Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

FLIR thermal camera comparison 2026

The best FLIR thermal cameras, compared.

Top pick: FLIR M232 Best value: GOYOJO GW192A – About £129, 4.2 from 778, a stated 96×96 sensor and a span to 400°C. The award is listing per pound among rows with a large review sample, not the highest score. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A thermal camera maps surface temperature as a colour picture. In a UK house you use one to see a cold hatch, a draughty frame, a warm floor loop, or a connection that looks hotter than its neighbours. You are reading the surface in front of the lens. The picture is not a damp reading, not a view through a wall, and not a pass against the heat-loss guidance in Approved Document L. Tell a suitable camera apart by the native detector size, not the upscaled grid on the screen, by the Celsius span and the conditions on any accuracy line, and by whether the lens focuses. A phone module needs a handset. A handheld has its own screen and battery. A fixed plant head and a marine pan-and-tilt camera do not inspect a loft. You need a real indoor-outdoor gap and a cold dry spell out of the sun. Emissivity left for masonry misreads foil and steel. The order of those checks is in the [thermal camera buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/flir-thermal-camera/sub/flir-thermal-camera-buying-guide).

A thermal camera maps surface temperature as a colour picture. In a UK house you use one to see a cold hatch, a draughty frame, a warm floor loop, or a connection that looks hotter than its neighbours.

FLIR M232

Best overall

FLIR M232
3.5/10∼ £2,864

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

11 of 11: Best FLIR thermal cameras compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
FLIR M232
Foxfighter fx1
Thermal Master Thor 002
Fluke TC01A
Best value
GOYOJO GW192A
FLIR C5 with MR40
FLIR Edge
FLIR AX8
BSIDE HX3
FLIR C5 and ONE Pro
FLIR ONE Pro LT
3.5/10
3.7/10
7.2/10
4.1/10
6.4/10
6.0/10
5.5/10
1.3/10
4.8/10
1.2/10
1.0/10
∼ £2,864
∼ £90
∼ £359
∼ £330
∼ £129
∼ £659
∼ £305
∼ £1,153
∼ £140
∼ £887
∼ £301
5.0(16)
5.0(4)
4.4(279)
4.4(60)
4.2(778)
4.1(20)
4.0(120)
4.0(2)
3.8(10)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Is this a house walk-round?

The best FLIR thermal cameras in detail

FLIR M232

Rank 1

FLIR M232

∼£2,864

Our view

The FLIR M232 is a marine pan/tilt camera at £2,863.63, with 9 Hz in the title, IP67, and 12 V corded power at 3 W. It weighs 3.8 kg, and resolution and temperature span are not stated. The star line is 5.0 from 16 ratings. Five captured texts, none marked United Kingdom, describe night navigation on a yacht, a Garmin hook-up, and ClearCruise tracking on an Axiom. One criticism is that motion alert is set off by the bowsprit and a flag. The box includes RayNet cables, a 10 m power cable, and a top-down riser kit. The page states IP67 and does not say saltwater, and the job on those reviews is a boat rather than a loft hatch.

Pros

  • IP67 marine pan/tilt, with 9 Hz in the title
  • Reviews: night navigation and a Garmin connection
  • Cables, riser kit, and fasteners are itemised
  • 5.0 from 16

Cons

  • £2,863.63 and 3.8 kg, with the picture on a separate monitor
  • Resolution and temperature span are not stated
  • Motion alert tripped by the boat’s own bowsprit and flag
  • Saltwater is not named, no captured review is marked United Kingdom, and the sample is under 20

Best for: You are fitting a fixed marine camera to a boat monitor and a Garmin or Axiom setup.

Less suitable: A house, a phone, or any shortlist that started from a loft hatch or a radiator.

Specifications

Model
FLIR M232
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£2,864
Customer rating
5.0/5(16)
Screen
Separate monitor
Power
12 V, 3 W
Protection
IP67

Common questions

Is this a handheld for a house?

No. It is a marine pan/tilt camera, IP67, 12 V, with 9 Hz in the title.

What is in the box?

Camera, base seal, three fasteners, decals, RayNet cables, a 10 m power cable, a top-down riser kit, and a documentation pack.

Does the listing state saltwater use?

It states IP67. It does not say saltwater.

Foxfighter fx1

Rank 2

Foxfighter fx1

∼£90

Our view

The Foxfighter fx1 is a handheld at £90 with a stated span of −20°C to 550°C, an 8 GB micro SD card, USB-C charging, a lens cover, and a tripod mount. Pixels, accuracy, frame rate, and NETD are not stated. It weighs 590 g and the body is plastic. The star line is 5.0 from four ratings, all marked United Kingdom in the captured set. Those four praise an easy clear image, a sturdy feel, the price, the lens cover, and the card. None states a complaint. Four happy reviews leave the detector size blank, which is the same gap the product page itself leaves open. The attribute list says indoor, while the bullets also name engines and electrical work.

Pros

  • £90, with four UK reviews that like the price and the image
  • 8 GB micro SD, USB-C cable, and a battery in the box
  • Lens cover and a tripod mount
  • Span stated at −20°C to 550°C

Cons

  • No resolution, accuracy, or frame rate
  • 5.0 from only four reviews
  • Screen size not stated
  • 590 g plastic body, and battery life is not stated

Best for: You want the cheapest handheld in this set for a first look and you accept an unstated detector.

Less suitable: Any job where you must know the pixel count before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Foxfighter fx1
Brand
Foxfighter
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Temperature span
−20–550°C
Screen
Own screen
Power
USB-C charge
Protection
Indoor, lens cover

Common questions

What resolution is stated?

None. The page asks and the bullets do not answer.

What temperature span is stated?

−20°C to 550°C.

Is a memory card included?

Yes. An 8 GB micro SD card, plus a USB-C cable and a battery.

Thermal Master Thor 002

Rank 3

Thermal Master Thor 002

∼£359

Our view

The Thermal Master Thor 002 is a handheld with a 3.5 inch screen at £359, stating 256×192 processed to 512×384, NETD under 40 mK, and −20°C to 550°C at ±2°C. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 279 ratings, and eight of the captured texts are marked United Kingdom. Those notes praise a large readable screen, house heat-loss and brickwork checks, and day-to-day electronics work, and one UK buyer calls it good value against a much dearer camera. The battery bullet says up to 10.5 hours from 5000 mAh, while the spec line says 10 hours. UK and US reviews include units that stopped turning on after about three months, with support hard to reach. Other texts doubt the absolute number: one reports 7.8°C and −1.2°C on house surfaces on a 9°C day, and another describes drift of 6°C to 10°C after a few minutes. A case is not in the included-components line, though some reviews mention foam.

Pros

  • 256×192 stated before the 512×384 processing, with NETD under 40 mK
  • 3.5 inch screen; UK reviews call the image readable
  • 4.4 from 279, the largest handheld sample on this shelf
  • IP54 and a stated drop of up to 2 m
  • Battery bullet up to 10.5 hours

Cons

  • UK and US reviews: dead after about three months, support hard to reach
  • Reviews dispute the temperature numbers, including drift of 6°C to 10°C
  • Case not named in the included components
  • 1.42 kg, so it is a carried tool rather than a pocket module

Best for: You want a stated 256×192 detector and your own screen for a house or plant walk-round, and you can accept the failure reports.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a light phone camera, a case in the components list, or a temperature figure they will treat as a calibrated certificate.

Specifications

Model
Thermal Master Thor 002
Brand
Thermal Master
Price
∼£359
Customer rating
4.4/5(279)
Resolution
256×192, to 512×384
Temperature span
−20–550°C
Accuracy
±2°C
Screen
3.5 inch
Power
Up to 10.5 h
Protection
IP54

Common questions

What temperature span does the Thor 002 state?

−20°C to 550°C, with ±2°C on the listing.

Does the listing include a case?

Included components are the camera, a USB-C to USB-A cable, and a manual. A case is not named.

What resolution is stated?

256×192, processed to 512×384, with NETD under 40 mK.

Fluke TC01A

Rank 4

Fluke TC01A

∼£330

Our view

The Fluke TC01A is an Android phone camera at £330, with 25 Hz in the title, a stated upper limit of 1200°F, and no Celsius figure and no lower limit. Pixels are not stated, it draws power from the phone, and it weighs 22 g. The star line is 4.4 from 60 ratings. None of the 27 captured texts are marked United Kingdom. Reviews call it sharper than a FLIR ONE and like that photos save on the phone, and one mentions finding a water leak under carpet. The same file says it does not work on iPhone, Windows, or Surface Pro, that a thick case needs a USB extension, and that it stopped working on Android 16 as an app issue. One unit failed a later calibration check, and a case seen in videos is not in the box.

Pros

  • 25 Hz in the title and 4.4 from 60
  • USB-powered, 22 g, no separate battery to manage
  • Reviews: photos save to the phone
  • Upper limit stated at 1200°F

Cons

  • No pixel count and no Celsius span
  • No captured review is marked United Kingdom
  • Reviews: not iPhone or Windows, and not every Android handset
  • One later calibration failure, and a case is not in the box

Best for: Your phone is a compatible Android handset and you want a Fluke USB module even though the listing omits the detector size.

Less suitable: An iPhone, a buyer who needs pixels on the listing, or a temperature span you can read in Celsius before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Fluke TC01A
Brand
Fluke
Price
∼£330
Customer rating
4.4/5(60)
Temperature span
Up to 1200°F
Screen
On the phone
Power
From the phone
Protection
Indoor

Common questions

Which phones does the title name?

Android smartphones. Other phones are asked about and not answered.

What temperature limit is stated?

Up to 1200°F. There is no Celsius figure and no lower limit.

What frame rate is in the title?

25 Hz. Pixels are not stated.

GOYOJO GW192A

Rank 5

GOYOJO GW192A

∼£129

Our view

The GOYOJO GW192A is a USB-C phone module at £129, with a 96×96 sensor enhanced to 192×192, a stated span of −20°C to 400°C, and ±2°C or ±2% on the listing. The phone powers it at 0.31 W. It has no battery of its own and weighs 13.6 g. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.2 from 778 ratings, and eight of the first 50 captured texts are marked United Kingdom. Those notes call the app smooth when the phone accepts the plug, and they use it on windows, pipes, walls, and electrical hot spots. The same UK reviews say the USB-C plug is loose, especially on an iPhone 16, and works in one orientation only. Other texts report failure on a Pixel 9 Pro, a OnePlus 7, a Samsung S25, and an iPhone 17 that reports too much power. One UK review says Windows Defender reported Sality.AI when the unit was plugged into a PC.

Pros

  • £129 with 4.2 from 778, the largest sample in this set
  • 96×96 stated, as well as the 192×192 enhancement
  • Phone-powered, 13.6 g, aluminium box included
  • UK reviews: useful on windows, pipes, and walls when the phone accepts it

Cons

  • UK reviews: USB-C plug loose and orientation-sensitive
  • No compatibility list; several named phones fail
  • One UK review: Windows Defender reported Sality.AI on a PC
  • A few captured texts appear to describe other GOYOJO model names

Best for: Your phone is USB-C, £129 is the budget, and you can return the module if the plug will not stay in.

Less suitable: A phone the reviews already say it rejects, or a job that needs a detector the listing states above 96×96.

Specifications

Model
GOYOJO GW192A
Brand
GOYOJO
Price
∼£129
Customer rating
4.2/5(778)
Resolution
96×96, shown 192×192
Temperature span
−20–400°C
Accuracy
±2°C or ±2%
Screen
On the phone
Power
From the phone

Common questions

Does it work without its own battery?

Yes. The bullet says the phone powers it, at 0.31 W.

What resolution does the listing state?

A 96×96 sensor enhanced to 192×192.

Which phones does the bullet name?

Type-C iPhone and Android with OTG. The listing has no compatibility list.

FLIR C5 with MR40

Rank 6

FLIR C5 with MR40

∼£659

Our view

This £658.80 listing is a FLIR C5 at 160×120 (19,200 pixels) sold with an MR40 moisture pen and flashlight. The star line is 4.1 from 20 ratings. The only captured review, marked United States, praises a size that fits a tool belt and a screen that shows the range and a floating target temperature. The C5 bullet states −20°C to 400°C. Focus is listed as autofocus and also as autofocus no, with a fixed aperture, so the page does not settle which is true. The attribute says not water resistant, and a case is asked about and not answered. The moisture reading in the bundle is the MR40 pen. Warranty on the listing is two years on the camera and ten years on the detector.

Pros

  • True 160×120, 19,200 pixels, with MSX
  • MR40 pen in the same basket if you already want a contact moisture check
  • Two-year camera warranty and ten years on the detector
  • The captured review: small enough for a tool belt

Cons

  • £658.80 includes the pen and flashlight with the C5
  • Focus line contradicts itself
  • Only 20 reviews, and the captured text is marked United States
  • Not water resistant, and a case is not stated

Best for: You want a 160×120 FLIR handheld and a moisture pen in one order.

Less suitable: You wanted the C5 alone, or you expected the thermal picture to be the moisture measurement.

Specifications

Model
FLIR C5 with MR40
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£659
Customer rating
4.1/5(20)
Resolution
160×120
Temperature span
−20–400°C
Screen
Own LCD
Protection
Not water resistant

Common questions

What is in this bundle?

A FLIR C5 and an MR40 moisture pen with a flashlight.

What thermal resolution is stated?

160×120, 19,200 pixels.

Does the camera measure moisture?

The moisture tool in the bundle is the MR40 pen. The camera bullets do not say the image measures moisture.

FLIR Edge

Rank 7

FLIR Edge

∼£305

Our view

The FLIR Edge is a wireless phone module at £304.80, with a native 80×60 sensor shown at 240×180 and its own battery rated at about two hours. Across 120 amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.0. Three UK reviews in the captured set describe a straightforward first setup, and other reviews use it for cold spots, drafts, and boat electrics. The same reviews keep returning to dropped connections, a lag of about one to two seconds, and a freeze about once a minute. One UK note records a sky reading of −30°C and says the unit detects nothing. The listing accuracy of ±3°C or ±5% applies only when the camera is at 15°C–35°C and the scene is 5°C–120°C. There is no case in the box, and the page says the body is not water resistant.

Pros

  • Wireless to Android and iOS, so it is not tied to one USB port
  • Own battery, about two hours, which reviewers contrast with a FLIR ONE
  • Native 80×60 is stated, rather than only an upscaled grid
  • 4.0 from 120 on amazon.co.uk

Cons

  • UK and other reviews: connection drops and needs app restarts
  • Lag of about 1–2 seconds, or a freeze about every minute
  • No case, and not water resistant
  • One UK review: a −30°C sky reading and nothing detected

Best for: You already use a phone, want a FLIR wireless module for a quick walk-round, and can tolerate a short lag.

Less suitable: A survey that needs a stable live image, a stated detector above 80×60, or a camera that stays connected without restarting the app.

Specifications

Model
FLIR Edge
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£305
Customer rating
4.0/5(120)
Resolution
80×60, shown 240×180
Temperature span
5–120°C
Accuracy
±3°C or ±5%
Screen
On the phone
Power
Own battery, 2 h
Protection
Not water resistant

Common questions

Does the FLIR Edge work with an iPhone?

The compatibility bullet says Android or iOS over Bluetooth.

What resolution does the listing state?

Native 80×60, upscaled to 240×180. The accuracy line covers a scene of 5°C to 120°C.

Is it waterproof?

The attribute says not water resistant. A 2 m drop is named in the highlight line.

FLIR AX8

Rank 8

FLIR AX8

∼£1,153

Our view

The FLIR AX8 is a fixed condition-monitoring camera at £1,153.39, corded at 3 W, with no battery and a stated weight of 130 g. It offers 100 Mbps Ethernet, Modbus TCP, a built-in web server, and streams in MJPEG, MPEG-4, or H.264. Resolution, temperature span, and accuracy are not on the listing. The star line is 4.0 from two ratings. The only captured review is marked Japan and complains that the unit arrived looking second-hand. The page asks about professional installation and outdoor use and does not answer. This is a plant sensor you fit in place, and it is a poor match for a walk around a house.

Pros

  • Ethernet, Modbus TCP, and a web server are stated
  • Corded 3 W, so there is no battery to manage
  • 130 g head, 5.33 × 2.54 × 7.87 cm

Cons

  • Resolution, span, and accuracy are not stated
  • 4.0 from only two reviews
  • The captured review says the unit looked used
  • Installation and outdoor use are asked and not answered

Best for: You are fitting a fixed Ethernet camera to plant and you already have the missing specification from FLIR.

Less suitable: A house walk-round, a phone add-on, or a purchase that relies on this listing’s two reviews.

Specifications

Model
FLIR AX8
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£1,153
Customer rating
4.0/5(2)
Screen
Ethernet stream
Power
Corded, 3 W

Common questions

How is the AX8 powered?

Corded, 3 W. The listing says no battery.

What resolution is stated?

None. The page asks and does not answer.

How does it connect?

100 Mbps Ethernet, Modbus TCP, and a built-in web server. Streams are MJPEG, MPEG-4, or H.264.

BSIDE HX3

Rank 9

BSIDE HX3

∼£140

Our view

The BSIDE HX3 is a handheld at £139.99 that states 240×240 and 25 Hz without a separate native figure, a span of −20°C to 550°C, and ±2°C or ±2%. The battery is 2500 mAh, about seven hours, and the box includes a USB cable, a case, and the battery. Emissivity and distance are adjustable, with 15 palettes. The star line is 3.8 from 10 ratings. The only captured review is marked United Kingdom and calls it very easy to use, and likes that the cell is rechargeable. That text states no complaint. The storage bullet is written as 3,0000 images, which is not a figure you can trust. Ten reviews is a thin sample beside the Thor and the GOYOJO.

Pros

  • Stated 240×240 at 25 Hz, −20°C to 550°C
  • Emissivity and distance can be adjusted
  • Case, USB cable, and a 2500 mAh battery in the box
  • The UK review calls it easy and likes the rechargeable cell

Cons

  • 3.8 from only 10 reviews
  • No separate native resolution beside 240×240
  • Storage bullet written as 3,0000 images
  • Focus and protection are not stated

Best for: You want a modestly priced handheld with a case and an emissivity control, and you can live with ten reviews.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs a native detector split from the displayed grid, or a larger UK review sample.

Specifications

Model
BSIDE HX3
Brand
BSIDE
Price
∼£140
Customer rating
3.8/5(10)
Resolution
240×240 stated
Temperature span
−20–550°C
Accuracy
±2°C or ±2%
Screen
Own screen
Power
About 7 h

Common questions

What resolution and frame rate are stated?

240×240 and 25 Hz. A separate native figure is not given.

What is the temperature span?

−20°C to 550°C, with ±2°C or ±2%.

Is a battery included?

Yes. 2500 mAh, about 7 hours, plus a USB cable and a case.

FLIR C5 and ONE Pro

Rank 10

FLIR C5 and ONE Pro

∼£887

Our view

This £886.80 line pairs a FLIR C5 at 160×120 with a ONE Pro titled for Android USB-C. There is no customer-review line and no review text on the listing, so other buyers’ stars cannot steer you. The ONE bullets state −20°C to 400°C and do not state pixels. The C5 temperature span is not on this listing. MSX is named on both, and the ONE is described as using the FLIR ONE app. Case, cable, and battery are left unpublished. You are paying for two cameras. FLIR’s own UK C5 page showed £646.80 including VAT for the camera alone, which is a different offer from this basket.

Pros

  • Two tools if you have already decided you want a C5 and an Android USB-C ONE Pro
  • C5 side states 160×120, 19,200 pixels
  • ONE side states −20°C to 400°C

Cons

  • No star line and no review texts
  • £886.80 covers two cameras
  • ONE pixel count is not stated
  • Case, cable, and battery are not stated

Best for: You have already decided you want both cameras and can buy without a review sample.

Less suitable: A single house camera, an iPhone plug-in, or any order that depends on other buyers’ ratings.

Specifications

Model
FLIR C5 and ONE Pro
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£887
Resolution
C5 160×120
Temperature span
ONE to 400°C
Screen
C5 has a screen

Common questions

What two cameras are in this listing?

A FLIR C5 and a ONE Pro titled for Android USB-C.

What resolution is stated?

160×120, 19,200 pixels, on the C5. The ONE bullets do not state pixels.

Is there a star rating on the listing?

No customer-review line is on the listing.

FLIR ONE Pro LT

Rank 11

FLIR ONE Pro LT

∼£301

Our view

The FLIR ONE Pro LT listing at £301.31 is a USB-C phone camera sold with four Duracell CR2032 cells. The page does not state pixels, temperature span, accuracy, or a star rating, and the listing has no review texts. VividIR and MSX are named, and a drop of up to 1.8 m is stated. The coin cells are in the box, and the listing does not say they power the camera. FLIR’s own page describes an 80×60 ONE Pro LT as discontinued. That manufacturer figure is not printed on this amazon.co.uk listing, so it is not a fact of the basket in front of you. At a price close to the FLIR Edge, the basket gives you the name without the detector size or a review line.

Pros

  • FLIR ONE app is named
  • MSX and VividIR are named
  • Drop claim up to 1.8 m

Cons

  • No pixel count, span, accuracy, or star line
  • CR2032 cells are not described as the camera battery
  • No review texts on the listing
  • FLIR’s own page describes the ONE Pro LT as discontinued

Best for: You already know the ONE Pro LT specification from elsewhere and only need this USB-C bundle.

Less suitable: Anyone choosing from the listing text, or a buyer who thinks the coin cells run the camera.

Specifications

Model
FLIR ONE Pro LT
Brand
FLIR
Price
∼£301
Screen
On the phone
Protection
Drop to 1.8 m

Common questions

What resolution does this listing state?

None. The page asks, and the bullets do not give pixels.

What else is in the listing?

Four Duracell CR2032 cells. The listing does not say those cells power the camera.

Is there a star rating?

No customer-review line is on the listing.

How we compared

Eleven thermal-camera listings on amazon.co.uk were scored from the listing text and the review notes already on the rows, not from a lab. Stars contribute up to 30, review volume up to 20, and listing fit up to 30. Deductions come off that total and the score floors at 0. The shelf price is not in the score. It is used only to name the best value. A stated accuracy is not proved here, and a colour picture is not a damp reading, a Part L pass, or an electrical thermography report.

1

Amazon stars

30%

Up to 30 points from the amazon.co.uk star average, as (stars ÷ 5) × 30. No star line scores 0. Two listings in this set have no star line.

2

Review count

20%

Up to 20 points from log10 of the review count, times 7, rounded half up and capped at 20. No reviews score 0.

3

Listing fit

30%

Up to 30 points, kept unrounded until the total: detector size (12, 8, 5, or 0), an own screen or a phone image, a Celsius span, a printed accuracy figure, and NETD when the listing states it.

4

Deduction allowance

20%

The remaining 20 in the 100-point heading are not added. Scores already subtract them: fewer than 20 reviews, fewer than six, repeated connection faults, units dead after months, a used-looking arrival, and a focus line that contradicts itself. The floor is 0.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

FLIR thermal camera buying guide

Start with the job, then the native detector, then the span and the accuracy conditions, then what the basket actually contains. The notes below follow that order for these eleven listings. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What is a thermal camera?

A thermal camera on this shelf is the imager a UK shopper reaches when the search expects a FLIR-style tool, sold on amazon.co.uk next to other brands. You buy one to map surface temperature: hatches and frames, a cold patch that might be damp, a warm floor loop, or a hint of a hot connection. A colour picture is not a damp reading, not a Part L certificate, and not an electrical thermography report. Start with the job.

Best for

  • A house walk-round when you will confirm a cold patch with a moisture meter before you pay for works
  • A USB-C phone module when the budget is about £129 and you can return a loose plug
  • A marine pan-and-tilt head or a fixed plant sensor read on its own, not on a loft shortlist

Not ideal for

  • A damp certificate, a view through a wall, or a Part L pass
  • Professional electrical thermography with a fixed-focus phone module
  • Anyone who prices a bundle as the camera alone

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading the upscaled grid as the detector

    80×60 can be shown at 240×180, 96×96 at 192×192, and 256×192 processed to 512×384. The smaller figure is the one the listing states as native, where it states one at all.

  2. 2

    Pricing a bundle as one camera

    About £658.80 includes an MR40 moisture pen. About £886.80 is two cameras and has no star line. About £301.31 includes coin cells the listing does not describe as the camera battery.

  3. 3

    Treating the picture as a damp or Part L result

    You image surfaces. You do not see through walls or measure air. A cold patch still needs a moisture meter before you pay for works, and Approved Document L is not a test you finish by buying a camera.

What to weigh up

Job, detector and span

High

Name the job before the brand. A house walk-round, a phone module, a handheld with its own screen, a fixed plant sensor, and a marine head are not interchangeable. Then read the native detector, not the upscaled grid, then the Celsius span and the conditions on any accuracy line. NETD counts only when the page prints it. House fabric rarely needs 550°C. A listing that states only 1200°F does not give you a Celsius band.

Basket and review sample

Medium

Compare the shelf price only after you know what arrives. Entry lines in this set are about £90 to £140, mid lines about £300 to £360, and the two dear pocket baskets are bundles. The fixed camera is about £1,153.39 and the marine camera is about £2,863.63. A large review count is not a lab test. Fewer than 20 reviews, or no star line at all, is thin evidence. Stars do not raise a missing pixel count. The lowest shelf price is not the best value when the detector size is absent.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A house walk-round with its own screen

You want a stated 256×192 detector and a 3.5 inch screen for hatches, frames, and brickwork, and you can live with reviews of units dead after about three months. The Thermal Master Thor 002 is about £359, 4.4 from 279. Confirm damp with a meter before you pay for works.

A USB-C phone and a lower shelf price

Your phone is USB-C and about £129 is the budget. The GOYOJO GW192A states 96×96, shown at 192×192, and 4.2 from 778. UK reviews say the plug is loose. Return it if the handset will not keep the connection.

Our recommendation

View offer

A boat monitor, not a loft

The FLIR M232 is a marine pan-and-tilt camera at about £2,863.63, IP67, 12 V, with 9 Hz in the title and the picture on a separate monitor. It is not a house handheld. Read it on its own if that is the job.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about FLIR thermal cameras

Which thermal camera is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Thermal Master Thor 002 at about £359. The listing states 256×192 before processing to 512×384, NETD under 40 mK, −20°C to 550°C, and a 3.5 inch screen. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 279 ratings, the highest score here. Skip it if you want a pocket phone module, a case named in the box, or a figure you will treat as a certificate. Reviews include units that stopped after about three months. This is not a lab test.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the GOYOJO GW192A at about £129, with 4.2 from 778 ratings, a stated 96×96 sensor shown at 192×192, and a span of −20°C to 400°C. The phone powers it. The award is that listing per pound among rows with a large review sample, not the highest score. The Foxfighter fx1 is about £90 and is not the best value, because the listing states no pixels and only four reviews sit behind a 5.0 line. UK reviews say the GOYOJO plug is loose.
How much do these thermal cameras cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices in this comparison run from about £90 to about £2,863.63. Those figures are the captured amazon.co.uk lines, not a live scrape and not a market average. Entry listings are about £90 to £140. Mid listings are about £300 to £360. Two pocket bundles are about £658.80 and £886.80, and those prices are not a C5 on its own. The fixed AX8 is about £1,153.39. The marine M232 is about £2,863.63.
What should you check before you buy a thermal camera?
Start with the job: a house walk-round, a phone you already own, a handheld with its own screen, a fixed plant sensor, or a marine head. Then read the native detector size, not the upscaled grid. Next is the Celsius span and any accuracy conditions, then NETD if the page prints it. Check what the basket contains. A bundle price is not the camera alone, and coin cells in a box are not proof they run the camera.
Can a thermal camera find damp or see through walls?
A thermal camera shows surface temperature. It does not see through walls or measure air. Which? and NHBC say you need a real indoor-outdoor gap, about 10°C in their guidance, and that a colour picture is not an X-ray. Confirm damp with a moisture meter before you pay for works. Approved Document L is guidance on limiting heat loss, not a test you finish by buying a camera. A view inside a cavity is a different tool: an endoscope camera.
How do you take a thermal image that means something?
Leave the camera to settle for about a minute before you trust a number. Set emissivity for the surface, because a masonry default misreads foil and bare steel. For UK fabric, use a cold dry spell, typically from about September to May, inside as well as outside, and keep sun off the wall. Fixed-focus phone modules are not the kit UKTA describes for professional electrical thermography. Steps for scale, focus and emissivity are in how to use a thermal camera.
Is a larger pixel number the detector size?
No. Read the native grid. On these listings an 80×60 detector can be shown at 240×180, a 96×96 sensor at 192×192, and 256×192 processed to 512×384. A 240×240 line with no separate native figure is not the same as a stated detector. Two listings state no pixels at all. Super-resolution is processing, not a bigger sensor. The manufacturer page for one discontinued phone module states 80×60, and that figure is not printed on the amazon.co.uk basket.
When should you call a professional instead?
Call a professional before you buy insulation or damp works from pictures alone, when the image is for a new-build, insurer, or landlord dispute, and when the task is live electrical thermography. Historic England notes that electrical images want the gear under load, at least about 40%, and taking covers off is live working under the Electricity at Work Regulations. These retail cameras are not that survey kit. A fixed or marine system you do not install is also a job for the person who fits it.

Our verdict

In this set of eleven amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Thermal Master Thor 002 at about £359. It states 256×192 before processing to 512×384, NETD under 40 mK, −20°C to 550°C, and a 3.5 inch screen, with 4.4 from 279 ratings. Reviews include units that stopped after about three months. The best value is the GOYOJO GW192A at about £129, 4.2 from 778, with a stated 96×96 sensor and a span to 400°C. The Foxfighter fx1 is about £90 and is not that pick: pixels are missing and only four reviews sit behind a 5.0 line. None of these scores is a lab test, a damp certificate, or a Part L pass.

Best overall
FLIR M232

FLIR M232

View offer
Best value
GOYOJO GW192A

GOYOJO GW192A

About £129, 4.2 from 778, a stated 96×96 sensor and a span to 400°C. The award is listing per pound among rows with a large review sample, not the highest score.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Thermal camerasMeasuring equipmentamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to FLIR thermal cameras

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources are listed below. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these eleven listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. FLIR C5 (UK) (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Which?: using a thermal camera (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. UKTA: building thermography (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. UKTA: electrical thermography for practitioners (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. Historic England: thermal imaging (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Approved Document L, Volume 1, dwellings (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. NHBC: thermal imaging (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. BBC News: sun and reflections (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these eleven listings. They are not a live scrape. We did not lab-test these cameras.