Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best Fluke multimeter

Updated: 22 October 2026

If you want one best Fluke multimeter for daily work on UK sockets and consumer units, and a second name when you mainly need current without paying for electrician extras, the choice in this amazon.co.uk set is narrower than the brand catalogue. The top pick is the Fluke 117. The best value, when 10 A matters and true RMS does not, is the Fluke 15B+. Both come with a person who should skip them. Peter F. used the amazon.co.uk listings on 21 October 2026, not a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The full table sits on the [Fluke multimeter comparison](/hub/measuring-equipment/fluke-multimeter).

If you want one best Fluke multimeter for daily work on UK sockets and consumer units, and a second name when you mainly need current without paying for electrician extras, the choice in this amazon.co.uk set is narrower than the brand catalogue.

Our top picks

Fluke Fluke 117

Best overall

Fluke Fluke 117
8.2/10about £215.00
Fluke Fluke 15B+

Best value

Fluke Fluke 15B+
7.1/10about £101.45
Fluke Fluke 101

Alternative

Fluke Fluke 101
6.7/10about £89.99
On this page

Top pick for daily electrician work

The top pick is the Fluke 117 at £215.00, rated 4.7 from 5,113 reviews. The listing says true RMS, VoltAlert, Auto Volt and a white LED backlight. Specification Met says CAT III 600 V. Fluke's UK page adds a 10 A range and a three-year warranty. The amazon.co.uk card does not print the 10 A figure and has no included-components line. UK reviews praise the detector and also say the display is hard to read off-axis. A review dated 25 June 2024 says the case was not in that order. The criterion is daily CAT III work where you want true RMS, a non-contact screen and a large UK review file.

Who should skip the 117

Skip the 117 if the point of work is the origin of the installation. CAT III 600 V matches distribution boards and socket outlets. It does not match the service head or outdoor supply conductors, which are CAT IV. Only the 177 and the 179 print CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. VoltAlert does not upgrade the category. Skip it if you need temperature. The 179, at £442.80 with 4.6 from 487 ratings, has the thermometer and the CAT IV line, and UK reviews still criticise the supplied leads. That choice is on Fluke 117 vs 179. A householder checking only batteries and flex does not need the 117. Family logic stays on the Fluke multimeter buying guide.
Fluke Fluke 117

Testsieger

Fluke Fluke 117
8.2/10about £215.00

Best value when you need current

The best value is the Fluke 15B+ at £101.45, rated 4.7 from 107 reviews, because the listing says AC and DC current up to 10 A. The box line is the meter, TL75 leads and two AA batteries. Above 10 A you want a clamp, not a thicker fuse in this meter. The 101 is cheaper at £89.99 and is the better buy when you do not need amps. Paying £11.46 more is the value move only if that 10 A line is why you came. True RMS is not stated for the 15B+, and Fluke's table marks it as not true RMS. A 1,000 V bullet sits beside CAT III 600 V. A type-K probe in the box is the 17B+ at £130.00, still not true RMS.

What best is not

Best is not the highest price. The 179 at £442.80 is the wrong default if your work stays inside CAT III and you want VoltAlert. Best is not the star average on its own. The 15B+, the 17B+ and the 117 all sit at 4.7, from 107, 62 and 5,113 ratings. The 177's 4.2 from three ratings cannot outrank a meter on stars. Nothing on this page was measured on a calibrator. A silent VoltAlert is not proof that a circuit is dead. GS38 still prefers a test lamp or a two-pole detector.

Common questions

What is the best Fluke for a UK electrician?
For daily work at CAT III 600 V, the Fluke 117 is the top pick in this set. It lists true RMS, VoltAlert and Auto Volt, costs £215.00, and has 4.7 from 5,113 ratings on amazon.co.uk. Fluke's UK page adds a 10 A range the Amazon card does not print. Skip it if you need CAT IV or a thermometer.
What if I only want the cheapest Fluke?
The cheapest listing here is the Fluke 101 at £89.99, with 4.5 from 1,561 ratings. It covers voltage, resistance, continuity, capacitance and frequency at CAT III 600 V, and it lists no amp range. If the cheapest meter that measures current is the question, that is the 15B+ at £101.45, which states up to 10 A and does not state true RMS.
Is the 179 the best because it costs more?
No. At £442.80 it is the listing that prints CAT IV 600 V, CAT III 1000 V and a built-in thermometer, with 4.6 from 487 ratings. That is the right buy when you need those lines. It is a poor default for domestic CAT III work, where the 117 has VoltAlert and low-impedance voltage and costs about half as much. UK reviews also criticise the 179's supplied leads.
Is 4.7 from 5,113 a lab score?
No. It is the amazon.co.uk star line for the 117 on 21 October 2026. It says a large number of shoppers rated the meter highly. It does not say the meter was calibrated, and it does not say every carton included a case. The 15B+ is also 4.7, from 107 ratings. Read the count beside the stars.
Why not the 177, which is also true RMS and CAT IV?
The 177 listing does print true RMS, CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V, at £382.80, with a 10-year warranty field. The review line is 4.2 from three ratings, and the captured texts are not from the UK. Without a UK review file, it stays off the top pick even though the category line is the one you want for the origin of the installation.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures for these seven listings. Price bands are this set, not a market average. A dollar price on a Fluke page is not a UK price.

  1. Fluke UK: multimeter safety guide (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE GS38 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE HSG85 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. HSE HSR25 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Fluke UK 117 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Fluke UK 179 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Fluke: 15B+ and 17B+ table (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 (retrieved 21 October 2026)