews
  • One review describes smoke when the fan did not turn
  • Tip switch wore out after a year of carrying in another review
  • No oscillation, and the warranty field is empty

Best for: A cheap single-direction top-up where you have read the smoke review and you will not keep moving it every day.

Less suitable: A quiet bedroom, a bathroom, or a heater you carry from room to room for years.

Specifications

Model
Status 2 kW portable fan heater
Brand
Status
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.0/5(637)
Output
2,000 W
Settings
2 heat settings
Thermostat
Adjustable dial
Oscillation
No
Tip-over
Yes
Fan-only
Yes
Weight
1 kg
Element
Wire

Common questions

Does the Status listing state a tip-over switch?

Yes. The bullets name a safety tip switch, overheat protection and a thermal cut-off, plus a cooling fan mode. One review says that after a year of being moved the switch failed and the heater would not turn on.

Does it oscillate?

No. The title says single position. Output is stated as 2 kW, at 240 V and 8.33 A. Weight is 1 kg.

What failure shows up in the reviews?

Beside noise and a hot-plastic smell, one verified review says the fan did not turn and the heater smoked. That is one account in a file of 50 reviews, against a listing total of 637.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk fan-heater listings were scored from the UK star line, the review count, the controls the listing states, the shelf price, and the UK review notes. This is not a lab test and not a Which? score. The Ofgem unit rate is not part of the score. Shared review text between the two Atom listings is not added together. The five weights below sum to 100.

1

Amazon stars

50%

Star points are the amazon.co.uk rating times 10, so 4.6 becomes 46. The maximum is 50.

2

Review volume

15%

Maximum 15. 5,000 or more reviews score 15; 1,000–4,999 score 12; 300–999 score 9; 100–299 score 6; 20–99 score 3; under 20 score 0.

3

Stated controls

20%

Maximum 20. Tip-over in the listing scores 6. A thermostat in °C scores 5, a dial only scores 2, and a dial UK reviews dispute scores 0. A timer scores 4, oscillation 3, a remote in the listing 2, and a fan-only or cool setting 2.

4

Price fit

10%

Maximum 10, from the shelf price and whether tip-over is stated. Tip-over and under £15 scores 10. Tip-over and £15–£40 scores 8. Tip-over and £40–£55 scores 6. Tip-over and over £55 scores 3. No tip-over and under £20 scores 4. No tip-over and £20–£40 scores 3. No tip-over and over £50 scores 1.

5

Review sentiment

5%

Maximum 5, from the UK review notes: whether the heat matches the claimed job, and whether reviewers call the fan tolerable. Deductions cover shared Atom review text, title fields that contradict the bullets, fewer than 30 reviews, no stated tip-over where reviews say the heater stays on, a smoke or burning-plug account, a 12.7 A field against about 2.7 kW continuous on a BS 1363 plug, a disputed thermostat, a bathroom line with no IP rating, and a plug-in heater whose instructions fight ordinary socket positions.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Fan heater buying guide

Choose on watts, the cut-outs the listing states, and whether a thermostat in degrees Celsius actually appears in the reviews. The shape of the case comes after those three. Prices below are the shelf figures in this batch.

What is a fan heater?

A fan heater blows room air across a hot element, so you feel warmth in minutes and lose it when the fan stops. It is a top-up for one room, a desk, a caravan berth, or a garage hour. It does not replace the boiler. Ceramic and PTC models in this set are still fan heaters. The element does not change the unit rate. Oil-filled radiators and halogen heaters are a different category. The same kilowatts cost the same on a fan heater or an oil-filled radiator.

Best for

  • Households topping up one room, who switch the heater off when they leave
  • A desk or caravan berth that wants 700–1,500 W and a timer
  • A garage hour with a metal heater that stays inside a 13 A socket

Not ideal for

  • A bathroom or shower, where a standard portable heater does not belong
  • Overnight use, unless the manufacturer specifically allows it
  • Anyone reading eco mode or a ceramic element as a lower unit rate

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading low energy as a lower wattage

    Ceramic, PTC, and eco mode do not change the unit rate. Eco mode cycles against a set point. Cost is watts times 26.32p on the Great Britain cap for 1 October to 31 December 2026. That cap does not set Northern Ireland’s rate.

  2. 2

    Skipping a tilt switch because the stars are a 4

    The Warmlite WL44002 is 4.0 from 14,122 reviews and several UK reviews say there is no tilt switch. The star count does not add a cut-out for when the heater is knocked. Prefer a listing that states tip-over if the heater can fall.

  3. 3

    Any extension lead, or sleeping on a timer

    Plug straight into a wall socket. Do not put any heater in this set, including the 2.8 kW model, on an extension lead. A 12-hour timer caps a session. It is not permission to run the heater while you sleep unless the manufacturer specifically allows overnight use.

What to weigh up

Wattage and what an hour costs

High

About 100 W per square metre is a quoted rule of thumb: roughly 2 kW for 20 m², more if the room is draughty. A 700 W plug-in heater is for a desk or a berth. Coverage figures in this batch disagree with each other and are not a heat-loss calculation, so they stay off the buying decision. Stated outputs here run from 700 W to 2,800 W. Ofgem’s Direct Debit average for England, Scotland, and Wales, 1 October to 31 December 2026, is 26.32 pence per kWh.

Cut-outs, thermostat, and the socket

High

Prefer an overheat cut-out and a tip-over switch if the heater can fall. The Warmlite WL44002 claims overheat protection only, and UK reviews say there is no tilt switch. A thermostat in degrees Celsius, plus a timer, stops 2 kW running on after the room is warm. Some cheap dials, in reviews, never cut out. The Amazon Basics states tip-over and overheat shut-off and does not state a timer. The white Atom states tip-over, 5–35°C, and a 12-hour timer.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One room, switched off when you leave

You want a few hours of heat in a small or medium room, with a thermostat in degrees Celsius and a timer. The white Dreo Atom 316 states tip-over, 5–35°C and a 12-hour timer at about £42.49. A 12-hour timer is not permission to sleep with it running.

Desk or caravan berth

You want 700–1,500 W and a timer, not a 2 kW blast for 20 m². The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is 700 W, plugs straight into the socket, and states a 15–30°C thermostat and a 12-hour timer. The socket has to match the clearance in the instructions.

A garage hour on a 13 A socket

You want a metal heater for an hour and you must stay inside a BS 1363 plug. The DAHTEC 2 kW is a steel-bodied fan heater at 8.3 A. The 2,800 W DAHTEC lists 12.7 A, above about 2.7 kW continuous on that plug, so it is not the default.

Common questions about fan heaters

Which fan heater is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the white Dreo Atom 316 at about £42.49. It has the highest score here: a stated tip-over switch, a 5–35°C thermostat, a 12-hour timer, and 4.6 from 10,476 amazon.co.uk reviews. The gold Atom shares much of that review text, so the two counts are one corpus, and white is the lower price. This is not a lab test and not a Which? Best Buy.
How much does a fan heater cost?
Shelf prices in this set run from about £9.00 to £74.99. Under about £15 you will see the Warmlite models, the Amazon Basics at about £9.90, the Status, and the CUQOO. From about £20 to £50 sit the Russell Hobbs, the DAHTEC 2 kW, the Pro Breeze, and both Dreo Atom colours. The DAHTEC 2.8 kW is about £67.15 and the DREO tower is about £74.99. Prices move.
What should I check before I buy a fan heater?
Check the stated wattage against the room, then the cut-outs. Prefer an overheat cut-out and a tip-over switch if the heater can fall. A thermostat in degrees Celsius, plus a timer, stops 2 kW running after the room is warm. Some cheap dials, in reviews, never cut out. Plug straight into a wall socket. Do not use an extension lead. Coverage claims in this batch disagree and are not a heat-loss calculation.
How much does a fan heater cost to run?
Ofgem’s Direct Debit average for England, Scotland, and Wales, from 1 October to 31 December 2026, is 26.32 pence per kWh. That cap does not set Northern Ireland’s rate. At that rate, full power is about 18p an hour at 700 W, 39p at 1,500 W, 47p at 1,800 W, 53p at 2,000 W, and 74p at 2,800 W. The same kilowatts cost the same on a fan heater or an oil-filled radiator.
Does ceramic, PTC, or eco mode use less electricity?
No. Ceramic and PTC models in this set are still fan heaters. The element does not cheapen a kilowatt-hour. Eco mode cycles against a set point. It does not change the unit rate. Cost follows the watts you actually draw, times the unit rate. A 700 W heater costs less per hour than a 2 kW heater because it draws fewer watts, not because the element is ceramic.
Can I leave a fan heater on overnight or use it in a bathroom?
Overnight use only if the manufacturer specifically allows it. A 12-hour timer is not that permission. Keep one metre from combustibles, do not dry clothes on the heater, and let it cool before you move it. North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue says no standard portable heater in a bathroom or shower. The gold Atom names a bathroom among recommended uses and states no IP rating, so that line is not a reason to put it in a shower room.
Can the 2,800 W model go on a normal plug?
The DAHTEC 2,800 W lists a current of 12.7 A. The IET figure for continuous full power on a BS 1363 plug is about 2.7 kW. That listing is a poor match for a bedroom, and it does not belong on an extension lead. A tip-over switch is not stated, and the review line is 4.7 from five ratings, including a burning smell at the plug. Keep it on a wall socket for a short supervised hour.
When is a 700 W plug-in heater enough?
A 700 W plug-in is for a desk or a berth, not a 20 m² room. The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 states 700 W, a digital thermostat from 15°C to 30°C, and a 12-hour timer, and it has no cable of its own. The socket has to give the clearance the instructions ask for. A tip-over switch is not stated. The plug-in fan heater guide covers when that size is enough.

Our verdict

The top pick is the white Dreo Atom 316 at about £42.49. It has the highest score in this set: a stated tip-over switch, a 5–35°C thermostat, a 12-hour timer, and the large shared review pattern, at the lower of the two Atom prices. The gold listing shares that review text, so the two counts are not added together. The best value is the Amazon Basics 1,800 W at about £9.90, the strongest price-to-stated-cut-outs result after smoke and burning-plug deductions on other listings. It states tip-over and overheat protection. The £9 Warmlite WL44002 is not that pick: UK reviews say there is no tilt switch. None of these scores is a lab test.

Best overall
Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W

Pro Breeze ThermaCube 1500 W

View offer
Best value
Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater

Amazon Basics 1800 W ceramic heater

About £9.90 with tip-over and overheat protection stated, after smoke and burning-plug deductions elsewhere.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Fan heatersUK portable heatingamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to fan heaters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for the plug, clearance, the seasonal-efficiency rule, and the unit rate. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. Retrieved 16 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Regulation (EU) 2015/1188 — local space heaters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK — Placing energy-related products on the UK market (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Ofgem — Energy price cap unit rates and standing charges (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. London Fire Brigade — Portable heaters, gas fires and open fires (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Centre for Sustainable Energy — Room heaters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. BS EN 60335-2-30:2009+A13:2022 — room heaters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. IET Wiring Matters, September 2025 — 13 A continuous load (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue — Heating your home (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines in this set. We did not run a lab test.