Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: SONBION LSG13 quartz radiant heater – Highest star rating with at least 100 reviews. The 4.2 from 511 reviews beats the other 4.2 on count. Tip-over and overheat cut-outs are stated. Best value: Not awarded – A best-value badge would need at least 4.4 stars. No listing in this set reaches 4.4, so the badge is not used. Updated October 2026.
A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces, rather than warming the air with a fan. In the UK it is a silent top-up for one person in a small room, a home office, a caravan or a conservatory, usually at 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W.
No listing reaches 4.4 stars, so there is no best-value badge. Reviews turn on tube life, the tip-over pin on carpet, and spare-tube length.
The saving is lower power and shorter use. At Direct Debit average of 26.32 pence per kWh for 1 October to 31, a full hour is about 10.5p at 400 W, 21.1p at 800 W and 31.6p at 1,200 W. The [running cost guide](/hub/portable-heaters/halogen-radiant-heater/sub/halogen-radiant-heater-running-cost) sets that arithmetic out on its own page.
It does not warm the room by blowing air. It is not a replacement for central heating in a large room.
Two-bar quartz or quartz-halogen heaters usually stop at 800 W. A twin pack is the same heater twice, not a different technology. The listing has to say which element it is.
A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces, rather than warming the air with a fan.
A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces, rather than warming the air with a fan. In the UK it is a silent top-up for one person in a small room, a home office, a caravan or a conservatory, usually at 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W.
No listing reaches 4.4 stars, so there is no best-value badge. Reviews turn on tube life, the tip-over pin on carpet, and spare-tube length.
The saving is lower power and shorter use. At Direct Debit average of 26.32 pence per kWh for 1 October to 31, a full hour is about 10.5p at 400 W, 21.1p at 800 W and 31.6p at 1,200 W. The [running cost guide](/hub/portable-heaters/halogen-radiant-heater/sub/halogen-radiant-heater-running-cost) sets that arithmetic out on its own page.
It does not warm the room by blowing air. It is not a replacement for central heating in a large room.
Two-bar quartz or quartz-halogen heaters usually stop at 800 W. A twin pack is the same heater twice, not a different technology. The listing has to say which element it is.
A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces, rather than warming the air with a fan. In the UK it is a silent top-up for one person in a small room, a home office, a caravan or a conservatory, usually at 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W. No listing reaches 4.4 stars, so there is no best-value badge. Reviews turn on tube life, the tip-over pin on carpet, and spare-tube length. The saving is lower power and shorter use.
The SONBION LSG13 is an 800 W radiant heater at about £39.95, listed with two settings, a tip-over switch and overheat protection, and a weight of 1.57 kg. Across 511 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2, the joint highest score in this set and the higher count of the two 4.2 listings. Reviewers praise the lack of fan noise and heat on one bar at a desk. They also say the switches sit low, beside the elements, and that a top bar can die within months. A seller line about 95 per cent conversion is not a cited test. One review describes a blanket at the grill catching fire. No IP rating is stated. It is the top pick when silence at a desk matters more than a third bar.
Pros
Silent radiant heat on one bar
Tip-over and overheat cut-outs stated
4.2 from 511 reviews
Cons
Switches described as too close to the elements
Tubes fail and parts are hard to find
No IP rating stated
Best for: A desk or small room where silence matters more than a third bar.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs stated spare tubes, a timer, or bathroom use.
The Geepas GQH9106_3 is a single white quartz halogen heater at about £14.99, rated 800 W with 400 W and 800 W settings, a tip-over switch, overheat protection and a stated two-year warranty. The listing weight is 1 kg and the voltage is 240 V. It shares a 4.2 score from 323 reviews with the Geepas two-pack, and the review text overlaps, so that count is not a second independent sample. Reviewers use it in small rooms, caravans and on a boat, and several prefer the glow to a bright three-bar halogen. Legs, a short lead and early tube failure are the repeated complaints. The minimum and maximum temperature lines are 40 °F and 200 °F as listed. No IP rating is stated.
Pros
Lowest single-heater price in this set
Two-year warranty stated
240 V and a tip-over switch stated
Cons
Review sample overlaps the two-pack
Tubes described as non-replaceable
Oscillation angle not stated
Best for: A small space or caravan where 800 W and a low price are enough.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a stated 1,200 W third bar or published tube dimensions.
The Geepas COQH9106-2 is a pack of two white quartz halogen heaters at about £28.99. Each is listed at 800 W with 400 W and 800 W settings, a tip-over switch, overheat protection and a two-year warranty. Voltage is 240 V, and oscillation is not stated on this pack. The star line is 4.2 from 323 reviews, the same line as the single Geepas heater, with overlapping stories about buying two units for a boat, a caravan or two rooms. Reviewers like instant heat on one bar and the lack of fan noise. They also report short leads, flimsy legs and tubes that spark and die, with replacements described as unavailable. The listed size is 18 x 38 x 24 cm and the listed weight is 1 kg, and no IP rating is stated.
Pros
Two heaters in one listing
Two-year warranty stated
240 V and tip-over switches stated
Cons
Star line is shared with the single
Oscillation not stated
Tubes described as sealed
Best for: Two small spaces, such as both ends of a caravan, at 800 W each.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants one 1,200 W heater or a separate review sample.
The Warmlite WL42005 is a 1.5 kg three-bar halogen heater at about £21.45, with 400 W, 800 W and 1,200 W, 120° oscillation, a tip-over switch and overheat protection. It has the largest review count in this set, 4.1 from 2,153 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers say one bar is felt at once and that the base screws on easily. They also call it bright, light enough to knock, and awkward on carpet when the tip pin does not close. Tube failures within weeks are a repeated complaint. Cable length and a spare tube are not stated on this listing. Voltage is not stated.
Pros
Three stated wattages and 120° oscillation
2,153 reviews at 4.1
Tip-over and overheat protection stated
Cons
Bright, and light at 1.5 kg
Tubes fail in a large share of complaints
Cable length not stated
Best for: Someone who wants a widely reviewed 1,200 W three-bar heater near a chair.
Less suitable: A dark living room where glare is the main objection, or a thick carpet.
The Elex listing is a pair of halogen heaters at about £36.95, each with three elements at 400 W, 800 W and 1,200 W and 70° oscillation. The title states overheat protection and a cut-off if the unit is knocked over. The star line is 4.0 from 736 reviews. Reviewers like the instant glow and the fact that two heaters can sit in two rooms. They also call the plastic thin, the light harsh, and the lead short. Bars failing within weeks, a switch that later will not turn the heater off, and a base pin that needs force are repeated faults. The listed weight is 5.06 kg for the listing, while voltage, cable length, a warranty and an IP rating are not stated. The model string AT-80344 also appears on the Trendi single. That is a listing fact, not proof the heaters are identical.
Pros
Two 1,200 W heaters
70° oscillation stated
736 reviews at 4.0
Cons
Early bar failures are common in the reviews
Switch and base-pin faults
Voltage and warranty not stated
Best for: Two rooms that each need a three-bar heater, if you accept a short life in the reviews.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants one heater with a stated spare-tube size.
The Supawarm deluxe is the dearest heater in this set at about £44.23. The title states 1,200 W and a 1.3 m cable, and the specification states three speeds, radiant heat, indoor use and the United Kingdom as country of origin. Tip-over protection, overheat protection, oscillation, voltage, weight and a model number are not stated, and the dimension line includes a height of 178.8 cm. The score is 4.0 from 168 reviews. Reviewers say it heats quickly and that the light is blinding. Bulbs failing within weeks, a 170 mm tube that was hard to buy, a warm slipping control knob, and a melted rear casing are in the review text. A remote is not stated, one reviewer expected one, and no IP rating is stated.
Pros
1.3 m cable stated in the title
1,200 W and three speeds
4.0 from 168 reviews
Cons
Safety switches not in the specification
Listed height of 178.8 cm
Tubes and a melted casing in the reviews
Best for: A buyer who specifically wants the stated 1.3 m lead and accepts a thin safety specification.
Less suitable: Anyone comparing tip-over switches from the listing text alone.
The Trendi heater is a 1.48 kg halogen tube model at about £19.95, with 400 W, 800 W and 1,200 W, 230 V, tip-over protection and overheat protection. Oscillation is listed without an angle, and it is the only listing here whose title states replaceable tubes. The score is 3.9 from 440 reviews. Owners who like it talk about silent heat on one bar and side covers that come off with a screw or two. A large set of reviews describes bulbs dying inside a month, melted plastic around a fitting, and a fight to fit 208 mm tubes. The tip pin on carpet and a short lead are separate complaints. The maximum temperature line of 1,200 °F is what the listing prints, and no warranty line or IP rating is stated.
Pros
Replaceable tubes stated in the title
Three wattages and 230 V stated
440 reviews, so the faults are visible
Cons
3.9 score with many early tube failures
208 mm length comes from reviews, not the title
Tip switch unreliable on carpet
Best for: A buyer who will measure a failed tube and is willing to change it.
Less suitable: Someone who wants a heater they will not open, or a dark room.
The Status QH-800W1PKB is a white quartz radiant heater at about £14.99. The title and bullets say 800 W, with 400 W and 800 W, a tip-over switch, a carry handle and a fold-away stand. The technical table also says 3,000 W and 6.67 A at 240 V, which does not match 800 W, and weight is 950 g in the table and about 900 g in the bullets. The score is 3.7 from 160 reviews, the second-lowest in this set. Reviewers like one-bar heat in a small room and the lack of a fan. They also say it will not stay on unless the safety button is pressed into a hard floor, and that tubes fail within weeks. Overheat protection, oscillation, a thermostat and an IP rating are not stated. Treat 800 W as the title rating. Do not take the 3,000 W cell, or a bathroom mention, at face value.
Pros
About £14.99 with two stated settings
Tip-over switch and fold-away stand stated
About 950 g
Cons
3,000 W table line conflicts with the 800 W title
3.7 from 160 reviews
Carpet cuts the safety switch, in the reviews
Best for: A hard floor and a small spot, if you treat 800 W as the title rating.
Less suitable: Anyone who would take the 3,000 W cell, or a bathroom, at face value.
The title and bullets say 800 W, with 400 W and 800 W settings. The technical table also says 3,000 W. Both figures are on the listing. The table current is 6.67 A. Treat 800 W as the title rating.
Does it state a thermostat?
No. A customer question asks. The bullets do not describe a thermostat.
Can it be used in a bathroom?
A bullet mentions bathrooms. No IP rating is stated. A UK review says the instructions say not to use it in a bathroom.
The Almineez AHH870 is a grey halogen heater at about £19.98. The bullets state 400 W, 800 W and 1,200 W, oscillation up to 75 degrees, a carry handle, a tip-over switch and a thermal cut-out. Voltage, weight, cable length, a timer and replaceable tubes are not stated. The score is 3.6 from 19 reviews, the lowest in this set, and the file only includes three review texts. Those three say it worked at first, then a middle element failed after two weeks, or only one element still lit, and that the base is not sturdy. That is a thin and already negative sample. The size is 35 x 24 x 48 cm, and no IP rating is stated.
Pros
Three stated wattages and 75° oscillation
Tip-over switch and thermal cut-out stated
About £19.98
Cons
3.6 from only 19 reviews
The three visible reviews describe early failure
Weight and voltage not stated
Best for: Only if the specification lines are enough and you will use the 30-day returns window.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a large review sample before buying a glowing-tube heater.
A timer is not stated. The bullets state three settings, oscillation up to 75 degrees, a carry handle and a tip-over switch.
How many reviews are on the listing?
The star line is 3.6 from 19 reviews. The file includes three UK review texts, and those three describe early element failure.
Is the weight stated?
Weight is not stated. The listed size is 35 x 24 x 48 cm.
How we compared
Nine amazon.co.uk listings were compared from the UK star line, the review count, and whether the page states the wattage, the cut-outs and a spare tube. There was no laboratory heat test. The top pick is the highest star rating with at least 100 reviews. A tie goes to the higher review count. A best-value badge would need at least 4.4 stars, and no listing in this set reaches that, so it is not used. The five weights below sum to 100.
1
Amazon evidence
30%
Star rating on amazon.co.uk, with more weight on a count you can read. A shared review line between two ASINs is one sample, not two.
2
Safety hardware
25%
A tip-over switch, an overheat cut-out and a stable base that the listing actually states. A bathroom word with no IP rating does not score as bathroom-safe.
3
Output and settings
20%
Whether the page states 400 W, 800 W or 1,200 W, and whether a second figure in the table fights the title.
4
Tubes, element and lead
15%
A named element, a replaceable-tube line, and a lead or oscillation angle that is printed rather than assumed.
5
Price
10%
Shelf price in GBP against the review file. A low price with tubes failing in weeks is not treated as a low cost.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Halogen radiant heater buying guide
A halogen radiant heater is a glowing-tube spot heater, not a fan and not central heating. On these nine amazon.co.uk listings the shelf runs from about £14.99 to about £44.23, with steps of 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W. Start with the job, then the element and the glare, then the cut-outs you can see on the page, then whether a spare tube is even stated.
What is a halogen radiant heater?
A halogen radiant heater glows. A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces. It does not warm the room by blowing air. In this UK set the usual steps are 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W. One bar is for a person close by. Two or three bars widen the beam. A 1,200 W halogen heater is still a spot heater. It is not a replacement for central heating in a large room.
Two patterns sit on these amazon.co.uk pages.
Best for
One person close by who wants silence on a video call
A caravan, boat or conservatory used at 400 W or 800 W
Not ideal for
Whole-house heat, or a bathroom, when no IP rating is stated
A buyer who will fit a tube without measuring the old glass
Mistakes to avoid
1
Using 400 W as whole-house heat
These heaters warm a person and nearby surfaces. Leaving three bars on all evening and calling it cheap is the same mistake. A 1,200 W tube is still a spot heater.
2
Fitting the wrong tube
UK buyers argue about 170 mm, 208 mm and 225 mm. Trendi reviewers say 208 mm, not 225 mm. Measure the failed tube. Do not move the heater while the glass is hot.
3
Trusting a bathroom bullet
No listing here states an IP rating. A coiled extension reel, thick carpet under the tip pin, and clothes dried on the grill are the other faults the public guidance is written to stop.
What to weigh up
Safety hardware
High
Before you plug a halogen radiant heater in, the listing should show a tip-over switch, an overheat cut-out, a stable base and a UK 13 A plug. The Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35, require a correctly fitted BS 1363 plug, or a compliant conversion plug with a BS 1362 fuse. None of the nine amazon.co.uk listings states an IP rating. A bathroom word on the Status page is not a zone rating, and a UK review says the instructions forbid bathroom use.
Tubes and review evidence
High
A low shelf price is not a low cost if the tube dies in weeks. Trendi is the only listing here whose title states replaceable tubes, at about £19.95, and the score is 3.9 from 440 reviews. Reviewers say the glass is 208 mm, not the 225 mm part people search for first. Supawarm reviews mention a 170 mm tube that was hard to buy. Geepas reviewers describe sealed units. Warmlite, with 4.1 from 2,153 reviews, still has tube failures within weeks as a repeated complaint.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
💻
One chair, quiet on a call
You heat one person close by and want silence rather than a fan. The SONBION LSG13 at about £39.95 is 800 W with two settings, and reviewers praise the lack of fan noise at a desk. The switches sit low, beside the elements.
You want instant heat at 400 W or 800 W, not a third bar. The Geepas GQH9106 at about £14.99 is the lowest single-heater price here. Reviewers use that pattern in small rooms, caravans and on a boat. The review text overlaps the two-pack.
You already own a glowing-tube heater and you will measure the old glass. Trendi is the only listing here whose title states replaceable tubes, at about £19.95. Reviewers say the length is 208 mm, not 225 mm. Measure before you order.
A halogen radiant heater glows. A filament in a halogen-filled tube throws infra-red at you and at nearby surfaces, rather than warming the air with a fan. In this UK set the steps are usually 400 W, 800 W and, on three-bar models, 1,200 W. It is a silent top-up for one person close by, not whole-house heat. The fan heater comparison is the page if you want air moved around the room.
How much does a halogen radiant heater cost?
On these amazon.co.uk shelves the range is about £14.99 to about £44.23. The Geepas single and the Status QH-800 are about £14.99. Trendi is about £19.95, Almineez about £19.98 and Warmlite about £21.45. The Geepas twin pack is about £28.99 and the Elex pair about £36.95. The SONBION LSG13 is about £39.95. Supawarm is about £44.23, the highest here. A figure under £45 for most domestic halogen heaters is a rule of thumb, not a survey.
What does one hour cost to run?
At Ofgem’s Direct Debit average of 26.32 pence per kWh for 1 October to 31 December 2026, a full hour is about 10.5p at 400 W, 21.1p at 800 W and 31.6p at 1,200 W. That is before your regional rate, and it is not a Northern Ireland price. A watt is a watt. The saving is using fewer watts for less time, not a special efficiency. Leaving three bars on all evening does not heat a house cheaply.
Can I use a halogen radiant heater in a bathroom?
No listing in this set states an IP rating, so none is a bathroom heater. The Status page mentions bathrooms, and a UK review says the instructions forbid that use. Electrical Safety First says keep portable heaters at least one metre from curtains, furniture and bedding. If you want a fixed heater in a bathroom zone, stop and use an electrician. Do not open a sealed unit.
Which halogen radiant heater is the top pick?
The top pick is the SONBION LSG13 at about £39.95. It is an 800 W radiant heater with two settings, a tip-over switch and overheat protection, and 4.2 from 511 amazon.co.uk reviews, the higher count of the two 4.2 listings. Reviewers praise silent heat on one bar at a desk. They also say the switches sit low and that a top bar can die within months. No listing reaches 4.4 stars, so there is no best-value badge.
Can I replace the halogen tube?
Only the Trendi title states replaceable tubes. Reviewers say the glass is 208 mm, not 225 mm. Supawarm reviews mention a 170 mm tube that was hard to buy. Measure the failed tube before you order. Geepas reviewers describe sealed units, and several other listings do not state a spare tube. A low price with a tube that dies in weeks is not a low cost.
When should I stop using it?
Stop and use the retailer’s remedy, or an electrician for a damaged lead, when the casing has melted, a tube has burst, or you want a fixed heater in a bathroom zone. Do not open a sealed unit. A Gas Safe engineer is the wrong trade for this electric heater. Do not move it while the tubes are hot, stand it on thick carpet so the tip pin never closes, dry clothes on it, or leave it on overnight.
Our verdict
The SONBION LSG13 is the top pick in this set, at about £39.95. It is an 800 W radiant heater with two settings, a tip-over switch and overheat protection, and 4.2 from 511 amazon.co.uk reviews, the higher count of the two 4.2 scores. Reviewers praise silent heat on one bar at a desk. They also say the switches sit low and that a top bar can die within months. No listing reaches 4.4 stars, so there is no best-value badge. A low shelf price does not repair a short tube life.
Best overall
SONBION LSG13 quartz radiant heater
Highest star rating with at least 100 reviews. The 4.2 from 511 reviews beats the other 4.2 on count. Tip-over and overheat cut-outs are stated.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to halogen radiant heaters
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for the unit rate, plug rules, placement and the 30-day right to reject. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines stored for this comparison.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines for these nine listings. We did not run a lab test.