Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Fluke 117 – Highest score in the set: true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt at CAT III 600 V, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. Not CAT IV, and the amp limit is not on the listing. Best value: Fluke 15B+ – Lowest price in the set that lists 10 A AC and DC current, at £101.45, with 4.7 from 107 ratings. True RMS is not stated. The cheaper 101 lists no amp range. Updated October 2026.
A Fluke multimeter here is a handheld digital meter for voltage, resistance and continuity. It is not a current clamp, and it is not a multifunction installation tester. You match one to the work by the category and voltage printed together, by whether true RMS is stated, by whether current is listed, and by whether a temperature probe is actually supplied. CAT III 600 V covers distribution boards and socket circuits, not the origin of the installation. If a voltage bullet and the safety line disagree, follow the safety line. Those checks are set out in the [Fluke multimeter buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/fluke-multimeter/sub/fluke-multimeter-buying-guide).
UK mains are 230 V, and these meters are battery powered. Leads need a category mark, finger guards and a short exposed tip. To prove a circuit dead, use a test lamp or a two-pole detector, and prove that instrument before and after. A non-contact screen is not that proof. Live work belongs to a competent person.
A Fluke multimeter here is a handheld digital meter for voltage, resistance and continuity. It is not a current clamp, and it is not a multifunction installation tester.
A Fluke multimeter here is a handheld digital meter for voltage, resistance and continuity. It is not a current clamp, and it is not a multifunction installation tester. You match one to the work by the category and voltage printed together, by whether true RMS is stated, by whether current is listed, and by whether a temperature probe is actually supplied. CAT III 600 V covers distribution boards and socket circuits, not the origin of the installation. If a voltage bullet and the safety line disagree, follow the safety line. Those checks are set out in the [Fluke multimeter buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/fluke-multimeter/sub/fluke-multimeter-buying-guide).
UK mains are 230 V, and these meters are battery powered. Leads need a category mark, finger guards and a short exposed tip. To prove a circuit dead, use a test lamp or a two-pole detector, and prove that instrument before and after. A non-contact screen is not that proof. Live work belongs to a competent person.
A Fluke multimeter here is a handheld digital meter for voltage, resistance and continuity. It is not a current clamp, and it is not a multifunction installation tester. You match one to the work by the category and voltage printed together, by whether true RMS is stated, by whether current is listed, and by whether a temperature probe is actually supplied. CAT III 600 V covers distribution boards and socket circuits, not the origin of the installation. If a voltage bullet and the safety line disagree, follow the safety line.
For daily voltage checks around a domestic or commercial board, the Fluke 117 is the meter in this set that states true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt together. It is £215.00 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings, the largest review file here by a long way. Specification Met says CAT III 600 V, and the listing adds a white LED backlight. UK reviews describe it in panels and on home electrics, and several say the display is hard to read off-axis. A review on 25 June 2024 says the case was not included, and the listing has no included-components line, so the box contents are not settled from the page alone. The style name says Pack of 10 while the item count is 1. The current limit is not on the amazon.co.uk listing, though Fluke’s UK page states 10 A.
Pros
Listing: True RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt
Listing: CAT III 600 V and a white LED backlight
UK reviews: used daily in panels and for home electrics
4.7 from 5,113 on amazon.co.uk
Listing warranty: 3 years
Cons
UK reviews: display hard to read off-axis
UK review: case not in a 2024 order; no components line on the listing
Style name says Pack of 10; item count is 1
Current limit is not in the listing
Best for: Daily checks where you want VoltAlert and true RMS at CAT III 600 V, and you can live with the display angle.
Less suitable: CAT IV work, a stated milliamp range, or a buyer who needs a case named in the box list.
Yes. A bullet says True RMS technology for non-linear loads, and the title is the Fluke 117.
What safety category is printed?
Specification Met says CAT III 600 V. The maximum operating voltage field says 600 volts. CAT IV is not printed.
Is a case listed in the box?
There is no included-components line. UK reviews disagree: some describe a case or holster, and a review on 25 June 2024 says the case was not included.
The Fluke 15B+ is the first meter in this set whose listing states an AC and DC current range up to 10 A, which is the check the 101 cannot do. It is £101.45 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.7 from 107 reviews. The safety line says CAT III 600 V, and a separate bullet says AC and DC voltage up to 1,000 V, so those two lines stay side by side rather than becoming one rating. True RMS is not stated, and a non-UK review says it is not true RMS, which matches Fluke’s own table. The box line includes the meter, TL75 leads and two AA batteries. Six UK reviews are short and positive, mentioning a larger screen and a thick rubber surround. A case and a warranty are not stated, and temperature is named without a probe in the box.
Pros
Listing: AC/DC current up to 10 A
Box line: TL75 leads and two AA batteries
UK reviews: larger screen and a thick rubber surround
4.7 from 107 on amazon.co.uk
£101.45, the lowest price here that lists a 10 A current
Cons
True RMS is not stated; a non-UK review says it is not true RMS
CAT III 600 V and a 1,000 V bullet are both on the listing
Temperature is named, but no probe is in the box line
Case and warranty are not stated
Best for: A first Fluke with a stated 10 A range when true RMS is not required.
Less suitable: Distorted AC waveforms, CAT IV work, or a buyer who needs a probe listed in the box.
The Fluke 17B+ is the meter in the under-£130 band that puts a type-K thermocouple in the box line, so temperature is something you can start with rather than a bullet without a probe. It is £130.00 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.7 from 62 reviews. The listing says CAT III 600 V, current up to 10 A, and also voltage up to 1,000 V, and those voltage lines do not collapse into one category. True RMS is not stated, and a non-UK review says it is not an RMS meter. A UK reviewer used the probe on an AC compressor and on exhaust temperatures, called the meter pricey, and also noted the backlight, the tone and a large display. Another non-UK review says the probe was missing from the box. A case and a warranty are not stated.
Pros
Box line includes a type-K thermocouple
Listing: current up to 10 A
UK review: backlight, tone and a large display
UK review: steadier than a cheap meter that drifted
4.7 from 62 on amazon.co.uk
Cons
True RMS is not stated; a non-UK review says it is not RMS
CAT III 600 V and a 1,000 V bullet are both printed
Non-UK review: thermocouple missing from one box
Case and warranty are not stated
Best for: Hobby or light trade work that wants a stated type-K probe and does not need true RMS.
Less suitable: CAT IV work, or a buyer who needs the listing to say true RMS.
When you need a true-RMS meter that prints CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V and also names a built-in thermometer, the Fluke 179 is the listing in this set, at £442.80. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 487 ratings. The upper temperature field is 400 °C, and the style name includes backlight and temperature, though a probe is not itemised because there is no included-components line. The Amazon warranty field says 10 years, while Fluke’s UK page says lifetime, so both figures stay in view rather than one replacing the other. UK reviews praise daily use and still call the supplied leads poor or stiff. One UK review says the battery door needs two case screws. The item dimensions of 27.9 x 41.9 x 8.9 cm read like the parcel, not the meter in your hand.
Pros
Listing: true RMS and a built-in thermometer
Listing: CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V
Style name: backlight and temperature
UK review: still fault-free across later updates
4.6 from 487 on amazon.co.uk
Cons
UK reviews: supplied leads called poor or stiff
UK review: battery door needs two case screws
No included-components line
Item dimensions 27.9 x 41.9 x 8.9 cm read like the parcel
£442.80, the highest price in this set
Best for: True RMS plus temperature, with CAT IV 600 V printed, if you will budget for better leads.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants VoltAlert, or who expects the leads praised in the same breath as the meter.
On a battery, a fuse or a flex, the Fluke 101 gives you voltage, resistance and continuity in a pocket-sized case, and it stops there. At £89.99 on amazon.co.uk it is the lowest price in this set, with 4.5 from 1,561 ratings. The listing prints CAT III 600 V and 0.5% basic DC accuracy, with AC and DC voltage to 600.0 V, resistance to 40.00 MΩ, plus capacitance, frequency and duty cycle. Current is not in that list, so this is not the meter you buy to measure amps. True RMS is not stated. The supply line names one meter, and it does not name leads, a case or a battery. Four UK review texts praise the size and do not describe a fault, while non-UK reviews keep returning to the missing amp range, stiff leads, and one counterfeit claim.
Pros
Listing: CAT III 600 V and 0.5% basic DC accuracy
Listing: voltage, resistance, continuity, capacitance, frequency and duty cycle
Listing: automatic shutdown and IP40
UK reviews: compact and fine for voltage and continuity
Lowest price in this set, £89.99
Cons
No amp range in the measuring parameters
Leads, case and battery are not in the supply line
True RMS is not stated
Non-UK reviews report missing current, stiff leads, and one counterfeit claim
Best for: Pocket voltage, resistance and continuity checks when you do not need to measure current.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs an amp range, true RMS, or a thermocouple.
The Fluke 107 is the lighter pocket meter, listed at 200 g and £115.00, for checks where you want current named and you can live with a thin review file. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 12 ratings, and the only UK review in the file calls it a very good multimeter. A bullet says CAT III 600 V, while Specification Met also prints CAT III 1000 V, so you should not treat those as one maximum. Current and voltage are named, and the listing does not state an ampere limit. True RMS is not stated. The box line is the meter, TL75 leads and a SmartStrap. A non-UK review says readings moved about on the original probes, which is a small sample rather than a settled pattern.
Pros
Listing weight 200 g
Box line: TL75 leads and a SmartStrap
Current is named, unlike the 101 listing
Bullet: CAT III 600 V
Cons
True RMS is not stated
CAT III 600 V and CAT III 1000 V are both printed
Current limit is not stated
4.4 from only 12 ratings, and one UK review body
Best for: A pocket Fluke when you want current named on the listing and can accept a 12-rating sample.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a stated ampere limit, true RMS, or CAT IV.
The Fluke 177 is the true-RMS listing that prints CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V, which is the category step the 117 does not take, and the price is £382.80. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from only three ratings, and the saved listing has no UK review body. Bullets include voltage to 1,000 V, hold, auto hold and min/max, and the warranty field says 10 years. The power field says Corded Electric, but the box line is the device, cables, a manual and papers, with no mains lead described, so that field is not a mains-powered meter. Both review texts are from outside the UK, and one complains about PVC leads rather than silicone. The current limit is not stated, and three ratings are not a ranking.
Pros
Listing: True RMS and voltage to 1,000 V
Listing: CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V
Listing: Display Hold, Auto Hold and Min/Max-average
Warranty field: 10 years
Country of origin field: USA
Cons
4.2 from 3 ratings, and no UK review body in the file
Power field says Corded Electric; no mains lead is described
Current limit is not stated
Non-UK review: PVC leads rather than silicone
Best for: A true-RMS meter with CAT IV 600 V printed, if you do not need a temperature probe and can accept a three-rating sample.
Less suitable: Anyone choosing on UK review volume, or anyone reading Corded Electric as a mains-powered meter.
Specification Met says CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. The bullets say AC and DC voltage to 1,000 V and true RMS.
Is it mains powered?
The power-source field says Corded Electric. The included-components line is the device, cables, a user manual and papers. No mains lead is described.
How many amazon.co.uk reviews are on the line?
The listing line is 4.2 from 3. The saved listing has two review bodies, from Italy and Germany, and none from the United Kingdom.
How we compared
Seven handheld Fluke listings on amazon.co.uk were scored on 21 October 2026 from the listing and the review file. This is not a laboratory accuracy test. None of the seven is a clamp, and none is a multifunction installation tester. UK review texts count more heavily than non-UK texts. Deductions apply when current is missing or the amp limit is not printed, when true RMS is treated as present although the listing or Fluke’s table does not state it, when two category or voltage lines are merged into one maximum, when the 179 warranty is stated as a single figure, when the sample is very small, when the 177 power field is read as a mains-powered meter, and when UK reviews call the leads poor or the display hard to read off-axis.
1
Amazon stars and review volume
30%
Up to 30 points from the amazon.co.uk star average and how many ratings sit behind it. UK review texts count more heavily than non-UK texts. The 117’s 5,113 ratings are not the same evidence as the 177’s three, or the 107’s twelve. Stars are not a calibration.
2
Category, true RMS and current
35%
Up to 35 points for the category and voltage the listing prints, whether true RMS is stated, whether current is listed, and the extra the page actually names. A 1,000 V bullet does not replace a CAT III 600 V safety line. True RMS is not awarded where the listing, or Fluke’s table, does not state it.
3
Review sentiment
20%
Up to 20 points from review notes on the display, the leads, the probe and defects. A hard-to-read display, poor leads, or a missing probe in one box score lower. A three-rating file with no UK review body cannot carry this block.
4
Shelf price
15%
Up to 15 points for the amazon.co.uk shelf price against what that listing states. The lowest price does not win when the page lists no amp range. The 15B+ is the lowest price in this set that lists 10 A current.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Fluke multimeter buying guide
Match the printed category and the quantity you must measure before the shelf price. This page keeps seven amazon.co.uk handheld listings. The score is not a laboratory accuracy test. A clamp, a two-pole detector and a BS 7671 multifunction tester are other products.
What is a Fluke multimeter in this set?
A Fluke multimeter in this comparison is a handheld digital meter, not a clamp and not a multifunction installation tester. Seven amazon.co.uk listings were captured on 21 October 2026. You tell them apart by the printed category, whether true RMS is stated, whether current is listed, and whether a thermocouple is in the box. None of these meters replaces a two-pole detector when you must prove a circuit dead.
Best for
Daily CAT III voltage checks when you want true RMS and VoltAlert stated on the listing
A first meter with a stated 10 A range when the waveform is a plain sine
True RMS plus temperature when the listing prints CAT IV 600 V
Not ideal for
Proving a circuit dead, or treating VoltAlert as that proof
Measuring current with the 101, which lists no amp range
The service head, a board you cannot lock off, or an Electrical Installation Certificate
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying the 101 to measure amps
The 101 measuring parameters are voltage, resistance, continuity, capacitance, frequency and duty cycle. Amps are not listed. If you need current on a plain sine, the 15B+ is the listing that states 10 A.
2
Calling the 15B+ or 17B+ true RMS
Neither listing states true RMS. Fluke’s table marks both as not true RMS. True RMS in this set is stated for the 117, the 177 and the 179. The 107 page is for work where true RMS is not needed.
3
Using VoltAlert as proof of dead
VoltAlert on the 117 is a non-contact screen. GS38 prefers a test lamp or a two-pole detector to BS EN 61243-3 when you must prove voltage absent. Prove the instrument before and after.
What to weigh up
Category, true RMS and current
High
Read the category and the voltage on the same line before you read the price. CAT III 600 V is the safety line on the 101, the 15B+, the 17B+ and the 117. It is not a rating for the origin of the installation. Only the 177 and the 179 print CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. If a bullet says 1,000 V and the safety line says CAT III 600 V, follow the safety line. The 107 prints CAT III 600 V and CAT III 1000 V as two lines. True RMS is stated for the 117, the 177 and the 179.
Extras, sample size and price
Medium
After the safety line, buy the extra you will use. VoltAlert and low-impedance AutoVolt are on the 117. A type-K probe is in the 17B+ box line. The 179 names a built-in thermometer, with an upper temperature field of 400 °C, and a probe is not itemised. Pocket size favours the 101 and the 107, listed at 200 g for the 107. Then read the sample. The 117 has 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. The 177 has 4.2 from 3, with no UK review body in the file, so that average is not a ranking.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
⚡
Daily CAT III checks
You want one meter for daily voltage checks around a domestic or commercial board, and you still follow GS38. The 117 states true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt at CAT III 600 V, at £215.00, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. It is not a CAT IV meter.
You work at the origin of the installation, or you want temperature on a true-RMS meter that prints CAT IV 600 V. The 179 is that listing, at £442.80, with 4.6 from 487 ratings. Amazon says 10 years and Fluke’s UK page says lifetime.
You are checking batteries, fuses and flex, and you stop at the consumer unit if you are not competent. The 101 lists voltage, resistance and continuity at CAT III 600 V, at £89.99. It lists no amp range. If you need current on a plain sine, the 15B+ is the listing that states 10 A.
Which Fluke multimeter is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Fluke 117 at £215.00 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. The listing states true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt, and Specification Met says CAT III 600 V. The current limit is not on that listing. Fluke’s UK page states 10 A. It is the daily electrician meter in this set for CAT III work. It is not a CAT IV meter, and it is not a thermometer. UK reviews praise the detector and also say the display is hard to read off-axis.
Which Fluke multimeter is best value?
Best value is the Fluke 15B+ at £101.45, with 4.7 from 107 ratings on amazon.co.uk. It is the lowest price in this set that lists AC and DC current up to 10 A. True RMS is not stated. The 101 is cheaper at £89.99 and lists no amp range, so price alone does not win the award. Use it when the waveform is a plain sine. A 1,000 V bullet does not replace the CAT III 600 V line.
Does a Fluke multimeter prove a circuit is dead?
No. A multimeter in this set does not prove a circuit dead, and VoltAlert on the 117 is a screen, not that proof. HSE guidance GS38 prefers a test lamp or a two-pole detector to BS EN 61243-3 when you must prove voltage absent. Prove the instrument before and after. HSG85’s sequence is identify, disconnect, secure, post notices, then prove dead. The Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 say make conductors dead where you can. Live work has to pass regulation 14 and be done by a competent person.
Which of these listings state true RMS?
Fluke states true RMS for the 117, the 177 and the 179. Fluke’s table marks the 15B+ and the 17B+ as not true RMS. The 107 page is for work where true RMS is not needed, and the 101 listing does not claim it. True RMS matters for drives, dimmers and switched-mode supplies, where the waveform is not a plain sine. Do not treat a missing line as a yes. A star average is not a calibration, and three ratings on the 177 are not a ranking.
What should you check before you buy a Fluke multimeter?
Read the category and the voltage together. CAT III 600 V is not a service-head rating. Only the 177 and the 179 print CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. If a bullet says 1,000 V and the safety line says CAT III 600 V, follow the safety line. Then check whether current is listed. The 101 lists no amp range. Then check the extra you will use: VoltAlert on the 117, a type-K probe in the 17B+ box, and temperature on the 179.
How much does a Fluke multimeter cost on amazon.co.uk in this set?
On 21 October 2026 the seven amazon.co.uk listings run from £89.99 for the 101 to £442.80 for the 179. The entry band is about £90 to £130: the 101, the 15B+, the 107 and the 17B+. The 117 sits at £215.00. The 177 is £382.80 and the 179 is £442.80. Those figures are this set, not a market average, and they are the shelf prices amazon.co.uk showed. A dollar price on a Fluke article is not a UK shelf price.
What do CAT III and CAT IV mean on these meters?
CAT III 600 V is the printed safety line on the 101, the 15B+, the 17B+ and the 117. It covers distribution boards and socket circuits, not the origin of the installation. The 177 and the 179 are the only listings that print CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. The 107 prints both CAT III 600 V and CAT III 1000 V, so keep those as two lines. None of these meters is a BS 7671 multifunction tester, and every meter here is battery powered.
When should you call a competent person?
Call a competent person for the service head, any board you cannot lock off, an Electrical Installation Certificate, a damaged meter or lead, and live fault-finding you are not trained for. A householder checking batteries and flex stops at the consumer unit if they are not competent. A non-contact screen is not proof a circuit is dead. That separate tool is compared in the non-contact voltage tester comparison. This page did not lab-test accuracy.
Our verdict
In this set of seven amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Fluke 117 at £215.00. The listing states true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt at CAT III 600 V, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. The current limit is not on that listing. It is not a CAT IV meter and it is not a thermometer. Best value is the Fluke 15B+ at £101.45, the lowest price here that lists AC and DC current up to 10 A, with 4.7 from 107 ratings. True RMS is not stated. The 101 is cheaper at £89.99 and lists no amp range, so the lowest shelf price is not the best value. None of these scores is a lab test.
Best overall
Fluke 117
Highest score in the set: true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt at CAT III 600 V, with 4.7 from 5,113 ratings. Not CAT IV, and the amp limit is not on the listing.
Lowest price in the set that lists 10 A AC and DC current, at £101.45, with 4.7 from 107 ratings. True RMS is not stated. The cheaper 101 lists no amp range.
Fluke multimetersElectrical test gearamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to Fluke multimeters
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest, checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures for these seven listings. Price bands are this set, not a market average. A dollar price on a Fluke page is not a UK price.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 21 October 2026. We did not lab-test these meters.