Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Japanese saw comparison 2026

The best Japanese saws, compared.

Top pick: Temple Tool R-240 ryoba – Highest score at 94 among the saws with a large review sample, at 4.7 from 434 amazon.co.uk reviews. Best value: WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw – Printed 200 mm length and 7–9 / 18 TPI at about £15.99, with 4.6 from 127 reviews. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

The thin plate keeps a narrow kerf, and the effort is often lower than a push saw in the same timber. You will see ryoba plates with rip teeth on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other, a kataba title, flush-cut saws for dowels and pegs, and a four-piece set. Only the 240 mm ryoba prints in the country-of-origin field. Most budget rows print and still use Japanese in the title. Is a steel grade, not proof of Japanese manufacture. Folding pull saws sit in a separate comparison. The family, length and origin forks are in the [Japanese saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/japanese-saw/sub/japanese-saw-buying-guide).

The thin plate keeps a narrow kerf, and the effort is often lower than a push saw in the same timber.

Temple Tool R-240 ryoba

Best overall

Temple Tool R-240 ryoba
9.4/10∼ £45

42 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best Japanese saws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Temple Tool R-240 ryoba
Temple Tool K-265 kataba
Magicbox 4-piece pull saw set
aieieii 2-piece pull saw
Temple Tool F-6 flush saw
SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba
Best value
WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw
Dandelionsky 10 inch pull saw
Yuiturt 150 mm flush saw
Temple Tool R-180 ryoba
JORGENSEN 250 mm pull saw
AIMAX double-edge pull saw
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.0/10
∼ £45
∼ £33
∼ £18
∼ £6
∼ £23
∼ £40
∼ £16
∼ £11
∼ £7
∼ £34
∼ £19
∼ £10
4.7(434)
4.7(74)
4.7(70)
4.7(15)
4.6(798)
4.6(657)
4.6(127)
4.6(100)
4.6(99)
4.6(93)
4.4(357)
4.0(9)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Japanese saws in detail

Temple Tool R-240 ryoba

Rank 1

Temple Tool R-240 ryoba

∼£45

Our view

The Temple Tool R-240 is a double-edge ryoba listed at £45.00 and about 320 g, with 4.7 from 434 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title prints 9.5 mm where you would expect a blade length, and the model code is R-240, so do not treat 9.5 mm as the cutting length until you open the live page. Bullets describe rip teeth on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other, plus a solid wood handle named as wingnut, for cutting stock to size and for medium joinery. Captured review keywords are sharp, smooth, and quality, with no repeated defect word in this extract. The comparison row marks a replaceable blade, and the origin line is a Japan listing claim, which is not the same as SUIZAN’s country-of-origin field. In this comparison it is the top pick on score among the saws with a large review sample. Leave it if you only need a budget SK5 plate, a flush saw for dowels, or a confirmed Japan origin row.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 434 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Double-edge ryoba layout for rip and crosscut
  • Model code R-240, separate from the 9.5 mm figure in the title
  • No repeated defect keyword in this review extract

Cons

  • £45.00 is the highest price in the set
  • The 9.5 mm title is not a confirmed blade length
  • Japan is a listing claim, not the spec-table origin used for SUIZAN
  • About 320 g, heavier than the 180 mm Temple ryoba

Best for: A general ryoba when you want the strongest score among saws with hundreds of reviews

Less suitable: Flush-cut dowel work, or buyers who need the price under £20 or a Japan origin field

Specifications

Model
Temple Tool R-240 ryoba
Brand
Temple Tool
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.7/5(434)
Saw type
Ryoba
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
Japan claim
Weight
320 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for the Temple Tool R-240?

The captured amazon.co.uk title prints 9.5 mm, and the comparison row shows 5 mm. Neither figure is a confirmed cutting length. The model code is R-240. Check the live page before you buy.

Is the Temple Tool R-240 sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke, not a push panel saw. Bullets put rip teeth on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other.

Where does the listing say the Temple Tool R-240 is made?

The country-of-origin line in this capture is a Japan listing claim. That is not the same as SUIZAN’s origin field, and it is not an independent certificate.

Temple Tool K-265 kataba

Rank 2

Temple Tool K-265 kataba

∼£33

Our view

The Temple Tool K-265 is listed at £32.80 and about 190 g as a 10.5 inch kataba, with 4.7 from 74 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title says single edge for rip, cross, and angle cuts, while a bullet block still describes rip teeth on one side and crosscut teeth on the other. That conflict is in the capture, so check the live photos before you assume you are buying one edge only. The handle is named as wingnut. Praise keywords are sharp, smooth, and quality; defect keywords include broke and snap, and cheap appears as a complaint. Seventy-four reviews can show a pattern, and they are not a large sample next to SUIZAN’s 657. A true kataba keeps one edge clear of the bench, but this row does not settle the tooth layout until the title and the bullets agree. Skip it if you need a documented TPI pair, which WORKPRO and SUIZAN print more clearly.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 74 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 10.5 inch title aimed at general rip, cross, and angle cuts
  • About 190 g
  • Wingnut handle named on the listing

Cons

  • Title says single-edge kataba while a bullet block describes two edges
  • Defect keywords include broke and snap
  • Tooth pitch is not printed as a TPI pair
  • 74 reviews is a modest sample

Best for: A longer single-plate saw if the live photos confirm the edge you think you are buying

Less suitable: Buyers who need an agreed single-edge spec, or a printed 9 and 15 TPI pair

Specifications

Model
Temple Tool K-265 kataba
Brand
Temple Tool
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.7/5(74)
Saw type
Kataba
Blade length
267 mm
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
Japan claim
Weight
190 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for the Temple Tool K-265?

The captured title says 10.5 inch. That is about 267 mm. Tooth pitch is not printed as a TPI pair. Check the live page, including whether the plate is single-edge.

Is the Temple Tool K-265 a single-edge kataba?

The title says single edge. A bullet block still describes rip teeth on one side and crosscut teeth on the other. Treat that as a listing conflict until the live page agrees.

Magicbox 4-piece pull saw set

Rank 3

Magicbox 4-piece pull saw set

∼£18

Our view

The Magicbox set is four pull saws at £17.99, about 310 g for the parcel, with 4.7 from 70 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets say two double-edge saws, a flush-cut saw, and further specialty saws with wooden handles, sold as a mixed kit rather than one measured ryoba. Country of origin prints China, so Japanese here is the pull-saw pattern, not a Japan manufacture claim. Review keywords are sharp, smooth, and quality, and this extract lists no repeated defect. Seventy reviews cover four plates, and blade length, TPI, and a replaceable-blade claim are missing from the comparison row. It suits a gift or a first kit if you accept that the pieces are harder to line up against a single 240 mm ryoba. It is a weaker choice if you want one documented length before you cut joinery.

Pros

  • Four saws, including double-edge and flush-cut pieces, at £17.99
  • 4.7 from 70 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Wooden handles named on the bullets
  • No repeated defect keyword in this extract

Cons

  • Country of origin is China
  • Blade length and TPI are not in the comparison row
  • Replaceable blade is not stated
  • A set is harder to compare with one ryoba

Best for: A starter or gift kit when you want flush and double-edge plates in one order

Less suitable: Buyers who want one stated blade length, a TPI pair, or a Japan origin field

Specifications

Model
Magicbox 4-piece pull saw set
Brand
Magicbox
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.7/5(70)
Saw type
4-piece set
Origin
China
Weight
310 g

Common questions

Is the Magicbox set sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes Japanese-style pull saws that cut on the pull stroke. The bullets say two double-edge saws, a flush-cut saw, and further specialty saws.

Where does the listing say Magicbox is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. Japanese in the title is the pull-saw pattern, not a Japan manufacture claim.

aieieii 2-piece pull saw

Rank 4

aieieii 2-piece pull saw

Our view

The aieieii listing is two pull saws at £6.45 and about 170 g, with 4.7 from only 15 amazon.co.uk reviews. Bullets describe a pull stroke, a hardwood handle, and an overall length of about 31 cm with a width of about 4.2 cm. Country of origin is China, and the comparison row does not print blade length, TPI, or a replaceable blade. Fifteen reviews can sit at 4.7 by chance, so the star line is not a reason to place it above saws with hundreds of reviews. Praise keywords are sharp and quality, and no defect keyword was captured in this small set. It is a twin pack if the lowest shelf price in the table is the whole decision and you will check both plates on arrival. It is a weak default if you need a stated TPI or a sample large enough to judge rust and kinks.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in the set at £6.45 for two saws
  • Pull-stroke design named on the bullets
  • Overall length printed at about 31 cm
  • 4.7 in the small sample that exists

Cons

  • Only 15 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • No blade length, TPI, or replaceable-blade line in the comparison row
  • Country of origin is China
  • The star line is too thin to rank against SUIZAN or Temple Tool

Best for: A spare twin pack when price matters more than a documented tooth pitch

Less suitable: Joinery where you need a stated TPI, or any pick based on review depth

Specifications

Model
aieieii 2-piece pull saw
Brand
aieieii
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.7/5(15)
Saw type
Double-edge
Origin
China
Weight
170 g

Common questions

Is the aieieii set sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke. Bullets give an overall length of about 31 cm. Blade length and TPI are not in the comparison row.

Where does the listing say aieieii is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. Fifteen amazon.co.uk reviews is too small a sample to rank this twin pack against SUIZAN or Temple Tool.

Temple Tool F-6 flush saw

Rank 5

Temple Tool F-6 flush saw

∼£23

Our view

The Temple Tool F-6 is a 6 inch flush-cut pull saw listed at £23.10 and about 90 g, and it shows 4.6 from 798 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set. It is for taking dowels, pegs, wedges, and proud tenons down to an adjacent face, not for ripping a board to length. The listing describes a double-edge plate and a dark brown handle it spells as Beach, with brass fittings, and the comparison row marks the blade as replaceable. Review keywords cluster on a sharp, smooth cut, while cheap is the repeated complaint. The origin line is a Japan listing claim, not a certificate, so treat made in Japan in the bullets as marketing until the live spec table repeats it. A flexible flush plate kinks if you push it like a panel saw or force a long rip. Keep it for pegs and proud ends, and choose a ryoba if you still need a rip edge and a crosscut edge on one plate.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 798 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • 6 inch flush-cut plate for dowels, pegs, wedges, and proud tenons
  • About 90 g, so it is light for one-handed trim cuts
  • Comparison row marks a replaceable blade

Cons

  • Wrong shape for long rip cuts
  • Review complaints include a cheap feel at £23.10
  • Japan is a listing claim, not a repeated spec-table origin
  • The handle material is printed as Beach

Best for: Flush-cutting dowels, pegs, and proud tenons when you want the largest review sample in this set

Less suitable: Ripping boards to length, or buyers who need a printed Japan country-of-origin field

Specifications

Model
Temple Tool F-6 flush saw
Brand
Temple Tool
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.6/5(798)
Saw type
Flush-cut
Blade length
152 mm
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
Japan claim
Weight
90 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for the Temple Tool F-6?

The captured listing says 6 inch, about 152 mm. It is a flush-cut plate for dowels, pegs and proud tenons, not a long rip. Check the live page before you buy.

Is the Temple Tool F-6 sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke. The plate is flexible. Pushing it like a panel saw is how a flush plate kinks.

Where does the listing say the Temple Tool F-6 is made?

The origin line is a Japan listing claim. The handle material is printed as Beach. Treat made in Japan in the bullets as marketing until the live spec table repeats it.

SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba

Rank 6

SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba

∼£40

Our view

The SUIZAN SR-001 is a 240 mm ryoba listed at £39.80 and about 200 g, with 4.6 from 657 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest ryoba sample in this set. Bullets print a 0.5 mm plate, 9 and 15 TPI, and about 59 cm overall, and the country-of-origin field says Japan, which no other row here matches. One edge is for rip and the other for crosscut, on the pull. Reviewers often call the cut sharp and smooth; repeated complaints include bent, cheap, and flimsy plates, plus broke and rust. A thin pull saw kinks if you push it, so those bent-plate notes sit with technique as well as with the steel. The comparison row marks a replaceable blade; confirm the spare on the live page. Choose it when you want a printed length, a printed TPI pair, and a Japan origin line. A flush-cut plate is the better shape if the job is only a few dowels.

Pros

  • 240 mm ryoba with 9 and 15 TPI printed on the bullets
  • Country of origin field says Japan
  • 4.6 from 657 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • About 200 g, with a 0.5 mm plate claimed

Cons

  • £39.80 is near the top of this set
  • Review keywords include bent, flimsy, broke, and rust
  • Thin plate kinks if you push it like a panel saw
  • More saw than a flush-cut dowel job needs

Best for: A general bench ryoba when you want Japan in the origin field and a printed 9 and 15 TPI pair

Less suitable: Dowel flush cuts, or buyers who want to stay under £20

Specifications

Model
SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba
Brand
SUIZAN
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.6/5(657)
Saw type
Ryoba
Blade length
240 mm
Tooth pitch
9 and 15 TPI
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
Japan
Weight
200 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for SUIZAN?

The captured listing prints a 240 mm blade, a 0.5 mm plate, 9 and 15 TPI, and about 59 cm overall. Check the live page before you buy.

Where does the listing say SUIZAN is made?

The country-of-origin field says Japan. That is the only origin field in this set that prints Japan. Bullets that say made in Japan on other brands are a separate claim.

WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw

Rank 7

WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw

∼£16

Our view

The WORKPRO W016085A is a 200 mm double-edge pull saw at £15.99 and about 245 g, with 4.6 from 127 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets split the plate into 7–9 TPI for quicker rip cuts and 18 TPI for crosscuts, on 0.6 mm SK5 with a gold-coloured coating, and they include a PVC tooth guard for storage. Country of origin is China, and the comparison row says the blade is replaceable. Praise is for a sharp, smooth cut; the captured defect keyword is rust, with no separate cheap complaint in this extract. One hundred and twenty-seven reviews is enough to treat the star line as more than a handful of first impressions. In this comparison it is best value when you want a stated length and TPI without paying £39.80 for the SUIZAN or £45 for the Temple ryoba. Leave it if you need a Japan origin field or a flexible flush plate for pegs.

Pros

  • 200 mm plate with 7–9 TPI rip and 18 TPI crosscut on the bullets
  • £15.99 with 4.6 from 127 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Replaceable blade and a PVC tooth guard named for storage
  • 0.6 mm SK5 plate claimed

Cons

  • Country of origin is China
  • Rust is the captured defect keyword
  • Not a flush-cut saw
  • SK5 does not mean made in Japan

Best for: A first double-edge pull saw when you want printed TPI and a price under £20

Less suitable: Buyers who need a Japan origin field, or flush-cutting dowels

Specifications

Model
WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw
Brand
WORKPRO
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.6/5(127)
Saw type
Double-edge
Blade length
200 mm
Tooth pitch
7–9 and 18 TPI
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
China
Weight
245 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for WORKPRO?

The captured amazon.co.uk listing ties this saw to 200 mm. The bullets add 7–9 TPI for rip and 18 TPI for crosscut. Check the live page before you buy.

Is WORKPRO sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke, not a push panel saw.

Where does the listing say WORKPRO is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. SK5 on the bullets is a steel grade, not a Japan manufacture claim.

Dandelionsky 10 inch pull saw

Rank 8

Dandelionsky 10 inch pull saw

∼£11

Our view

The Dandelionsky pull saw is a 10 inch SK5 plate listed at £10.98 and about 310 g, with 4.6 from 100 amazon.co.uk reviews. The capture also prints 255 mm as blade length, and the title says 17 teeth plus a beech and rattan handle for crosscut and rip. Country of origin is China. SK5 on that line is a steel grade, not proof the saw was made in Japan. Reviewers call the cut sharp and smooth; the criticism keyword is cheap, and no specific defect word was captured. A hundred reviews is a fair sample at this price, though tooth pitch is not given as a TPI pair the way WORKPRO states 7–9 and 18. It is a budget double-edge saw for trimming stock if you can live with a thin spec sheet. It is the wrong tool if you need a flush plate or a Japan origin field.

Pros

  • £10.98 for a 10 inch double-edge plate
  • 4.6 from 100 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • SK5 steel and a beech and rattan handle named on the listing
  • The listing also prints 255 mm as blade length

Cons

  • Country of origin is China
  • 17 teeth is not a clear rip and crosscut TPI pair
  • Review complaints include a cheap feel
  • Replaceable blade is not stated

Best for: Budget trimming to length when a printed TPI pair is not the priority

Less suitable: Flush-cut pegs, or buyers who need a Japan origin field

Specifications

Model
Dandelionsky 10 inch pull saw
Brand
Dandelionsky
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.6/5(100)
Saw type
Double-edge
Blade length
255 mm
Tooth pitch
17 teeth
Origin
China
Weight
310 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for Dandelionsky?

The title says 10 inch, and the capture also prints 255 mm. The title says 17 teeth, which is not a rip and crosscut TPI pair. Check the live page before you buy.

Where does the listing say Dandelionsky is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. SK5 on the listing is a steel grade, not proof the saw was made in Japan.

Yuiturt 150 mm flush saw

Rank 9

Yuiturt 150 mm flush saw

Our view

The Yuiturt RY5891 is a 150 mm flush-cut pull saw at £6.99 and about 70 g, with 4.6 from 99 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title prints 11/16 TPI fine teeth and a double edge for trimming and small DIY cuts, and the comparison row says the blade is replaceable. Country of origin is China, so a Japanese steel line in the bullets is marketing, not the origin field. Reviewers praise sharpness; cheap is the complaint keyword and snap is the defect keyword. Ninety-nine reviews is a usable sample at this price, and a 150 mm flexible plate is for pegs and proud ends, not for ripping a board. It is a low-cost flush saw if the Temple 6 inch at £23.10 is more than the job needs. It is the wrong plate if you still need a ryoba with a stated rip edge and a crosscut edge for joinery.

Pros

  • £6.99 for a 150 mm flush-cut plate
  • 4.6 from 99 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 11/16 TPI printed in the title
  • About 70 g, with a replaceable blade claimed

Cons

  • Snap is a captured defect keyword
  • Too short and too flexible for long rips
  • Country of origin is China
  • Review complaints include a cheap feel

Best for: Trimming pegs and proud ends when a £23 flush saw is more than you want to spend

Less suitable: Ripping or crosscutting joinery stock to length

Specifications

Model
Yuiturt 150 mm flush saw
Brand
Yuiturt
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.6/5(99)
Saw type
Flush-cut
Blade length
150 mm
Tooth pitch
11/16 TPI
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
China
Weight
70 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for Yuiturt?

The captured title says 150 mm, with 11/16 TPI fine teeth. It is a flush-cut plate for pegs and proud ends, not a long rip. Check the live page before you buy.

Where does the listing say Yuiturt is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. A Japanese steel line in the bullets does not change that field.

Temple Tool R-180 ryoba

Rank 10

Temple Tool R-180 ryoba

∼£34

Our view

The Temple Tool R-180 is sold as a 180 mm ryoba at £33.50 and about 181 g, with 4.6 from 93 amazon.co.uk reviews. Rip teeth sit on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other, and the bullets aim it at dovetails, tenons, and cutting boards down to length and width. Reviewers praise a sharp, smooth cut, and they also mention bent and kinked plates, a flimsy feel, and rust. Ninety-three reviews is a real sample, though much smaller than the Temple flush saw or the SUIZAN ryoba. The comparison row marks a replaceable blade and a Japan listing claim; confirm that on the live page, because Temple bullets often say made in Japan without the spec table repeating it. The short plate helps control on joinery if you already cut on the pull. It is a poor match if you need a 240 mm stroke for thicker stock or a flexible plate for pegs.

Pros

  • 180 mm plate aimed at dovetails, tenons, and board sizing
  • Rip and crosscut edges on one saw
  • About 181 g
  • 4.6 from 93 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Review keywords include bent, kink, flimsy, and rust
  • 93 reviews is a smaller sample than SUIZAN or the Temple flush saw
  • Japan remains a listing claim
  • Too short a stroke if you wanted the 240 mm SUIZAN

Best for: Joinery-sized stock when you want a compact ryoba and can store the plate dry

Less suitable: Long rips in thick boards, or flush-cutting pegs

Specifications

Model
Temple Tool R-180 ryoba
Brand
Temple Tool
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.6/5(93)
Saw type
Ryoba
Blade length
180 mm
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
Japan claim
Weight
181 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for the Temple Tool R-180?

The captured amazon.co.uk listing ties this saw to 180 mm. Rip and crosscut edges share the plate. Tooth pitch is not printed. Check the live page before you buy.

Is the Temple Tool R-180 sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke. The bullets aim it at dovetails, tenons, and cutting boards to length and width.

JORGENSEN 250 mm pull saw

Rank 11

JORGENSEN 250 mm pull saw

∼£19

Our view

The JORGENSEN 70626A is a 250 mm double-edge pull saw at £18.99 and about 280 g, with 4.4 from 357 amazon.co.uk reviews. Bullets give 7–12 TPI progressive teeth for rip and 18 TPI for crosscut, on a 0.5 mm SK5 plate with electroless nickel plating, and the comparison row says the blade is replaceable. Country of origin is China. Across 357 reviews the praise is still sharp and smooth, while complaints include bent and cheap, and snap appears as a defect word. The 4.4 line is the second-lowest star rating here, so the longer plate does not buy the same rating as the 200 mm WORKPRO. It suits you if you want a 250 mm stroke and a printed fine crosscut edge under £20. It is a weaker pick if a kinked or snapped plate is the risk you most want to avoid.

Pros

  • 250 mm plate, the longest stated length in the budget band
  • 18 TPI crosscut edge and 7–12 TPI progressive rip teeth
  • 4.4 from 357 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Replaceable blade claimed, with nickel plating named

Cons

  • 4.4 is below the 4.6 cluster in this set
  • Review keywords include bent, cheap, and snap
  • Country of origin is China
  • About 280 g, heavier than the WORKPRO

Best for: A longer budget ryoba-style plate when 250 mm of stroke matters more than the star line

Less suitable: Buyers who want the higher 4.6 ratings in this table, or a Japan origin field

Specifications

Model
JORGENSEN 250 mm pull saw
Brand
Jorgensen
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.4/5(357)
Saw type
Double-edge
Blade length
250 mm
Tooth pitch
7–12 and 18 TPI
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
China
Weight
280 g

Common questions

What blade length does the listing give for JORGENSEN?

The captured listing says 250 mm, with 7–12 TPI progressive teeth for rip and 18 TPI for crosscut. Check the live page before you buy.

Where does the listing say JORGENSEN is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. The star line is 4.4 from 357 amazon.co.uk reviews, below the 4.6 cluster in this set.

AIMAX double-edge pull saw

Rank 12

AIMAX double-edge pull saw

∼£10

Our view

The AIMAX RBJ-0926 is listed at £9.99 as a small double-edge pull saw, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 9 reviews, the weakest star line and the smallest sample in this set. Bullets describe a pull stroke and a high-carbon steel blade with a non-slip handle, and the comparison row says the blade is replaceable. Blade length and TPI are not printed, and the weight field says 10 g, which is not a believable mass for a handsaw, so treat that figure as a listing error. Country of origin is China. Nine reviews mention sharp and smooth without a captured defect keyword, which is too little to judge rust or a kink. It is only worth a look if the price is the whole decision and you will inspect the plate on arrival. Skip it when you want a documented 200 mm or 240 mm ryoba.

Pros

  • £9.99 shelf price
  • Pull stroke and a non-slip handle named on the bullets
  • Comparison row marks a replaceable blade

Cons

  • 4.0 from only 9 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • No printed blade length or TPI
  • Listed weight of 10 g is not a credible saw mass
  • Country of origin is China

Best for: A low-stakes spare only if you inspect the plate before the first cut

Less suitable: Anyone choosing from review depth, or a joinery ryoba with a stated length

Specifications

Model
AIMAX double-edge pull saw
Brand
AIMAX
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.0/5(9)
Saw type
Double-edge
Replaceable blade
Yes
Origin
China

Common questions

Is AIMAX sold as a pull saw?

The listing describes a Japanese-style pull saw that cuts on the pull stroke. Blade length and TPI are not printed. The weight field says 10 g, which is not a credible handsaw mass.

Where does the listing say AIMAX is made?

The country-of-origin field prints China. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 9 reviews, the smallest sample in this set.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings from this October 2026 capture are on the page. A wider set of pull-saw listings was screened and not all of them are in the table. There is no laboratory test. The top pick is the Temple Tool R-240, the display award on the highest score among saws with a large review sample. Best value is the WORKPRO 200 mm saw, the display award for a printed length and tooth pitch under £20. Weights follow the buying order in the digest.

1

Saw family

25%

Ryoba for rip and crosscut on one plate, kataba for a single edge, flush-cut for dowels and pegs. A four-piece set is scored as a kit, not as one measured ryoba.

2

Blade length and TPI

25%

A printed length and a printed tooth pair rank above a title figure that does not match the bullets. The Temple Tool 9.5 mm title is not treated as a confirmed cutting length.

3

Origin versus marketing

20%

The country-of-origin field is the line that counts. Japan in a bullet, or Japanese in the title, does not override a China origin. SK5 is a steel grade.

4

Replaceable blade

10%

A replaceable blade is counted only when that row states it. A tooth guard is storage. It is not a dozuki spine.

5

Review depth

20%

Stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already in the display score. A tiny sample is called out in the write-up even when that score is high.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Japanese saw buying guide

Choose the family before the brand. A ryoba covers rip and crosscut. A flush-cut saw is for pegs. A kataba is one edge, if the listing actually agrees with itself. Then read length, tooth pitch and the country-of-origin field. Prices below are the October 2026 amazon.co.uk captures for these twelve listings.

What is a Japanese saw?

A Japanese saw is a pull-stroke hand saw. The thin plate cuts on the pull, which keeps the kerf narrow and the effort lower than many push saws for the same cut in timber. UK buyers use one for joinery, for trimming stock to length, for flush-cutting dowels, and for DIY woodworking. It is not a chainsaw and it does not replace a powered circular saw. Cut on the pull. On the return stroke use little more than the weight of the saw. If the plate binds, ease the cut.

Best for

  • Joinery when you want one ryoba around 180–240 mm
  • Flush-cutting dowels, pegs and proud tenons
  • A first double-edge saw under £20 with a printed tooth pitch

Not ideal for

  • Long rip cuts with a flexible flush-cut plate
  • Buyers who read Japanese in the title as made in Japan
  • Chainsaw, circular saw or pruning work beyond a small DIY cut

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Pushing the plate like a British panel saw

    These saws cut on the pull. On the return, little more than the weight of the saw should sit on the wood. Twisting a thin plate when it binds is how kinks start. A bent plate in the box is a fault. A kink after you push the saw is technique.

  2. 2

    Buying a flush-cut saw for a long rip

    The Temple Tool F-6 and the Yuiturt 150 mm saw flex so a dowel or proud tenon can come down to the face. They are the wrong shape for ripping a board to length. Use a ryoba, or another double-edge plate, when you need a rip edge and a crosscut edge.

  3. 3

    Reading Japanese as made in Japan

    Only SUIZAN prints Japan in the country-of-origin field. China is the origin on the budget rows, including WORKPRO and JORGENSEN. SK5 is a steel grade. The Temple Tool title that prints 9.5 mm is not a blade length, and a kataba title can still carry a double-edge bullet.

What to weigh up

Saw family

High

Ryoba is the general bench saw in this set. Rip teeth sit on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other, and the plate cuts on the pull. SUIZAN’s 240 mm ryoba, Temple Tool’s 180 mm ryoba, and the Temple Tool listing whose model code is R-240 are in that family, as are WORKPRO, JORGENSEN and the budget double-edge plates. Kataba is the single-edge shape.

Blade length and tooth pitch

High

Length and teeth per inch decide the stroke and the finish. SUIZAN prints 240 mm, a 0.5 mm plate, 9 and 15 TPI, and about 59 cm overall. WORKPRO prints 200 mm, 7–9 TPI for rip and 18 TPI for crosscut, on a 0.6 mm plate. JORGENSEN prints 250 mm, 7–12 TPI progressive rip teeth and 18 TPI for crosscut. Temple Tool’s R-180 is 180 mm and is aimed at dovetails, tenons and board sizing. The flush saws are shorter: 6 inch on the Temple Tool F-6, and 150 mm with 11/16 TPI on Yuiturt.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Joinery on one ryoba

You want one pull saw around 180–240 mm, with rip teeth and crosscut teeth, and a lesson on starting the kerf. The SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba prints 9 and 15 TPI and Japan in the origin field, at about £39.80, with 4.6 from 657 reviews.

Budget DIY under £20

You are trading a Japan origin field for a double-edge SK5 plate with a printed length. The WORKPRO 200 mm saw is best value at about £15.99, with 7–9 TPI and 18 TPI on the bullets and 4.6 from 127 reviews.

A first kit or a gift

A mixed kit is easier to give than to compare with one ryoba. The Magicbox set is four pull saws at about £17.99, with 4.7 from 70 reviews. Blade length and TPI are not in the comparison row, and the origin field prints China.

Common questions about Japanese saws

Which Japanese saw is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Temple Tool R-240 ryoba, at about £45.00 with 4.7 from 434 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is a double-edge pull saw, and that score is the highest among the rows with a large review sample. The title prints 9.5 mm, which is not a confirmed blade length. Leave it if you only need a flush plate for pegs, or a saw under £20.
How much does a Japanese saw cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this October 2026 capture, shelf prices run from about £6.45 to £45.00. Entry saws sit at about £6 to £11. Mid prices are about £15 to £19, including WORKPRO at £15.99. Upper rows run from the Temple Tool flush saw at £23.10 to the Temple Tool ryoba at £45.00. SUIZAN is £39.80. These are listing prices, not a market study.
What should you check before you buy a Japanese saw?
Check the saw family first: ryoba for rip and crosscut, kataba for one edge, flush-cut for dowels and pegs. Then check blade length and teeth per inch, because several titles omit them. Read the country-of-origin field. Only SUIZAN prints Japan in this set. SK5 is a steel grade, not a factory. A replaceable blade counts only when that ASIN states it. A star rating with a handful of reviews is a thin sample.
Does Japanese in the title mean the saw was made in Japan?
No. In this set only the SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba prints Japan in the country-of-origin field. Temple Tool bullets may say made in Japan, but that is a listing claim and the spec table may not repeat it. Magicbox, Dandelionsky, aieieii, WORKPRO, JORGENSEN, AIMAX and Yuiturt print China. Japanese in those titles describes the pull-saw pattern, not the factory. SK5 on a China row does not change the origin field.
Should you buy a ryoba, a kataba or a flush-cut saw?
A ryoba is the general bench saw: one edge rips and the other crosscuts, on the pull. A kataba is single-edged, but the Temple Tool 10.5 inch title and one bullet block do not agree. A flush-cut plate is for dowels, pegs and proud ends, not a long rip. A four-piece set covers more than one job and is harder to match to a single length.
How do you use a Japanese pull saw without kinking the plate?
Cut on the pull. On the return stroke use little more than the weight of the saw. If the plate binds, ease the cut. Twisting a thin plate is how kinks start. Keep fingers clear of the kerf, and use a guard where the box includes one. A bent plate on arrival is not the same as a kink from pushing. See how to use a Japanese saw.
Is the 9.5 mm figure on the Temple Tool ryoba the blade length?
Do not treat 9.5 mm as the cutting length until the live listing says so. The model code is R-240, and the comparison row in this capture shows 5 mm, which is the same unresolved figure. Bullets still describe rip teeth on one edge and crosscut teeth on the other. SUIZAN is the row that prints 240 mm in plain text.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Temple Tool R-240 ryoba at about £45.00. It scores 94, from 4.7 and 434 amazon.co.uk reviews, as a double-edge pull saw with a large sample and no repeated defect word in this extract. The 9.5 mm figure in the title is not a confirmed blade length. Best value is the WORKPRO 200 mm saw at about £15.99. It scores 92, from 4.6 and 127 reviews, with 7–9 and 18 TPI printed and the origin field set to China. The SUIZAN 240 mm ryoba is the row that prints Japan and a 9 and 15 TPI pair. A flush-cut plate is the shape for pegs, not for a long rip.

Best overall
Temple Tool R-240 ryoba

Temple Tool R-240 ryoba

Highest score at 94 among the saws with a large review sample, at 4.7 from 434 amazon.co.uk reviews.

View offer
Best value
WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw

WORKPRO 200 mm pull saw

Printed 200 mm length and 7–9 / 18 TPI at about £15.99, with 4.6 from 127 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPower sawsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Japanese saws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public sources named in the research digest, plus the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Retrieved October 2026.

  1. SUIZAN: how to choose a Japanese saw (retrieved October 2026)
  2. Woodsmith: selecting and using Japanese saws (retrieved October 2026)
  3. Knivesandtools UK: how to use a pull saw (retrieved October 2026)
  4. Z-Saw: pull-stroke reference (retrieved October 2026)
  5. HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved October 2026)
  7. RHS: pruning guide (retrieved October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for this set (retrieved October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.