Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Handheld oscilloscope comparison 2026

The best handheld oscilloscopes, compared.

Top pick: BSIDE O2 – Highest score: two stated channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, a seven-waveform generator and United Kingdom texts at about £79.99. One probe in the box and nine reviews keep the score at 74. Best value: BSIDE OT3 – Best value at about £39.99 for 10 MHz, a probe and an alligator lead, with 4.6 from 31 and United Kingdom texts. A 200 kHz listing with no probe is not the better buy. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A handheld oscilloscope is a battery instrument with its own screen. You use it to draw voltage against time when a multimeter number is not enough. UK shoppers buy one for hobby electronics, study, light field work, or a 12 V vehicle check. A USB scope that needs a computer, and a mains bench scope, are different products. You tell a suitable one by bandwidth as a real limit, not the largest number in the title, then by channel count and whether a probe is in the box. Bandwidth is where a sine is already about 3 dB down. A published rule of thumb is at least three times the highest sine you care about, and a sample rate of about 2.5 times that bandwidth. The headline rate is often for one channel only. Battery power does not isolate the inputs. Assume a common ground unless the manual says each channel floats. A lone voltage is not a measurement category. Those checks are in the [handheld oscilloscope buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/oscilloscope-hand/sub/oscilloscope-hand-buying-guide). UK mains are 230 V. Live work is restricted where danger may arise. A pocket screen is not a rated instrument for a consumer unit.

A handheld oscilloscope is a battery instrument with its own screen. You use it to draw voltage against time when a multimeter number is not enough.

BSIDE O2

Best overall

BSIDE O2
7.4/10∼ £80

22 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +17,200 readers

6 of 6: Best handheld oscilloscopes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 6
Best overall
BSIDE O2
BSIDE OT5
ZOYI ZT-703S
Best value
BSIDE OT3
BSIDE OT9
DSO152
7.4/10
4.6/10
6.2/10
6.8/10
4.8/10
2.8/10
∼ £80
∼ £60
∼ £87
∼ £40
∼ £150
∼ £25
5.0(9)
5.0(1)
4.6(310)
4.6(31)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

How many traces do you need?

The best handheld oscilloscopes in detail

BSIDE O2

Rank 1

BSIDE O2

∼£80

Our view

The BSIDE O2 at £79.99 states two channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, 128 K of memory, a 3.98 inch colour resistive touch screen, and a generator with sine, square, half, full, triangle, ramp and DC. The battery bullet says 3,000 mAh and more than 10 hours. The box lists one BNC probe, eight colour rings, a charge cable, a case and a screwdriver, so a second trace still needs another probe. It shows 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the five texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. Praise covers the screen, the grip and the generator. One buyer could not get single or normal trigger to fire until a firmware update, and the manual did not make support easy to find. It does not state isolated inputs or a CAT rating. In this set it is the top pick when you need two channels and will buy the missing probe.

Pros

  • Two channels stated, at 50 MHz and 250 MS/s
  • Seven-waveform generator with adjustable frequency and duty
  • 3.98 inch resistive touch screen, usable with a glove or a pencil
  • United Kingdom reviews, and a 3,000 mAh claim of more than 10 hours

Cons

  • Only one BNC probe for a two-channel scope
  • Single and normal trigger needed firmware for one buyer
  • Nine reviews is a small sample
  • No CAT rating and no stated isolated inputs

Best for: You want two channels and a generator at £79.99, and you will add a second probe.

Less suitable: You need two probes in the box, isolated inputs, or a large review sample.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE O2
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£80
Customer rating
5.0/5(9)
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
250 MS/s
Channels
2
In the box
1 probe, case
Screen
3.98 in touch
Battery
3000 mAh, 10 h+
Input limit
300 V AC, no CAT
Extras
7-wave generator
Memory
128 Kb
Weight
268 g

Common questions

How many probes are listed for the BSIDE O2?

The package bullet lists one BNC probe, eight colour rings, a charging cable, a case and a screwdriver. The scope itself is described as two-channel.

What can the BSIDE O2 signal generator output?

The bullet names sine, square, half, full, triangle, ramp and DC, with frequency, amplitude and duty cycle adjustable.

Does the BSIDE O2 touch screen work with gloves?

The bullet says the resistive touch screen can be used with fingers, including gloves, or with a stick or a pencil. A side wheel is also fitted.

BSIDE OT5

Rank 2

BSIDE OT5

∼£60

Our view

This BSIDE OT5 is £59.99 and states 50 MHz, 200 MS/s, 128 Kb, ±400 V, a 3.2 inch colour screen, and an interface that includes English. The battery bullet says 1,200 mAh and more than 8 hours. The box lists one BNC probe, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case and a screwdriver, and it does not list an alligator lead. It shows 5.0 from 1 review, from the United Kingdom. That reviewer wanted a single channel and was glad to leave a heavy bench scope. One review is not a sample. The attribute line that says a minimum operating voltage of 400 V matches the range claim, and there is no CAT rating. Twenty pounds more than the OT3 buys the higher megahertz figure on the same small screen.

Pros

  • 50 MHz and 200 MS/s claimed at £59.99
  • One BNC probe, colour rings, a case and a trimmer
  • English is among the listed interface languages
  • 1,200 mAh and more than 8 hours claimed

Cons

  • 5.0 comes from a single review
  • That review describes a single channel
  • No alligator lead in the box list
  • No CAT rating beside the ±400 V line

Best for: You already know you want this 50 MHz claim and one channel, and you accept a single review.

Less suitable: You need two traces, an alligator lead in the box, or a review sample larger than one.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT5
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
200 MS/s
Channels
1, per review
In the box
1 probe, case
Screen
3.2 in colour
Battery
1200 mAh, 8 h+
Input limit
±400 V, no CAT
Memory
128 Kb
Weight
143 g

Common questions

Is the BSIDE OT5 a two-channel scope?

The box lists one BNC probe. The only review says to buy it if a single channel is enough. The listing does not print a channel count.

How does the BSIDE OT5 differ from the OT3 on the listing?

The OT5 bullet says 50 MHz and 200 MS/s. The OT3 bullet says 10 MHz and 48 MS/s. Both claim a 3.2 inch screen and a 1200 mAh battery.

Does the BSIDE OT5 listing include an alligator lead?

No. The OT5 package list has one BNC probe, four colour rings, a cable, a case and a screwdriver. The OT3 list also has an alligator probe.

ZOYI ZT-703S

Rank 3

ZOYI ZT-703S

∼£87

Our view

The ZOYI ZT-703S is £86.50, and the title states a 50 MHz dual-channel scope, 280 MS/s, a 3.5 inch IPS screen, a 25,000-count True RMS meter, a generator and a 3,400 mAh cell, with no hour figure. The bullets omit the kit. Reviewers who received one often describe two probes, meter leads, a case and USB-C, though at least one first delivery arrived with a single probe. The listing line is 4.6 from 310 on amazon.co.uk, and the texts in the file are not labelled United Kingdom, so they are behaviour clues rather than British opinion. Those texts treat the meter as the strong part and the generator as the weak part, with button menus instead of knobs. One reviewer said the display blanks in under 10 minutes. An Amazon specification line names CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, and it does not say which socket that covers.

Pros

  • Title states two channels, 50 MHz and 280 MS/s
  • 25,000-count True RMS meter in the same unit
  • 3,400 mAh cell and USB-C charging
  • Listing line is 4.6 from 310, which is the largest sample here

Cons

  • Review texts in the file are not labelled United Kingdom
  • Those texts call the generator the weak function
  • Bullets do not list the probes, and one delivery had only one
  • CAT line does not name the socket, and temperature is absent in one review

Best for: You want the meter as the main tool, with a dual-channel scope in the same hand.

Less suitable: You need United Kingdom review texts, a proven generator, or a CAT rating that names your socket.

Specifications

Model
ZOYI ZT-703S
Brand
ZOYI
Price
∼£87
Customer rating
4.6/5(310)
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
280 MS/s
Channels
2 in title
In the box
Not in bullets
Screen
3.5 in IPS
Battery
3400 mAh
Input limit
CAT III 1000 V
Extras
Meter, generator
Weight
380 g

Common questions

Does the ZOYI ZT-703S listing include a multimeter?

The title says True RMS and 25,000 count, and the measurement-type attribute says multimeter. It does not list temperature. One review says temperature is absent.

Where does the ZOYI ZT-703S CAT rating come from?

It is the Amazon specification-met line: IEC 61010-2-030, CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V. The saved listing does not say which sockets that covers.

Are the 310 ZOYI ZT-703S reviews United Kingdom reviews?

The 4.6 from 310 is the amazon.co.uk listing line. The review texts saved in the saved listing are not labelled United Kingdom.

BSIDE OT3

Rank 4

BSIDE OT3

∼£40

Our view

This BSIDE OT3 is £39.99 and states 10 MHz, 48 MS/s, 128 Kb of memory, a 3.2 inch colour screen and ±400 V. The battery bullet says 1,200 mAh and more than 8 hours, while Compel’s sheet for the same family says about 7 hours and ±40 V on x1. The box lists a BNC probe, an alligator lead, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case and a screwdriver. It shows 4.6 from 31 reviews, and the seven texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. Buyers used it on a Pico microcontroller, a combi-boiler EMS line and a vehicle LIN signal, and one still called it fiddly and not for professional use. Single reports, which are not a rate, cover a Chinese menu, a calibration mode that shut off after about 20 seconds, and an unreadable battery icon. There is no external trigger and no CAT rating. In this set it is the best value when one 10 MHz trace is enough.

Pros

  • 10 MHz at £39.99, with 4.6 from 31 ratings
  • BNC probe and alligator lead both listed
  • United Kingdom reviews name a microcontroller, a boiler line and a LIN signal
  • Case and a 1,200 mAh claim

Cons

  • Channel count is not printed, and one scope probe is listed
  • Menus called fiddly, with one report of a Chinese menu
  • No external trigger and no CAT rating beside ±400 V
  • One report of calibration mode shutting off after about 20 seconds

Best for: You want a reviewed 10 MHz pocket trace, with a probe and clips, at £39.99.

Less suitable: You need two channels, a 50 MHz claim, or a CAT-rated mains instrument.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT3
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.6/5(31)
Bandwidth
10 MHz
Sample rate
48 MS/s
Channels
1 probe listed
In the box
Probe, clips, case
Screen
3.2 in colour
Battery
1200 mAh, 8 h+
Input limit
±400 V, no CAT
Memory
128 Kb
Weight
138 g

Common questions

Does the BSIDE OT3 have a colour screen?

Yes. The bullet describes a 3.2 inch colour TFT. The listing weight is 138 g.

What is in the BSIDE OT3 box?

The bullet lists the scope, one BNC probe, one alligator-clip probe, four colour rings, a charging cable, a case and an alignment screwdriver.

Can the BSIDE OT3 store a waveform?

The bullet says a waveform can be saved with one click and viewed on the unit or on a PC. It does not describe a protocol decoder.

BSIDE OT9

Rank 5

BSIDE OT9

∼£150

Our view

The BSIDE OT9 is £149.99 and states two channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, 128 Kb, a 4.3 inch touch screen, a 20,000-count meter and an eight-waveform generator. The box lists two BNC probes, an alligator probe, meter leads, a thermocouple, colour rings, a charge cable, a bag and a screwdriver. The cell is 3,000 mAh, and hours are not stated. The scope bullet claims ±4000 V, and the meter claims up to 1,000 V DC and 750 V AC, with no CAT mark in the saved listing. The file has no customer-review line. The date first available in that file is 16 July 2026. A missing review line is not a quality score, and a voltage in the title is not a rating for a consumer unit. It is the fullest kit in this set, and it is still a 50 MHz claim.

Pros

  • Two BNC probes listed, plus an alligator lead
  • 20,000-count meter, thermocouple and meter leads in the box
  • Eight-waveform generator and a 4.3 inch touch screen
  • 3,000 mAh cell and a rear kickstand

Cons

  • No review line on the saved listing
  • £149.99 for another 50 MHz claim
  • ±4000 V has no CAT mark in the file
  • Battery hours are not stated

Best for: You want two probes and a meter in the box, and you can accept a listing with no reviews yet.

Less suitable: You need United Kingdom reviews, or a CAT mark that names the socket you will use.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT9
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£150
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
250 MS/s
Channels
2
In the box
2 probes, leads
Screen
4.3 in touch
Battery
3000 mAh
Input limit
±4000 V, no CAT
Extras
Meter, generator
Memory
128 Kb
Weight
299 g

Common questions

Are two probes included with the BSIDE OT9?

Yes. The bullet lists two BNC probes, one alligator probe, a pair of meter leads, a thermocouple, a charging cable and a zipped bag.

What does the BSIDE OT9 multimeter claim to measure?

The bullet says 20,000 counts, 1 to 10 A AC/DC, up to 1000 V DC, up to 750 V AC, plus resistance, continuity, diode, capacitance and temperature.

Is there a review score for the BSIDE OT9?

The saved listing has no customer-review line. The date first available in that file is 16 July 2026.

DSO152

Rank 6

DSO152

∼£25

Our view

The listing sold as an FNIRSI DSO152 is £25.19 and states 200 kHz bandwidth, a 2.5 MS/s sample rate, a 2.8 inch screen at 320 × 240, and auto, normal and single trigger. The brand field on the page is RiseNova. The bullet claims a built-in 1,000 mAh cell, about 4 hours, USB-C charging and one-button auto. The package line lists one assembled unit. A probe, a case and a manual are not named. The saved listing has no customer-review line, so there is no United Kingdom text that shows a real job. The bullet weight is 100 g and the attribute says 170 g, and the two size lines also disagree. In this set it only fits a signal slower than 200 kHz when you already own a probe. It states no CAT rating.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this set, at £25.19
  • Auto, normal and single trigger are named
  • 1,000 mAh cell and about 4 hours claimed
  • USB-C charging is stated

Cons

  • 200 kHz is far below the 10 MHz and 50 MHz listings
  • A probe is not listed
  • No review line in the saved listing
  • Weight and size figures disagree inside the listing

Best for: You only need a very slow waveform and you already have a suitable probe.

Less suitable: You need more than 200 kHz, a probe in the box, or any United Kingdom review of this ASIN.

Specifications

Model
DSO152
Brand
RiseNova
Price
∼£25
Bandwidth
200 kHz
Sample rate
2.5 MS/s
In the box
Probe not listed
Screen
2.8 in
Battery
1000 mAh, 4 h
Input limit
No CAT rating
Weight
100 or 170 g

Common questions

What bandwidth does the DSO152 listing claim?

The title and the bullet say 200 kHz, with a 2.5 MS/s sampling rate. That is far below the 10 MHz and 50 MHz models in this set.

Is a probe in the DSO152 box?

The bullet lists one assembled unit and says no assembly is required. A probe, a case and a manual are not named.

How long does the DSO152 battery claim to last?

The bullet says a built-in 1000 mAh cell and about 4 hours of continuous use. There is no review line in the saved listing.

How we compared

Six handheld oscilloscope listings on amazon.co.uk were scored on 21 October 2026 from the listing and the review file, not from a bench measurement. Amazon stars, cut hard when the sample is one review, there is no review line, or the texts are not from the United Kingdom, weigh 25. Stated bandwidth, sample rate and channel count, including whether a probe is listed, weigh 35. Review sentiment on trigger, battery, menus and a named job weighs 25. Shelf price in GBP against the bandwidth and the kit the listing prints weighs 15. Deductions cover a 200 kHz claim with no probe, a 5.0 from one review or no review line, review texts that are not labelled United Kingdom, a two-channel claim with one probe, trigger that needed firmware, a lone voltage with no CAT mark, and a CAT line that does not name the socket. The 0–100 score is not a measured bandwidth.

1

Amazon evidence

25%

Up to 25 points from the amazon.co.uk star line, cut hard when the sample is one review, there is no review line, or the texts in the file are not from the United Kingdom. The 4.6 from 310 stays a listing line and is not read as British opinion.

2

Bandwidth, channels and probes

35%

Up to 35 points for the stated bandwidth, sample rate and channel count, including whether a probe is actually listed. A 200 kHz claim with no probe, or two channels with one BNC probe, scores lower.

3

Review notes on the job

25%

Up to 25 points from review sentiment on trigger, battery, menus and a named job. Firmware before single or normal trigger works, and a menu called fiddly, are deductions. No review text scores nothing here.

4

Price against the kit

15%

Up to 15 points for the shelf price in GBP against the bandwidth and the kit that listing prints. The lowest shelf price is not the best value when the bandwidth is 200 kHz and the probe is not listed.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Handheld oscilloscope buying guide

Start with the signal, then the probes in the box, then whether the grounds are common, then the input rating, then price against that kit. The notes below follow that order. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What is a handheld oscilloscope?

A handheld oscilloscope is a battery instrument with its own screen. It draws voltage against time when a single multimeter number is not enough. UK buyers in this category are hobbyists, students, and people doing light field work or a 12 V vehicle check. A USB scope that needs a computer, and a mains bench scope, are different products and sit outside this comparison. Nothing here was measured on a bench. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listing lines.

Best for

  • Hobby and study signals when one reviewed trace and a probe in the box are enough
  • Two channels or a generator when you will add the probe the box does not include
  • A 12 V sensor with the ground clip on battery negative

Not ideal for

  • Consumer units, live mains work, or an EV traction system
  • A floated scope, or ignition spikes the probe is not rated for
  • Anyone who reads a title voltage as a CAT rating

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the megahertz number

    Bandwidth is where a sine is already about 3 dB down. A 200 kHz claim cannot do the jobs a 10 MHz or 50 MHz listing is sold for. The headline sample rate is often for one channel only.

  2. 2

    Treating the battery as isolation

    A cell lets you carry the screen. It does not float the inputs. Assume a common ground unless the manual states an isolation rating for each channel. Lifting an earth to float a scope is discouraged.

  3. 3

    Reading a voltage line as a CAT rating

    ±400 V or ±4000 V without a category is not CAT II, III or IV. A category without a voltage is incomplete, and a specification line that does not name the socket is not a rating for every socket. One probe in a two-channel box is still one probe.

What to weigh up

Bandwidth, channels and probes

High

Bandwidth is the point where a sine is already about 3 dB down, so the largest number in a title is not the signal you can trust. Published handheld guidance asks for at least three times the highest sine you care about, and about five times a digital clock if the edge matters. A separate buyer’s guide asks for a sample rate of at least about 2.5 times the bandwidth, and warns that the headline rate is often one channel only.

Ground, rating and extras

High

A battery does not isolate the inputs. Assume the grounds are common unless the manual says each channel floats to a stated rating. HSE INDG354 says a typical scope ties signal common to the chassis, and it discourages lifting the earth to float the instrument. For a 12 V sensor on a common-ground handheld, the ground clip goes on battery negative. Ignition spikes, hybrid and EV traction systems, and any plan that needs a floated scope are a professional job.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A first screen for a slow signal

You want one reviewed trace and a probe in the box. The BSIDE OT3 is about £39.99 and states 10 MHz and 48 MS/s, with 4.6 from 31 reviews. United Kingdom notes name a microcontroller, a boiler line and a LIN signal. It is one channel, with no CAT rating beside ±400 V.

Our recommendation

View offer

Two traces and a generator

You want two channels in one hand and you will buy the missing probe. The BSIDE O2 is about £79.99 and states 50 MHz, 250 MS/s and seven waveforms. The box lists one BNC probe. The line is 5.0 from 9, and one buyer needed firmware before single and normal trigger worked.

Our recommendation

View offer

A meter with a scope beside it

You want the meter as the main tool. The ZOYI ZT-703S is about £86.50. The title states a dual-channel 50 MHz scope, 280 MS/s and a 25,000-count True RMS meter. The listing line is 4.6 from 310. The texts in the file are not labelled United Kingdom, and they call the generator the weak function.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about handheld oscilloscopes

Which handheld oscilloscope is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the BSIDE O2 at about £79.99. It states two channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, a 3.98 inch touch screen and a seven-waveform generator. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. The box lists one BNC probe, so a second trace needs another probe. One buyer needed firmware before single and normal trigger worked. The score weighs the listing from 21 October 2026. It is not a lab measurement.
How much does a handheld oscilloscope cost on amazon.co.uk in this comparison?
These six shelves run from about £25.19 to £149.99, captured on 21 October 2026. That range is this comparison, not a market average. The lowest line is a 200 kHz listing with no probe named. A reviewed 10 MHz pocket scope is about £39.99. Two-channel and meter listings sit at about £79.99 and about £86.50. The fullest kit is about £149.99 and is still a 50 MHz claim.
What should you check before you buy a handheld oscilloscope?
Start with the signal. Bandwidth is where a sine is already about 3 dB down. A published rule of thumb is at least three times the highest sine you care about, and about five times a digital clock if the edge matters. Check that the sample rate is at least about 2.5 times the bandwidth, and that the headline rate is not only for one channel. Count the probes in the box, not only the channel word. Then read whether the grounds are common, and whether category and voltage are named together.
Does a battery handheld oscilloscope have isolated inputs?
No. Battery power means you can carry it. It does not mean the channels float from each other or from the circuit. Assume a common ground unless the manual gives each input its own isolation rating. HSE guidance says a typical scope ties signal common to the chassis, and lifting the earth to float the instrument is discouraged. For a 12 V sensor, put the ground clip on battery negative, not on an ignition spike or a traction battery.
Can these handheld oscilloscopes be used on UK mains?
Not as a consumer-unit or live-mains tool. UK mains are 230 V. The Electricity at Work Regulations 1989, regulation 14, restrict live work where danger may arise. They bind work, not a hobby disclaimer. A voltage in a title, including ±400 V or ±4000 V, is not a CAT rating. Category and voltage belong together, and the rating has to name the socket. When not to connect is set out in the handheld oscilloscope mains safety guide.
How is a handheld oscilloscope different from a bench oscilloscope?
A handheld here has its own screen and a battery. A USB scope needs a computer, and a bench scope is a mains instrument. Those were left out of this set. For a bench or USB listing, use the oscilloscope comparison. On a handheld, still check bandwidth, the probes in the box, and whether the grounds are common. A meter in the same case is useful only if you needed the meter.
When should you call a professional instead of using a handheld oscilloscope?
Call a competent person for fixed installations and consumer units, hybrid and EV traction work, unknown ignition voltages, and any plan that needs a floated scope. Do not probe a consumer unit or an EV traction system with these listings. A 12 V sensor check, ground clip on battery negative, is the vehicle job this category is for. HSE GS38 expects electrical-test probes to meet BS EN 61010-031, with a CAT mark, finger barriers and a short tip.

Our verdict

In this set the top pick is the BSIDE O2 at about £79.99. It states two channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, a seven-waveform generator and a 3.98 inch touch screen, with 5.0 from 9 United Kingdom reviews. The box lists one probe, and one buyer needed firmware before single and normal trigger worked. The best value is the BSIDE OT3 at about £39.99: 10 MHz, 48 MS/s, a probe and an alligator lead, and 4.6 from 31 reviews with United Kingdom texts. The listing at about £25.19 does not take that place, because 200 kHz and a missing probe are not the better buy for the jobs in this set. None of these scores is a lab test.

Best overall
BSIDE O2

BSIDE O2

Highest score: two stated channels, 50 MHz, 250 MS/s, a seven-waveform generator and United Kingdom texts at about £79.99. One probe in the box and nine reviews keep the score at 74.

View offer
Best value
BSIDE OT3

BSIDE OT3

Best value at about £39.99 for 10 MHz, a probe and an alligator lead, with 4.6 from 31 and United Kingdom texts. A 200 kHz listing with no probe is not the better buy.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Handheld oscilloscopesMeasuring equipmentamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to handheld oscilloscopes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these six listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989, regulation 14 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE GS38: electrical test probes (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE INDG354: safety in electrical testing (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Megger: measurement categories (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Keysight: choosing a handheld oscilloscope (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Rohde & Schwarz: oscilloscope buyer's guide (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Compel: OT3 and OT5 handheld oscilloscope (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Pico Automotive: ground clip on a common-ground scope (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. amazon.co.uk Lab Oscilloscopes best sellers (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 21 October 2026. We did not lab-test these handheld oscilloscopes.