Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: OX Pro toolbox saw 350 mm – Highest score at 84, from 4.7 and 356 reviews, with 15 TPI stated for trim, MDF and plastic. Best value: Draper Venom 80874 second-fix saw – Lowest price among 350 mm saws that name a tooth pitch, at about £6.50, with 4.5 from 832 reviews. Updated October 2026.
A fine saw, for a shopper on amazon.co.uk, is a fine-tooth handsaw, not a powered saw. RS treats 12 teeth per inch and above as fine, 7 to 11 as medium, and under 7 as coarse. A 9 to 11 second-fix panel saw is the fine western saw in UK site guides. A pull saw at about 13 to 17 is the finer joinery tool. You judge one by stroke, tooth pitch and length. Impulse-hardened teeth are not a home sharpening job.
Draper’s page states 11 and 12 for that model. The scores higher than the and costs more, and it states no, so it does not take the value award. Pitch, length and stroke are in the [fine saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/fine-saw/sub/fine-saw-buying-guide).
A fine saw is a handsaw with a fine tooth pitch, sold for trim, panels, plastic and small joinery. It is not a circular saw, a jigsaw or a table saw. Second fix means visible trim, not rough carcass timber. None of the ten saws is a brass-backed tenon saw.
A fine saw, for a shopper on amazon.co.uk, is a fine-tooth handsaw, not a powered saw. RS treats 12 teeth per inch and above as fine, 7 to 11 as medium, and under 7 as coarse.
A fine saw, for a shopper on amazon.co.uk, is a fine-tooth handsaw, not a powered saw. RS treats 12 teeth per inch and above as fine, 7 to 11 as medium, and under 7 as coarse. A 9 to 11 second-fix panel saw is the fine western saw in UK site guides. A pull saw at about 13 to 17 is the finer joinery tool. You judge one by stroke, tooth pitch and length. Impulse-hardened teeth are not a home sharpening job.
Draper’s page states 11 and 12 for that model. The scores higher than the and costs more, and it states no, so it does not take the value award. Pitch, length and stroke are in the [fine saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/fine-saw/sub/fine-saw-buying-guide).
A fine saw is a handsaw with a fine tooth pitch, sold for trim, panels, plastic and small joinery. It is not a circular saw, a jigsaw or a table saw. Second fix means visible trim, not rough carcass timber. None of the ten saws is a brass-backed tenon saw.
A fine saw, for a shopper on amazon.co.uk, is a fine-tooth handsaw, not a powered saw. RS treats 12 teeth per inch and above as fine, 7 to 11 as medium, and under 7 as coarse. A 9 to 11 second-fix panel saw is the fine western saw in UK site guides. A pull saw at about 13 to 17 is the finer joinery tool. You judge one by stroke, tooth pitch and length. Impulse-hardened teeth are not a home sharpening job. Draper’s page states 11 and 12 for that model. The scores higher than the and costs more, and it states no, so it does not take the value award.
The OX Pro is a 350 mm toolbox saw listed at £7.43, and the title states 15 TPI double-ground teeth for wood, MDF, plastic and insulation board. Across 356 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7, buyers describe clean cuts in those materials and in acrylic, and they use it on doors, shed timber and small branches. The number-of-teeth row says 14, so the packet does not agree with itself on pitch. One review says the edge did not stay sharp, and another says a basic shop saw cut a 2x4 better. The blade carries 45° and 90° guide lines, and the review file barely says whether those marks are square. A sleeve turns up only in a review, not in the included-components field, which lists one hand saw. The power-source row says AC, with no voltage or plug, so that line is listing noise on a hand saw. It is the top pick in this set for trim, MDF and plastic at a toolbox length, because the stated pitch, the review file and the price sit together, with the 14-versus-15 clash left in the score.
Pros
350 mm blade with 15 TPI stated in the title and the bullets
4.7 from 356 reviews, with clean cuts in wood, MDF, plastic and acrylic
45° and 90° guide lines printed on the blade
£7.43, and several buyers treat OX as a known trade brand
Cons
Title says 15 TPI and the teeth row says 14
One report that the edge did not stay sharp
A coarser shop saw cut a 2x4 better in one review
No pouch in the included-components field, and an AC row on a hand saw
Best for: Trim, MDF panels, plastic and acrylic at a 350 mm toolbox length, if you can accept the 14-versus-15 pitch clash.
Less suitable: Wet logs, a long rip in thick timber, or a buyer who needs one agreed TPI figure before paying.
The Magicbox set is four pull saws at £17.99 and 310 g, with wooden handles. The bullets name two double-edge saws, a flush-cut saw and specialty saws, and they do not print a TPI. Across 70 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7, the 27 UK texts praise a clean fine cut for the price, including dowels, models and confined spaces. The same file says the set is quite small beyond light work, the thin plate bends, and the edge dulls quickly in one review. One buyer had not used the set yet. A case is asked on the listing and is not confirmed. One review describes two smaller saws for dowels and larger ones beside them, without naming a tooth pitch. It covers more than one light cut in a single order, and it is the wrong buy when the timber is more than dowels and models.
Pros
Four pull saws, including a flush-cut piece in the bullets
4.7 from 70 reviews, with clean fine cuts on dowels and models
Wooden handles, set weight 310 g
Useful in a confined space, in the review texts
Cons
No TPI printed
Thin plate bends, and one review says the edge dulls quickly
Quite small for anything beyond light work
A case is not confirmed, and one buyer had not used the set
Best for: Dowels, models and light intricate work, if a small plate is what you wanted.
Less suitable: Skirting, thick timber, or a buyer who needs a tooth pitch in writing.
The SURFOU is a double-sided pull saw at £7.99 and 100 g, with a coarse edge, a fine edge and covers on both. Across 660 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.6, buyers call it very sharp on softwood, hardboard, trim and small joinery, and they use the short plate in a stair wedge, a door lining and a tight gap. One review trimmed fence panels one-handed while holding the board. Blade length is not stated; the overall size is about 31 cm, and the number-of-teeth row says 10 rather than a TPI. There is no pouch, so the unused edge stays a cut risk, and the plate flexes once the timber gets heavier. The bullets say the blade is screwed in and replaceable, and no spare is listed. It is the pull saw in this set for a small, close cut, and the wrong saw for a stump or a long board.
Pros
Pull stroke with a coarse edge and a fine edge
4.6 from 660 reviews, including tight gaps and one-handed fence-panel trimming
100 g, with covers on both edges
£7.99, and the blade is described as held by screws
Cons
No TPI figure, and the teeth row only says 10
No spare blade in the box
No pouch, so the back edge stays exposed while you cut
Flex and a short plate on thicker timber, plus an AAAA battery row on a hand saw
Best for: Dowels, trim and tight gaps where a 100 g pull saw can lie close to the work.
Less suitable: A stump, a long board, or a buyer who needs a stated TPI before buying.
The Draper Venom 80874 is a 350 mm second-fix toolbox saw at £6.50, the lowest price in this set, and the bullets state a 12 PPI double-ground blade. Across 832 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.5, buyers say it cuts wood easily for beginners and small jobs, including shrubs, fence panels and a first pallet project, and they like the TPR grip at 340 g. The same file includes snagging, a slightly rusty blade on arrival in one review, and a blade protector that is hard to refit. That protector is not in the included-components field. The listing also shows 4,500 rpm and one AAAA battery, which conflict with a manual saw. Draper’s own page states 11 TPI and 12 PPI for this model, while the amazon bullets print 12 PPI only. It is the best value here for a cheap second-fix push saw if you can live with snagging, because the shelf price and the review count are the strongest in the set.
Pros
£6.50, the lowest price in this set
4.5 from 832 reviews, the largest file here
350 mm second-fix saw with a TPR grip, listed at 340 g
Buyers report easy cuts on fence panels, shrubs and a first pallet
Cons
Prone to snagging, including in foam on acoustic panels
One review of a dull, slightly rusty blade on arrival
Blade protector is hard to refit and is not in the included-components field
Listing rows for 4,500 rpm and an AAAA battery conflict with a hand saw
Best for: A cheap second-fix push saw for panels, fence boards and small timber, if snagging is acceptable.
Less suitable: A flush dowel cut, or anyone who reads the rpm or battery row as a powered saw.
The power source is manual. The listing also shows 4,500 rpm and one AAAA battery. Those rows conflict with the hand-saw title.
What does 12 PPI mean on this saw?
The bullets state a 12 PPI tooth design with double-ground, hardened teeth. Draper’s own page states 11 TPI and 12 PPI for this model. PPI is often one count higher than TPI.
Is it described as a second-fix saw?
Yes. The title and the item type call it a second-fix double-ground toolbox saw, 350 mm, with a TPR soft grip.
The GARTOL set is £16.99 and lists a 6 inch flush-cut saw plus a double-edged ryoba, at 150 g. Across 564 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.5, buyers call the teeth very sharp for close straight cuts, small frames and balsa, once they pull rather than push. The same file says it is not a true flush cut, that the blades flex and wander on a straight line, and that handles or blades arrived loose. The specification table does not print TPI. One review quotes marketing of 17 TPI for soft woods and 11 TPI for hard woods and rejects that split for flush work. The material row says high speed steel and the bullets say SK5. It is the set to look at when you want a short ryoba and a close trim saw in one box, and the title is not proof of a no-set flush blade.
Pros
6 inch flush-cut saw and a double-edged ryoba in one box
4.5 from 564 reviews, with very sharp teeth for small frames and balsa
150 g, and buyers report clean cuts when they use the pull stroke
£16.99 for two saws rather than one
Cons
Reviews split on whether the flush saw actually cuts flush
Blades flex, wander, or arrive loose in the handle
TPI is not in the specification table
High speed steel in one row and SK5 in the bullets
Best for: Small frames and close trim, if you will check the set of the teeth and tighten a loose handle before the first cut.
Less suitable: A finished face that must stay unmarked, or a long straight rip.
The KLRStec is a 240 mm folding pull saw at £29.99, the highest price in this set, with a nylon pouch and a lock, and the bullets name hardened SK5. Across 553 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, the English-language reviews praise sharp cuts that stay on the line once the pull stroke is familiar, and buyers use it on dowels, joinery and small branches. The same file repeats a weak joint, a missing lock pin, or an unstable fold. The number-of-teeth row says 3, which is not a credible TPI, and rip versus crosscut is not printed. A spare blade is not in the box. One review says the finish is not as clean as a ryoba the buyer already owns, and another notes that the sharp plate can slip at the end of the cut. It is the folding spare here if the lock arrives intact, and a poor choice if you need a stated tooth pitch.
Pros
240 mm folding pull saw with a nylon pouch
4.4 from 553 reviews, with sharp cuts once the pull stroke is familiar
Used on dowels, joinery and small branches
Lock and two angle positions claimed
Cons
Joint or lock pin weak, missing, or unstable in the reviews
No spare blade in the box
Teeth row says 3, which is not a TPI
£29.99, the highest price here, and the plate flexes if you twist it
Best for: A folding spare in a pouch, once you already cut on the pull and you have checked the lock.
Less suitable: A first push-saw user, or anyone who needs a stated TPI and a second blade in the box.
The HAUTMEC HT0301-WS is a 350 mm saw at £13.99, with 11 TPI triple-ground teeth and a 0.9 mm SK5 blade. Across 76 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, buyers like the coated edge on timber and on branches, and they describe the grip as secure. The bullets mention both push and pull strokes, which is not the same thing as a ryoba. Reviews say it binds, jumps out of the line, and is hard work in 2x4 and plywood compared with thinner saws the reviewer already owns. One review says the 45° and 90° marks on the handle are not square. Another buyer would rather use it on branches than on boards, and one text says it needs wax or oil against rust. Sixteen UK texts are a thin file for a saw at the same price as the 12 TPI HAUTMEC. It is a garden-and-timber saw in this set only if you check those marks yourself.
Pros
11 TPI on a 350 mm, 0.9 mm SK5 blade
4.4 from 76 reviews, with praise for timber and branches
45° and 90° guides claimed on the handle
Blade guard claimed in the bullets
Cons
Binds in the kerf and jumps out of the line
Hard work in 2x4 and plywood, in the review file
One review says the angle marks are not 45° or 90°
One buyer says it needs wax or oil or it rusts
Best for: Occasional timber and branches around 1 inch, after you have checked the handle marks with a square.
Less suitable: Sheet material that must not bind, or a flush cut on a finished face.
The HAUTMEC HT0295 is a 350 mm push saw at £13.99, with 12 TPI induction-hardened, triple-ground teeth and a blade stated at 1.0 mm. Across 69 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, buyers praise a clean finish on wood and wall board, and a stiff blade for dry wood, kindling and small branches. The same small file says the edge went after a few uses, the tooth set chewed a mitre block, and laminate flooring was poor after a couple of cuts. One buyer found it hard to start compared with an Irwin and with pull saws they already owned. A blade cover is claimed in the bullets, while the included-components field says bare tool. Seventeen UK texts sit behind the 4.4, so edge life is a short account. It suits a dry crosscut in a confined 350 mm space if you treat the hardpoint as a saw you replace, and it is a poor match for a mitre box or a stack of laminate.
Pros
12 TPI stated, triple-ground, on a 350 mm blade listed at 1.0 mm
4.4 from 69 reviews, with a clean finish on wood and wall board
Stiff enough, in the reviews, for dry wood and small branches
Blade cover claimed in the bullets
Cons
Edge described as gone after a few uses
Tooth set chewed a mitre block in one review
Poor result on laminate flooring after a couple of cuts
Included-components field says bare tool, against the cover claim
Best for: A dry crosscut or panel in a confined space, if you expect to replace a hardpoint rather than sharpen it.
Less suitable: A mitre box, a stack of laminate, or a buyer who wants a large review file at this price.
The Vigaoc is a 350 mm, 11 TPI fine-cut saw at £14.99, weighing 350 g, with 45° and 90° marks on both sides of the handle and a blade listed as stainless steel, 1 mm thick. Across 103 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.3, the short texts praise a comfortable grip and clean cuts in moulding and household wood, and some buyers use it on small logs and garden waste. One buyer says it rusted immediately, one says it would not cut, and others say it is hard work once the section gets bigger. Fourteen UK texts were on the listing, and several are a single line, so the star line does not show how long the edge lasts. The title includes gardening, and plastic appears only in a review, not in the bullets. It is an occasional 11 TPI saw for small mouldings if the blade arrives bright, and a weak choice for a larger section.
Pros
11 TPI and 350 mm stated, with a 1 mm blade
4.3 from 103 reviews, with clean cuts in moulding and household wood
45° and 90° marks on both sides of the handle
350 g, and some buyers cut small logs and garden waste
Cons
One saw rusted immediately
One buyer says it would not cut, with no further diagnosis
Hard work once the section gets bigger
Only 14 UK texts on the listing, several of them one line
Best for: Small mouldings and household wood, if you wipe the blade and the section stays modest.
Less suitable: Larger sections, or a buyer who wants a longer account of edge life than a one-line review.
The title says Vigaoc. The brand and manufacturer rows say Viganoc. The model is V030.
Is the blade stated as stainless?
The blade-material row says stainless steel. The bullets claim tri-ground, laser-hardened teeth and do not name a grade. One review reports immediate rust.
What pitch and length are stated?
11 TPI, 350 mm, 1 mm thick, with 45° and 90° marks on the handle. No blade cover is listed.
The SANTUO is a four-piece pull-saw kit at £14.89, listed as four black hand saws with wooden handles and a blade length of 31 cm. The bullets claim flush cuts, fine detail and curved cuts in hard and soft wood, and they do not print a TPI for any of the four saws. The amazon.co.uk file has no star line and no UK review text, so those claims have no buyer account in this batch. A case is asked in the on-page questions and is not confirmed in the bullets. The set is about £3 under the Magicbox four-piece kit, which at least has 70 ratings. It stays off the shortlist until someone has actually cut with it. Paying £14.89 for four unnamed tooth patterns is a guess, not a comparison.
Pros
Four pull saws listed, with wooden handles
Bullets claim flush cuts, fine detail and curved cuts
31 cm blade length stated
£14.89, below the other four-piece set in this comparison
Cons
No star rating and no UK review text on the listing
No TPI printed for any saw
A case is not confirmed
The four saws are not itemised beyond a count of four
Best for: Only a buyer who already accepts an unreviewed four-saw kit and will check each tooth pattern on arrival.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a review file, a stated TPI, or a single saw for skirting.
The title, unit count and included components all say four hand saws with wooden handles. Tooth pitch for each saw is not stated.
What cuts do the bullets claim?
Flush cuts, fine detail and curved cuts, on hard and soft wood. A storage case is not confirmed.
Is there a star rating on the listing?
No customer-reviews line and no review text are on the amazon.co.uk listing, so the rating is not available.
How we compared
Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listings stored for 19 October 2026. This is not a laboratory cut. Four weights sum to 100. Amazon evidence starts with the star rating, then the review count. Listing fit checks stroke, a tooth pitch that does not contradict itself, blade length, and a guard or pouch on a pull saw. Review outcome uses themes that name a real job, and the complaints that repeat. Value is the shelf price in GBP after the saw can do the job the title names. The highest score is the top pick, once. Best value is the best remaining price among 350 mm saws that still name a tooth pitch, after that award is used.
1
Amazon evidence
30%
Star rating on amazon.co.uk, then the review count. A count under 10, under 50, or under 100 is deducted. No star line scores zero on this block. The SANTUO kit has no star line on the listing, so this block is zero for that row.
2
Listing fit
35%
A named stroke, a tooth pitch that does not contradict itself, a blade length, and a guard or pouch when the blade is a pull saw. A TPI clash, a teeth row that is not a pitch, high speed steel against SK5, or an AC, rpm or battery row on a handsaw is deducted.
3
Review outcome
20%
Review themes that name a real job, and the complaints that repeat: snagging, early dulling, a flush title that does not cut flush, a lock that fails, rust on arrival. A short file cannot score like a file of several hundred. No review text scores near the bottom of this block.
4
Value
15%
Shelf price in GBP after the saw can do the job the title names. A low price does not score when nobody has reviewed the saw. A high price does not score when the lock or the tooth pitch is missing. This weight is separate from the best-value award.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Fine saw buying guide
You are choosing a fine-tooth handsaw, not a power saw. Start with the stroke, then the tooth pitch, then the length. A 350 mm push saw at 11 to 15 TPI suits skirting, panels and plastic. A pull saw suits a thin plate in a corner, a dowel or a plug, if you already pull rather than push. A folding spare only suits that pull stroke when the lock and the joint are sound. The ten shelf prices on this page were read on 19 October 2026. They are not a live re-check, and they are not a laboratory cut.
What counts as a fine saw?
A fine saw on this page is a handsaw with a fine tooth pitch, sold for trim, panels, plastic and small joinery. It is not a circular saw, a jigsaw or a table saw. RS Components treats 12 TPI and above as fine, 7 to 11 TPI as medium, and under 7 TPI as coarse. A UK site guide can still call a 9 to 11 TPI second-fix panel saw the fine western saw, while a Japanese pull saw at about 13 to 17 TPI is the finer joinery tool. Second fix means visible trim, not rough carcass timber.
Best for
Second-fix trim, skirting, MDF and plastic on a 350 mm push saw
Dowels, plugs and tight gaps with a thin pull saw
A folding spare in a pouch, once you already cut on the pull
Not ideal for
Wet logs, a long rip in thick timber, or 15 TPI used as a coarse saw
A flush title treated as proof of a no-set blade
A stair, joist, stud, or fitted handrail where a slip ruins the work
Mistakes to avoid
1
Pushing a pull saw
GARTOL, Magicbox, SANTUO, SURFOU and KLRStec cut on the pull. Pushing a thin pull blade kinks it. International Timber describes the pull stroke as the reason the plate can stay thin. If you only know a western push saw, start with the OX Pro or the Draper, not with a folding pull saw.
2
Trusting an AC, rpm or battery row
These are handsaws. The OX Pro power row says AC, with no voltage or plug. The Draper listing shows 4,500 rpm and one AAAA battery. The SURFOU file has an AAAA battery row. Those lines conflict with a manual saw. They do not make the tool a mains saw or a battery saw, and they do not make it a steel saw.
3
Expecting a hardpoint to survive laminate
Axminster says induction-hardened teeth dull quickly on chipboard and are not resharpened. On the HAUTMEC HT0295, reviews describe an edge gone after a few uses and a poor result on laminate. A flush title is a separate mistake: GARTOL reviews do not agree that the flush saw cuts flush. Fifteen TPI is also the wrong pitch for wet logs.
What to weigh up
Stroke
High
Stroke is the first buying check, because the plate is built for one direction. Western toolbox saws in this set cut on the push: Draper 80874, OX Pro, HAUTMEC HT0295, HAUTMEC HT0301-WS and Vigaoc. They are the 350 mm saws for skirting, panels and a site bag. GARTOL, Magicbox, SANTUO, SURFOU and KLRStec are pull saws. International Timber describes the pull stroke as the reason a Japanese plate can be thin and the kerf narrow. Pushing that thin plate kinks it.
Tooth pitch
High
Tooth pitch decides the finish, and a missing pitch is a reason to hold back. RS Components treats 12 TPI and above as fine. HAUTMEC HT0295 states 12 TPI on a 1.0 mm blade. OX Pro states 15 TPI in the title and the bullets, while the teeth row says 14, so those two figures do not match. HAUTMEC HT0301-WS and Vigaoc state 11 TPI, which UK site guides still treat as the fine end of a second-fix western saw. Draper states 12 PPI on amazon.co.uk.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🪚
Second-fix trim
You want a 350 mm push saw for skirting, MDF, plastic and acrylic, and you want a tooth pitch in the title. The OX Pro is the top pick at about £7.43, with 15 TPI stated and 4.7 from 356 reviews. The teeth row says 14, so the packet does not agree with itself on pitch.
You want the cheapest 350 mm saw in this set that still names a pitch. The Draper Venom 80874 is best value at about £6.50, with 4.5 from 832 reviews. Amazon states 12 PPI. Draper’s page states 11 TPI and 12 PPI. Reviews include snagging.
You already cut on the pull, and the job is a dowel, trim or a tight gap. The SURFOU is the 100 g double-sided pull saw at about £7.99, with 4.6 from 660 reviews and covers on both edges. It states no TPI, and the plate flexes on thicker timber.
A fine saw here is a fine-tooth handsaw, not a powered saw. RS Components treats 12 teeth per inch and above as fine, 7 to 11 TPI as medium, and under 7 TPI as coarse. UK guides still call a 9 to 11 TPI second-fix panel saw the fine western saw. A Japanese pull saw at about 13 to 17 TPI is the finer joinery tool. These ten listings are toolbox saws, pull-saw sets and one folding pull saw.
Which fine saw is the top pick?
The top pick is the OX Pro toolbox saw at about £7.43. It scored 84. The title states 15 TPI, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 356 reviews, with clean cuts described in wood, MDF, plastic and acrylic. The number-of-teeth row says 14, so the listing does not agree with itself on pitch. That clash stays in the score. It is a 350 mm push saw for trim, not a pull saw.
Which fine saw is best value?
Best value is the Draper Venom 80874 at about £6.50, the lowest price in the set, with 4.5 from 832 reviews. It is a 350 mm second-fix push saw. Amazon states 12 PPI. Draper’s own page states 11 TPI and 12 PPI. PPI is often one count higher than TPI because points bound the teeth. The SURFOU scores 75 against the Draper’s 73 and costs more, and it states no TPI, so it does not take this award.
How much does a fine saw cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the pages read on 19 October 2026, these ten listings run from about £6.50 to about £29.99. Under £10 are the Draper 80874, the OX Pro and the SURFOU. About £14 to £18 covers both HAUTMEC models, the Vigaoc, the SANTUO set, the GARTOL set and the Magicbox set. The KLRStec folding pull saw is about £29.99. BuildWiz states about £10 to £16 for a fine-finish panel saw. Those are that guide’s typical prices, not these shelf prices.
Should a fine saw cut on the push or the pull?
Western toolbox saws in this set cut on the push: the Draper, the OX Pro, both HAUTMEC models and the Vigaoc. GARTOL, Magicbox, SANTUO, SURFOU and the KLRStec are pull saws. Pushing a thin pull blade kinks it. International Timber describes the pull stroke as the reason the plate can be thin. When each stroke fits is in pull or push.
Will these saws cut steel, or run from the mains?
No. Do not treat these as steel-cutting saws, and do not read an AC, rpm or battery row as a mains or battery tool. The OX Pro power row says AC, with no voltage or plug. The Draper listing shows 4,500 rpm and one AAAA battery beside a manual saw. Those rows conflict with a handsaw. Hand-held saws sit outside the machinery guard rules in HSE ACOP L114. PUWER 1998 still applies when an employer issues the saw.
Can a flush-cut title trim a dowel without marking the face?
A flush cut needs little or no set, so the teeth do not scratch the face. Reviews of the GARTOL set split: some report flush dowel cuts, and others say it is not a flush cut. Do not copy a plate thickness from a joinery guide onto these ASINs. None of these listings prints that figure. The SURFOU bullets say the plate can lie flat, and they do not state a tooth pitch.
When should you stop and call a joiner?
Call a joiner when the cut shortens a stair, joist or stud, or when a slip would ruin a fitted handrail. An employer who issues saws still owes instruction under PUWER 1998. Stop if the material may be asbestos cement. Store the blade guarded. Buyers describe these teeth as sharp enough to cut skin in a bag. Pull saws as a wider group are on the Japanese saw comparison.
Our verdict
The top pick is the OX Pro toolbox saw at about £7.43. It has the highest score in this set, 84, from 4.7 and 356 amazon.co.uk reviews, with 15 TPI stated in the title for wood, MDF, plastic and acrylic. The teeth row says 14, and that clash stays in the score. Best value is the Draper Venom 80874 at about £6.50. It is the lowest price among the 350 mm saws that still name a tooth pitch, with 4.5 from 832 reviews. Draper states 11 TPI and 12 PPI. The SURFOU scores 75, two points above the Draper, and it states no TPI, so it does not take the value award.
Best overall
OX Pro toolbox saw 350 mm
Highest score at 84, from 4.7 and 356 reviews, with 15 TPI stated for trim, MDF and plastic.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to fine saws
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.