Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electricity meter comparison 2026

The best electricity meters, compared.

Top pick: Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter Best value: DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter – About £13.29 and 4.1 from 253 reviews for a wired single-phase check. Not the second-highest score, and MID is not stated. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An electricity meter you buy for a home check shows kilowatt-hours for one appliance, one circuit, or one cable. It is not the settlement meter your supplier or the network already owns. In the UK the usual shapes are a BS 1363 plug-in monitor, a DIN-rail module, and a clamp around one live conductor. The [electricity meter buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/electricity-meter/sub/electricity-meter-buying-guide) separates those jobs. A suitable meter matches the job and the UK limits. A plug should store a unit rate if you want a cost, and the current limit should respect 13 A. An alarm at 3680 W is a 16 A figure, not a UK socket rating. A rail meter should print a basic and a maximum current. A clamp should state an opening that closes on the cable. Wi-Fi monitors of this type need 2.4 GHz. A class on a listing is a manufacturer claim, not approval to charge someone else. Own use is a check. Charging a tenant is trade and needs an approved design, fitted in an approved way.

An electricity meter you buy for a home check shows kilowatt-hours for one appliance, one circuit, or one cable. It is not the settlement meter your supplier or the network already owns.

Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter

Best overall

Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter
5.2/10∼ £14

32 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +22,400 readers

9 of 9: Best electricity meters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter
Emporia Vue 3 energy monitor
Awootsv plug-in power meter
KETOTEK split-display plug meter
DEWIN panel wattmeter
Emlite ECA2-MID kWh meter
Best value
DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter
POFET Wi-Fi CT monitor
CYTGOUPER DIN-rail meter
5.2/10
7.3/10
7.4/10
5.0/10
6.3/10
6.6/10
6.4/10
6.0/10
3.7/10
∼ £14
∼ £200
∼ £12
∼ £26
∼ £16
∼ £54
∼ £13
∼ £17
∼ £16
4.8(5)
4.6(78)
4.5(86)
4.4(6)
4.3(26)
4.2(37)
4.1(253)
3.8(380)
3.3(4)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best electricity meters in detail

Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter

Rank 1

Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter

∼£14

Our view

The Jadeshay DX-220V is a DIN-rail LCD with 5(32) A on the title and a backlit 6+1 digit total, at £13.69. Across 5 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.8, and only two written texts are saved, both from the United Kingdom. One owner used it beside a granny EV charger and said you need spare consumer-unit space or a separate IP-rated DIN box with a window. That reviewer could not say whether this meter or the charger display was the more accurate. The second text says it works well if you read the instructions. The title says 50/60 Hz and one bullet says 50 Hz. No class index and no MID line are on the listing. A 4.8 from five reviews does not outrank a meter with a much larger rating file.

Pros

  • Backlit 6+1 digit LCD
  • 5(32) A printed on the title
  • Two UK reviews say it works, including beside a granny EV lead
  • £13.69 for a single DIN module

Cons

  • 4.8 from only 5 reviews, with two UK texts
  • Needs spare board space or a separate windowed box
  • The reviewer could not judge accuracy against the granny charger
  • 50/60 Hz in the title and 50 Hz in a bullet

Best for: A modest single-phase circuit already inside 32 A, with an electrician and somewhere to see the screen.

Less suitable: An annex supply above that current, a billing charge, or a choice based on the star line alone.

Specifications

Model
Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter
Brand
Jadeshay
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.8/5(5)
Type
DIN-rail kWh
Job
One wired circuit
Current
5(32) A
Screen
Backlit, 6+1 digits
Link
None
Power
Wired, DIN rail
Approval
MID not stated

Common questions

What current is on the title?

5(32) A. The title says 50/60 Hz. One bullet says a rated frequency of 50 Hz.

What did the UK reviews say about fitting?

Two UK reviews are in the review notes. One says you need space in the consumer unit or a separate IP-rated DIN box with a window, and could not say which reading was more accurate beside a granny EV charger.

Is MID stated?

No. The bullets claim an intelligent chip and do not give a class index.

Emporia Vue 3 energy monitor

Rank 2

Emporia Vue 3 energy monitor

∼£200

Our view

The Emporia Vue 3, model EMV3A-3P-16, is a hard-wired monitor with sixteen 50 A branch sensors and three 200 A clamps, at £199.99. Across 78 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.6. Only three United Kingdom texts are in the review notes, and each says an electrician’s install worked, with one of them flashing ESPHome for Home Assistant on a single-phase board. The listing asks for 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, claims sensors accurate from ±2%, names solar and net metering, says no Delta, and says an extra 200 A sensor is sold separately for some systems. One-second data stays only while the app is open. Non-UK reviews in the same notes call the clamps bulky in a crowded board, so the wide circuit count still depends on a competent fit and on space, and three UK texts do not turn the ±2% line into a test we ran.

Pros

  • Sixteen 50 A sensors and three 200 A clamps in this style
  • 4.6 from 78 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Three UK reviews describe a working electrician install
  • Listing names solar and net metering, plus iPhone, Android, and web apps

Cons

  • £199.99, and the power line says hardwire
  • Only three UK texts in the file
  • 2.4 GHz and an internet connection are required for the app
  • Non-UK reviews say the clamps are large for a tight board

Best for: You want many branch circuits on one app and an electrician will fit the sensors.

Less suitable: One kettle, a billing nameplate, or a board with no room for the clamps.

Specifications

Model
Emporia Vue 3 energy monitor
Brand
Emporia
Price
∼£200
Customer rating
4.6/5(78)
Type
Whole-home CT
Job
Up to 16 circuits
Current
16×50 A and 3×200 A
Cost display
App spending
Screen
App only
Link
2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Power
Hardwire
Approval
UL and CE claimed

Common questions

Is this a plug-in monitor?

The power description says Hardwire. The three UK reviews in the review notes say an electrician fitted it in the consumer unit.

Which Wi-Fi does the listing need?

2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and an internet connection. The app is named for iPhone, Android, and the web.

How many sensors does this style include?

Sixteen 50 A branch sensors and three 200 A clamps. The listing says an extra 200 A sensor is sold separately for some systems, and it says no Delta.

Awootsv plug-in power meter

Rank 3

Awootsv plug-in power meter

∼£12

Our view

The Awootsv PM04UK-1 sits in a UK socket and shows voltage, watts, kilowatt-hours, and a cost once you store a unit price, at £11.99. Across 86 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, and 26 of the saved texts are from the United Kingdom. Reviewers use it on heaters, a television, a computer, and a washing machine, and several say the figure looks right for that comparison. The listing says it alarms and disconnects the plug above 13 A, and it also says there is no backlight, which matches reviews that struggle to read it at night. The reset is hard to reach, the plugs can feel tight, and one UK review says the cost figure is in euros only. One unit flashed orange and died when a laptop charger was switched on, and another was returned because it would not work. It is the top pick in this set for one appliance you can unplug, with that euro display and the missing backlight as the limits.

Pros

  • Stores a unit price and shows kilowatt-hours, watts, and voltage
  • Listing says it alarms and disconnects above 13 A
  • 4.5 from 86 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 26 UK texts in the file
  • £11.99 for a socket comparison of heaters and appliances

Cons

  • No backlight, so night reading is difficult
  • Reset is hard to reach
  • One UK review says the cost display is in euros only
  • One unit died when a laptop charger was switched on

Best for: You want the cost of one plug-in appliance and you will type in your own unit rate.

Less suitable: A shower, a cooker, a hard-wired charger, or a charge you will send to someone else.

Specifications

Model
Awootsv plug-in power meter
Brand
Awootsv
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.5/5(86)
Type
Plug-in monitor
Job
One socket
Current
13 A cut-out
Cost display
Unit price and kWh
Screen
No backlight
Link
None
Power
Mains plug
Approval
GS and CE claimed

Common questions

Does the listing include a backlight?

The bullets say there is no backlight. UK reviews also say the screen is hard to read at night.

What does the listing say happens above 13 A?

It says the monitor alarms and disconnects the plug when the load exceeds 13 A.

Does it need a battery?

Batteries included and batteries required both say No. One UK review says the screen stays blank until the unit is plugged in.

KETOTEK split-display plug meter

Rank 4

KETOTEK split-display plug meter

∼£26

Our view

The KETOTEK KTEM03 puts a backlit LCD on a 2.9 m lead so you can read a fridge or a workshop heater without kneeling at the socket, at £25.99. Across 6 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.4, and five of the saved texts are from the United Kingdom. Those reviews like the separate screen for standby loads and for minimum and maximum power. The listing sets the overload at 3680 W, which is a 16 A figure, and it does not state 13 A. One UK review says the timer runs 17 to 18 minutes long over a real day, so that reviewer would not treat the clock as the length of the test. The listing says a CR2032 is included and also says batteries are not required. It is a plug with a screen you can place on a bench if you time the run on your own clock and you keep the load inside a UK 13 A socket.

Pros

  • Backlit LCD on a 2.9 m lead
  • Listing includes electricity cost and a cost alarm
  • Listing says data is saved through a power cut
  • Five UK reviews call the separate display useful for standby and heating

Cons

  • Overload is stated as 3680 W, not as 13 A
  • One UK review: timer 17 to 18 minutes fast per day
  • Only 6 reviews, five of them written UK texts
  • Batteries-included and batteries-required lines conflict

Best for: You need the screen away from a tight socket and you will time the run yourself.

Less suitable: A whole-house total, a tenant bill, or a continuous load near 3680 W on a BS 1363 socket.

Specifications

Model
KETOTEK split-display plug meter
Brand
KETOTEK
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.4/5(6)
Type
Plug, separate screen
Job
One socket
Current
3680 W overload
Cost display
Cost and alarm
Screen
Backlit, 2.9 m lead
Link
None
Power
Mains, CR2032
Approval
MID not stated

Common questions

How is the display arranged?

The LCD is separate from the plug and joins it with a 2.9 m cable. The listing says the backlight lasts 10 minutes and can be turned off.

What overload figure does the listing use?

3680 W, adjustable from 0 to 3680 W. The listing does not state a 13 A rating.

What did UK reviews say about the clock?

One of five UK reviews says the timer runs 17 to 18 minutes long over 24 hours. The other four do not name a fault.

DEWIN panel wattmeter

Rank 5

DEWIN panel wattmeter

∼£16

Our view

The DEWIN KWS-AC301 is a panel meter for 0–100 A and 50–300 V, with a closed current transformer and a temperature sensor in the title, at £16.39. Across 26 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.3, and two of the saved texts are from the United Kingdom. Those two say it works and is fairly accurate, and one used it on solar-battery backup power. The same UK note says the colour LED is dim indoors and has no brightness control. The other UK review says the instructions are vague on how to wire the current sensor. The listing limits the supply to pure AC at 50–63 Hz and says a square-wave or repaired sine-wave inverter output will damage it. EN 61010-1 is stated and MID is not, so this stays a wired display for one pure-AC circuit.

Pros

  • 0–100 A and 50–300 V printed on the title
  • Colour LED with voltage, current, energy, and power factor claimed
  • 4.3 from 26 reviews
  • Two UK reviews say it works once installed

Cons

  • Closed transformer, so the conductor has to pass through it
  • UK review: the display is dim, with no brightness control
  • Instructions called vague on current-sensor wiring
  • Only two UK texts in the file

Best for: A pure-AC panel where you can thread the closed transformer and you can live with a dim LED.

Less suitable: A UK socket, a modified-sine inverter output, or a tenant bill.

Specifications

Model
DEWIN panel wattmeter
Brand
DEWIN
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.3/5(26)
Type
Panel meter
Job
One AC circuit
Current
0–100 A
Screen
Colour LED
Link
None
Power
Pure AC 50–63 Hz
Approval
EN 61010-1

Common questions

Is the transformer a split clamp?

The title says a closed-type transformer, plus a temperature sensor.

What supply does the listing allow?

Pure AC, 50–63 Hz, 50–300 V, 0–100 A. It says the device will be damaged on a square-wave inverter or a repaired sine wave.

What did UK reviews say about the screen?

One of two UK reviews says it works and is fairly accurate, but the display is dim. The other says the instructions are vague on how to wire the current sensor.

Emlite ECA2-MID kWh meter

Rank 6

Emlite ECA2-MID kWh meter

∼£54

Our view

The Emlite listing titles an ECA2-MID single-phase meter at 100 A direct connection, at £54.45, and the bullets say it is fully MID approved and measures import active energy. Across 37 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.2, from five United Kingdom texts. One reviewer who has used the make more than once says it performs well. Another calls it a good replacement after an electrician fitted it in place of the house meter, which is a review claim and not a job to copy. Two of the five texts say there is no wire lead seal, and no instructions or safety data. Voltage and mounting are not stated on the listing. The words on the Amazon page are not a photograph of the metrology mark, the year, and the approved-body number on the meter you receive.

Pros

  • Only listing in this set that says fully MID approved
  • 100 A direct connection and import active energy on the listing
  • 4.2 from 37 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Five UK texts, with the stated gaps limited to the seal and the paperwork

Cons

  • The Amazon sentence is not the nameplate marks
  • One UK review: no wire lead seal
  • One UK review: no instructions or safety data
  • Import only, so export sits outside the stated measurement

Best for: You are comparing a 100 A import meter whose listing claims MID, and you will check the marks on the metal before any recharge.

Less suitable: Replacing the supplier meter yourself, or treating this row as a finished tenant bill.

Specifications

Model
Emlite ECA2-MID kWh meter
Brand
Emlite
Price
∼£54
Customer rating
4.2/5(37)
Type
Direct kWh meter
Job
Import energy
Current
100 A direct
Screen
LCD
Link
None
Power
Direct connection
Approval
MID claimed

Common questions

What approval does the listing claim?

The bullets say fully MID approved, and that it measures import active energy.

What current is in the title?

100 A direct connection, single phase. The title includes ECA2-MID. Voltage and mounting are not stated on the listing.

What did UK reviews say was missing?

One of five UK reviews says there is no wire lead seal. Another says there are no instructions or safety data.

DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter

Rank 7

DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter

∼£13

Our view

The DEWIN AK3-AT1-GL-M-X clips to a 35 mm DIN rail and the title prints 220 V and 5(80) A, at £13.29. Across 253 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.1. In the first 50 texts, nine are from the United Kingdom. Those UK notes say it snaps on, shows voltage, current, watts, and watt-hours, and one owner used it to indicate EV charging energy. The same UK reviews say the terminals are small, one housing melted on a 4 kW heater after just over 1000 kW, and one LCD burst within a year. MID is not stated; the listing cites GB/T17245.321-2008. It is the best value in this set for a cheap wired check of one circuit if an electrician fits it and you accept that melt report, and the page does not show a billing approval.

Pros

  • £13.29 with 4.1 from 253 reviews
  • 5(80) A and a 35 mm DIN rail on the listing
  • UK reviews describe a two-wire fit and a display of volts, amps, watts, and watt-hours
  • Built-in terminal cover stated

Cons

  • One UK review: housing melted on a 4 kW heater
  • One LCD burst within a year
  • Terminals described as quite small
  • MID is not stated

Best for: An electrician is fitting a check meter on one single-phase circuit and you want the large review file at this price.

Less suitable: Opening a consumer unit yourself, recharging a tenant, or leaving a load near 80 A without a competent check.

Specifications

Model
DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter
Brand
DEWIN
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.1/5(253)
Type
DIN-rail kWh
Job
One wired circuit
Current
5(80) A, 220 V
Screen
LCD
Link
None
Power
Wired, 35 mm rail
Approval
MID not stated

Common questions

What current does the title state?

220 V and 5(80) A, single phase, two-wire, on a 35 mm DIN rail.

Does the listing say it is MID approved?

MID is not stated. The listing cites GB/T17245.321-2008.

What did UK reviews say about reliability?

One says the terminals are small. One says the housing melted on a 4 kW heater after just over 1000 kW. One says the LCD burst within a year.

POFET Wi-Fi CT monitor

Rank 8

POFET Wi-Fi CT monitor

∼£17

Our view

The POFET CP025107 is an 80 A Wi-Fi clamp on a 10 mm opening, powered from 110–240 V, at £16.99, using Tuya or Smart Life on 2.4 GHz only. Across 380 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.8, and 34 of the first 50 texts are from the United Kingdom. One reviewer matched a day at 18.9 kWh on the supplier meter and 19.2 kWh in the app. Several others say the clamp will not close on standard UK tails and can under-read if it does not fully close. The listing says one direction only, so solar export sits outside that claim unless the page says otherwise. UK reviews also say the app has no unit price, that hourly history can be missing, and that you must add flex because the terminals are live. One buyer reports four failures from four devices. It is a remote check of one cable the clamp can actually shut around.

Pros

  • 3.8 from 380 reviews, with a large UK share of the first 50 texts
  • Split CT, so the measured cable stays connected
  • One UK day was 18.9 kWh on the supplier meter and 19.2 kWh in the app
  • Listing states 80 A, a 10 mm opening, and 2.4 GHz

Cons

  • Several UK reviews: the clamp will not close on standard tails
  • No unit price in the app, in those UK reviews
  • One direction only on the listing
  • Needs its own mains wiring, and one buyer reports four failed devices

Best for: One live conductor the 10 mm clamp can close on, a 2.4 GHz network, and a competent person to wire the supply.

Less suitable: Standard UK meter tails, a tariff inside the app, or a bidirectional solar feed.

Specifications

Model
POFET Wi-Fi CT monitor
Brand
POFET
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
3.8/5(380)
Type
Wi-Fi CT clamp
Job
One cable
Current
80 A, 10 mm clamp
Cost display
No unit price
Screen
App only
Link
2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Power
Wired 110–240 V
Approval
Class 1.0 claimed

Common questions

Will the clamp fit a UK meter tail?

The listing says the opening is 10 mm and will not fit larger main cables. Several UK reviews say it does not close on standard tails.

Does the listing cover solar export?

It says measurement is one direction only, and that bidirectional solar or battery measurement is not supported unless otherwise specified.

Which app and Wi-Fi does it use?

Tuya Smart or Smart Life, on 2.4 GHz only. It must be wired to 110–240 V. It is not a battery clamp.

CYTGOUPER DIN-rail meter

Rank 9

CYTGOUPER DIN-rail meter

∼£16

Our view

The CYTGOUPER XTM75S-U is a 35 mm DIN-rail meter with 20(80) A and a 5+1 digit LCD on the listing, at £16.09. Across 4 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.3, and two UK texts are saved. One calls it well made for a secondary meter on an annex, outhouse, or garage, and says to treat it as 80 A rather than 100 A. The other describes blanked upper terminals, says there is no calibration, and had not yet run the EV load. That second review also calls the meter mechanical, which does not match the LCD wording. A pulse output is stated, and MID is not. The title says both 2-wire and 4P. Four reviews cannot carry an annex bill or an untested charger circuit.

Pros

  • 20(80) A and a 35 mm rail on the listing
  • Pulse output stated
  • One UK review likes the digit size for an overnight EV total
  • Meter and manual are named in the box

Cons

  • 3.3 from 4 reviews, with two UK texts
  • One UK review says there is no calibration and had not tested the charger
  • That review calls an LCD listing mechanical
  • Title says 2-wire and also 4P

Best for: You already know you need about 80 A on one secondary circuit and an electrician will confirm the terminals.

Less suitable: A 100 A house supply, a tenant charge, or a buy based on four reviews.

Specifications

Model
CYTGOUPER DIN-rail meter
Brand
CYTGOUPER
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.3/5(4)
Type
DIN-rail kWh
Job
One wired circuit
Current
20(80) A
Screen
LCD, 5+1 digits
Link
Pulse output
Power
Wired, 35 mm rail
Approval
MID not stated

Common questions

What current is on the title?

20(80) A. A UK review says to treat it as an 80 A meter, not a 100 A meter.

Is the display an LCD?

The listing says a 5+1 digit LCD with a blue backlight. One of the two UK reviews calls the meter mechanical.

Does the listing say you can calibrate it?

No class index and no MID line. One UK review says there is no calibration, and that reviewer had not yet run the EV load.

How we compared

Nine electricity-meter listings on amazon.co.uk were scored from the UK listing and the review notes already saved with each row, not from a laboratory test. Amazon stars, review volume, and fit to a UK check are weighted 41, 29 and 30. The shelf price is not in the score. It decides the best-value award only. Deductions apply for a short review count, a melted housing or a failed display, a unit that died, a clamp that UK reviews say will not close on standard tails, a plug whose only overload figure is 3680 W, conflicting lines on the same listing, a cost figure a UK review read as euros, a clock that gains many minutes a day, a star line with few United Kingdom texts, and a billing-shaped listing with no seal and no instructions in the UK texts. A stated class, a MID sentence, or a safe continuous load is not proved by the score.

1

Amazon stars

41%

Up to 41 points from the amazon.co.uk star average. The line is the UK listing. It is not a laboratory score, and it does not prove a class index or a MID mark.

2

Review volume

29%

Up to 29 points from how many reviews sit behind that star line, with a cap so a huge file cannot swamp the other checks. Fewer than 20 reviews, and fewer than six, draw separate deductions. A large file whose saved sample is mostly outside the United Kingdom is also marked down.

3

Fit to a UK check

30%

Up to 30 points for the job on the listing, whether you can read kilowatt-hours and a unit price, and how you connect it. A plug that states a 13 A disconnect scores higher on access than a hard-wired module. A 3680 W-only overload is not treated as a UK socket rating. An app with no unit price in the UK reviews scores lower than a local screen with a stored tariff.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Electricity meter buying guide

Start with the job, then whether the reading will charge someone else, then the UK current limit and the register. The notes below follow that order. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What is an electricity meter?

An electricity meter in this comparison is either a check meter you buy to see kilowatt-hours, or the settlement meter your supplier or the network already owns. On amazon.co.uk the useful buy is a BS 1363 plug-in monitor for one appliance, a DIN-rail kilowatt-hour module for one circuit, or a CT clamp for a cable or a board. Quality is the match to the job. A plug monitor is not a settlement meter, and none of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best for

  • The cost of one appliance you can unplug, once you store your own unit rate
  • A circuit total on a DIN rail when an electrician fits the meter
  • Comparing an import meter whose listing claims MID, then checking the nameplate

Not ideal for

  • Replacing the supplier meter, or breaking a seal, because a review suggested it
  • A tenant or workplace recharge from a plug monitor or an unapproved DIN meter
  • A 3680 W continuous load on a BS 1363 socket, or a clamp that will not close

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating 3680 W as a UK socket rating

    BS 1363 is a 13 A system. A 3680 W alarm is a 16 A figure. Do not load a UK plug toward that number, and do not treat the alarm as a safe continuous rating.

  2. 2

    Using a plug monitor as the household bill

    A plug-in monitor sees one appliance. It cannot see a shower, a cooker, or a hard-wired charger, and it is not the settlement meter your supplier or the network owns.

  3. 3

    Moving the supplier meter yourself

    Citizens Advice says moving a gas or electricity meter yourself is illegal. In Great Britain phone the supplier. In Northern Ireland meter replacement is NIE Networks. Do not open a consumer unit unless you are competent.

What to weigh up

Job, law and who may wire it

High

The job picks the meter. One plug-in appliance, one fixed circuit, many circuits, or a charge to another person. Stars do not pick the type. A plug-in monitor sits between a UK socket and one appliance and cannot see a shower, a cooker, or a hard-wired charger. A DIN-rail meter clips to a 35 mm rail and counts one wired circuit. A clamp monitor goes around one live conductor and often needs its own mains supply. Own information is a check meter.

UK fit and the register

Medium

BS 1363 is a 13 A system. A 3680 W alarm is a 16 A figure, not a UK socket rating. Do not load a plug toward that number. The clamp opening has to match the cable. Reviews of one Wi-Fi clamp in this set say a 10 mm jaw will not close on standard meter tails. Wi-Fi monitors here need 2.4 GHz. You want kilowatt-hours on the register, and pence per kilowatt-hour if you want a cost. Import-only meters miss solar export. A one-direction clamp on a solar feed will not show export.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One plug-in appliance

You want the cost of a heater, a television, or another appliance you can unplug, and you will type in your own unit rate. The Awootsv plug-in monitor is about £11.99, with 4.5 from 86 reviews, and the listing says it disconnects above 13 A. There is no backlight.

One wired circuit

You need a circuit total for an annex, a heat pump, or an EV lead, and an electrician will fit the meter. The DEWIN DIN-rail meter is about £13.29, with 4.1 from 253 reviews, and the title prints 5(80) A. MID is not stated, and one UK review describes a melted housing.

A recharge to someone else

You will charge a tenant, a let, or a workplace, so a check meter is the wrong tool. The Emlite listing says it is fully MID approved, at about £54.45, with 4.2 from 37 reviews, for 100 A import energy. The Amazon sentence is not the nameplate. Check the marks on the meter before any recharge.

Common questions about electricity meters

Which electricity meter is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Awootsv plug-in monitor at about £11.99. It sits in a UK socket and shows voltage, watts, kilowatt-hours, and a cost once you store a unit price. The listing says it alarms and disconnects above 13 A. Across 86 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5. There is no backlight, one UK review read the cost in euros, and one unit died when a laptop charger was switched on. It is not a laboratory test, and it is not a meter for billing someone else.
Which electricity meter is the best value?
The best value is the DEWIN DIN-rail meter at about £13.29, with 4.1 from 253 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title prints 220 V and 5(80) A on a 35 mm rail. A hard-wired whole-home monitor scores higher at about £199.99, so this award is the low price, not the second-highest score. It is for one wired circuit if an electrician fits it. A UK review describes a melted housing on a 4 kW heater and an LCD that burst within a year. MID is not stated.
How much do these electricity meters cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices here run from about £11.99 to about £199.99. That range is these nine listings, not a market census. The plug-in top pick is about £11.99. A separate-display plug is about £25.99. DIN-rail meters and a small Wi-Fi clamp sit about £13 to £17. The listing that says it is fully MID approved is about £54.45. That figure is one listing, not the price of every approved meter. The hard-wired monitor with sixteen branch sensors is about £199.99.
What should you check before you buy an electricity meter?
Start with the job: one unplugged appliance, one fixed circuit, many circuits, or a charge to another person. A plug needs no new wiring. A DIN-rail meter or a powered clamp is fixed wiring. In England a new circuit or a replacement consumer unit is notifiable unless a scheme installer self-certifies. Then check the UK limits. BS 1363 is 13 A. A 3680 W alarm is a 16 A figure. The clamp opening has to match the cable, and Wi-Fi units here need 2.4 GHz.
Can a plug-in electricity meter replace the household bill?
No. A plug-in monitor sees one appliance in a BS 1363 socket. It cannot see a shower, a cooker, or a hard-wired charger, and it is not the settlement meter. In Great Britain the supplier fits the smart meter. In Northern Ireland the network owns the meter. Citizens Advice says moving a supplier meter yourself is illegal. Use a plug monitor for heaters and always-on loads you can unplug. Phone the supplier in Great Britain, or NIE Networks in Northern Ireland, if the house meter needs a move.
When do you need an approved electricity meter?
Own information is a check. Billing a tenant, a let, or a workplace recharge is trade. GOV.UK says a billing meter, including a landlord’s, must be an approved design and installed in an approved manner. Look for the metrology mark, the year, and the approved-body number on the meter you receive. A sentence on an Amazon page is not that nameplate. CE, UKCA, or a GS mark is not permission to recharge someone. Markings are covered in the electricity meters for billing guide.
Is 3680 W a safe continuous load on a UK socket?
No. A BS 1363 plug and socket are a 13 A system. 3680 W is a 16 A figure, and this page does not treat it as a safe continuous load on a UK socket. Keep a plug-in load inside the 13 A plug, and do not chase a higher alarm number. Heat at a plug, a socket, or a terminal is a reason to stop and call an electrician. A class or a percentage printed on a listing is a manufacturer claim, not a test we ran.
How is an electricity meter different from a multimeter?
An electricity meter here is meant to accumulate kilowatt-hours, or to show power on one appliance, circuit, or cable. A multimeter measures volts, amps, or resistance at a moment. It does not replace a plug monitor, a DIN-rail kilowatt-hour module, or the supplier’s meter. Clamping live and neutral together will not give a useful current. If you want a handheld tester rather than an energy total, start with an analogue multimeter. Call an electrician before you open a consumer unit.

Our verdict

In this set the top pick is the Awootsv plug-in monitor at about £11.99. It is the highest score, for one BS 1363 appliance when you want kilowatt-hours and a stored unit price, and the listing states a 13 A alarm and disconnect. There is no backlight. One UK review says the cost was in euros. The best value is the DEWIN DIN-rail meter at about £13.29, with 4.1 from 253 reviews. That award is the low price for a wired single-phase check with a large review count. It is not the second-highest score. The Emporia Vue 3 scores higher at about £199.99. The DIN meter is not the top pick because a UK review describes a melted housing on a 4 kW heater and an LCD that burst within a year. MID is not stated on that listing. No laboratory test was run.

Best overall
Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter

Jadeshay DIN-rail energy meter

View offer
Best value
DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter

DEWIN DIN-rail kWh meter

About £13.29 and 4.1 from 253 reviews for a wired single-phase check. Not the second-highest score, and MID is not stated.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Electricity metersMeasuring equipmentamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to electricity meters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these nine listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. GOV.UK: national regulation of gas and electricity meters (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK: MIR approved gas and electricity meters (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Measuring Instruments Regulations 2016, regulation 3 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Ofgem: getting a smart meter (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Citizens Advice: move your gas or electricity meter (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: building work, replacements and repairs (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. BSI: BS 1363 13 A plugs and socket-outlets (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. NIE Networks: smart electricity meters factsheet, April 2026 (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings used for this comparison. We did not lab-test these electricity meters.