Desk heat for an hour
You want fast heat on one person, with the grille kept clear. The Warmlite WL42013 states 500 W and 1,000 W, about 70° of oscillation, and 4.4 from 1,197 reviews. The case is light, and no tip-over switch is named.
The best electric infrared heaters, compared.
Top pick: Warmlite WL42013 carbon tower – Highest score: matching 500 W and 1,000 W, about 70° oscillation, and 4.4 from 1,197 reviews. Not a lab result. Best value: Harrier 2000 W patio heater – About £48.99 with 2,000 W that agrees between title and field, and 4.4 from 342 reviews, if the socket is within 1.8 m. Updated October 2026.
An electric infrared heater warms you, or the spot in front of it. It does not replace a gas boiler or a heat pump. At the same watts it uses the same electricity as a fan heater. On amazon.co.uk the formats are a flat wall panel, a quartz bar, a carbon tower or tube, and a higher-watt patio bar. A usable page shows watts that match the amps, a BS 1363 plug, a tip-over or overheat cut-out on a freestanding unit, and one IP rating that does not contradict itself. The [buying guide](/hub/portable-heaters/electric-infrared-heater/sub/electric-infrared-heater-buying-guide) sets out type, watts, controls and IP without ranking these ten models again. An electric infrared heater on amazon.co.uk is a radiant heater. People buy one to warm a person or a single spot. The Energy puts electric heaters of the same wattage on the same energy. A line that says 95% or 98% efficient does not make a 450 W panel cheaper to run than another heater of the same watts. Energy Saving Trust describes infrared panels as direct electric heat, often in a band of about 350–900 W.
An electric infrared heater warms you, or the spot in front of it. It does not replace a gas boiler or a heat pump. At the same watts it uses the same electricity as a fan heater.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 10Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Where will you use it?
The Warmlite WL42013 is a 2.2 kg carbon tower at about £56.46 that the stored UK reviews use for fast heat on the low setting, close to a chair, with the television still audible. The bullets state 500 W and 1,000 W, about 70° of oscillation, and overheat protection, and the heat-output field agrees at 1,000 W. Across 1,197 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, 34 UK texts call the controls simple and the running cost lower than a fan heater they had been using, which follows the lower watts rather than a special efficiency. The case is repeatedly called flimsy, thin, or wobbly, one front-grille screw arrived loose, and a tip-over switch is not named. There is no fan, so the heat stays in a beam, and the high setting is described as too hot to leave near children or pets. The recommended-uses field also says Outdoor, and no IP rating is captured, so this is an indoor tower. The lead is stated as 2 yards. In this set it is the top pick for one person who can sit in the beam and will not treat the light case as a stable pedestal.
Pros
Cons
Best for: One person indoors who can sit in the beam and wants the deepest review file in this set.
Less suitable: A whole room, a patio, or a home where the tower could be knocked near a child or a pet.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Warmlite listing state oscillation?
Yes. The bullets say about 70 degrees. Overheat protection is named. A tip-over switch is not named.
What are the heat settings?
The bullets say 500 W and 1000 W. The heat-output field says 1000 W. No timer is stated. Voltage is 240 V and current is 4.17 A.
What is in the box?
The included-components field lists the heater base, four screws, two cable-management hooks and an instruction manual. Weight is 2.2 kg.
The Harrier is a 9 kg radiant patio heater at about £48.99 whose title and heat-output field both say 2,000 W, with three settings and a head that the bullets tilt from 0 to 45 degrees. Across 342 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, the first 50 UK texts praise strong heat for a garden or a late evening and a heavy base that feels sturdy once it is together. The power lead is 1.8 m in the bullets, and reviewers repeat that it is too short, including a lead that does not clear the base. The head fixing wobbles on the pole for more than one buyer, assembly steps are missing or too small to read, and one review mentions sharp edges. The bullets say IPX4, and one UK review could not find that code in the booklet. The bullets do not use the word infrared, though the heating-method field says Radiant, and the mounting field says Wall Mount while the bullets say freestanding or wall. At this price, with watts that agree, it is the best value for a covered patio if the socket is within that 1.8 m lead.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A covered patio where an outdoor socket is within 1.8 m of a heavy stand.
Less suitable: A socket across the garden, or a buyer who needs the word infrared printed in the bullets.
Specifications
Common questions
Can the Harrier stand or hang on a wall?
The bullets say freestanding or wall mounted. The mounting-type field says Wall Mount. The head tilts from 0 to 45 degrees in the bullets.
What splash rating is stated?
The bullets say IPX4. One UK review could not find IPX4 in the booklet. The word infrared is not in the bullets. Heating method in the field is Radiant.
How long is the lead?
1.8 m, in the bullets. UK reviews repeatedly call the lead too short. No timer is stated. Current is 8.33 A. Voltage is not stated.
The Devola DVPH2000B is a wall patio bar at about £109.99 whose title says 2,000 W, while the heat-output field says 1,200 W. The current is 8.33 A at 240 V, about 2,000 W, so the amps follow the title and the field does not. Across 157 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, 46 UK texts praise strong, quick heat on a pergola or gazebo and a remote that works when it arrives with a CR2032 cell fitted. The same sample says Wi-Fi will not join unless the router is very close, the cable is short for a mount above about 2 m, and an element failed after a few months. The bullets and the highlight say IP65, and the special-features field says IP24. The indoor/outdoor field says Indoor while the title is an outdoor heater, and the speeds field says 1 while the bullets say four settings. It is a wall bar for a covered seating spot if you ignore the app and reconcile the watts yourself.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A covered pergola or gazebo where the bar can reach the socket and you will not rely on Wi-Fi.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs one IP figure, or a lead long enough for a high wall.
Specifications
Common questions
What wattage does the Devola 2000 W listing state?
The title says 2000 W. The heat-output field says 1200 W. The amperage is 8.33 A at 240 V, which is about 2000 W.
Which IP rating is stated?
The bullets and the highlight say IP65. The special-features field says IP24. No tip-over switch is named, because it is a wall heater.
Does the listing include a remote and Wi-Fi?
Yes, in the highlight, with an LED display and a 24-hour timer. UK reviews often say Wi-Fi will not join unless the router is very close.
The SOUTHEATIC T15-G12YD is listed at about £69.99 as a carbon-fibre tube with 600 W and 1,200 W in the title and tip-over protection, and the heat-output field states 1,200 W. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.3 from 13 reviews, and the file contains two United Kingdom reviews. Later German reviews are not UK opinion. Those two texts describe a portable heater with a top handle that can follow the seating, a low glow rather than a bright flood, and heat felt from a distance on a patio or in a garden. One reviewer had only used the lower setting, and one put a heat-proof mat under it on a table. No failed part is described in those two reviews, which is too small a sample to read as reliability. The dimension field is 22 × 22 × 5 cm, which conflicts with a freestanding heater that has a base and a handle, and voltage and current are not stated. The indoor/outdoor field says Outdoor and no IP rating is captured, so rain is not supported by the English fields.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A trial only if you accept two UK reviews and you keep it out of the rain.
Less suitable: A patio left in the weather, or anyone using 13 ratings as a reliability record.
Specifications
Common questions
What outputs does the SOUTHEATIC listing state?
The title says 600 W and 1200 W. The heat-output field says 1200 W. Tip-over protection is in the title. Weight is 2.15 kg.
Is an IP rating stated?
No. The indoor/outdoor field says Outdoor. Two UK reviews describe patio or garden use. The file has only those two UK reviews. Later German reviews are not used as UK opinion.
Do the dimensions match a freestanding heater?
The dimension field is 22 x 22 x 5 cm. UK reviews describe a base and a top handle. Oscillation is claimed at 120 or 360 degrees. Voltage and current are not stated.
The SONBION LSG13 is a 1.57 kg quartz bar at about £39.95 whose title and heat-output field both say 800 W, with two settings, tip-over protection, and overheat protection. Across 511 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.2, the first 50 UK texts praise fast personal heat that is quieter than a fan heater, in a small space and for short sessions. The same sample repeats an upper tube that stops after weeks or a few months, including one estimate of under 100 hours, and a heater that died at about three months. One review says the grille was hot enough to ignite a blanket and singe cat fur, and the switches sit where a hand meets that heat. The bullets also name a patio and a garage, and no IP rating is captured, so those rooms are listing claims. The model-name field says LSG01 while the model is LSG13, and the colour field says Infrared Heater rather than a colour. It suits a short session beside a chair if nothing soft can touch the front, and it is a poor bet for the long hours the bullets can imply.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short, quiet session beside a chair, with nothing soft in front of the grille.
Less suitable: All-evening use, pets or bedding nearby, or outdoor rain.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the SONBION listing state tip-over protection?
Yes. The title and special features name tip-over protection and overheat protection.
What output and settings are stated?
800 W, with two heat settings in the title. The heat-output field also says 800 W. Voltage is 230 V. Current is not stated.
Is an IP rating stated?
No. Bathroom appears only as a question in the product data. The colour field says Infrared Heater, not a colour. The warranty line is 18 months.
The Devola DVPH2400B is a wall patio bar at about £119.99 whose title says 2,400 W and IP65, while the heat-output field says 1,200 W. The current is 10 A at 240 V, which is 2,400 W, and the speeds field says 4. Across 262 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.1, the first 50 UK texts praise strong heat for a seating spot or gazebo when the unit survives, and at least one reviewer did get Wi-Fi to connect. One UK review describes water inside the case and over the boards after three days of light rain, with few rubber seals, and another reports rust in under nine months. Brackets that only point down, a missing or failed remote, and coverage well below the stated 269 square feet sit in that sample. LED lights on the same supply flicker for more than one reviewer, and the maximum-temperature field says 3 degrees Fahrenheit. The higher title wattage is not a reason to prefer it over the 2,000 W Devola while that water report stands.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A covered wall where you can check the seals before the first wet night, and you do not need the 269 square feet figure.
Less suitable: An exposed wall in rain, or a buyer who wants the IP65 title to settle the question.
Specifications
Common questions
What wattage does the Devola 2400 W listing state?
The title says 2400 W. The heat-output field says 1200 W. The amperage is 10 A at 240 V, which is 2400 W. The speeds field says 4.
Does the title state an IP rating?
The title says IP65. One UK review describes water inside the case and over the boards after three days of light rain, and few rubber seals.
Is a remote included?
The title names a remote, Wi-Fi, an LED display and a 24-hour timer. One UK review says no remote arrived. Wi-Fi failed for more than one reviewer.
The Könighaus P-600 is an 11 kg wall panel at about £121.90 whose title and heat-output field both say 600 W, with a stated coverage of 16 square metres and a 5-year warranty line in the bullets. Across 23 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.0, 10 UK reviews praise silent heat in a small room or an office, and two of them prefer it to a fan heater they already owned. Those reviews also say this model has no temperature control, no stand, and no remote, so a plug-in thermostat was a separate purchase. One unit arrived bent, with the box open and the brackets missing, and one burning smell returned after the panel had already failed once. The form-factor field says Tower, while the dimensions are 1.8 × 60 × 100 cm. Bathroom is in the room-type field and no IP rating is captured. It is a slim 600 W plate for a small room only if you already have a way to switch it by temperature, and 23 ratings are a thin file for a £121.90 panel.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small office wall if you will add your own thermostat and you can check the panel is flat on arrival.
Less suitable: Anyone who expects a dial in the box, or a bathroom without an IP figure.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the 600 W Könighaus box include a thermostat?
No. UK reviews say there is no temperature control, stand or remote on this model. Overheat protection is in the bullets.
How is it mounted?
Wall mount, with mounting materials in the bullets. The form-factor field says Tower. Dimensions are 1.8 x 60 x 100 cm. Weight is 11 kg.
Is an IP rating stated?
No. Bathroom is in the room-type field. No IP figure is captured. The warranty line is 5 years. The file has 23 ratings and 10 UK reviews.
The Könighaus 450 W panel is a 5 kg plate at about £99.90 whose title and heat-output field both say 450 W, with feet or wall mounting, a towel rail, a remote, and a Wi-Fi app. The bullets state IP44 and dual overheat protection. Across 582 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.8, 47 UK texts praise an easy app, including on iOS and with Tuya, and quiet heat for one person working at home. The same sample says the warmth is felt only very close to the panel, several buyers returned it as too weak for a room, and the surface becomes very hot around children. More than one review says the app temperature does not match a room thermometer. A burning-plastic smell on first heat appears in the file, and one unit later flashed and smelt of burning plastic after three months. No warranty line is captured. It is a controlled 450 W panel for the person sitting in front of it, not a heater that lifts the air in the room.
Pros
Cons
Best for: One person at a desk or a towel rail, with the panel where children cannot touch the face.
Less suitable: Heating a whole room, or a buyer who needs the app figure to match a room thermometer.
Specifications
Common questions
Can the 450 W panel stand on the floor?
The title includes feet and mounting material, and a towel holder. The mounting field says wall mount or floor mount.
What controls are stated?
A remote and a Wi-Fi app, with temperature control in the bullets. The bullets also say IP44 and dual overheat protection. Voltage is 230 V.
Is a warranty stated?
No warranty line is stated in the product data. Weight is 5 kg. Dimensions are 1.3 x 70 x 70 cm. Coverage is not stated.
The Byekalt C-WK-300W is a 4 kg wall panel at about £79.99 whose title and heat-output field both say 300 W, with a remote, a 1.8 m lead, and a programmable thermostat claimed in 1°C steps. The bullets add automatic, manual, and weekly modes, overheat protection, and a graphene element, and they call 120°C a surface temperature. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.8 from 8 reviews, and the file contains two United Kingdom reviews. Later German reviews are not UK opinion. One of those reviews praises a neat panel, a straightforward remote, and a programme, and says the three-second claim is the surface and what is in front of it, not the room. The same review says a plug-in bathroom install is not allowed, and that an “up to 98%” line is not different from other resistance heaters. The mounting kit in the bullets did not match what arrived: steel cables and pieces, and no hooks. The form-factor field says Tower. With two UK texts, the schedule is a listing claim you can check on the remote, not a record of how the panel heats a room.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small wall where 300 W in front of the panel is enough, after you check the fixings against the instructions.
Less suitable: A bathroom, a whole room, or a purchase that depends on eight ratings.
Specifications
Common questions
What output and thermostat does the Byekalt listing state?
300 W, with a programmable thermostat in 1°C steps claimed in the bullets, plus automatic, manual and weekly modes, and a remote. The lead is 1.8 m.
Is a bathroom IP rating stated?
No IP rating is captured. One UK review says a plug-in bathroom install is not allowed. Overheat protection is in the bullets.
What arrived in the mounting kit?
The bullets claim a mounting kit. One UK review received steel cables and pieces and no hooks. The file has 8 ratings and 2 UK reviews. Later German reviews are not used as UK opinion.
The STATUS QH-800W is a 950 g quartz bar at about £14.99 that the first 50 UK reviews use for short personal heat on a hard surface or a small table. The bullets state 400 W and 800 W, and the title names a tip-over cut-off, a handle, and a fold-away stand. Across 160 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.7, those texts call it light and useful when it works, and they also repeat tubes that blacken, spark, or fail after weeks. Two heaters used for a dog both lost elements in about a week, and reviewers who looked for a replacement tube did not find an easy one. The safety pin will not hold the heater on if it stands on carpet, and the base is described as flimsy. The heat-output field says 3,000 W while the title says 800 W, and 6.67 A at 240 V is about 1,600 W, so none of the three figures match. Bathrooms and caravans appear in the bullets with no IP rating captured.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Short backup heat on a hard floor or a table, if you can accept a tube that may not last a season.
Less suitable: Carpet, continuous use, or anyone treating the 3,000 W field as the output.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the STATUS listing state tip-over protection?
Yes. The title names a tip-over cut-off. UK reviews in the file say the safety pin will not hold the heater on if it stands on carpet.
What output does the listing state?
The title and bullets say 800 W, with 400 W and 800 W settings. The heat-output field says 3000 W. The amperage is 6.67 A at 240 V.
Is a thermostat stated?
No. The product data does not state a thermostat. No IP rating is captured. Bullets name bathrooms and caravans without an IP figure.
Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 15 October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK lines. There was no laboratory heat test and no Which? trial. The totals weigh the star line, the size of the review file, whether the title watts match the heat-output field, stated controls and IP, and the shelf price. Deductions for clashing fields, failed tubes, water in a case, or a sample of two UK reviews sit in those totals. The five weights below sum to 100.
Star rating
25%Up to 25 points from the amazon.co.uk star line. A 4.4 on 1,197 reviews is not the same evidence as a 4.3 on 13 reviews.
Review volume
20%Up to 20 points from the rating count, with a thin UK sample held down. Two UK texts, on SOUTHEATIC and Byekalt, are not a reliability record. German-language reviews are not UK opinion.
Watts and listing clarity
25%Up to 25 points when the title, the heat-output field and the amps tell the same story. A 3,000 W field on an 800 W title, or 1,200 W on a 2,000 W title, scores less.
Controls, IP and safety
20%Up to 20 points for a stated thermostat, tip-over or overheat cut-out, oscillation where it is named, and one IP figure that does not contradict itself.
Price
10%Up to 10 points from the amazon.co.uk shelf on 15 October 2026. A low price only scores fully when the watts agree and the review file is large enough to read.
An electric infrared heater in this comparison is a radiant unit from amazon.co.uk: a wall panel, a quartz bar, a carbon tower or tube, or a patio bar. Shelf prices run from about £14.99 to about £121.90. The job is a person or a spot, not a whole-house boiler. Start with the type, then whether the watts agree, then the IP line and the lead.
An electric infrared heater on amazon.co.uk is a radiant heater. In this set that means a flat wall panel, a quartz bar, a carbon-fibre tower or tube, or a higher-watt patio bar. People buy one to warm a person or a single spot. It is not a replacement for a gas boiler or a heat pump. At the same watts it uses the same electricity as a fan heater. The Energy Institute puts electric heaters of the same wattage on the same energy.

At the same watts an infrared heater uses the same electricity as a fan heater. A 95% or 98% line does not make a 300 W or 450 W panel cheaper than another heater of those watts. One Byekalt review says the same about an “up to 98%” claim.
Panels here are 300–600 W and slow on room air. UK reviews of the Könighaus 450 W say the warmth is felt only very close to the panel, and several buyers returned it as too weak for a room. A 2 kW fan is a different job.
A bathroom word with no IP rating is not zone clearance. A coiled extension under a 2 kW patio bar is the wrong lead. UK reviews say the STATUS tip-over pin will not hold the heater on if it stands on carpet. Do not tape that pin down.
Both Devola heat-output fields say 1,200 W. The titles and the amps point at 2,000 W and 2,400 W: 8.33 A and 10 A at 240 V. The STATUS field says 3,000 W. The title and bullets say 800 W, with a 400 W setting, and 6.67 A at 240 V is about 1,600 W, so none of the three STATUS figures match. Harrier, SONBION, Warmlite, both Könighaus panels and Byekalt do not have that clash. SOUTHEATIC states 600 W and 1,200 W in the title and 1,200 W in the field, and it does not state voltage or current.
Zones 1 and 2 need water protection of at least IPX4. Zone 1 wants fixed equipment the manufacturer allows, on a 30 mA RCD. BS 7671 Section 701 is the zone map. In England, Approved Document P makes a new circuit, and bathroom-zone work, notifiable. A bullet that only says bathroom is not that. The Könighaus 450 W states IP44. The 600 W room-type field says bathroom and no IP figure is captured. Harrier states IPX4 in the bullets, and one UK review could not find that code in the booklet.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want fast heat on one person, with the grille kept clear. The Warmlite WL42013 states 500 W and 1,000 W, about 70° of oscillation, and 4.4 from 1,197 reviews. The case is light, and no tip-over switch is named.
You want silent heat for the person in front of a panel, and a way to switch it by temperature. The Könighaus 450 W states a remote, a Wi-Fi app and IP44. UK reviews say the warmth is felt only very close to a hot surface.
You have a covered seating spot and a real outdoor socket within 1.8 m. The Harrier title and heat-output field both say 2,000 W, at about £48.99. The bullets say IPX4. One review could not find that code in the booklet.
The Warmlite WL42013 is the top pick in this set, at about £56.46, for one person who can sit in the beam. The 500 W and 1,000 W lines agree, oscillation is about 70°, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 1,197 reviews. The case is described as flimsy, and no tip-over switch is named. The best value is the Harrier at about £48.99, because the title and the heat-output field both say 2,000 W. The 1.8 m lead is repeatedly called too short, and the bullets do not use the word infrared.

Warmlite WL42013 carbon tower
Highest score: matching 500 W and 1,000 W, about 70° oscillation, and 4.4 from 1,197 reviews. Not a lab result.

Harrier 2000 W patio heater
About £48.99 with 2,000 W that agrees between title and field, and 4.4 from 342 reviews, if the socket is within 1.8 m.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for infrared heat, the plug, bathroom zones and clearance. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines from 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.