Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mini oscilloscope comparison 2026

The best mini oscilloscopes, compared.

Top pick: BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz – Highest score in the set: the only stated two-channel listing, 50 MHz and 250 MSa/s, with UK texts. Nine reviews, and one probe in the box. Best value: BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips) – 10 MHz at about £39.99, 4.6 from 31, with a probe and an alligator lead. A review calls it one channel. No CAT rating. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A mini oscilloscope is a battery handheld digital scope with a small colour screen. You buy one in the UK to see a voltage waveform that a multimeter number cannot show, on a hobby board, a low-speed sensor, or a first look at a vehicle signal. You tell a suitable mini oscilloscope by bandwidth against the job, then by channel count, sample rate with memory, and the probe factor. Bandwidth is the −3 dB point, already a soft ceiling. A rule of thumb is about three times the fastest sine, or about five times a digital clock if the edge matters, with a sample rate of at least 2.5 times that bandwidth. The ground clip is part of the hazard. A printed voltage is not a measurement category. Those checks are in the [mini oscilloscope buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/mini-oscilloscope/sub/mini-oscilloscope-buying-guide). UK mains are 230 V. A pocket screen is not a reason to open a consumer unit. Live work needs competence, or supervision, under the Electricity at Work Regulations 1989.

A mini oscilloscope is a battery handheld digital scope with a small colour screen.

BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz

Best overall

BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz
8.0/10∼ £80

26 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +17,800 readers

7 of 7: Best mini oscilloscopes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz
BSIDE OT5 (bag and manual)
DSO153 with generator
BSIDE OT5 (one UK review)
Best value
BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)
FNIRSI DSO152
BSIDE OT3 (1,000 mAh listing)
8.0/10
6.2/10
5.2/10
6.6/10
7.4/10
4.8/10
6.0/10
∼ £80
∼ £60
∼ £35
∼ £60
∼ £40
∼ £39
∼ £40
5.0(9)
5.0(3)
5.0(2)
5.0(1)
4.6(31)
4.4(425)
4.0(76)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best mini oscilloscopes in detail

BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz

Rank 1

BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz

∼£80

Our view

The BSIDE two-channel listing at £79.99 states 50 MHz, 250 MSa/s, 128 K memory, a 3.98 inch colour touch screen, and a DDS generator with seven waveforms. The battery bullet says 3,000 mAh and more than 10 hours. The box lists one BNC probe, eight colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and a screwdriver. It shows 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the raw texts are from the United Kingdom. A retired engineer praises the build. Another buyer could not run normal or single trigger until firmware arrived. In this set it is the top pick when you need two traces. It does not state isolated inputs or a CAT rating.

Pros

  • Only listing that states two channels
  • 50 MHz and 250 MSa/s
  • Generator and a 3,000 mAh claim
  • UK reviews, including a firmware fix

Cons

  • One probe in the box
  • Normal and single trigger failed for one buyer until firmware
  • No CAT rating and no stated maximum in the bullets
  • Nine reviews is a small sample

Best for: You want two waveforms at once and you can add a second probe.

Less suitable: You need isolated inputs, a CAT-rated mains probe, or a large review sample.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£80
Customer rating
5.0/5(9)
Channels
2
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
250 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, manual
Generator
7 waveforms
Display
3.98 inch colour
Battery
3,000 mAh
Probe
1 BNC probe
Voltage
Not stated

Common questions

Does this listing include two probes?

No. The bullet and the components line list one BNC probe, plus eight colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and a screwdriver.

Does it include a signal generator?

Yes. The listing names seven waveforms: sine, square, half, full, triangle, ramp, and DC. It does not state a maximum output frequency.

Did UK reviewers get normal trigger working?

One UK review says normal and single waited forever while auto was stable. The same buyer says a firmware update from the seller fixed it. The listing does not state a CAT rating.

BSIDE OT5 (bag and manual)

Rank 2

BSIDE OT5 (bag and manual)

∼£60

Our view

This second BSIDE OT5 listing is also £59.99. It states 50 MHz, 200 MSa/s, up to 400 V, auto, normal, and single trigger, and a 3.2 inch colour screen. The cell is a 1,200 mAh lithium ion, included, charged by USB-C. Hours are not stated. The box lists the scope, a probe, a USB cable, an EVA bag, and a manual. It shows 5.0 from 3 reviews. The only text in the file is from Italy and describes finding a fault in an audio mixer. There is no CE line and no CAT rating.

Pros

  • 50 MHz and 200 MSa/s
  • Probe, EVA bag, and a manual are listed
  • Lithium cell marked included

Cons

  • No UK review text in the file
  • Runtime in hours is n/a
  • No memory figure and no channel count
  • No CAT rating

Best for: You want this OT5 box list, with a bag and a manual, at £59.99.

Less suitable: You are choosing on UK review text. This file does not have one.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT5 (bag and manual)
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
5.0/5(3)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
200 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, normal, single
Generator
No
Display
3.2 inch colour
Battery
1,200 mAh
Probe
Probe and bag
Voltage
Up to 400 V

Common questions

Is the battery included?

Yes. The technical table says one lithium ion battery is required and included. The bullet says 1,200 mAh. It does not state hours.

What trigger modes are listed?

Single, normal, and automatic, for periodic analogue and non-periodic digital signals. The title spells normal as Nomal.

Where are the reviews from?

The listing shows 5.0 from 3. The only review text in the saved listing is from Italy and describes an audio-mixer repair. It states no fault.

DSO153 with generator

Rank 3

DSO153 with generator

∼£35

Our view

The DSO153 listing is £34.98 from Dandelionsky. It states 1 MHz, 5 MS/s, a time base from 500 ns to 20 s, and ±400 V with the included 10x probe. The generator bullet lists 14 waveforms and a maximum output of 10 kHz. The cell is 1,000 mAh, about four hours, charged by USB-C. The body in the bullet is 99 × 68.3 × 19.5 mm, while the technical dimensions are 21 × 15 × 5 cm. It shows 5.0 from 2 reviews, and the one UK text calls it easy and low cost and names no fault. The title’s “2 in 1” is scope plus generator, not two channels. No CAT rating is stated.

Pros

  • £34.98 with a generator to 10 kHz
  • 1 MHz, 5 MS/s, and a 10x probe claim
  • Fully assembled, about four hours claimed

Cons

  • 1 MHz is the bandwidth, not 10 MHz
  • Box contents beyond the probe are n/a
  • Weight is n/a
  • One UK text and no stated fault to learn from

Best for: You want a low-frequency scope and a small generator in one pocket unit.

Less suitable: You need 10 MHz or 50 MHz, two channels, or an itemised kit.

Specifications

Model
DSO153 with generator
Brand
Dandelionsky
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
1 MHz
Sample rate
5 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, normal, single
Generator
Up to 10 kHz
Display
2.8 inch colour
Battery
1,000 mAh
Probe
10x probe
Voltage
±400 V

Common questions

Does 2 in 1 mean two channels?

No. The bullets describe an oscilloscope mode and a DDS generator mode. They do not print a channel count.

What can the generator output?

The bullet lists 14 waveforms, including sine, square, triangle, full wave, half wave, noise, and DC, with a maximum output frequency of 10 kHz.

What voltage does the probe claim?

The bullet says voltages up to ±400 V can be measured with the 10x probe in the package. It does not state a CAT rating. A full box list is not in the file.

BSIDE OT5 (one UK review)

Rank 4

BSIDE OT5 (one UK review)

∼£60

Our view

This BSIDE OT5 listing is £59.99 and states 50 MHz, 200 MSa/s, 128 Kb, ±400 V, and a 3.2 inch colour screen. Languages on the interface are listed as English, German, French, Italian, and Chinese. The battery bullet says 1,200 mAh and more than 8 hours. The box lists one BNC probe, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and a screwdriver. It does not list an alligator lead. It shows 5.0 from 1 review, from the United Kingdom, for simple electronics where one channel is enough. The attribute line Minimum Operating Voltage says 400 volts, which matches the range claim rather than a minimum.

Pros

  • 50 MHz and 200 MSa/s at £59.99
  • Probe, case, and a 1,200 mAh claim
  • The one UK review is positive for simple electronics

Cons

  • Only one review
  • No alligator lead in the box list
  • Channel count not printed
  • No CAT rating

Best for: You want the 50 MHz OT5 bullet and you accept a single review.

Less suitable: You want clips in the box, two channels, or a larger UK review set.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT5 (one UK review)
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
50 MHz
Sample rate
200 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, manual
Generator
No
Display
3.2 inch colour
Battery
1,200 mAh
Probe
1 BNC probe
Voltage
±400 V

Common questions

How does this OT5 differ from the OT3 listings on bandwidth?

This listing states 50 MHz and 200 MSa/s. The OT3 listings in this set state 10 MHz and 48 MSa/s. Both quote a ±400 V or 400 V claim and no CAT rating.

Is an alligator lead included?

Not on this listing. The bullet lists one BNC probe, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and a screwdriver.

What do the reviews say?

The listing shows 5.0 from 1 review. That UK text uses it for simple electronics and says to buy it if one channel is enough. It names no fault.

BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)

Rank 5

BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)

∼£40

Our view

This BSIDE OT3 listing is £39.99 and states 10 MHz, 48 MSa/s, 128 Kb, a 3.2 inch colour screen, and ±400 V. The battery bullet says 1,200 mAh and more than 8 hours. The box lists a BNC probe, a BNC-to-alligator lead, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and a screwdriver. It shows 4.6 from 31 reviews. UK texts use it on embedded boards, a LIN line, and a CAN-related throttle signal. One auto attempt drew a flat line. A review calls it one channel; the bullets do not. In this set it is the best value if 10 MHz and one trace are enough, and it is not a CAT-rated mains instrument.

Pros

  • 10 MHz at £39.99, with 31 ratings
  • Probe and alligator lead both listed
  • UK reviews on embedded work and a vehicle signal
  • Case and a 1,200 mAh claim

Cons

  • Channel count is not in the bullets
  • One UK review says auto drew a flat line
  • Screen and menus called fiddly
  • No CAT rating beside ±400 V

Best for: You want a 10 MHz pocket trace and a probe plus clips at £39.99.

Less suitable: You need two channels, 50 MHz, or a proven multi-hour battery on this exact ASIN.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.6/5(31)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
10 MHz
Sample rate
48 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, manual
Generator
No
Display
3.2 inch colour
Battery
1,200 mAh
Probe
Probe and clips
Voltage
±400 V

Common questions

What bandwidth and sample rate does this OT3 state?

The bullet says 10 MHz and 48 MSa/s, with 128 Kb storage and a ±400 V measurement range. It does not state a CAT rating.

Are a probe and clips in the box?

Yes. The bullet lists one BNC probe, one BNC-to-alligator probe, four colour rings, a charge cable, a case, and an alignment screwdriver.

How many channels does the listing print?

The bullets do not print a channel count. A UK review calls it a 1-channel scope. There is no signal generator in this listing.

FNIRSI DSO152

Rank 6

FNIRSI DSO152

∼£39

Our view

The FNIRSI DSO152 is £38.57 and states 200 kHz bandwidth and 2.5 MS/s, not a megahertz bandwidth. The screen is 2.8 inch at 320 × 240, with auto, normal, and single trigger. The cell is 1,000 mAh lithium polymer, included, about four hours, charged by USB-C. The bullet says a 10x probe can measure up to 800 V peak-to-peak, called equivalent to 280 V AC, and that voltages up to 400 V can be measured. The box lists the blue scope, a P6100 10x probe, and other accessories that are not itemised. It shows 4.4 from 425 reviews. The texts in the file are not from the United Kingdom, and they talk about amplifier clipping. No CAT rating is stated.

Pros

  • £38.57 with 425 ratings on the UK listing
  • 10x probe named in the box line
  • Review texts use it to see clipping
  • USB-C and about four hours claimed

Cons

  • Bandwidth is 200 kHz
  • No UK review text in the saved listing
  • Manual not confirmed in the components line
  • Voltage bullet states both 800 V peak-to-peak and 400 V. No CAT rating

Best for: You only need a slow waveform, such as audio clipping, and you accept 200 kHz.

Less suitable: You need 10 MHz or 50 MHz, or you want UK review texts for this ASIN.

Specifications

Model
FNIRSI DSO152
Brand
FNIRSI
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.4/5(425)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
200 kHz
Sample rate
2.5 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, normal, single
Generator
No
Display
2.8 inch colour
Battery
1,000 mAh
Probe
10x probe
Voltage
Up to 400 V

Common questions

Is 2.5 MS/s the same as a 10 MHz scope?

No. This listing states 200 kHz bandwidth and 2.5 MS/s. The 10 MHz listings in this set state 48 MSa/s.

What voltage does the probe claim?

One bullet says the 10x probe can measure up to 800 V peak-to-peak, equivalent to 280 V AC, and that voltages up to 400 V can be measured. No CAT rating is stated.

Are the 425 reviews from the United Kingdom?

The count is on the amazon.co.uk listing. The review texts saved in the saved listing are from the United States, plus one from India. They discuss car-audio clipping more than UK bench work.

BSIDE OT3 (1,000 mAh listing)

Rank 7

BSIDE OT3 (1,000 mAh listing)

∼£40

Our view

This BSIDE OT3 listing is £39.99 and states 10 MHz, 48 MSa/s, up to 400 V, and a 3.2 inch colour screen. The bullet says a built-in 1,000 mAh cell, while the technical table says batteries are not included and not required. The box lists a probe, red and black alligator clips, a data cable, a bag, and a manual. It shows 4.0 from 76 reviews. UK texts praise the x1/x10 probe and a saved capture over USB. One UK review says a full charge lasted about 15 minutes. Another says time bases slower than 100 ms/div work only in Auto. No CAT rating is stated.

Pros

  • 10 MHz at £39.99 with 76 ratings
  • Probe, alligator clips, bag, and manual listed
  • UK texts on saving captures and firmware from the BSIDE site

Cons

  • Battery bullet and battery table contradict
  • UK review: about 15 minutes from full
  • Slow time bases only in Auto, in one UK review
  • No CAT rating

Best for: You want this OT3 box, with clips and a manual, and you will check the cell yourself.

Less suitable: You need the 1,200 mAh and eight-hour claim from the other OT3 listing, or a long capture at a slow time base.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE OT3 (1,000 mAh listing)
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.0/5(76)
Channels
Not printed
Bandwidth
10 MHz
Sample rate
48 MS/s
Trigger
Auto, normal, single
Generator
No
Display
3.2 inch colour
Battery
1,000 mAh
Probe
Probe and clips
Voltage
Up to 400 V

Common questions

Is the battery included?

The bullet says a built-in 1,000 mAh lithium ion cell. The technical table says batteries included: no, and batteries required: no. The listing does not resolve that.

What did UK reviews say about runtime?

One UK review says a full charge lasted about 15 minutes and marks the scope down for that. A French review in the same file says under 30 minutes.

Does the probe come with clips?

The components line lists a probe, red and black alligator clips, a data cable, a bag, and a manual. A UK review calls the probe x1/x10.

How we compared

Seven mini oscilloscope listings on amazon.co.uk were scored on 22 October 2026 from listing facts and review notes, not from a lab test or a measured bandwidth. Amazon stars, cut hard when the sample is tiny or the review texts in the file are not from the United Kingdom, stated bandwidth with sample rate and channel count, review sentiment on trigger, battery and a named job, and shelf price against the bandwidth that listing prints are weighted 25, 35, 25 and 15. Deductions can apply for a bandwidth of 200 kHz or 1 MHz, a 5.0 line from one, two or three reviews, review texts from outside the United Kingdom, a battery bullet that fights the technical table, a UK review of about 15 minutes, no CAT rating beside a voltage claim, two channels with one probe in the box, or normal and single trigger that needed firmware. Each star line stays the amazon.co.uk figure.

1

Amazon stars

25%

Up to 25 points from the star average, cut hard when the sample is tiny or the review texts in the file are not from the United Kingdom. A 5.0 from one, two or three reviews does not outrank a deeper UK record. The star line stays the amazon.co.uk figure.

2

Bandwidth, sample rate and channels

35%

Up to 35 points for the bandwidth, sample rate and channel count the listing states, against the job this category can actually do. A 200 kHz or 1 MHz bandwidth scores lower than 10 MHz or 50 MHz. A channel count that is not printed scores lower than a stated two-channel listing.

3

Review sentiment

25%

Up to 25 points from review notes on trigger, battery and a named job. A firmware fix, a flat-line auto report, or a timed runtime of about 15 minutes counts here. Texts that are not from the United Kingdom do not stand in for UK opinion.

4

Shelf price against bandwidth

15%

Up to 15 points for the shelf price against the bandwidth that listing prints. A lower price with 200 kHz does not beat 10 MHz at a similar price. The pounds do not tell you the bandwidth on their own.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Mini oscilloscope buying guide

Choose bandwidth first, then channels, then sample rate and memory, then the probe factor and the battery claim. The notes below follow that order for these seven listings. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What is a mini oscilloscope?

A mini oscilloscope is a battery handheld digital scope with a small colour screen. You use it to draw voltage against time when a multimeter number hides the shape of the wave. It is not a probe kit and it is not a clamp meter. You buy one in the UK for a first trace on a low-voltage board, a slow waveform such as audio clipping, or a pocket look at a vehicle sensor. None of the scores on this page is a laboratory measurement of bandwidth. Judge bandwidth first.

Best for

  • A first trace on a low-voltage board, with time for a four-button menu
  • One slow waveform, such as audio clipping, where 200 kHz is enough
  • Two traces at once, if you can add a second probe

Not ideal for

  • Opening a consumer unit or probing 230 V mains
  • Anyone who needs a stated CAT rating
  • A scan tool, or a claim that the scope decodes CAN or LIN

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on sample rate when bandwidth is 200 kHz

    A 2.5 MS/s headline does not make a 200 kHz scope into a 10 MHz scope. Bandwidth is the −3 dB point. Read the sample rate only after the bandwidth fits the job.

  2. 2

    Mismatched 1x/10x, or trusting an hour bullet

    Match the probe switch to the on-screen factor. A fuller sheet states ±40 V on x1 and ±400 V on x10. Hour claims run from about four to more than ten. One UK review timed about 15 minutes on a different listing.

  3. 3

    Probing mains with alligator clips

    The ground clip is part of the hazard. None of these listings states a CAT rating. Do not treat ±400 V as CAT II, CAT III, or CAT IV, and do not assume two probes when the box lists one.

What to weigh up

Bandwidth, channels and sample rate

High

Put bandwidth first. Audio clipping can live at 200 kHz. A hobby clock or a vehicle sensor wants 10 MHz before you trust the shape, and faster edges want 50 MHz. Bandwidth is the −3 dB point. Sample at more than twice that bandwidth, and use 2.5 times as a buyer minimum. The rate can fall when a second channel is on. Most listings here do not print a channel count. One states two channels and ships one probe. A 2 in 1 title can mean a generator, not two channels.

Probe factor, battery and earth

Medium

Match 1x and 10x on the probe and the screen. A voltage bullet is not a CAT mark, and none of these listings prints one. HSE GS38 expects probes that meet BS EN 61010-031, show a CAT mark, and keep the exposed tip to 4 mm or less. Battery claims run from about four hours to more than ten. One UK review timed about 15 minutes, and that listing’s battery lines contradict each other. Do not lift the protective earth to float a Class I scope. Shelf prices in this set run from about £34.98 to £79.99.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A first trace on a low-voltage board

You want one pocket channel for a hobby board and you will spend time on a small menu. The BSIDE OT3 with a probe and clips is about £39.99, 4.6 from 31 reviews, and states 10 MHz and 48 MSa/s. UK texts name embedded boards. The bullets do not print a channel count.

Two waveforms at once

You need two traces, and you can add a second probe. The BSIDE two-channel listing is about £79.99, 5.0 from 9 UK reviews, and states 50 MHz and 250 MSa/s. The box lists one BNC probe. It does not state isolated inputs or a CAT rating.

A slow wave such as clipping

You only need to see a slow waveform, such as audio clipping, where 200 kHz is often enough. The FNIRSI DSO152 is about £38.57 and states 200 kHz and 2.5 MS/s. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 425 ratings. The review texts in the file are from the United States, not the United Kingdom.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about mini oscilloscopes

What is a mini oscilloscope for?
A mini oscilloscope is a battery handheld digital scope with a small colour screen. You use it to see a voltage waveform that a multimeter number cannot show, on a hobby board, a slow signal, or a first look at a vehicle sensor. It is not a probe kit and it is not a clamp meter. Judge bandwidth against the job, channel count, sample rate with memory, and the probe factor. A printed voltage is not a CAT rating. None of these scores is a laboratory measurement.
Which mini oscilloscope is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the BSIDE two-channel listing at about £79.99. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. It states two channels, 50 MHz and 250 MSa/s, a generator with seven waveforms, and a 3,000 mAh battery claim. The box lists one BNC probe, so a second trace needs a second probe. One UK buyer needed firmware before normal and single trigger worked. It does not state a CAT rating. The score is not a lab test.
Which mini oscilloscope is the best value?
The best value is the BSIDE OT3 at about £39.99 with a BNC probe and an alligator lead. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 31 reviews. The listing states 10 MHz and 48 MSa/s, a 3.2 inch colour screen, and a 1,200 mAh cell with more than 8 hours claimed. The bullets do not print a channel count, and a UK review calls it one channel. UK texts use it on embedded boards and on a vehicle signal. One auto attempt drew a flat line. It is not a CAT-rated mains instrument.
How much do these mini oscilloscopes cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices for these seven amazon.co.uk listings run from about £34.98 to £79.99. The entry band, about £34.98 to £39.99, mixes a 200 kHz tool, a 1 MHz tool with a generator, and a 10 MHz pocket scope, so the price does not tell you the bandwidth. About £59.99 is the 50 MHz single-channel class, on two listings. About £79.99 is the two-channel listing. Compel lists the same family at £142.99 including VAT, and professional handhelds sit in the hundreds of pounds. This range is this set.
How should you read bandwidth and sample rate?
Bandwidth is the −3 dB point, so a sine at that frequency is already down. Audio clipping can live at 200 kHz. A hobby clock or a vehicle sensor wants about 10 MHz before you trust the shape. Faster edges want 50 MHz. A rule of thumb is about three times the fastest sine, or about five times a digital clock if the edge matters. Sample at least 2.5 times that bandwidth. A 128 Kb record is short. Do not buy on sample rate when the bandwidth is 200 kHz.
Can these pocket scopes be used on 230 V mains?
No listing here states a CAT rating, so a ±400 V line or an 800 V peak-to-peak line is not permission to open a consumer unit or to probe 230 V mains. UK mains are about 325 V peak. HSE GS38 expects probes that meet BS EN 61010-031, show a CAT mark, and keep the exposed tip to 4 mm or less. The ground clip is part of the hazard. Do not lift the protective earth to float a Class I scope.
When should you stop and call a professional?
Stop for a consumer unit, hybrid or airbag circuits, live appliance testing, or any plan to lift an earth. A pocket screen does not replace a competent person under the Electricity at Work Regulations 1989. HSE INDG354 says not to float a Class I scope by lifting the protective earth. When the job needs a bench or USB instrument rather than a battery pocket scope, start from the oscilloscope comparison. A waveform on a screen is not proof that the scope decodes CAN or LIN.

Our verdict

In this set of seven amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz at about £79.99. It is the only listing that states two channels, with 50 MHz, 250 MSa/s, a generator, and 5.0 from 9 UK reviews. The box lists one probe, and one buyer needed firmware before normal and single trigger worked. The best value is the BSIDE OT3 with a probe and clips at about £39.99, 4.6 from 31 reviews, stating 10 MHz and 48 MSa/s. The bullets do not print a channel count, and a review calls it one channel. The 200 kHz listing has more ratings and does not take this award, because those review texts are not from the United Kingdom and the bandwidth is 200 kHz. None of these scores is a lab test, and none of these listings states a CAT rating.

Best overall
BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz

BSIDE two-channel 50 MHz

Highest score in the set: the only stated two-channel listing, 50 MHz and 250 MSa/s, with UK texts. Nine reviews, and one probe in the box.

View offer
Best value
BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)

BSIDE OT3 (probe and clips)

10 MHz at about £39.99, 4.6 from 31, with a probe and an alligator lead. A review calls it one channel. No CAT rating.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Mini oscilloscopesMeasuring equipmentamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Guides to mini oscilloscopes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these seven listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. HSE INDG354: Safety in electrical testing at work (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. HSE GS38: Electrical test equipment for use on low voltage electrical systems (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE: Electrical safety and you, competence (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Institution of Electronics: measurement bandwidth (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Rohde & Schwarz: oscilloscope buyer's guide (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Keysight: handheld scopes and meters (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 22 October 2026. We did not lab-test these mini oscilloscopes.