Home mechanic, one garage
You have one enclosed garage and a normal socket. A 2 kW ceramic, or the tubular pair, is the band the stored set points to. The ceramic top pick states 8.33 A and a 1.60 m lead.
The best industrial space heaters, compared.
Top pick: DAHTEC BGP1308-02 2 kW industrial fan heater, black Best value: DAHTEC BGP2305-20 2 kW PTC fan heater – Lowest stored shelf price among listings with at least 50 reviews, at about £29.74, with 4.4 from 129 reviews. Updated October 2026.
An industrial space heater, as UK shoppers use the phrase on amazon.co.uk, is a portable forced-air heater for a garage, workshop, warehouse, greenhouse or site. The label covers a 1.3 kg ceramic box, a 3 kW metal blower, a 9 kW heater that needs 400 V three-phase, and a 50 kW propane heater. A normal 13 A socket is the ceiling for the plug-in models. The 9 kW listing says it will not run on a household socket. The propane listing puts combustion into the room, so ventilation and petrol vapour decide whether you can use it. Electric models keep combustion products out of the air. That is the point in a closed garage. The title still does not mean warehouse heat. For temporary heat on a building site, the [construction heater](/hub/portable-heaters/construction-heater) comparison is the closer starting point. Plug-in electric blowers dominate the stored set: ceramic, stainless tubular, or coil. The 9 kW is a 400 V coil heater with settings of 52 W, 4.5 kW and 9 kW, and IP24 on the listing. The propane unit is a direct-fired 50 kW blower, not a cabinet heater.
An industrial space heater, as UK shoppers use the phrase on amazon.co.uk, is a portable forced-air heater for a garage, workshop, warehouse, greenhouse or site.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What supply do you already have?
The black DAHTEC BGP1308-02 is a 2 kW industrial fan at £58.65, with a 30 W fan step and a 2,000 W heat step, a stainless-steel tubular element, and a stated 9.09 A at 220 V. It weighs 2.9 kg, measures 21 × 19.5 × 27.5 cm, and the bullets give a 1.6 m lead, a manual thermostat, an overheat cut-out and tip-over protection. It shows 4.8 stars from 11 reviews, and ten UK texts are in the file. Those texts describe a garage, workshop, utility room or conservatory warming quickly for the size, and they treat the steel casing and the cut-outs as reassuring. The repeated complaint is a short cable. The bullet calls IP20 water-proofing, but the printed code is IP20, which does not state water protection. This page’s maximum temperature field prints 25 °C, while the yellow ASIN of the same model prints 85 °C. Eleven reviews remain a short sample beside a 4.8.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small enclosed garage or workshop where you want a stated tip-over switch and a 9.09 A draw, and you can live with eleven reviews.
Less suitable: A wet site, a draughty double garage, or a buyer who reads IP20 as waterproof.
Specifications
Common questions
Is tip-over protection stated?
Yes. Special features and the safety bullet both say tip-over protection, plus an overheat cut-out.
Does IP20 mean it is waterproof?
The bullet calls IP20 water-proofing. The code printed is IP20, which does not state water protection.
How many reviews are stored?
The listing line is 4.8 from 11. Ten UK texts are in the file. The repeated nit is a short cable.
The yellow DAHTEC BGP1308-02 carries the same model number, £58.65 price and stated specification as the black listing: 2 kW, a 30 W fan step, 9.09 A at 220 V, a 1.6 m lead, tip-over protection and an overheat cut-out. The colour field says Yellow. The ten review texts match the black ASIN, so the 4.8 from 11 is not a second group of yellow-only buyers. Those texts praise quick heat in a small garage, workshop or utility room and criticise a short lead, with no repeated failure in the file. This page prints a maximum of 85 °C, while the black ASIN prints 25 °C. The body is 21 × 19.5 × 27.5 cm and 2.9 kg, with a stainless-steel tubular element. The IP20 bullet still calls the code water-proofing. Buy the yellow finish only after you have accepted that short review count and the splash wording.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants this yellow finish and has already read the black listing’s ten review texts.
Less suitable: Anyone treating the 4.8 as proof from a second set of buyers, or anyone who needs a splash rating above IP20.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a different heater from the black listing?
It is a separate ASIN and colour. The model number is the same BGP1308-02, and the stored review texts match.
Why do the temperature fields disagree?
This page prints a maximum of 85 °C. The black ASIN prints 25 °C. Both figures are copied as printed.
Is a splash rating stated?
The bullet prints IP20 and calls it water-proofing. IP20 does not state water protection.
The DAHTEC BGA1401-50-18 is a 50 kW propane forced-air heater at £135.15, weighing 10.6 kg in a 66.5 × 25 × 41 cm body, with piezo ignition and an adjustable flame. The title states 170,600 BTU/h, the highlight states fuel use of 3.63 kg/h, and a bullet prints a working pressure of 1,500 mbar. It shows 4.8 stars from 8 reviews, and only two UK texts are in the file. Both say it gets hot quickly. One describes a pitched-roof double garage rising from 10 °C to 20 °C in about 10 minutes, with gas use of about 3.5 kg/h and a 13 kg cylinder lasting about four hours if left running. No included-components list names a regulator, hose or cylinder. The power-source field says AC while the fuel type says propane, and no fan wattage is stated. The indoor field and the garage room type do not describe ventilation. Two reviews cannot show a fault pattern, or the lack of one.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A large ventilated space that is not a petrol store, where electric heat cannot be supplied and the regulator matches the printed 1,500 mbar.
Less suitable: A closed garage where a car is kept, a room without high-and-low ventilation, or a buyer who expects a domestic 37 mbar regulator in the box.
Specifications
Common questions
What fuel does the listing state?
Propane. The title says 50 kW and 170,600 BTU/h. The highlight says 3.63 kg/h. Working pressure is printed as 1,500 mbar.
Is a regulator in the box?
No included-components list names a regulator, hose or cylinder.
What do the two stored reviews say?
Both say it gets hot quickly. One describes a double garage rising from 10 °C to 20 °C in about 10 minutes and gas use of about 3.5 kg/h. The listing count is 8.
The black DAHTEC BGP3003-28 is a 2,800 W fan at £67.15, with settings of 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W, a steel body of 24 × 22.6 × 29.4 cm and a weight of 4.16 kg. The listing current is 12.7 A, voltage is not stated, and an outlet adjustment of 0–25° sits beside a manual thermostat and an overheat cut-out. It shows 4.7 stars from 5 reviews. Of the three UK texts in the file, one describes quick heat for tinkering in a garage and doubts a double garage, one calls the heater very powerful, and one reports an electrical burning smell at the plug or cable after a few months. No splash rating, tip-over switch, lead length or element type is stated. Five reviews and a burning-smell report are a thin basis for the joint-highest 2.8 kW price in this pair. The yellow ASIN of the same model number is a separate listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small indoor garage job only if you will unplug it at the first smell of burning and you already accept a 12.7 A draw.
Less suitable: A double garage, a wet site, or a buyer who wants more than five reviews before spending £67.15.
Specifications
Common questions
What output does the listing state?
Settings of 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W. The heat field is 62 °C. Voltage is not stated. Amperage is 12.7 A.
Does the listing say it can be used in a garage?
The question line asks about a garage. Recommended use is a construction site, and garage is in the room types. Indoor only is the usage field.
Are there review warnings?
Three stored texts against a count of five. One reports an electrical burning smell at the plug or cable after a few months. One was unsure about a double garage.
The yellow DAHTEC BGP2305-20 is a 2 kW PTC fan in a 14.1 × 12.2 × 17.8 cm body that weighs 1.3 kg, listed at £29.74. Across 129 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.4 stars, and the first 50 texts often praise a lot of heat from a very small metal shell in a kitchen, office, shed or camper. The stated draw is 8.33 A, bullets say 220–240 V, and airflow is given as up to 142 m³/h, with a 25 W fan step, a thermostat and an overheat cut-out. Reviewers also describe a noisy fan and a short throw of heat. Several of those texts say the heater stopped after about four days, a month, a few weeks or six weeks. The lead length is not stated. One UK review says it keeps running if it falls on its face, and the listing does not state a tip-over switch. It is the best value for a very small closed room, and it is the wrong size if you need a longer throw or a tip-over line you can read before you buy.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A very small closed room, shed or home office on a normal 13 A socket, if you will not knock the heater over and you do not need a long throw of heat.
Less suitable: A workshop where the heater might be kicked, or a buyer who wants a longer reliability record than the early-failure texts allow.
Specifications
Common questions
How small is it?
The listing prints 14.1 × 12.2 × 17.8 cm and 1.3 kg, with airflow up to 142 m³/h.
Does it switch off if it falls?
Tip-over protection is not in the specification. One stored review says it keeps running if it falls.
What fails in the reviews?
Among the first 50 texts, several say it died within days to about six weeks. Many others praise the heat for the size and call the fan noisy.
The AAOBOSI UK-QY-BY1263-1 is a 2 kW PTC heater at £69.99, weighing 1.6 kg in a 23 × 26.5 × 17.5 cm body, with a remote, ECO mode, a 24-hour timer and a child lock. Across 67 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.3 stars, and the first 50 texts often mention the remote and quick heat in a room or an outbuilding gym. The listing states a digital range of 10–37 °C and, in a bullet, an overheat trip at 75 °C. Voltage, current and lead length are not stated. The usage field says indoor and outdoor, and no IP code is printed. One review says the low setting jumps to a cold blow rather than a mild heat. It is not titled as an industrial space heater, so the fit beside site blowers is uncertain even though garage and greenhouse appear in the room types. A weighted base is stated. A tip-over switch is not.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A home office or small outbuilding where you want a remote and a timer, and you are not buying a site blower.
Less suitable: A construction site, a wet outdoor pitch, or a workshop that needs a stated current and a steel industrial casing.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this an industrial site heater?
The title is a portable heater with a remote. Garage and greenhouse are in the room types. Category fit is uncertain.
Does it have a timer?
Yes. The bullets state a 24-hour timer, ECO mode, a child lock and a remote.
Is an outdoor rating stated?
The usage field says indoor and outdoor. No IP code is stated.
The DAHTEC BGP1506-02 puts 2 kW of ceramic heat into a small closed room at a stated 8.33 A, which leaves more spare on a 13 A socket than the 2.8 kW and 3 kW rows. It weighs 1.55 kg, measures 21 × 16 × 21.7 cm, and the listing states a 1.60 m lead with settings of 25 W, 1,000 W and 2,000 W, at £46.75. Across 87 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.1 stars. The first 50 texts describe a small room, garage, workshop, aviary, tent or awning, and they call the footprint light. A bullet claims noticeable warmth in about 3 seconds, with a stepless manual thermostat and an overheat cut-out. Reviewers still say the fan is weak in a larger space, and noise runs from a laptop fan to a travel hairdryer. No splash rating and no tip-over switch are stated, and bathroom is in the room types without an IP code. It is the top pick in this set for a small enclosed workshop when you want that stated lead and an 8.33 A draw.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small enclosed garage, workshop or greenhouse on a 13 A socket, when you want a stated lead and can live with a compact ceramic fan.
Less suitable: A large draughty bay, a bathroom, or a buyer who needs tip-over protection printed on the listing.
Specifications
Common questions
What are the settings?
25 W fan only, 1,000 W and 2,000 W. The title says two heat settings. The modes bullet lists three positions.
Does it have a timer or a splash rating?
The question line asks about a timer. No timer field and no IP code are present. Bathroom is in the room types.
What do reviews say it is for?
The first 50 texts mostly describe a small room, garage, workshop, aviary, tent or awning. Several say the fan is weak in a larger space.
The yellow DAHTEC BGP3003-28 is a 2.8 kW fan at £67.15, in a steel body of 24 × 22.6 × 29.4 cm that weighs 4.09 kg, with settings of 35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W and a 0–25° outlet. This page prints 11.67 A. The black ASIN of the same model prints 12.7 A and 4.16 kg. Voltage, element, lead length and a splash code are not stated. It shows 4.1 stars from 6 reviews, and four UK texts are in the file. One reports a burning smell at the plug after a few months, one calls the heat weak, one says a garage warmed quickly but a double garage was uncertain, and one calls it very powerful. A manual thermostat and an overheat cut-out are stated. Six reviews, split between powerful and weak, plus a burning-smell text, are a poor reason to pay the same £67.15 as the black listing. The heat field is 62 °C, with a maximum temperature field of 85 °C.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small indoor garage only if you want the yellow casing and you will unplug it at the first smell of burning.
Less suitable: A double garage, or a buyer who wants a larger review sample than six before spending £67.15.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the same model as the black 2.8 kW listing?
The model number is BGP3003-28 on both. This ASIN is yellow, 4.09 kg and 11.67 A. The black ASIN is 4.16 kg and 12.7 A.
What output is stated?
35 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W, with a 0–25° outlet. No heating-element field.
What do the four stored reviews say?
One reports a burning smell at the plug. One says the heat is weak. One says a garage warmed quickly but a double garage was uncertain. One calls it very powerful. The listing count is 6.
The Benross 42450 is a yellow 3 kW industrial fan at £49.99, with two heat settings whose lower wattage is not printed, a 40 W cool-air step, a tilt and a stated current of 13.64 A at 220 V. Across 796 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.8 stars. In the first 50 texts, reviewers say a garage, workshop or greenhouse warms once the element is hot, and one measured comment timed a small insulated workshop of about 770 cubic feet from about 6 °C to 15 °C in 25 minutes. The same sample describes plugs and sockets running very hot, shared extension leads opening fuses, and units that arrived dead or failed within about two weeks. The title says IPX4, the indoor field says Indoor, and a bullet claims 45 dB while reviews call the fan loud. The dimension line reads 10.6 × 9.4 × 12.2 cm beside 3.6 kg, which is not a plausible volume, so treat it as printed. An overheat cut-out is not in the stored special-features line.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small closed garage on a dedicated, sound 230 V socket, if you will stop at once when the plug or socket warms.
Less suitable: A shared extension lead, a large open garage, or a room where fan noise has to stay low.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing state an overheat cut-out?
No. Special features name the thermostat, IPX4 and portability. An overheat cut-out is not stated.
What do reviews say about the socket?
In the first 50 texts, more than one reviewer says the plug or socket runs very hot, and shared extension leads open fuses. Amperage on the page is 13.64 A.
Is there a fan-only setting?
Yes. The listing states a 40 W cool-air setting, plus tilt and a carry handle.
The DAHTEC BGP1506-28 is a yellow 2.8 kW ceramic fan at £55.25, weighing 2.7 kg in a 26.5 × 21 × 29 cm body, with settings of 25 W, 1,400 W and 2,800 W. The listing states 220 V, 12.73 A and a 1.60 m lead, plus a stepless manual thermostat and an overheat cut-out. It shows 3.8 stars from 21 reviews, and 13 UK texts are in the file. Those texts include a lean-to that warmed quickly and a workshop review that calls it quiet and robust, alongside a large studio of about 950 sq ft where two units only helped close up. One review says a 16 A fuse is fitted, so a 13 A extension will not take the plug, and another says the plug overheated after a couple of uses. No IP code and no tip-over switch are stated, though bathroom appears in the room types. A stated 12.73 A draw sits on the edge of a 13 A plug.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small enclosed workshop on its own wall socket, if you check the fuse is 13 A and you stop when the plug warms.
Less suitable: A large open studio, a bathroom, or any setup that depends on a 13 A extension lead.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it have a timer?
The question line asks. No timer is in the specification.
Is a bathroom rating stated?
Bathroom is in the room types. No IP code is stated, so the listing does not show a splash rating.
What do the stored reviews say about the plug?
One review says a 16 A fuse is fitted and a 13 A extension will not take it. Another says the plug overheated after a couple of uses.
The DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G is a 9 kW coil fan at £126.65 that the listing ties to 400 V three-phase, with settings of 52 W, 4,500 W and 9,000 W. It weighs 9.6 kg, measures 35.5 × 30 × 49 cm, and states airflow up to 1,198 m³/h, a 1.60 m cable, IP24, a manual thermostat and an overheat cut-out. The stored amazon.co.uk file has no customer-review line, so there is no star rating and no UK text showing how it behaves on a site. The listing says it cannot run on a 220–240 V household socket. Amperage and tip-over protection are not stated. A seller note says a heating-element heater can take about 5–10 minutes to feel comparable with ceramic. The 861 sq ft coverage line and the 80 °C heat field are the listing’s figures. Without reviews, the price buys a stated supply you either already have or you do not.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A site that already has a 400 V three-phase supply and someone who will treat the missing reviews as part of the decision.
Less suitable: A garage whose only supply is a normal 13 A wall socket, or a buyer who wants UK review texts before spending £126.65.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this run from a normal UK socket?
No. The listing says it needs 400 V three-phase and cannot be used on a 220–240 V household socket.
What output does the listing state?
Three settings: 52 W fan only, 4,500 W and 9,000 W. The heat field is 80 °C, not a room target.
Is a splash rating stated?
Yes. The listing states IP24, plus a manual thermostat and overheat protection. Tip-over protection is not stated.
The DAHTEC BGP3001-20-1 is a 2 kW coil fan in a steel body of 35 × 23.5 × 33 cm that weighs 5.7 kg, listed at £89.00. The title states 2,000 W, the speeds field says two, and the wattage of the second step is not printed. The listing states 220–240 V, 9.09 A, a manual thermostat, overheat protection and tip-over protection, with a heat field of 75 °C and a maximum temperature field of 85 °C. The stored file has no customer-review line and no review texts, so there is no star rating to set against the price. Cable length, airflow and a splash code are not stated. The usage field says indoor after a question about outdoor use. At £89.00 it is the dearest 2 kW electric row here, with a heavier casing than the 1.3 kg and 1.55 kg ceramics, and nothing in the file shows how that casing lasts in a garage.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who specifically wants a stated tip-over switch on a 2 kW steel fan and can accept a file with no reviews at £89.00.
Less suitable: Anyone comparing it with reviewed 2 kW heaters at £29.74 to £58.65, or anyone who needs outdoor use.
Specifications
Common questions
Is it for outdoor use?
The question line asks. The usage field says indoor. No IP code is stated.
Is tip-over protection stated?
Yes, in the bullet and the item highlight, together with overheat protection.
Is there a star rating?
No customer-review line is in the stored file.
This page compares 12 industrial space heater listings stored from amazon.co.uk. Scores use the listing stars and review count, with a fixed deduction where the stored reviews repeat a safety fault. Public UK sources cover the plug, fumes and the electricity price cap. We did not run a lab test, and we do not treat seller coverage lines as measurements.
Supply
30%A normal UK socket is the ceiling for the plug-in models. Only one listing states 400 V three-phase, and that listing says it will not run on a household socket.
Output for the room
25%A 2 kW heater is a small enclosed space. Seller coverage runs from about 215 sq ft to 5,382 sq ft, and a draughty double garage is often beyond a 13 A plug.
Fuel
15%Electric heat keeps combustion products out of the room. The one propane listing is 50 kW and puts combustion into the space, so ventilation and petrol vapour decide whether it is usable.
Stated protection
15%Prefer an overheat cut-out. Tip-over is stated on some models and missing on others. IP20 is not a water rating, and IPX4 or IP24 is a splash claim, not a bathroom or rain rating.
Review evidence
15%Stars are read with the count. A 4.8 from 11 reviews is a thin sample. A 3.8 from 796 includes praise and reports of hot sockets. Listings with no review line stay unscored.
The word industrial on these listings does not tell you the supply, the fuel or the room. Start with the socket you already have, then the output, then whether combustion is allowed in that air. The twelve models below are the stored amazon.co.uk set, with the faults the reviews actually repeat.
What you are buying, in this UK search, is forced air for a garage, workshop, greenhouse or site, not a radiator that sits in a living room. Plug-in electric blowers dominate the stored set: ceramic or PTC, stainless tubular, or coil. BGP1308-02 and BGP3003-28 each appear as a black ASIN and a yellow ASIN, so a second colour is not a second test. The Benross 42450 is the 3 kW metal heater with 796 reviews.

The stored set includes a 1.3 kg ceramic box and a 2 kW fan aimed at about 215 sq ft. The title does not mean the heater will warm a warehouse. Match wattage and draughts, and treat square-foot coverage as a seller line.
Several listings print 80°C or 85°C as a heat field. That is not a target for the air you stand in. The black and yellow BGP1308-02 pages even print different maxima, 25°C and 85°C, for the same model number.
If a 13 A fuse opens, a larger fuse is not the repair. BGP1308-02 and BGP3003-28 each exist as a black ASIN and a yellow ASIN. Buying both colours does not give you two independent review samples. Call an electrician for a scorched plug, a new 400 V outlet or a hard-wired spur, and a Gas Safe registered engineer where LPG pipework falls under the gas safety regulations.
Supply is the first cut. Stay on 220–240 V and a BS 1363 plug unless you already have the outlet the heater names. Only the 9 kW DAHTEC states 400 V three-phase, and that listing says it cannot be used on a 220–240 V household socket. A 400 V heater belongs on an industrial connector. Appliances built for no more than 13 A need a standard plug. IET commentary puts a long full-power load on BS 1363 accessories at generally about 2.7 kW, so 3 kW sits on the edge of a 13 A fuse.
Match output to the room you can actually close, not to the square-foot line. A 2 kW heater is a small enclosed space. Seller coverage in this set runs from about 215 sq ft to 5,382 sq ft, and those figures are seller claims. A draughty double garage is often beyond a 13 A plug. Electric heat keeps combustion products out of the room. The one propane listing is 50 kW, with 3.63 kg/h on the highlight, and it puts combustion into the space.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You have one enclosed garage and a normal socket. A 2 kW ceramic, or the tubular pair, is the band the stored set points to. The ceramic top pick states 8.33 A and a 1.60 m lead.
You are on one 13 A circuit and want more than 2 kW. The stored set points to the Benross 3 kW or a 2.8 kW DAHTEC, on the wall socket, not an extension reel. The Benross page prints 13.64 A.
You already have 400 V, or the shed has no adequate electric supply. That is the audience for the 9 kW coil heater or the propane blower. The 9 kW listing is the one that names three-phase.
The top pick in this set is the DAHTEC BGP1506-02, a 2 kW ceramic fan at about £46.75 with 4.1 stars from 87 reviews and a stated 8.33 A draw. It suits a small enclosed garage on a normal socket. The best value is the DAHTEC BGP2305-20 at about £29.74, with 4.4 from 129 reviews, if the room is very small and you have read the early-failure texts. A 3 kW, 9 kW or propane machine is a different supply problem, not a straight upgrade.

DAHTEC BGP2305-20 2 kW PTC fan heater
Lowest stored shelf price among listings with at least 50 reviews, at about £29.74, with 4.4 from 129 reviews.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for the safety and price-cap points. Listings and review counts are from the stored amazon.co.uk pages. Last updated 16 October 2026.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.