Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Plug-in fan heaters 2026: 8 socket models compared

The best plug-in fan heaters, compared.

Top pick: Cakoai YL-01 1200 W Best value: Swan SH27010N 700 W – £9.20 for the same stated 700 W class, 4.0 from 263 ratings; a smoked-unit report keeps it off the top score. Updated 16.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A plug-in fan heater is a small electric fan heater whose plug pins go straight into a BS 1363 wall socket, so there is no trailing flex. You use one to take the chill off a desk, a kitchen corner, a box room, a shed or a caravan on hook-up. UK reviews describe close-range heat, not a full living room. Check wattage, a thermostat, a timer, an overheat cut-out and the clearance in the instructions. Russell reviews cite at least 30 cm below the heater. What to check before you buy is in the [plug-in fan heater buying guide](/hub/portable-heaters/plug-in-fan-heater/sub/plug-in-fan-heater-buying-guide). On a corded heater, plug in only means it uses mains electricity. These units are not oil-filled radiators, not corded 2 kW fan heaters and not hard-wired panels. When that job is enough, and when it is not, is set out in [when a plug-in fan heater is enough](/hub/portable-heaters/blog/when-a-plug-in-fan-heater-is-enough). This set clusters at 400 W, 500 W, 700 W, 800 W and 1,200 W. A lower wattage is not a more efficient heater. It uses less electricity because it delivers less heat. Resistive electric heat is still about one unit of heat per unit of electricity.

A plug-in fan heater is a small electric fan heater whose plug pins go straight into a BS 1363 wall socket, so there is no trailing flex.

Cakoai YL-01 1200 W

Best overall

Cakoai YL-01 1200 W
6.3/10∼ £34

30 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +17,600 readers

8 of 8: Best plug-in fan heaters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
Cakoai YL-01 1200 W
Cakoai PTC-800CR
Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 700 W
Ventox PHI-328 500 W
Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 500 W
Best value
Swan SH27010N 700 W
ZUSKYZU HY-NO1 800 W
AVCXEC H-YGG-ZYM 400 W
6.3/10
5.5/10
8.6/10
8.1/10
7.5/10
7.5/10
6.1/10
1.4/10
∼ £34
∼ £50
∼ £20
∼ £15
∼ £26
∼ £9
∼ £17
∼ £15
5.0(4)
5.0(1)
4.2(1,369)
4.1(76)
4.0(6,510)
4.0(263)
3.4(18)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best plug-in fan heaters in detail

Cakoai YL-01 1200 W

Rank 1

Cakoai YL-01 1200 W

∼£34

Our view

The Cakoai YL-01 lists 1,200 W and a 600 W step, a remote, a 1–12 hour timer and a thermostat from 25°C to 32°C, at £34.19. That 25°C floor is higher than the 15°C start on the Russell Hobbs and Swan listings, so you cannot set a cooler frost-watch temperature. The bullet claims a British Standard plug and a 65°C cut-out, and the listed weight is 380 g. Across four amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 5.0. All four UK reviews are short and positive, mentioning a small room, travel and a quiet fan in one of them, and none describes a fault. Four reviews are not a quality signal you can lean on. A highlight names a bathroom, and no IP rating is stated, so that word is not a bathroom approval. A two-year warranty is stated on the listing.

Pros

  • States a 600 W and a 1,200 W step
  • Remote and timer
  • BS plug claimed in the bullet

Cons

  • Only four reviews, all short and positive
  • Thermostat starts at 25°C
  • Bathroom word with no IP rating

Best for: A higher stated output if you can check the plug and you do not need a setting below 25°C.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants hundreds of UK reviews, or a set-point under 25°C.

Specifications

Model
Cakoai YL-01 1200 W
Brand
Cakoai
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Output
1,200 W
Thermostat
25–32°C
Timer
1–12 hours
Remote
Yes
Overheat cut-out
Yes, 65°C
Low setting
600 W
Element
PTC ceramic
Weight
380 g
Warranty
2 years

Common questions

What outputs does the YL-01 listing state?

The heat-output field says 1,200 W. The bullet also prints 600 W and 1,200 W. Two modes are stated.

What is the lowest temperature setting?

The bullet and the temperature fields say 25°C to 32°C. That minimum is higher than the 15°C floor on the Russell Hobbs and Swan listings.

Does a bathroom claim include an IP rating?

The highlight names a bathroom. No IP rating is stated. Four UK reviews do not discuss bathrooms.

Cakoai PTC-800CR

Rank 2

Cakoai PTC-800CR

∼£50

Our view

The Cakoai listing titled as a 1,200 W plug-in heater carries the model code PTC-800CR, and the listing does not resolve that clash. The shelf price is £49.99, the highest in this set, and the listed weight is 400 g. The listing states two modes labelled LL and HH, a 15–35°C thermostat, a 1–12 hour timer, a remote claimed to 8 metres, a 180° plug and a shut-off about one minute after 70°C. Across one amazon.co.uk rating it sits at 5.0. That single UK review praises the auto shut-off and does not describe a fault, which is one opinion rather than a pattern. No warranty line is on the listing. Until the wattage is confirmed on the unit itself, the title and the model code cannot both be treated as the output you will get.

Pros

  • Remote claimed to 8 m
  • 15–35°C and a 1–12 hour timer
  • 180° plug stated

Cons

  • Title wattage and model code conflict
  • Only one review
  • Highest shelf price in the set at £49.99

Best for: Only if you can confirm the wattage on the unit itself before you rely on it.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs a clear wattage and a review history.

Specifications

Model
Cakoai PTC-800CR
Brand
Cakoai
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Output
1,200 W title
Thermostat
15–35°C
Timer
1–12 hours
Remote
Yes
Overheat cut-out
Yes, 70°C
Low setting
LL / HH
Rotating plug
180°
Element
PTC ceramic
Weight
400 g

Common questions

Is this a 1,200 W or an 800 W heater?

The title says 1,200 W. The model number is PTC-800CR. The listing does not resolve that clash. Both are recorded.

What shut-off does the listing describe?

The bullet says the heater shuts off after about one minute once the temperature reaches 70°C, and that the materials are flame-retardant. That is seller wording.

How many UK reviews are recorded?

The listing shows 5.0 from 1 rating. The only review praises the auto shut-off and does not describe a fault.

Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 700 W

Rank 3

Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 700 W

∼£20

Our view

Across 1,369 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.2, the Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is a 700 W socket heater that reviewers use to take the chill off a kitchen corner, a small office or a camper, rather than a whole flat. It hangs on the wall socket, and UK reviews say there is no trailing cable. The listing states two fan speeds, a 15–30°C thermostat, a 12-hour timer and overheat protection, at £19.70 and 510 g. Reviewers often say the heat stays close to the unit and is not enough for a larger room, and that the fan keeps blowing after the set temperature. The plug is a repeated complaint: the body can strain the socket, and the instructions want space below the unit, including about 30 cm. One reviewer says it stopped after a winter and Russell Hobbs arranged a replacement. A 15°C minimum is too warm for one frost-watch use, and a UK review says it does not resume the last setting after a smart plug cycles the power.

Pros

  • No trailing cable in UK reviews
  • Timer and 15–30°C controls
  • 4.2 from 1,369 ratings

Cons

  • Often called too small for a larger room
  • Fan noise
  • Plug strain and clearance, including space below

Best for: Close heat in a small space where the socket meets the clearance in the instructions.

Less suitable: A living room or any job that needs the heat of a 2 kW corded fan heater.

Specifications

Model
Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 700 W
Brand
Russell Hobbs
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,369)
Output
700 W
Thermostat
15–30°C
Timer
12 hours
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Low setting
2 speeds
Rotating plug
Yes
Element
Ceramic
Weight
510 g
Warranty
1 year

Common questions

Does the Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 plug straight into a wall socket?

The listing is a plug-in heater and a UK review says there is no wire. It hangs on the socket. The same reviews mention clearance below the unit, including about 30 cm.

What output and temperature range does the listing state?

The listing states 700 W, two fan speeds, a thermostat from 15°C to 30°C and a 12-hour timer. A remote is not stated.

Is a bathroom rating stated?

No IP rating is stated. The room fields name home and office, not a bathroom zone.

Ventox PHI-328 500 W

Rank 4

Ventox PHI-328 500 W

∼£15

Our view

The Ventox PHI-328 is a 500 W plug-in ceramic fan heater at £15.01, with a remote, an LED display, a 1–12 hour timer and a 15–32°C thermostat stated on the listing. The listed weight is 500 g, and across 76 amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 4.1. Forty-five UK reviews describe camper, van, small-office and corridor use rather than a large room. Reviewers often say it gives more heat than the size suggests when you only want the chill off, though one review says candles might be better. The bullets use quiet wording, but one UK review puts the noise at about 59 dB and rejects a quieter claim, and more than one review says it is too loud for sleep. One unit broke after a week, and another runs for a few minutes then will not restart until the power is cycled. The warranty is not stated, and the 10 m² coverage line is a listing claim.

Pros

  • Remote and timer at a low shelf price
  • Plug-in form, 500 g
  • Reviews describe camper and small-office use

Cons

  • 500 W limits the room size
  • Noise above the quiet claim in at least one review
  • Warranty is not stated

Best for: A small room or van when you want a remote and can accept fan noise.

Less suitable: Sleeping with it running, or heating more than a small space.

Specifications

Model
Ventox PHI-328 500 W
Brand
Ventox
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.1/5(76)
Output
500 W
Thermostat
15–32°C
Timer
1–12 hours
Remote
Yes
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Low setting
2 speeds
Element
PTC ceramic
Weight
500 g

Common questions

Does the Ventox PHI-328 include a remote?

Yes. The title and bullets state a remote, an LED display, a 1–12 hour timer and a thermostat from 15°C to 32°C.

What output and supply does the listing state?

The listing states 500 W and 240 V, two fan speeds, and rooms up to 10 m². One review's amp figure does not match 500 W at 240 V, so it is not treated as a spec.

Is it stated as quiet?

The bullets use a silent wording. One UK review says about 59 dB and not a 38 dB claim. Treat the quiet line as a seller claim.

Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 500 W

Rank 5

Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 500 W

∼£26

Our view

Across 6,510 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.0, the Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 is a 500 W ceramic plug-in heater that reviewers use for top-up heat in a shed, a utility room, a small kitchen, a caravan or a conservatory. The listing states two fan speeds, a 12-hour timer, an LED display and a night light, at £25.99 and 590 g, and a UK review says there is no remote. The thermostat bullet says 15–30°C, while the maximum-temperature field prints 15°C, so those two lines do not agree. Reviewers often call it too small for a bedroom or a larger office, and loud, including a hairdryer comparison. One kitchen review puts the useful heat at about half a metre. UK reviews say the instructions want more than 30 cm between the heater and the floor, which rules out a skirting socket. Overheat protection is not stated in the feature bullets. A power button fell off on second use in one review, and another unit failed after about 18 months.

Pros

  • Large review count, 4.0 from 6,510
  • Timer, LED and night light stated
  • Used in sheds, caravans and small rooms in reviews

Cons

  • 500 W is a small output
  • Often called loud
  • 30 cm clearance rules out low sockets

Best for: Top-up heat in a small space with a socket well above the floor.

Less suitable: A bedroom or office that needs more than 500 W, or a room whose sockets are at skirting level.

Specifications

Model
Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 500 W
Brand
Russell Hobbs
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.0/5(6,510)
Output
500 W
Thermostat
15–30°C
Timer
12 hours
Remote
No
Low setting
2 speeds
Element
Ceramic
Weight
590 g
Warranty
2 years

Common questions

How much output does the RHPH2001 listing state?

The title and bullets state 500 W, two fan speeds and a room-size claim of up to 10 m². The thermostat bullet says 15°C to 30°C. The maximum-temperature field prints 15°C, which conflicts.

Will it fit a socket near the floor?

UK reviews say the instructions want more than 30 cm between the heater and the floor. Reviewers with skirting sockets say they had to return it.

Does the listing include a remote?

A remote is not in the feature bullets. A UK review says there is no remote. Digital controls, a timer and a night light are stated.

Swan SH27010N 700 W

Rank 6

Swan SH27010N 700 W

Our view

The Swan SH27010N is a 700 W socket heater at £9.20, and the first 50 UK reviews describe it taking the chill off a small kitchen, porch, garage corner or workshop without a cable on the floor. The listing states two speeds, an LED display, a 12-hour timer, a 15–30°C thermostat and overheat protection, and the listed weight is 400 g. Across 263 amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 4.0. Many of those reviews call the fan loud, including too loud to leave on at night, and several say the heat stays local rather than filling a room. The body is also described as heavy on the plug. One review says a previous unit smoked and was replaced, another says a unit broke after a few weeks, and one new unit shut off as soon as it was switched on. Noise is the theme that repeats, not one shared part failure.

Pros

  • Low shelf price in this set
  • Known brand and a 2-year guarantee line
  • No floor cable in reviews

Cons

  • Loud fan, repeated in reviews
  • Local heat rather than a large room
  • A few reports of early failure or a smoking unit

Best for: A small kitchen, porch or workshop socket, if noise is acceptable.

Less suitable: Night use in a bedroom, or a room that needs more than close-range heat.

Specifications

Model
Swan SH27010N 700 W
Brand
Swan
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.0/5(263)
Output
700 W
Thermostat
15–30°C
Timer
12 hours
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Low setting
2 speeds
Weight
400 g
Warranty
2 years

Common questions

Is the Swan SH27010N a socket heater?

UK reviews call it a 700 W socket heater with no cable on the floor. The mounting field says wall mount. The listed weight is 400 g.

What controls does the listing state?

Two fan speeds, an LED display, overheat protection, a 12-hour timer in the title, and 15–30°C in the temperature fields. A remote is not stated.

What do the UK reviews repeat about noise?

Many of the first 50 reviews call the fan loud, including too loud to leave on at night. That is a review theme, not a measured decibel figure.

ZUSKYZU HY-NO1 800 W

Rank 7

ZUSKYZU HY-NO1 800 W

∼£17

Our view

The ZUSKYZU HY-NO1 is an 800 W PTC socket heater at £16.99, with a remote, a 15–32°C range, a 1–12 hour timer and a stated 65°C cut-out. The listing says it plugs into a standard UK wall socket with no wires, and the listed weight is 440 g. Across 18 amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 3.4, and only eight UK reviews are recorded, so the themes are thin. One reviewer uses it on a narrowboat instead of the boat’s heating and calls the heat strong for the size. Another says it used more electricity than their central heating and did not warm the room. One unit did not work properly on arrival, and one died after about six months, after which the reviewer bought a second. No warranty line is on the listing. Eight reviews are not enough to treat the 800 W figure as a settled result.

Pros

  • 800 W with a remote and timer
  • Stated 65°C cut-out
  • Light, 440 g

Cons

  • 3.4 from only 18 ratings
  • Early failure in a thin review set
  • No warranty line on the listing

Best for: A trial socket heater if you accept a thin set of reviews.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a long UK review history before buying.

Specifications

Model
ZUSKYZU HY-NO1 800 W
Brand
ZUSKYZU
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
3.4/5(18)
Output
800 W
Thermostat
15–32°C
Timer
1–12 hours
Remote
Yes
Overheat cut-out
Yes, 65°C
Low setting
2 modes
Element
PTC ceramic
Weight
440 g

Common questions

How does this 800 W heater connect?

The bullet says there are no wires and that it plugs into a standard UK wall socket. The listed weight is 440 g.

What safety cut-out does the listing state?

The bullet says power shuts off when the temperature reaches 65°C, and that there is a 60-second cool-down after the power button. No IP rating is stated.

How many UK reviews are recorded?

The listing shows 3.4 from 18 ratings. Eight UK reviews are recorded, including one failure after about six months and one unit that did not work on arrival.

AVCXEC H-YGG-ZYM 400 W

Rank 8

AVCXEC H-YGG-ZYM 400 W

∼£15

Our view

The AVCXEC H-YGG-ZYM lists 400 W, two fan speeds, a remote, a 15–32°C thermostat, a 1–12 hour timer and a 180° rotatable plug, at £14.99. The current field is 1.82 A and the weight is 380 g. The bullets claim rooms under about 10 m², and a separate line says about 30 square feet, which is a seller claim rather than a measured room. There is no customer-review line on the listing, so there is no UK star rating to set against those figures. Overheat protection is stated, and a noise claim below 36 dB is also seller wording. A bathroom is named in the bullets with no IP rating. The 180° plug is seller wording until a UK review says it fits a real socket. At 400 W this is the lowest stated output in the set, and it only makes sense for a desk if you accept a listing with no reviews.

Pros

  • Lowest stated wattage in the set
  • Remote, timer and a 180° plug claim
  • 380 g

Cons

  • No UK reviews on the listing
  • 400 W is a small output
  • Bathroom is named with no IP rating

Best for: A desk or very small space if you accept a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants review evidence, or heat beyond a personal space.

Specifications

Model
AVCXEC H-YGG-ZYM 400 W
Brand
AVCXEC
Price
∼£15
Output
400 W
Thermostat
15–32°C
Timer
1–12 hours
Remote
Yes
Overheat cut-out
Yes
Low setting
2 speeds
Rotating plug
180°
Element
PTC ceramic
Weight
380 g

Common questions

What output does this AVCXEC listing state?

The heat-output field says 400 W, with 1.82 A. The bullets say two fan speeds, a 15–32°C thermostat and rooms under about 10 m².

Does the plug rotate?

The bullet states a 180° rotatable plug for a standard wall outlet. That is a seller claim. There are no UK reviews on the listing.

Is there a star rating on the listing?

No customer-review line is present. The rating and the review count are missing, not a measured zero satisfaction.

How we compared

We scored eight amazon.co.uk socket plug-in fan heaters. Shelf prices and star ratings are the figures on those listings. The total is not a lab test, not a Which? score and not a best-sellers rank. The Ofgem unit rate is not part of the score. Points come from the star rating, review volume, stated controls, price fit where overheat protection is stated, and a reading of the UK reviews. Under 30 reviews costs 8 points, and fewer than five reviews costs a further 8. A title wattage that conflicts with the model code costs 8. A bathroom line with no IP rating costs 4. A smoked unit in the reviews costs 6. Instructions that need more than 30 cm below the heater, where a skirting socket fails, cost 3.

1

Star rating

50%

Up to 50 points from the amazon.co.uk rating times 10, so 4.2 becomes 42. No star line scores 0.

2

Review volume

15%

Up to 15 points from the review count: 5,000 or more scores 15, 1,000–4,999 scores 12, 300–999 scores 9, 100–299 scores 6, 20–99 scores 3, and under 20 scores 0.

3

Stated controls

20%

Up to 20 points: overheat cut-out 6, a thermostat that starts at 15°C scores 5 (a range that starts at 25°C scores 3), timer 4, a remote on the listing 3, and a second stated watt step 2.

4

Price fit

10%

Up to 10 points when overheat protection is stated: under £12 scores 10, £12–£20 scores 8, £20–£35 scores 5, and over £35 scores 2. If overheat protection is not stated, under £30 scores 3.

5

Review sentiment

5%

Up to 5 points from the UK reviews: close heat that matches the claimed job, and whether a fault or a noise complaint repeats. No reviews scores 0.

Independent review
Last updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Plug-in fan heater buying guide

A plug-in fan heater hangs on the socket. The decision is the stated wattage against a small space, the height of that socket, and whether the reviews show noise, plug strain or a thin sample. Stars are not a lab score. None of these eight is an oil-filled radiator, a corded 2 kW fan heater or a hard-wired panel, and none states an IP rating.

What is a plug-in fan heater?

A plug-in fan heater is a small PTC or ceramic fan heater that hangs on a BS 1363 wall socket and blows warm air. The plug pins go straight into the socket, so there is no trailing flex. On a corded heater, plug in only means it uses mains electricity. These units are not oil-filled radiators, not corded 2 kW fan heaters and not hard-wired panels. You use one for close heat at a desk, in a kitchen corner, a box room, a shed or a caravan on hook-up.

Best for

  • Close heat in a small office, kitchen or box room without a cable on the floor
  • A caravan or narrowboat on hook-up, for top-up heat rather than the boat’s heating

Not ideal for

  • A living room or a whole flat
  • A bathroom, or a socket that cannot meet the clearance in the instructions

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a corded heater because the title says plug in

    On a corded heater, plug in only means mains electricity. Drop corded 1,500–3,000 W tabletop heaters. A socket heater’s pins go straight into the wall, with no flex on the floor.

  2. 2

    Expecting 500–700 W to heat a living room

    Listings often claim about 10 m², and UK reviews describe close-range heat. A lower wattage uses less electricity because it delivers less heat. It is not a more efficient way to warm a large room.

  3. 3

    Ignoring clearance, an extension lead or a bathroom bullet

    Russell Hobbs review text cites at least 30 cm below the heater. Do not use an extension lead, do not leave it on overnight, and do not read a bathroom word as approval. No listing here states an IP rating.

What to weigh up

Stated output and the socket

High

Stated output against the space is the first check, and the heater has to be a socket unit. Drop a corded 1,500–3,000 W tabletop heater even if the title says plug in. This set clusters at 400 W, 500 W, 700 W, 800 W and 1,200 W. Several listings claim about 10 m². UK reviews describe close-range heat: a kitchen corner, a small office, a camper or a shed, not a living room. The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 and the Swan SH27010N are both stated at 700 W. The RHPH2001 and the Ventox PHI-328 are 500 W.

Controls, noise and reviews

High

Look for a thermostat, a timer and an overheat cut-out before you pay for a remote. Ranges on these listings often start at 15°C and run to 30°C or 32°C. The Cakoai YL-01 starts at 25°C, so you cannot set a cooler frost-watch temperature. A 15°C minimum is still too warm for some frost-watch jobs. Timers are either 12 hours or 1–12 hours. A remote is stated on the Ventox, the ZUSKYZU, both Cakoai listings and the AVCXEC.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Small kitchen or box room

You want close heat where a cable on the floor is a nuisance. The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is 700 W at £19.70, with 4.2 from 1,369 ratings, a 12-hour timer and a 15–30°C thermostat. The socket still has to meet the clearance, including about 30 cm below the unit.

Caravan or van on hook-up

You want top-up heat in a camper or small cabin, and a remote is useful. The Ventox PHI-328 is 500 W at £15.01, with a remote, a 1–12 hour timer and 4.1 from 76 ratings. Reviews describe camper and small-office use, and more than one says it is too loud for sleep.

Lowest price, noise acceptable

You want the lowest shelf price in this set for a small kitchen, porch or workshop socket. The Swan SH27010N is 700 W at £9.20, with 4.0 from 263 ratings, a timer and overheat protection. Many reviews call the fan too loud to leave on at night.

Common questions about plug-in fan heaters

Which plug-in fan heater is the top pick in 2026?
The Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is the top pick. It is a 700 W socket heater at £19.70, with a 15–30°C thermostat, a 12-hour timer and overheat protection stated, and 4.2 from 1,369 amazon.co.uk ratings. UK reviews say there is no trailing cable, and the instructions want about 30 cm below the heater, so a skirting socket often fails. It is a poor fit for a living room.
How much does a plug-in fan heater cost?
Shelf prices on these amazon.co.uk listings run from £9.20 to £49.99. The Swan SH27010N is £9.20, the Russell Hobbs RHPH7001 is £19.70 and the Cakoai PTC-800CR is £49.99, with a title wattage that conflicts with the model code. At 26.32p per kWh, a 700 W element is about 18p an hour while it draws 700 W. A thermostat means it is not on all the time.
What should I check before I buy a plug-in fan heater?
Check that the pins go into the socket and there is no trailing flex. A corded 2 kW heater is a different product even if the title says plug in. Match the stated wattage to a small space: this set runs from 400 W to 1,200 W, and reviews describe close-range heat. Confirm the socket height against the clearance. Prefer a thermostat, a timer and an overheat cut-out. No listing states an IP rating.
Will 500 W or 700 W heat a living room?
No. Listings often claim about 10 m², and UK reviews describe heat near the unit: a kitchen corner, a small office, a camper or a shed. Reviewers of the RHPH7001 and the Swan both say it is not enough for a larger room. A lower wattage delivers less heat, not a more efficient warm-up. If the room needs a corded floor fan, see the comparison of fan heaters.
Can I use a plug-in fan heater in a bathroom?
No. None of these listings states an IP rating. Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue say standard portable electric heaters must not be used in bathrooms, and BS 7671 Section 701 governs bath and shower zones. A highlight that names a bathroom, including on the Cakoai YL-01 and the AVCXEC, is not a bathroom approval. If the only sockets are in a bathroom zone, call an electrician rather than reading a bullet as permission.
Is a lower wattage a more efficient heater?
A lower wattage uses less electricity because it delivers less heat. It is not a more efficient heater. Resistive electric heat is still about one unit of heat per unit of electricity. At 26.32p per kWh, a 700 W element is about 18p an hour while it draws 700 W, and 1,200 W is about 32p. A thermostat means it is not on all the time. This is arithmetic, not a measured bill.
What if the socket or the plug runs hot?
Stop using the heater. Electrical Safety First says use a UK 3-pin plug, do not run a portable heater overnight or unattended, do not use an extension lead, and keep at least one metre from combustibles. Call an electrician if the socket scorches, buzzes or runs hot, or if the consumer unit trips and the cause is not obvious.

Our verdict

These eight plug-in fan heaters hang on a wall socket. They are for close heat in a small space, not a living room and not a bathroom. The top pick is the Russell Hobbs RHPH7001: the highest total, 700 W at £19.70, 4.2 from 1,369 ratings, with a 15–30°C thermostat, a 12-hour timer and overheat protection stated. The 30 cm clearance deduction is applied and it still leads. The best value is the Swan SH27010N at £9.20 for the same stated 700 W class, 4.0 from 263 ratings. A smoked-unit report in the reviews is why it is not the top pick. The Ventox scores higher than the Swan and stays unbadged: it is 500 W at £15.01 with 76 ratings, not the stronger price-to-watts result.

Best overall
Cakoai YL-01 1200 W

Cakoai YL-01 1200 W

View offer
Best value
Swan SH27010N 700 W

Swan SH27010N 700 W

£9.20 for the same stated 700 W class, 4.0 from 263 ratings; a smoked-unit report keeps it off the top score.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
amazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sourcesPortable heaters

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to plug-in fan heaters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources last checked on 16 October 2026. Prices and star ratings are the amazon.co.uk figures on the listings used for this comparison.

  1. Electrical Safety First: Portable heaters (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First: Plugs and fuses (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  3. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  4. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  5. OPSS product safety report 2212-0070: portable heater (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  6. Ofgem: Energy price cap unit rates and standing charges (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  7. Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue: Staying warm safely (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  8. SELECT: BS 7671 Section 701, bath or shower rooms (retrieved 16.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. The scores are an editorial reading of amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab.