Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Industrial space heater buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You are in a single garage or a site cabin, and the title does not say whether the heater wants a normal UK plug, a 400 V outlet, or a propane cylinder. This industrial space heater buying guide is the order of checks before a model name: the supply you have, the watts that supply can feed, then the safety lines the listing prints. The [industrial space heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/industrial-space-heater) sets twelve amazon.co.uk listings side by side, from £29.74 to £135.15, stored on 16 October 2026. The Products Compared editorial team used those listings and public UK sources. We did not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are in a single garage or a site cabin, and the title does not say whether the heater wants a normal UK plug, a 400 V outlet, or a propane cylinder.

Our top picks

On this page

Start with the socket or the cylinder

UK mains are 230 V, and a BS 1363 plug is fused at 13 A. The Institution of Engineering and Technology, in Wiring Matters for September 2025, says a long full-power load on BS 1363 plugs is generally kept to about 2.7 kW. That article is about an immersion heater. The same load point applies if a fan heater sits on high for hours. In this set the 2 kW ceramics state 8.33 A, under that line with room to spare, while the Benross 42450 states 13.64 A at 220 V. Only the DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G states 400 V three-phase and says it cannot run on a 220–240 V household socket. If your only supply is a wall socket, read the 3 kW heater and a 13 A plug page before you compare square feet. Room size only matters inside the supply you have.

Match watts to the room, not the square-foot claim

Coverage lines here run from 215 sq ft and 20 m² up to 861 sq ft on the 9 kW listing and 5,382 sq ft on the propane unit. Those are claims, not a survey of your garage. Heathfield LED’s guide uses about 100–125 W per square metre for a draughty garage, and a single garage near 15 m² lands around 2 kW in their example. A basic insulated workshop is sometimes quoted nearer 50–70 W per square metre. Both figures are rules of thumb. Reviewers in the first 50 of 87 texts put the 2 kW DAHTEC BGP1506-02 in a garage, workshop, aviary or tent, and say the fan is weak once the space gets larger. One Benross review timed about 770 cubic feet from about 6 °C to 15 °C in 25 minutes. Other texts say a wooden or open garage does not come up. Treat 85 °C fields and square-foot lines as the seller’s words.

Read the safety lines that are printed

A thermostat, an overheat cut-out, a tip-over switch and an IP code are four different sentences. The BGP1308-02 pair states tip-over protection and an overheat cut-out, and it prints IP20. The bullet calls IP20 water-proofing. That code does not state water protection. IPX4 means splash from all sides, and the X means the solid-object digit was not stated. The Benross title says IPX4, and the indoor field still says Indoor. A portable blower with bathroom in the room types, and no IP code, is not a zone rating. The compact BGP2305-20 does not state a tip-over switch, and one review says it keeps running if it falls. The stored Benross special-features line does not name an overheat cut-out, while the manufacturer’s page states a dual cut-out. Do not merge those into one claim. Black and yellow ASINs of BGP1308-02 share review texts, so a 4.8 from 11 is one sample.

Fuel is the last split, not the first

Electric is the default when a suitable socket exists, because the heat does not come from a flame in the room. Propane enters when the space is too large for 2–3 kW and you cannot supply 400 V either. The only propane listing here is the DAHTEC BGA1401-50-18 at £135.15, titled 50 kW, with a highlight of 3.63 kg/h and a printed working pressure of 1,500 mbar. A regulator, hose and cylinder are not in the included list. A UK domestic propane regulator is nominally 37 mbar, a different class from 1,500 mbar (1.5 bar). If the garage stores petrol, Calor’s mobile-heater guidance says not to use that class of LPG heater there because of petrol vapour. The Health and Safety Executive warns that LPG heaters in enclosed spaces can kill, and prefers electric where you can provide it. The electric or propane space heater page holds that choice.

Common questions

Will 2 kW heat a single UK garage?
It can take the chill off a small enclosed single garage, and it will struggle in a draughty or double bay. Heathfield’s rule of thumb puts a garage near 15 m² at about 2 kW at 100–125 W per square metre. That is their example, not a guarantee. Stored texts praise the BGP1506-02 in small rooms and criticise it once the space gets larger.
Is 3 kW still a 13 A heater?
Sometimes it is sold with a BS 1363 plug, and hours at full power are still a poor match. Three kilowatts at 230 V is about 13.0 A. The IET’s figure for a long full-power BS 1363 load is about 2.7 kW. The Benross listing prints 13.64 A at 220 V. If the plug or socket warms, stop. A trade catalogue’s 16 A rule is not the statute.
What does IPX4 or IP20 mean on a workshop heater?
IPX4 means protection against splashing water from all sides. The X means the solid-object digit was not stated. IP20 does not state water protection, even when a bullet says water-proofing. The Benross title states IPX4 and the indoor field says Indoor. A bathroom in the room-type list, with no IP code, is not a zone rating for a portable fan.
When is 400 V the requirement?
When the listing says so. In this set only the DAHTEC IFHO3-90-G states 400 V three-phase, with settings of 52 W, 4.5 kW and 9 kW, and it says the heater cannot be used on a 220–240 V household socket. There is no customer-review line in that file. Fitting a three-phase outlet is an electrician’s job, not a plug change.
Why do two colours share one model number?
Black and yellow are separate ASINs of the same model, not two tests. BGP1308-02 is £58.65 in both colours, and the stored review texts match. BGP3003-28 is £67.15 in both colours, with a slightly different printed amperage and weight on the yellow page. Choose the finish after you have read one sample. Do not add the star counts together.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the safety and price-cap points. Listings and review counts are from the stored amazon.co.uk pages. Last updated 16 October 2026.

  1. Workplace (Health, Safety and Welfare) Regulations 1992, regulation 7 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE: The law on workplace temperature (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE INDG236: Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE: Carbon monoxide on construction sites (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Plugs and Sockets (Safety) Regulations 1994, Part II (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Electrical Safety First: Portable heaters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. IET Wiring Matters, September 2025: 3 kW loads on 13 A accessories (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Ofgem: Energy price cap unit rates, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. Liquid Gas UK: Consumer Guidance Sheet 39 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  10. Calor: Guidelines for the safe use of mobile heaters (2024) (retrieved 16 October 2026)