Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Folding saw comparison 2026

The best Folding saws, compared.

Top pick: Goldblatt folding jab saw Best value: GTIWUNG folding saw – Score 80 at about £6.99, with 4.4 from 2,142 reviews, the strongest remaining row on price and evidence. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A folding saw locks its blade into the handle for carrying and locks open for the cut. UK garden writing treats a coarse tooth around 6–8, a blade roughly 180–250 mm, and a lock that holds the blade open as the useful garden pattern. A closed lock matters if the saw goes in a pocket. Most pruning folders cut on the pull, and a thin pull blade buckles if you shove it. How to order the checks is in the [folding saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/folding-saw/sub/folding-saw-buying-guide). A folding pruning saw is one-handed, with a coarse tooth, for garden branches you can reach from the ground. A camping folder uses the same hinge and is judged on closed length and covered teeth. A folding jab saw has a short pointed blade for board. Quality here means a blade length the listing states once, a lock the reviews do not contradict, and a title that matches the material. None of the scores is a lab test.

A folding saw locks its blade into the handle for carrying and locks open for the cut.

Goldblatt folding jab saw

Best overall

Goldblatt folding jab saw
9.4/10∼ £13

32 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +17,300 readers

9 of 9: Best Folding saws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Goldblatt folding jab saw
HAUTMEC 230 mm folding saw
GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw
Nordic Arnvik folding saw
XCDMJ folding saw
Best value
GTIWUNG folding saw
EZARC 266 mm folding saw
GETBSTOOP folding saw
KFSCIP folding pull saw
9.4/10
9.6/10
9.8/10
9.2/10
8.4/10
8.8/10
9.0/10
7.4/10
1.0/10
∼ £13
∼ £17
∼ £16
∼ £45
∼ £8
∼ £7
∼ £24
∼ £16
∼ £8
4.8(6,009)
4.7(54)
4.6(1,921)
4.5(78)
4.5(48)
4.4(2,142)
4.3(29)
3.9(7)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Folding saws in detail

Goldblatt folding jab saw

Rank 1

Goldblatt folding jab saw

∼£13

Our view

The Goldblatt G08501A is a folding jab saw for drywall and wallboard, not a tree saw, despite sharing a hinge with pruning folders. At about £12.74 it shows 4.8 from 6,009 reviews, the highest count in the comparison, but that file is mostly board and panel work. The 8 TPI bi-metal blade is about 133 mm, and the bullets say it cuts on both push and pull. A lock against accidental closing is mentioned. If you are cutting plasterboard holes or plywood panels, the review depth is real. If you searched for a pruning saw, the stars are misleading because the job is wrong.

Pros

  • 4.8 from 6,009 reviews for board and panel use
  • 8 TPI bi-metal blade with a push-and-pull claim
  • Lock against accidental closing in the bullets
  • Light at 220 g and about £12.74

Cons

  • Drywall jab saw, not for green garden wood
  • About 133 mm, short for branch work
  • The pruning scores do not apply to this type
  • A 1,750 speed row is listing noise

Best for: You need a folding jab saw for plasterboard, wallboard, plywood, or PVC panels indoors.

Less suitable: You want to prune live branches, cut camp firewood, or use coarse green-wood teeth.

Specifications

Model
Goldblatt folding jab saw
Brand
Goldblatt
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.8/5(6,009)
Saw type
Jab saw
Blade length
133 mm
Tooth
8 TPI
Stroke
Push and pull
Lock
Close lock
Handle
Soft grip
Stated job
Drywall
Weight
220 g
Listing noise
1750 speed

Common questions

Is the Goldblatt a pruning saw?

The title is a folding jab saw for drywall. The bullets name drywall, wallboard, plywood, plastic panels, and PVC.

Which way do the teeth cut?

The bullets say the 8 TPI bi-metal blade cuts on both the push and the pull.

How long is the blade?

The bullets say 133 mm. The blade-length row says 12.7 cm. Total length in the bullets is 310 mm.

HAUTMEC 230 mm folding saw

Rank 2

HAUTMEC 230 mm folding saw

∼£17

Our view

The HAUTMEC HT0304, at about £16.99, puts a 230 mm SK5 blade and 7 TPI triple-cut teeth in front of you, with a bolt lock described for the open position. It scores 4.7 from only 54 reviews, so the star line looks strong but the evidence is thin compared with the GRÜNTEK or GTIWUNG files. The item-weight row says 370 g while the bullets say 350 g. UK buyers mention wet branches and general wood, but the closed lock is not promised. The EZARC states a longer blade, at 266 mm. If you want a 230 mm folder for ground-level branches and you accept a smaller review pool, this is a clear mid-length row. It is not the pick when you want thousands of UK write-ups before you trust the lock.

Pros

  • 230 mm blade stated in the listing
  • 7 TPI triple-cut teeth with deep gullets in the bullets
  • Bolt lock when open is described
  • 4.7 star line at about £16.99

Cons

  • Only 54 reviews behind the 4.7 score
  • Closed lock not stated
  • Weight row and bullets disagree
  • No case in the included-components field

Best for: You want a 230 mm stated blade for ground-level branches and can live with fifty-odd reviews.

Less suitable: You want the largest review file, or a pocket folder that must lock closed.

Specifications

Model
HAUTMEC 230 mm folding saw
Brand
HAUTMEC
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.7/5(54)
Saw type
Pruning folder
Blade length
230 mm
Tooth
7 TPI
Lock
Open bolt lock
Handle
ABS and rubber
Stated job
Wet branches
Weight
350–370 g

Common questions

Does the HAUTMEC lock when closed?

The bullets describe a bolt lock in the open position. They do not say the blade locks closed.

What tooth pattern does the listing print?

The bullets say 7 TPI triple-cut teeth with deep gullets. The number-of-teeth row also says 7.

Which weight is in the file?

The item-weight row says 370 g. The bullets say 350 g.

GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw

Rank 3

GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw

∼£16

Our view

The GRÜNTEK 180 mm folder, listed at about £15.98, weighs 254 g and carries 4.6 from 1,921 amazon.co.uk reviews, which is the largest pruning sample in this nine. The cork handle gets repeated praise in UK texts for grip in damp gloves, and buyers describe shrub work, ivy, and small branches rather than thick trunks. The blade-length row says 180 mm while the overall length is 410 mm in the bullets. The listing does not clearly promise a closed lock, and the 4,500 rpm and 8 watt rows are noise on a hand-powered saw. Some reviewers call the plate thinner than a fixed pruning saw, so forcing a push stroke can buckle it. Modern Gardens noted the cork handle and 18 cm blade in a 2026 pruning roundup, but that is shelf context, not a test of this ASIN.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 1,921 reviews, the largest pruning file here
  • 180 mm blade stated with a cork handle
  • About £15.98, with a 24-month warranty in the bullets
  • Teflon-coat claim on the blade in the listing

Cons

  • Closed lock not stated on the listing
  • 4,500 rpm and watt rows conflict with manual power
  • TPI is not printed clearly in the bullets
  • Not a drywall or plasterboard jab saw

Best for: You want a garden pruning folder with a large UK review file and a cork grip for wet hands.

Less suitable: You need a closed lock for pocket carry, plasterboard cuts, or thick overhead limbs.

Specifications

Model
GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw
Brand
GRÜNTEK
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,921)
Saw type
Pruning folder
Blade length
180 mm
Tooth
6 teeth
Lock
Closed not stated
Handle
Cork
Stated job
Wood and trees
Weight
254 g
Listing noise
4500 rpm

Common questions

How long is the GRÜNTEK blade?

The blade-length row says 180 mm. The bullets say the overall length is 410 mm and the weight row says 254 g.

Does the listing include a case?

The included-components field says folding saw. It does not name a case.

Is the 4,500 rpm row a motor?

The power-source row says manual. The 4,500 rpm and 8 watt rows conflict with a hand saw and are listing noise.

Nordic Arnvik folding saw

Rank 4

Nordic Arnvik folding saw

∼£45

Our view

The Nordic Arnvik 11720 sits at about £44.99 with a 210 mm SK5 blade and 8 TPI in the bullets, marketed for garden trees and camping firewood. At 4.5 from 78 reviews it sits in the top price band of this set, and repeated UK reviews say it locks open but does not lock closed, which matters if you pocket it on a trail. The weight row prints 320 g against 252 g in the bullets. Open length is about 445 mm and closed about 240 mm in the listing text. Buyers who want a stiff garden folder and will store it in a bag rather than a trouser pocket may still like the cut. Anyone who needs a closed latch should read those UK lock comments before paying the top price in this set.

Pros

  • 210 mm SK5 blade with 8 TPI stated
  • 4.5 from 78 reviews
  • TPE handle on a metal frame
  • Blade replacement claimed in the listing

Cons

  • UK reviews report no closed lock
  • About £44.99 with a smaller file than the budget picks
  • Weight row conflicts with the bullets
  • Teeth row says 67, which does not match 8 TPI cleanly

Best for: You want a 210 mm garden folder and will carry it in a bag, with the blade secured by a case or by habit.

Less suitable: You need a closed lock in a pocket, or a folder under about £12.

Specifications

Model
Nordic Arnvik folding saw
Brand
Nordic Pocket Saw
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.5/5(78)
Saw type
Pruning folder
Blade length
210 mm
Tooth
8 TPI
Lock
No closed lock
Handle
TPE
Stated job
Garden and camp
Weight
252–320 g

Common questions

Does the Arnvik lock when it is folded?

UK reviews in the file say it locks open and does not lock closed. The bullets do not clearly promise a closed lock.

What blade length is printed?

The blade-length row says 21 cm. The bullets say 210 mm, about 0.8 mm thick, 445 mm open and 240 mm closed.

Which weight is in the file?

The item-weight row says 320 g. The bullets say 252 g.

XCDMJ folding saw

Rank 5

XCDMJ folding saw

Our view

The XCDMJ pruning saw001 lists at about £7.69 with two spare blades in the bullets and 4.5 from 48 reviews. There is no blade-length row, only item dimensions of 24 x 6 x 3 cm, so you cannot compare reach directly with the 180 mm or 230 mm folders. UK reviews mention teeth that seem far apart, a blade that can stick, and one shredded cut. The power-source row says pneumatic, which does not describe a hand saw. A secure lock is claimed, but the evidence is thin. The spare blades may suit someone who expects to wear teeth on dry and wet wood, yet the listing also names plastic and bone, which is a wide claim for a budget folder.

Pros

  • Two spare blades in the bullets at about £7.69
  • 4.5 from 48 reviews
  • Secure lock claimed
  • Rubber handle stated

Cons

  • No blade-length row in the file
  • UK reviews report sticking and a rough cut
  • Pneumatic power row is listing noise
  • Teeth row says 3, which is not a useful TPI

Best for: You want spare blades in the box for light pruning and will measure the blade yourself.

Less suitable: You need a stated millimetre length before purchase, or a large review file on lock quality.

Specifications

Model
XCDMJ folding saw
Brand
XCDMJ
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.5/5(48)
Saw type
Pruning folder
Tooth
3 teeth
Stroke
Pull, bullets
Lock
Lock claimed
Handle
Rubber
Case
Spare blades
Stated job
Wood and plastic
Weight
280 g
Listing noise
Pneumatic

Common questions

How many blades are in the listing?

The bullets say one saw and two replacement blades. The included-components field says pruning saw. The unit count is 3.

Is a blade length printed?

There is no blade-length row. The item dimensions are 24 x 6 x 3 cm.

What did UK reviews complain about?

Reviews say the teeth seem far apart, the blade can stick, and one cut shredded the branch. One review wanted a pouch.

GTIWUNG folding saw

Rank 6

GTIWUNG folding saw

Our view

The GTIWUNG T022 is the price outlier at about £6.99 with 4.4 from 2,142 reviews, which is why it is best value in this set. UK texts describe hydrangea, thin yew, ivy, and small branches, but several call the blade a little bendy under pressure. The blade-length row says 13.5 mm while dimensions print 30 cm, so the spec table does not agree with itself and you should treat length as uncertain until you measure the tool. The 4,500 rpm row is listing noise on a hand-powered saw. For occasional light shrub tidying where you accept a flexier plate, the review volume is hard to ignore. It is the wrong anchor when you need a confirmed 180 mm or 230 mm figure on the page.

Pros

  • About £6.99 with 4.4 from 2,142 reviews
  • Light at 150 g in the listing
  • UK reviews cover small garden jobs
  • Hand-powered row is the one to keep, despite rpm noise

Cons

  • Blade-length row conflicts with the dimensions
  • UK reviews mention a bendy blade
  • Lock not described in the bullets
  • Not a stiff plate or a confirmed closed lock

Best for: You want the cheapest evidenced folder for light shrub and ivy work and will treat the length rows cautiously.

Less suitable: You need a trusted blade length on the listing, a stiff plate, or a closed lock you can read in the bullets.

Specifications

Model
GTIWUNG folding saw
Brand
GTIWUNG
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(2,142)
Saw type
Landscaping
Blade length
13.5 mm / 30 cm
Tooth
8 teeth
Lock
Not stated
Handle
Plastic
Case
Review only
Stated job
Trees and shrubs
Weight
150 g
Listing noise
4500 rpm

Common questions

How long is the GTIWUNG blade?

The blade-length row says 13.5 mm. The item dimensions are 30 x 15 x 2.5 cm. The file does not reconcile the two.

What do UK reviews use it for?

UK texts describe small branches, shrubs, hydrangea, thin yew, and ivy. One review says the blade is a little bendy.

Is the 4,500 rpm row a motor?

The power-source row says hand powered. The 4,500 rpm row conflicts with that and is listing noise.

EZARC 266 mm folding saw

Rank 7

EZARC 266 mm folding saw

∼£24

Our view

The EZARC 813102 offers a 266 mm SK5 blade, 7 TPI triple-ground teeth, and a bag in the box field for about £23.97. The score is 4.3 from 29 reviews, and only three review texts in the file are from the UK. One of those UK buyers says the lock did not engage; another calls the lock sound, so the double-lock claim is not uniformly confirmed. The bullets also claim cuts up to 178 mm diameter, which is a seller claim, not a measurement on this page. If you need the longest stated blade plus a carry bag and accept a thin review file, it is a plausible garden folder. If the lock has to be settled before you buy, the mixed UK lock notes should slow you down.

Pros

  • 266 mm blade, the longest stated length here
  • Carry bag included in the listing
  • 7 TPI triple-ground teeth stated
  • Double lock claimed in the bullets

Cons

  • Only 29 reviews, with mixed UK lock reports
  • A 178 mm capacity line is a seller claim only
  • 4.3 star line, below several rivals
  • Handle material row is blank

Best for: You want the longest stated blade in this set, with a bag, and you will test the lock on arrival.

Less suitable: You want thousands of reviews before you trust a lock, or a closed lock proved in UK reviews.

Specifications

Model
EZARC 266 mm folding saw
Brand
EZARC
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.3/5(29)
Saw type
Pruning folder
Blade length
266 mm
Tooth
7 TPI
Stroke
Pull, reviews
Lock
Lock disputed
Handle
Ergonomic
Case
Bag
Stated job
Branches
Weight
300 g

Common questions

Does the EZARC come with a case?

The title says a carry case. The included-components field says bag.

What diameter do the bullets claim?

The bullets say branches, wood, bamboo, and plastic pipes up to 178 mm. That figure is a seller claim in the listing, not a measurement on this page.

Did UK reviews mention the lock?

One UK review says the lock did not activate. Another UK review calls the lock sound. The file has three UK texts.

GETBSTOOP folding saw

Rank 8

GETBSTOOP folding saw

∼£16

Our view

The GETBSTOOP yellow camping saw is about £15.99 with a storage bag and 3.9 from only 7 reviews. Five UK texts in the file mention camping, a 70 mm limit from one buyer, jamming, and a mechanism that lost tension after first use. The saw type here is a folding camping saw, with fishtail and triangular teeth in the bullets but no blade-length row. At 200 g it is light, yet the star line and sample size are the weakest among the listings that have reviews. It might suffice for occasional dry stick cutting on a trip if you carry the bag and keep expectations low. For a primary garden saw, the review file is too small and too negative to lean on.

Pros

  • Storage bag included
  • 200 g stated weight
  • Camping and wet or dry wood named in the bullets
  • High manganese steel on the blade-material row

Cons

  • 3.9 from 7 reviews
  • UK texts report jamming and lost tension
  • No blade length in the file
  • Lock not specified

Best for: You already own a better garden saw and want a bagged backup for rare camp trimming.

Less suitable: You want one folder for green-wood pruning or a camp saw with a larger review file.

Specifications

Model
GETBSTOOP folding saw
Brand
GETBSTOOP
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.9/5(7)
Saw type
Camping folder
Tooth
Mixed teeth
Handle
Plastic
Case
Bag
Stated job
Camping
Weight
200 g

Common questions

Does the GETBSTOOP include a bag?

The title says a storage bag. The included-components field says bag.

What steel do the bullets name?

The blade-material row says high manganese steel. The bullets also say an aluminium-alloy body.

What do the seven reviews say?

The file has five UK texts. They include camping use, a 70 mm limit from one buyer, jamming, and tension lost after the first use.

KFSCIP folding pull saw

Rank 9

KFSCIP folding pull saw

Our view

The KFSCIP double-edged folding pull saw lists at about £7.99 with SK5 steel and a wooden handle, but the raw file has no star line and no review count, so the score stays at zero. The weight row says 10 g while closed size in the bullets is 165 mm by 45 mm, and the dimension row prints 10 x 10 x 1 cm, which cannot all be true. The title promises a Japanese pull pattern with fine and rough sides, yet TPI is not stated and there are no UK cut reports to check the edge. A lock to keep the blade folded is claimed. Without reviews, you are buying on listing text alone.

Pros

  • Double-edged pull saw in the title
  • SK5 steel and a wood handle in the bullets
  • A folded lock is claimed
  • About £7.99

Cons

  • No reviews or star line in the file
  • Weight and dimension rows conflict with the bullets
  • TPI not stated for either edge
  • No UK cut reports to check the pull stroke

Best for: You accept a listing with no reviews and want a cheap double-edged pull folder to inspect on arrival.

Less suitable: You want a recommendation backed by amazon.co.uk review text, or a confirmed cutting length.

Specifications

Model
KFSCIP folding pull saw
Brand
KFSCIP
Price
∼£8
Saw type
Pull saw
Blade length
165 mm closed
Tooth
Fine and rough
Stroke
Pull
Lock
Folded lock
Handle
Wood
Stated job
Bushcraft
Listing noise
10 g row

Common questions

Are there reviews in the file?

The raw file has no customer-review line and no review texts.

What size does the listing print?

The bullets say 165 mm by 45 mm when closed. The dimension row says 10 x 10 x 1 cm and the weight row says 10 g.

Is it a pull saw?

The title says Japanese pull saw with a double-edged blade. It does not print a TPI.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, with bestseller-shelf context from 20 October 2026. There is no lab test. Each score is 0–100. It starts from the star rating and the size of the review file, then from whether the title matches the job and the blade length is stated once. Points come off for a lock the UK reviews contradict, a length or weight that clashes with itself, and a rpm, watt, or pneumatic row on a hand saw. The highest score is the top pick, once. Best value is the strongest remaining row on price and evidence, once. A listing with no review line scores 0.

1

Job match

25%

The title has to match the cut. A pruning folder is for green branches from the ground. A camping folder is judged on closed carry. A jab saw is for plasterboard, and its stars are not a pruning score.

2

Stated blade length

20%

A usable row states the blade length once. GRÜNTEK 180 mm, Nordic 210 mm, HAUTMEC 230 mm and EZARC 266 mm do that. A 13.5 mm row beside a 30 cm line, or no length row, comes off the score.

3

Tooth and stroke

15%

A coarse tooth around 6–8 TPI suits live green wood, and more teeth cut finer and slower. Most pruning folders cut on the pull. A thin pull blade is marked down if the listing invites a hard push.

4

Lock

20%

The blade should lock open. A closed lock matters in a pocket. Points come off when UK reviews say the lock does not hold shut, or when one UK review says the lock did not engage.

5

Price and review volume

20%

A 4.6 from 1,921 reviews outweighs a 4.7 from 54, and a 4.4 from 2,142 at about £6.99 is a stronger value file than a 3.9 from 7. No review line does not outrank a large file.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Folding saw buying guide

Buy the job before the star rating. A folding saw on this page is a hand tool: a pruning folder, a camping folder, or a pointed jab saw. It is not a mains or cordless saw. A jab saw does not prune a tree, and a coarse garden tooth is the wrong tool for a neat hole in plasterboard. Stored prices in this set run from about £6.99 to about £44.99. A 4,500 rpm, watt, or pneumatic row on these titles is listing noise.

What is a folding saw?

A folding saw is a hand saw whose blade locks into the handle for carrying and locks open for the cut. On amazon.co.uk the shelf mixes three jobs. A folding pruning saw is one-handed, with a coarse tooth, for garden branches you can reach from the ground. A camping folder uses the same hinge and is judged on closed length and covered teeth. A folding jab saw has a short pointed blade for board. The Goldblatt in this set is that jab saw, at about £12.74, and it is not a pruning pick.

Best for

  • Gardeners cutting shrubs and small branches they can reach from the ground
  • Someone cutting plasterboard or panels, who needs the jab saw and not a pruning folder

Not ideal for

  • Pocket carry when the listing does not describe a closed lock
  • Any cut off the ground, or lopping a protected tree without written consent

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Scoring a jab saw as a pruning saw

    The Goldblatt is a drywall jab saw with 4.8 from 6,009 reviews. That file is board and panel work. It does not make the saw a pick for live branches.

  2. 2

    Pocketing a saw that does not lock closed

    A lock that holds the blade open is not the same as a closed lock. Nordic’s UK reviews say that folder does not lock closed. Read the lock line before it goes in a pocket.

  3. 3

    Lopping before a consent or nest check

    In England a protected tree needs written consent to lop, unless an exception applies. An active nest stops the job. A pocket folder is not a tool for work off the ground.

What to weigh up

Job, tooth and lock

High

Split the shelf by the job. Green branches from the ground point to a coarse pruning folder. The English Garden’s note is that 6–8 TPI suits live green wood and that more teeth cut finer and slower. The GRÜNTEK is the top pick for that garden job, at about £15.98, with 4.6 from 1,921 reviews and a cork handle. Plasterboard, plywood, and PVC point to the Goldblatt jab saw, about 133 mm, 8 TPI, push and pull, at about £12.74.

Length, price and the box line

High

Use a length the listing states once. GRÜNTEK 180 mm, Nordic 210 mm, HAUTMEC 230 mm, EZARC 266 mm. The Goldblatt bullets say 133 mm and the row says 12.7 cm. GTIWUNG’s 13.5 mm row sits beside dimensions of 30 x 15 x 2.5 cm, so do not treat 13.5 mm as the useful cutting length. XCDMJ and GETBSTOOP have no blade-length row. KFSCIP’s closed size is 165 mm by 45 mm, beside a 10 g weight row. Price then follows the review file.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Shrubs from the ground

You are cutting shrubs, ivy, and small branches you can reach from the ground, and you want the largest pruning review file in this set. The GRÜNTEK 180 mm folder is the top pick at about £15.98, at 4.6 from 1,921 reviews. It is the wrong saw for plasterboard or a closed pocket lock.

A bagged folder for camp

You will carry the saw and you want the teeth covered when it is shut. The EZARC includes a bag and states a 266 mm blade, at about £23.97 and 4.3 from 29 reviews. One UK review says the lock did not engage, so test it on arrival.

Plasterboard and panels

You are cutting plasterboard, wallboard, plywood, or PVC indoors. The Goldblatt jab saw is about £12.74, with an 8 TPI blade of about 133 mm and 4.8 from 6,009 reviews. Ignore the pruning rows. It is a poor match for live green wood.

Common questions about Folding saws

Which folding saw is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw at about £15.98. It scores 90, the highest of these nine amazon.co.uk listings, with 4.6 from 1,921 reviews, a cork handle, and a blade-length row that says 180 mm. UK texts describe shrub work, ivy, and small branches. The listing does not clearly promise a closed lock, and the 4,500 rpm and 8 watt rows are noise on a hand saw. It is not a drywall jab saw.
How much does a folding saw cost on amazon.co.uk?
These nine shelf prices run from about £6.99 to about £44.99 and are not a live check. GTIWUNG is about £6.99, XCDMJ about £7.69, KFSCIP about £7.99, and Goldblatt about £12.74. GRÜNTEK is about £15.98, GETBSTOOP about £15.99, HAUTMEC about £16.99, and EZARC about £23.97. The Nordic Arnvik is about £44.99. On 20 October 2026 the wider bestseller shelf also showed a Stanley jab saw, a Felco 600, and Silky models. Those are not the nine ASINs in this table.
What should you check before you buy a folding saw?
Check the job, then the blade length, then the lock. Green branches from the ground need a coarse pruning folder. Plasterboard needs the Goldblatt jab saw. A length should appear once: 180 mm on the GRÜNTEK, 210 mm on the Nordic, 230 mm on the HAUTMEC, and 266 mm on the EZARC. GTIWUNG’s 13.5 mm row conflicts with a 30 cm dimension line. A lock should hold the blade open. A closed lock matters in a pocket, and Nordic’s UK reviews say that saw does not lock closed.
Is the Goldblatt a pruning saw?
No. The Goldblatt G08501A is a folding jab saw for drywall, wallboard, plywood, and PVC. At about £12.74 it shows 4.8 from 6,009 reviews, the highest count here, and that file is board and panel work. The bullets say an 8 TPI blade of about 133 mm that cuts on the push and the pull, with a lock against accidental closing. Those stars do not make it a garden saw. If you want live branches, use a pruning folder such as the GRÜNTEK.
Which way should a folding pruning saw cut?
Most pruning folders in this set are pull saws, and a thin pull blade buckles if you shove it. The English Garden’s note is that 6–8 TPI suits live green wood, while more teeth cut finer and slower. The Goldblatt bullets say push and pull, and that saw is for board, not for branches. The KFSCIP title says a Japanese pull saw, with no review line to check the edge. One UK EZARC review says pull, and the bullets do not.
Can you lop a garden tree with a folding saw?
Not every tree, and not from a ladder. In England a tree preservation order prohibits lopping without the local planning authority’s written consent, unless an exception applies. The Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 protects wild birds, nests in use or being built, and eggs. It is not a closed season. HSE points arborists to long-handled saws from the ground, and Gardeners’ World says not to saw from a ladder. A pocket folder is the wrong tool off the ground. The limits are in the folding saw tree rules.
Does every folding saw lock when it is closed?
No. Gardeners’ World wants a lock that holds the blade open. The English Garden prefers a lock open and closed. The GRÜNTEK and HAUTMEC listings do not clearly promise a closed lock. UK reviews of the Nordic Arnvik say it locks open and does not lock closed. One UK EZARC review says the lock did not engage, and another calls it sound. The KFSCIP bullets claim a lock that keeps the blade folded, and that listing has no reviews. Pocket a saw only if a closed lock is actually described.
Are Silky or Felco prices part of this comparison?
No. On the amazon.co.uk folding-saw bestseller list fetched 20 October 2026, a Stanley jab saw, a Felco 600, and Silky models sat near this shelf, from about £15.59 to about £69. Those figures are shelf context. They are not the nine ASINs scored here, and they move. Silky pull saws have their own page in the Silky saw comparison. Do not treat a 4,500 rpm, watt, or pneumatic row on these hand saws as a motor.

Our verdict

The top pick is the GRÜNTEK 180 mm folding saw at about £15.98. It scores 90, the highest score in this set, for shrub and small-branch work from the ground, with 4.6 from 1,921 reviews and a blade-length row that says 180 mm. Best value is the GTIWUNG folding saw at about £6.99. It scores 80 and is the strongest remaining row on price and evidence, with 4.4 from 2,142 reviews, if you treat the clashing length rows as unsettled. The Goldblatt scores 86 from 4.8 and 6,009 reviews, and that file is a drywall jab saw, not a pruning score. These scores are not a lab test.

Best overall
Goldblatt folding jab saw

Goldblatt folding jab saw

View offer
Best value
GTIWUNG folding saw

GTIWUNG folding saw

Score 80 at about £6.99, with 4.4 from 2,142 reviews, the strongest remaining row on price and evidence.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPower sawsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Folding saws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Gardeners’ World, The English Garden, HSE, GOV.UK and the 2012 tree preservation regulations, plus the amazon.co.uk folding-saw bestseller list fetched on 20 October 2026. Listings in this set are the comparison file, not a live price check.

  1. BBC Gardeners’ World: best pruning saws (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. The English Garden: pruning saws (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE: tree work at height (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE: arboriculture (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: tree preservation orders and trees in conservation areas (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Town and Country Planning (Tree Preservation) (England) Regulations 2012 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK: wild birds advice for making planning decisions (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk: best sellers in folding saws (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for this set. Bestseller-shelf context is from 20 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test.