Workshop with 400 V already fitted
You already have a confirmed 400 V three-phase outlet and want dry electric heat on the listed steps. A 13 A socket will not run this heater. The 5.0 is one shared review, not a second test.
The best 15 kW fan heaters, compared.
Top pick: DAHTEC IFHO3-150G black – Highest score here for stated 400 V steps and overheat protection, for a workshop that already has three-phase. Not a lab result. Best value: ALINI ALINI15GH propane – Lowest shelf price with propane, a regulator, a 1.5 m hose and a UK 3-pin fan plug named on the listing. Updated October 2026.
A 15 kW fan heater in this UK set is either a 400 V three-phase electric blower or a propane forced-air blower that still needs a mains socket for the fan. The first question is the supply, not the colour of the case. A BS 1363 13 A socket is about 3 kW at 230 V. The electric listings forbid a 220–240 V household socket, and they do not name the plug. What counts is whether the listing matches the socket, and whether the reviews describe a real thermostat and a real regulator. The [electric or gas guide](/hub/portable-heaters/15kw-fan-heater/sub/15kw-fan-heater-electric-or-gas) sets those two fuels side by side. The electric kind is a steel-cased coil fan heater, 14.5 kg, with IP24 printed in the bullets and an Indoor usage field. It comes as two colours of one model number. The gas kind is a forced-air blower of about 4–5 kg, with piezo ignition, either the yellow or the red-and-black. Plug-in ceramics, a tower heater and a 10 kW industrial fan heater were the wrong power class and stay out.
A 15 kW fan heater in this UK set is either a 400 V three-phase electric blower or a propane forced-air blower that still needs a mains socket for the fan. The first question is the supply, not the colour of the case.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 4Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What supply do you already have?
The DAHTEC IFHO3-150G in black is a floor-standing 15 kW electric coil blower that the amazon.co.uk bullets lock to a 380–400 V three-phase supply, so a normal 13 A socket will not run it. Listed steps are a 95 W fan-only figure, then 5 kW, 10 kW and 15 kW, even though the same bullets also say “3 settings”, and airflow is printed up to 2,246 m³/h. The steel case is 14.5 kg and 41 x 36 x 55 cm, with a heat-insulated handle, non-slip feet and a 1.60 m lead whose plug type is not named. Overheat protection and an adjustable thermostat are stated, tip-over protection is not, and a listing tip says the coil may take about 5–10 minutes compared with a ceramic element. The usage field says Indoor, including where the bullets print IP24, and the 1,291 sq ft coverage line is a claim. The only UK review is Mike’s one line from 7 December 2025, “Really excellent”, and the same text sits on the silver listing, so the 5.0 is not a second test. In this set it is the top pick when the workshop already has a confirmed 400 V outlet.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A workshop that already has a confirmed 400 V three-phase outlet and wants dry electric heat on the listed steps.
Less suitable: A house or garage with only a 13 A socket, or anyone treating the single shared review as a test.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this DAHTEC run from a normal UK socket?
No. The bullets say it is a 400 V three-phase heater and that it cannot be used on a standard 220–240 V household socket.
What heat settings does the listing give?
The bullets say three settings, then list four figures: 95 W fan only, 5,000 W, 10,000 W and 15,000 W. Both wordings are on the page.
Is it listed for outdoor use?
The usage field says Indoor. The bullets also state IP24. That code is not an outdoor-use claim on this listing.
The silver DAHTEC IFHO3-150G carries the same model number, the same about £186.15 price and the same 380–400 V ban on a household socket as the black listing, with the same 95 W, 5 kW, 10 kW and 15 kW figures and the same airflow line of up to 2,246 m³/h. This page adds a 4-speed field and a maximum temperature setting of 40°C, while the heat-output field still reads 140°C, and the listing does not reconcile those two temperatures. The steel case, 14.5 kg weight, 41 x 36 x 55 cm size and 1.60 m lead match the black row, and the plug is still unnamed. The only review is Mike’s “Really excellent” from 7 December 2025, word for word the black listing’s review, so a second 5.0 does not mean a second buyer. Treat the silver finish as a colour choice once the outlet is already 400 V three-phase. Tip-over protection is not stated, and the usage field remains Indoor beside an IP24 line in the bullets.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who has already chosen the IFHO3-150G for a real 400 V outlet and prefers the silver case.
Less suitable: Anyone hoping the silver page is a separately reviewed heater, or a building with only 13 A sockets.
Specifications
Common questions
How is the silver listing different from the black one?
The colour field says silver. This page also has a 4-speed field and a 40°C maximum temperature setting. Model number, price, rank and the only review match the black listing.
Does the temperature field agree with itself?
No. The maximum temperature setting is 40°C, and the heat-output field reads 140°C. Both are stored as printed.
Can it use a household socket?
No. The bullets require 380–400 V three-phase and say it cannot run on a 220–240 V household socket. The plug type is not stated.
The DAHTEC BGA1401-15-18 is a 15 kW gas blower at about £84.15 that reviewers describe heating a garage, shed or workshop quickly, with piezo ignition that starts straight away and a carry handle on a 5.07 kg yellow case. The listing count is 4.0 from 27 reviews, and 19 of those texts were read for this comparison. The fuel-type field is empty, although the rank is propane space heaters, the highlight says 1.09 kg/h, and one review mentions a propane cylinder. The fan needs mains power, the voltage is not stated, and the bullets print 700 mbar plus an adjustable flame and a manual thermostat. Several of those texts say there is no temperature control to find, one pottery-studio review called it too loud for speech, and one buyer was cut by a sharp edge while unpacking. A supplied regulator with a faulty outlet thread was returned, and one instruction sheet set a minimum of 100 square metres, which that buyer said ruled out a double garage of about 65 square metres by their own estimate. One review also says the heater cannot be used indoors, which conflicts with the Indoor field.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A ventilated space where a propane blower is allowed, you can check the regulator thread, and you have read the instruction minimum.
Less suitable: A domestic garage with a car or petrol vapour, a room under the instruction minimum, or anyone expecting a thermostat dial the reviews could not find.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing name the gas?
The fuel-type field is empty. The title says gas, the rank is Propane Space Heaters, and the highlight says 1.09 kg/h. One review mentions a propane cylinder.
Does the fan need mains power as well?
Yes. The power-source field says AC, and reviews say it needs a socket. The voltage is not stated.
Is there a thermostat?
Special features say a manual thermostat, and the bullets say an adjustable flame. Several reviews say there is no temperature control.
The ALINI ALINI15GH is the lowest shelf price in this set at about £75.99, and it is the propane listing that names the fuel, a regulator, a 1.5 m hose and a 230 V UK 3-pin plug for the fan. Reviewers who kept it report strong garage heat, easy set-up and a 3.7 kg red-and-black case that stores in a small space, against a listing count of 4.0 from 11 reviews, of which 6 texts were read. The burn rate is 1.09 kg/h, and one garage review says the flow cannot be turned down, so a 6 kg bottle is used quickly. The 300 m² coverage line is a claim, the airflow cell reads 320 m³ with no time unit, and the heat-output field is an unclear BTU string rather than a room test. One unit arrived damaged, though that buyer still said it worked, and another was returned as weak beside an 8 kW diesel heater. There is no thermostat field and no overheat field. It is the best value here when you accept a flueless propane blower and do not need to reduce the flame.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants the named propane kit at the lowest price in this set and can live with one fixed output.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs to turn the flame down, or a room where a flueless heater is not allowed.
Specifications
Common questions
What fuel does the ALINI listing specify, and what is in the box?
Propane/LPG. The bullets include a propane regulator and a 1.5 m hose. The fan uses a 3-pin UK plug.
How much gas does the listing say it uses?
1.09 kg per hour. One review says a 6 kg bottle goes quickly because the gas flow cannot be regulated.
How large a space does it claim?
The bullets say up to 300 m². That is a listing claim. The heat-output field is printed as an unclear BTU string, not as a measured room test.
Four amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 15 October 2026. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK lines. There was no laboratory heat test. A 5.0 from one shared sentence does not outrank a listing whose supply, fuel and control lines disagree with the reviews. The five weights below sum to 100. Deductions for a shared review, a thin sample, a temperature clash, or a disputed control sit outside that sum.
Amazon stars
20%Star points are the amazon.co.uk rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 20. A 5.0 scores 20. A 4.0 scores 16.
Review volume
15%Twenty to 49 ratings, with the texts in the file read, score 12. Ten to 19 ratings score 7. A single rating, or review text shared with another listing, scores 1.
Listing clarity
30%Points cover a supply a buyer can accept or reject, a named fuel, and a lead, hose or regulator that is actually printed on the page.
Controls
20%Points cover stated steps, a thermostat and overheat protection when the reviews do not contradict them. A disputed thermostat, or one speed with no thermostat field, scores less.
Price
15%A shelf under £80 scores 14. From £80 to £99.99 scores 12. From £100 to £199.99 scores 6.
A 15 kW fan heater is a floor-standing blower, not a plug-in ceramic. On these four amazon.co.uk listings it is either dry electric heat locked to 400 V three-phase, or a propane blower that still needs a socket for the fan. The shelf prices run from about £75.99 to about £186.15. Coverage lines and star counts are not a room test. Start with the outlet you actually have, then the fuel, then whether the reviews can find the control the bullets describe.
A 15 kW fan heater in this comparison is a floor-standing blower rated at 15 kilowatts, not a 1.5 kW or 2 kW plug-in ceramic. Two kinds sit on these amazon.co.uk pages. The electric kind is a steel-cased coil fan heater, 14.5 kg, with IP24 printed in the bullets and an Indoor usage field. It comes as two colours of one model number, DAHTEC IFHO3-150G.

A plug-in ceramic of 1.5–2.8 kW is a different machine. These four listings are the 15 kW class. A 13 A socket is about 3 kW at 230 V, which is why the electric bullets forbid a household socket.
Both IFHO3-150G pages require 380–400 V three-phase. The plug type is not named. A five-pin connector from another brand’s sheet is not evidence for these listings. Call an electrician before a new circuit.
The electric 5.0 is one shared sentence. The ALINI 300 m² line and the electric 1,291 sq ft line are listing claims. Fitting a spare regulator, or blocking high- and low-level vents, is the other mistake the public guidance is written to stop.
The electric pages in this set forbid a 220–240 V household socket and require 380–400 V three-phase. A BS 1363 13 A socket is about 3 kW at 230 V, so it cannot feed a 15 kW element. Those Amazon pages do not name the plug. Other UK 15 kW sheets name a 32 A five-pin connector. That connector is not stated here, so it is not yours. The Health and Safety Executive describes UK public supply as 230 V single-phase and 400 V three-phase.
Electric heat from the IFHO3-150G is dry. Both gas blowers list about 1.09 kg/h and still need mains power for the fan. The ALINI names propane or LPG, a regulator, a 1.5 m hose and a UK 3-pin plug. The DAHTEC gas fuel-type field is empty. Its rank is Propane Space Heaters, a review mentions a propane cylinder, and the bullets state 700 mbar. Titles that say garage are not a safety clearance. Flueless heaters do not belong where petrol vapour may be present.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already have a confirmed 400 V three-phase outlet and want dry electric heat on the listed steps. A 13 A socket will not run this heater. The 5.0 is one shared review, not a second test.
You want propane, a regulator and a 1.5 m hose named on the listing, plus a 230 V UK 3-pin plug for the fan. The flame cannot be turned down. Read the ventilation warning before you treat a garage title as clearance.
You can ventilate the space, check the regulator thread, and you have read the instruction minimum. The fuel-type field is empty and several reviews found no temperature control. A site supply of 110 V will not run the electric pair.
The black DAHTEC IFHO3-150G is the top pick in this set, at about £186.15, for a workshop that already has 400 V three-phase. The listing states the voltage, the steps and overheat protection. The 5.0 is one shared line, not a lab result. The silver listing is the same model and loses the clash between a 40°C setting and a 140°C heat-output field. The best value is the ALINI ALINI15GH at about £75.99, because the page names propane, a regulator, a 1.5 m hose and a UK 3-pin plug for the fan. Its score stays below the black electric heater: the flame cannot be turned down, and two reviews describe damage or weak heat.

DAHTEC IFHO3-150G black
Highest score here for stated 400 V steps and overheat protection, for a workshop that already has three-phase. Not a lab result.

ALINI ALINI15GH propane
Lowest shelf price with propane, a regulator, a 1.5 m hose and a UK 3-pin fan plug named on the listing.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for supply, gas safety, and the hourly arithmetic. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines from 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.