Short top-up in one room
You want a lower wattage or a thermostat, and you will switch the heater off when the room is warm. The Dreo Atom 316 states 220–240 V in a bullet, eco mode from 5–35°C, a 12-hour timer and tip-over protection, at £49.99.
The best energy-saving fan heaters, compared.
Top pick: WGOE ML-9001 1800 W Best value: Warmlite WL44001 2000 W – At £14.99 and 240 V it has two watt steps and 9,401 ratings; tip-over is not stated. Updated 16 October 2026.
An energy-saving fan heater, as UK shoppers use the phrase, is a portable electric heater that blows air over a wire or ceramic element and is sold with a low-energy, eco or efficient claim. Direct electric heat turns the electricity it draws into heat at the point of use. Two heaters at the same wattage cost the same for a full-power hour. The bill changes when the element runs for fewer minutes. From 1 October to 31 the Ofgem Direct Debit average for electricity in England, Scotland and Wales is 26.32p per kWh. The hourly arithmetic is in the [energy-saving fan heater running cost](/hub/portable-heaters/energy-saving-fan-heater/sub/energy-saving-fan-heater-running-cost) guide. Judge a model by the lower wattage you can select, a thermostat, a timer, a BS 1363 plug on 230 V, and stated tip-over and overheat protection. Use one for a short top-up in one room. A thermostat and a timer are what eco means on these pages.
An energy-saving fan heater, as UK shoppers use the phrase, is a portable electric heater that blows air over a wire or ceramic element and is sold with a low-energy, eco or efficient claim.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What do you want the heater to do?
WGOE ML-9001 is listed at £22.79 with 1,200 W and 1,800 W in a bullet, anti-tip and overheat protection, and a 35 dB claim. The star line is 4.9 from 27 ratings, with 8 UK reviews noted on the listing. The dimension field says 10 x 10 x 10 mm. The capacity and eco percentage lines are listing claims, not a test in this set.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A short 1,200 W top-up only if you ignore the slogan lines and the millimetre dimensions.
Less suitable: Anyone using the 4.9 from 27 ratings, or a percentage slogan, as evidence.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the WGOE ML-9001 listing state?
A bullet states 1,800 W at the top end and 1,200 W as the lower step. The element is described as PTC ceramic. Voltage is not stated. Treat the millimetre dimension field as a conflict with the 1 kg weight, not as a measured size.
Does the WGOE ML-9001 listing state tip-over protection?
Anti-tip protection is stated, and overheat protection is stated. Both are listing statements, not a lab result. A timer and a degree setpoint are not stated.
What should you not assume about the WGOE ML-9001?
The star line is 4.9 from 27 ratings, with 8 UK reviews noted. That is a thin count. Percentage lines on the listing have no test behind them. A bathroom room-type tick has no IP rating. Voltage is not stated.
Dreo Atom 316, model DR-HSH006, is listed at £49.99. A bullet states AC 220–240 V 50 Hz, 1,500 W in the title, eco mode, fan only and a 12-hour timer. The star line is 4.6 from 10,466 ratings. The heat-output field says 35°C and the part number is DR-HSH026. The first 50 UK reviews focus on fast, quiet heat in small rooms.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small room on 220–240 V if you want eco mode and a large UK review count.
Less suitable: A large open room, or a buyer who needs oscillation. This listing does not state oscillation.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Dreo Atom 316 listing state?
The title states 1,500 W. A separate lower watt step is not stated. The heat-output field says 35°C, which is the top setpoint, not watts. Treat that conflict as a conflict, not as a second test.
Does the Dreo Atom 316 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes. Overheat protection is also a listing statement, not a lab result. UK reviews in the set praise the safety features alongside fast heat in small rooms.
What should you not assume about the Dreo Atom 316?
A bullet states AC 220–240 V 50 Hz, while a field says 220 V. The thermostat range is 5–35°C and the timer is 12 hours. A room-type mention of a bathroom is not an IP rating. The remote is described as an upgrade from a date, so older stock may differ.
Dreo DR-HSH014 is listed at £74.99. Bullets state 900 W, 1,100 W and 2,000 W, 70° oscillation, eco from 5–35°C, a 12-hour timer and fan-only mode. The technical fields say 120 V and 16 A. The star line is 4.6 from 3,270 ratings. The first 50 UK reviews mostly praise eco mode and quiet oscillation.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A bedroom or office if you want oscillation and a Celsius eco range, and you confirm 230 V on the unit.
Less suitable: Anyone who treats the 120 V field as settled UK specification.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Dreo DR-HSH014 listing state?
Bullets state 2,000 W at the top end, with 900 W and 1,100 W below that. A heat-output field says 1,500, which conflicts with the 2,000 W bullet. Treat conflicting fields as conflicts, not as a second test.
Does the Dreo DR-HSH014 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. The timer is 12 hours and eco mode is written as 5–35°C in the bullets.
What should you not assume about the Dreo DR-HSH014?
Technical fields say 120 V and 16 A, and some fields are in Fahrenheit, while the bullets are in Celsius and 2,000 W. Confirm 230 V on the unit before you treat it as a normal UK heater. A bathroom mention is not an IP rating.
Timiyou MST-1212 is listed at £16.15 with 800 W and 1,200 W, 230 V, tip-over and overheat protection. The star line is 4.6 from 34 ratings. Reviews describe a small, quiet top-up. The weight field says 100 g and the bullet says 0.8 kg. Bathroom is ticked with no IP rating.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Close-in heat in a small room on 230 V, at 800 W or 1,200 W.
Less suitable: A large room, or a bathroom, until an IP rating exists.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Timiyou MST-1212 listing state?
The listing states 1,200 W at the top end and 800 W as the lower step, on 230 V. A separate thermostat range in degrees is not stated. An auto-off is stated, without an hour count.
Does the Timiyou MST-1212 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes, and one review praises the tip-over behaviour. Overheat protection is also stated. Both are listing statements, not a lab result.
What should you not assume about the Timiyou MST-1212?
There are only 34 ratings. The weight field says 100 g and a bullet says 0.8 kg. Bathroom is ticked with no IP rating, so it is not a bathroom heater on this evidence. Low-energy wording is not a measured saving.
Dreo DR-HSH003 is listed at £63.74 with an 1,800 W title, 70° oscillation, eco mode and a 12-hour timer. The same listing states 120 V, 12.5 A and a 2-prong plug. The star line is 4.5 from 6,825 ratings. UK reviews in the set praise fast heat and quiet running and do not discuss the voltage line.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A room that needs oscillation, if the unit you receive is actually 230 V.
Less suitable: A UK socket, until the 120 V and 2-prong lines are resolved.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Dreo DR-HSH003 listing state?
The title states 1,800 W, and 900 W is the lower step. A heat-output field says 1,500 W, which conflicts with the title. Treat that as a conflict, not as a second test.
Does the Dreo DR-HSH003 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. The timer is 12 hours and a remote is stated.
What should you not assume about the Dreo DR-HSH003?
The listing states 120 V, 12.5 A and a two-prong plug, and thermostat fields are in Fahrenheit. Treat that as a UK mains mismatch until the listing is consistent with 230 V and a BS 1363 plug. A bathroom mention is not an IP rating.
Dreo 714S, DR-HSH034S, is listed at £99.99 with 2,000 W PTC, 60° by 90° oscillation, eco from 3–35°C and a 12-hour timer. The star line is 4.5 from 276 ratings. UK reviews mention an app and Alexa-style control, and one says it is not compatible with Apple Home. Voltage is not in the technical fields.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants app scheduling and two-axis oscillation and accepts 276 ratings.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs Apple Home, or a published voltage on the listing.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Dreo 714S listing state?
The listing states 2,000 W. Three heat settings are stated, without a named lower watt step. Eco mode is written as 3–35°C and the timer is 12 hours.
Does the Dreo 714S listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. Oscillation is stated as 60° vertical and 90° horizontal.
What should you not assume about the Dreo 714S?
Voltage is not in the technical fields. There are 276 ratings. One review says it is not compatible with Apple Home, and one says it suits a small bedroom better than a main heater. A bathroom room-type line has no IP rating.
Warmlite WL44001 is listed at £14.99, 240 V, heating wire, 1,000 W and 2,000 W, with a UK contact address for RKW Ltd in Stoke on Trent. The star line is 4.3 from 9,401 ratings. UK reviews mention fast heat, fan noise and a first-use smell. The dimension field is 4.9 x 9.6 x 9.8 cm against 1.14 kg.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A cheap 240 V wire heater if you accept fan noise and no stated timer.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated tip-over switch or a trustworthy dimension from this listing.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Warmlite WL44001 listing state?
The listing states 2,000 W at the top end and 1,000 W as the lower step. It is a heating-wire element on 240 V. Treat conflicting dimension figures as conflicts, not as a second measurement.
Does the Warmlite WL44001 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is not stated. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. A timer is not stated either.
What should you not assume about the Warmlite WL44001?
Voltage is recorded as 240 V. The thermostat field gives a 16°C minimum, not a full setpoint range. The dimension field is 4.9 x 9.6 x 9.8 cm against a weight of 1.14 kg, which does not reconcile. A bathroom mention would not be an IP rating.
PALINTH PTC-1500A is listed at £39.99 with 1,500 W PTC, high, low, eco and nature wind, 15–35°C, and a 1–8 hour timer. The star line is 4.3 from 1,257 ratings. Reviews describe office use on eco and heat from a small front outlet. Voltage and dimensions are absent.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A home office on eco mode if you do not need a stated voltage or oscillation.
Less suitable: Outdoor use. The listing ticks outdoor and gives no weather rating.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the PALINTH PTC-1500A listing state?
The listing states 1,500 W. A low mode is named, without a watt figure. The thermostat range is 15–35°C and the timer is 1–8 hours.
Does the PALINTH PTC-1500A listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. Nature wind is the fan-only mode on this listing.
What should you not assume about the PALINTH PTC-1500A?
Voltage and dimensions are not stated. Indoor and outdoor are both ticked, with no IP or weather rating, so it is not an outdoor heater on this evidence. Some reviews call it louder than the under-40 dB claim.
CUQOO DYN12000 is listed at £11.99 with 1,000 W and 2,000 W, a cool blow and an adjustable thermostat. The star line is 4.2 from 1,804 ratings. Special features name oscillation, overheat and tip-over. One UK review describes two units failing, one of them violently, after tripping the electrics. Voltage is not stated. The maximum temperature field says 100°C.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A low shelf price if you accept a thin safety write-up and a serious one-off failure review.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a stated voltage and a thermostat described in degrees that make sense.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the CUQOO DYN12000 listing state?
The listing states 2,000 W at the top end and 1,000 W as the lower step. A cool blow is stated. Voltage is not stated, and the maximum temperature field says 100°C.
Does the CUQOO DYN12000 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over and overheat protection are named in special features. Those are listing statements, not a lab result. A timer is not stated.
What should you not assume about the CUQOO DYN12000?
A low-energy line is a claim, not a measured saving. One UK review describes two units failing, one of them violently, after tripping the electrics. The element field says radiant while the title is a fan heater. A bathroom mention is not an IP rating.
Philips CX2120/01 is listed at £49.99 with 600 W and 1,500 W, tip-over and overheat protection, and a 24 dB(A) claim. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.2 from 462 ratings. Of 22 UK reviews on the listing, several praise the low setting; one describes smoke on first full power. The element field says radiant while the title says ceramic, and bathroom is ticked with no IP rating.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small room if you want a stated 600 W setting and a 24 dB claim.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated timer, an IP-rated bathroom heater, or a voltage line of 230 V rather than 220 V.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Philips CX2120/01 listing state?
The listing states 1,500 W at the top end and 600 W as the lower step. The thermostat range is 20–30°C. A timer is not stated. Treat the radiant-versus-ceramic element conflict as a conflict, not as a second test.
Does the Philips CX2120/01 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated as yes, and overheat protection is stated. Both are listing statements, not a lab result. The 24 dB(A) line is a listing claim.
What should you not assume about the Philips CX2120/01?
Voltage is recorded as 220 V, not 230 V. A saving percentage on the listing is a claim, not a measured UK result. Bathroom is ticked with no IP rating. One review describes smoke on first full-power use.
Zuquik YND-1200Y-1 is listed at £28.99. Bullets state 1,500 W PTC, high and low, fan mode, 70° oscillation, eco and a 1–12 hour timer. The star line is 4.2 from 105 ratings. Reviews mention a readable display, a remote and quiet low speed. Voltage is not stated. The model code contains 1200.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small room if you want oscillation, a timer and eco mode at £28.99.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a stated voltage or a large review count.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Zuquik YND-1200Y-1 listing state?
The title states 1,500 W. High and low are named, without a watt figure for the low step. The model code contains 1200, which conflicts with the title. Treat that as a conflict, not as a second test.
Does the Zuquik YND-1200Y-1 listing state tip-over protection?
Tip-over is stated in the highlight. Overheat protection is a listing statement, not a lab result. Oscillation is stated as 70° and the timer as 1–12 hours.
What should you not assume about the Zuquik YND-1200Y-1?
Voltage is not stated. A degree range for eco mode is not stated. The remote is clearer in reviews than in the bullets. 105 ratings is a modest count. A bathroom mention is not an IP rating.
Warmlite WL44002 is listed at £9.00, 240 V, heating wire, 1,000 W and 2,000 W, with overheat protection and no tip-over switch in the bullets. The star line is 4.0 from 14,122 ratings. UK reviews repeat the missing tilt switch and still describe it as a cheap temporary heater. Cable length is stated as 2 yards.
Pros
Cons
Best for: The lowest shelf price in this set for a short blast, if a missing tilt switch is acceptable.
Less suitable: Homes with children or pets who might knock a heater over, and anyone who wants a timer.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the Warmlite WL44002 listing state?
The listing states 2,000 W at the top end and 1,000 W as the lower step, on 240 V, with a heating-wire element. A degree range for the dials is not stated. A timer is not stated.
Does the Warmlite WL44002 listing state tip-over protection?
No. The bullets do not name a tip-over switch, and more than one UK review says the tilt switch is missing. Overheat protection is stated. That is a listing statement, not a lab result.
What should you not assume about the Warmlite WL44002?
The low shelf price does not make a long 2,000 W run cheap. One review calls the cool-air setting poor. One reviewer would not use it around pets or children because of the missing tilt switch. Cable length is stated as 2 yards.
We compared 12 energy-saving fan heaters from the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, after a wider look across the category. Card scores follow the amazon.co.uk star line scaled from 5 to 100. They are not a lab test. The weights follow the points that change a UK bill and a UK socket: stated wattage, a thermostat and timer, the element the listing names, voltage and plug, and stated tip-over and overheat protection.
Stated wattage and lower settings
25%Full-power cost is watts divided by 1,000, times your unit rate, times hours. A lower setting is how you avoid leaving 2,000 W on in a small room.
Thermostat and timer
25%A thermostat meant to stop or drop the heat, plus a timer, is what shortens the minutes the element runs. Eco on these listings means that control behaviour.
Element type as stated
10%PTC ceramic or heating wire, as the listing states it. Ceramic is the usual modern element and is sold as less smelly. It is not a higher efficiency class at the same wattage.
UK voltage and plug
20%Look for about 230 V or 240 V, 50 Hz, and a BS 1363 three-pin plug. A 120 V or two-prong line is a UK buying problem until the listing is consistent.
Tip-over and overheat
20%The listing should name tip-over shut-off and an overheat cut-out. A bathroom room-type tag without an IP rating is not a bathroom approval.
Shelf price and a low-energy slogan do not tell you the hourly cost. Two heaters at the same wattage cost the same while the element is on. What you can check before you buy is the lower wattage, whether a thermostat and a timer are actually stated, and whether the plug and voltage match a UK socket. The twelve listings below are the set. They are not a census of every fan heater on amazon.co.uk.
An energy-saving fan heater is a portable electric heater that blows air over a wire or ceramic element. UK listings attach a low-energy, eco or efficient claim. Direct electric heat turns the electricity it draws into heat at the point of use, so two heaters at the same wattage cost the same for a full-power hour. The bill falls only when the element runs for fewer minutes. A thermostat and a timer are what eco means on these pages. It is not a measured seasonal-efficiency percentage.

Eco on these listings means the heater can stop or drop the heat. A percentage on the box is not a measured UK saving, and no ASIN here publishes a seasonal space-heating efficiency figure.
The Dreo DR-HSH003 listing states 120 V, 12.5 A and a two-prong plug. The DR-HSH014 technical fields also say 120 V. Confirm 230 V and a BS 1363 plug before you treat either as a normal UK heater.
A long high-wattage run is a poor substitute for central heating. Do not cover the inlet. A bathroom room-type tag with no IP rating is not a bathroom approval.
Start with the highest stated wattage and the lower settings you can actually choose. Full-power cost is watts divided by 1,000, times your unit rate, times hours. From 1 October to 31 December 2026 the Ofgem Direct Debit average for electricity in England, Scotland and Wales is 26.32p per kWh. At that rate a continuous hour is about 16p at 600 W, about 39.5p at 1,500 W and about 52.6p at 2,000 W. The 600 W step is stated on the Philips CX2120/01.
A thermostat meant to stop or drop the heat at a set temperature, plus a timer, is the control behind an eco claim. The Dreo Atom 316 states 5–35°C and a 12-hour timer. The Philips CX2120/01 states 20–30°C and does not state a timer. The Warmlite dials do not state a timer, and the WL44002 does not state a degree range. App scheduling in this set is the Dreo 714S, from 276 ratings, and voltage is missing on that listing. UK electrical fit is 230 V, 50 Hz, and a BS 1363 three-pin plug.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a lower wattage or a thermostat, and you will switch the heater off when the room is warm. The Dreo Atom 316 states 220–240 V in a bullet, eco mode from 5–35°C, a 12-hour timer and tip-over protection, at £49.99.
You want the lowest shelf price and you accept fan noise, a wire element and, on the Warmlite WL44002, no stated tip-over switch. It is listed at £9.00, 240 V, with 1,000 W and 2,000 W.
You want to schedule heat from another house. In this set that is the Dreo 714S at £99.99, from 276 ratings, with eco mode and two-axis oscillation. One review says it is not compatible with Apple Home. Voltage is not in the technical fields.
The top pick is the Dreo Atom 316. A bullet states 220–240 V, eco mode from 5–35°C, a 12-hour timer and tip-over protection, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from 10,466 ratings at £49.99. The best value is the Warmlite WL44001 at £14.99, 240 V, with 1,000 W and 2,000 W and 4.3 from 9,401 ratings. Tip-over is not stated on that listing. The £9.00 WL44002 is cheaper, and UK reviews say it has no tilt switch.

Warmlite WL44001 2000 W
At £14.99 and 240 V it has two watt steps and 9,401 ratings; tip-over is not stated.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for the running-cost and safety points. Star lines and shelf prices are from the amazon.co.uk listings in this set. Last checked 16 October 2026.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Our notes follow the amazon.co.uk listings and the public sources below. We do not run a lab.